Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Heritage Hanmer Springs 4 stars

1 Conical Hill, 7334 Hanmer Springs, New Zealand

#24 of 28 hotels in Hanmer Springs

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1358 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    10
    Gorgeous location - snow capped views all around
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    We got a fabulous breakfast-included deal with booking.com. The location was amazing, we undertook the walk to the lookout. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and the restaurant food was superb! The guest-laundry facility a bonus!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    10
    a great relaxing peaceful get away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    how you had to turn on the shower . the sofa in our room was not comfy.

    the bed was beautiful, nice shower, warm room sitting in front of the fire enjoying a wine and a beer was so great, we enquired about another stay in the garden setting the person on reception was very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    10
    brilliant time
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing to complain about

    went for my mothers 80th birthday, 8 adults 4 children and had the best time, from hotel, entertainment, food was all exceptional, would do it all again

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    10
    Luxurious location for a romantic getaway!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside was that the room felt very exposed. Anyone walking past could see into the big glass sliding doors our room (and they often did walk past as the path lead to other rooms). A patio or some plants or tinting on the windows would be great for privacy, particularly for couples.

    Very large and comfortable bed. Excellent level of cleanliness. Our room wasn’t ready by the stated check in time so we were given vouchers for a drink at the restaurant while we waited. Beautiful setting in the grounds and also a great location, just a few minutes walk from the hot pools, shops, bar and restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    5.8
    The accommodation and experience was a little disappointing to be honest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were in room 235 The sash windows rattled in the wind. The door stop in the bathroom was broken. The noise from neighboring rooms.

    Dinner mains were excellent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    10
    Overall, it was magic and we want to return.....Hanmer Springs is charming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant staff reluctant to cater for our quite large family group for a birthday dinner

    The garden, location, the villas for our families, the front hotel room

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    7.5
    Fabulous location, slightly disapppointed with the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given a room (103) with a wheelchair user bathroom, which we had not requested. It was very clinical and very cold, rather than comfortable or luxurious. The bed was comfortable, but there were no blackout curtains and a bright light shining into the bedroom all night.

    Fabulous location in the centre of Hanmer Springs with lovely gardens.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    9.2
    Great up market place to stay, with real history and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Greeting on arrival was professional but staff engaged with computer first rather than eye contact with greeting. Minor, but noticeable.

    The Pillow Menue was a novelty.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.2
    Nice building, lovely grounds, very relaxing, reasonable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much by the way of sound insulation but most guests were quiet. Decor a tad tired, TV position not good and there’s no lift, which didn’t bother us. The bar is a bit miserable, again tired decor and it’s just an extension of the restaurant.

    Nice building, lovely grounds, very relaxing, reasonable sized room, comfortable big bed. Would stay again, hotel is very well located and has lovely staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    9.6
    We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay and will go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurant was very nice and the food lovely but would have liked a wider menu choice.

    Our room was really comfy and the king sized bed very comfortable. The room was really clean. Staff were great. We wanted a relaxing few days away and The Heritage Hotel was great. Have stayed before and will visit again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    5.8
    Poor room due to smell cleanliness and view of work yard. OK up grade after complaining.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The original room was small and poorly cleaned and over looked the caretakers yard which was very disappointing. It was smoky from the down dining area. It was like going to a university dormatory. Really appreciated that they up graded us to a reasonable room.

    When they changed our room to a garden room it was OK but my partner didn't like that it wasn't part of the main hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    8.8
    Great comfy pillows and fantastic friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant doesn’t have many options and there is no elevator so we had to carry up the stairs all our heavy luggage.

    Great comfy pillows and fantastic friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    5.8
    poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    all of the above.

    We where unable to book in for evening meal, unless very early or late after 8 pm, as guest of the hotel this was odd, also the noise from below and from other rooms was a problem. we felt like we were in a 2nd rate hotel. also no lift for access to 1st floor this was a problem.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.6
    Great location - friendly staff - will stay at the Heritage again :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    While the bathroom was great the Shower screen made it difficult to warm up the shower before using the shower..

    Probably need a bar to assist in evening conviviality Loved the grounds and the view to the mountains Friendly staff at the desk and restaurant

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Hanmer Springs overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing I didn't like.

    The location right in the middle of everything. Luxury with a pillow menu to choose your ideal pillow. Great food and beautiful gardens. With a tennis court and other games to play or have a swim there is plenty to keep you busy on site.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    6.3
    Room has a nice pleasant outlook, staff were accommodating...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    (1) On checking in, reception staff seemed more interested in training a junior staff member on checking me in, than me as a guest checking in. (2) Bed mattress was a little too soft and saggy.

    Room has a nice pleasant outlook, staff were accommodating post check-in.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.2
    Exactly what we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing really, good value for money and the staff were very helpful and accommodating.

    While the room was small for two of us it more than meet the expectation and the highlight was the bed and pillows. So comfortable I couldn't wait to go to bed in the evening. We were on the ground flow and looked out into the garden through double doors, quiet and restful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    5.0
    We were very disapointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was 2 single (?) beds pushed together creating a hard line down the middle. Pillows were skinny and not comfortable. Robes were tired and needed replacing. Very disappointed to be told on arrival that we couldn't eat at the restaurant as there was a function - would have been good to know before hand. Felt a bit cheated as this was one of the reasons we paid for more expensive accommodation, we planned to enjoy a nice dinner at the hotel! Not likely to stay here again after this experience.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.5
    Nice spot to stay, good option price wise, will go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    An electric blanket would have been nice it was chilly but bed v good.

    Clean and comfortable, staff pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was great even had gluten free toast for my husband.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    cloud bed, room service. It was a great place to stay. and the free car parking for the day. the staff were friendly and helped out when we need them to. thanks.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Relaxing and beautiful surroundings, interior and exterior.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Brown sugar for coffee. Decent coffee. Sorry, but expectations for coffee in NZ are high.

    Nice place to stay in Hanmer Springs - location. olde worlde ambience.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    Great winter break with some old time luxury in the heart of the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water pressure in the shower over the bath could be better but more than adequate.

    Great location, nice old style comfortable hotel with lots of space, grounds and history. Comfortable bed, good wifi and complimentary newspaper was a nice touch. Evening drink before the open fire was as good as the coffee in the sun on the terrace in the morning.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.5
    nice quite lay back get away for a couple of days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the weather was a little cooler than i was expecting but that is out of every ones control.

    right in the heart of Hanmer close to everything. mainly the hot pools and restaurants. a short drive to lots of walking tracks . also the quite surroundings of the village.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.8
    Staying in winter, with snow on the mountains, just added to our overall enjoyment in our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Two small quibbles, we would have liked a lock on the bathroom door and the general look of the garden room feels slightly dated.

    Having booked and paid online, our checking in was courteous and took no time. Ours was a garden room, which met expectations. The facilities were great, with an especially nice shower and a comfortable bed. The heating in the room was excellent. Being in such a central location as the Heritage is is a wonderful bonus, everything within walking distance.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.5
    Location was ideal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was average. The concierge at the check on desk seemed put out at having to talk to us or check us in/out. A smile and a warm greeting goes a long way when you arrive cold and tired after a long drive. The staff in the bar/restaurant were really friendly but lacking any formal training, not even knowing how to use a cork screw. Overall these were minor things which did not detract from our stay.

    Location was ideal. Right in the centre of the little town only a couple minutes walk across the street to the Hanmer Hot Pools. The bed was comfortable and the room was warm.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.6
    You won't want to leave!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We has a 3 bedroom villa next to a small pond. Everything was amazing. Beds are super comfy, log fire with wood etc ready, heat pump, kitchen well stocked, washing machine with powder, drier (which was handy following our hot pools swim). The location is excellent. Walking distance to all shops, restaurants, the hot pools etc. Breakfast was superb. The hotel wasn't busy so we got to choose from the a la carte menu and have the continental breakfast as well for the price of the full buffet. Lots of options. Kids ate free! We had a full English, French toast, eggs benedict and a great omelette. The waitresses were very friendly and helpful. Gluten free options are available.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.3
    Had a lovely wood burning fire and they supplied paper and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a lovely wood burning fire and they supplied paper and big logs but no kindling so couldn't light the fire. The heat pump was badly placed so upstairs bedroom made too hit but downstairs living cold. Otherwise can't fault it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    5.0
    Overpriced, dated, and not focused on customer experience. Will not be returning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything else was just poor. Seems this hotel is stuck in the 90's. The toilet paper was single ply, the bathroom window had dingy aluminium slats that were partially broken, exposing a small portion to the street view. Bathroom window not frosted. The hotel/door key was a manual one, not an electronic key card, which made it a bit more fiddly. The TV only had the basic Freeview (10 or so) channels. No sky/smart tv. The staff did not seem to be welcoming and friendly, hardly any smiles. When sitting in the sitting area (a portion of the dining room) during the day, no one came up to ask if I wanted anything. The cost of a glass of coke and some ice is $6.50, you can get a 3L for that price in a supermarket. The fridge was tiny and was barely functional. The soaps etc are basic/cheap and leave your skin feeling super dry. The shower head is tiny, and just basic. Everything felt basic and cheap.

    We were booked into the Deluxe Suite (room 214) We liked the pillows and the bed. The room felt clean, but there was a bit of dust/dirt in the corners. One staff member did offer to take our bags up to our room. We liked that the TV could swivel to face the bed, and there was a light switch for the room reachable in bed. The parking was nearby, and we did not need to worry about finding a space. The proximity to the nearby restaurants etc is fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.2
    Great location and staff were fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very small and needed updating.

    Bed was very comfortable, staff were excellent, Dinner at restaurant was 5 star and the location was perfect.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.2
    Mixed good and bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hated the fridge as it froze every thing we put in it .We turned it down as far as setting would go. The milk was frozen the yogurt was frozen, avocados were like rocks, butter froze. the only thing that didn't freeze was the wine. And it was too cold. Car parking was too far from our room.....

    The bed was very comfortable. The area around our room was lovely and quiet. The staff at reception were very helpful. Even looked after our frozen crayfish in their large freezer, the ice box in our room was to small.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.8
    Spacious, facilities were excellent, walk to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold. Down stairs was freezing in our villas d the fire took a long time to beat the living space. Not enough dry wood.

    Spacious, facilities were excellent, walk to everything.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location, right in the heart of Hanmer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, right in the heart of Hanmer. Villa was superb, lots of room, very clean and had everything we needed. Great views of the mountains and pond out the window.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.5
    Not a Quiet Getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stayed in a Garden Suite. Walls very thin. Heard the adjoining room neighbours TV, conversation, snoring and other noises. They weren't doing anything wrong. Sure they heard us as well. Almost like being in a tent. Noisy sliding doors. Probably wouldn't stay again.

    Great welcome, location in the town centre. Compact room but well equipped

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable but could improve
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first night we stayed we had no hot water for us to have showers, which seemed a bit odd, this should never be an issue. Also the quality of the TV is pretty poor. The lighting in the room could do with an upgrade and the light in the bathroom kept flickering.

    The bed was very comfortable, pillows, bedding etc were good!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    4.6
    Noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise.We had been told there was a function,however I didn't expect it to sound like the party was in my room.The hotel could have simply supplied ear plugs.No mini bar in the room,totally surprised.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.5
    Very good location could walk around town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy floor could hear when people would walk past. Arrived on a day that wasn’t too cold but the room was freezing. Bathroom door was very hard to open had to put full force into pushing it open. Shower over bath which I personally don’t like.

    Very good location could walk around town. Onsite restaurant and room service which is good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.1
    The beds were wonderfully comfortable, and the room had two...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Two things could have been much better. Firstly, the old fluorescent tube in the bathroom took ages to come on and then flickered for a good 5 seconds until it fully engaged. That was really unpleasant in the middle of the night. Secondly, the curtains in the main bedroom were not attached to the top rail and had partially come off the track. This let in sunlight in the morning, and is not the standard I would expect from the Heritage.

    The beds were wonderfully comfortable, and the room had two sources of heat.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.9
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don’t feel it lived up to its star rating...particularly the restaurant and little things like the cleanliness of the grouting in the bathroom

    The location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    Great location and pleasant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were pretty dated and was difficult to sleep as noisy . A bottle of water would have been appreciated in the room. The toilet paper was very cheap and not what I would expect from a hotel

    Great location and pleasant staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.1
    Nice and Clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked through booking.com for two adults and a child but they only had one King bed so had to pay lots more for a room with two beds!!!

    Nice and Clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.5
    Lovely old building with so much history behind it. convenient to all shops/pools
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel reception were a bit rude, probably because I booked the wrong dates lol.

    Convenient to shops and thermal pools. We had a large room and the beds were very comfortable. Room service was quick and the food was great as well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Had a wonderful stay at Heritage Hanmer Springs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe some more crockery

    Had a wonderful stay at Heritage Hanmer Springs. We had a three bedroom Villa. It was beautiful and Roomy and the fire place was a beautiful touch. We were so close to everything but yet felt that we had our own space. All the staff were very friendly and accommodating. The beds were very comfortable and my daughter loved sleeping in the loft.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Great staff, a comfortable well equipped unit in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The friendly, accommodating staff were great, nothing was too much trouble. It was lovely to walk in late in the evening to find that not only was our unit very comfortable and had everything we needed it was also toasty and warm because the heating had been turned on ready for our arrival.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    5.5
    Super disappointed. This was the most expensive room of our holiday and was the poorest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very dark and felt claustrophobic. There were only 2 side lights and a lamp and no ceiling lights in the room and there was not enough natural light . The ensuite was TINY. If you were a big person you would NOT have fitted on the toilet or in the shower.

    The bed was very comfortable. This was the best feature of the room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    5.4
    The staff were pleasant .
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are soft ... Not good sleeping.Wr ordered Cod as a main and there were more vegetables than Cod .. lovely flavours tho . Not many people about... Bit barren ..

    The staff were pleasant ... They did their best for us

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    5.0
    Average, would only recommend because of location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was 2 hours late spent all that time waiting there when we could've gone for a walk around. Room still had rubbish under the bed from previous guests. Food was ok but wasn't worth the price.

    Liked how close it was to the hot pools also like the breakfast buffet

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Enjoyed our night there and would definitely recommended it to other people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Went for dinner at your restaurant and the food was great but the waitress was new and defiantly needed more training but we saw the funny side of it and made for a good night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Very nice place - Good Value - Close to everything.
    • Group
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom easy for my mum to use (she is 92 and bathrooms can be impossible) and getting 2 x Queen beds was wonderful. Restaurant - very good service and food. Room warm and cosy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.9
    The place was extremely clean and the people who worked there were very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed felt like a brick to lay on and had a very uncomfortable sleep. Ended up leaving with a sore back instead of fully relaxed. Was surprised was no lift especially for older people or families with children or disabled. Was not fun lugging up heavy bags up and down stairs. Had to walk long corridors before even reaching our room. The Wi-Fi was a painto even get into so need up just using phone data. Would have been nice not to see cracks in windows just with tape on instead of being fixed.

    The staff were very friendly and the place was super clean. The cleaners were lovely and very welcoming. Good sized room and lovely view when the sun came out. It was nice having robes to use.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    4.2
    Terrible service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist gave us a room behind the garbage area. We received a served breakfast with very old over cooked bacon. Didn’t like it at all. Taste was horrible.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.1
    Food in restaurant was very nice and great to arrive to a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff a little short and grumpy and needed to relax with the guests and our experience would have been much better.

    Food in restaurant was very nice and great to arrive to a warm room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.3
    Great central location within short walking distance of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great central location within short walking distance of cafes, shops and the famous thermal spa. We chose to eat out and not use the restaurant but the mulled wine and dessert special in the bar lounge was a great treat.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.8
    Overall, very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Light switches were a little weird and hard to coordinate. Bath tub very narrow and the glazing panel made showering unconfortable. TV position.

    The bed...extremely comfy, like sleeping on a cloud. Room very clean, nice toiletries, good selection of tea and coffee.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.1
    The rooms were spacious and the beds were particularly...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was out in the garden and we thought the outdoor lighting was terrible at night - there were very few lights. I’m not complaining about the cleanliness of the rooms inside, however there were cigarette butts outside the unit and cobwebs around the outside windows.

    The rooms were spacious and the beds were particularly comfortable. As it had adjoining doors it was wonderful as we had our friends staying in the next room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.9
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The oven door didn't close or open properly. The garage door was difficult to open. reported it to reception so hopefully that will get fixed for the next person. The hotel itself was a little tired looking.

    Perfect location. Easy walk to all the amenities. Lovely chalet feel and the log burner was a lovely feature. Bedding and blankets were lovely. The upstairs area was a real treat and lovely to wake up to although some curtains on the high level windows would be useful so as not to be woken up too early. Would recommend staying here.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Relaxing fun.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Croissants were lovely. The two nights stay were a haven from the school camp down at the holiday camp where I spent sometime. It was lovely to see how this lovely old building has been restored . I was here in the 1940s and 50s.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    The Heritage is a lovely relaxing, comfortable place to stay. It is so central to the village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the dining room was a little cool at breakfast time due to a malfunction of the heating system. HOWEVER, this was no fault of the Heritage Staff. A repair man was trying to sort the problem.

    Staff went out of their way to give us a downstairs room as I was on an elbow crutch and stairs would have been painful to use

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful garden villa 😍.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was over a bath. Not my personal preference.

    Beautiful garden villa. It was a freezing night but you couldn’t tell with the amazing heater, comfy bed and electric blanket 😍😁.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    A special experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful old hotel. We enjoyed our stay very much. The meals we had in the dining room were excellent. We will come again but next time longer than one night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    6.3
    Very cold.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cold. Poorly insulated old Bach/cabin style accommodation that was overpriced for what it was. Decor worn. Bathroom needed updated. Stayed in 3 bed villa.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Excellent warm cosy stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our stay at the Heritage was good. The room was warm and cosy as it was a cold day. The bed was comfy but maybe a little bit too soft for me anyway. It was lovely to arrive back at the end of our night to the bar with the fire still burning. Breakfast was excellent as was the service we received in the dinning room. Overall it was a great stay and would highly recommend staying at the Heritage.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    6.3
    We had a really unfortunate experience here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a really unfortunate experience here. We had gone for a quiet, relaxing getaway before our second child is due to find we had been booked in the same hallway as a function that was being held at the heritage. The rooms in our hall were being used for a Fashion show which meant people stampeding up and down the hall until midnight. We requested to be moved but apparently they were fully booked. Heritage really should have informed us of this event because having known, we would have chosen somewhere else. As a sorry we got a free breakfast which was kind but would have preferred the relaxing getaway we much anticipated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.5
    Unfortunately after driving over the pass in a storm we had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately after driving over the pass in a storm we had to wait 20mins for someone to come and check us in and we weren’t the only ones waiting. Otherwise our stay was very pleasant especially the extremely comfortable bed!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    The staff were friendly and helpful and our room was so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The king bed had a lump going through the middle of it

    The staff were friendly and helpful and our room was so nicely set up and spacious also had a great view to the hills

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.5
    Nice central location, easy check in and out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing of any real importance. I find a shower over the bath, rather than separate comes acrosss as a bit cheap. Also lack of soy milk in room with tea making facilities, though thats an issue pretty much everywhere

    Nice central location, easy check in and out. Staff helpful and courteous. Rooms clean and tidy, bed was comfy and room was nice and warm.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.8
    Good but spoiled because of the lack of proper lighting to get to the room 354
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a garden room we arrived at 6 pm finding out way to the room in the pitch dark was difficult and dangerous because of the trip hazards.

    Beds were the best I have ever had at any hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable bed, right in the middle of the village so handy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was cold on check in and took awhile to heat up.

    Comfortable bed, right in the middle of the village so handy to bars/cafes/restaurants and attractions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Lovely, character hotel - spacious, comfortable & clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately for us there was a party in the ballroom on the Saturday night till midnight and our room was directly above it..so couldn't avoid the boom, boom sounds of loud music below us.

    Great location. Very spacious bedroom & bathroom. Lovely, comfy king-size bed. Very clean. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to others!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    5.8
    Expected more from the Heritage for the price i paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    The villa was run down, poor condition, not maintained, very dirty stove, mouse traps in the kitchen, broken tiles, mouldy bathrooms, fireplace vent no longer worked and no nob on the vent to move it so burnt my hand.

    I liked the location and the villas are edged on a pond that you can walk around off the outside deck of your room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.1
    Very disappointing
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Layout of the hotel. Attitude of male staff who tried to talk down to you if there was a problem. Hotel not welcoming . No access to the lounge area and no open fire which was always a feature for the hotel especially in the cooler months

    Good location and comfortable bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    3.3
    Never again
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dirty Glasses for the price of the room being put in a room above a dumpster out one window and rubbish bins out the other it was disgusting.

    The Bed was great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    5.0
    Bad customer service, very comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were not treated very nicely by a front desk member. There was dust sitting on the curtains. The toilet wouldn't flush, after asking for some help he left a note saying 'push and hold'. We are quite capable of knowing how to flush a toilet. After it had been 'looked' at we continued having problems and only my partner was able to get a light flush by bracing himself and using his full body strength to do this.

    Bed was very comfortable and location of hotel was amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    Location is perfect for everything, its nice to arrive in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room door lock needs attention, it was difficult to lock and unlock which wasn't great in the pouring rain at 11pm. Otherwise everything was great.

    Location is perfect for everything, its nice to arrive in Hanmer and not touch the car until we leave as so much is in walking distance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.9
    Average service for what should have been a great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were not overly friendly. While checking us in the staff member was engaging with another staff member who was on the phone complaining about another business. They came across quite rude and it did not seem to be the appropriate place to be conducting the call.

    Nice hotel with very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.8
    Great location and comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Didn't like paying surcharge (1.5%) for using a credit card, but a lot of motels seem to be doing this now.

    Great location, right near restaurants and short walk to the hot springs. Very comfortable bed. We were in a room right next to reception and I was worried it would be noisy but it was fine, didn't hear a thing.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: