Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Holiday Inn Rotorua 4.5 stars

10 Tryon Street, 3043 Rotorua, New Zealand

#36 of 88 hotels in Rotorua

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2391 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.3
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    New Zealanders need to start to value their jobs in the tourist industry and show it to the tourists especially foreign tourists. A smile and a good morning is worth gold.the

    The children loved the pool. Loved looking over Whakarewarewa and easy to get to without getting into the car.Bathroom was great and beds great plenty of room for the 4of us.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.2
    Overall a great place to stay with kids! If its raining you can play in the heated pool. Perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The kids room was a bit dull. Had two table tennis tables, 3 balls and a few paddles...a projector which was only working one afternoon. Could do with some board games, books that kind of thing maybe?

    The buffet dinner was delicious! So was the breakfast buffet. We really appreciate the fact that kids DINE free and STAY free. Great value for a family and the pool is fun!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    6.7
    Good stay, very kond helpful staff just see my improvement suggestions for further detail.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom tub was alittle dirty & the bath tub slip mat was filthy with pubic hairs on it. Gross. Also the room needs a decent paint job, it looked distasteful by the window sills. The fridge wasnt cold enough and it wasn’t keeping anything cold hense why we had to order a bucket of ice. One of the pillow cases had a smudge of makeup foundation on it also. Maybe look into getting a few more cutlery & cookery utensils like plates etc because it was very limoted with a fridge, a few cups & hot water jug that by the way we had to retrieve water from the basin in the bathroom in order to use- not hygienic at all.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. Very spacious & enough space to relax compfortably.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.3
    Good but I think small details need looking at.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were amazed to find an open coffee sachet in the container. Is it practice that some rooms have white gowns and slippers in their room as we had neither yet other family members booked in on the same night did. Was it an overlook which doesn't reflect well on the thoroughness of cleaning staff. The pool also needed attention. There were strands of hair floating in the pool. Despite this the pool was very relaxing.

    A very friendly check in and check out. Room small but ok but outlook wasn't flash.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.3
    94% happy and would book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No view of Whakarewarewa village, as per our booking description. no bathrobes coffee and tea available but no cups to use found an opened sugar satchet among the coffee

    BIG THUMBS UP staff v friendly, great staff and v approachable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.8
    We need some R&R and we certainly got what we needed here :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A minor cleaning issue that we pointed out 3 different times over 3 different days and it still wasn't addressed. The bed wasnt the greatest, we both ended up with sore backs, it was a bit soft, I think thats what might have caused the problem.

    The staff were fantastic, the food and beverage service was amazing. The quality of the food was great and the portion sizes where huge! (We are good eaters and we couldn't finish any of our meals).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    6.3
    Overall a bit disappointed.
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we came back to the room at 4pm the room was not cleaned, no clean towels and rubbish bin was still full. Immediately communicated to the hotel, the housekeeping staff came to clean everything on the spot. During checkout, it was advised extra 1.5% was collected with credit card payment, but it was not for our previous stay earlier this year. Cheers

    Staffs are friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable and good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food area crowded and unclear information; staff looked very busy and rushed off their feet. Preference to push you towards buffet but if you wanted ala carte everything was a bit slower

    Comfortable and good value

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.3
    Great place for everyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was super comfortable and the room was ultra clean, barely a speck of dust in the room when we arrived. The room was a little bit on the smaller side but it was only a room for the two of us and was perfect in that sense.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Great stay at this lovely hotel. The room was well styled and cosy and warm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish brochure/ info on line had told us that the pool was heated! Parking was often difficult to find.

    Lovely warm and well styled room. Large variety of breakfast available.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    It suited me and my family for our stay, it was lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a bit further from town, you have to drive for other dining facilities.

    It suited me and my family for our stay, it was lovely enough, great thermal pool for a winter swim.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Staff are friendly and accomodating. The room is clean and beds are comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are friendly and accomodating. The room is clean and beds are comfortable. The next time we book a hotel, we will definitely choose Holiday Inn.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.5
    All in all very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to park a long way away as there were no parks in hotel car park or on the road outside , this was very disappointing as my husband had very expensive golf clubs he had to bring inside the room.

    Clean nice tidy room good channels on tv and nice view

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    We will be returning customers 😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the room we were given, it was convenient for my 3 children being right next to the pool. Free WiFi, a esoteric thermal pool and spas. Spotless room, warm and very comfortable beds, what I loved was the amount of extra towels we got as the kids went swimming then the showers etc was great I will definitely recommend to friends and family and visit again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.9
    bathroom not up to expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    bathroom not up to expectations. toilet seat got 2 out of 4 rubber pieces missing and makes it lean forward and noisy when dropped to close. also a lot of mold at the base of the rail at the bath tub which indicates that no one cleaned it for weeks!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    We will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Handy place to stay with very welcoming staff. The service was excellent and the room was very comfortable. Breakfast and the dinner buffet was memorable with plenty of choices. Great value for money. **Was traveling with a toddler and they even had plastic plates and cutlery for the little one and didn’t mind the mess he made while having breakfast and dinner in the restaurant**

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    The restaurant Chapmans is awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant Chapmans is awesome. The staff there are so lovely and helpful. Highly recommend staying here with your kids. They even turned a conference room into a kids room for kids to go watch movies on the big screen, play table tennis etc

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Excellent service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent service! We were lucky to receive a room upgrade with the most amazing views , the room was spacious and spotless, comfortable beds. Buffet excellent, lots of choice and good value for money. Happy Hour 😁😁 bar area very comfortable and inviting. Excellent place for families, we will definately be back, would 100% recommend this hotel!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Enjoyable stay, we will be back to stay at the Holiday Inn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel staff were friendly and efficient. Enjoyed our stay. Lots of quality in the food provided and portion sizes were large. No request was too much trouble. Would recommend the hotel for any one to stay in Rotorua. Location was great for easy access to many of Rotorua highlights.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.9
    The beds were super comfy and room was decent size
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for a double bed but ended up with two singles this was due to the limited availability they said.

    The beds were super comfy and room was decent size

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Absolutely Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn’t like about it

    Friendly staff and nice welcome. The foyer was very open and welcoming . There were Trolleys available to take you luggage up to your room. There is a restaurant and a bar, along with a little gift shop on site. The rooms were a good size but most of all the hotel was really clean. The outdoor pool and 2x spa pools where fantastic nice and warm and inviting and you don’t have to walk far to get into the pool. Full buffet Breakfast was included in our room cost for the 3 of us real value for money we all loved this hotel and can’t wait to visit there again. Our granddaughter of 10 years said it’s the best hotel and we have stayed in many including America. 10 out of 10

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    The in looked great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The in looked great! Even a bath that you hardly see now. Strong shower and handy little condiments to use. Great brand. Food was all you can eat and tasty. Friendly and efficent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    Awesome stay enjoyed it very much
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the buffet could have been better made or better quality food

    Best place in Rotorua to stay hands down best value for money has everything you need awesome buffet breakfast nice hot pools bath time room service very clean staff very friendly helpful and accommodating highly recommend

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    We had a very amazing stay and would have stayed an extra night if we could have.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food prices a bit high. Not many meat selections at the buffet dinner.

    The staff were all very friendly and welcoming. The buffet breakfast was really good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    excellent.definately be back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we had dinner at the chapmana.everything was nice just the potatoes were a bit hard for my children to eat.

    the staff were really friendly.bed was very comfortable.and the food was very good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    Very happy stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our mattress needed replacing as it was very saggy.

    Great location, facilities which included pool and gym! Nice and close to attractions and amazingly helpful staff who gave us an upgrade for our honeymoon.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Don't expect the standard to be the same as other holiday inns
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didnt like that the standard room i booked Didn't have a balcony, i should have taken more notice that the room didnt have that Holiday inn auckland has balcony out every room thats at the top. Also smoking area only at the ftont of reception 😡 not only is that annoying, but it is quiet a ugly site to see a whole much of smokers right at the front of a nice place the holiday inn rotorua... Plus i came a long way and the last thing i want to do is walk a mile for a smoke. BREAKFAST..... i asked for eggs Benedict only to be told its a extra $5 fee what the hell Auckland holiday inn do not charge any extra cost for eggs Benedict, to my understanding all ihg holiday inns have the same standard ect?????? I'm not too sure.... Noise level... kids running up and down i understand they are being kids and they just having fun enjoying themselves but honestly i just wanted peace and privacy one thing i definitely get from Auckland holiday inn Ceasar salad was disgusting it was drowned with sauce no crunch what so ever i wouldn't purchase that again,

    Spa pool/Pool Perfect Breakfast buffet Great Room Amazing Chocolate platter delicious Steak meal 50/100

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    6.7
    Bed was extremely comfy but the air conditioning unit was so loud we had to shut it off
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning unit sounded like a tractor, so we had it turned off took over 20mins for the system to shut down so room was quite cold. Hair over floor in the bathroom and stuck to bathroom mat 😵

    Bed was amazingly comfertable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.3
    A really nice property with friendly and helpful staff. We'd love to come back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little tired and needed some maintenance. You could see where the walls had been plastered to touch up small holes and dings and the walls.

    The bed and bed linen was lovely and the pillows........I'd go back there again just for the pillows. The breakfast buffet was good and the staff were really nice and helpful. There was a good amount of on and off street parking available.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.9
    Large comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not within walking distance of town centre and restaurants.

    Large and comfortable room with view over rising steam from hot springs. Good selection for breakfast. Ample parking on site.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    The beds were extremely comfortable, the young lady serving...
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My key card did not work, had to go all the way back to reception to get a replacement, otherwise everything was perfect.

    The beds were extremely comfortable, the young lady serving us in the bar area was very pleasant. The reception area is well situated and the staff were very helpful and friendly. There were a lot of families and their children there, very family friendly. Definitely will be staying here on future holidays to Rotorua. Breakfast was absolutely delicious, so much to choose from definitely a high-light of my stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Rooms a little bit noisey (noise from halls and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a little bit noisey (noise from halls and above/below) but this is to be expected as it is a family friendly hotel meaning lots of kiddies running around.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.8
    recommend to families
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    that housejeepong was late afternoon and we had tonwait for the roommto ne cleaned and fresh towels the indian cleaner didnt take our rubbish and the toilet seat was dripping wet after cleaned it probably needs more training and kids running up and down the hall way is noisey

    dinner buffet

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Really enjoyable, and great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely loved our stay at the Holiday Inn Rotorua. It had everything we needed plus more. We found our room and the facilities to be well stocked and clean. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, they were more than happy to help. The food was also very tasty, with a great selection available. We will definitely be back!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    5.4
    We did not like the food specially dinner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food

    We did not like the food specially dinner. Not worth the money, quality was not good. Yuck taste. Breakfast was good. All the drinking glassess in my room was dirty from previous use.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.1
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough parking places, need to park by the road. Stain on the the duvet sheet.

    Kids friendly: drawings and sticker packages for children. Heated swimming pool: open 6:30am-10:30pm. Good breakfast:scrambled eggs, apple and orange juice,auto coffee machine with many choices,bacon,sausage,toast, tomato, spaghetti, porridge, cereals, fresh orange, apples, kiwi fruit, melons, pineapple, and peach in juice...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    Awesome stay well worth the money. Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a balcony room but the view was of the roof of the entrance too hotel couldn't see anything.

    I liked the buffet breakfast, it was delicious and so much too choose from.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Excellent place we enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing Help with internet Comfortable bed Warm room. Noisy heat pump

    Excellent place we enjoyed our stay Food was good great variety, no comp

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    A very nice and relaxed weekend like home away from home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking, we had to park out on the road.

    The thermal pool was so good nice and relaxing the staff were nice and dinner was yummy, definitely be coming back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    Relaxing staycation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was charged an incorrect amount from room service menu and when I showed the receptionist the online menu I ordered from she only apologised that the menu was outdated rather than try to reimburse me for the difference.

    Bed was very comfortable, good quality breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.5
    Pitiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See the above.

    I did not enjoy the stay as much as last time. Asked for a percivic room. Had to wait to find a room that part was good very helpful but the room was cold and noisy. Not good at all very disappointed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.3
    Your staff are A+ but your food needs work
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The night buffet was shocking food was cold, when asked for well done roast lamb was given the crusty end bit and the scrapy bits left from previous slicing!!

    The breakfast was always nice and hot, bed nice and comfy room serviced everyday

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Absolutely Awesome. Would do it again in a heartbeat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing I didn't like. This establishment superseded my expectations. If Value is what you are looking for, in an idyllic location, book now!

    The heated Swimming pool and the Spa area were fantastic. A stroll away from amazing touristy hot spots. Friendly, helpful staff and a fantastic venue for functions. Very warm and welcoming. Comfortable and affordable rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.5
    The location was about 15 minutes from the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It seemed like they didn't clean our wine glasses and just placed them back on the shelf.

    The location was about 15 minutes from the city centre. You can do your laundry on site.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Amazingly fantastic - do go and stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have liked a bigger than Queen size bed in the disabled room but the bed was just soooo.. comfortable. The room looked out on to the car park but it wasn't a problem.

    Amazing service from all the staff. All the showers in this property are over the bath apart from the few disabled rooms and I was booked into one of those after a phone call. We were late back from the Redwoods Walk but were able to have the Buffet meal despite being half an hour late. Buffet meal is fantastic value at $50 and the staff are so helpful and accommodating. Can't fault it. My UK visitors enjoyed the spa pool and all the lovely fluffy white towels available.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable and the staff did everything to make our stay as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After some recent flooding the geothermal vents behind the hotel were very smelly. It would make us gag whenever we walked outside and the smell infiltrated the room overnight.

    Comfortable and the staff did everything to make our stay as pleasant as possible

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Lovely room, very cosy for a cold evening. Loved the hot swimming pool. Temp. perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Didn't replace the English Breakfast tea bags

    The bed was lovely and comfortable. Nice duvet and good pillows. Lock up room for the mountain bikes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    Convenient, like the location, plenty of room in rooms, good sized bathroom.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    On check-in was initially told I didn't have a booking, so had to get them to re-check. The Restaurant Manager was amazing as he knew we had trouble with our meals - the chef must have had a long shift as items had been left off our plates. Mistakes happen - however how they were handled was awesome. Checkout was efficient and I was asked if I required assistance to load my car - awesome, big tick.

    Location, was in new wing on ground floor, easy access to car park and hotel facilities; option of a bath (although didn't have time to use it); range of teas in room - nice to have a choice of more than ordinary tea. The very helpful Restaurant Manager. Good to have windows that open for fresh air.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    5.0
    That I wasn’t made aware that the pool would not be...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I wasn’t made aware that the pool would not be functional for the entirety of our stay even though they advertise the pool. This was a big reason we choose to stay here. Also the hot water was turned off (due to bad weather which I understand) however more than a 10 minute warning would have been appreciated. How do you expect two adults to shower in 10minutes. 2nd night we stayed here our key cards didn’t work either.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    Stay overall very enjoyable, will be back!
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Aircon very slow to change temp. Opening windows would be great. Appreciate they would need to be restricted but fresh air is a real plus.

    Fifth floor room upgrade greatly appreciated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    The rooms we well over what I expected!
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms we well over what I expected! Loved the look and how tidy it was! The bed was more than comfortable. Bathroom so super nice as well! Would recommend this place 😁😁

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    5.8
    Pros and cons
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No robes, poor bar and restaurant service, no knowledge or experience.

    The restaurant supervisor was professional and helpful. Tshan? Very in control despite very inexperienced staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    I would definitely stay again. Staff were friendly and helpful. Great outdoor swimming pool area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were really happy with everything

    Great spot, friendly helpful staff, great food. Ideal for families and Mountain bikers. Has a lockable room for mountain bikes. Kids under 12 eat free. Cleaning staff were happy and friendly. There were slippers in our room and product in the bathroom

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Outstanding customer service ,most comfy beds and wonderful catered food and dining experience .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was outstanding.Only small note the buffet dinner the lemon meringue tarts were not the right texture with the meringue too sugarary and lemon curd was quite tasteless ,otherwise everything else fantastic 😄😄

    Outstanding service from staff ,most comfortable beds ,fantastic buffet evening meal and breakfast .Definitely would recommend this place to stay .Gym and pools and spas looked amazing but forgot our togs .so definitely will be back to stay again .Even had a happy hour so no need to go off anywhere else for drinks and dinner as it was all well provided at fantastic prices .❤️😄💗

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.3
    Quite nice stay despite big, impersonal hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was next to the pool, open from 6am to 10.30pm. The noise was horrible during ALL the opening hours. Ask for a room to the opposite side... And I am still annoyed about the price I had to pay over Easter weekend, as I booked very short-term and couldn‘t get any other. Higher price for special weekends is okay, but mine was 3 times as high as the usual one. I recognized later. Even the receptionist felt with me and apologized...

    The breakfast is excellent! Very fresh, great and international variety. And the coffee wakes you up indeed... :-). Friendly staff, big and tidy room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.2
    Great place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Someone had set the alarm at the side of the bed for midnight, so I woke to an alarm. Not the hotels fault, probably a previous guest.

    The bed and pillows were heavenly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    3.3
    Wont return
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    toilet seat had deposits on it had to clean off with face cloth room was obverlooking rubbish area because i didnt purchase one of the 3 deals offered at reception i was put into a room with single beds not a queen as booked my view overlooked the rubbish area so the guy who checked me in would have though fix this person give him the worst room in the hotel, thanks Mr Patel I was on a cycle to stay monthly thanks to his arrogance will go somewhere else

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.6
    Exceptional stay! Would definitely stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator was a little bit slow. Room service food not as good as dining at the restaurant. No proper smoking area.

    Pool was great! Kids thoroughly enjoyed it! Service was excellent and the breakfast buffet was yummy!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.8
    aside from untimely disturbance in the morning the stay was good and i would stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a knocknat the door before 10 by housekeeping asking when i was leaving. I was breastfeeding my baby at that time and did not appreciate being disturbed esp when checkout time was 11. It was quite unpleasant and i suggest the management have a talk with housekeeping re this as a lot of guests would not be happy with this disturbance.

    Clean, comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    So so
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool is just as small as before.. but the room is not as cleaned as before, and the breakfast is not as many choices as before, price is expensive than 2016

    Shuttle bus is very convenient, comfortable bed, friendly employees

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    Good good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool is just as small as before.. but the room is not as cleaned as before, and the breakfast is not as many choices as before, price is expensive than 2016

    Location, shuttle bus is very convenient, friendly employees, room service is good and large amount

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    性价比一般
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool is just as small as before.. but the room is not as cleaned as before, and the breakfast is not as many choices as before, price is expensive than 2016

    Friendly employees, good location, shuttle bus is very convenient for us to go to city center, room service food is very large amount

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    Second stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool is just as small as before.. but the room is not as cleaned as before, and the breakfast is not as many choices as before, price is expensive than 2016

    Friendly employees, good location, shuttle bus is very convenient for us to go to city center, room service food is very large amount

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    2.9
    NEEDS AIR CONDITIONING FIXED
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air conditioning was not working at night time, had the worst 2 sleeps on holiday. Bed was comfortable, pillows were great, just was sweating in the night.

    Location was okay, pools were okay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    The location was terrific and our room looked over...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was terrific and our room looked over Whakarewarewa. The bed was extremely comfortable and room service portions generous. Food was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    5.0
    Too expensive & not a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost of food in restaurant too expensive. Our room was not cleaned on our 2nd day, we had to ask for clean towels. We checked in very late at night after a long drive in Easter traffic from Auckland, and the receptionist was in no hurry to check us in,because we paid in full on booking I had to give him my credit card for a 1$ deposit which I thought was weird then he tried to sign us up for some free website that the hotel is trying to promote, we just wanted to go to bed .

    Comfy bed, big room. Free shuttle into town is great. Enjoyed the heated pool .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    The bed was comfy and the view was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because the windows couldn't be opened the room was stuffy. And the temperature dial in the room wasn't working, even at the coldest temperature the room was warm.

    The bed was comfy and the view was nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable stay, the cherry on top of my whole trip!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was very good, hourly free shuttle into the town square, close to Te Puia, continental breakfast was delicious (e.g. fresh kiwi fruit juice), unlimited wifi, had so many towels I didn't know what to do with them!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    5.0
    Not worth the money you pay for staying there
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff ok but not informative enough. got told to park on the side of the hotel, go through side door, no offer of a valet to guide us where or help with the luggage yet others were offered this service, Bed was too hard, no water for the kettle had to either buy bottled water or get the water from the basin in the bathroom! Yuk!!! No dishcloth or tea towel to wipe any spills when making a cuppa. Not enough reading info in the room. However, I have to say the staff who were either cleaning or picking up trays were always friendly & smiling.

    The pillows

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.2
    Convenient stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good!

    Hotel was in walking distance of top thermal area visible from our window. Typical good Holiday Inn facilities. Tamaki Village evening was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.1
    Overall good apart from the food and door knock8ng
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ordered room service and the food was not good at all. Also Someone was knocking on our door at 10pm while we were asleep and the cleaner in the morning around 9 when in fact I had a late check out.

    Reception staff, amenties,

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.6
    Very clean room, with big spacious bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room cutlery sometimes not 100% clean. Should offer a discounted breakfast package if prebooking.

    Very clean room, with big spacious bathroom. There are even 2 sofa chairs and a table so you can sit and enjoy the thermal valley view. The property overall is clean, presentable, big and spacious. They made an effort to minimise the sulfur smell from outside coming inside. Clean gym. I like their environmental responsibility of using geothermal hot water in the bathroom. I wish they adhered to their promise of not washing towels when we hang them up. Service is impeccable. We asked for a lot of things and these were provided within 3 minutes. On the flip side, since we booked a premium room, they should pre-stock the room with bathrobes, a no disturb sign instead of making us ask for it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    7.9
    Excellent, looking forward too coming back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we didnt book for long enough

    The dinner/breakfast staff were absolutely amazing, they were very helpful and catered to our needs. They went above and beyond 😊😊

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.2
    Nice old hotel.Yes
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location not great. Shower over bath not good by today's standards. Shower rose fixed height no good for tall people.

    Hotel still in good condition for age. Nice pool especially once we found the hot water inlet. Nice room bit lacking in light. Don't try reading.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    6.3
    Could have been better !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. Didn't get the room i originally booked even after talking directly to reservations and they allocated a room with a queen before we arrived. Ended up with a double and a single. 2. Asked for fresh milk and two wine glasses, waited 40 mins and then phoned again and still waited another 30 mins. 2. Didn't even get a friendly smile when checking in and out. 3. Asked for a 8.30am wakeup call got called at 1.30am in the morning, not happy !

    Pool and Hot Tube / Breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: