Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of ibis Auckland Ellerslie 3.5 stars

72-112 Greenlane East, 1051 Auckland, New Zealand

#67 of 161 hotels in Auckland

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 467 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Paid WiFi

    5.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    6.3
    Poor food quality.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was terrible. Breakfast cold and meals expensive and very bad quality. Its not situated near any other restaurants so you are a captive audience. Also the room keys failed 4 times.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Great location to hospital, very clean and comfortable.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very convenient to Ascot Hospital where my husband had surgery. The bed was very comfortable. Loved the little bathroom that looks like one from a boat. The free breakfast buffet was very delicious and had lots of choices. Everything was very clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.5
    Access to transport links, it was quiet, staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircon was noisy, bathroom was a pod like structure and functional but kinda dated and cramped. Tv was very small and remote didn’t with well. Couldn’t find hotel guide on tv. Inconsiderate Australian guests who insisted on having their entire conversation in the hallway at 0645 am yelling between two rooms ... price of room went down considerably after 01 June 2018 from 199 to 124 which is pretty poor, esp when on initially booking it said not many rooms left ... when I checked online on sat 2 June I could have booked the same two nights for 248 compared to the 358 I did pay when I booked early .. never again this is really disappointing

    Access to transport links, it was quiet, staff were delightful and super friendly bed was comfy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    Hotel is well situated. Staff were extremely friendly, helpful and polite. Room was small, but quie
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is well situated. Staff were extremely friendly, helpful and polite. Room was small, but quiet, clean and comfortable. Would happily stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    5.4
    answer above
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    answer above

    bathroom super pockie design problem with blind street light shining window through and above blind I needed to stuff it with towels to stop having light shine through . lay in the bed and see there is a gap above blind

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    should have complimentary internet in this day and age.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    should have complimentary internet in this day and age. a bit rubbish to have to pay for it separate so I didn't. Need to have a variety of pillows. 4 large ones is stupid when people like slim ones too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.1
    Brief, just needed a room for the night - thought it was very expensive for a last minute booking.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None of the usual extra's I.e. Complimentary biscuits, shower cap & other bathroom items. No instructions for use of television & no menu or anything relating to what's available for breakfast.

    Comfortable bed, nice linen & quiet area of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.8
    Breakfast was cold.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was cold. I experienced this last time I stayed here. I raised the matter with staff. They didn’t charge. I was surprised to experience a year later the same problem. Every item was cold. And I was there before 7am. Disappointing as there’s plenty to choose from.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable, but rooms basic, meal fantastic.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free wifi in rooms And free car parking, the room prices are high enough

    The a la carte menu was varied with a broad selection for choice. The meals were beautifully presented and the two course my partner and I chose were magnificent . Well cooked flavoursome and a true delight. HIGHLY RECOMMEND

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    6.7
    Was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t like the bathroom fan turning on and off every 30 seconds all night would prefer to have a fan I can turn on while in bathroom As it gets very hot and humid in there while using shower and not switch to turn the fan on while using little silly I think. And also we paid for parking and there were no car parks left when we wanted to park up for the night luckily at 1am in the morning someone was leaving (very lucky this happened or we would have been screwed for a car park. Also didn’t like they pre charged by visa even tho I was paying cash and was prepared to pay before stay, you could have recorded visa info without the need to charge it as now I have a charge on card that will Take 10 working days to go away:(

    Close to concert venue

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    5.4
    Stay here if the rates are cheap. You'd be better to stay in CBD.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Gouge on parking Gouge on internet Stupid, cheap pre-fab bathrooms Windows not double glazed so road noise Lots of corridor noise

    It was clean. Bed on wheels(?!) and rolled across room. Staff came and changed castors quickly. On checkout parking was made free due to my no knowing it was a paid extra.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    5.4
    This IBIS Hotel is obviously it is not aimed at the NZ traveller, but to International Tourists..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very poor value for money. The room was tiny considering the price for one night. The plastic cubicle bathroom is not acceptable for the price of the room. The barrier-arm carpark, and the charge for parking would be understandable if this Hotel was in Downtown Auckland, but not in the location that this Hotel is in. Breakfast was seriously overpriced, $32 plus we had to pay for our coffees on top of that. Obviously this Hotel is not aimed at the NZ traveller. It is staffed with international staff (Chinese/Asian), and virtually all the other guests were same. This Hotel is charging international prices, but these prices are not something that - as a high volume NZ Traveller - I am used to paying for the standard of this Hotel.

    This is an average IBIS Hotel, nothing wrong with it, but nothing to look forward to either.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.8
    Great reception, great sleep, breakfast could have been better.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I wish the size of the room was a bit bigger. The breakfast service was slow and clumsy, maybe it was busy but overall it could be done better. There was no cutlery on many tables, while the buffet was great it took kitchen forever to make my eggs and when it finally arrived it was done wrong despite me clarifying a couple of time that I wanted my eggs done a particular way.

    The Staff at the reception made my stay! I stayed two weekends and both time the check in was very pleasant! check out was also a breeze. The room was standard Ibis room a bit small but well equipped. Very comfortable bed, great pillows. Bathroom was ok but shower was nice and roomy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.1
    The bed was devine, as were the blackout curtains.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What took my experience down was being asked to pay a $50 bond. It cheapened the experience and made me wonder what happens here regularly enough to require that. Having the receptionist radio up to house cleaning to check my room right in front of me before refunding my bond left me feeling uncomfortable. Subtlty would go a long way in retaining the feeling of a luxurious treat away.

    The bed was devine, as were the blackout curtains. The location was great for what i needed it for. Any issues were dealt with immediately.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Ibis Ellerslie
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows coverings were inadequate. They did not eliminate the brilliant light from BP over the road which was illuminated all night. The all items in the buffet need to have labels indicating the dishes, especially as the likes of seafood can be an allergen. The breakfast juices are in need of labels too. Dinner at $59 was not value for money and the wine steward needed to be aware are newly seated guests wanting to order a drink

    Value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.3
    Great that there was foozball for the grandkids who joined...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Would have liked to be able to open the window. Spent a lot of time sitting outside to get some fresh air. A small balcony would have been perfect.

    Great that there was foozball for the grandkids who joined us for a drink at the bar. Kept them entertained while the adults chatted. Central location from airport and cbd and trains

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.6
    Perfectly fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Compact, maximised the space......very small room! Butfir one night was fine

    Convieniently located next to the pop up Globe Theatre within walking distance Tne room was quiet clean and comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.5
    Very happy with the standard of the rooms, seriously disappointed with the restaurant.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Both nights the bar appeared short staffed with the influx of people from the various conferences. Again seriously disappointed with the quality of the meal on Friday night, Cambridge duck is advertised as the chefs special, the amount of duck served was MINIMAL, far from special. Chose not to eat in the restaurant Saturday night and ordered a pizza from the bar. For future conferences held at your establishment I will most likely eat elsewhere.

    Staff at reception were friendly and efficient, the rooms are clean and well presented.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    6.3
    The cost for a room at this hotel has pretty much gone up...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cost for a room at this hotel has pretty much gone up 100% in a year. This is not justifiable. I have already made bookings elsewhere for 2018. Our business was going to book 4 rooms for 5 nights in late July 2018 for an event we are involved with in Auckland. We have booked elsewhere.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.1
    Generally was ok . I would like to become a member in order to qulaify for good rates in the future.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't get WiFi in the room despite assurance. Very high rate despite staying in Novotel for 3 days prior to IBIS. Got duped into booking dates. When I clearly had booked for in 16th Feb and out 17th Feb. But booking was taken as March and the rate went from $232 to $512. No decent TV channels.

    Constant smile and greetings by the front line staff. Ready to assist. Pleasant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    7.5
    Every surface was just covered with eels.
    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The smell did become quite overwhelming at times. And while I did overall ENJOY the eels, I felt they were a bit overdone in certain places (armchair, sofa, bed, etc.) Their slimy skin clashed somewhat with the plush upholstery.

    The Inn is well appointed with fresh water eels. They drip off of the light fixtures and pool on the floor beneath your feet like a soft, squirming carpet that smells like a stagnant body of water on a warm day.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    7.5
    Really great hotel. We'll be back again for sure!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a pity that we did not have access to free wifi -it's 2018 for goodness sake!

    The valet parking service was very helpful, particularly as the car park was full upon our arrival and it was pouring with rain! The staff were very friendly and the hotel itself was nice and quiet, surprising considering its distance from the motorway and it's general businesses during the period of our stay. Awesome location too! Just a short stroll to the train station and a number of amenities.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.1
    Good location, everything you need for a basic stay
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a little pricey for what we needed, but there weren’t many hotel rooms available in Auckland that night due to a large rock concert

    This was a transition hotel for us - arrived late at night at airport, left early the next morning. Accessible location (motorway, airport, Eastern Suburbs) means it served the purpose well. The staff were very friendly and helpful - much appreciated when checking in at 1:00am!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    8.8
    Excellent for our overnight needs. This hotel chain certainly maintains high standards.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loud air-con system. Car parking onsite should be free.

    Our room was excellent for a short stay. Very clean and tidy. Friendly reception staff. The drive leading into the hotel and grounds are lovely.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    7.1
    A good night sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Grounds could be kept better as it looked a bit untidy and furniture was tired looking. Some days it was also in need of a good clean up around seating areas.

    Very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    8.3
    We were attending a wedding at the Ellerslie Events Centre...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were attending a wedding at the Ellerslie Events Centre so the hotel is in walking distance. Staff friendly and helpful. Good variety of food choices for breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    7.9
    The price and location met our requirements and expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tired appearance, particularly as you look down the hallway at all the paint chipped off the doors.

    Very friendly staff all round from the check in to the room cleaner and maintenance man.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    8.8
    Good place to stay great staff good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have had more room in room. Would have been good to have double bed for same price as twin

    Staff very nice. Accessibility to train great and to get on motorway. Food and coffee great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    7.9
    Fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee plunger or wine glasses in the room Poorly designed blind that slid horizontally across window making the small amount of bench space even less usable No privacy as room over looked courtyard/ bar area Bathroom was like a pod in an easy jet hotel

    Friendly staff Excellent location for Mt Smart

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    5.8
    Breakfast was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On Google the address for Ibis hotel is wrong address so had trouble finding the hotel...took us an extra hour looking at the wrong place looking for the hotel..evening meal was average...

    Breakfast was excellent....service was excellent...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    7.1
    I guess I got what I paid for especially staying in Auckland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Particularly did not like the layout of the bathroom facilities, stepping up into the bathroom was dangerous when floor was wet. Not much room in there either.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    6.7
    Enjoyed it, had a nice time, would have stayed longer but they were booked up!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    ‘Pod’ style bathroom was modern and practical but it smelled a little from the drains.

    Close to race course, quiet at least from the outside and a fantastic resturant and bar.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    7.5
    Bed was comfortable (unless you tried sleeping right in the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking situation. Parking is extra and then there are no parks..... If you are lucky enough to find a park you need to be driving a mini or be stick thin to get your door open to get out of the vehicle. Definitely a challenge and an added stress I don't need when coming back from an evening meeting.

    Bed was comfortable (unless you tried sleeping right in the middle where there seemed to be a join or seam) Rooms are surprisingly quiet considering proximity to road.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    7.1
    okay
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Oops see above.

    Parking is always an issue at this hotel. Paying $15.00 with no guaranteed spot when across the round about is $7.00 seems a bit skewd

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    4.2
    Hidden cost for parking. Not being upfront with it. The room was definitely not value for money.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no water to drink in the room, Though there was an emplty refrigerator in the room. Not to forget, also they might have expected the guests to drink water from the toilet as there were two glasses in the bathroom. Sorry we are not related to the owners, in case they cook and eat in the toilet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    10
    Arrived a midnight after the long flight from London. Slept like the proverbial "log".
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have no comment to make to this question.

    I stay at this hotel often. Always welcomed by the staff. The quality in all respects meets my requirements. I will stay there again in a few weeks time.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    7.1
    Staff were fabulous, always helpful and friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the beds was uncomfortable, the mattress was on a slant, needs to be replaced. The aircon rattled so leaving it on overnight was not an option. I found the room very small, reminded me of a cruise ship cabin.

    Staff were fabulous, always helpful and friendly. The room was lovely and clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.1
    Fantastic staff, tidy but dated facilities with a breeze!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The common areas such as the bar, restaurant and corridors were below average room temperature. Not very comfortable or cozy when trying to enjoy a nice meal at the restaurant. I had to wear my coat.

    The staff were amazing!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.5
    Handy to the hospital. Clean and tidy.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress needs throwing out, has a hollow in it. Pillows needs to be varied. All were too high for us, you should have at least one thinner pillow per room. Parking is a rip off for 2 nights shouldn't be $30. Continental brekkie at $24 is a bit steep. Someone walked in off the street and they got their room $30 cheaper.

    The convenience to the hospital next door.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    It yah a lovely hotel, great price and superbly friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found it hard to get to the entrance, my GPS kept leading me to the building but not to entrance, had to call to get street name to type in. Maybe a sign by the main road to say where to enter would-be helpful

    The breakfast was outstanding

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Summed up in the what did you like about: totally recommend this hotel and will definitely stay here
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We arrived to find that I had booked twin room. By mistake and had wanted a king. The staff member told me she would change my booking to a king standard, at no extra cost. Breakfast was in the cost of the room, and was absolutely amazing. I had the best nights sleep, the bed was so comfortable. Staff were so helpful. On check out we didn't have to pay for the parking. I was so impressed with everything! Even had complimentary wifi 😊 10/10

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    5.8
    Cramped
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you would like to swing a cat in this room or you are anything other then petite...then don't book. Dormatory style rooms more like a youth hostel than a hotel..you can find the kettle in the wardrobe where you might be lucky enough to fit a coat! Deceptive photography, misleading dimensions.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    6.7
    Restaurant for dinner and breakfast was lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air conditioning very noisy and the windows were sealed so that was the only source of air. Couldn't switch it off as it got too hot. Had to put up with the noise all night.

    Restaurant for dinner and breakfast was lovely

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    4.2
    I-bis not what we expected.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Business King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I do need to advise that the I-bis is a very very basic room. Even though we got the a superior room. There was nosofa's or suitable seating. The room was tiny, and bathroom was more like a enclosed corner box in the room that you stepped up an into, rather than a separate bathroom. I asked if we could be moved and the manager who was very nice explained to me that the I-bis is really a low budget hotel more suited for business or travel and mainly was just a bed, none of them have sofas. We had paid $229 for the room which included breakfast and he moved us over to the Novatel which is the other half of the complex and we paid an extra $30.00 for a far bigger room, sofa, bath. The manager kindly gave us an upgrade. I would recommend the Novatel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.5
    good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Confusion on arrival regarding payments, was't deal with in the best manner by Cohen (Assistant Manager).

    Breakfast was delicious, there was a large range to choice from.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.5
    Why do they carge for WiFi!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having to pay $10 a day for WiFi when most cafe's let you use it for free. And after traveling around Europe and USA extensively where I never get charged for WiFi this!

    Location for what I wanted to do was good. Food a dinner and breakfast was good also.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    6.3
    Great staff, disappointed in having to pay for parking and slightly disappointed in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very uncomfortable, room was quite small and very dusty, as soon as we arrived at the room my eyes started to itch and I started sneezing.

    The staff were excellent!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.1
    Between hassle parking and uncomfortable bed it was good to leave
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed sunk in parking is hard to get and you get charged $15 Dollars a night

    We were very disappointed in the bed very uncomfortable one of the worst we ever have had

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    6.7
    It's better & cheaper to stay in the city
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel charges way too much for what it offers, the rooms are small and not well insulated against noise. The bathroom is a modular retrofit unit in the room and feels really cheap especially when you consider the room rate, also the rooms are tiny. I've stayed here a few times to due proximity to our office in Penrose but after this trip I have had permission to avoid Ibis & Novotel and stay in the city for better value all round.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    5.4
    Very clean and tidy rooms, staff were friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very over priced room and small but I suppose when there is a big Rugby test on you have to expect hotels to increase there price of stay. Normal stay would of been $150 but we paid $400 quite a big jump in price. Ordered room service told it would be 15mins they didn't delivery at all.

    Very clean and tidy rooms, staff were friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    10
    Pleasant staying. Will be back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaningness of the room. Also we booked only one room, as receptionist knowing that is my wedding day travelling, she offers us free breakfast. We are impressed! 😀

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    7.9
    We changed to the Novatel after the first night for more room
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The small bathroom with no vent and the amount of space round the bed was minimal

    the reception staff and the location was perfect as we were visiting the hospital next door

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    7.9
    All in all a basic room-But then we were only needing a place to sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the room was not ideal.....

    Pretty ordinary really but then we booked a pretty basic room. The staff were extremely helpful and professional.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    7.1
    Great location! But small room..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no microwave or crockery/cutlery in the room which we found very odd. And the room was very small with a tiny cupboard-like bathroom.

    Fantastic location and excellent staff!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic staff..great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a caffitaire and ground coffee in the room and more tea bags..but was given more very quickly when this was requested.

    This was my second vidit.Each time the staff were so polite and helpful..they go the extra mile and make ypu feel special. The restetant was excellent and good value I will be back!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    4.6
    Staff telling the whole foyer
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff telling the whole foyer What im sleeping in or on... Had the cleaners walked in On me whole im in my boxers.. Eg. They knocked the door Then the door opened

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    4.2
    Not good
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were not comfy. Bathroom was so small like a plane bathroom. Very pricei for that room. On top of all that pay for wifi. Pay for parking. No water bottles in the room. Prty worst hotel for the place. Thought motels are better than this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    2.9
    Worst Ibis hotel ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was our last stop of our NZ trip and we thought this would be the best hotel of our trip, but to our dismay it turned out to be our worst experience. - The lobby leading to the room felt like that of a prison, killing the mood entirely. Long and narrow with orange room doors. - The room was no different, more like a railway compartment with a small triangular bathroom just fitted in and it's door had no lock. No ventilation in the room at all, one window completely sealed with glass. Hardly any storage. Overall, a pathetic room. - Paid parking that was too cramp, be careful. Buffet breakfast was $35pp which was no-brainer to say no to. NO free wifi, can you imagine considering that it is a big hotel chain. We stayed in a few motels prior to this on our trip and all of them had a free wifi. To be honest those motels were far better overall that Ibis Auckland Ellerslie. - We had issues with the wash basin in the bathroom and they could not even arrange a maintenance staff to fix it, we were offered another room though but it was a hassle so we said no. Our parking was waivered off as a compensation so some relief. We have stayed in Ibis hotels many times before and hence we booked this one but it is a complete disgrace to the brand name. Not worth the money at all.

    Can't think of any.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    2.9
    Horrible location on side of highway, impossible to access.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible location on side of highway, impossible to access. Tiniest room I've been in, super cramped, every little space has been squeezed and optimised. Bathroom is what you'd expect on a cruise ship (tiny!) Ground floor hotel rooms are super dingy and mine looked out onto some broken chairs and umbrellas. Beds are very uncomfortable and offer no support and I sprained my neck on the first night. Walls are very thin and you can hear everything in the next rooms. Buffet breakfast is inedible and very expensive. Worst value for money meal of my whole two week trip in nz!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    7.5
    Too many noise disturbances during the night - would not recommend or stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    See above.

    The room was small for two people. The staff were excellent but the other guests, especially Chinese and Indian were very noisy and totally inconsiderate of other guests between 10pm and 8am. Also the hotel appears to have problems with prostitutes. Noise insulation on the corridor doors appears inadequate. Did not like not being able to open the window for fresh air.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    7.1
    Clean, comfort accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to pay for car parking which I didn't know about until I got there. Tried to sleep in the afternoon however all I could hear were other guests opening and closing their doors. The sound traveled right into the room.

    Staff were friendly. Shower pressure was good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    10
    Close to where we needed to be and at a good price.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have had better curtains as they didn't block out the light and would be see through at night time when you have the light on in your room.

    Close to where we needed to be and at a good price. Nice and comfortable. Just what we needed for our 1 night stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    5.4
    They offered a complimentary drink voucher when out room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small, the pod like bathroom claustrophobic and the beds were not at all comfortable. Not really suitable for more than one person even though there were two single beds in the room.

    They offered a complimentary drink voucher when out room wasn't ready and it's a very quick walk to the train station.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    8.8
    Convenient location with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff at check in and out were wonderful - they really went the extra mile to make sure I enjoyed my stay. For example, the gentleman on the Sunday (22nd) I checked out, he made sure I had an umbrella as I stepped out for a walk. Thank you!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    10
    Great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was awesome they have excellent customer service. Expedia had messed up the booking and wasn't very helpful when the receptionist called for us. She got it all straightened out and we actually stayed a couple more days. Made those reservations with booking.com and they went through without a hitch.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    5.4
    Staff were helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food at restaurant and cafe were of poor standard and not value for money. Takeaway would have been tastier.. The bed was not very comfortable, the mattress was way too soft and could feel most springs and sloped to the left. The pillow was very soft also.

    Staff were helpful and friendly. The sheets were clean.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    4.6
    Would be good for a business trip but not for couples trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was hard to find the entrance of the hotel. Our room was located on ground floor and the curtain was really...disappointing.. there is no privacy and need to be careful ..otherwise you may be seen by people outside.. never seen such a terrible curtain/blinds in a hotel room... which is even on ground floor

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    6.7
    Not impressed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we could not breakfast in the dining room even though we tried to book a table the day before. No tables had been held for in-house guests on Christmas morning - we were told the restaurant had been fully booked for months. Not as if local cafés were an option either. Astounding.

    Nothing in particular.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    7.9
    Quiet, comfy bed, good size tv, great shower flow of water.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Parking - width of space...we dont all 'drive' bikes...scary trying to park without scraping the paint off my car & the car beside me - this is a real revenue gathering exercise for the hotel...& charging $15 really! 2. Shower floor was slippery - scary if you are not stable on your feet - no rail to hold on to.

    Quiet, comfy bed, good size tv, great shower flow of water. Value for deal paid

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    10
    Great stay Amazing Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were groups of very noisy travellers from Asia and they shouted and banged down the corridors even in the middle of the night ,that's not the hotels fault but it was really bad and meant we didn't sleep well at all. A few signs in different language asking people to respect those who are sleeping after long journeys when jet lag could hit mid day would be helpful I think. Not everyone sleeps at the same time !

    The welcome at reception after a long long journey, the staff couldn't have been more helpful . The fact we had a laundry facility on coins was a bonus we weren't expecting . Arrived too early room wasn't ready so was offered a complimentary drink as we were so tired .... You don't get that at the savoy ! The bedroom was simple and comfortable ,the shower was fab. The breakfast was great we had a cold one in the dining room and the choice was good and value for money. There is good outside space and bar areas to relax in. The biggest plus this hotel has and what sets it apart is its front line staff,they are very good at their job and are huge asset.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    8.8
    Outstanding service and support!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff and management were outstanding we had some difficulties and required help during our stay and they went over and above in order to help us.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    3.8
    Budget hotel, extremely small rooms only suitable for overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The rooms are very small and this is not made clear when booking. Possibly ok for one night but no more as there is no room for bags anywhere. We were so disappointed we transferred to the Novotel attached at extra cost. The staff were not helpful in arranging this despite the fact they work for both hotels. Our continued stay in the Novotel was better but there were things wrong everyday. I would not chose to stay at either hotel again.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    7.1
    pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I don't like to pay additional for parking this should be included in the price for the room.

    comfortable room although quite small, pleasant stay, enjoyable breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    7.5
    I always enjoy staying at the accor hotel group.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The battered fish was dry and over cooked. Bar staff need to up their act. Not sure if greyhound and horse racing is a great choice for the main screen in a hotel bar.

    The combination of Ibis and Novotel for choice and facilities , bar and restaurant, to be enjoyed by both patrons. As always good performance by reception staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    6.7
    Okay Stay for the Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room with two twin beds (for two people) did not have enough room for luggage for two people. The twin bed felt like a blow up mattress and barely stayed on the box spring underneath. The toilet/shower "pod" was quite small. The restaurant was very crowded for breakfast and dinner. Seemed like a tour bus stop over.

    Walking distance to the train stop. Has a restaurant/bar onsite.

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: