Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of ibis Rotorua 3.5 stars

Rangiuru Street, 3040 Rotorua, New Zealand

#62 of 88 hotels in Rotorua

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 491 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Paid WiFi

    5.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.9
    Staff were great, room could do with a renovation and a little TLC
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid Wifi is really ‘old school’. As a business traveller, wifi is a necessity not a luxury and it is my opinion that most people will require wifi access. My room was ‘very tired’ and with a scrap of carpet on the lugggsge bench, it did not really send out the right message. I thought the breakfast was overpriced st $23 for continental, but again as a business traveller it was more convenient. It would be good to have a more reasonable priced option

    The staff were really helpful and offered great service

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    6.7
    Great location & comfy bed .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small , basic room & expensive WiFi & no sky movie channel . Could buy a movie but didn’t bother as it was more expense. More parking on the property would be good.

    Great location & comfy bed . Room was nice & warm.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable and relaxing apart for breakfast experience.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very average...hot food ran out, needed to go to reception and ask them to tell chef/ cook replenishments required. Value for money, breakfast was poor, overlooked, poor variety.

    Room comfortable and clean. Rate was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    5.8
    Never again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was abysmal, nearly all the tables were reserved, the knives in the container had sticky fingerprints on them on the one table that was not reserved. The ambience, well, the wait staff were busy scraping plates into a bucket they had on the table and stacking dirty dishes on the tables. Most of the juice & milk containers were empty, the "hot" food was cold. There was no food allergy information. Extremely disapointing.

    No to both questions

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    5.4
    Overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For what you pay the rooms are very dated and run down. Stains on the carpet and holes in the bed base cover. Was annoying also that cleaning staff were knocking on our door at 9am and again at 10.30 when checkout is 11. They didn’t seem too bothered at reception but surely they could have a better system.

    The bed was really comfortable and we slept well. Good location for restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    The Lamb Ragout papardelle was devine at the restaurant at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Lamb Ragout papardelle was devine at the restaurant at the hotel. The staff were absolutely fantastic! When i entered my room there was a block of chocolate and a welcome card. It was fantastic! The breakfast was amazing as well!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.3
    Good location, handy to eat street, and walking distance to the marathon start line.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed felt small (maybe it was a double?) although it was comfortable.

    Staff at front desk were lovely, and gave us a voucher for free drinks. Hotel was pretty quiet too, which is why we came back to stay here after staying somewhere noisy last year. Will come and stay again next year for the Rotorua marathon.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.8
    Pretty good overallu
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A couple of features in room were not good, timber loose above bar fridge, toilet paper holder loose too

    Bed was great, location was great and staff were great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    7.1
    Not too bad. The staff are friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Before we arrived, I contacted them two times to confirm the bed condition. They said they will prepare it. The fact is, no one prepare the bed with my require. The bedroom are really small.

    The breakfast is good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    5.4
    Central to everything.
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expected to find a room that contained 2 queen beds instead ended up with a room that a single bed had been moved into along with a queen bed therefore space drastically reduced. Not much room for movement. Definitely didn't feel we got our money's worth.

    Central to everything. Plenty of parking when no concerts are being held around the lake

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.8
    View was awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Had to go to hotel next door and walk through the lobby to get to sauna, spa, gym and geothermal pools. The walk was quite a bit longer than expected.

    View was awesome.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    8.3
    It was just fine. We'll be back again.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The online booking system appears to default to booking a room with twin queen beds, rather then offering a choice as to how many beds we want. Just one bed is all we need and that would make the room feel far more spacious.

    We were in Rotorua for a post-operation medical check at the hospital. The Ibis is most convenient for this purpose.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    5.4
    Overall ok, good location and parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water clogged up in the shower which then came out of the overflow through the floor. Toilet paper and towels weren't restocked and had to ask for more. Was questioned when going for breakfast that our room didn't include brekky - well that's what I paid for.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    7.9
    Convenient but no free wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free wifi in room. You had to pay $10 per day. Free wifi should be a standard inclusion these days and this fact alone may make us look elsewhere next time

    Convenient location and breakfast was reasonable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    7.1
    Great location, and friendly staff ;-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thought it was a little overpriced for the size of room, and décor seemed a little dated.

    Bed was great thanks, however would've preferred one larger bed than 2 doubles (perhaps this was all that was available).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    7.9
    Great stay, New Zealand is over priced EVERYWHERE
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    price - New Zealand needs to act, Accommodation in new Zealand and value for money is crazy!

    Quick and easy access to the rooms and the place is pretty well managed staff were great and friendly very helpful. Good stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    7.5
    It does what it says on the tin - its comfortable, clean and offers value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All good.

    It is an Ibis, which is good as you know what you are getting when you sign up. It's not luxurious, but Ibis is not that hotel. The rooms are comfortably sized, its clean and the breakfast was good. Represents good value for money. Use of the Novotel's thermal pools is a fabulous perk.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    3.8
    Checking in and out was an issue with the room not ready at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checking in and out was an issue with the room not ready at check-in and the account details on check out wrong. Had to call for room service for toilet paper that then did not arrive 🙁.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    6.7
    Friendly staff, good parking, close to amenities, clean room,
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed too small (need queen size), breakfast limited, bathroom very basic for a room costing $289 for one night.

    Friendly staff, good parking, close to amenities, clean room,

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.1
    Good location and lovely staff. The hotel itself could do with some updating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were small (I booked a double room), there was no in-room safe. Had to wait half an hour for room to be cleaned even though we arrived well after check in time.

    Friendly, helpful & accomodating staff. Breakfast hours were good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    2.5
    Overall I would not recommend anyone to stay at Ibis but Novotel was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They were not helpful in terms of early check in specially with a kid, the room and bathroom was tiny and the Aircondition was not working.

    Staff was helpful, they moved us to Novotel next door.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    7.5
    Really well located for a stay in Rotorua.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you want free wifi, you'll have to sign up for a membership of the hotel club (Accor-club or something)... that's all fine but the staff did not inform me about being signed up, BAD! And what is WORSE is that this club send us ads. I hate companies that does this.

    Really well located for a stay in Rotorua. Nice breakfast buffet. Silent and good rooms. 5-8 mins in normal walking pace from I-site location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    7.9
    Very pleasant nice comfy bed and view
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just one person doing check ins and outs..quite a queue esp when leaving another person on the counter would have made for a speedier process over the new year period.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    5.0
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having no ventilation in the bedroom. We had the airconditioning on minimal and there was still no airflow coming out of the vents. It was stifling hot inside, to the point where sleeping was extremely difficult and we both had to go outside for an hour or so just to cool down. This was done in the very wee hours of the morning I might add.

    The loation was EXCELLENT.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    6.3
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedding configuration was not what was booked. Check in was slow. The milk in the fridge was frozen solid. The room was dated with stained carpet. The air con was relatively ineffective. There were no coins for the laundry facilities. Room servicing was not completed until after 4pm after we had been out all day and simply wanted to relax in our room uninterrupted. After room servicing we were left with no towels. Despite talking to reception about it by phone at 5pm, three hours later still no towels by 8pm, and with young children to wash and get to bed. It all simply fell below par unfortunately.

    The beds were comfortable and the location of the property is excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    5.8
    They didn’t have a room for us so they “upgraded” us to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didn’t have a room for us so they “upgraded” us to the Novotel next door. That was nice of them to do, the Novotel was not as nice as I thought it would be. The bathroom was in need of deep cleaning. The mini fridge was broken and didn’t smell good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    4.2
    Breakfast was terrible, couldnt even get to breakfast for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was terrible, couldnt even get to breakfast for 30mins as the hotel was completely booked, they should have had a better system for breakfast when fully booked. Cleanliness of the room was poor vanity in bathroom has white marks all over it like the cleaning products hasn’t been cleaned off properly. Rooms are poky and small 2 double beds takes up the entire room and you end up falling over the beds.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.5
    Good location, clean tidy and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only complaint is the in room climate control either did not work or worked poorly. The room became very hot overnight. Other than that, happy with the stay!

    Everything was clean, tidy and well presented. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    6.7
    The bed was super comfy, most comfortable hotel bed I've...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very basic for the price and the cleanliness of room and place wasn't fantastic.

    The bed was super comfy, most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant enough stay, overshadowed by being hurried out.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-out was 11am. But at 9:10am there was a knock on the door and a cleaning lady entered then quickly left, then at 9:30am a man entered and asked how long we'd be. Fortunately we were up, (going out for breakfast) but if we weren't I would have been more annoyed than I was.

    Everything was fine. We didn't eat there at all though.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.5
    Great price for an ok room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No matter how I adjusted the room temperature it didn't seem to change. Also the bedding seemed like it needed a bit more of a thorough clean.

    The gentleman at the front desk who checked me in, was amazing. He was friendly, knowledgeable and incredibly helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.6
    Friendly Staff Awesome trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is cool only the smell of the city was shock to us but overall it was amazing.

    Cot provided for our baby and also what we request for a lake view was awesome highly recommend

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    6.3
    The hotel was okay for the length of our stay but would not stay here if I were staying longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was tasteless and bland, the TV offered limited options, lack of available power points by beds.

    The location was handy for what we were doing for the weekend.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    Awesome.lots to do.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant area is in the process of being upgraded in the ibis. It lacks atmosphere but apparently it is going to be better. The shared facilities at the nova were good on this point but not a negative thing for the ibis as they have put a plan in to remedy this.

    Fantastic pool and spa area. Very frendly staff. Clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    Good location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ch under 12 have to be reminded not to ride in elevators alone. The cleaner gave me 1 face cloth and no bathmat. But the supervisor was there so she gave me the right amount. I would not like to mistakenly thought of as taking them from the room.

    Friendly quick reception.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    5.0
    Grotty and tired. In need of a refresh. Very disappointing stay to previous times. Never again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet stains on floor. Light bulb missing from one of the lamps wasn't replaced until 12+ hrs next day. Approached 3 different staff about it. Bathroom benchtop not secured to wall. Nearly knocked myself out on it. One partially used roll of toilet paper. The 15 minute guarantee is rubbish - complete fabrication, utter nonsense. Stayed here before and was fine but this time was well below par - very poor experience. Extremely disappointing. Would not recommend staying here.

    Central location. Easy walking distance to cbd amenities, great. Access to sauna and pools next door at Novotel, lovely. Great staff and fresh food at Novotel restaurant, well done Some great staff, some average, some in need of customer service training or refresher.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    8.3
    Memorable stay in a fantastic location with amazing customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - everything was quite awesome!

    The location and facilities are excellent but what stands out the most is their amazing service and staff friendliness. I want to specifically acknowledge Grayson, who went out of his way to make us feel welcome. He was extremely helpful and courteous in ensuring we were able to comfortably check out and travel onward from Rotorua. Kudos!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    6.3
    The accomodation was ok and very small for 3 people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As above and do not need to add anything further.

    The accomodation was ok and very small for 3 people. Not enough towels to accomodate and carpeting in passageways very tired and needs replacing. Breakfast restaurant very spartan and unappealing but breakfast selection very good. A repeat visit ???

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.1
    Facilities were nice - staff service not so great unfortunatly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kid area! Also only one staff member was friendly and she was the one who was at reception when we arrived around 7pm on Friday. A young person. Almost all the other staff members we came across were really rude. Ignored us while we were waiting to order right in front of them.

    Nice size rooms, clean, loved the shower pressure!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.8
    Pleasant stay in a functional compact room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Public areas of hotel are a little tired and in need of a freshen up. Free wifi in room woefully slow and of no use.

    Great location. Perfectly adequate for a short business stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.5
    Nice break despite the bad weather and cold breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was very average. It was cold and not a great choice. Dissapointing as trip was for a birthday and fathers day combined. A real let down.

    THe room was very warm and bed comfy. Liked the view of the lake,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.8
    Not to bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have done my breakfast on my booking but they said I don't have a breakfast but I showed them my confirmation email feel really bad

    We like everything

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.5
    Generally good
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I arrived and parked underground, I couldn't get to reception which was around the front of the building and it was pouring with rain. I had to walk up the ramp with my luggage and I have arthritis Once you have an access card you can get to the stairs but not when you first arrive

    Underground parking and the view

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    2.5
    Disgraceful service and back up in a distressing situation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our car was damaged in the car park The security cameras are not working Their has been no responsibility taken by the hotel whatso ever Do they value their clients - definitely not

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    4.6
    Linen was clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had view of extractor fans of some sort (no "cityview" as on booking) and not ground floor as requested. (274) Mould in shower Reception did not have correct details of booking (ours included breakfast which she said didn't only after i showed her booking was that clarified) No wifi anywhere had to use data Booked for 2 adults and child, only 2 bath towels and cups. No handtowels-poor for hotel. Had asked for extra so son could have dry towel and tea with us but never arrived so he had to wait Pillows were terrible Overall really disappointing

    Linen was clean Sky tv

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.9
    Had a lovely stay, convenient place, handy parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Needs a little upgrading, especially the bathroom.

    Breakfast was good, had non-dairy option which is wonderful. Not a great variety and the Asian food was tasteless but not sure why for breakfast, may be Asian eat those, I am also Asians but dont eat.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    6.7
    Staff were very friendly and helpful
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds are uncomfortable, and the rooms are cramped. Luckily I didn't spend a lot of time in the rooms. Also access to the wifi should be easier.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    6.7
    Overall, I was down for business so it was a good stay and staff were lovely.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Facility offers, wifi is a bit stink drops in and out and rooms vary in style some of us got amazing rooms for the same price as a average looking room.

    Loved the staff they were amazing!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    6.3
    Hotel is OK but not a smooth process of booking or satisfactory solutions to problems.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The booking system online - went to edit rooms and seemed to default to setting so gave up. The requirement was for 2 rooms, 1 with 3 singles, the other with only 1 adult. The booking site selected the special which was standard double or twin. Thus requested on special request 1 room = 1 adult. 2nd room = 3 singles as per option on website. When we arrived found that 3 singles not possible as not sufficient room space. Fortunately we managed to split and share. However this wasn't as requested as I snore. Also my email confirmation showed breakfast included, but when we arrived only 1 room had breakfast included.... Staff adjusted this, thankfully. A more disturbing occurrence was during the night when the mother of our group who was sharing with her 16 yo son was awoken at around 2am by a man in their room. Room 56. She obviously got a fright as apparently did the man. He left but this disturbed her so much that she was unable to sleep for the rest of the night. Unfortunately she is Chinese and does not speak English. Obviously one has to wonder about security and the availability of someone having access to room security cards. This matter has not yet been resolved as I am expecting an email from the manager as the manager responsible was not around, on the Sunday of departure, for discussion of resolution.

    Everything else was OK.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.6
    Loved having big bed for hubby and myself each.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit of long wait to book in. Not fault of staff but foreign customer problem and language difficulty.

    Loved having big bed for hubby and myself each. Yummy breakfast and a bargain at $22.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    7.1
    enjoy my stay but wish the cleaner pay more attention to vacuum the carpet in hall way...very dirty
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    toilet and show tray are not clean. cups not cleaned properly. tea mark was on the bottom. we have cups but no saucer.

    Two new young female staff are great, very helpful, friendly and go extra miles!!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.6
    Don't hesitate to book :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They didn't even had dental kit when we asked for one.

    Staff was very attentive good. For any query they solved immediately. They even provided fresh milk for baby without any extra cost.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    9.2
    Great loacation to Eat St
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The feather pillows affected my allergies. I put a towel over it and it was fine

    great location to eat st . couldnt figure out how to turn off the bathrom light... great staff super helpful and freiendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.5
    Why not?
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just starting to show signs of a bit of fair wear and tear. Suggest the company start planning for some refurbishment in the coming months.

    The place was typical IBIS, in that it was nothing fancy but it was clean, in a good location, had a reasonable restaurant and was good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    10
    We love the Ibis the view the affordable price for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We love the Ibis the view the affordable price for pensioners brings back great memories being born in Rotorua we thank you for everything Robert Eunice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    7.5
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No microwave and the door always being clocked.we need to put the shoes at the door way to let my family come in and out easily bc only have 2 key. the breakfast is very poor. NOt many choice.

    The room is quite clean. worth money. ITs quite new hotel. got nice view from my room. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    7.9
    Happy customers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room seemed to be incredibly hot, even with the thermostat turned to zero. As we were checking out we heard a couple of other people who had the same problem (we thought it was us just being stupid and didn't bother to call for assistance)! The pillows were over soft too, but that's just our personal preference and nothing to do with the standard of accommodation!

    The staff were very friendly and have good recommendations of places for us to visit.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    6.7
    Rotarua - cold, wet, but awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    $350 a night is more than I wd pay in a luxury hotel - I was rorted cos the British Lions were in town - poor effort Breakfast was cold

    Yes comfy bed . Great staff. Awesome location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    5.0
    No sleep - bring earplugs!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud vibration/ drilling noise from 1am to 4am. Reception were unable to help - just said they'd look into it. It would've been nice if they could at least offer earplugs. I considered going to my car to sleep as this probably would have been more comfortable/ quiet.

    Easy location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    7.1
    Early check in request was full filled, good vaule for the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could hear the people next door through the walls, too hallow

    Early check in request was full filled, good vaule for the money i paid for two nights n breakfast included

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    8.3
    Situated in a nice quiet location near centre of the town,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was slow not sure whether it was working or not. Not enough car park in the premises, had to park the car on the street.

    Situated in a nice quiet location near centre of the town, friendly staff, hassle free check in and check out. Plenty of restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    9.2
    A biking weekend in Rotorua staying at the Ibis
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A couple of plates and/or bowls in the room would be nice

    Great Location, storage for bikes, friendliness, room and bathroom well set up (other than no plates) and helpfulness of staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    5.8
    Could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Floor of the room was badly stained foyer very dirty Did not like the fact that they wanted to charge the room rate and a bond on my credit card, we have stayed at ibis many times and this has NEVER HAPPENED BEFORE. Very disappointed

    Comfortable bed convenient location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    4.2
    Noisy, dusty and uninviting
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walked into reception which was dusty due to renovations and two of our family are asthmatics. Woken up at 430am 1st night due to renovations promised would not happen 2nd night but renovations continued very disappointed with Ibis. No advisement prior to arriving so we could change hotels

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    5.4
    Don't trust the high rating, it is not that good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They said there is free wifi in the room, there is but not working, very poor internet connection, dont rely on that, We called reception asking for someone to come and have a look on air conditioning as it was not hot enough, she said she will send someone but no one came at all,

    Location, quite, breakfast, big beds

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    8.8
    amazing experience just one mistake
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    i paid extra for a super king bed and was given a room with two double beds which was a big downfall

    breakfast was amazing. great location. close to everything we needed access too.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable family hotel in Rotorua
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shared facilities at the Novotel were great to use, but the swimming pool could have done with some attention around the filters as even though it is geothermal water which can be murky, there were some grimy areas.

    We came for a family weekend and was excellent value for a comfortable hotel. Essentially we spent most of the days out and about and the room was great for a family with the usual comforts. There were good food options but we chose to eat out in Rotorua.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had a very hard time getting into the hotel when we came home. It was late but their was no swipe pad or anything. We stood outside in the cold for a long time before the door eventually opened.

    Comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    5.4
    Easter Holiday / School holiday family stay experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities didn't work properly, such as door electronic locks. Assigned to a room on L3, up and down for three time just tried to fix the card, but turned out it was the problem with the lock itself.

    The room lock didn't work, tried three times, and then the friend staff changed me to another room with drink voucher for two drinks, happy wth that. However it would even good to check the fundamental facilities such as locks. Overall good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    7.1
    Lifts not working.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lifts not working. Went out for dinner and returned but main door was locked and no one would answer the intercom. Took at least 10 mins to get someone's attention by banging on a window

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    6.7
    One person makes a difference.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had a late check out booked (12pm) and had a do not disturb sign on my door handle and yet housekeeping still bothered me at 9.45am. Annoying. Lack of customer service by breakfast chef on Sunday 2nd April ruined my experience. There were no salt and pepper shakers on my (or immediately surrounding tables) and none at buffet. When I ask the chef attending buffet where I could get some salt he said (as he was walking away from me) they are on the tables. I said they are not or near on my table. I returned to my table thinking he would bring me some. No, I suffered through the most bland scrambled eggs Ive ever tasted... actually I didnt suffer long as I left them after realizing no salt was coming and they were hideous. I understand the chef is back of house, but the front of house dude was really busy with a huge tour group coming in. This guys complete lack of caring about customer service was insulting. I wont be back because of his poor attitude towards me.

    Emma was nice at reception. I appreciated the desk lamp.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    4.6
    The beds, maybe
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only one hour of internet connection completely slow and unconvenient ! The worst scrambled eggs I've ever eaten. The price you pay for a hotel without an internet connection !!!

    The beds, maybe

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyed Roturua
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very disappoint that when booking two rooms that they were on different floors. As my brother in law was in a wheel chair and his wife needed help with him.

    Location was good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    6.3
    Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisey room.When the fridge came on it sounded like pigeons cooing. No bedside lamp that worked. Room too small. Asked for a lake view, didn't get one.

    Staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    10
    Good Experience!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i was expecting something different from continental breakfast, the eggs weren't to my liking. But as a whole would definitely recommend and come back!

    Everyone was very helpful and attentive! I was cold and they brought a heater for me, and they helped me get to where I was going!

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: