Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor 4.5 stars

147 The Terrace, 6011 Wellington, New Zealand

#22 of 54 hotels in Wellington

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3909 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lambton King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were disappointed overall,

    Location with lift going direct to Lambton Quay is very good but the number of lifts not working was really annoying. The hotel does post apology signs but often over 3 days we had to wait 10 mins or more for the lifts.the hotel is a bit old and tired looking. Sounded better on the sitethan it actually was.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lambton King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the lifts was out to the hotel which meant on check out (peak time i guess) there was one lift working and people ended up going up to go back down just to secure a spot. Long wait but maintenance is one of those things that must be done.

    Great central location. Clean and tidy and good value for money in the CBD. Whitbys restaurant (onsite) is highly recommended. We went for the buffet style dinner and were very satisfied! Staff were very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • The Terrace Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting ripped off as I have a GC card and because the booking was under my husbands name we weren’t allowed the rewards!! But you email me to rate James Cook under my name?? So seriously not impressed!!

    Warm an cosy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lift situation is deplorable. I understand the need for improvement, however another guest mentioned that this situation is ongoing for 9 months now.

    Club lounge access is fantastic,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Terrace Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The elevator down from the Terrace gets a lot of people using it who are not hotel guests. The parking situation was a bit confusing, as there is a Wilson's parking lot right next door, but that it is not their parking lot. Parking was $30 and you needed to get valet parking on check-in. This was fine since we did not need the car again once we were there, we just walked everywhere.

    Really nice big room close to everything but not too noisy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Terrace Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had differculty understanding ,the very nice receptionist accent on arrival, and I still not sure how much I have been charged, as My Credit card was charged at the time I made the booking or have I been charged again on checkout?..? What she told me and what I ,d already paid. Did not seem to match up.

    WE enjoyed a excellent breakfast, staff were very attentive to our needs, refilled coffee etc often, there was food for all types of diet requirements. Our room was comfortable and meet our needs. We liked that our car was parked for us and looked after for our stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Terrace Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked a "The Terrace Double or Twin Room" and as there was no specific question asking us whether we wanted a twin or a double, we assumed as we were a married couple that we would get a double room. We didn't and were given a twin room. It would have cost us a further $40 per night for a double room elsewhere in the hotel which we declined to do. I think your website is confusing by mentioning a double room in the description if there is no facility to specify one. When we mentioned this to the hotel they didn't know about the "double or twin" comment on your website and therefore presumably everyone booking this option will be given a twin room? So all in all a bit disappointed that we had to sleep in a smaller bed than we thought we were going to get.

    Welcoming lobby and reception, clean room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Terrace Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The dead bird outsde our bedroom window could have been removed. It had been there a while judging from the bloating

    the location of the property was very central to where we wanted to visit.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lambton King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wait time for the lifts was the only thing to comment on. Having one not working created long wait times.

    All the staff were very nice and accomodating - especially the concierges.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor was a lovely place to stay, the room was very comfortable, clean and tidy. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a lovely weekend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed and pillows were uncomfortable, robes could do with replacing as they were almost stiff and had a few stains. Some small services were not provided as shown on our confirmation and when reported I was just told it would be passed to a manager.

    View in the club lounge was beautiful and the lady manning the bar was lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Terrace Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds are very roomy and comfortable. Staff are absolutely wonderful and we stay here every time we are in Wellington. I always recommend this place to my friends.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • The Terrace Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy rooms; the walls need more soundproofing from corridor and neighbourly activities. Lack of reading lights by the bed.

    Great location for shopping, the sights and public transport.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lambton King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A lift out of action made access to and from lobby and to the street level awkward, especially at peak times. It would have been good it clearer directions to stairs were available, even if they were temporary. Skateboarders down on street level could be heard late at night as sound reverberated up between the buildings and the windows did not seem t o block it well.

    Bed very comfortable, room spacious

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lambton King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location. Very tasty buffet breakfast. Clean rooms, comfortable beds. Excellent to stay with kids. We had interconnected rooms. Kids loved the view from the upper floor.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lambton King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The way the staff handled our truck bring broken into...feel like truck wasn't locked properly as alarm didn't go off. Seems dodgy like a inside job. Workers were not aware of break in until we checked out..yet there were workers up.and down there all night and morning.. absolutely disappointed!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • The Terrace Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some lifts being replaced and Lambton Quay entrance very 'grungy''. The bathroom 'décor and fittings were a little tired but very clean and the room /beds very comfortable

    The Hotel is comfortable, staff welcoming and location on Lambton Quay & The Terrace is excellent if you want to be near Parliament, railway station, Lambton Quay shopping and bus stops.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lambton King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor a little tired . Bathroom especially needs modernising. Cleaners too loud in mornings. Shared / general public lift access to hotel lobby not ideal .

    Great location . Clean and comfortable rooms . Huge bed. Friendly staff .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Lambton King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff very friendly and welcoming. Room and facilities very clean. bathroom mirror tired, deteriorating along bottom of mirror. Eco system for cleaning option a positive good scheme. Air condition a little noisy in conference room. Overall a positive stay despite the very cold wet weather.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lambton King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Buffet had lots of yummy food, bed was good, not much noise from other quests coming and going, location amazing so close to waterfront and TSB stadium, shops and cafes. Yes they are upgrading the lifts so had to wait a fraction longer to use, not a big problem

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lambton King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was quite cool in the room when we arrived, on a cold day. The pillows were very flat and bed very hard. I have had to book a tweek at the Physio for a stiff neck and back. Truthfully I was just expecting something more up market. The room may have just been their budget room and if that's the case, it was fine.

    The room was very clean and the complimentary coffee was a good brand.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A few things would have made the stay much more comfortable, The sofa bed in the family room is very uncomfortable ! No bedside lights in the rooms, and no lock on the bathroom door( a problem when you have teenagers staying with you!!)

    The staff were very friendly and attentive to needs. Breakfast was great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Terrace Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could have been better - just very minor things... maybe the interior decor as it looks a little outdated. Our room also didn't have microwave or toasters... other rooms mght? Wi-fi speed is okay-ish. But really overall, it's a good value for your money and comfy bed + clean room... it's satisfactory! :)

    Amazing and polite staff! Made me and my partner felt special. Enjoyed the valet parking service. LOCATION is on point. If you are only visiting CBD, you don't necessarily have to rent a car. Cable cart is like one-minute walk from the hotel. Hence, you can easily visit the botanical gardens and Space Place. Oh, and there's food/restaurant everywhere + love the quick access to Lambton Quay. :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Lambton Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking charge was a bit steep given it did not cover 24hour periods. It only covered the check-in / check-out time.

    Very centrally located. Nice firm and comfortable bed. Spacious bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lifts have been under maintenance for months! Room is a little bit tired club suite.

    Location is great - always clean, quiet and comfortable. Bed lovely and comfy. Club suite great value for money with brekky and club lounge

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I requested a DVD player for my room, it was not ready when I arrived at 7pm. Staff struggled to get one working, eventually I told them not to bother.

    The restaurant staff were great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • The Terrace Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found that the window had a gap in the side which meant that there was a slight breeze constantly coming through, also the safety latches on the window were broken which we found quite unsafe with being on the 15th floor with a very inquisitive 3 year old.

    I liked that the coffee they had was moccona. Also liked the fact that there was no extra charge for the wifi and also that they had sky channels.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed not that comfortable

    Very helpful staff Beautiful views from club room Really nice atmosphere Amazing breakfast and the chef was so lovely to our little girl making her fresh pancakes each morning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Lambton Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    My stay was everything I expected except for the room, it was their 'Twin Room' but it didn't have a separate bedroom, it instead had a Twin bed and a Single bed as well as three desks and a two person couch in the crammed 'living room'. Also no kitchenette. It was what I would call a Studio. It was like they needed a room to dump excess furniture. But it did have a bar fridge :-)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • The Terrace Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Lifts We have been coming for years and as Long as I can remember there is always one set of lifts out - very frustrating at busy periods

    The Access coming into Wellington and Access to the City

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower head too low (I'm 180cm) and should extend over bath more

    Handy to central town and sites. Breakfast very good, great service from Lance. Club Lounge was excellent add-on.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is in need of a major refurbishment. The air conditioning was either too noisy, or non-existent. Both of us felt cold. The restaurant wasn't well organised, the menu limited and expensive. The remedial work on one of the lifts, though of course necessary, was an inconvenience.

    The hotels central location is its big plus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Lambton King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    THE EXTRA $200 BOND ON TOP OF PAYING FOR A ROOM ITS BLOODY RUDE

    THERE IS O NEED FOR THE $200 DOLLAR BOND IN CHECKING IN ON TOP OF THE TARRIF FOPR THE ROOM I THOUGHT IT WAS BLOODY RUDE...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Lambton King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    efficient parking assistance with car... great central position for downtown work or shops etc... very practical for leisure and work purposes in Wellington.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV played up once got staff up to check ran good but when turned off lost connection again

    Bed was very comfy and bonus having access to club lounge free canapes and drinks

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Group
    • Lambton Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we found the beds very uncomfortable woke up with sore backs. we found having the lift out of action was very annoying but i guess you cant help that as i know that things like that have to be serviced regular.

    we enjoyed friday evening drinking in the bar on lobby floor, the staff were very friendly. There was a young asian girl who we did have trouble understanding but she was lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Terrace Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Went to enjoy a nice relaxing soak in bath water was not hot enough to enjoy. Air conditioner made terrible noise when turning off n on the whole night. Window leaked the carpet next to bed was wet and of course the dripping of water most of the night was very disruptive. The room was tired. We don’t treat ourselves very often so we were both disappointed with what was supposed to be a nice evening in the city.

    Good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast buffet included a decent range of options, however the focus is clearly quantity over quality. The 'hot' food was lukewarm at best, as well sanding dry, and the espresso coffee quite disgusting (an awful flavour profile that may have been the beans, or perhaps an unclean machine). The shower lacked pressure and the towels were scratchy - not what one would expect for the price of the room.

    Clean room equipped with all of the advertised features. Nice cookies and selection of teas in the club lounge.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Lambton King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness of the shower was not up to standard for price of the room. Mould and dirty grouting in shower area.

    Overall the room was very good and staff very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Lambton King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They need to anticipate that when a large crowd of people are checking out that they have enough staff to retrieve cars with their free valet service.

    Good location moderate prices

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Terrace Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds need reading lights Need to ensure staff know all the details.We missed the Sat buffet breakfast because the desk person hadnt informed us of the weekend special

    Customer service, location and the amazing buffet breakfast Fabulous comfy beds.Aceess to Les Mills

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • The Terrace Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Something to note, at the moment lifts are being replaced and there can be a bit of a wait going up and down.

    Great hotel right in the centre. Comfortable and spacious room. The staff was very helpful. Also great to have a lift down to Lambton Quay, saved a lot of uphill walking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • The Terrace Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower could be upgraded, very low pressure. Check in was great but the checkout was poor, made to wait while person fiddled with the phone - not actually talking to anyone. Had requested a morning paper which didn't arrive, staff member would was completely disinterested and kept repeating that I needed to request one while I had to repeat on numerous occasions that I Had!

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lambton King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are sullen all the time. The facilities of the hotel are quite old…pilling bed cover, etc... and it you wanna park your car here, you need to pay extras approx $30 per day. If you drive cars I would definitely not recommend you to choose this hotel.

    The only good point of his hotel is the location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Terrace Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking situation was confusing. A prior email could inform guests about the valet parking to save extra charges in the adjoining parking.

    Good Location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Lambton Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only thing if you are in a hurry to get up and down floors at the moment they are fixing one lift so can be a wait. Otherwise just be patient!!

    Friendly helpful staff, great location for getting into and around the city, great value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • The Terrace Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    water in the shower ran hot/cold but we informed the hotel and they responded really positively. Hotel was booked out that weekend so not too bothered

    Very friendly staff who helped us get checked in even though we arrived earlier than scheduled

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I had a room with lounge access but was made to wait 3 hours in the lobby until my room was ready would have been better to allow me to wait for my room in the lounge. The heating in my room did not work I advised a couple of staff members at breakfast and returned later in the evening to find it was still not working hence I had two very chilly nights in the room. Had breakfast for 5 mornings and had to chase someone for my first coffee every morning. Staff not very engaging with the exception of lounge staff and one of the breakfast staff who gave me a couple of comp latte coffee's after I told him about the heating not being fixed.

    Exec lounge being open 24 hours was handy. The girls in the lounge were very friendly. Received an apology card and two beers from tap at the bar for the heating issue. Handy location. Good choice of food on buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lambton King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Because I have Parkinsons I couldn`t access bath/shower. I discussed this with reception and will request walk in shower next time we stay.

    Ease of access for taxi and cars for our pick up. Excellent attention from Housekeeper staff on floor 25.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • The Terrace Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in and check out was cumbersome and slow. (not very efficient) the valet how attended to my car moved my driver seat and did not return it to its original position when returning my car (very poor)

    Centraly located and the easy access to the city was portant to me also the room was comfortable and well serviced.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Lambton King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few of the elevators we're out of service at the time so long waits for that

    24hour room service, easy parking service,walking distance to shed6, bars, supermarket.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lambton King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Carparking cost at $30 per day a little high, but I suppose it is big city rates.

    Location great left the car in the carpark and walked everywhere. Staff friendly and accomodating.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • The Terrace Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This place is so noisy. From traffic on the motorway going all night, buses going past all night, listening to doors slamming until 2am and drunk people having loud conversations in the hallway, listening to the people throwing up in the room next door, pipes rattling throughout the night. There is no way I would waste my money on this property again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checkin was slow and frustrating. Stayed in the Lambton wing, would recommend spending a little more to upgrade to a better room, but OK for the budget conscious

    Great location and good vibe in hotel area

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Lambton King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having two lifts out of four closed for refurbishment at the same time was a dumb idea. It created long waits for floor access and unnecessary crowding. The baggage handlers should have used the back of house goods lift at peak times instead of escorting guests through to use it because of the long queues forming. The only negative of an otherwise pleasant stay.

    Location, decor, staff, food, room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lambton King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No advance warning that only one lift operating. Meant we had to wait up to 10 mins to get a lift on 2 occasions. Made getting in and out of the room pretty tiresome and on one occasion our Uber cancelled on us (and charged us a penalty) because we took more than 10 mins to get down to the lobby (all the time was spent waiting outside the lift). Room was a bit tired but that’s fair enough as we got a fairly cheap rate.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • The Terrace Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    States there is parking, however, be aware it is $30 per day so need to add to room amount if taking car. Valet staff were amazing.

    Staff were nice and helpful. Was within walking distance to most places.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lambton King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When booking in no explanation of elevator workings - eg needed to present door card for use of elevator. Would have requested an extra card for partner if we knew a card was needed to work the elevator. Use of laptop in room needed more intro from clerk also. eg room user code off TV.

    Excellent Sojourn bar service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lambton King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower and bath must have been installed for midgets... you had to be a contortionist to wash your hair in the shower and the bath was tiny! The parking was a bit chaotic when we arrived- caused by taxis primarily, thinking they owned the space.

    The location and comfort in the rooms 😊

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Lambton Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I prefer separate showers, our room was shower over the bath. Would be difficult for elderly to climb into. Found shower nozzle to be quite low, meaning if you're tall you have to bend down to enjoy the full amount of water on you. With one of the lifts out for maintenance, at times there was a bit of a wait to use these, however this is something that can't be helped.

    Second time I have stayed here and again thoroughly enjoyed it. Great location in the city, with accessible entrance to Lambton Quay. Clean hotel and rooms, very comfortable beds. Bus stop on Lambton Quay across the road from the hotel for transport to the airport.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Lambton Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly worn down rooms. Staff were difficult to understand and very quiet. Not overly friendly or helpful service from them during checkout (an unfortunate last experience from the stay).

    Clean, decent sized room. Comfortable beds and central location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The use of the lift (one only as one was not in use). We spent a lot of time when coming and going waiting for the lift. Also I think it is important that staff advise guests when checking in that you need to use your swipe card in the lift.

    The service was great when checking in and out and the room was fine.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Lambton Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view was mostly of office buildings. Feel like people are staring at you. The curtains were a help.

    The bed was comfortable. The view was good and the bathroom was a very good size.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were a bit outdated. The beds were not comfortable. The beds moved around when you layed on them. Second bed blocked the entrance to second bathroom. We forgot our toiletries in bathroom, when husband made enquirers at front desk we were told nothing was left in the room. On check out we were told someone was going to get our car, yet we had to go to the front desk again after waiting for 15minutes for someone to get the car

    The rooms were relatively clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lambton King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was only one lift operating because the other one was being serviced. At times the queue off the Lambton Quay entrance was more than 20-deep. We waited so long to get a lift to go down to the lobby on a Saturday night we ended up walking down about 12 flights of stairs. The room we were in was tired - the bathroom definitely needed an upgrade. We couldn't understand why the downstairs cafe was closed at the weekend.

    The location was excellent - in the middle of Lambton Quay within easy access of shops and restaurants. Our room was quiet and clean and the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lambton Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only 1 lift working for 11 floors. Totally understand the need to refurbish, but the wait was really frustrating when there was no evidence of any work happening. Talked to one of the maintenance men who said they were not working on the lifts. We returned to our room at 3.30pm and our room was not serviced. The staff arrived at 3.50 when my husband was in the shower, we asked them to come back but they said they finished at 4pm so weren't able to. They gave us some fresh towels and left.

    Not much

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lambton Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They need more elevators running. We were very unhappy that our camper van wouldn't fit in the hotel parking lot.Otherwise very comfortable and centrally located.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Couple
    • The Terrace Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access to center of city was ferfict you were able to walk and enjoy the city at night in comfort.

    Our room was ok but could do with a bit of an update. Baths are out and showers are in and much safer to get in and out of.room filcility were good but expected.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi could have been better, the signal kept dropping. We booked a room with club lounge access, this was ok providing free tea coffee biscuits during the daytime (unattended) and free pre-dinner drinks and nibbles, which we only took advantage of once during the stay.

    The breakfast buffet was nice, eggs cooked any way you liked.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lambton Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Advertising free parking, then when we got there were required to use valet parking. This was described as a nominal cost, but was $60.00 for a single park and retrieve. Major rip off.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very pokey. The sofa bed needs an update. It is not good for adults to use. The staff on subsequent days didn’t seem as friendly except for a couple of them. Breakfast on second morning seemed extremely unorganised and I watched an employee use tongs to handle gluten free bread after taking them from the plate that was used for normal bread. I have a daughter that was coeliac and was appalled and upset that they may not have handled her food with care. Education is required with your staff around food as this is a real allergy

    Location was good. The staff on the our arrival were pleasant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view we had was amazing. The central location was perfect. The staff were fantastic and I thoroughly enjoyed my first time ordering room service. Thank you. I highly recommend!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Terrace Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Television volume was very low and we couldn't watch anything without sub-titles. Climbing in to the bath to shower was awkward.

    The location was great, with easy access to Lambton Quay and walking distance to the Te Papa Museum. The cafe and the restaurant both served excellent food. We could even get a meal at 9:30pm. Staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • The Terrace Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls were a bit thin. We were traveling with our 4 year old who was in bed asleep by 8. Sadly the children and parents next door were shouting and talking loudly till nearly midnight which kept us awake.

    Valet parking was really easy but at $30 a day pretty expensive on top of the hotel price. Location was perfect t easy to find from the ferry and the. a short stroll into town to the harbour and museum etc.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lambton King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Probably can't be helped but the hotel were upgrading their lifts which meant at peak times we had to wait more than 10 mins to access the lift

    Nice and quiet. Good central location

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: