Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia 3.5 stars

104 Marsden Road, 0247 Paihia, New Zealand

#26 of 46 hotels in Paihia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2132 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Paid WiFi

    5.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    7.9
    Clean facility,Stairs and corridors very tired and old, reception unwilling to sell their property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception team extremely ubrupt and unhelpful. This is my second visit to the hotel and this has remained the same in the last 12 months. I had to wait 15 min for someone to book me in as they were on what seemed to be a personal call. It’s a pity as the other staff really work hard to be let down by the reception team .Spa bath was not available.

    Lovely room . Room cleaners very polite. Food and beverage staff were attentive at breakfast and polite.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    6.7
    TV options very poor.Even an ordinary motel has more SKY options.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked a disability unit and was given one on second storey. This was changed but unit smaller--one single bed instead of 2 double. I paid for breakfast but there was no lift to dining room so had to pay for meals to be delivered to room. If I had needed to use my wheelchair,the room would not have been big enough.VERY DISAPPOINTING.

    The location was excellent. the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    7.9
    All in all we had a good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Harbour View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could use a bit more eye for detail in cleaning. Bathroom had remains of last guests hair etc... cobwebs were a let down , and the sock behind the portable heater shows it’s not moved when room is cleaned.

    Friendly helpful staff. Meals at the restaurant are great. Suite with a balcony view of the harbour was amazing.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    7.9
    Good to get away for a reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The spa wasn't properly heated.

    It was good to have breakfast included in the price which made the night away reasonable pricewise. Good ot be able to use the gym in the morning.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    8.8
    Always a pleasure
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bright lights in the corridor not dimmed at night caused sleep disturbance as light came through gap under room door

    The range of food options at the dinner & breakfast buffet

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    8.8
    Location, view, accessibility, bar, convenience
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed in junior suite are too firm are these sleepyhead? As beds in standard suites where our friends stayed were more comfortable

    Location, view, accessibility, bar, convenience

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    10
    Amazing view and location, very spacious and comfortable room and yummy buffet breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a junior suite with harbour view and it was very spacious and the view was amazing. Location was perfect. Buffet breakfast that was included with our stay was yummy and the complimentary paper each day was a nice bonus.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    4.2
    worst food ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    food from restaurant good for livestock... terrible, absolutely terrible - chef should be fired for letting slop like that over the pass

    room was adequate

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    9.2
    Great get away.
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Harbour View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom isn't fully private as bed can be seen as you walk from entry to kitchen. Not a major issue, just an observation if you're wanting a bit of privacy.

    Fantastic view from 2nd floor junior suite with double sliding doors offering great access to balcony. Handy kitchenette with fridge, microwave, and hob. Comfortable separate bedroom. Room dimensions very generous and roomy. Room very clean. Complimentary breakfast was very nice, a good selection of hot and cold options. Staff very friendly. Great location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    10
    Bed was definitely 'like a cloud'.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant service a little slow but staff very friendly and professional.

    Bed was definitely 'like a cloud'. Restaurant service a little slow but staff very friendly and professional.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    6.3
    Location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aged and the hallways were too wonky for the drunko. Mould in the shower.

    Location was good. Pool would have been amazing in summer. Games room was ok, trust your guests! Bar was nice and relaxed when you needed it plus separate dining

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    8.8
    Disapointed we had no view at all of the water
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a disability room the toilet is far to close to the wall which made the use very difficult A normal person wnouldnt notice this

    Beds very comfortsble staff fine

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    10
    Great stay, great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could find nothing to find fault with.

    Room very spacious and very comfy bed, quite room. Meals were excellent and restaurant and bar had fantastic views over water.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    9.6
    Overall stay was good, but disappointed with check out
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the only thing that let us down was we had a knock on our door at 9.40am from the cleaner, saying "check out" then she knocked again at 9.50am again saying "check out". 10.02am as we were picking up our bags to walk out she knocked again saying "check out!" I opened the door and gave her a very not impressed look as she had already knocked twice, which her first knock was 20minutes before checkout. check out is 10am so I feel they should at least leave you alone until then.

    bed was super comfy ! loved the shower so big and spacious which I love! room was a descent size and hotel itself was in a good handy location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    7.9
    Convenient location, handy to port and restaurants and good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free wifi offer is crap, connection is too slow so we didn't use it.

    It was good value for money, location is very convenient and the breakfast is good!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    7.9
    The locality was fantastic being close to the main street in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had two double beds in our room - the one bed was very squishy for two so we shared a bed each.

    The locality was fantastic being close to the main street in Paihia, restaurants and boat transfers/tours. The hot breakfast was great with plenty of options. Plenty of space for parking with easy access to rooms. Very friendly and informative staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    Confortable and great value for money with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not a thing.

    The location to the beach. wharf and township. Comfortable room and excellent service, especially in the restaurant. Great breakfast each moring with beautiful views.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.6
    Had a great weekend in a beautiful accommodation, couldn’t ask for a better spot!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were a bit flat. The tv picture wasn’t clear, especially the sports channel as it looked like the footballers were running in the snow.

    The location was fantastic! We opted for the waterfront apartment which was well positioned and set out. The apartment was modern and clean, the bed comfortable. We had our own designated undercover Carpark right next to the lift. The staff especially in the restaurant were very friendly and helpful. The location was very close to shops l, restaurants and the marina.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Booking was really easy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly people. Room was nice, clean and comfortable. The view from the restaurant are absolutely spectacular.

    Booking was really easy. Spa and pool were great. The food was simple and delicious. This was a great value place to stay. Would happily recommend

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.9
    Average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception made us pay on arrival which I found very strang as we always pay on departure & as we where handing our keys back people were paying on departure so big ?????? Marks there also the staff in morning were very grumpy, not friendly at all. Our room was tidy & clean but our bathroom was dirty so bit disappointed with that but overall a pleasant stay, always room for improvement.

    Was close to where we needed to be & they allowed us to leave our car there as we were early so we could do some shopping. Dinning area was lovely & pool area was one of the best I've seen, clean & well maintained.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    5.0
    Disappointed
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendly , barely courteous staff , very uncomfortable bed and living room sofas . Breakfast included but when we arrived at 8am there was nothing except canned beans left . The hostess clearly didn’t think that was a problem !

    We had a waterfront room - the view is lovely .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.5
    Suited our needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was included in the price, but was disappointing as all food on hot buffet was cold. we mentioned it on checkout, duty manager did not seem customer focused and appeared uninterested and dismissive.

    Rooms clean and comfortable, parking available.When checking in reception staff very helpful and cheerful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.5
    Paihia Paradise!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds were awesome! definitely a highlight, not to soft but not too firm. Rooms were thoroughly clean and tidy. Good room size. Buffet breakfast both mornings were good, not too much choice that its too much but some really good staple breakfast food. Spa pool was great, quite liked the reservation system as sometimes you can go into a hotel and feel uncomfortable in going into a spa that is full. 24 hour check in was helpful as we arrived early morning. Gorgeous views of Paihia and very centrally located. Park up and explore the rest on foot.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    A relaxing experience with great views of the bay of islands
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a step up to the spa would be a great help

    The position of the Hotel makes it great to walk around Paihia and get to Russell. The restaurant provides great bay views and Stbuffet breakfast very enjoyable and dinner reasonably priced. Spa was relaxing too.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    8.3
    Weekend Getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa wasn't filled, and some of the staff although friendly, need to smile more.

    Everything was great, location was definitely perfect. Gardens impecable, rooms were spotless, food was good, plenty of parking. The guy who came out from the kitchen at the breakfast buffet was super friendly and happy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    Father's day retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing wrong with my stay i enjoyed every bit awesome place to spend with loved ones.

    The look and cleanliness of our room. Walking distance to eat at different restaurants and the breakfast buffet was awesome.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.5
    Was ruined by the constant arguments from adjoining unit from 1.30pm until 6am we were woken 9 time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no Security to stop people who wernt guests from accessing the hotel and waking the paying guests. There was constant hammering on the door next to us from 1 30am to 6am threatening to break down the door if it wasn't opened.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.1
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for a view and they said ok but only room was down stairs when we got there. Jass and blues festival was on so we weren't allowed in the restaurant - got a good meal else where tho ,but again, no view.

    Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Loved the place and would deffinately come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A tea towel in the rooms and bigger TV's

    From Melissa at the reception to the staff in the bar the service was brilliant. The bed was very comfortable, would have liked a view from over the beach, but realise we would have had to pay extra.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.8
    Jazz and Blues Festival weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar ran out of a lot of drinks over the jazz and blues festival, service was also very slow. They should of been more prepared for a big event.

    Everything else was spot on

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    WAS LOVELY
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    THE COOKED BREAKFAST TO BE SERVED UP UNTIL 10

    WE CAME IN FOR BREAKFAST AT 10 PAST 9 THERE WAS ONLY A SPOON FULL OF SCRAMBLED EGGS A COUPLE OF RASHES OF BACON WE WERE DISAPOINTED THE LADY WENT INTO THE KITCHEN AND THEY RELACED A FEW THINGS

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Loved everything about the place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything about the place..... the staff were lovely and very accommodating would definitely stay again and recommend the kingsgate to everyone thank you kingsgate hotel for the wonderful stay in your facilities

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    6.3
    very disappointed - no where near normal or expected experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was a very disappointing experience . Had to call several times around 3-00 am to get action around noisy group outside and in hallways . Also went to breakfast ,which was part of the offering, to be told at 9-00 am that all food had gone and no more would be cooked

    We have stayed often and this is the only property we look at due to previous satisfaction and locality

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.5
    umm
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    didn't like when the cook swore in front of my children when she did a mistake and most cooks are grumpy so. needs to smile more and please be nicer to other staff in front of guests. also the full on party next door to our suites with both doors open walking freely in and out of the room loud music and fighting outside our room while im trying our put babies down. yelling at each other banging on the walls ringing our door bell. not worth the money i spent.when asked for one night back from all 4 suites i booked which was close to 200 for each suite for every night and we had been there for 2 nights now they only gave back couply hundred to the $750 spent.the lovely ladies would have given me a night back for every suite that was next to the night club party suite but the manager Andrew wasn't having any of it. didnt like that at all

    staff are amazing thank you

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.1
    Loved the stay. Hated the bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Harbour View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed in our apartment was very very uncomfortable. We both woke up with aches and pains. Appeared bed was quite old.

    Really liked the waterfront location. Breakfast at restaurant had good range of food. Lovely that bathroom had a spa bath in it. Liked there was TV in lounge & bedroom and both areas had a heatpump.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.3
    Value and convince for stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa is not quite fresh and clean as we expected. Our next neighbor knocked our door 3 times at night and make noise.

    The room facilities was clean and comfortable, and hotel staff are very kindness.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.9
    Walking distance to everything in paihia!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit dated and it's more like a motel accommodation than a hotel feel! Didn't feel welcome and felt rushed on the dot of 10am, reception rang to say its check out time and then cleaners knocked on door, very unprofessional! 😒

    Walking distance to everything in paihia!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Great location, rooms were a good size, great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing we didn't like.

    The staff were a great help on check-in as we had to leave quickly for a fishing charter and they got us into the room quickly so we could make it. They were very helpful over the 3 days.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    5.8
    Great location and view.
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mini bar items out of date. No hot chocolate, tea in room, uncomfortable pillows andvpull out bed,small bed, dirty bath mat, poor service in restaurant, ran out of sauce

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.3
    Great overall with location being an easy stroll to the waterfront, restaurants & ferry to Russell.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great position opposite the water, room was modern, parking was easy and the restaurant served very good food which was a pleasant surprise. The chowder was very nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.9
    Great games room and spa area shut off from everyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa to be up to temperature for more than one day. And the beer tap at the bar to be working.. So much for happy hour...

    Great games room and spa area shut off from everyone

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent value accomodation in lovely Paihia.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was surprised there was no microwave or a plate and utensils!

    Proximity to centre of Paihia. I could leave car at hotel and walk 50 meters to excellent restaurants

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    Room was lovely and cozy.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The sheets on our bed and one of the towels had old blood stains on it. Was very off putting as we have stayed at this hotel a few times and never experienced this :(

    Room was lovely and cozy. Staff were friendly and the location by the beach is amazing. A short walk to any shops made the trip for us

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Not what I expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not have a good sleep, was disturbed with noise from the room above, as there was a party going on. Heaps of beer cans and a broken bottle was thrown down in front of my door. Cigarette butts were also thrown on my car, all of which I have photos for and it shown to the manager in charge the next morning during check out.

    I liked the comfort and cleanliness.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.3
    Highlights were.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed the spa wasn't working, all four of us packed our togs for a mid winter spa. Tv picture was bad quality.

    Highlights were....the Bath!! (not many hotels seem to have baths). Kids were free! Along with two sofas that turned into beds for them!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    5.4
    Full payment was demanded upon arrival - I am usually a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Full payment was demanded upon arrival - I am usually a corporate guest at this hotel, so I refused and stated I would pay for the accommodation and any meals on departure Dinner service was poor. The waiting staff were poorly trained and consequently our entrée didn't arrive before our main meal. when the entrée did arrive, the prawns weren't cooked and the chowder was 'choked' with parsley. The main meal was also smothered in parsley. We received a discount on the meals, but it didn't make up for the loss of enjoyment. Upon checkout, the duty manager started 'arguing the point' about payment. She had no empathy whatsoever about my status as a corporate traveller or the poor dinner service and is THE reason why I will never be back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    5.8
    Good Location - but very average property
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a very average property charging more than whats its worth, regrettably charging high prices for very average hotels/motels is becoming common in parts of New Zealand. - To make things worse we where charged a 2.5% fee for paying by Visa card - this is a very bad practise, that is now being used by a lot of Hotels/Motels in New Zealand (most countries do not have this bad practise) This must be stamped out ! There is no justification as Hotels happily use ones Credit Card to secure the booking and often hold security deposits - They should and must accept this as a cost of doing business. (as do Restaurants, supermarkets and all retailers) - Credit Cards give Hotels security and guaranteed payment at a very small cost ! My International guests where embarrassed and unhappy with this bad practise.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe parking could be better, had to drive around looking for a parking space.

    Room was warm and cosy, beds were really comfortable, facilities were nice and clean, food was delicious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.1
    The room was clean, and warm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't enough tea, coffee and hot chocolate supplied, had to ask for more twice. Also there were only 2 mugs and 2 glasses supplied for a room that slept, and was booked for 3 people.

    The room was clean, and warm. We were close to everything we needed. Walking distance to the supermarket, shops, restaurants and most importantly the beach was just across the street.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.0
    Pleasant despite the terrible weather.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Harbour View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Being off-season it was a bit bleak being the only ones at the bar and the only ones in the massive restaurant. I imagine it would be better at peak season. The fittings in the bathroom need to be improved. Towel rail and soap rack falling off the wall.

    We stayed in a junior suite with sea view. Lovely sunny morning balcony. Lovely lounge. Well-equipped kitchenette. Stayed in winter so it was good to have heat pumps in both lounge and bedroom. Nice to have a bath as well as a shower. Also good to have tv in both bedroom and lounge.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Absolutely awesome place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would've been good if the buffet went til 10am.

    My family and I loved our stay. Loved the hot spa. Staff were really accommodating whatever we needed they were there to help. Close to the shops and restaurants. My daughter loved the games room we enjoyed it to. Breakfast was included with our room, which was so good. Buffet offered many varieties of hot/cold food. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.5
    Great, comfy.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should have checked for kitchen facilities as it would have been easier for us to cook for ourselves instead of being restricted to specific menu or times. Left my boots behind in the room, rang back to check if cleaners had handed them in. Haven't heard anything yet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    Good location, very central, value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, very central, value for money. Fascinating to watch staff doing exercises and having staff meeting in the car park in beautiful weather.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing weekend away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The spa seemed like it needed a clean, we went at 4pm, 2 hours after it opened and it had gross stuff on the top of the water.

    The breakfast was really nice, best scrambled eggs I have had, so light. Amazing views from the dinning area. So close to everything, I didn't have to drive anywhere. Beds were comfy. Great for the price you pay. I would book again :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Everything was awesome, the bar staff were wonderful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was awesome, the bar staff were wonderful and served us right up until closing. the room was very clean and comfortable. the location was perfect as me and my partner walked to waterfront for dinner and drinks without a problem.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    Had a very nice stay in Paihia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to complain. All Good.

    The Room was comfortable and clean. The breakfast was excellent and the opening time was good. The location of the Hotel is good. Excellent staff and very helpful. Thanks to everyone.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant once again, rooms could do with an upgrade, nothing much has changed in 5 years since
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast same each day. Cooked breakfast bacon cold most mornings even when fresh batch bought out. More variety on say eggs, could individual order be taken. Ie poached eggs soft, fried eggs etc etc. Toasters very very slow to cook toast. Coffee machines if somebody had not used for 5/10 minutes when I had a coffee it was only Luke warm, but when I followed somebody who had just used machine then I got a lovely hot cup bearing in mind that I only have black coffees so if you added milk then it would be cold.

    Nearly everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Excellent service friendly staff outstanding facilities value for money highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No comment

    The staff were excellent from the receptionist greeting and helpfulness to the restaurant the food was amazing in the restaurant yum, bar and restaurant staff excellent clean and tidy facilities outstanding service and food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Went for the Country Rock Festival and enjoyed staying at the hotel which was also a venue. The weat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Harbour View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Food at the restaurant. I had a crispy Chicken Burger which was a very minute piece of chicken covered in an overcooked breadcrumb mix. Not much salad on the bun either but the chips were very good

    Fell over on the kitchen floor as it was super slippery and smelt strongly of bleach. However told the staff at reception and it was fixed immediately

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Happy stay 😀
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have liked to book a table for dinner but they were booked out all 3 nights before we arrived.

    Awesome service. Quiet room. Wonderful service. Nice food. Very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    lovely location & excellent service from willing staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    see above.

    we were very pleased with our stay but on booking out we found that although we prepaid our room charges of $846.60 on 8/04/18 as required & this meant certain conditions applied, such as no cancellation & additional charges if we altered our booking. However on our account we were charged extra for 3rd & 4th of May. when i queried this at the time i was told you charged extra because rates had gone up. This seems to be contrary to the information i had received on making the booking & your confirmations received at that time. Although the amount is only $45 i do not feel you should alter charges where they are prepaid. i will be interested to receive your response.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    Pleasant stay at the Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location was ideal, easy walking distance to all restaurants, cafes, shops and ferries. Receptionists very polite, nicely groomed and willing to make the stay more enjoyable with helping us with our requests. Rooms were a good size and both our beds were very comfortable, bathroom spotless. I did read a review about carpet on the room counter but realised that with suitcases it wouldn't scratch the surface, so understood why the carpet was there. Restaurant and bars had excellent views of the scenery that Paihia offers

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.3
    Have stayed there many times in past in a standard double, I think this is more value for price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room could have been a bit cleaner, hand prints on windows, cupboard doors not wiped down. Bed very uncomfortable lump in centre. Breakfast food was luke warm.

    The staff, the view from our suite

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    6.7
    Has potential - but a few details to be considered would make a big difference to overall enjoyment.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Breakfast spread was pretty poor for an international branded hotel. No vegetables in the cooked breakfast ie. Mushrooms or tomatoes. All fruit was the tinned variety and the only bread option was plain white bread - this isn't a way to impress customers or worldwide tourist/visitors.

    Bed was lovely and comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location, staff and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like only the bathroom. There was no hand shower so you can not clean all parts of your body.

    I like the location. Staff was excellent specifically Deng Deng at the time of check in and other time. Breakfast is awesome. Hot pool after tiring day tour was relaxing. Comfortable beds with a balcony for sea view. Overall liked everything.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Awesome!!
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thank you guys property was spot on like every thing about it Location, Room and most importantly the staff you guys have a awesome hotel il definitely be back !!! 🖒🖒🖒🖒🖒

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent good value stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were only two minor things on the negative side. The pillows in the room were hard and flat, they need to be renewed. The coffee from the coffee machine at the buffet breakfast was very sweet despite not having had sugar added - couldn't figure that one out! They offer instant coffee so we went for that.

    The staff were excellent. Our little 3 year old girl asked for a room with a bath, so they changed our room to one with one and that made her happy! The dinner menu in the restaurant was limited and basic but was good for our first meal a we had just driven 250Kms and didn't want to go out. Location was great and the rooms very clean and tidy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.9
    beds very good shower stunning spa wasnt working that was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the restaurant and bar has no atmosphere considering it looks out to the water and is close to town we didnt eat there at all

    beds very good shower stunning spa wasnt working that was maddening

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    It is very satisfied with other facilities and services,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This relatively high-priced hotel actually only has 1G of wireless data for a whole suite of people,wifi data is far from enough. I am very satisfied with other facilities and services.

    It is very satisfied with other facilities and services, except wireless data.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.3
    An enjoyable stay in a spectacular location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The standard rooms are of the typical motel style. While our bathroom had been renovated, the bedroom was tired, dark and musty and in need of a face-lift.

    Excellent location at the foreshore and within a walking minute of the centre. Nice restaurant with beautiful views, good food and service. Buffet breakfast. Spacious rooms and on-site parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Stayed overnight for work, but will definitely return with my wife for a longer stay. Excellent
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    cant think of anything

    Staff were extremely pleasant and the facilities were excellent. The views to the harbour from the restaurant while enjoying a meal and a drink were amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    6.7
    Marginal not a good look for tourism in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fire evacuation alarm went at 4.00am. No communication from the management. I personally phoned the fire service at 4.06am as there was no movement at the fire station 2 doors away. They knew nothing about the alarm and called out the fire engines.

    Nice breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.2
    We really enjoyed ourselves.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only dislike was the mattress. It was a bit uncomfortable a bit springing and I think it was on wheels so it moved aswell but it was better than the floor.

    We really enjoyed ourselves. Jnr Suite was nice and spacious. Staff were really nice. Location was perfect! View was amazing! We’ll definitely be back!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Please sort your movie channel. The weather turned bad so we were stuck indoors for a while. You can't order/ pay for other movies like some hotels so they repeat over and over and the sound quality was terrible. Also felt your pool table should be free.

    Location is great with friendly staff and we had the best spa bath in the studio. Loved it!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.5
    Spa pool was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fire alarm went off at about 3.30am. I realise that there are very few staff at this time of day but took me about 15 minutes to realise that it was a fire alarm. We then found other patrons and one of them rang the fire brigade who responded in about another 15 minutes. There was no communication from staff or fire brigade but after asking eventually the “all clear” was given and we could go back to our room. No explanation was given until I queried whilst paying our bill about 9am. Lord help us if it was a real fire!

    Spa pool was excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: