Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Brydone Hotel Oamaru 3 stars

115 Thames Street, 9400 Oamaru, New Zealand

#14 of 22 hotels in Oamaru

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 542 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    10
    we had a lovely stay and would high recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was nothing we didn't like had been to pink concert in Dunedin so picked up a key on our way through got access in at 1 am in the morning.... nothing at all to complain about.

    The bed and pillows were just so comfortable ,The room roomy and clean The pressure in the shower was great The service for breakfast friendly,the meal fresh and yummy . Couldn't fault a thing would go back .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    6.7
    The location was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Singles
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was basic and small, I did expected a bit more for the price we paid, and how the pictures looked at the web side. It did under deliver. also were there renovation works going on , whats properly a good thing.

    The location was good Staff was nice and helpful. The Bathroom were nice and clean and newly done

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.5
    I loved the location, middle of town so you can walk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Suite with King bed and separate living area
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I loved the location, middle of town so you can walk everywhere and excellent room service for when you come back and just want to put your feet up with great big villa windows that you can open and listen to the nightlife going on around you.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.3
    Lovely night
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's easy to get lost! Lots of long corridors. It should be made easier to get from room to restaurant and reception

    Very handy to where we wanted to be

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.6
    A quick get away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We maybe odd but....we perfer staying in the original part of the hotel. The updated decor in the newer wing is lovely ....we just like old thingS. The fridge was noisy and needs a non slip mat under it as it moves when the door is opened. There was no ice in the freezer which we would have appreciated and the fridge was too cold as milk that we brought with us froze over night.

    Lovely staff. Good food. Comfy bed. Bath.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.0
    If we had a quiet room the stay would of been much more pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could here everything the other person was doing in there room very clearly and the fridge was noisey, and kept waking me up through the night.

    It was clean and staff were lovely as was the breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.9
    Clean, comfortable with impressive breakfast included (minus tea).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t like having to pay for our tea at breakfast ((expected it to be included). Would’ve preferred to stay in the original historic hotel part...the new-ish add ons were reminiscent of an ordinary motel, so not the ‘boutique’ or historic hotel experience we’d anticipated.

    Generous sized breakfast for 2 included in room rate.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.8
    We had a blast will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    having to walk through construction to the rooms from carpark was a bit of an obstacle course but other wise it was great

    Altough we had a king sized bed it could have been bigger, (just so i could have some space) :) Breakfast was awesome. The saff where great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Fantastsic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King & Single
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing I didn't like, I love the feel and huge size that the Brydon offers, it's a real experience and definitely value for money

    Very comfy room, staff extra friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    Convenient location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King & Single
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I thought that the heater in the room might have been turned on prior to my arrival. The room was freezing! Thankfully I had only called in to check-in, drop off my gear (turn the heater on) and head back out so the room had warmed for my return. I had indicated a check-in time earlier than I actually managed but I don't think the heater was ever going to be turned on by the staff ahead of my arrival. The thermostat works so even if it was set to a minimum of 18 degrees?

    Central location is ideal for me.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.3
    Would def come back and stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed wasn't the best, uncomfortable, pillows slipped down wall all night, no headboard attached to the bed. Copious condensation on windows.

    Staff are lovely, friendly and helpful. Room warm, fine, basic.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.1
    An old hotel in the heart of the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    An old hotel in the heart of the town. Refurbishing of rooms was in progress. Our room had been refurbished. It was well appointed, clean with a very well planned bathroom. The new floor and wall tiling in the bathroom was some of the best we have seen. We saw a tiler working in another room and we congratulated him.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.9
    An average hotel with a slightly higher price than it should deserve.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen & Single
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast in the hotel was a bit over priced, they're renovating, so there were cords and drop sheets everywhere. The lifts weren't working and one of my friends got trapped in it. I stayed in the 'newer' section of the hotel above the sports bar, but I didn't hear any noise from there, but I did hear whenever the neighbors used the toilet or the shower. The windows are single glazed and were very weepey, but saying that, there was a very effective heater available in the room, on continously. One of my friends also had an issue where the booking was only for 1 night, even though she'd booked for 4 nights. This was resolved, but not before she had to shift rooms once. Overall, probably a bit over priced.

    This hotel is right in the center of town, so very convenient. It has a massive carpark out the back and an after hours back door key. It's an old hotel and they've kept some of the old world feel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    6.7
    I would have chosen another room if I had know it was so small. .lovely old hotel needs upgrading.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Standard room very very small... closest lift not working lots of stairs to carry large bags.

    Good location Oamaru is such a lovely town Whitestone Victorian quarter a must full of history nice cafes and steampunk. Love Cucina restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel and great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only minor note was that part of the hotel was being renovated/refurbished at the time of our stay so couldn't use the front elevator to access our room. This really wasn't much of an issue as we had a car and parking is at the rear of the hotel where there was a 2nd elevator (though we did have to carry our luggage up one floor to get to the room)

    Loved the look of the hotel and the room, was a good location and close to shops and cafes. The food and dining area was excellent and the staff (both at the front desk and at the resteraunt) were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is also only about 2min drive from steam punk HQ and about 10-15min from the penguine colony.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.2
    We had a very good stay, would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was quite compact, would have liked a bit more space. The lifts were old and a bit shaky but I suppose that is to be expected in a old hotel. The continental breakfast was a bit sparse

    The bed was very comfy, we slept like a log. The service in the bar was excellent, the coffee and cake was so good and such a bargain. The new bathroom/ shower in our room was excellent. Very convenient for amenities.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    7.9
    Love this hotel...wish it was better cared for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole hotel, and the rooms, desperately needs new carpet and hard floorings. The lift between the ground and first floor is ancient and does not open quite level with the first floor. We’ve been coming here for years, and despite new management this classic old hotel never seems to get a makeover. It has great bones and deserves better.

    Comfortable bed, like the history of the hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    7.1
    Oamaru is a very interesting place to stay and the hotel is in keeping with the history of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The meal in the restaurant was a bit expensive for the quality (it was a roast of the day)

    The historical part of the hotel was really nice and some areas had been renovated

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.8
    Definitely visit Oamaru, fab little place with lots to do,hotel handy for everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Suite with King bed and separate living area
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to be honest.

    Hotel very handy for walking around town, we didn't use restaurant or bar but it did look pleasant enough. I unfortunately managed to leave my mobile phone in room and didn't realise until past Dunedin, thankfully the staff couriered my phone home for me so very pleased,thanks.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    Central location, comfy beds, friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The second room we had booked had quite a tired looking bathroom - it’s a big hotel, so this bathroom is probably on the yet to be renovated list.

    Comfy beds, newly renovated bathroom, great parking, friendly staff, walk to cafes.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.1
    Enjoyed ourselves
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner was very average.

    Beds were very comfortable - apparently new - staff friendly...older style character hotel with good atmosphere. Great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    7.9
    Coffee was good,Room was awesome,car park was great, staff were awesome:)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    A plug for the sink in the on suite as there was none,But i'm sure if we'd of asked one could have been provided,But we were only stopping for a night.

    The reception staff were very helpful and welcoming,the history of the Hotel was cool and the room we had was pretty good , we only had one night's stay it was awesome,Will come again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.5
    Very comfortable bed and fresh room - restaurant quiet and food good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was fine all round :-)

    Room 18 was very comfortable and recently renovated - compared to some rooms we peeked through open doors when leaving. Dinner and breakfast were good and wait staff friendly. Very noisy bus idling outside our room from 7-7.30 waiting for passengers to board.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    10
    Perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Perfect location! Perfect value! The receptionist lady with black hair is really friendly and helpful. Room is clean, well equipped and cozy. It’s got everything we need. We really enjoyed our stay! Oh and the breakfast was good as well, very decent eggs benny.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.3
    Lovely greeting at our arrival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was slightly small but for us was fine.

    Lovely greeting at our arrival. The receptionist truly cared about as. As there was a wedding she gave us a more quiet room to sleep. The hotel has a beautiful old fashioned bar. Great to enjoy a coffee and look at the Opera House opposite. Hotel in the town center. Therefore easy to reach everything. Parking space behind the hotel which was very convenient.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    7.9
    Character hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Suite with King bed and separate living area
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's little soundproofing, and its a bit noisy.

    Character grand old period hotel, in the heart of Oamaru's famous Whitestone architecture. We had a room with sitting room in the front, old part of the building. It was very clean and had a great modern bathroom.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    10
    The Brydon does it eat sleep and centre of town to shop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved that there was a safe place to leave our bikes. We had dinner in the dining room all thirteen of us and our meals all came out together. The staff were very approachable in the bar and the dinning area. Reception staff very welcoming on arrival and very pleasant on departure. We didn't have breakfast and left before 8am.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.2
    Functional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen & Single
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expecting to be in part of the hotel you see in the pictures and then finding out we were in building attached out the back.

    The receptionist was lovely. Room had been refurbished and nice and new inside. Good parking out back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.2
    Charming
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walk from car park to room was a maze , the hotels decor could do with a updated, peeling wallpaper, won’t stop me from returning

    Dinner at Cucina , a lovely bathroom

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    7.5
    Staff were nice & helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was a bit of a rabbit warren. Lots of corridors & doors every where. Old section of the hotel was rundown & very noisey.

    Staff were nice & helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable, generously-sized room and helpful, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a bit stuffy and there didn't seem to be a way to get the air moving.

    My room was generously sized, comfortable and looked like it had been recently updated. Very nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    7.9
    The Brydone is in a good central Oamaru location, the view...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air conditioning, and it was 20+ degrees during the night we stayed

    The Brydone is in a good central Oamaru location, the view from the higher level rooms onto the street was very good. The room was very tidy and well furnished and met all of our needs and the receptionist was so lovely when we arrived.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    9.6
    Great value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no lock on the bathroom door.

    A triple room is in fact 2 rooms: a twin room and a double room, connected together. The ensuite bathroom is attached to the double room. Nice, cozy and enough space for everything. There was also an electric kettle and a fridge. Great value for money!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    6.7
    Two letters... ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room overlooked the roof - not pretty and we heard the sound of the extractor fan from the kitchen starting early in the morning. Most of all though, the property is very tired and dated and really feels like an old man's hotel. The layout is clumsy and the whole place is in desperate need of a freshen up.

    Bathroom was large and clean. Staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    Excellent place to stay - we will be back
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite with a King bed and spa bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sash window rattled in the wind - however I used a piece of cardboard to remedy this.

    Facilities in the room were superb - met expectations - couldn't ask for more

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    6.7
    Hotel needs a lot of refurbishment which has started.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is an old hotel that is being refurbished. Our bathroom had been refurbished but the bedroom was very tired. The hotel is massive and needs a lot of work.

    Good location on the main street.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    2.5
    Annoying to go over budget for something that was not special in any way
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen & Single
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked with booking.com. We were charged an extra 15 percent more than advertised. It was explained that this was how booking.com works. I was not happy at this undisclosed added VAT. It has previously been my experience that the VAT is upfront. I would not have booked this hotel had I known. The extra 15 per cent was above our budget. I would like clarification from booking.com

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.9
    Perfect for a short stay in Oamaru
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite with one King bed and two Single beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor a bit drab in bedroom but comfortable bed and well equipped. Trip to broom from carpark a bit tricky carrying luggage but appreciate the hotel is being refurbished and hopefully this will be improved

    Beautiful bathroom

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    A stay at the Brydone, well overdue.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very convenient to Opea House where I attended a music and films evening in conjunction with the Waitaki Arts Festival. I last stayed at this hotel 52 years ago, will now stay more often..

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    5.8
    Over all friendly staff, good food and wine.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Heating in the room. The 'fan heater' in the entrance wall didn't heat the room well. A radiator under the window would be good as that side of the room was coldest. For those coming from the north it might be a good idea to suggest how to 'de ice' the car!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.9
    Oamaru is a fun place to visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we would have liked the option of staying in the front (original) part of the hotel. Getting to our room after walking past those rooms and the grand lobby was a bit of a disappointment. The view out our window, over rusting roofs and the carpark was pretty awful. The rooms at the front looked amazing, we wouldn't have minded paying more to stay there but weren't given the option

    great location, friendly staff at check-in, grand entrance to hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.6
    A very relaxing stay in what felt like luxury
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was there on my own and the room might have been a bit small for two people with full sized suitcases.

    I was in the older part of the Brydone - it was beautifully decorated and very clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel, good value, excellent location in the city, would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating was sufficient but a small heat pump where you can choose the temperature would have been ideal.

    The heritage style of the hotel is evident and pleasant, onsite parking, central location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    5.4
    Had better...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room itself just seemed a little tired. And only instant coffee! Seriously? In this day and age. And considering this room was close to $200 a night..... seriously it's ridiculous

    The bathroom I have to say was magnificent!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    5.0
    It's a shame that the experience was so poor, because the location is wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was slow, so slow in fact that I couldn't even load a simple website, and it may have been free, but it was vouchers for a free 500mb, so it was constant reloading of your wifi. My room was positioned right about the door to the back carpark, which kept me awake with the loud banging of the door below, and also woke me up the next morning. The bathroom was tiny, had a dirty rubber bath Mat and an average toilet wedged in between the shower and the vanity. For $110 per night I was horribly disappointed, I won't be returning and think that some sort of discount should have been given for my experience.

    The staff at reception were lovely!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    8.3
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double FF
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower over the bath meant neither of us, with mobility issues, could have a shower. Suggest hotel provides a few rooms that are fully accessible to those with a disability

    Staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    Recently refurbished, it was lovely, clean, fresh and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No assistance offered with bags, and finding the room from the car park out the back (cold and dark) was a challenge as a bit of a rabbit warren.

    Recently refurbished, it was lovely, clean, fresh and comfortable. Great bed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.1
    proximity to everything in town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was a bit pricey for what it was. view was of the back of several buildings and fire exits. no extractor in the bathroom so it was smelling a bit damp all the time.

    proximity to everything in town

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Got woken by the next door room banging shut.

    Accommodation getting on the dated side now but room itself was comfortable and clean. Location to walk around the area was great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    5.4
    Quaint
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible bed. Wasn't sure about the safety of our vehicle outside in the open but it was fine

    Lovely little town with lots of historical sight seeing to be done

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    8.8
    Lovely Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was fine.

    Small room but clean and adequate. Great breakfast. Excellent staff. Got lost once or twice getting around hotel but that was a nice part of staying in an old hotel. Lovely and olde worlde.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    10
    The Brydone is Brilliant!!!!
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The main lighting in the bedroom area was dimly lit. There was a main light switch which covered the area as you walked in the door. There were lights over each bed. However, there was no central light in the bedroom. When you are changing into different costumes for a Steampunk Festival, you need to see detail in the mirror!! The mirror was obscured because the TV was right across it! So I moved the TV sideways and one of the connecting cords came out to no harm. I didn't use the TV anyway and reconnected it when I left. It would have been great to have had the mirror free and the TV in a separate place.

    The accommodation was great. I have booked the same room for next year's 2018 Steampunk NZ Festival. The staff were great especially Moira, the night porter. On Saturday 3rd June, I had not been able to eat anything at a dinner (not at the hotel) due to allergies. When I got back to the Brydone, the kitchen was closed so Moira heated me up some scones which really filled the gap. She was amazing!! The reception staff and young Sam in the coffee and breakfast area were also memorable! Thank you for a wonderful stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.8
    Great small hotel in the town of Oamaru
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great small hotel in the town of Oamaru. located in the center of the small town. walking distance to all the local attraction. The hotel is bit old but the room is clean and comfort. Great friendly staff in the reception and bar. we enjoy the stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    8.3
    The proximity to everything I wanted to do - I was there for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My bed and the next-door bathroom shared a wall. Every time they used the bathroom it woke me up - every day between 5 & 6 am. It's an historic venue but there's no attempt, in the room I was in, to preserve that. It's all modern & could be anywhere. It's a lost opportunity for marketing in a town that sells its Victorian heritage. Bed was hard - needs something soft between mattress & sheets. Could do with late-night access somewhere safer than at the back of the carpark - partic for women on their own.

    The proximity to everything I wanted to do - I was there for a Steampunk week-end. The ease of access to performance venues when the weather was bad. The friendliness & helpfulness of the staff. The lovely full length mirror at the top of the stairs -excellent for checking costume before you go out. Hotel temperature was just right - not cold when you come in late but not stifling either.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    4.2
    Absolutely dire
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dire, absolutely awful, cracked sink, tiny dated bathroom, broken toilet seat, awful decorations peeling wallpaper. Just dreadful

    The central location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    7.9
    Standard hotel in the centre of Oamaru - refurbishment needed for some rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    ---

    Traditional hotel in the centre of Oamaru. We had a room in the "modern" part of the hotel, which urgently needs refurbishment. The heating system worked properly - perfect for us, since it was very cold when we stayed there. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    10
    Great location. Little blue penguins (nearby) adorable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking lot is in the back and very far away if your room is near the front. Quite a trek. Even though a non-smoking hotel, a guest or guest en route to the parking lot smoked, so stretch of hallway icky. Not hotel's fault a bit, but yuck.

    Very nice and helpful reception. Got my postcard stamps there.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    6.3
    Great spot very central, short walk to The Steampunk area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I hate stepping into a bath to shower, bed was not the most comfy but we were only staying overnight.

    Lovely old building, great location in heart of town. I believe they are refurbishing. Our room was fine for what we required. Staff were lovely and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    6.7
    Friendly but quite expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    $125/night seemed excessive as town is just starting to develop so not a great place- thought room would be cheaper. Restaurant menu very expensive with many meals $32 plus. The Brewery restaurant near harbour was good but wanted to have a simple lunch at own hotel.

    Position was good. Staff were very friendly. Large Victorian windows and high ceilings were interesting. Bathroom had been renovated so was very good and clean.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    7.5
    Disappointment in Oamaru
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being woken up in the late hours by drunken guests. Outdated book for guests in the bedroom which explained you had to pay for wifi when in fact it was free. Tired decoration in the rest of the building. Limited menu in restaurant, had to wait almost an hour for soup as they had run out at lunchtime. Staff very helpful but perhaps the chef or whoever plans in the kitchen needs to buck up ideas. One of the beds very uncomfortable. One towel was threadbare. Charge for credit card use not encountered at other stays on this trip.

    Extremely friendly & helpful staff at reception and bar. Large room which was clean, modernised and well presented. Bathroom clean.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    6.7
    Room was modern, clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception didn't tell me that the lift doesn't go up to all rooms and I could not manage my suitcase up the extra stairs. I wasn't offered a porter at reception and I didn't see one while I was there either. I didn't ask because I presumed the lift would take me to my floor. From the car park you go in the back door and then it is a confusing maze to find your way to reception and you end up going round in circles. Very annoying.

    Room was modern, clean and comfortable. Wifi was good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    10
    Wonderful hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely nothing!

    Loved, loved, loved this hotel. Old time charm, excellent accommodations and staff. Clean, friendly, everything we could have asked for in a hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    6.7
    Missed opportunity
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room in desperate need of refurbishment. Bed only just fit in: no room to walk round it. Seating area very uninviting. Uncomfortable chairs. TV remote didn't work. With Oamaru's steampunk vibe and the fabulous, quirky building, this was a missed opportunity to create unique accommodation.

    Great location, friendly staff, iconic building

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would of been nice to have a coffee plunger and coffee

    Nice big bed with a firm mattress, lovely spacious bathroom with spa bath and huge shower. And we liked the location of our room, quite private.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    5.4
    Great location and food, but with a few issues elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only one of us could have a shower in the morning as the hot water ran out at 8.45am. The tap in the hand basin dripped all night :( Reception expressed surprise when told of no hot water but no compensation was offered only that she would advise the room staff. The decor is very very dated though we did notice signs saying they were renovating. This is long overdue. Husband stayed at the Brydone 10 years ago for a conference and absolutely nothing had changed in 10 years.

    We had dinner and drinks in the bar/restaurant - great food, good wine choices, helpful staff. Walking distance to Victorian Precinct and main shops. Great location and onsite parking out the back.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    9.2
    Centrally located, reasonably priced room for the non fussy traveller
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The WiFi was a little erratic but it was free so I can't really complain! TV was very small. Not a complaint from me as I don't go to hotels to watch TV but may be worth noting.

    I am under the impression that the hotel rooms are going through some refurbishment. The room I stayed in was one of the older rooms. It looked a little dated and perhaps could have used some TLC. However, it was clean and the beds were very comfortable. There was a double and single bed and there was a door to separate the rooms which was fantastic. Despite the fact that the bathroom floor creaked like nothing I've ever heard before the shower was absolutely magnificent!!! I paid $108 NZD for the room I consider it an absolute bargain. The hotel is smack bang in the middle of town so it was easy to walk everywhere.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    5.0
    Great location, old fashioned noisy hotel - avoid
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is an outdated rabbit warren of a hotel but i can live with that because the location is great. What i can't live with is that the room i was in was directly above a bar, it was like having a band in my room until after midnight. Then the bar goers spilled onto the street, knocking over road signs, revving cars for another half an hour or so. Never again. The hotel should be upfront that half the rooms are over a noisy bar. Worse, i thought at least i could get a drink in the hotel bar on a Saturday night while the bar was thumping away - wrong. The bar was shut by 10pm. Awful all round.

    Location can't be beat.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    8.8
    Ideal for a one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seemed to get very hot overnight. Guests next door returned at 3am and were very noisy.

    Very friendly and efficient check in staff. Easy car parking. Spacious room, nice shower and good value for money.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    6.7
    Good location but tired facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small, at the end of a confusing number of corridors and stairs. The elevator did not reach my floor. To my mind the room was suitable for someone arriving late and leaving early thr next day. The restaurant served a good variety but one meal of curried fish was not properly cooked. It had to be taken and cooked properly. By recompense I got one free beer

    The staff were obliging

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location with lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit pricey for the continental selection

    Great location near to the Victorian precinct. Lovely staff and great to have free parking at the rear of the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    6.7
    Hmmm... Wouldn't necessarily say value for money...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilet paper roll dispenser was like being in a public toilet... somehow tasteless. A little bit dated in general... or in need of "refreshings"

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    10
    The hotel was great, Oamaru is a wonderful interesting place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My roast lamb special of the day was sliced on a machine when cold then reheated as special of the day. Not good roast lamb. Vegetables ok.

    Everything except my dinner being fairly average.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    5.8
    Nothing special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The small room, uncomfortable bed and that the bathroom had no window or fan to bring in fresh air Also no cold drinking water It wasn't worth the money for this room

    The hotel looked lovely I loved how old the hallways are

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    10
    The jewel of Waitaki!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were excellent, friendly, helpful and had an fantastic sense of service. Food was amazing, lovely local beer- premises, room, facilities were outstanding.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    7.9
    Wonderful stay at the Brydone Hotel in Oamaru.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything in the bedrooms was super clean and everything worked as it should. Liked the fact there were wine glasses and a bottle opener cum corkscrew. Lighting was also easy to use. Good selection of teas and coffee.

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: