Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin 3.5 stars

10 Smith Street, 9058 Dunedin, New Zealand

#36 of 57 hotels in Dunedin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1700 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Paid WiFi

    6.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast full buffet was extremely disappointing. Food was dry and not hot. Would stay at the venue again, but would not have the breakfast there.

    Location was good and room was warm and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was 3 of us had the roast of the day, I am coeliac, so my roast of the day was very plain - carrots, brocolli, cauliflower and meat - no potato, gravy or anything. The other two meals looked very appetising

    Room nice and warm, and bed extra comfy. Close to the Town Hall for the Ten Tenors concert, could walk there and back, good parking area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be nice to have a microwave, plates and cutlery in the room for bringing back and heating up your own food

    Nice comfy beds, great view of the city, handy short walk to town, good bar and restaurant

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    only fault, at times could hear waste water flowing through pipe from room above, suggest top floor room,however we have stayed there before and will not stop us from staying again

    every thing ok, tv channels had all sky channels ,not just the basic as in ,one movie,one sport

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a constant noise somewhere near our room. After three hours, of trying to get to sleep we had to contact reception. Turns out it was an issue with the plumbing on that floor of the building The night manager offered us a room two floors above. We appreciated that it was outside his responsibility however when you have to get out of bed, pack your belongings and move a couple of floors, related to an issue that is obviously known to the building owners it does not encourage you to stay again. I feel sure when we have stayed on the same floor in the past, this plumbing issue did not apply otherwise we would not have come back.

    The night manager addressed our issue promptly We like staying at the Kingsgate because it's handy to where our meeting occurs. We also like the reduced rates on Sunday nights since our meeting are on Monday mornings.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls were paper thin, you can hear the conversations in the rooms surrounding you. Hotel is pretty dated and in need of a refurb.

    Good location. Functional and suited what I needed (a bed for a few hours sleep after a long haul drive from Picton). Plenty of parking. I’ll

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old school gaff with decor that is a bit tired but we love it. It's the only place to stay in Dunedin. Location is superb as well with good off-street parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms dated and very poor lighting ( had to use the bathroom lighting if we wanted to read anything in the evening) Very tight parking for cars

    Nice and close to the town centre

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was like stepping back to the 1970s room is well overdue for upgrade. Restaurant food was fair, small improvements could make for good food.

    Central city location with on site parking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the room we got the price was ridiculous!!! Specifically stating we had three guests and only comes with two of everything. Towels, spoons, cups! Not to mention the lack of lighting in the room. The door didn’t lock correctly either. Was just a bad stay.

    The beds were comfortable and a short walk to the city which was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing(:

    The Staffs were great and friendly. Very helpful. Apart from the slope I have to climb everyday everything else is great. Very accessible to the Octagon, nearby cafes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room 215 (I think) was very dated, both the window & patio door didn’t close completely, so the cold wind & traffic noise made my stay uncomfortable. The shower over the bath was difficult to control, so the small trickle of water was either very hot or cold. The plumbing must be very old, because I could hear the room upstairs shower & toilet when they were used.

    Staff were great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There isn’t really enough parking & everything on the street seemed to be full! I was a bit panicked with having to unload & that I had two young children on hand... the staff were amazing & allowed me a ‘secret park’ close enough to unpack & safely get my children in to the hotel in the dark 👌🏻

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The door has a gap between the floor (carpet) which noise can actually go outside (somehow relates to privacy and confidentiality when you are on business trip). The curtain needs washing / dry cleaning.

    The heater was working well, the balcony was so spacious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was too soft, quite uncomfortable; all water pipes are very loud in the building - you'll be very aware when your neighbour turns on a tap!

    Great location and views, balcony a nice bonus

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All OK

    The staff were very friendly, and I was able to check in early. The hotel was very close to my event venue. I had a balcony and nice view. My room was a good temperature.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was a dripping hole in the wall,

    The Room Was Clean, The Shower was a Dripping hole in the wall, You could hear every other person flushing the toilet or having a Shower..... Not a Good place if you want to sleep, Maybe go out and have a Few drinks first & find some ear plugs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Around the bath looked really dirty and the roof was flaking off quite badly in certain areas. It looked alot nicer in the photos online than in real life

    It is close to the city walking distance to the mall and local restaurants

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was grotty, where the ceilings met the roof was unfinished, shower over the bath with a shower curtain. The decor was dated, small balcony. Tiny area to make a coffee.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Tidy & spacious room. My partner left his ring behind & they phoned us within a couple hours of us leaving. Unfortunately we were already a couples hours out of town. They couriered it to our home & it got there before we did. Fantastic service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely noisy at night when people in the next room turned on taps or showered. Something is wrong with the pipework and/or insulation that it creases this much noise. It prevented us from getting a good nights sleep.

    The room was comfortable and a good buffet breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gnocchi was a bit greasy.

    The staff were great. Especially Seraphina. Helpful with a good sense of humour. The bed was nice and comfortable. The bedding was just right - hotels often give you thick duvets which are too hot - here different weighted bedding layers ment I could get things just right. The temperature was perfect in the hotel despite being only 3C outside. The clam was chowder very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant food was acceptable. Had a 10 min call before checkout time, almost like they wanted to kick us out - even after we had to pay for for a late check-out ($10/hour with the first hour being "complementary"). Staff were polite, but not warm nor welcoming.

    Good location and free parking. Hotel would be good for business travel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant . Food was inexplicably bad considering high overall caliber of food in Dunedin. I had a room service sandwich and other people tried the restaurant (breakfast and dinner . Grim . All other people I knew who stayed at the otherwise pleasant place were perplexed at the bad food even for something like an omelet.

    Even though the hotel is sort of seventies old, with one slow elevator it is in a great location and has charm, a full view staircase, rooms with balcony and helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was clean and well equipped but shower was weak and water spurted from the shower head up to the ceiling.

    Location was brilliant, room was clean, good tv channels

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit picky but there was only a shower rose with a curtain over a bath, water goes everywhere. Would be better with no bath and a shower tray with a hand held shower rose

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ripped net curtain. No kettle for making drinks. No tea coffee hot chocolate or sugar provided like stated on reservation information. 😡. All items removed from mini bar with no explanation. No apology for missing kettle. Only 2 towels for 3 people. A clump of hair on top of the 2 towels. One shower gel and one shampoo for 3 people.

    Great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building is a bit dated and could do with a refurbishment, particularly the entrance and stairway, but that is minor.

    Very comfortable bed and very clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location for being in the centre of everything. Quiet in spite of being in the centre of everything and really comfortable. High;y recommended.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar is well in need of a refit & please lower windows by wood burner to enable clients see the view of Dunedin city & harbour.

    Bed was very comfy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little disappointed in the meal this time, but it's usually great.

    Regular stayer here, really like the location and the fact that all rooms have balconies.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central location for Dunedin town centre. Room was excellent as it had bedroom separate from living area. View from room was spectacular over Dunedin. Car parking on site was big plus as parking around Dunedin is expensive.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to manage TV stations. Room was very crowded with 2 large beds particularly for one person on their own. Cup of coffee to my room was overpriced at $8.50,

    Bed was good and very clean. Staff were very helpful and welcoming.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No crockery/utensils for self-catering

    Location was amazing, and it was a lovely basic room. TV channels were excellent lol. Would definitely stay again. Not flash, but ideal.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was not good - water pressure was variable and flow was low. However turning o the tap in the sink the water pressure was too high usually spraying everywhere

    Great location not far from the Octagon, warm and comfortable. Nice and cheap restaurant for breakfast too .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food quality in the restaurant is poor . The walls are super thin so you can hear every conversation in the room nextdoor. Very outdated needs work asap

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A comfortable hotel on the edge of Dunedin's central octagon. Bigger than average rooms and a guest Laundry made this a comfortable place to stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    So convenient to walking historic Dunedin as well as lovely neighborhoods nearby. Also Close to the Speight’s Brewery and eatery for a nice dinner and excellent draft beer.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Ordered Sirloin steak medium got one very very well done, service was poor. Do not eat there. No air conditioning in hotel

    Wood carved mural in the restaurant was fantastic. Room was nice. Location was close to town center. Free parking

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Eveything good!

    We were desperate at night for accommodation after emergency trip for family to hospital. Staff most helpful arranging sudden need for extra person in room, late coming and going.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower head very poor- sprays out the side but nothing much in the middle. Shower curtain clings to body while trying to shower. Low pressure. Bed quite uncomfortable. Incredible lack of available parking - first in first serve basis. There is paid parking on the street during the day - not ideal if wanting to leave car and walk into town.

    Location to city Centre. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hot and stuffy no aircon or fan Taps in the bathroom were very noisy i recon we woke everyone up No bar staff when we wanted a drink

    Clean and tidy

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioning and it was very hot. Decor was a bit dated and the shower was basic.

    The bed was comfortable. The location was good. Room was a good size. Overall it was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very tired hotel that needs a complete refurbishment which would obviously cost too much. Ceilings coming away from walls. No aircon in 30 degrees- unusual for Dunedin of course! No heated mirror in bathroom. Noisey if guests below are on balcony.

    Friendly staff. Great position

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The 2% surcharge when paying by credit card is an unnecessary irritant which badly colours the rest of the stay. Put the rates up by 2% and remove this irritant.

    Good location and facilities

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Interior jaded - chipped wood, tired carpet and bedding etc. Walls are paper thin. In the next room a baby cried for hours. No air conditioning, windows not properly fixed; the wind whistles through! No food in the mini bar; you have to call reception to order a bag of peanuts. Restaurant clean, and staff very friendly, but the decor is dated and dull. Salmon was dry; deconstructed crumble dessert used canned fruit. WiFi was limited to 500MB.

    The room and restaurant staff were great. Reception staff not particularly welcoming, but efficient. For example, when we checked in and asked where we could park our car, the man on reception merely said 'you just drove past them' (meaning the car parks). No smile. No real welcome.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The two king size beds were amazing and soo comfy! The room was huge and a great bathroom. Excellent location easy walking distance from the Octagon but nice and quiet too. Parking was tight but they were great helping us at the front desk to find one. The restaurant on site is not too expensive either.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Portacot wasn't set up in our room even though we requested via email and also phoned ahead to double check.

    Comfy bed & housekeeping did a great job servicing daily.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was perfectly set up for winter guests but not so much for summer guests. It got a little warm and stuffy. We did try leaving the patio door open overnight but as it was New Year when we stayed there it was a little noisy....maybe providing a fan for guests during the warmer weather would help!

    The room was a great size and the bed was huge and comfortable!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were super comfy and the location is brilliant. The young woman at reception when we checked in around 3 - 4 p.m. really contributed to us feeling very welcome.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking is far too small, but on the other hand parking in the surrounding streets is free in the night

    Good location at walking distance from the Octagon

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast buffet was cold and under cooked. Was a waste of money. Has noisey plumbing, Could hear the water pipes everytime the people in the next room turned their water on. Has only a small amount of car parks so had to park on the road.

    Comfy bed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in need of a makeover. Can be noisy at night, when i was there a number of boy racers were making quite the racket outside about 2am. Ordered room service but when the pizza (not the best, awful base) and beer arrived neither of the drinks were opened. There was no bottle opener and he asked if i wanted the bottles open. Well yes young fella that is the idea. So he took the bottles away and returned a few mins later opened. A bit keystone cops.

    Great location and good car parking options.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had booked a large double bed on the Booking.com website but when we got to the hotel they said that all their rooms had 2 x double beds in them. Needs to be consistent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have prefered to have had a small bottle of milk instead ot the wee pots. The tv remote only worked up close to the tv not from the bed or chairs.

    The beds were very comfy, nice chairs and lovely to be able to get out onto the balcony. The room was quiet.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that the hotel closed down their lounge bar on a Sunday evening and we were the only couple having a meal in the dining room. We couldn't have a drink with our meal as the bar had closed and the meal left something to be desired.

    You could find lots of amenities near to property, which was ideally cited, but it was a Sunday and they were generally closed when we arrived mid afternoon.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mention of restaurant closed on website or anything and got there to be told can’t dine in

    Nice receptionist even asked if needed help with suitcase to room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sound-proofing between the rooms is awful. I could hear every word of what the neighbouring room were saying or watching on TV!

    Centrally situated with good views from the room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very disappointed with the restaurant foode. Flavorless and luke warm kumara soup. Scallops over cooked and tasteless. Lemon butter frozen. We had just completed the Central Otago Rail Trail and the food we received every night was five star quality!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had booked a room for 2 which as a deal had breakfast included, however just 1 breakfast was included in the price as the receptionist maintained that the booking was for just 1 person.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aircon or room fan/heater was broken , so I had to leave All doors open. There were a lot of flies in the room ... no fly spray at reception.... went and brought my own....and my daughter was bitten by something ( not necessarily here but coincidence of our visit or maybe from the room) and broke out in hives.....

    Location and the staff were very friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin walls. Noisey neighbors. Not really a buffet breakfast as stated on their site. Staff didn't smile or greet you only the arrival reception staff. The 2 male members on morning reception didn't even acknowledge us as we walked by. The breakfast staff firstly looked at their watch to see if we were too early for breakfast then came the forced smile by one and the other ignored us poor service.

    Clean room close to town

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunate View of the transformers from room. Had dinner and breakfast in restaurant and if I was staying any longer would not eat there again.

    Large comfortable bed, room size good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didnt like that there was no minibar as advertised could ring and ask for things to be delivered but when you dont want to be interrupted would have been a hassle i understand others have made it like this with not being honest with usage of things but i feel that if checked everyday then the people whom dont pay would be debited from their credit card room was not very clean 1st night but 2nd night a lovely lady serviced it was great

    lovely lady whom serviced our room 2nd day

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant food was terrible, our waitress even admitted to us the chef has ‘off’ days! I had to remind reception staff to service my room and our bath/shower didn’t drain away.

    Location was ideal

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed was dreadfully uncomfortable- old and saggy and too soft. No fresh towels and no heating rail so towels were damp for 3 days. Cleaning product used STUNK. Grimy shower curtain.

    Staff were accommodating. Very clean. GREAT Location and heaps of parking.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows were awful. Very flat and uncomfortable. Caused for a not too great sleep. Free Wifi was awful and cut out quickly before 500mb was up.

    Staff were friendly, sky channels were good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice location with in walking distance to town. We asked for a early check in, which we got into our room by 12 am. Thankyou. I would certainly remmend this hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't think of much they could have done better.

    All of the staff were very good and willing to help, but sometimes lacked a little coordination. There was excellent follow-up with regard to a piece of mail that we expected to receive while we were there, but didn't arrive until after we'd left - they sent it on to our next location by overnight mail.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy to find and in walking distance to city centre. Clean. Tidy and helpful reception staff. Reception open all hours which is good if you have family in hospital

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room smelt like stale cigarettes though it was nominally a 'non-smokers' room. Bed covers need replacing as they are very 'tired'. Overall room needs a makeover but it is broadly what you would expect for the modest price range.

    close to the centre.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a bit small for the price. Compared to my last visit.

    Comfortable bed. My go to Hotel when I am in Dunedin. I'd stay at any Hotel under that brand. Staff are friendly, and the front desk Lady is attractive. Samantha was her name. LOL.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room service meal was smothered in sauces, and felt microwaved as opposed to a toasted bun hot dog.

    I liked the speed in which I was swapped rooms, upon flooding the floor. I liked the central location. I liked the friendly staff. I liked the buffet breakfast. Room service was very quick.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor is tired. Outside table is WELL below expectations and should be replaced.

    Didn't have breakfast. Loved the upgrade and the view and sunny aspects. Rooms were clean and tidy and Barbara was great

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its perfect for our budget.

    So happy we could check in earlier as room was ready. Wonderful gentleman at reception. Lovely room clean n tidy nice comfy bed. It is on a hill so parking on slope was the way to go. Its just 3 mins walk from George St. Shopping area. Free Parking behind Farmers. Nice view of the city from our room. We had a nice stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: