Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

32 Mawhera Quay, 7805 Greymouth, New Zealand

#19 of 21 hotels in Greymouth

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1275 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Paid WiFi

    5.6

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    6.7
    Staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For the price room was very tired. Needs a refurbishment. Rain leaked in through the ceiling access panel in the bathroom. Heating was substandard and clunked a lot. TV reception wasn't flash.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Good shower. Restaurant was good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    7.1
    clean, but sorry staff need to let people know if they have got the breakfast with the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wasn t happy about staff not telling us, we were allowed the breakfast am, and in our room the heater was making a funny sound all night, had to turn off, then it got cold. also the staff in the bar, didn t seem that happy.

    room s were nice and clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    10
    Great place to stay!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is a little dated and a little tlc wouldnt go amiss

    The bed was very comfortable and the meals we had there were really nice and well presented. The staff were very friendly.it was very clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    7.1
    Convenient location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to change room, the first room I was put in was not cleaned at a level that I would expect. Second room better, but ceiling coating was not good.

    Location is great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2018

    7.1
    The location and staff are great, the room had everything we needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was hard and the mattress had roll together You can hear the people in the next room so easily, talking, shower running, toilet flushes

    The restaurant staff were really lovely

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    7.9
    Perfect night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No heating in the toilets.Be aware a lot of tourist buses come through .

    Nice and warm. Lovely helpful staff. Had dinner the meal was perfect and quite tasty. Asked for a quiet room and request met. Lovely buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    5.4
    Location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom was not clean at all. They took a bond and then overcharged my credit card (which I’m still trying to get back). We had a toddler with us which we stated when we booked and we were at the top of a unsafe whale back staircase.

    Location was good. The bar staff were lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 25, 2018

    7.9
    Good for a stopover stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decor in room very dated and needed refurnishment. Water stains on the ceiling looked awful. Very small and drafty bathroom and no toilet brush.

    Staff very friendly. Dinner and breakfast was excellent. Very comfy bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    9.2
    'Anonymous'
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bedding ..needs updating and bed perhaps replacement ..legs a bit wobbly

    We had a lovely in expensive meal Sat night and breakfast a bonus ..great staff in resturant..friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    6.7
    it was okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were not friendly. I felt that reception were bit paranoid and wanted additional bond, may be policy but have booked several times with Millineum group. One of the Restaurent staff was good and she was helpful. But another one was rigid.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    8.3
    We had one night in Greymouth enroute to Hanmer Springs , more than adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Poor internet connection had to go to lounge area to get good connection, TV Reception had lines across monitor

    We have stayed at this Hotel before so we knew what to expect. It is located by the river and close to the town and supermarkets . Staff were very pleasant and helpful carried my bags from car to the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2018

    8.8
    perfect stay. want to try Jimmy Cooks next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the lowish balcony railing on the 6th floor. eek! not good if you have vertigo let alone had a couple of drinkees.

    the bed and view was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    6.7
    Great Central location, comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service was a bit lacking at dinner service - ended up going elsewhere after not seeing any one for 5 minutes.

    Nice view from the top floor. Comfortable room, good size, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    6.7
    good for what we required.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    when we went to checkout I asked for one part of the bill to be split in half for myself and father to pay separately. I asked 3 times and the guy still charged all onto dads card. the lamp in room 1202 won't go just flickers

    the barman at night was the best I have encountered ever in any place I have ever stayed. very efficient and friendly. a credit to the knigsgate. look after him he is great for this establishment.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    6.3
    Very disappointed & over priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old timber work, old framing Door jams & sills very old & looked it too.. The old timber does not match the new decor & therefore bought the whole look down. Dont even get me started on the mustard doors. Sorry , very disappointed

    New tiles in the bathroom & new carpet through out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2018

    4.6
    I would not stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very tired looking and didn't feel very clean, there was only little cups to make coffee in (mugs would be great) and bed was quite small.

    The Reception was lovely

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    4.6
    Very dated and old.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very dated and old. Room had an updated bathroom but the rest was dark, musty and old. The restaurant was hard to get a table at due to large groups from tour buses being their top priority. When we did get food it was below average

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    5.8
    Mediocre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This place is jaded and faded. Looks like nothing has been done in the rooms since 1950, walls so thin you can hear people in other bathrooms. Mouldy bathroom ceiling and windowsill.

    The staff were most helpful and they deserve something better to work with.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    7.9
    The staff were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was not comfortable and was to small for 2 people. The room was very poky. I booked the room on booking.com and didn't get what I requested and had to pay another $20 plus a booking fee of $50.

    The staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    7.5
    It was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast is very processed. It would be nice to have whole grain toast ( wheat meal was the only option), and a natural muesli and fresh fruit. Also one of the guests children were putting their fingers in the breakfast cereals and nothing was said to them or the parents even though a number if staff saw it/were in the area - that put me off

    Our room was very noisy, but we got upgraded to the top floor which was nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2018

    8.8
    Good place for overnight on Alpine train.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Below par breakfast for hotel of this rating. (Not as bad as we had been told by others, so it must have a reputation).

    Friendly staff and roomy Lounge areas. Spacious room. Quite good evening meal.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    5.0
    It is definitely set up for tourists only not New Zealanders.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lighting was poor. No ventilation or heating in the bathroom. Ceiling looked like it had asbestos spray on it with bits missing not a good look. Heater angled on the wall. Painting and general maintenance looked poor.

    Bed was alright

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    5.8
    The location is great, near the train station, cafes and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room is pretty old, bed not comfortable to sleep in. The hotel restaurant did not offer ala carte meals for breakfast. They only offered buffet breakfast which has limited options and is a bit pricey.

    The location is great, near the train station, cafes and pretty much the town center.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2018

    6.7
    Pleasent but wouldn’t stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Being told by staff at breakfast as we came in that they were going to be busy and indictcating that we could come back two hours later despite us being the only people in the room at the time.

    Value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    4.6
    Great staff but poorly managed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No communication on special requests. We required a shower not a shower over bath but no one contacted us to advise this option was not available. Only one disability unit in the whole complex. What happened to international standards that a property should have 25% wheelchair accessible. Manager parked his trailer in the only disability parking bay. The bus tour parked his bus in the main set down area so we could not pull in to get our disabled traveller out of the car. No enough staff to get bus tour guests checked in so I had to hunt down the bus driver. Room was very old and shabby. TV channels were very limited. Very expensive for the experience and quality. I try not to give a bad review but this place was very poor. It is very stressful travelling with a disabled person but this hotel didn't seem to comprehend this.

    I have to say though the staff were great and really tried to help us as best they could. They should get a bonus for working at this property. The reception staff (1lovely lady) was the best staff member a business could have. Very poorly managed. The resturant was a pleasant relief, great food, very well priced and the staff were fantastic

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    6.7
    ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No assistance with luggage to room. Closer or valet carparking as pouring with rain and had to struggle with bags and workshop materials in the rain and had to park a block away from hotel.

    Good location. Comfortable but tired

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    7.1
    Good location, OK room - perfect for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of parking and was quite noisy at night - the sea, and a strange machinery type noise - couldn't figure out if it was within the motel or outside?? Room could do with some TLC.

    Good location, OK room - perfect for one night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    6.7
    Great location needs some work
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The property needs some love the first impressions aren't great and there are holes and patches in the car park,paint peeling in Windows,rust and generally tired looking building,Our room had thick dust on the TV screen and base,a 10cent piece under the remote broken pen pieces on the luggage rack,toilet paper on the floor and goopy soapscum in the soap wrack in the shower stall Front desk staff were not at the desk each time we went to it but were sitting out the back It was clean bit it needs alot of investment if they want to keep people coming back

    The staff in restaurant and bar were attentive and gave excellent service the food was nice and well prepared and good value for money

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    5.8
    Good for a last minute stay, but definitely not my first choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    quite outdated,rooms are starting to show their age. Beds were hard wouldn’t last 2 nights 1 was enough. Limited dinner menu, limited parking.

    I liked the view from the balcony facing north of the township toward the bridge leaving Greymouth, very beautiful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    5.8
    The town was a bit dead but our trip to Hokotika was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There were two queen sized beds in the room which made it difficult to get around the one nearest the door. That one was chosen by us because it had two reading lights which the other one didn't. Also the tv was positioned for watching in bed but the head board was uncomfortable to lean against as it had hidden lighting which left a gap between the bed and headboard. One other thing, I asked a question regarding rental cars but didn't get an answer until we were staying there!!

    It's close proximity to the town and railway station. The croissants were very good. It did have tea and coffe making facilities.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    4.6
    Central location and 24hr check in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not enough parking, had to park on Main Street down the road. Dated facilities, in particular the bathroom.

    Central location and 24hr check in. Undercover reception area to protect from rain upon arrival.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    9.2
    A convenient hotel in a good location if one is visiting that area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The weather.

    Hotel was an older style establishment, but was quite comfortable. The bar was adequate until the restaurant commenced operation, then became noisy and crowded. The restaurant was busy, meaning that it was popular, and that is always a good sign. (It means it's good.) We did have a minor problem with the wine as it varied between bottles. The location was near the river and near the town centre. Parking can be limited, but the alternative car park is only about 50 metres..

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2018

    5.8
    Adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff told me that they woul put a bond on my credit card and I would get it back the next day. Then they said I couldn't pay by American Express. So I used EFTPOS. I know see that my American Express hcard has been charged as well as my EFTPOS and I have been overcharged on both cards. Rooms cramped and noisy. no lift and I had to park a block away from the hotel.

    Restaurant was on the property and food was good - as there wasn't much elses available..

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2018

    6.3
    Handy stop off en route from Christchurch to Franz Josef.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Ground floor room was noisy from early (once kitchen /dining room opened). Bathroom badly ventilated and shower in / over bath with old bath math !

    Handy stop off en route from Christchurch to Franz Josef. Good in-town location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2018

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed was a double rather than queen . The bathroom facilities are looking a little tired but very clean & shower worked well . We enjoyed the food in the restaurant.

    Handy to train station and town . Friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2018

    8.3
    Loved Greymouth if you go take your time to look around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    That is seemed to be a big inconvenience I did not have a credit card. Also I wasn't impressed you could smoke on the balcony but I understand why they allow this as most of the guest we saw was smokers

    Cleaning staff was wonderful and helpful, the front end staff in the evening was brilliant, and then there were the staff member when we checked in........she seemed a bit put off that I was paying cash, but she did kind of redeem herself when she gave us the facility to store our bike in a lockable room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2018

    9.6
    Good hotel in grey Greymouth
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The coffee maker had multiple instructions in red pasted in an Asian language. I had to ask staff how to use the coffee maker so bilingual instructions would be appreciated for English speakers.

    807 superior room was comfortable but my terrace view was mainly a building opposite and yard. Breakfast was good. Reception efficient. Greymouth is a largely uninspiring town but is probably the commercial hub of the Coast. Having left the car at the hotel it was a short walk to Monteiths microbrewery for a 6pm brewery tour and complimentary beer tasting all of which was great. The price I paid was very similar to the monotonous 'same as' motels found elsewhere in town. The hotel is well worth considering if the price is right but make sure that the room is of good quality as there are some less appealing units adjacent to the car park.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2018

    8.3
    Facilities were as expected from a value for money point of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited WiFi Access. Concierge could not finalise the bill due to not being able to operate the credit card authorisation process. Payment was processed later in the day - but is was correct

    Facilities were as expected from a value for money point of view

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2018

    5.8
    Good location & view from balcony. Room was boring & question mark over cleanliness of the bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not sure about the cleanliness of the pillow covers. Felt I was bitten on the feet during the night.

    Evening meal was good,attentive waiter in the bar area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2018

    6.7
    I would not stay there again, tour bus motel, lots of people very noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were VERY noisy, the noise from the hallway carried clarly into our room and the Motel was full so we had to park in the street which really wasnt acceptable, there were a lot of tour bus people that would not have use cars so the car park amount is very inadequate.

    General room was fine but it certainly was not up to the standard of other motels we stayed at in New Zealand for the same price

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2018

    6.7
    A slightly faded hotel in need of an upgrade but lovely food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was uncomfortable and there was quite a lot of street noise outside On our second night there was a large coach party enjoying a buffet in the dining room which was chaotic and noisy .. if we had know we would have eaten later

    The restaurant food was excellent .. good choices and delicious .. our waitress could not have been kinder or more helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable with great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom was quite dated, but was adequate.

    I have coeliac disease. The restaurant staff members were excellent in providing information about the food available and delivered an amazing meal for me.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2018

    4.6
    Vary dissatisfied.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No Wifi in the room, the bath took 20 min to drain after a shower as the drain was blocked.There was Black Mould on the bathroom window. The Sky chanels were minimal. The stairs by room 609 were a safety risk with the platform was flexing and felt like it would break. The drinking glass was tiny and a joke compared to most motels. It was like going back 20years.

    The staff were very polite.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2018

    7.1
    Good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very old fashion hotel, rooms very old. I would not choose it to stay long, for one night or two, it is perfect.

    Acceptable price/quality. Clean and good location in Greymouth. Free parking place available. It was what we were looking for, for one night.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    5.0
    adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    rgw beds were very uncomfotable, mattress obviously old - the roll saggy and not a soft nice. one of the coffee cups were obviously chipped so did not want to drink from it, the noise from the asian visitors were extreme in the morning

    the seats in the room were comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2018

    8.3
    Convenient and comfortable lodging in downtown Greymouth and close to the train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property is a little "tired" looking but everything works. We could hear our neighbor through the wall.

    Convenient to train station for those taking the Trans Alpine to Christchurch.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 9, 2018

    7.1
    If there are tours staying don't plan on have a quiet night.
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hardly any secured car parking. The other lock up facility down the road looked A it dodgey. The tour bus of people staying were yelling and the children we're running up and down the stairs between 11pm and 4am. One of the other guest told them to be quiet.

    Location was perfect for our needs.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 9, 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable and friendly but rooms in need of a makeover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is a bit tired. The rooms need an upgrade but we're clean and comfortable. The hotel took a deposit informing us on checkout it would be returned to my account in 5-10 days. I know others do similar but I think this is shady practice. If they take 100 dollars from every guest and keep it for 10days what are they doing with the interest?

    The staff were friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 9, 2018

    5.0
    Would not recommend to anyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Greymouth as a location has nothing going for it. There are almost no restaurants or bars to eat out at. Montieths Brewery Restuarant saves the day otherwise dull as dishwater and very run down town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2018

    3.8
    Stuck in the last century!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had a 1 bedroom apartment which was old , smelly and the bed was ancient and uncomfortable. How they can charge over $200 to stay there is beyond me ! Furnishings, bed and kitchen were from the 1980’s . Why do you think overseas visitors want to stay in such awful rooms !!!

    Great location near cafes etc Food and service in restaurant fairly good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2018

    4.2
    I ll never stay in the same place again even if ith would be 60$ per night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room comfort, sound issolation is terrible. Bathroom is old and outdated.( toilet flush did not work properly. While you are sleeping you can hear other people doin their business in the bathroom. Not good at all.

    Location is right in town center. It us great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2018

    4.6
    Cheap price should state that the rooms require refurbishment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very disappointed for this franchise. Furnishings were normal Kingsgate standard but this unit's bathroom was in desperate need of refurbishment. The shower-over-bath had to be climbed into, not idea for elderly travellers, there was mold in the textured ceiling, and the shower was chest height for taller people. All night we could hear water running, which must have been the main feed to upstairs? Further to that they charged a $50 bond to our credit card, refundable on returning the key. Never had that happen anywhere else. Spend a further $30 and stay somewhere more modern.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2018

    7.9
    Great location in the centre of town, very obliging and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are dated and bed was uncomfortable.

    Great location in the centre of town, very obliging and friendly staff. Our room was classified deluxe...it was in the conference section but hardly 'deluxe'! Bed and bedding seemed to be dated and our view was a carpark. I did not find the bed comfortable, sagging into the middle of the bed. With some hesitancy, we chose to dine in the hotel restaurant and had a wonderful meal...I do recommend the Beef Rendang, it was delicious. I also ordered a side of roasted vegetables which were beautifully cooked and tasty. We chatted with Trever, our drink waiter who gave impeccable, professionally trained wine service. At first he seemed shy, but when we showed an interest in him and began a conversation, he was delightful and the interaction made for a very memorable dining experience. Thank you Trever!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2018

    6.7
    Rooms were clean and staff friendly, but decor of rooms needs freshening up
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was called a superior room, it was in need of refurbishing and updating of decor. Didn't look like online photos.

    I liked that you could purchase a small breakfast of tea and toast, and didn't have to pay for a full continental

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2018

    9.2
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Probably time for a little smarten up of decor. While clean and tidy, it is getting a bit dated.

    We were very impressed with the food at Kingsgate, especially the presentation.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2018

    5.8
    Needs a makeover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It took us 20 minutes to find our room since the receptionist was unprepared to help with any answer other than 'follow the signs'. As she had given us the wrong floor details we struggled until the Duty Manager helped us out.

    Not a lot.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2018

    6.3
    The room is more of a Motel than a hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room is more of a Motel than a hotel. Personal in breakfast room chaotic. They don't pay any attention to the guest. We had the table Full of dishes and nobody removed any although we were just two Tables with guest...

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2018

    7.9
    Food was most memorable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking was a bit tight. Bed was only a double not a queen size, a bit small.

    We had dinner in the restaraunt. One of the best meals we had in NZ. Creme brulee and ice creme trio were delicious.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2018

    8.8
    Spacious motel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lobby wifi shouldn't have a 30 minute restriction. The morning/early afternoon I waited for my train it was raining quite heavily and all the cafes in Greymouth were packed full so I returned to the Kingsgate lobby to work until early afternoon but the wifi was too limited.

    Kingsgate was lovely. It doesn't really look like much from the street outside, but the rooms were clean, bright, and large. I had a small shared balcony facing towards the mouth of the river. The room was well appointed, with coffee, tea, milks, hairdryer, etc., and the wifi worked well. The location is excellent, as it's just a short walk from the rail station and the main street.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2018

    7.5
    Westcoast stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No fault of the property but was probably too large for our general liking. Our bad for not researching enough. Catered for tour groups and accordingly quite busy. Staff were helpful.

    Location was good, opposite the river. Quiet, given its proximity to major roads. Adequate internal facilities. Close to all town amenities and train station. Would suit travellers who journeyed up from Christchurch. Close distance to nearby Hokitika.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2018

    7.9
    Bar and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bar was closed when I came back from the cinema at 10.30pm. Also breakfast was mediocre especially the eggs and sausages.

    Comfortable, quiet and good location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 7, 2018

    8.3
    View was good, beds comfy, very clean and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Didn’t feel like value for money, not much parking - we had to park on the road overnight. Also, something that didn’t bother me but you may want to look at, I think the top rail on the balcony was loose.

    View was good, beds comfy, very clean and good location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2018

    6.3
    Good size room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi didnt reach my room even though i was just across from the main building. Only 1 tv channel that worked properly and that was sport. The fridge stank!

    Good size room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2018

    7.5
    MAY visit again on Tranzalpine in Winter time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Charged $50 bond per night, nowhere was this mentioned when I read and re read the info. Told it could be up to a month to get it back. We are in our 60's hardly likely to smash the place up. No Air Conditioning, Very hot first night. Had to go and purchase a fan.

    Comfortable and Clean. SOME staff helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2018

    6.3
    Alright
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Horrible parking situation. Had to park off site and walk. Fridge was super hot on outside and struggled to cool our stuff inside. Average cleanliness

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2018

    8.3
    It was comfortable enough but very old facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant service was a little slow but they were contending with a Chinese tour party at the time. I thought the food was only average. It was extraordinarily hot in Greymouth and it would have been great if there was air-conditioning in the room. The displays never said breakfast times and I missed out.

    The bed was comfortable, the shower good with plenty of towels and toiletries provided. The two reception staff I met were pleasant and obliging. The reservation was correct and I was checked in on arrival which was a little earlier than the check-in time of 2pm.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2018

    6.5
    Did not meet expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Asked to be met didn't happen had the man we saw next day in hotel had a board with our name on we would have grabbed him we said we would have red bag with tartan stripe only one on station but he didn't even look in our direction so couldn't ask who he was looking for, I asked if a reclining chair could be put in room as unable to lie flat checked before we went and was told that would be done after we arrived rang reception was told it was on booking form but they didn't have any was put forward to manager had to leave message didn't get a call back very poor service I used to teach hospitality he would not have got a pass. Sorry but will not be giving any recommendations to anyone but won't bad mouth either but they need to up their game and follow though on complaints should never take more than 30 minutes to acknowledge either way

    The bed was fine didn't eat in the hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2018

    3.3
    Only the location and the food served in the resteraunt
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pretty much everything. The room was horrible and the hotel seems in a bad need for renovation. They also need to be cleaner

    Only the location and the food served in the resteraunt

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very small shelf in shower. Difficult to place soap into. Ceiling plaster finish falling down in one corner. Curtain wouldn't completely pull over window.

    Very good shower and basin layout. Excellent breakfast set up and especially enjoyed the cooked selection. Guests laundry facility very good and greatly appreciated. Hokitika "Gold Room" bracelet display liked by my wife!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2018

    8.3
    Brian bar manager said that they served the best food we would eat in NZ , his words were true
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Brian said it was the best food we woul

    We like the food it was as good as we ever had , Brian the bar manager was more than helpful and perfectly suited to his job , his pretty little assistant trainee K mixed great spirits .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2018

    5.0
    An average hotel that was a good base for visiting the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Standard room we originally booked that was on the ground floor on the noisy road side of the hotel with a large tree blocking the light and the French doors opening onto a courtyard where people from the restaurant sat and ate.

    We upgraded to a Superior room which was much better than the Standard room we booked originally.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2018

    8.3
    The hotel is in a really good location and the staff are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in a really good location and the staff are friendly. The rooms are a little dated, but they are good value for money and nice and clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2018

    4.2
    crap
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    View of carpark, bed we slept on floor more comfortable, light out in bathroom, no air conditioning, rubbish left in room,room service 1hr 40min to make a toasted sandwich. Never stay again or recommend to others.

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2018

    7.1
    Over all value for money. The suite was a little tired and neglected, but the bed was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom needed attention - tired and needed a lift. The parking was in another block from the Hotel - inconvenient.

    The room was adequate for the money paid, comfortable and quiet.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2018

    7.9
    WE were leaving on the train to Christchurch and we could...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    WE were leaving on the train to Christchurch and we could leave our bags at the hotel and they even arranged to drop us at the station. A great service.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: