Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Copthorne Hotel Rotorua 4 stars

328-348 Fenton Street, 3010 Rotorua, New Zealand

#76 of 88 hotels in Rotorua

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 728 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7

  • Paid WiFi

    3.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only small down side was the bathroom in our room did need a new shower head and towel rails etc, they had gone all corroded and rusty but apart from that it was great!

    Lovely and clean and tidy, staff were very helpful. No road noise and couldn’t hear anyone else in their rooms on our floor. Bed was super comfortable and soft

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The booking says check inn time 2 clock.Arrived at 2-30 the room was still not ready .tye receptionists the male said the room is not ready .didnt even apologise are offer complimentary drinks even though I was with kids ! While handing the keys toked me don’t forget check out time is 11 and I tiled him what about an hour which you just stole from me???? Reluctantly he agreed to our check out time 12 but even though we left the hotel by 10

    I liked the front stuff they were polite tried to help us Ewen with our lagguage

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was bad. We booked a premium double room. All their rooms had 2 beds, which made our room looked so cramped. There was no free space. They didn’t have any good option for a couple. Rooms ac was not working, it was working but not cooling at all.

    Facilities and the location was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately there was an argument on our floor involving a couple and a baby not the properties fault but it had an overall effect on our stay.

    I liked that the rooms on the first floor were spacious and the beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was average but the shower badly needs cleaning so it works and the balcony was terrible as was flooded the whole time we were there The restaurant was not great at all, the service was below average and the meals were well below average for the price. Would not eat there again

    The beds were extremely comfy, front of house were helpful and friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fire alarm at 6am due to a faulty vent. Room service food was of a poor quality. Some of it was inedible. Hotel was generally tired and in need of being brought into 21st century.

    The Hotel was authentic retro from the early 80s from the sculpture in the entrance to its interior design. A gem of nostalgia of how tourism was in the early 80s era before the boutique hotel took over. The hotel could play to this nostalgia more by serving prawn cocktails (the height of sophistication) in cute glass bowls and cocktails with little bright sun umbrellas.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strange that carpets were threadbare in places. Chair in our room was grubby looking. Would go back tho because your staff were so nice and polite and breakfast value for money.

    Bed great. Breakfast good value. Helpful cherry staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet in my room was completely stained, the net curtains were ripped and 4 light bulbs had blown. The room and hotel was very tired and old. The carpet throughout the hotel was thread bare.

    Only saving grace was a very comfortable bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Firstly we ordered as room with 2 doubles which we only got a double and a single. The room was dirty, there was quite a bit of hair on the bathroom floor from the previous guests, so the room had definitely not been vacuumed before we arrived also the windows were disgusting. The meal we had in the bar at 5.30 that night had naan bread which had been microwaved and was tough and not nice, then we ordered room service later that night and obviously was forgotten and once we rang back over half an hour later they then remembered to do it and it still took some time. On checking out we were not told there was a charge if you used credit and then as I chose credit the lady mucked around for ages trying to figure out how to charge the extra and was quite frustrated and in the end as it was only like 40 cents she just said never mind they would cover it but remember for next time........Just saying there won't be a next time. I could have got something much nicer, cleaner and more organised for the price paid!! Also the shower was a pathetic dribble!! I do not think there is any excuses for a shower not to run properly in a hotel room!! I mean change or clean the heads already. Also the room service attendant knocked on the door first thing in the morning while I was trying to get ready.....do they not have an up to date list on who has or has not checked out??

    We liked the extra big pillows in the rooms, also the location for where we needed to be was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We are a family of 5 my husband didn't come this time It always gets much dearer for a 5th person mostly because of room size i guess..

    Pastry were lovely and bed was so comfortable. Linen lovely

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms needed a makeover grouting around bath mouldy felt generally dirty Carpets in holiday were old and needed replacing Front desk person could not answer our query on biking tracks and didn't offer to find out from other person on the desk

    Beds were comfortable I

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room didn’t get serviced till after 3pm, and also ran out of toilet paper. Stayed here before so thought I’d bring the kids for a treat and a hotel experience, but after this stay won’t be back

    Having a pool

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Made an error as there are two Copthorne hotels in Rotorua I thought I had booked the one closer to the lake and city centre.

    Good friendly staff close to Rotorua

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Complicated wi-fi system you end up paying for and no furniture on the balcony.

    Easy to find if you're driving. Clean, comfortable room with good bed and shower. However, not very well soundproofed, either from next door or the road. Good housekeeping.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not 4 star, may have been once but nowhere near a 4 star now. Room was not set up for a family. No free WiFi. Safe didn’t work. Window leaked. Rusty towel rail. Rusty shower head.

    Bed was comfy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked in house movies.

    The bed was super comfortable and The staff were lovely. The location was good and it was nice and quiet. We arrived early and the staff prepared our room quickly and phoned us when it became available. Great service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kitchen facilities for children under 5 might have suggested a different room, more kid friendly?

    Comfy beds . Staff were lovely and breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Grubby carpet.. terrible shower with no pressure.. the ranch slider lock was broken.. it was very very basic so overly priced

    The spa was lovely and clean the staff we're nice and the bed was comfy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Has a "run down" appearance apart from foyer, bar and restaurant areas.

    The bed was comfortable but jambed against the wall made exiting rather diffcult for the inside person, especially when going to the toilet. Bathroom door hinges squeeked loudly waking up my wife.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The milk in the room not enough for a coffee. Not enough towels in the room for a swim and a shower.

    The meal was fabulous and the restaurant and bar staff were great .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Access to end of building away from reception area, quite a long way to walk if your room is at the end of the passage

    Staff were excellent, liked the evening bar

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom fixtures, rubbish bin were corroded, could hear noise from people talking in the corridor, no free WiFi in the room

    Location was quite central, room looks relatively new, room size was big enough for 2 adults and a child plus 4 pieces of luggage

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being told that because they had a large booking for a buffet i couldnt have a la carte menu until quite late (fair enough) but then to be told to hurry up and eat because they had another seating coming in (not my problem) and then i was not allowed to take my drink to my room to finish it (pretty standard in other hotels)

    The front desk assistant was super helpful!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Jug smells like rotten fish, room has the double bed push against a wall so the single can fit, very damp and strong musty smells shower has almost no water pressure

    The hotel is easy to find

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole place was shabby and really dated, old baggy carpets, no wifi in the rooms, and only half hour free wifi in the lobby. Run out of water, hot and cold on the top floor (engineering problem) so no showers available, and no one to repair the situation. Not good value for money, definitely not 4 star accommodation as stated on booking.com

    The bed was comfortable, staff really nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place was a bit dated. The client before us must have tried to take the shower head off probably because the shower pressure was so weak. The fan was very noisy.

    The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only got pools no cold pool considering the temp was high during the summer

    Location Pools were always hot and through summer we wanted something that could cool us down not keep us hot

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel seems very old, the towel rails look rusty, and the bath look really old

    The beds were comfortable. There are 2 double beds and it can accomodate 2 adults and 2 children, good value for a family stay

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor internet.. have to sit in the lobby and only get 6 mins.. Cleaning staff kept leaving the balcony door unlocked and didn't top up coffee sugar etc

    Room was comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a constant loud humming noise in the corridor outside our room that disturbed us. Breakfast was not included and was very expensive. The restaurant was empty at breakfast and the staff were clearing things away whilst we were eating. Disappointing for a Copthorne.

    Location was good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed for 3 nights at Copthorne Rotorua. It was hot and there was no air-con but a ceiling fan in the hotel room. My 8-Year old son was struggling to fall to sleep at night as it was hot. The bathroom was clean but was tired and dated. I asked for an upgrade at reception but it was full. The hotel only offers limited free wifi at lobby area, should offer free wifi to guests in hotel rooms. I joined the hotel membership, so the wifi charges were waived.

    Outdoor swimming pool was nice and warm.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not made clear that there was no airconditioning in the rooms that are booked thought booking.com.

    The staff Walnut was very kind and friendly and even offered to replace us to an airconditioning room as booking.com were not very clear about it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One bed had hair in it and the sheet was stained. Left a note for housekeeping and slept in the other bed. Hair in the bathroom.room is a little tired needs renovating

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I went to pay for another night the price was neally twice the price I paid for the first night

    The beds were comfortable and the room cleaning staff were very friendly as well as helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 14 nights

    the restaurant is disappointing. my omelet order didn't come with potatoes or toast. the breakfast buffet is pretty good, but the dinner is disappointing. they charge for wifi and it's expensive unless you join their point system, then it's free. and the bed was like a marshmellow, i sank into it and had to struggle to get out.

    housekeeping staff excellent, always fulfilled our needs promptly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gym equipment was a little old and some not working properly

    Got a room upgrade, not sure if hat was fornthe genuis perk or not. Assumed it was so that’s why gave a Front desk service was exceptional when we decided to stay an extra night at very short notice. Mans name was Irwey I think .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cosy and loved the bed! Staff were very helpful on day we were checking offering to keep breakfast up and a slightly later checkout .. very much appreciated with a 6month old baby!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When it rained the whole time we were there all you could hear all night was the thudding of rain on what sounded like a roof made solely out of tin. It was very hard to sleep.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning, only 4 random TV channels avail, dirty carpet, on website said breakfast included but was not for that particular room upon check in. Website said free wifi, not the case, had to pay if wanted it.

    Good location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn’t ready when we arrived. Was still needing to be cleaned. We were woken by room service at 8.30 ish am after our first night, we were there for a relaxing break so the lie in was something we planned.. There were children running up and down the corridor at 8.00am screaming and yelling, the following morning realise not motels fault but something to be aware of. Had a good stay otherwise.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two outdoor spa pools, one was not working and completely cold. On a windy rainy day, too exposed. Need a canopy or screen for shelter. Rooms were good, but internal passage carpet, exterior and grounds were in dire need of maintenance. No free wifi in rooms

    Beds were big and comfy. Enjoyed the Buffet dinner, good selection and variety. staff were attentive.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The windows would not shut properly. Limited storage for clothing. Charge for wifi and extra towels. Checkout at 10 and cleaner knocked on our door to come in at 9. No information in hotel booklet to surrounding activities or restaurants. Only multi duplicated pages of the hotels restaurant menu. No welcome to the hotel advising us of facilities , just paid to check in and that was only conversation.

    The beds were very comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was so much more dated and older than it appeared in the photos, we stayed at the New Plymouth one which was much cheaper and a much nicer room! It was super hot and there was only a ceiling fan so the room was like a sauna all night. In the morning check out was for 10am but we had cleaners knocking on the door just after 9- communication between cleaning and front desk would have been appreciated so that we weren’t interrupted while showering and dressing. The hotel says they have Sky Movies and Sport, but most of the TV channels had such terrible reception we couldn’t watch them.

    Hotel had room service, restaurant, pool and spa. Free parking outside was great. Desk staff were polite.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dated, stains on floor, dated decor, etc. There was a storm while we were staying so our sleep was very broken as you could hear EVERYTHING! At one point the rain stopped but it was still windy and the old sliding door kept rattling which was very disruptive to our sleep. I used the chair to jam it to try stop it from moving, but I could still hear the neighbours doors. I would recommend fixing this. The pool/spa was good but the temperature for the spa was never right (too hot or too cold) and the pool was not heated as stated. It's a good place for budget accomodation and location very handy! Thanks Copthorne!

    The bed made up for the stay as it was so comfortable! Bed was 10/10!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was hot even with all the windows open and the air conditioning set on coolest setting. Wifi was not included in the room and way over priced when all the motels and hotels in the area give free Wifi. They called in the morning at 10:30 AM saying that check out was at 10:00 AM and that anything later then that would be 30$ NZD.. Reception not useful or polite. Will never return or recommend anyone else to return. On the first day at 14:00 to check in according to the time given on the booking.com website but was not given a room until 15:00 as they were having "issues." They also ran out of car parks so I had no park on the road and walk a kilometer to the entrance.

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1.no water had to shower in the gym which was not satisfactory. 2.some of the gym equipment not operating properly 3.shower head not working satisfactory in room 413 4.nothing to wipe dishes with in room; only 1 teaspoon 5.whole place needs upgrading it gives the impression of being unclean

    Soft comfortable bed great breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Property is located away from city centre. Tour Buses parked across allocated car parking areas. Property and facility very dated looking with damaged carpets evident throughout property. Facility needs total updating - carpets replaced, shower heads updated, towel rail that fell off the wall replaced, damaged concrete patio areas outside room need reskimming, car parking designated for cars only NOT buses...

    Food lovely and local staff friendly. Bed comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although an expensive upgrade,the carpets especially in the hall ways need replacing plus cleaners are still cleaning our room both upon both check in and checkout times.I personally did not enjoy the internet setup and found it very frustrating.

    The bed was extra comfortable, the air conditioning was great and enjoyed the designated smoking area

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds and pillows were amazing, the staff were wonderful, the restaurant offed a fantastic buffet dinner and breakfast, and the pool and spas were lovely!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our shower had no pressure and was not cleaned properly, also our toilet was broken. Pool was also dirty could do with some new paint and the buffet food was over priced for what they were serving? Also our car was damaged in the car park and Copthorne had no cameras at that end of car park?

    The bed was comfy and really nice sleep. Room service was also nice they were always available.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet access was free once they told me to sign up as member but had to resign constantly to stay online Made a point of telling me I wasn’t entitled to anything as I had booked through booking.com felt unappreciated Gym was terrible nothing worked no power on any machines and weight machines had seized up Although room had two beds space was little cramped bathroom had shower over bath and quite cramped no bathrobes had to ask for extra towels for pool Pool area could use decorating and some loungers etc

    Beautifully comfortable soft beds were divine My daughter loved the pool and spas were nice and clean Room nice enough decor Air con was appreciated

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty carpet No maintenance of property Gym no machines working W8s in the gym rusty No mat no Swiss ball dirty carpet AC not working one night

    Staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old furnitures Old style tiolet and bathrooms. Room carpet looks old dirty and stained Second floor room lights are too light need bright lights and like a combination of lightings Housekeeping girls waking us before our checkout time very unprofessional

    Swimming pools Great front stuffs

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    our room was very difficult to find. you will understand when you go to the hotel, you'll realise its a maze. with huge luggage, we found it very hard walking around looking for our room for ages. It wasn't a very good experience. Our room was also very dark and facing a small indoor garden which didn't have much light at all.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning units in both rooms didn't work at all. It was hot and stuffy and the units made a lot of noise but didn't cool the rooms down

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the price that we paid, there was no wi-fi included (we were aware of this though in advance) which I felt was bit overpriced for the room. The A/C was not working properly - we did complain the same to the staff, however this did not work at all for our one night stay.

    The bed was comfy and room was spacious. The duvets and mattress were clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower system way too old . No aircon in room. TV channel didn't work at all , when asked to fix staff said can't be done tonight have to wait next day .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds have bugs. My daughter had several bites in the morning all over her body. Doors are old and do not seem to match the interior but that’s no biggie.

    Rooms are well kept. Enough gym facility. Efficient staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym facilities are very dated and electric equipment not plugged in. Paying for Wifi is so dated. Many supply for free these days!

    The bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you want a good night's rest I suggest you look elsewhere. Place is pretty run down and they even left me a note to say "your walls has been sprayed with bleach, please scrub off" didn't expect to be scrubbing walls when I paid for accommodation. Very noisy and house cleaning is very bad. Only 2 sky channels and no free wifi. Should of stayed in the motel across the road.

    Not much

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Long walk from parking to reception to the room. Pork belly crackling wasn't good, had to be replaced but got 15% discount. Only 1 wine glass in room for 2. Hotel looks pretty grotty from street behind

    Beds were comfortable. Restaurant staff were very nice to deal with.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WIFI was a joke ! We're in the world in this day and age do you have to sit in the reception trying to log on with the rest of the hotel.

    Staff friendly and helpful. Pool area clean and maintained. Beds comfortable, housekeeping on the ball.liked the idea of being able to wash and try cloths.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given a connecting room,when asked to change we were told the hotel was fully booked and no other room available,

    Bed very comfortable,room functional,when it rain which it did a lot,I thought I was in a caravan as you could here the rain hammering down on the roof,which kept me awake most of the night

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room seemed a little cramped as it was meant for 1 Queen / double bed, but 2 was put in, this meant the light switch on the bedsides did not line-up to then ends or sides of the beds. First world problem :)

    Facilities are good overall enjoyed the heated pool, on site restaurant food is really good, dinner buffet offered a choice variety that catered for the whole family, same goes for breakfast that was included in our stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heated pool and spa bath was awesome. Not too deep at one end for primary age kids. Buffet break fast was adequate, included in room rate so good value overall.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wet weather.

    Comfortable bed. Great breakfast, which was included in the price. Excellent Dinner. Value for money. Very happy. A bit of confusion about the children's age classification. 14 years and under on booking .com/ the hotel said 12 years and under, but the hotel honored the booking, which was great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A couple of electrical outlets showed signs of burning(not electrically compliant). Water pressure in the shower was low.

    The heated pool was great. Having the restaurant on sites was nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The girl at reception wasn't helpful. And the hotel needs a big facelift. It's old and tired looking

    The manager was super helpful and great location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds and the gym has been the only things in good shape. Exept this the so called hotel is a nightmare. Old, dirty, noisy. It is a shame, when you see the sign in the lobby, that this hotel is a member of the NZ Tourism Board!

    The beds are wide sized and very comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel felt like it set set up for tour groups. It was "fine" but no personality or charm. Mind you, the rooms are very cheap, so it is not surprising. Cleanliness was good and staff were friendly but the pool area was not as appealing as it looked in the photos.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guy who went to seat us at our a table for breakfast was very welcoming or forthcoming we had 7 in our group and it seemed to be an issue to cater for us! Also the breakfast was very average we went somewhere else the next day for breakie

    Clean, comfortable rooms, put us all close together

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I went for a spa and a large group of people were smoking cigarettes right near the facilities. It really spoiled the experience for me as I am allergic to the smoke and ended up having To leave the spa. To make the experience perfect I would be grateful if that area was smoke free.

    I really liked the room and the bed was so comfortable. We ordered in food and it was cooked to perfection. The chief asked me and my husband lots of questions about the way I wanted my steak cooked. It was the best steak I have ever eaten.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in receptionist could have let us know how to get to our room. 2pm it says book in so we did, maybe staff could have informed us when room was ready instead we had to keep checking room ourselves. Restaurant we let our waitress know I had very bad food allergies upon receiving food it wasn't what I could eat and I was made to feel an annoyance.we ordered coke we weren't told they don't sell coke brought Pepsi to us we then politely declined what we didn't ask for then staff stood their until my friend took it. So paid for drink that wasn't ordered just too keep the peace. That's all on the first night. Instead of spending any more money we decided to eat out the rest of our stay. Shame because we do like to support where we stay.

    The restaurant breakfast manager

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Casualness of reception staff on noir arrival, cld have been more helpful

    Enjoyed a swim and having our room internally accessible in the hotel so didn't need to brave the cold between reception restaurant bar and room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    List is Huge, No free WiFi, front desk told me this was policy, a lie as other Copthorne have it Shower was a pathetic dribble & despite being asked to be moved to a different room was told, all the shower were the same!!!! a lie as I asked other guests Only 2 sky channels Was served a scotch fillet, Eye fillet on menu, then Chef came out & lied about it, there a huge difference in size & shape between the two Thread bare carpet in place, paint peeling off. I was there 4 night & 80% were overseas tourists, very bad impression of NZ hotels,

    The staff tried hard, & were good despite bad Management & terrible facilities

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: