Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau 3.5 stars

20 Lakefront Drive, 9600 Te Anau, New Zealand

#29 of 31 hotels in Te Anau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1054 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    9.6
    The hotel provides laundry room on the first floor and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel does not have elevator for visitors who stay at the upper floor and the staff does not offer any help for visitors to carry their bags to the first floor.

    The hotel provides laundry room on the first floor and it's very convenient to use.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    7.5
    Great stay, in front of lake te anau, recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A small dislike due to no lifts to the 2nd floor. So careful if you have many heavy luggages.

    Check in was a breeze.. front desk was friendly. We checked in late.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    8.8
    This hotel doesn't have elevator, and the staff is very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel doesn't have elevator, and the staff is very friendly to offer us to carry our luggage to our room. She even provide us a room at 2nd floor because its more spacious and comfy. Our room doesnt have a kettle, and the staff provided us immediately after we requested.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.1
    The room was nice and the staff were lovely and helpful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was cold no electric blanket on the bed and the food at the restaurant was over cooked and the mushroom sauce was burnt

    The room was nice and the staff were lovely and helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.5
    Such great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bathroom in comparison to the rest of the room.

    Such great value for money. Only stopped in for a night, the beds were very comfortable and the room was very spacious. 24hr check in was very convenient.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic Sleep Great Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just no expresso coffee offered in the morning.

    Omg the beds were amazing! We had the best sleep ever. Beds were just like my bed at home. We had the best stay. Great friendly staff at reception & dinner. The girl on reception when checking in us in went over and above and made check in easy. Thank you to her. We loved the buffet & gluten free options at dinner.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    6.3
    Wouldn't be my first choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had no view or sun, everything in the room was a horrible beige colour. Was told the room had recently been painted, it's possible as there were paint chips on the carpet. Also a large yellow stain on the bottom of the bath.

    It was cheap, walking distance to town and the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    4.6
    Being charged because of negligence
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrive and there’s none at reception welcoming us. We need to run to the restaurant to ask someone to help us . No airextractor in the bathroom. When you take a shower and you use the hairdryer the alarm in the smoke detector alarm went off (not the one in the bathroom). We call the reception but no answer. So we disconnectedness detector to stop the alarm (it was 11.30 pm and we didn’t want to bother the other guests). At midnight the receptionist come to our room asking to put in place the detector because they got a notification from the fire brigade. At check out we were charged 80NZD (then reduced to 40) because of the firebrigade fee. In the conversation it seems that the hotel is aware of the issue but they don’t inform their guests nor they leave a note in the bathroom. Unacceptable!!!!

    Location. Space. Breakfast included

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    5.0
    Will not be recommending stay to others
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property desperately needs renovation. Wiring in the room was atrocious as the electricity trips!!! Staff tell you that the power point cannot support more than one equipment even though there are many points in the room!!!!!!!!

    The breakfast was decent and the staff in the restaurant were very pleasant

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.2
    Simple and confy stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could have more healthy options (fresh fruits and at least 2 options of juice).

    Location, the view from the restaurant. The argentinean ( I forgot her name) receptionist is very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    5.4
    adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    i thought the housekeeping was poor, ie didn't make up bed, empty rubbish or replace milk or teabags used, electric blanket only worked on no. 1 setting. When asked about late check out should have been told hotel policy was only till 12 for late check out and didn't allow for anything later rather than lying and saying the hotel was full and the room was booked.

    I liked that it meet our needs, good location, some staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    A nice break away, not too far from home! Value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lift to get to the next level!

    We got offered a free upgrade on our room! The staff were very friendly. We had an awesome breakfast. It was my Mum's 80th birthday and they presented her with a wee cake and candle to blow out :)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.8
    Dated decor and not up to expectations, but clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The 'Premium' room was in poor condition with places where old wallpaper was visible, peeling wallpaper had just been painted over. Lake View partially obscured by rooftops. No fan in bathroom so it was dripping with condensation after a shower, Shower over bath and the bath didn't drain fast enough resulting in ankle-deep water. No lift for heavy suitcases.

    The bed was very comfortable. Staff were pleasant and polite.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.8
    Nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My card was charged which I used to hold the booking wanted to pay on a different card but reception staff had already charged it :( Annoying as on Booking.com it says this card will only be used to hold the booking...

    Very comfy bed, clean room, friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.5
    Accommodation Was Clean & Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Buffet Breakfast Was Very Dry From Being Under The Heat For Too Long (Suggested To Reception The Food Be Rotated)

    Accommodation Was Clean & Comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable, cosy, a place to relax and unwind after a busy day exploring.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Facilities hot water was not available for showering as they had issues. Only stairs no lift makes it difficult with large bags.

    Staff were very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    A comfortable stay and good value for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No lifts. You therefore have to lug your luggage all on your own without any help.

    Hotel just by the lake front though the rooms didn't face the lake. Friendly and helpful staff. Room size adequate. clean and comfortable. Nice restaurant with buffet dinner and breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.2
    Was a good room, had what we required. Leisurely walk to the shops.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Where were the electric blankets. It is in a mountain area and we stayed in winter. We turned the heater right up and left it on the whole time. The decor was bland. And where was sky tv Why was there no bar open until dinner time.

    Liked the room and the en suite. Comfy bed. Great shower. Good, very reasonably priced buffet in restaurant at dinner time

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.9
    You get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel needs an upgrade. Its a bit tired and under-loved. The stairwell is dark and dingy, the foyer is drab. Breakfast was not of a high standard- fried and poached egg option would be an improvement as would fresh fruit instead of canned fruit.

    A good night's sleep at a reasonable price. Beautiful view from the dining room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was perfect

    As soon as we arrived, receptionist told us that since the hotel was not busy, we wers promoted to a bigger room with lake view!! Everything was very comfortable, modern and clean. Pity we only stayed for one night!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.9
    Clean and renovated room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our baby's cot was not set up upon arrival, which was fine as we were a little early for check in, however it still wasn't set up later in the day, which wasn't great as my baby desperately needed a nap (the girls promptly came up to the room and set it up for us though), I think it might have just been forgotten.

    The room was clean, bright and renovated. The bathroom was new too. So glad we booked two nights in Te Anau to do Milford Sound, as we had snow on the road on the morning, then took our time to see the sights properly, when everyone else was trying to buzz back to Queenstown.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    Good location, clean & comfortable room & very friendly staffs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food options in the restaurant were not up to the mark. Not worth for money. Need to add more to menu. We were booked for buffet dinner at 7:00 pm and when we went to the restaurant buffet dinner was over.

    Location, Cleanliness, Easy access to city center & beautiful Lake & Mountain view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    6.3
    It was sufficient for my needs, what I expected for a budget price, could have been cleaner.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lighting was poor. Shower curtain had mould on it. Bed was hard. No electric blanket on the double bed. No flannels only hand towels. Heating took time to make the room comfortable.

    Good range of choice for breakfast. Good sized room which made it easier to work. Having a table was great for my paperwork. Once the heater was going properly it was a warm room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.3
    Great beds,nice towels etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was a bit cold in the evening. Fire places but no fire.

    Great beds,nice towels etc.Warm room.Quiet and easy walk to shops. Would stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    6.7
    Although location good and comfy room, bathroom cleanliness needs to seriously addressed.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom mould

    Bathroom was mouldy and unpleasant. When staff were notified it didnt appear to be an issue for them as they said all the bathrooms were like that.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.3
    Quaint, friendly, location was beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rock solid bed, paper thin pillows. Felt like a refurbished 70's hospital. Very limited food options. Multistorey with no lift or assistance to take bags up stairs. Barely warm showers.

    Quaint, friendly, location was beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    6.7
    Good for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom.

    Good spacious room for the family, however, bathrooms need betterment. In our room, few maintenance issues exist which we somehow avoided but never expected. Staff is very friendly and helpful indeed. Overall, a satisfactory experience with some room of betterment !!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.1
    I would not stay there again.
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Coming back to Hotel to find we had no hot water for showers. Noise from other guests at 11.30 at night. Being told that dining was to busy and to come back in an hour when we went to have a meal. Guests letting doors slam early morning. NO electric blankets on bed.

    Room was very clean. Bed comfy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    6.7
    Bit too far out of town. Hotel ensured guests had to rely on their facilities completely eg. Meals
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointed that the generally accepted things were missing. No tea towels,no toaster, not even a knife to butter a dry biscuit. No cutlery. No toilet brush! Not good enough for what we paid. Payment was automatically taken from our credit card even though we wanted to pay cash.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.6
    Good place to stay on a non Hilton budget.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing- all ok.

    Nice and clean, easy access to the disabled friendly room we stayed in and the breakfasts were good. They very kindly allowed us to cancel our 3rd night after we realised that Doubtful Sound would be impossible for us with me in a wheelchair.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.6
    The staff were very helpful, the breakfast very good,and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just someones hair in the bathroom was a bit off puting.

    The staff were very helpful, the breakfast very good,and beds extra comfy.We enjoyed our stay and if we are in the area would most likely stay with you again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.9
    Good location, nice room.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The communal areas were not all that clean. Some of the decor in the communal was also a little tired.

    Great location, right next to the lake and in easy walking distance to the shops and restaurants. The room was large, comfortable and quiet. It had all the facilities we needed and the beds were very comfy. The staff were very friendly and helpful too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    6.7
    Comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They seem to cater more for large groups than the individual travelers , was recommended to have an early breakfast to beat the crowd but found that we not welcome as they were catering for a large group and not for individuals, very disappointing. We stood our ground though and they did fit us in reluctantly.

    Comfy bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.8
    The room was very clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no hot water on Saturday night when I got in at 10pm.

    The room was very clean and comfortable. It was quiet and made for a great nights rest.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.1
    The stay was as we would except.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Your booking agent. Needs to quite the correct price

    A bit disappointed, as the quote was for $120.00 plus breakfast, but when we paid at check out the pri e was $149.00 The difference was the GET, this was not included in the price when first quoted. Therefore we had to more than we excepted.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    Hotel and staff were excellent. Location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only the noise of coaches coming and going late at night and early in the morning

    Our room was near the car park which is where the tour buses parked. Very noisy with buses coming and going and a lot of international visitors talking loudly. Hotel probably more suited for buses and not individual stays.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    7.9
    Excellent place to stay before and after Milford Sound.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cookie crumbs under the cabinet door upon check in

    Beautiful lake view when you walk out of property, proximity to town square, ample parking, spacious room, comfy bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.3
    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I'm a nonsmoker and I wasn't sure if someone was smoking in the hallway or in their room but the cigarette smoke seeped into our room and I had to open the windows on a very very cold rainy morning to air out.

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. From the front desk, to the cleaners and restaurant owners-everyone was friendly. Close to shops.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.5
    Nothing special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking was controlled by the coaches.Parking spaces were very narrow.It was a one way system.We had to back out of the property when a coach was dropping off passengers . .Also found it was very noisy as the room faced on to the parking lot.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    We only stayed one night on our travel and it was clean and comfortable Location great.Easy access
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was small and stepping in and out of the high bath was was a little tricky.

    Great value for money Breakfast was great plenty of hot or cold dishes to choose from

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.1
    Very comfortable bed, lake view, check out employee on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ventilation in bathroom, previous guests hairs in the shower, nil elevator access.

    Very comfortable bed, lake view, check out employee on reception was very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.2
    comfy beds, easy parking and clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not sure if they had a lift? We had quite a bit of gear, so we're up and down stairs a bit. Rather noisy when buses arrived in the am.

    Very comfortable beds.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful location, great staff, good food... facilities dragging the chain!!?
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were very disappointed at how a half-renovated room was given to us to use.... the shocking paint job etc was really unacceptable (would be a different story if management/reception were empowered to say to prospective clientel taht the rooms are being renovated and be able to offer them at a reduced rate). The bathroom/toilet room extractor fan wasn't working, which was unacceptable, and made for unpleasant morning showers - lingering loo odours and excessive steam accompanying trying to get cleaned and refreshed shouldn't happen.

    Really enjoyed it thanks, lots and well presented. The restaurant manager was a particularly nice gentleman, was busy at his work but took the time to communicate in a friendly professional way, hope proprietors are going to do their best to keep him on and develop him further.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.2
    The staff was really friendly and the beds were amazingly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was a little lacking.

    The staff was really friendly and the beds were amazingly comfortable. Location was really good too, pretty close to the town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.1
    Slept very well - comfortable bed & pillows
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet had an odor. New carpet may help. Place a bit worn inside. Restaurant breakfast buffet was pretty good.

    Slept very well - comfortable bed & pillows

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.2
    A good place to stay and enjoy the stunning Fjordlands.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location a little away from the centre of town and mainly catered for coach tours, which added to general noise and lack of breakfast fayre at the end of the breakfast period.

    Staff were extremely friendly, courteous and efficient.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    7.5
    The accommodation served our purpose
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When you opened the curtains everyone could look into your room. There was no sheer curtain to give us privacy. We were on the ground floor near the front entrance where all the tourist buses pulled up

    Room was clean and comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    10
    A good position and room size and amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel good location and amenities including guest laundry room. We did not eat in the hotel but there is a restaurant with a good selection of food

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    5.0
    Yuck except for front desk staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upgraded room with a roof view! Dated hotel! Tour bus central! Loud! Asian buffet old picked over food. Breakfast was tour bus left overs!

    Check in staff was great!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel. With lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could be better if they had a lift or ramp, for ease of carrying luggage to and from rooms on the second floor.

    Arrived early well before check in, the ladies at reception were very accommodating, even upgrading our room wc was a real bonus. Lovely huge room, with nice soft silky sheets, central location. 10 minutes stroll along the lake to the centre of town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.8
    Very comfortable, thank you,
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our rear number plate was removed while we slept and the car parked outside. We have report d this to budget, the agency, and nothing we can do, but I wondered if you might like to know this happened.

    Very comfortable, thank you,

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    7.5
    Great position and excellent staff but hotel in desperate need of renovation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room faced west and overlooked the driveway and the smoking area, and had no airconditioning... which meant it was very noisy (especially when tourist buses arrived or left, often late at night or very early in the morning) and impossibly hot in warmer weather. Very tired accommodation!!

    Lovely lakeside position (though without views except from restaurant). Double double bed combination was great. Very helpful Reception staff who really tried hard to overcome Hotel deficiencies.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    8.8
    A nice room spoiled by a noisy carpark
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was at ground level with large windows facing the car park. Everyone walking past could look directly into our room. Netting curtains would have made us more comfortable. It was also very noisy with many tour buses stopping outside our room. It felt like we were in the middle of a bus station with up to 3 buses unloading passengers at one time.

    The room was a good size and contained everything we needed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    9.2
    Clean, comfortable hotel in a beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was a bit limited. The breakfast could be better.

    The hotel is situated in a beautiful location opposite the lake. The room was large, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    7.9
    Expected the worse, but got a clean room on the first floor. Wouldn’t stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reviews of the place were horrible. I would have canceled the reservation if I had read the reviews sooner. Place is very dated. WiFi basically doesn’t work. No air conditioning. They stay full with large “group tourist bus” bookings so it’s obvious they don’t care about updating their facilities. I’m sure not to many people would ever go back there twice.

    Place was clean. Requested a fan to be in the room and it was there as there is no air conditioning. Also requested a room on the first floor, as there are no elevators and they honored my request.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    4.2
    There was only one chair in the room but bedding for three...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only one chair in the room but bedding for three yet there was ample room for another chair. Room was right beside where the buses pull up, you need the window open for fresh air but that let’s all the fumes from the buses in. Buses could pull up closer to reception and this wouldn’t impact on rooms. Bed was uncomfortable and pillowcases threadbare thin. Teabags weren’t replaced. Bathroom was dirty. We were turned away from restaurant in favour of tourist group.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    6.7
    We liked Te Anau and the lake was beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Under our windows tour buses came with many guests. Some sat outside speaking Japanese into the night. Our room had no view of the lake. No kitchen facilities in our room and breakfast was a bit costly. It took three reminders before they cleaned our bathroom and they didn't even make the bed. Other motels on the street had direct views of the lake.

    We were in walking distance of visitor center, lake, hiking trail, movie theater and restaurants. We had a very nice time.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    7.1
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi weak practically non existent, hard to check basic travel things like weather and planning

    Really comfortable hotel, clean, power shower, nice selection of tea and coffee

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.6
    Across the road from beautiful Lake Te Anau; 12-min. walk to Real Journeys office
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is the furthest-out motel from the center of town.

    Extremely quiet; great sound-proofing. Right across from the lake. 10-min. walk to the bird park, 15-min. walk to the CBD.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    7.9
    Would deffinately stay again if in Te Anau.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel interior is dated needs to be revamped.

    Service from all staff was excellent. Location suited my husband and I as we enjoyed walk along the lakeside to the restaurants etc. Buffet breakfast great value for money. Beds very comfortable. Room and bathroom very clean and serviced each day without request from us which was great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant but Clammy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Air Conditioning. The 'excuse' was that it is not normally this hot. That might be OK for a B&B folks but not a Hotel in the 21st Century. And Air Con heats as well as cools :-) No Hotels in the area seem to have Air Con so check carefully when you book!

    Nice staff, who were very helpful and a great location near the Lake.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    6.7
    Nice budget accommodation, about 15 minutes' walk from the Town Centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities are in need of some renovation. In our room the rail for the shower curtain was damaged, the bathroom air vent was full of dust, and some power points had faulty/broken switches.

    The staff were warm, welcoming and helpful with all our enquiries about nearby activities. On a hot night they organised desk fans to help keep us cool.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    6.7
    Disappointing, part compensated by hotel management providing complimentary breakfast inlieu of prob
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ground floor room lacked privacy, due to large windows and no net curtains. Curtains were half hanging of the rails, refrigerator compartment door unable to close fully. Batteries flat in TV remote.

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel but excellent staff and s good location over looking the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con but that seems to be the case in most motels small hotels. They just don’t usually need it.

    Although this was a fairly simple hotel the room was comfortable clean with a television tea and coffee maker etc. When I arrived the fridge was not working. I reported this to reception and in less than 5 minutes the maintenance man was in the room replacing it with a new one. As I had badly sprained my ankle he also offered to run me down to the local bar that evening. Reception staff were also very helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    7.1
    The location is ok. Facing the Te Anau lake and walking distance to the centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The smell of the room was not pleasant. Wifi was very slow. Not to offend but the room attendant needs personal proper hygiene. He has an offensive smell that lingers in the room. Just a positive comment.

    The bed was good. The room was spacious enough but its highly appreciated if there is an air-conditioning unit during summer time. Positive side you can make your own hot beverages with complimentary tea, coffee and hot chocolate. Good parking space.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    4.6
    The shower had a really dirty extractor fan cover that...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower had a really dirty extractor fan cover that didn't work. there were chips and cracks in the basin and bath. there was no air-conditioning with the windows open you could hear everything very noisy. For the cost I expected something nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    6.0
    Te Anau is good for seeing Milford Sound,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not think the room was very clean. Also there was a lot of noise from other guests, the building is very noisy. There were some large groups with big touring cars, the touringcars make a lot of noise early in the morning when leaving. It was the first place during my 1 month travel in NZ where I was charged 2% extra for using my creditcard. Not good.

    Location is good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    5.0
    Hotel mediocre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed matress was uncomfortable (too soft, falling in a hole once on it). The room and bathroom forniture were really old style and dated. For the price we paid it was definitly overpriced!!

    The room was really big. The position is close to the front lake. The car park is spacious and convinient.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    5.0
    Good for you going out all day and only sleep in the budget hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not good for kids, as the facitlities are outdated. Good for you going out all day and only sleep

    reasonable facilties for its budget price in this area

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    6.7
    Average stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Average house keeping. They forgot there was a third person in our room so only two towels, cups etc were provided until we asked for more. Those same cups were left dirty after our room was serviced and not replaced until again I asked for new ones. Breakfast was below average, cold eggs, horrible muffins.

    Very comfy, clean beds. Friendly and welcoming staff. Nice location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.9
    Big rooms at the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inventory and hotel in general seemed a bit come to age.

    Welcoming reception, everything walking distance. Laundry option in the hotel, also restaurant. Spacious rooms.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    9.6
    A quiet location, easy walking distance to Te Anau shops, restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only one complaint. The bath mat was mouldy so I removed it from the bath.

    Comfortable mattress. Very helpful staff. Enjoyed the quick buffet meal after a long day out hiking and sight seeing. The superior room was roomy. The chairs in the room were great to relax in.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    6.7
    Useless staff and poorly run.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Useless staff. Gave me wrong wifi code, no airconditioning, no answer on internal phone or general number to ask for a fan in the room. Lack of parking.

    Location. Close to town and amenities. Otherwise little.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    6.3
    Good location, comfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No cooling ie air con or fan. It was quite warm at night time. Can’t leave windows open or sliding doors especially if you are on the ground floor. Wifi does not even work 😡 breakfast was mediocre for what you pay for.

    The lake front view and the location. Close proximity to town. Comfortable beds. The receptionist was lovely when we checked in, she was friendly and courteous.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.5
    Mostly very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a turn off, we were going to have in the 4/1/2018, but staff member was unfriendly, and the food was very unappetising,we did not try again

    Room was clean and comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: