Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview 4 stars

88 Frankton Road, 9300 Queenstown, New Zealand

#54 of 76 hotels in Queenstown

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2757 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    5.8
    It was OK
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room had a strong nasty smell, as the Apartments were fully booked they could not offer us a room for swapping. No one came up to the room to check after we let reception know.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    5.4
    Not good enough for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - very old and dated, paint chipped, shower was mouldy, dark. - the 'lake view' from our lake view room was basically just a bunch of tall houses in front of the lake, a bus stop and a road. The side of the building we were on had hardly any actual view of the lake (from our level at least). - didn't feel very clean.

    The staff were friendly.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    7.5
    Located just outside main town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Split into 2 halves / odd layout Getting a little tired in need of some renovations

    Located just outside main town Small gym Good sized room Comfy bed Free parking onsite

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    6.3
    A quick visit to catch up with local family, but we found QT central as a whole too busy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    noise from the road outside made sleeping a problem, parking was tight and driveway exit not great - our car constantly scraped as we exited onto the road. Breakfast was expensive even with the discount offered and we did not repeat. Overall the hotel felt a bit tired.

    The sheets were lovely, room spacious and light, heater was effective, staff were friendly, shower was good, gym facilities were good

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    5.8
    This hotel was just not as good as other places we have stayed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room ventilation setting was horrible as it was very humid once taking shower in the bathroom as there was no extraction fan (but an induce fan) inside the whole room. So the humid air was blowing out from bathroom into the whole room and you would notice the wall paint peeling off due to the excess moisture. Plus there was no air con (only a convention heater which was no use to circulate the fresh air in), so the glass door to the balcony was very wet in the morning.

    Front desk staff were friendly.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable room, just a little better service would have been nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt the person at the service desk was judgemental and information in regards to needing to pay a $50.00 via credit card for a pre payment bond for possible damages would have been nice to know about prior I had no problem paying it but knowing would have been nice.

    The room was definitely comfortable and accommodated a family of four.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    9.6
    Perfect Room, Happy Traveller
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit of a walk from the city center but overall it's really good value. Parking could be better. Had to walk around to the back of the hotel and there was no other entrance

    Everything! The room exceeded my expectations. The views were phenomenal.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    10
    Had eveything we needed for a one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They should reverse the carpark entry/exit so you can enter from Frankton Rd after checking in.

    Friendly staff, renovated bathrooms, free breakfast for kids under 10, the view!!!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    8.3
    The view was amazing and the 2 bedroom apartment was clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Washing facilities provided in apartment.

    The view was amazing and the 2 bedroom apartment was clean and spacious, with great facilities provided. Really great place for families to stay for a week.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    6.7
    Nothing about the hotel and apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't feel like we got value for the amount we paid. Additionally we didn't receive AASmart fuel points nor breakfast. Some other places offered both for less than what we paid. Lot's of vacancies at motels. Should have just walked in and got a much better deal.

    Nothing about the hotel and apartment.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    6.7
    Smell was horrible which is a shame as the room itself was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room absolutely reeked like the smell of vomit. It was disgusting. To the point where we couldn’t handle the smell it made us feel sick and had to spray cologne everywhere.

    The view was great and the size of the apartment was good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    7.5
    nice room
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bar facilities could be better, better opening hours. Need experienced bar staff to operate bar. . .

    nice room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    6.3
    Great staff but not a great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its a shame such a great staff, that worked so hard to accomodate our needs, but the place itself was not great. It just gave u a cold not inviting feeling when u entered the room. The bathroom wasn't cleaned daily. Not a place u want to come back to.

    The staff was hard working, friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    6.3
    View from the room was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel felt dated, old and a little run down. There was insufficient parking and we had to park off site along the residential area nearby which was a little inconvenient.

    View from the room was nice

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    5.4
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact you had to catch one lift from the carpark. Then walk down stairs to go up in another lift. All while carrying your luggage. Not very good for my elderly 88 year old father

    Great location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    7.1
    Queenstown Sept 2018
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked this thinking it was the lakeside site. Was unable to cancel immediately given the t's and c's without losing significant $$. This venue is older but reasonable for the price. Our family issue was my dad is disable and could not make the walk back up the hill to the apartment. Additionally he struggled with the stairs to the bedrooms. The lounge was super uncomfortable.

    The staff were lovely. For the rest of the family, excluding the lounge the apartment was big enough and beds super comfy and we enjoyed our stay. The hotel is well priced.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    9.2
    Nicely warm but spaciois
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A minor thing though it would be really good to have a sauna in the hotel, especially during the ski season.

    It's was very warm - a lot of heaters even on the stairs! Also the beds were really comfortable. They also have a spa in their facilities on site that you can book free of charge!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    6.5
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hostel is bit dated, corridoors are not well lit. Front desk staff could be more friendly. We could have got better value for our Money considering other options around at the time of year we visited. Breakfast was cold and the staff really did not bother topping up as at arounf 08.30am they were running out of most items, Not vey impressed! Althought the views from the Breakfast room was breathtaking.

    Our room had great views. Stayed for two nights and the room was very clean and spacious. It was very convimient location and easy to park.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    7.9
    The hotel doesn’t warn you that on arrival they ask you to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel doesn’t warn you that on arrival they ask you to pay $50 as ‘damage insurance’ I have stayed at a number of hotels over the years and never did they ask that.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    its worth your money and the service from the staff is amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the staff was amazing... the location is really sorted, we enjoyed the 5mins walk to town centre.. the room was perfect with all stuff we could have required. the lake view the mountains.. just loved everything...

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    7.9
    The beds where nice and soft
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately we booked for 5 people but there were only beds for 4 people and no extra linen or pull out couch for the 5th person. This was disappointing

    The beds where nice and soft

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.5
    Amazing views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was uncomfortable with roll together, and the paint in room and bathroom is chipped and needs re done.

    Clean and tidy. Staff amazing. Great view and we were only on level 2.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    5.4
    The staff were friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very tired. It was mostly clean but for example the floor in the bathroom was not tiled , the tile grout had mould, the toilet seat was missing 3 of the 4 supports making it wobble, and there was paint peeling off the walls in places Our room Was a good size and had two double beds. One inconvenience was that the was only one bedside table on one side of the bed only.

    The staff were friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    3.3
    Stay somewhere else. Anywhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My Netflix account got hacked on their internet, which I had to cancel once I realised what had happened, and we were harassed repeatedly to leave right at check out time (10am) even though no one needed the room and the hotel was almost empty. The toiletries were of laughable quality and the staff unhelpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    4.2
    As an international traveller bookings are completed by...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As an international traveller bookings are completed by credit card I was unaware until check out that I was expected to pay additional % to cover the hotels credit card cost as well as my own. Plus you are asked to leave a credit card deposit ...fair enough.....but then it is not considered at check out to deduct this deposit from the overall bill..thus travellers carry both amounts for a few days until the deposit is credited.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    6.0
    Wouldn't stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was filthy coffee cups had to be returned because they had some food or something still in them from previous guest the dining table had food on the legs and walls had finger prints etc on them we complained and one of the receptionist came and wipe down the table and gave us new cups but it ruined our stay and the room was generally alot more dated then the photos appear we had just stayed at the Mercure the previous two nights for an extra 20 dollars and the experience there was a million times better

    Was close to town

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    6.7
    Would go for other option in future
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. The heater is not enough for the size of the room, so you will still feel cold in the night. And the heater has a sound tuk tuk tuk. 2. Sound proofing is bad, you can easily hear the people walking through upstair, afternoon till night. 3. Parking is not sufficient for the customers due to the space limitation. At the end you would prefer to park and walk 2km to the town instead of driving there. 4. Location wise, if you have budget to pay more, you can get a better and nearer hotel like novotel, millennium hotel etc.

    Nothing much, it is as per a standard hotel which equipped with the standard facilities. The water kettle is not in the good condition to use anymore (when boiled water it has black pieces floating around, due to the coil has overcooked), requested to change and get a new one.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.1
    Great hotel with good views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Enjoyed everything

    Hotel decor is a little bit dated but the rooms are up to date and very spacious. Great views of the lake and Remarkables. Helpful staff. Bus stop right outside the hotel, which made it convenient for the Remarkables bus.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.6
    The staff were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very helpful. I had to do two bookings as the rooms were almost fully booked during our stay but the reception let me stay at the same room for two nights. Thank you so much for that. We traveled with two kids (age 9 & 5). The location is excellent, very near to downtown. Will definitely come again in the future. Thank you

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.5
    Friendly Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car park was first come first serve. If you return to your hotel late, you might be ended up park your vehicle on the street.

    Room on the top floor with stunning Lake View

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.2
    Family adventure in Queenstown
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lift near the lobby was out of order during our stay but still there was another lift that could be access outside the hotel if you need to bring lots of luggage up and down like we do. ;p But still worth the money staying at this hotel.

    We stayed at this hotel with our two kids (age 5&9). The room was very spacious and had a great view overlooking Lake Wakatipu. The hotel location is excellent and a walking distance from the town center. Everyday we walk to the town to have lunch/dinner and sight-seeing. The staff were very helpful as well. Definitely would love to come back and stay at this hotel again! :)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.1
    The hotel was value for money, the staff were friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room smelt each afternoon when we returned, after the 3rd day I went to reception to advise them that it needed a better clean or the carpet and upholstery needed to be cleaned. It was dealt with immediately and the smell was not there on day 4 when we went into the room.

    The hotel was value for money, the staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.6
    Great Service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were really helpful. Due to the severe weather condition our flights were cancelled and the staff provided lots of useful information and helped us to minimised the inconvenience.Really appreciate it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.7
    Not worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited parking; we have to park across the street as the car park is full. The heater is not really working. It was cold night but the heater seems not working properly. No heater pad on the bed as well.

    The only thing that i like about this hotel was the location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Queenstown experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    The view was superb the restaurant breakfasts were excellent the evening meals basic but good the size of the room was excellent and the ouside balcony was quite large.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay. Amazing views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast. Delivered to the room. What a great selection. Amazing service. And was great having a balcony. Have stayed here before and would stay again. thank you.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.1
    old, dated hotel but in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    definatly Not a 4 star. Very Dated. Beds very soft and old. Shower head held together with electric tape, walls peeling, dark spaces, odd smell to hotel. was advertised free parking for guests, however not enough parking, landscaping could use some clean up, very scraggly

    some staff was very nice (others rude), location a relatively easy walk to town, had a lake view

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Wonderful Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    I had a lovely experience at this hotel. Check in was great, with a very friendly and helpful lady who chatted to me (I think she was from Argentina?). Room was just fabulous - really spacious, massive bed and the view... Just wow! We also used the spa one day which was lovely too. Extremely convenient with town just a ten minute walk

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    We had the 2-bedroom apartment for nearly a week.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing major really. Maybe just heating inside the rooms as it doesn’t really warm up the room that much.

    We had the 2-bedroom apartment for nearly a week. The amazing views of Lake Wakatipu and Remarkables from both the upper and lower balcony were breathtaking! The staff are friendly and very helpful too. Love the buffet breakfast as well, everything you need is there. And the location is very convenient, very close to the town centre.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    5.4
    We stayed in a 2 bedroom , there is 2 bathroom and 2 toilets...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is too soft, the lift is old .

    We stayed in a 2 bedroom , there is 2 bathroom and 2 toilets which is very good for the 5 of us . The kitchen is well equipped, good for us to cook there . The location is less than 5 min to the town by driving .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.6
    Friendly, helpful staff and a great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We opted for a 'green clean' which was great but we would have appreciated clean cups and glasses along with the towels.

    Friendly, helpful staff and a great breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.1
    The lift to our section of the Hotel was not working so had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lift to our section of the Hotel was not working so had to use another lift on a different side of the building and had to wheel across all our luggage through the corridor which took some time otherwise it was all good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.5
    Staff were very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms quite old, needed refurb. Quite loud too. Walls and windows were thin.

    Staff were very nice. Looked after our luggage while we went to Milford Sound. Quite a comfortable stay. Good views from the balcony.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    8.8
    Queenstown thank you for an awesome stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside was not enough cutlery in the room.

    Bed very comfy, close amenities, awesome staff very helpful. Would like to commend on the young Phillipino lady that checked us in you made our stay with Copthorne welcoming and very helpful with informations we needed as it was our first time in Queenstown..thank you so much. Sorry we did not get your name. Keep up the excellent customer service...

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is a little outdated and not enough parking.

    Extra large room, super clean and very comfy beds. View from our deck was AMAZING, the spa pool was also very nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    8.8
    Amazing location, wide range of accomodation available
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large site and some of the buildings and facilities are a little tired. The apartment was cold as heaters were not very powerful.

    Great for a few nights to stay in Tekapo. The family room has a separate bedroom as well as a bed in the living room and is very spacious. There are beautiful views over lake Tekapo and it is really close to the restaurants and shops, as well as next door to the star gazing operators.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.6
    Amazing!!!!
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free spa and gym use. Friendly staff, always going out their way to assist my partner and I. They helped with travel options, activities adventures, shuttles to and from the hotel. Beautiful Lakeview to wake up to every morning. Pleasure to stay at this warm and welcoming hotel. Everyone is sooo friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    5.0
    Will never recommend or choose that hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed is toooo soft and once you sleep on it, you can't even twist your back. The hotel location is on the most busy road, which is very difficult to turn right and join the traffic. The parking for the hotel is not enough, very difficult to even find a place to park. They charged me $50 for bonds, but not yet refund so far. They said will refund within 7 days, now it's the 7 days. They have credit card surcharge which is 2% of the room fee.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.8
    Quite disappointing. Shower system was bad and hotel was definitely very old as well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water heater and shower system was a disaster. The water was either scalding hot or ice cold. It was very challenging to adjust to a warm and yet not cold temperature during shower time

    Rooms was spacious

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.8
    Professional & friendly staff, great view but accommodation in dire need of upgrading. Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is rated as 4 star yet the apartment we were given was not up to scratch and definitely not value for money. The online photos did not reflect the low standard we found. The apartment showed complete wear and tear and needs renovation. I have taken photos if required. Couldn't fault the staff or the view.

    The staff were extremely helpful and understanding when we checked out much earlier than expected due to the standard of the accommodation.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.9
    Awesome View, handy location, great under cover parking.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    My Breakfast order & Paper request were not collected from my door, so I missed breakfast the next morning as Room service didnt arrive. The Heater didnt really get the room warm - only kept the chill off.

    Awesome View, handy location, great under cover parking. All in all a great hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    5.8
    No No Not book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy. The hot water system is terrible. Especially after a whole day skiing, you really need a good shower. You can book their spa pool, but you may not be able to do so because they only got one spa pool. :( Some of the staff are nice, but some of them are impatient.

    Amazing lake view. The room is big and tidy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    Best View & Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved the beautiful view we had from our 4th floor room it was unbeatable! The staff helped us with everything and we even got to have a private spa to ourselves.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.1
    Was clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Older and under renovation. We had to ask to move rooms as we were initially put on the floor undergoing renovation and the lake view was a view of a building across the road. We were moved to a much better room. The location was a little further away from the centre of town than we expected.

    Was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.5
    Super comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were a bit rude and we weren’t advised before check in that a credit card is required to put $50 bond on it. So that would be useful as majority of our group do not have credit cards

    Super comfy bed

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.5
    Nice and comfortable but shower and heater needs updating. The heater had weird clicking sounds
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower area needs updating. Especially the tiles - didn't have a clean look. Heater needs a bit of fix, was clicking whole night.

    Super comfy bed and nice room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.2
    Good location, great last minute discounted price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating wasn’t great, but still comfortable

    Price was great! Good location. The Hotel is a little dated but with new fittings and everything in working order. Most importantly it was clean and very comfortable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.1
    Delete the annoying 2% surcharge for paying by credit card.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Delete the annoying 2% surcharge for paying by credit card. All bank transactions come with a cost to the customer so why select this one to pass on to customers?

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.8
    Very relaxing and enjoyable at Copthorne.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level
    • Stayed 7 nights

    see above

    I like the view and the double deck we had on the 4th floor. I'd like to stay another time. I found the star very helpful even though we had some trouble with the kitchen drawer fell apart and the bath/shwr leaked down through to the kitchen ceiling below. We understood that none of this was the staffs fault and they handled it very professionally. It would have been better if the restaurant was refurbished as it was very dated and has an amazing outlook to take advantage of. Reg ards, Adam Threapleton.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.1
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food at restaurant is old (the brownie). My room smelled really bad when I first got in (I’m guessing from previous guest) I had to leave the door open to air it out. Duvet needs updating -Your grandma will love it.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.3
    Excellent stay! Would highly recommend. Great value for money, close to town and great view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Place was great. No complaints here.

    great value for money. close walking distance to town and room had a terrific view. No complaints would highly recommend anyone to stay here if you are looking for well priced accommodation near town.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.2
    Really good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Directions to the spa were a bit confusing. The breakfast was not worth the price.

    Really good location. Very clean and comfortable although a little dated but worth the price. Staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    Everything was absolutely perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was absolutely perfect. The staff were always smiling and they were always there whenever we needed help. The beds were so comfy and also the rooms were always clean. We left to go town and came back to a very clean room😍😍 Highly recommended.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    6.3
    Brownie dessert was dry & crumbly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brownie dessert was dry & crumbly. Shower was broken, couldn’t shower for first day & next morning, reported to staff, was remedied. Resort very tired & dated. Resort was under construction Good location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.3
    Outlook is stunning from the rooms that look out towards the...
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level
    • Stayed 2 nights

    View from back bedroom is of a concrete retaining wall which isn't quite so stunning

    Outlook is stunning from the rooms that look out towards the lake.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    6.3
    The rooms are spacious bit basically just a bed, bath and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old property in desperate need of some renovations. The lift is almost like a time machine with outmoded button layouts and just generally shabby appearance. The radiator was not at all effective in the cold winter nights, and no amount of twiddling with the settings helped. Close enough to lake wakatipu, but a bit out of an extremely small town. There's nothing particularly good about the property.

    The rooms are spacious bit basically just a bed, bath and balcony. The view from the balcony is breathtaking. No matter what room you pick, you will get an amazing view of the mountains and the lake in the morning sun. Most of the tours and safaris operating out of QT can pick you up straight from this hotel, which is a great time saver.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.9
    The room was very clean and a great view, further away from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were more cars than spaces available. We had to move some large logs out of one of the car spaces to be able to park

    The room was very clean and a great view, further away from town than I realised it would be.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    5.4
    Staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I felt it was falsely advertised. My Superior room advertised a shower and bath (there was only a shower) and Tile/Marble floor (there was no tiles or marble. The paint was peeling in the bathroom and the shower wall product had broken bits at the bottom (and did not meet the shower floor). Also it was meant to be an easy walk to town but was further away than anticipated with a very steep hill to climb. I wouldn't book there again.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    6.3
    The staff were friendly and the room was tidy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door to the outside veranda did not shut properly could not snip it closed had to rely on a safety chain and a crooked security lock that could easy move and the heater was extremely noisy

    The staff were friendly and the room was tidy

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    6.3
    This is not apartment. it's hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is not apartment. just seperated with other rooms. and room was very cold. And the lights was not good. too dim.

    relatively close to downtown You can reach by walk in about 10 minutes. or you can take a bus No. 1 or No.2

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    5.0
    Never going back...
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi and heating is one of the main amenities in a hotel and both of them were not working ...we were travelling from wellington -picton- westcoast - queenstown -christchursch -picton copthorne was the most expensive accomodation we paid and it was not worth it only good thing it has a lake view and it was our annivesary nite... When we booked online we gave our credit card details which we thought was for security purpose but no.. when we checked in they took $50 as a deposit which I thought was outdated...when we entered to our room it was freezing cold but heater was on so we thought its not working, secondly when we tried to connect to wifi it didnt accepted the details so i called reception and got another codes which was not working so we decided lets go for dinner and when we come back will see ... when we came back room was freezing cold and wifi was not working so i went to reception she said she is fully booked so cant give me another room so she gave me two portable heaters and for wifi she said she is going to talk to her I.t guy which she didnt and she didnt follow up with me later on... another thing the whole floor was under reburshmishment the left a note saying about it but it would be nice if they mention on their site so we know when we book the hotel... $200 for nothing.... please dont go for brand !!!!!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    5.4
    Time for an update
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building desperately needs updating. Decor very old. Bed very soft. Shower curtain. Courtyard very unkempt. Lots of road noise being on main road. No electric blanket. Windows has so much condensation couldn’t see out in morning.

    Free parking

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.5
    Good, not the greatest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bar service is poor. We order a beer and it did not come at all, they completely forgot about it. There's one wall heater for a large bedroom, which in winter (Queenstown winter) couldn't be enough. The shower pressure was also not the greatest. Old installations, definitely need a bit of refreshment.

    The location was great, the bedroom was clean and the view was just stunning. Beds were comfy, and the bedroom as big enough. Staff was helpful but seems to be always too busy. The hotel itself is really quiet with a lot of privacy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.3
    Room with exquisite view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little far from town centre yet is walkable

    We stayed in a room with huge balcony, and the stunning view. Unfortunately, it was pretty cold to chill out there. So we decided to keep ourselves warm and appreciate the view from the inside of the room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.9
    Lovely stay, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was an issue with our room at check in. Would have had a better room on a higher floor but the view was still great...

    The bed was very comfy! And I liked that we could hire private Jacuzzi for free.

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: