Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Kourawhero Estate 5 stars

471 Wyllie Road, 0981 Warkworth, New Zealand

#9 of 10 hotels in Warkworth

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 72 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    5.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Absolutely Beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could hear noise from next room.. Otherwise Perfect

    Absolutely Beautiful. Excellent Breakfast. Flur (lady at front reception/owner?) was super easy and relaxed engaging person!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Get away from the box and relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The driveway was a bit rough and limited plates and cutlery for in room nibbles but those are the only things I can fault.

    You are made to feel welcome and at home from check in to check out. The views are amazing, the rooms are super clean tidy and super comfortable with a heavenly bath. The view sitting in the bath was stunning and having no TV to distract us we had plenty of time to relax, catch up on a good book and enjoy ourselves.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    fantastic place highly recommend for all to have a special occasion to get away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    maybe the roading was quite bumpy travelling to the sight

    All the food we had was excellent - included the degustation menu and cooked breakfast and service impeccable - highly recommend would want to stay for a second night next time

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    5.8
    Enjoyed the remote location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were first put into a very dirty room. The room we moved to was much better but still had a lot of cobwebs on the ceiling and hanging light. The blind in the bathroom was broken and did not roll up. The couch was also very dusty, so much so we had to take antihistamines after sitting on it (so couldn’t really use it). Although the staff apologised for the unideal start absolutely no compensation was given which I would expect given the price.

    Enjoyed the remote location. Great sized rooms with comfortable bed. Excellent bath to fit two!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful serenity
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drive out on a narrow gravel road was beautiful but a little tricky. If the restaurant’s not open we recommend picking up supplies in town and having a picnic to avoid the 15 min drive into town.

    The views were fantastic and breakfast was incredible! The spa bath was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    AMAZING ESTATE.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road leading upto the estate had me a bit worried esp how narrow it is. Would recommend driving up in a big car/fwd wheel or ute. Just we drove up in our lowed BMN and it kept hitting the ground. Just a suggestion when booking confirmed that somehow that's put across for people to look into. Maybe I missed that out but would of so travelled in a higher car for that road going up to the lodge. But that road was worth taking in our car.

    Love that it was nice and quiet and very private. The rooms are to die for especially that Spa bath. Breakfast was so good, it made me want to try out the rest of the menu. However kitchen was closed for the weekend. So next visit will like to try that 5 course meal. They provided excellent service very friendly and approachable made our stay even more memoriable. Went out of their way to provide a service thats meant to be pre booked before arrival so that was good. It was a nice get away from our busy lives and this place is the go to if you wanting to relax and enjoy the views from up high. Even though weather wasn't great it still looked beautiful. The day of our check out the Mist and rain had cleared and oh what a view breathtaking.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    8.3
    Amazing retreat with amazing views and gorgeous room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows and window sills rather dirty would get more of clear view with clear windows

    Amazing views and privacy... gorgeous place to retreat and relax. Ultra comfortable bed and pillows, bath and shower to die for. Absolutely loved it here

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    10
    Amazing place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    I loved how welcoming the staff was. I love how nobody bothers you. Beautiful views which made my experience with my partner amazing. Would love to go again

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    6.3
    Needs investment and more staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access road is unmade, windy and narrow. Rooms are in chalets set in pairs, walls are thin but are quite spacious. No dining services except breakfast and no cooking facilities in rooms so you have to go out or borrow some plates and eat cheese and biscuits - as we did. Rooms need an overhaul. Bathrooms are good but what you'd expect these days. No WiFi or tv in rooms as the idea is its a retreat. But no robes or loungers outside rooms. Spa area is v small and does not cut it at all. Inadequate number of staff day to day - they bring extra people in for weddings and conferences. The lodge area opens during day but closed from early evening. It's saved as an experience by the Property Manager and the view, apart from that its deeply average.

    Beautiful views and therefore relaxing. Outstanding property manager - Fleur. Property has lots of potential. Breakfast was good, and Fleur helped make our lunch one day - we had brought some jacket potatoes.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    10
    Amazing comfort and scenery!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plates and cutlery in the room would have been helpful with the baby. I’m sure staff would have deliver if we have asked as they were extremely helpful.

    Amazing spa bath and view from Accomodation over bush/farmland. Bed was comfortable and staff were lovely.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    8.3
    Absaloutly world class potential, just needs a darn good clean 👌
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many spiders!! Eeeek!! Cobwebs full of spiders covering every window and door... and entire outside of villa.... just needs a waterblast. Also when booking room online it says there is free wifi in rooms - but upon arrival were told there was infact none... Only wifi at main lodge.

    Lovely views, excellent room, super comfy/clean beds, love the bathroom, great pool 😊

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.6
    Peaceful, private, remote
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is a retreat and designed to have no wifi access or television, however for us, we would of liked to be able to watch a movie whilst the weather was not great.

    the most comfortable beds and bed linen lovely. the bath was out of this world and very stunning

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.6
    Cosy private retreat. Bring a book.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unpaved gravel road/ driveway is not recommended for a lowered sports car. For a standard car it's okay. No T. V.

    Private. Great view. Comfortable bed and great spa bath/ bathroom. Fireplace was great for our winter stay. No T. V.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    We'll be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant is closed during winter for dinner, bit hard to get back into town for food when you arrive in a little holden barina in the rain at 6pm. Luckily the staff gave some excellent advice and assistance organising delivery!

    The Bathroom, the Gas Fireplace, the Giant comfy bed.... Mini-bar was well stocked to suit the atmosphere of our stay. I could live in that Bathroom... spa bath and a double shower. luxurious couch to lounge on listening to music (no TV was, i think, a nice touch). The Bathroom. Assistance from the staff was excellent at all times. The common room/hall was great, comfy chairs, multiple fireplaces, a bar, etc. The Bathroom. Did I mention the Bathroom?

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic view, excellent staff and a good size room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could have had a T.V to be able to relax and watch a movie on in front of the fire.

    The manager Fleur was fantastic, very warm, friendly and accommodating. The view from the room was very nice and the spa bath was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    5.8
    Friendly staff shame about the rest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property and services are not up to the standard of a luxury lodge - no wine list, dining room closed, inferior bathroom products, 1 ply napkins

    The staff were really friendly and tried their best

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    6.3
    The lady running the lodge could not have been more helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It could be a wonderful lodge but needs another large capital investment to improve access and tidy the grounds

    The lady running the lodge could not have been more helpful but she needs more staff to help her-gardeners maintenance people

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    5.0
    Lovely facility and staff but website misleading
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    So far out of the way up a long single track gravel road. Swimming pool very poor. No restaurant facility unless prebooked. Room not serviced daily.

    Room very good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    5.0
    spa bath, pool location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    bathroom taps toilet roll area nt clean shower glass doors stil grime gym wasnt that grate sauna wasnt on no one around to ask as first time at this resort had to find our own wae to our room booked in late due to them having no power earlier still paid full price. for the price i dnt think my partner and i got our 460 dollars worth. had no robe as on line it said it came with rm. no table out on pattio to chill out side. or chairs also the complimentray breakfast was clearly not up to chefs standerd restrnt wasnt open. VERY VERY DISSPOINTED AS IT WAS MY PARTNERS BIRTHDAE GIFT FM ME TO HM AND WE ARE NOT HAPPY WE PAID TOP DOLAR FOR BELOW AVRAGE RESORT.😔😔😠😠

    spa bath, pool location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    7.1
    Stunning location for peace and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The road leading up to venue is not sealed 5km or so then long drive way leading to lodge. There was no information booklet in room so we were not sure about services etc. There was little staff around - those we met were very kind however sometimes hard to find. There was no TV in the room so had to head to Walkworth to watch sport - however when looking around the next day we found the Lodge had a TV.

    The location is beautiful, lovely view to take in when enjoying breakfast (yummy) . So peaceful with lots of privacy. The room was large and spacious, very comfortable bed, bathroom was very nice - great shower and bath! There are books at the Lodge you can read which I loved as I forgot to take one.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    8.8
    I enjoyed the relaxation an quiet comfortable feel of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen facilities were lacking a means of cooking your own food no oven or stove , only way of having cooked food is in the microwave or at the bar/restaurant main building or going to warkworth for takeaways , if changed an implemented then stay would be that much better.

    I enjoyed the relaxation an quiet comfortable feel of the room an estate overall was a great time an will definitely recommend to others.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    9.2
    An excellent sponanteous evening north of Auckland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable and spacious rooms wirh lots of privacy and great views. V friendly staff who were so helpful despite our last-minute reservation. Close to Warkworth for alternative dinner options. Delicious breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    10
    Couldn't have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was hard to pick fault with anything at this wonderful Lodge. The accommodations were terrific, the beds super comfy, the owners incredibly accommodating, and the hot breakfast very nice. Well done.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Amazing! Will
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, the host was amazing!!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Rooms were fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were fantastic. Great place to go to relax.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Fluer was amazing, so hospitable and kind. Our stay was perfect! I would highly recommend to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed, the service, the bath, the view, EVERYTHING

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    The service provided by Fleur on our stay was exceptional a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The service provided by Fleur on our stay was exceptional a huge thanks to Fleur

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    Stunning location, quiet, private, relaxed with awesome in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stunning location, quiet, private, relaxed with awesome in room facilities..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.1
    So far out of Warkworth, a long drive into the town centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    So far out of Warkworth, a long drive into the town centre

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    5.0
    Spa bath
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't know we had to request for dinner in advance.

    Spa bath

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    10
    Stunning Lodge - our room was beautiful, very clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stunning Lodge - our room was beautiful, very clean and luxurious. The manager Fleur was very welcoming and hospitable. We will be coming back!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.2
    We would return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Access road poor

    Excellent lviews and friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    10
    Relaxing+++.definitely would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful rooms. lovely breakfast. host extremely friendly and helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.6
    The bed was very comfee / Fantastic location / the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was very comfee / Fantastic location / the grounds need some maintenance & the breakfast was great

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    would highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fleur made a real effort for us and made us a lovely vegetarian breakfast upon our request! bed was super comfy!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    One of the best places I have ever stayed at.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    One of the best places I have ever stayed at. The room was amazing, the bed was so comfy and breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    Amazing!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The private villa was amazing! Love how there is not TV! Fireplace and bath tubs were amazing! The staff, Fleur was so kind and extremely helpful!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    10
    Perfect honeymoon refresh
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked wifi in the rooms instead of just in the common area.

    The room was incredible, with amazing views and a beautiful bathroom.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    10
    Fantastic attentive hosts, wonderfully private and luxurious...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic attentive hosts, wonderfully private and luxurious, perfect getaway!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    5.8
    The bed and Bathroom is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    No TV and Very Far away UP from the drive way

    The bed and Bathroom is good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    10
    Paradise - 45minutes from Auckland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The best escape from Auckland we have had. Only 45minutes and you are in a beautiful paradise looking over rolling hills. We will be back.

    Stayed in October 2016

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41