Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. New Zealand hotel reviews
  3. Otago hotel reviews
  4. Wanaka hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Lake Hawea Hostel

Reviews of Lake Hawea Hostel 2 stars

1 Capell Ave, 9345 Wanaka, New Zealand

#28 of 29 hotels in Wanaka

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 649 hostel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.6

  • Comfort

    6.5

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    6.2

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    6.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 75

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2019

    5.0
    Convenient location on our travels. Wouldn’t recommend - stay somewhere in Wanaka instead.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls super thin so could hear every word of every conversation around. Couldn’t sleep at all. Kitchen was absolutely filthy when we tried to make our breakfast - that might have something to do with the group that was chanting and singing well into the early hours of the morning.

    Bed was comfy and shower pressure was great.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2019

    7.5
    The location was really good, just off the main road and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilets and shower block were less than satisfactory, I didn’t feel very comfortable in them or clean. The WiFi would also drop in and out all the time.

    The location was really good, just off the main road and overlooking the lake itself. The best view was from the laundry! The staff were accommodating and helpful, and they offered discounted rates on food over at the pub connected to the hostel.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2019

    3.8
    Would stay in the hotel again but not in the hostel where we stayed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not in Wanaka...Always look at map! Dirty Kitchen which did not get clean on the two days we were there. Kitchen was on ly for hostel but campers and long stay campers used it and did not clear up after themselves. Noisy in the hostel. Tired decor and the toilet was an outside block used by campers.

    Quiet place, goo offer on food and beer for people staying at the hostel.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2019

    4.2
    I did not feel safe in room 24 and the facilities were disgusting. The staff was incompetent and did
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got there and they didn’t have our reservation, and claimed someone else had checked in under our name. Then they split up the 3 of us, 1 of which got into an already full room. Then we were told they needed a few minutes to get together a room which was room 24 which was far away and remote with access to absolutely disgusting showers and bathrooms. The restaurant was nice which makes me wonder how they can be satisfied with such poor quality customer service and rooms. Would never recommend and will not go back.

    I liked the view. It was beautiful. That is about it.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2019

    10
    Exceeded my expectations for a 4 person bunk room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Friendly helpful staff. Well equipped kitchen. Free wifi. Discount at restaurant/bar Hot strong shower. Towel and linens included . Sink in room. Storage closet in room. Quiet and peaceful compared to Wanaka.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2019

    6.3
    Great view of the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was patchy. Facilities were generally a bit tired/worn. Noise throughout night sounded like a loud aircon unit, but no unit in room. No duvet cover, just sheet, duvet, sheet.

    Great view of the lake. Small sink in room. Option to get discount at restaurant.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2019

    5.0
    We got a Nice discount in the bar for dinner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smelly. And kitchen needed much restauration and small. Just below room 20 we had a big fan rundning until past 12 at night that was very loud. And the showers and toilettes was in a bad state. And separated from the living area.

    We got a Nice discount in the bar for dinner. 12 dollars for one. Almost half price. Close to The lake.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2019

    8.3
    The staff are always nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathrooms are located in a different building. It got chilly when we were done with shower and rushed back to our own room.

    The staff are always nice and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2018

    5.8
    Good location for concert onsite but facilities were average and old.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed needed 2 pillows , bunk bed was not very comfy and found a long black hair in my freshly made bed . Whole place needs a re vamp and a new cleaner look . Bathroom is just old and run down . Bunk beds could do with a over haul. We on 2018 not 1970

    Location

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2018

    4.2
    Location was near lake (although room did not have any view)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Insufficient parking. A couple of cars had to be parked outside marked parking. Extremely small shared kitchen with only one cooking range. Kitchen wasn't very clean either. Kitchen was as big as the one in my house but it was shared between maybe 10-15 quad rooms. I'm sure that because of the size of kitchen, we were offered a complimentary burger, chips and a wine in the bar. One of the bunk beds did not have ladder. Bathroom facilities were not cleaned, water was flooding from shower into the adjacent toilet. There were only 3 showers and 2 toilets shared across all (approx 10-15?) Rooms. Although not related to hostel, but worth noting that the store near the hostel was having rates 2-3 times that of countdown/packnsave. Parking to the rooms is a flight of about 30 stairs.

    Location was near lake (although room did not have any view)

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2018

    2.9
    Peasant Class— Don’t expect to be treated well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the worst hostel I’ve stayed in. Paid considerably a lot for a room of two bunk beds for a family of four at holiday peak season. Property contains both hotel and hostel; hotel up at the front facing the lake and the hostel located at the back where the meat freezers are. Shared baths/toilets are located outside at the back of the hostel, servicing both hostel and camper van guests. One, Hostel wifi was non-functioning, had to walk out towards the front of the property to the hotel to use the wifi. Biggest gripe however is the freezer condenser fans which is not mentioned anywhere or anytime during our booking or check-in. Our room sat directly above the fans which sounded and vibrated like jet turbines. Fans are switched on all day from 8.30am and into 10.30pm on our first night. Don’t expect to take any afternoon naps, or be in the room during this period for that matter. When we complained, they told us that nothing could be done and the fans are meant to switch it off at 8.30pm and we should forward our complains to the hotel restaurant. No accountability, no apologies nor emphaty whatsoever, as if we are expected to just accept it. Shared baths were akin to truckstop rest rooms. Very Run down, constantly wet and not a lot of care or attention was given by the staffs. Example, The soaps in the showers were empty and Laminate was peeling off the vanity. The shared kitchen and dining/lounge is small, run down and is filled with wobbly, rotted mixed bag secondhand furniture from a thrift store. Incredibly disappointing stay. Very much felt like we were ignored and treated like peasants because we stayed at the hostel instead of the hotel.

    None.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2018

    6.7
    Fine for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thin walls (you hear essentially everything ;), bathrooms & toilets outside of the building (shared with the camp side).

    Very close distance to the beautiful lake, discount in the bar for fish and chips/beer, close to Wanaka.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2018

    5.4
    It was really nice to have a discounted meal and the pub and...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The communal showers and toilets were pretty run down. There wasn't any complementary tea and coffee (no milk) which I thought would have made it a lot nicer. The room was super hot. I know it's a great price for the area but I still expected a little bit more for what we paid. Also they said there was WiFi but it wasn't working.

    It was really nice to have a discounted meal and the pub and the staff were really lovely. The price was good that's why we stayed there. I loved the scenery it's so beautiful

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2018

    8.3
    When we checked in, we were given a private 2 bed dorm...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilets/showers were under refurbishment so they weren't the best! The staircase to get to the hostel was a bit rickety. The kitchen was also quite old but plenty of crockery to use and everything was functional.

    When we checked in, we were given a private 2 bed dorm instead of shared for the same price! Plenty of parking available. Great location, not actually in Wanaka but nearby next to Lake Hawea which is beautiful and much quieter! Staff are so helpful. Also hostel beers are only $5!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2018

    7.1
    The location is great, not too far of a drive from Wanaka,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi did not work at all in the hostel. The bathrooms and showers(outside) weren't super clean, although I was told that they would be re-painted soon(but that wasn't the problem)

    The location is great, not too far of a drive from Wanaka, and there are some nice walks around Lake Hawea aswell. The staff were great, I left some important medication behind and they were very swift at finding it and keeping it safe until I could travel back to collect it.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2018

    4.6
    Location is awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are made of cardboard. You can hear everything that happens three rooms down. People drunk and having party at 2 am. Kitchen is very old and dirty as are all the facilities. Mattress is not confortable at all. Do trust all other medium reviews they are right. On of the poorest hotels we have done in NZ in a years time..

    Location is awesome. Staff are friendly, but you only see them for check-in and checkout. They are not present at all in the hostel, so everybody does what they want.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2018

    9.2
    Amazing location. Best in NZ!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilets and showers in separate block which is a pain in the night.

    THE VIEW OF THE LAKE! Absolutely amazing spot. So peaceful and beautiful looking out over Lake Huwea. Staff very friendly, dinner in hotel next door very cheap which was lovely.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2018

    5.8
    Cheap place for backpackers.. can't recommend this place to anyone who wants to have some rest..
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I stayed two nights at the Lake Hawea Hostel and that was def enough. I chose this accomodation for my visit at Wanaka and since Wanaka is VERY expensive, I decided to look a bit outside Wanaka and found this place for a very good price. It looks all really nice and fancy online, but in fact it is a run-down hostel. It looks very nice from the outside and the room itself is fine as well. The bed was comfy, room was VERY small (could hardly open my suitcase), Wifi mostly didn't work (especially during the evenings) or was way too slow to even open an email or whatsapp. The walls are like paper and you can hear all the other guests like they are in your own room. All the guests are very young people who are very loud untill the late hours with music, drinking, laughter, rebuilding their rooms and running down the aisle. My room was the first one right next to the entrace door of the lodge. Lovely.. every time when someone goes in or out the door slams so hard I can feel everything in my room shake. Awesome when you are just about to fall asleep and the doors slams again and you're sitting straight up in bed with your heart pounding like an idiot. I went to the reception to change coins for laundry. They were happy to do so.. without mentioning it was impossible to do a laundry. There's only one washingmachine and it was defect. For food you don't have many options since Lake Hawea is a very small town. I think the restaurant at the accomodation is pretty much the only nearby restaurant. For anything else you need to drive to Wanaka. Food is ok, but very expensive. The worst thing about this accomodation is that the toilets and bathrooms are outside in a little shed which is a complete wasteland/dump. It's disgusting. I have no other words for it. Toilets are dirty, falling apart and def needing a renovation. Showers as well. Feels like staying at a camping and having to walk outside in the rain and cold towards a gross toilet/shower.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2018

    4.2
    Freezing one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pictures are quite misleading, as the rooms have not been renovated in a while and the only clean thing were the bed sheets. Since it was a cold time in November, it was also very cold in the room which is rather small. The showers and toilets need to be accessed by going outside and are not heated at all and you can freeze by using them in cold days, as I experienced. The place and especially the bar is populated by local fishermen and other locals which are very loud and create a very unpleasant athmosphere. I can recommend this place only to hardcore back-packers that need a place to sleep or to the actual locals, that would enjoy this stay, Otherwise, if you are a couple on their vacation, avoid this place unless you have nowhere to book.

    The location is magnificent since is on the south shore of the lake with a direct view of the surrounding mountains. A good price for their value menu at the bar. The restaurant area in the morning is very quiet and relaxing.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2018

    8.8
    Reasonable stay just by the stunning lake!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside bathroom was a bit mess but it’s alright

    Clean and comfy bed, friendly reception, special backpacker deal at the bar($12 burger +chips, $5 beer), few minutes walk to the magical view of lake Hawea

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2018

    8.3
    Location, location, location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I mainly didn't like the way that the photos and web page description didn't depict how low grade the accommodation was. I felt deceived. And I didn't realise I needed to carry my luggage up a huge set of stairs. The walls were paper thin and I could hear everything going on in the hostel - not very conducive for sleep.

    Location, location, location. The open fireplace and the lovely restaurant. If they put a bit of money into that place they could have a sensational hotel there.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2018

    3.8
    Old and
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty old facilities, they really need to be renewed. Kitchen too small and very old and crusty. Dirty showers and wc.

    Nice location and nice double room.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2018

    8.3
    Great hosts, fantastic meal & clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Accommodation was basic but very clean, didn't really like the toilet block being outside like in a camping ground but this was my fault for not reading the description properly!

    I had the best risotto for dinner that I have ever eaten....hat off to the chef!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    6.3
    Okay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilets and showers need a major renovation. The kitchen and lounge were not very comfortable or cozy.

    The views are stunning, right on the lake. Beautiful. The bedrooms and beds were okay, if a bit on the small side.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    7.9
    The hostel is quaint and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hostel is quaint and comfortable. Great location. They offer some good deals huh the receptionist was very rude and put off the stay. Everyone else was wonderful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen and bathrooms facilities are really disappointing. The bathroom is not heated, looks dirty and unappealing. The kitchen is really small and not very tidy.

    Friendly staff and cool roommate :)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    5.8
    The room was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi didn't work at all (although it was said there is unlimited free access to the Internet). Bathrooms were in another building so we had to go outside (it was winter) and they were dirty.

    The room was clean. The hostel is in nice location, close to Lake Hawea.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    2.5
    We wouldn’t recommend this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room didnt met our expectation. It was a shock for us when we have to go outside the cabin just to use the bathroom, the wifi connection was very poor and no cellular service in the area. So much inconvenience that we had to move to other place

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.8
    Stayed two nights on seperate ocassions - excellent value for the money.
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As an older solo traveler I wasn't so keen on being in a mixed sex room - absolutely no bad experiences but just not what I was expecting. The kitchen could be better set up - for example - recycling facilities indoors - a lot of what went into the bin could have been recycled but people appeared too lazy to use the outdoor recycling and this was in a dark spot. The out of hours keydrop could have been better lit and signed.

    It was great value for $25. It was very clean, beds made up and a towel provided.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    5.8
    Great location but avoid weekends if you value sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weekend we stayed other guests were loud, drunk and banging around corridors yelling til 4am. No staff to assist or monitor 10pm curfew. Socialising is great but this was scary and we got little sleep both nights even though assured by staff the second night would be quiet.

    The restaurant was comfortable and the views were great. The backpacker bar and deals were good. I was pleased that we were given a refund following a complaint- the manager dealt with this appropriately.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.2
    The location is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is amazing. I’d tell people to stay here over Wanaka. Such a nice sleepy alpine town. With the view from the hotel 10/10. The staff were very friendly. Cheap food and drink at the bar.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    6.7
    The view is beautiful, the bar at the hostel (a discount on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom, you have to go outside & not insulated

    The view is beautiful, the bar at the hostel (a discount on some beers & meals for those who stay at the hostel), friendly reception staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.1
    The bed was comfortable and the linens were clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom and showers were outside the hostel in a separate building and I was there during winter, so it was VERY cold.

    The bed was comfortable and the linens were clean. The whole vibe was very cozy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.5
    Value for money and clean with a nice view.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly out of the way. Toilets were inconvenient and were not installed with heating.

    Value for money and clean with a nice view. Great that room came with a basin.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    6.7
    Cheap, good for stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilets and showers were outside and very wet. Kitchen was a bit dirty for cooking.

    Comfortable bed and clean room. Pub did cheap food deals for guests, amazing pizza!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    5.4
    I loved the view and the bar of the hotel but none of the facilities of the hostel.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The showers and toilets were separated from the hostel and it was extremely cold. Wifinot working good but it’s not the most important. Not enough space on the kitchen to cook.

    The location had an amazing view of the mountains

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.5
    Rooms were heated and cozy, kitchen was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was in an exterior building and barely heated. Was extremely cold; couldn't take a shower.

    Rooms were heated and cozy, kitchen was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    4.6
    Not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Firstly it is not clear where to go to check in for the hostel, there are no signs for the hostel out the front so we drove past more than once looking for the place. Eventually we assumed it must be linked to the hotel so checked in there. Our room was beside the staircase and door of the hostel so sleep was to be virtually non existent, the walls are paper thin to the point you'll even hear your neighbors alarm in the morning and the doors opening and closing all night. The kitchen is tiny with just one cooker, for a 40 bed hostel? Although it says campers are not to use the kitchen, you'll struggle to get in the kitchen without them in there. We went out of season and it was still not easy to cook with more than 3/4 people in the kitchen. The bathrooms are outside in a separate building which at first I didn't mind, until I needed to shower, the water was luke warm and the shower block was freezing, dark and dinghy! The girls block was especially dirty. Our room was also absolutely freezing and we could not connect to the Wi-Fi from our room. Finally the staff were very friendly but very unprofessional, we sat in the restaurant by the lovely fire having a drink but could hear staff swearing and talking about their social lives.

    Good location and lovely local walks.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.5
    Good stay but could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Organisation could be better. I booked the shuttle twice. In the morning no one knew I had booked the shuttle and at night they forgot to pick me up so I had to hitch back. Also, the shared facilities with the campground aren't great. It's very cold in the showers because they are outside. Wifi only really works in the kitchen or in the restaurant in the main building.

    Nice beds and friendly staff. Convenient shuttle to and from Wanaka. The backpacker deals in the restaurant are great and the surroundings are stunning! Price-wist it's great as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.3
    I liked the location and how the staff treated us, but the showers should be maintained
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The showers and toilets were outside and not very inviting

    I liked the view from our kitchen window. The staff was very friendly and the beds comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    4.6
    Wouldn't recommend ..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in a Double room - it feels like a room you'd have in a caravan. Thin walls & cheap material sink. It was really really cold - the small heater does nothing. Bed was really uncomfy, blanket was a horrible material. Kitchen is small & shabby/dirty looking. Toilets are outside in block behind. Wifi doesn't work. Oh and we had a little guest in the room during the night - a mouse. Sorry but wouldn't recommend.

    The location opposite the lake is great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.1
    Cheap but old, OK for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen very small & poor equiped Facilities definatly need Renovation Bathroom outside of the dorm-building

    Lake View Cheap In Restaurant special Backpacker price

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lounge and kitchen in the hostel area are fairly small so it can get pretty crowded at night.

    It's a great price for a two bed dorm and the view is stunning. The restaurant on site is also tasty! The free wifi is decent as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    8.8
    Bed was super comfortable but hostel had an eerie feel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor wifi. Kitchen is cramped and not well thought out.

    Bed was super comfortable but hostel had an eerie feel. Better lighting at night or some decoration would improve this. Great view of the lake, friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    5.0
    The landscapes are stunning
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilets and kitchen weren’t good at all. To go to toilets you have to go to a building behind the rooms one. Also kitchen wasn’t suitable for a hostel as there is only one stove and not much cuttlery for everyone. I’ve seen better toilets in a public camping ground.. the toilets weren’t flushing properly and the floor was wet always. Also showers were very poor. The staff at the bar was so unprofessional and tough. The first night. we wanted to order some snacks and the lady said the kitchen was already close! Shouldn’t they be supplying bar snacks if is still open and you have more than 20 people drinking at the bar? She only offered us nuts and a bag of chips The second night my friends asked for a hot chocolate and the guys gave them a poorly warmed up hot chocolate and we asked if he could warm it up a bit more. He replayed in a tough eay that in New Zealand people drink hot chocolate like this so ask first. So my question is.. Does tourists have to know which is the temperature of a hot chocolate in New Zealand?

    The landscapes are stunning

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    5.0
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like the disgusting toilets. They are vile. I did not like the hostel kitchen/ living room it was terrible. One over with hobs is not enough. Also usually people didn’t have a seat because there was too many people. You could not sit and relax in there. The top bunks should have little ladders.

    I liked the sink in the room and the location. The cheeper food option in the restaurant was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    6.3
    Improve customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They should improve the customer service, the way they treat guests and the way they react when something is not working properly, being rude it’s not the solution. Luckily I didn’t have any trouble but my friends rented a caravan for 2 nights, and the first night they freezed as there was no power so the heater was decorative, next morning they told what happened to the receptionist and she just asked: “so are you going to pay another night or not???” Never said I’m so sorry that won’t happen again! Also receptionist was talking too fast even when my friend asked her to talk slowly as it was hard for her to understand. Terrible experience for my friends and it was one of my friend’s birthday!!

    Bed was comfortable and it was warm inside the building

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    6.7
    Nice dorm room, bathroom a let down
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hostel toilets and showers were shared with the camp site which was fully booked. Every time I used them they were in a pretty bad condition, water all over the floor and urine on the toilet seats. I didn't even bother using the shower.

    The dorm room was nice and clean. The food in the restaurant was delicious!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.3
    Very Happy Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen/lounge area was small and awkward. There was no ladder for bunk beds making top bunk difficult and room was very small

    Mattress was really comfortable and everyone was very friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.9
    View and room were great but kitchen and bathroom needing a clean! Overall hotel and restaurant nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom and kitchen were not as clean as expected. Kitchen was slightly dated and lacking necessary items. Unfortunately we had some extremely noisy neighbours which isn't the hostels fault but noise continued for a while with no action from them.

    The view was to die for, amazing lakefront!! Room was comfortable and had a sink which was convenient. Food and drink in the restaurant is reasonable and lovely!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.2
    Great stay in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a slight mix up with the rooms but this was quickly resolved with great customer service from the reception team. The toilet and shower block needs modernising. It was fairly standard for a hostel but the water from the showers seemed to get everywhere including the floor of the toilets.

    The rooms were clean and tidy. We had a warm welcome from reception who gave us all the information we needed. When you stay in the hostel they offer a reduced meal and drink which was ideal for us. We had lovely weather which meant the views of the lake and mountains was beautiful, although it is probably still beautiful whatever’s the weather!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.5
    We've got what we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We've got what we needed. However we did not expected that 4-bed room (2x2 meters) could be a real dorm. But it was and three of us had got a companion. Business is business.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    8.3
    Nice comfortable hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough plugs points in the room. The toilet/showe facilities are outside the dorms building which I imagine can be inconvenient end cold in winter.

    Nice comfortable hostel. This is part of a hotel - hostel - campsite combo with restaurant and bar. There's good deals on food and beer for backpackers. The fish and chips was really nice. Th staff were really nice and helpful when I wanted to hire a bike. Right by Lake Hawea, nice views from the kitchen.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    3.3
    Most affordable option but out of town and facilities are a let down
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing special which is a shame. Had the potential to be a great hostel but they facilities (bathroom accessed outside) and kitchen (too small) let the place down

    It was cheapest option

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    7.1
    The location was perfect, there’s a good offer of a $12 meal...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the bathrooms were not quite perfect, the floor was always soaked from the showers and there were people from the campground washing dishes in the sink there sometimes. Also the kitchen was too small for more than 2 people to cook at the same time.

    The location was perfect, there’s a good offer of a $12 meal or $5 beer if you’re a guest. The room was tidy. To be fair I would stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    7.9
    Good hostel, lacking sufficient facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toiletseats in the women's bathroom are kinda gross. When the bathroom stall next to the toilets is in use, it will splash into the toilet stalls. One hub with 4 stoveplates for the whole of the hostel. We sometimes had to wait until 22 before it was available for us to cook. One laundry machine and one dryer.

    Beds were super comfortable and the room was clean. It includes your own sink which was nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.5
    Decent stay over place near Lake Hawea
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can’t say that the lady at check in was rude but she definitely came off as a little hard to deal with. She was helpful enough to give me what I needed and scurry me out the door so I won’t complain too much since I didn’t have to deal with her for an extended about of time. The facilities (bathroom, showers, etc.) were kind of lacking, however, they are not the worst that I have ever used.

    Nothing stood out as exceptional but just another hostel. The rooms were a decent size for the amount of people in them and with a window for each room it kept them decently cool. The kitchen was decently large for a hostel, however, it was a little lacking.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    5.8
    Fair
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's a lot of space below the partitions in the men's bathroom at the hostel. This allowed for water to splash across cubicles when there were people showering in them. It was not ideal :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    7.9
    Location is amazing, just in front of the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was a very loud atmosphere! There was one man really drunk and screamed loudly, no one of the stuff did anything :(

    Location is amazing, just in front of the lake

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    7.5
    Nice staff, bunk bed is not high
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bunk bed is not high so when I sleep at below bed my head is crash with upper bed. Wifi in bed room is not good.

    Nice staff, they very helpful. Location is good for see lake but it is far from town.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    7.1
    Inexpensive hostel for younger people with magnificent views
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hostel is having a wonderful location near Lake Hawea. It's quite a big hostel, and there is also a hotel and big restaurant. The hostel was occupied by younger backpackers, and the result was that kitchen and lodge were noisy. Late in the evening the kitchen was already quite dirty. Bedd were good and there was own electricity socket for everyone. Wifi was useless.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    5.4
    Not a great one
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen had no microwave, only has two stove and gets super crowded where we had to wait two hours for a stove because the same people kept cooking more food. All we needed was a microwave to heat our food up and only way is to cook it. Very unclean kitchen and bathrooms are okay. Laundry only one machine is available to use.

    Our room was nice and clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    5.4
    good located close to the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud, lights in aisle not working. Room itself was ok. Bathroom outside, old but functional. Hostel in old style, need to be generally renovated. Kitchen was old and too small.

    good located close to the sea.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.2
    Gorgeous and relaxing stay in a beautiful part of New Zealand
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The caravans are close to the laundry house which didn't seem to have a closing time so there was a lot of noise and light even at midnight. I think if they close that at 10pm like most other places I've stayed in, it would be better and less noisy.

    Was upgraded to a caravan which was a brilliant experience. They are situated on a hill above the Lake Hāwea Hotel and so the views were stunning too! The staff were amazing and so incredibly helpful, I would stay here again in a heartbeat 👍

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    5.8
    Great scenery, shame about the kitchen
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The kitchen and sitting room, which is used by the campers as well as the hostel guests is disgustingly dirty. The outside lounge area was in a poor state of repair with broken chairs and hadn't been swept since Adam was a lad. The bins were overflowing with rubbish. The bathrooms, also shared with the campers, are inadequate for so many people, with only two toilets and three showers for ladies and the same for gents. The laundry has only one washing machine.

    The room was clean. It had a sink and wardrobe. There is a discount in the bar for a limited selection of food (none of it vegetarian) and drink. The area is stunningly beautiful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    6.3
    Would have been excellent if we were taken care of properly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door to our room would not lock, we told two seperate ladies at reception and we were told several times that ‘they will just call the maintenance man and he will fix it right away’ the door was never fixed and it was very uncomfortable leaving the room unattended. It’s such a shame because we would have very much enjoyed our stay otherwise.

    The view was lovely, the staff were very friendly and the $12 hostel meals were great!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    6.3
    Awesome! If you don’t mind facilities 👍
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small kitchen, little messy and bathroom , toilets dirty! Wi-fi can use only some spots.☹️

    Perfect location to stargazing and hiking also wake up with lake view and sunrise 😍👏

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    5.0
    Location was definitely a great one as it overlooks Lake...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The 4 bed room is quite small. The toilets are in a different building which is a bit inconvenient when it's raining, it's also dark at night so some people may not feel comfortable going alone although it's in close proximity.

    Location was definitely a great one as it overlooks Lake Hawea. the surrounding is quiet and away from busy roads.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    7.9
    Great for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the kitchen is small The kitchen and the bathrooms are not very clean

    The beds were very comfy in a two beds dorm. The view and the location are by far the best I have seen in NZ The staff is friendly and ready to help There is a big in site car park Extra tip, if you have a van and you can sleep in, the campground is only $12 for the night

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    4.6
    Bad experience, won't come again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Someone play guitar at 10:45pm, and more still cooking that made noisy to us staying in the room near kitchen. We advised the guys there and they even made louder than before on purpose. Terrible experience. Some vehicles parked just in front of the sighs of no parking. Bad management of this hostel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    5.8
    Nice location, there is a distance between wanaka n lake...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no light inside female bathroom, even though now is summer, daylight time is longer but customer might still need to go for toilet (backpacker area). Kitchen suggest install air vent. N compressor must Close during night time, coz we can’t sleep well due to the noise of the compressor.

    Nice location, there is a distance between wanaka n lake Hawea, but here is more quite location compare with wanaka

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.1
    Fine accommodation to see the beauty of Lake Hawea and Lake Wanaka
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't feel overly clean... the room could use some freshening up.

    Unable to find accommodation anywhere else so we booked this hostel based on location alone. My partner and I were very happy to be assigned to a 2-bed dorm for our one night stay. Lake Hawea & Wanaka were gorgeous and worth the trip!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.3
    Cheap dorm..Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet wasn't working well. There was a loud fan noise outside my room the whole night which made it hard to sleep (rm 22)

    Beautiful location by the lake. Well priced dorms. I got a 2bed dorm so only shared with 1 other person.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    6.7
    Decent hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wi-Fi didn't really work. The shower floors were concrete.

    The property is a hotel, hostel, restaurant, and bar all in one, and the bar and restaurant had decent priced specials for hostel guests.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    8.8
    Lovely place to stay. Good Wifi connection would be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-fi connection was very poor. While there is no mobile network coverage, no wi-fi made us to disconnected us from the rest of the world.

    Rooms were good and the view was excellent. We loved the bike riding provided by the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 – 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Lake Hawea Hostel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: