Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Novotel Rotorua Lakeside 4.5 stars

Tutanekai Street, Lake End, 3215 Rotorua, New Zealand

#45 of 88 hotels in Rotorua

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1094 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Paid WiFi

    6.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    5.4
    I have stayed at Novotel Rotorua in 2006, 2007, 2008 -it was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Double Beds Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I have stayed at Novotel Rotorua in 2006, 2007, 2008 -it was great-and September 2018-not great. There are small things that make a hotel stay great. For instance, now there is a annoying music coming from the restaurant starting at 6 AM. The music is loud enough to wake up everyone on the lake side of the hotel, where the rooms are more expensive. My suggestion to fix this issue and "make Novotel Rotorua great again" would be: 1. Install double glazing to all the rooms. 2. Remove the loud speakers that have been installed outside the restaurant. 3. Educate the hotel management what is the meaning of relaxing/soothing music, opposite of loud and irritating music. As far as I am concerned, the hotel doesn't provide the good value for money any more, unfortunately.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.2
    Loved the convenience of having the hot mineral pools in the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a long delay in cleaning our room on the 2nd day - not done until about 4pm. We had used the 4 bath towels and the one hand towel originally provided (showering and hot pools) and had used all the coffee and tea sachets when we left the hotel about 10:30 am for a walk around the town. We returned about noon and the room was not clean but we saw cleaners on our floor so we went out for lunch and another walk and got back about 3 pm and found the room still not done. About 3:30 we went down to sit in the bar with a drink and read our books for a while and thankfully it was done by the time we got back.

    The 6 thermal mineral pools of different temperatures were great. It was my reason for booking at this hotel and we used them once or twice a day during our stay. They were very relaxing and having so many meant as a couple we always had a pool to ourselves.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.9
    Location
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food....we were given very strange tasting vege's in our room. Tasted as if they'd been reheated. Served with eye fillet steak (overcooked) .......overpriced for its quality.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.9
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked for 2 adults, 2 children. When we arrived in our room there was 1 bed with a sofa lounge which wasn't made up and no sheets etc. Also the front desk was very busy and had to wait to check in for approx. 15mins.

    The location was handy to eat street. Breakfast was awesome and the kids loved the pool.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.5
    Good. I wouldn’t call it “value for money”, but would stay again as you can’t beat the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little run down and could use a facelift. The lifts are tiny and one was out of order. The rooms were nice but bathroom was poor (toilet stained and needed replacing).

    Excellent location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    6.7
    Clean comfortable bed, its lakeside location.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even motels provide with complimentary wifi these days, pay internet connections were rude considering its price and the star rate.... Spa pools were rather disappointingly small, cluttered with so~ much floating stuff, God know what those were, I quickly jumped out and check all other pools, they were all same.

    Clean comfortable bed, its lakeside location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    Happy customer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There honestly wasnt anything to complain about. If i was being super picky the carpark is really tight when full. A side entrance into the lobby would be great And the aircon in the room was a bit fidly.

    I liked everything! Staff were amazing. Wifi options were great. There was a safe in the room which puts your mind at ease. Bed super super soft. Really spacious comfy room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really wanted to be able to have a sauna. The front desk had no idea when the pool would be usable again and just said the saunas not going

    great Location very comfortable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.6
    Nice R&R
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom felt a bit dated and tired, but that was only a minor disappointment in an otherwise excellent stay.

    Rotorua Novotel is great, excellent location and wonderfully warm and clean facilities. The staff are super friendly and helpful - which made checking in a real pleasure. The breakfast is awesome, so much choice and all delicious. The make your own juice option was super. The jar of M&Ms on departure was a nice touch.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    6.3
    I had very important requests. Not carried out.
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom bath and shower curtain dated. Toilet in a bit of a state. Needs a new one. Not at all what i call a superior room at all appart from view. 2 people and only face cloth each day. No bath robes to go to pool. This is supposed to be 'superior' No its not.

    Nice view from lake view room. Bed very cosy. Room very clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.0
    Thoroughly enjoyed my stay just had a few hiccups.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air conditioning needs console upgrade cooler temps not available. Breakfast excellent but change tea services reconfigure this area. thank you..

    Rooms and utilities clean and tidy, could do with an upgrade on more comfortable and back improvement mattresses and base,. Loved decor on entrance Staff in all services EXCELLENT....great hotel .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.6
    The reception staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was filled with screaming children which made it feel like a food hall- maybe a separate area for families?

    The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was beautiful, spacious and clean. The bar was really lovely and the barman knowledgeable and friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    10
    We enjoyed our stay so much, we have decided to take the kids next time..
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smoking area/outside area under the cover didn't have comfy seating for bigger people..

    Bed was very comfy.. Atmosphere was nice.. The restaurant was really spacious and inviting.. Great selection of food/drinks for dinner and breakfast.. Good size gym.. Staff were very welcoming..

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.8
    Good facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately we got a view of the car park at the rear and not the beautiful lake, which was a shame. Ask for lake views when you book! 2% charge for using credit card..

    Clean, comfortable, gym and pool facilities. Free welcome drink which was very nice too. Really lovely bar for an evening drink and a warm up by the fire. Breakfast was good too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    Perfect hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is the perfect hotel - so close to East Street that you can pop on over, grab some food and then be back at the hotel. Loved the spa pools, was such a bonus to staying here. To top it off, the bed was amazing! Second time I have been here on business and will definitely be back to stay here with the family.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.9
    Great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the bathroom there was some discolouration on the roof, tile work & underneath the soap holder - when you bathed it wasn’t something I would expect to see in a high end high price hotel. Didn’t enjoy the shower curtain ~ was clean but it was personal preference to not have to have a shower over a bath with a curtain. When the room above used their water/toilet/plumbing we could hear the gushing of water if you were in the bathroom. Felt a little low end.

    Friendly staff & very inviting.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    8.8
    Generally great except for the TV's.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The quality of TV in the rooms was appalling and really let the experience down. They were low res and terrible hertz, especially as I was excited to watch the Rugby.

    Location was awesome as was the restaurant

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    6.3
    Okay stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was tiny for a hotel of this size, you’d expect something bigger from a place which can host so many guests. We went twice in one night to check if there was any space for us but it was over crowded. The Sauna had a “not working sign” and there was only one spa pool with jets big enough to fit four people... the other spa pools had no jets. Wifi is horrible, We paid for wifi ($10 a day) but it was worse than dial up you had to stand in the hallway outside the room for it to work - we did tell the reception staff and they gave our money back. No robes or slippers in our room... seemed a bit no frills.

    Central location... step out and your literally on eat street and the casual walk to the lake. Lovely staff at the breakfast bar and the buffet breakfast was good with lots to choose from.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    6.3
    Overpriced.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very overpriced. Hotels in the same price bracket in Auckland (SkyCity Grand etc) are vastly superior to this hotel.

    Clean and well located for town and the local attractions. The buffet was generous and good value for money. The room we stayed in 'superior' King room, was spacious.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    4.0
    Never come nova rotaruwa
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food , using raw meat , pan cakes on same grill , 50nzd for dinner , have not got any thing nice in thr, paid 350+ for room Derty old toilets , thr no space to get some fresh air for room , I paid 350 fr my room again hotel charge me 15 dollers internet, check out staff service is good who I met. Check in staff no good looks like she is tired of working in the hotel counter , first impression of the hotel 👎

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.8
    Is really central.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Wifi should be free and included in the price. As we stayed 6 nights we did get ours free which was awesome but I was surprised to see an extra charge for wifi. Breakfast was awesome but a little pricey for someone who doesn't eat much for breakfast. Fabulous if you are a big eater!

    Is really central. Wonderful how 'eat street' is just below so you can wander down if you are staying for a while. Loved our view of the lake from the room and so close by for a walk around it. We hired bikes and road around the lake which was fun! The thermal pools are lovely but noisey with the kids pool nearby.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.3
    Won't be staying, should be clear about the service going to provided for the amount what we pay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Double Beds Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When departing a lady was allowed to cut into the line while we were waiting Wifi connection was very bad Ac wasn't working properly Upon arrival we had a box pf near empty tissues Gym equipment wasn't very good Sauna was out of order for entire weekend

    Spa was nice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.1
    Not worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot pools were cold. No freezer in room for ice. Very noisy, hall way echoed from people up early no respect! To be honest the room was overpriced. Bed too soft along with pillows.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.5
    The location and spa facilities were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service and cleanliness of the bar was average. Would have been nice to have 2 chairs in the room, the rooms seemed a little small for a family.

    The location and spa facilities were excellent. The beds comfortable and rooms quiet.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.1
    Ok for a short stay, rooms are small with kids.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We didn't like the double beds ( too small) . The spas around the pool were not warm enough and looked a bit dirty. I watched people go to get in and then decide not to after inspecting them.

    We liked the breakfast, and closeness to eat street. The pool was good for the kids

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.8
    It was a disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Spa pool water was dirty with slimy bits floating in it making it unpleasant to sit in. Asked to pay extra 100 dollars upfront for extras like we would not pay our bill when checking out. Have to pay for WiFi but at motels guests are able to use it for free.

    The bed was comfortable and room clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.8
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible reception, they really failed epically. The last thing we needed after a long drive from Auckland and arriving late after dark, was to still hassle with simply getting the right room category they advertised- without the big inconvenience we seemed to be causing him...the appalling standards for welcome/ checkin service/attention from a ‘Manager’ at this hotel was hands down THE worst of any hotel we’ve ever stayed at!

    Location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.5
    Great location, nice room but hotel lacked a bit of maintenance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms were cleaned really late, sauna was nailed shut and hot pools were no the temperature they stated or were being filled.

    Great location close to everything.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    Was good location with stunning view of lake. It didn't meet our needs though
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Double Beds Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds not very comfortable. Pool too cold for winter swimming. Next time we'll be looking for a place with in room cooking and eating facilities and separate bedroom for our toddler, we struggled with this layout.

    Great fitness centre. Excellent location. Nice spa pool complex. Fantastic service from staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    4.6
    Bye bye Novotel, you've lost this customer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The most uncomfortable bed out of any hotel I've ever stayed in. The fold out sofa bed was more comfortable which is not acceptable in a room that cost $200-300 per night. Lake view (which we paid extra for) was minimal due to bad lay out of furnishings. Room was very hot, even with heating turned off and air con turned on in mid winter. Breakfast buffet and dinner were very average and not worth the price tag. Would not recommend to others and will not be staying there again.

    Staff were friendly enough and good location for shopping and restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.8
    Good room, good location & good facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minibar in room with glass door at floor level - created a lot of temptation for kids

    Pool & spa area, gym & restaurant good. Great location, very handy to restaurant & cafe strip & the heart of the town. Over the road from park with large kids playground and the lake.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.9
    Great location, helpful staff and comfy beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited movie channels at no charge ie sky movie channels. No inside light switch in bathroom. Breakfast was good but need to keep food warmer

    Comfy soft beds,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.3
    Good location,friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    being asked to pay $10 to use the Wi-Fi, after paying almost $300 for the night to use the Wi-Fi is absurd. If i use hotel again i won't be on a long weekend or school holidays. To many kids walking a round making to much noise. hot pools not inspected often enough as pieces of cotton etc from clothing floating around the smaller pools

    comfy bed, front line staff friendly & professional. Great variety of food for breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    6.7
    It was very nice but the odd thing made it not excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the food was cold. the lightt to the bathroom was on the outside of the door, so when turning on the light it woeke my partner. there should have been a ventilation go on automatically when opening the bathroom door. there was no demister over the bathroom window. I did not appreciate $100 being deducted from my credit card, even though it was returned the next day.

    the bed was comfy and the room very clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.9
    It is a good hotel with the best view of the lake and nearby eateries.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. The rooms are dated. 2. We missed our tour. They told our tour guide we were not registered there.

    1. The location is the best! 2. Rooms are big 3. I slept well. Beds and pillows are comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Amazing
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When the cleaning stuff forgot to stock up our towels and bathroom products...The person was new though.

    The staff were amazing. I was in Rotorua for a marathon and found out on the day that my sister had passed away. The staff shows empathy and went out of their way to comfort me and made sure that my husband and I were OK. It's the staff that makes the hotel. Thank you for making my stay so warm and comfortable. God bless you all

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    The staff were really friendly and neat to talk with.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant staff clearing tables weren't very on the ball and didn't remove dirty dishes from the tables in general.

    The staff were really friendly and neat to talk with.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable stay. Will stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower over the bath with curtain is out dated. The cost of our stay @ $271 was not value for money in our opinion.

    The receptionist who checked us out was exceptionally efficient, helpful and pleasant. Especially as she was a trainee and had only been in the job for one month!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.8
    Great Lake Views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Yes I know Rotorua smells and I am not sure if it was the air conditioning filter turning off or the in hotel thermal baths smelling during the night but for some reason the smell was really bad late at night, early hours of the morning, but the rest of the time the hotel smelt fine. Cleaning staff very thorough but slow at getting around.

    Great room, good size, great view of the lake, breakfast was excellent lots of choice, friendly and helpful staff, hotel was clean with good facilities. Close to (walking) the CBD for shopping, park, lake and a great selection of restaurants if you are looking for options.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    6.3
    It was pleasant..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was so soft and had manger roll together we never got much sleep...there was no English breakfast tea and the shampoo sample had been used. Not a fan of shower over baths either.. with having a sore knee... We went to the restaurant and the service was shocking front of house and chief..not friendly at all!!!

    The view , location....

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    4.6
    Could of been a lot nicer if updated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not worth the money.. paid $200 for one night for a queen bed which was 2 singles pushed together. Need renovations asap it's so outdated.

    The staff were lovely!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    We will be back for sure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air con in our room was quite loud and had to be turned off to be able to sleep. The pastries in the breakfast buffet were stale both mornings and had been kept in the fridge. They should be fresh flakey pastry to taste good.

    The staff made us very welcome throughout our stay. We liked the way reception staff politely asked rude demanding guests to wait...well done ladies. It was both of our birthdays and bar staff treated us to a lovely complimentary glass of bubbles, and the restaurant staff sent a beautiful dessert with Happy Birthday written in chocolate on the plate, up to our room along with a birthday card! Fabulous surprise. We loved everything about our stay and wished it could’ve been longer. We will be back for sure. Loved the large spa towels and nice linen too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Scratching for something here but..hate the shower set up "wet room style". Wet floor in bathroom when you are trying to get ready to go out. Yuck.

    The staff were excellent. Nothing was a problem. Room was comfortable. And had a couch to relax on, not having to sit on the bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.8
    Very comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    TV could do with being upgraded to a smart TV. The shower water pressure wasn't as good as other hotels.

    Rooms were very nice. I had room 239 which faced the lake and was away from the lift at the end of the hallway so was very quiet. Bed was comfortable and having a couch in the room was nice to watch TV from.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    6.7
    good location & facilities for kids in school holidays
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Double Beds Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows didn't open, felt shut in especially with 4 of us in room. Needed more staff, not enough wait staff to clear tables or take drink orders or room cleaners. Room still unmade late in afternoon after we had been out all day.

    Friendly,helpful staff great with our kids. Great range of food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.5
    Comfy bed, good location, close to places to eat and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy bed, good location, close to places to eat and playground for kids. Heated indoor swimming pool is good for kids, where parents can enjoy geothermal spa at the same place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.5
    The breakfast was great and the beds were very comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Double Beds Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had no TV reception for our 3 day visit even though we reported it. Also our safe didn't work so we couldn't use it. We would have liked robes in our room. We thought our room was expensive compared to other comparable hotel stays in Rotorua, notably comparing it to the Millenium.

    The breakfast was great and the beds were very comfy. The geothermal pools were fantastic!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.6
    The room I was in had a disability shower, the design was...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room I was in had a disability shower, the design was good but badly needed full length shower curtain. When showering water went every where, meaning the entire floor was wet with no where to put your dry clothes.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    very nice, great spa in local hot spring, pleasant, and staff were very genuine and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    No natural air ventilation (fresh air in the room), it became a bit hot/stuffy for a family of 4, uncomfortable with no fresh air flow - this could be improved immensely; a separate kitchen to prepare simple foods for kids outside restaurant hrs will be great

    cleanliness, quiet, great to spa in natural Rotorua spring hot water, spacious foyer, great towel supply

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    The hotel exceeded itself - Had bouncy castles and movies...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel exceeded itself - Had bouncy castles and movies for the kids. Location was perfect - The restaurant precinct was right there. Couldn't ask for much more.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    6.7
    Great location and a comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower head was quite terrible, the food wasn't anything special. It seemed a bit overpriced compared to other places we've stayed.

    Great location and a comfy bed. Easy parking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Great location. Great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The old style shower curtain. And I had difficulty getting tap from bath to running shower. I had to get my husband to do it

    Comfy bed. Lovely and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.1
    Location and restaurants plus menu was awsome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were too hard. Tv was not going on and no free WiFi In the pool a stool was floating in the water

    Location and restaurants plus menu was awsome.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.5
    It was OK I guess
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room had a sucky shower, the toilet roll holders need changing real bad there was a broken seat in the room too. Huge put off for me.

    Facilities on offer to guest like the gym and spa were awesome, the staff were cool, close to alot of restaurants and eateries, close to city centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    8.5
    Excellent location. Service cannot be faulted. Buffet Dinner was divine!
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lid of the water filter for iron was broken and the wTer kept spouting out whilst ironing Tiles need to be steam cleaned as the grouting discoloured Felt the breakfast choice didn’t really have a good selection n didn’t really think it was value for money.

    Restaurant, Service and Staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being expected to pay for wi fi as everywhere else we stayed included it in price. Checkin was slow . No al a carte option for breakfast. We had breakfast and free wi fi at the restaurant nearer the lake.

    The bed was extremely comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.8
    Rooms are extremely comfortable and a good size
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathrooms could do with an upgrade and there needs to be more clearing staff in the restaurant in the morning as there were very few tables available that didn't have dirty plates, etc on them. Some customers were getting clean cutlery out of the drawer so that they could have their breakfast.

    Rooms are extremely comfortable and a good size

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.8
    Location, location, location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the rooms we got was a handicap room, which we didn't requested. The room wasn't as nice as the other room we booked. Handicap rooms are for people who really need it.

    Location, location, location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.6
    Great - will recommend to friends and stay again if in Rotorua!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Double Beds Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    If I was to be very picky: our room was rather underwhelming compared to the caliber of hotel amenities (pool, geothermal spa) - e.g. bathroom was a bit dated and no room numbers on doors (only paper signs).

    Staff were very friendly and professional - we requested room service, extra supplies, details regarding amenities etc. They were all very helpful + polite and definitely enhanced our stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    9.2
    Pool & small spa pools been dirty and we r stayed in...
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool & small spa pools been dirty and we r stayed in Novotel quite lots of time & we think it is time to upgrade hotel / carpet & furniture.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    8.3
    The beds were not comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were not comfy. We were disappointed that we had all gone down to the bar to watch cricket, where a lot of others were watching too! A couple wanted to watch the tennis so it was changed over and a lot of people left! It was pretty disappointing!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.2
    Welcoming and great location
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kitchen facilities such as oven etc...

    Bed comfy. Staff friendly. Great location, across the road from the markets and the lake. 1 minute walk to eat street.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    10
    An extra friendly, convenient and comfortable place to stay in Rotorua
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Novotel Lakeside Rotorua was in a fantastic location to take advantage of lake and park views, easy free parking, conveniently near Eat St restaurants and cafes. We arrived very tired after a long day of driving and received a very warm welcome by front of house staff member (Grayson) who instantly brightened our day, firstly with his smile and friendly attitude, then with an upgrade and complimentary bottle of wine when we explained we were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary. He was helpful in suggesting we prepay for breakfast on checkin at a cheaper rate and offered his favourite Eat st restaurant recommendations. The room was comfortable & clean as we have always found at Novotel hotels. Breakfast at the in-house Atlas restaurant was lovely and the staff there were also extra friendly. The mini glass milk bottles with many types of milk were a fun novelty! On checkout we were also pleasantly surprised with a parting gift of a jar of MnM chocolates from the lovely lady at Reception. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone planning to stay in Rotorua.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    8.3
    We had good day in Rotorua.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was old and tired the toilet needed descaling it was very badly marked. The carpet in our room was very grubby some food trodden into the carpet it needed cleaning. There were several long hairs in the bathroom and a smaller one on my bed.

    the location good close to town etc

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    5.8
    OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom needed updating. It felt old and unclean. The restaurant was stuffy and hot and the hot food in the buffet was not very good. The cafe across the street was much better.

    The location was excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    8.8
    Location, location, location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms were a little small and staff was not as knowledgeable about local attractions as I typically find in tourist areas.

    Great location. Rooms were a little tight for a family, but acceptable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    5.8
    Perfect location, clean & acceptable breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could be much more helpful especially during check in. However I have to say after our below average check in experience we spoke with another guy at the reception who was extremely helpful and friendly.

    Perfect location, clean & acceptable breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location, central to everything, loved the hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Double Beds Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, central to everything, loved the hotel facilities and the staff was very helpful and professional, my family is planning to go back, definitely staying at the Novotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant but rooms very small and breakfast time was just too busy and understaffed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Double Beds Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a nightmare , very understaffed. We had to stand waiting every morning for a table to be cleared and ended up cleaning our own table as did many people around us. Hire more staff if you are going to be at full occupancy. Our 9 year old son Asked if he could help the waitress he was so concerned she was busy and stressed . Staff were very polite and patient consi the stress they were under.

    Staff were very friendly and the hotel was very clean. Fab location!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    5.4
    Not very impressed - needs to be refurbished.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The arm chair in our room was ripped and everything just felt a little dirty.... Most of the staff were ok, but when I questioned a charge, the man at the desk told me that he had already explained it to me...... well, if he had, I didn't hear him and frankly, he didn't need to say that and we were given the wrong room on check in... We wouldn't stay there again.

    This hotel was just ok........ I'm really sorry to have to say that it is now very tired and run down.... Parking is easy, the air con is good, location great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    10
    Comfort whilst travelling
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower head should be replaced with hand held showers. Need more washing machine and dryers. Mistral fans in bathroom to prevent steam build up. Tiles around the inside of the spa needs a scrub.

    Fabulous location walking distance to so many shops park and more. Staff helpful friendly and accomadating. Buffett breakfast had a great selection. Nice pool. Laundry facilites. Are stay was too short. Will come back.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    6.7
    Great location and friendly staff, bar down stairs...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are overpriced for what they are, ours hadn’t been vacuumed from the last people and floor in bathroom not flash, $10 per day for wifi is rediculous

    Great location and friendly staff, bar down stairs reasonably priced, awesome street across the road for food

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.6
    Convenient and comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the bathroom could be undated.

    Comfy beds, central location. Breakfast was great. Enjoyed a dip in the geothermal pools at the hotel. Staff were very friendly at reception.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.2
    Excelent choice in Rotorua
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excelent location. Nice gym and a friedly pool. The breakfast is very good and full of options. The Hotel staff is always trying to help and in a good mood. The room we had did not have a view of the lake but it was large and comfortable. There is a street full of restaurants from different cuisines just across the Hotel. The Hotel also rents bikes which was a good option to go to the Gondola and to The Redwoods Forest.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    7.1
    Great location, clean, convenient, nice toiletries
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small double bed, more like big singles. Expensive Wi-Fi. Single glass windows result in high street facing rooms exposed to noise on Fridays and Saturdays while bars are open.

    Great location, clean, convenient, nice toiletries

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: