Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Maple Lodge Luxury Bed & Breakfast 5 stars

56 Halliday Road, 9382 Wanaka, New Zealand

#12 of 21 B&Bs and Inns in Wanaka

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 46 B&B reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 56

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.2
    Great stay overall. Would come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast selection was great but food was not "gourmet" (taste was a bit lacking for me). Didn't socialize much with the owner other than to ask questions, but some people might like that. I personally like it when the B&B manager is more personable and friendly.

    Loved the location; it was remote but yet close to downtown Wanaka. Beautiful property and views and hot tub was delightful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    8.8
    Peaceful and very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everyone staying at accommodation had to sit together on one table for breakfast. It felt like we were at school and you could see that some people were uncomfortable

    Very tranquil location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.6
    My wife and I thought it was excellent, would definitely recommend it and would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing really we didn't like, I was unsure about our room being next to a communal toilet, but it was not used, and I am unsure as to when it would be used given the rooms are all en-suite. Initially I thought it was too far out of Wanaka, but actually it worked well.

    Our room was excellent, very spacious, bed and bed linen very comfortable, great shower, we loved it, and thought had been put into the little things, even shoe cleaning, great attention to detail.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    6.7
    There are better places around Wanaka.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The atmosphere is like in a youth hostel. The host is friendly but super strict and now warm at all. On a Sunday morning loud music on the floor made it impossible to sleep out. From a B&B that claims to be "luxury" we had expected something complete different.

    The rooms are very clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    8.3
    Nice clean place for stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not feeling that they couldn’t wait to get you off from breakfast.

    Nice, clean stopover for the night. Everything felt fresh and the gardens were beautifully kept.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    10
    A very pleasant and comfortable stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had a very pleasant and comfortable stay at Maple Lodge with my elder son and my husband. What impressed me most was the boss, Charlotte, such a nice lady who helped me a lot after I incautiously lost my wallet at a view sight. Her hospitality left an enduring impress on my life. Besides, the lovely garden and the delicious breakfast are also highly recommended!!! Do spend your holidays at this lodge, I believe you will enjoy your stay as I did!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    8.5
    The host was lovely and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nobody on site when we arrived. Were not able to get into room until after 4pm and left by 8 the next morning. A bit out of the town - would of been nicer closer to lake

    The host was lovely and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    6.7
    Clean, efficient but no frills
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some breakfast were not available and no fresh fruit only canned on the second day. Service was a bit less personal than other B & B’s

    Liked the setting, clean and efficient.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    8.8
    A cosy and quiet place for couples who want to be away from the crowd.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was rather basic. Better to stay away from the low-quality mountain bikes which are available free of charge.

    Friendly staff. Very comfortable bed. Excellent shower. Nice place with a great nature view.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    9.6
    Amongst the maple trees
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Country atmosphere. Quiet. Great hosts. Couldn't do enough for you without being invasive. Room comfortable. Just a lovely place to stay and wish it had been longer.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    10
    Breakfast had adequate choises but superb quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast had adequate choises but superb quality.. our room was very quiet, the bedding was comfortable, the room attractively decorated.Very nice and interesting hosts. A very nice visit

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    8.8
    Very peaceful location with lovely views of Autumn leaves and background mountains
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nil

    A very quiet and peaceful location with a short drive to town centre, cafes and restaurants. Very comfortable and excellent room and lounge facilities. Very friendly and helpful hosts.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    7.1
    Nice, but too expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet didn't work in the room and no FPOS facility. Whilst the accommodation was very nice, it's 'luxury' status and location did not justify the price tag.

    Afternoon tea and scones were a very pleasant surprise, and the best aspect of the stay. The accommodation was nice and scrupulously clean.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    7.1
    Gutted hot tub was broke !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was exspensive as I wasn't informed that the hot tub was currently being fixed waiting for parts , and that was the sole reason for are booking , otherwise seemed pricey for out of town !

    the stay was fantantasic great host and very clean and great food and grounds perfect !

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    10
    Gorgeous, stunning views in a very friendly atmosphere !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The physical facility was clean and beautiful and grounds were stunning ! Breakfast was lovely and the overall feeling was relaxing and accommodating ! The owners were extremely helpful with both suggestions of what to do in the area and what to eat ! Lovely time.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    7.5
    Pit-stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bit odd, felt a bit like an old people's home than a motel.

    It was fine for an overnight stop. We slept and left, did not have breakfast as we left early.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    An emmaculate place to stay, beautiful surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was so peaceful being just outside Wanaka and at the start of a stunning walk along the river.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a boutique lodge it has very average food. Expected more than lacklustre hotel type breakfast. Shame. Decor rather dated.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.6
    Charlotte was the perfect host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Charlotte was the perfect host.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    9.6
    Beautifully renovated, acres of gorgeous land
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautifully renovated, acres of gorgeous land

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    Wonderful property, with fantastic views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wonderful property, with fantastic views! Very welcoming hosts. Great breakfast and fantastic afternoon tea home made scones

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.2
    Quiet and picturesque place, helpful hosts, delicious...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet and picturesque place, helpful hosts, delicious breakfast. Especially recommended in April as the trees look amazing.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    10
    Really relaxing and comfortable stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    cannot think of anything..?

    All the details have been carefully thought about and to be welcomed with tea and scones is a rare treat!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    10
    wonderful oasis after busy days!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to stay longer for next visit!

    The place was so clean and tidy, but also, the hosts were so caring...

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    8.8
    Very Nice !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little out og town

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    9.2
    unforgettable hospitality by Landlord Paul
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    unforgettable hospitality by Landlord Paul

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    10
    Staying at Maple Lodge was the highlight of our vacation on the South Island.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beautiful location. Wonderful lodge. Gracious hosts.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    10
    Simply stunning
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the scones n coffee on arrival. Lovely hosts n beautiful BnB.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    7.1
    British couple did not have Kiwi hospitality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    British couple did not have Kiwi hospitality.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    10
    The place to stay in Manaka
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personal yet professional reception. Everything is perfect. Rooms very comfortable with beautiful views. Not far from town and quiet

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    10
    Maple trees, lambs and a lovely home
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Property was beautiful! Room had all of the extra touches. Hosts were absolutely lovely! You are welcomed into their home.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    9.6
    The scones &plunger coffee were a nice touch and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Once we got used to the few K's drive out of town we loved the peace & quiet.

    The scones &plunger coffee were a nice touch and the warm bathroom floor very fetching!

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    7.9
    Very good bed and pillows.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very small thing - 'make-up' face cloth was quite smelly and just a hint of that also on pillowcases. I know this can be hard when dealing with large amounts of linen.

    Very good bed and pillows. Home made muesli was fabulous. Paul and Berny extremely helpful.

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2016

    9.6
    The attention to detail, unsurpassed hospitality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was a fridge in the kitchen down the hall but it would have been great to have a small one in the room. This is a very small point to make in what was a fantastic stay.

    The attention to detail, unsurpassed hospitality. especially complimentary afternoon tea with a freshly baked delight! These hosts clearly loved people and did their very best to make our stay perfect.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    8.8
    Lovely outdoor area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A small fridge in our bedroom would have been an advantage. Two communal fridges were very small. Did not receive shower soap etc each day.

    Lovely outdoor area. Obliging hosts. Comfortable bed. Great breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2015

    10
    Paul made us feel very welcome, and greeted us with a much...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Paul made us feel very welcome, and greeted us with a much appreciated cuppa and fabulous home made scones. The facilities are excellent and the views from our bedrooms were beautiful! Our breakfast was freshly prepared and delightful. Thank you for being super hosts!

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    10
    Tea and home made scones and jam on arrival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tea and home made scones and jam on arrival. Very comfortable room with patio to outdoor cushioned seating on lawn. Beautiful room, perfect bed and facilities. Breakfast cooked as ordered. Genial, friendly and ever so helpful host and hostess (owners).

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    10
    A wonderful homestay property, where everything has been...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    A wonderful homestay property, where everything has been carefully thought through and planned. Owners Paul & Bernie are very friendly and helpful and can't do enough to provide great service. We will tell our friends and will definitely be back.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    8.3
    The surroundings were beautiful, nice room and common area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    An overpriced taxi ride from town. Also someone had been in our room an moved our things while we were out for dinner, which we really didn't like. We had to request the bathrobes. There were generally much older couples staying there and we felt quite out of place.

    The surroundings were beautiful, nice room and common area. Good shower. Nice afternoon tea. Great scrambled eggs for breakfast but the pancakes and bacon were undercooked.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    9.6
    The hosts were very helpful and if you appeared in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I would have liked to be able to make my own tea rather than depend on the hosts.

    The hosts were very helpful and if you appeared in the resident sitting room one or other would appear to offer tea or coffee. The glass of wine before going out for dinner was a nice touch. The hot tub in the lovely gardens was lovely.

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2015

    10
    On arrival early evening a welcoming tray of nibbles and a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    On arrival early evening a welcoming tray of nibbles and a glass of wine. Excellent breakfast. Beautiful location. Excellent shower. Attention to detail in very way.

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2015

    5.4
    The husband
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hostess was unwelcoming. Did not know that the main exhibition at the Wanaka museum had closed. The promised pre-dinner drinks did not materialise. The award winning muffins at breakfast were ghastly

    The husband

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    9.6
    the place is spotlessly clean , room and bed is very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the place is spotlessly clean , room and bed is very comfortable. fantastic breakfast and the owners are very welcoming and just can't do enough to make the stay pleasurable, not to far from town but far enough away to make you feel like you are on holiday from everything

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    10
    Friendly owners/managers
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Friendly owners/managers Breakfast was amazing! Rooms were beautiful and beds were super comfy. Very good value for $.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    10
    everything about the stay was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    everything about the stay was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    9.6
    Lovely hosts who seemed genuinely interested in our needs...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Lovely hosts who seemed genuinely interested in our needs and comfort. Will stay again

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2016

    10
    Beautiful location, lovely room (really comfy bed), classy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful location, lovely room (really comfy bed), classy decor and excellent breakfasts (cooked & continental)

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2016

    10
    Bernie and Paul excellent friendly and helpful hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything was great.

    Bernie and Paul excellent friendly and helpful hosts.

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2016

    10
    Very smart and well appointed rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Very smart and well appointed rooms. Really friendly and helpful hosts with fine breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    10
    Great location just outside of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location just outside of town. Great hosts and room with patio overlooking beautiful properly. Also outdoor hot tub.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    10
    The whole experience was first class
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The whole experience was first class

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2015

    8.3
    Lovely welcome and amazing views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely welcome and amazing views

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    10
    Very welcoming hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very welcoming hosts.Serene spot

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2015

    10
    Breakfast was a standout!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was a standout!

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2015

    8.3
    Breakfast like home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast like home.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2015

    9.2
    Welcoming friendly couple, beautiful room use of hot tub...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Welcoming friendly couple, beautiful room use of hot tub available and a wonderful breakfast. Superb

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 56

Guests also reviewed these properties: