Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. New Zealand hotel reviews
  3. Wellington hotel reviews
  4. Wellington hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of QT Wellington

Reviews of QT Wellington This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

90 Cable Street, 6011 Wellington, New Zealand

#8 of 60 hotels in Wellington

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1678 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2018

    9.0
    Superb location, excellent facilities, good choice for the buffet breakfast, very attentive staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • QT Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was spacious and comfortable, some minor repair work is needed to the kitchen cupboards to re-tighten the hinges, and veneer trim next to fridge needs glueing but overall the experience was great.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    9.6
    Everything was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • QT Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beer list is a bit sad for a place like this. Welly has loads of great local brewers to source your beverages from.

    Everything was great.Great place. Nice staff.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    7.5
    Very nice furnishing and comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • QT Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cleaning was not done properly did not change sheets, did change towels, and no refills for coffee or tea until we request for it

    Very nice furnishing and comfortable bed

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2018

    10
    Just a great experience all round
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • QT Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn’t stay long enough :(

    Amazing place!! Can’t speak high enough about it.... everything was fantastic ... loved the art... the rooms ... the bathrooms

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2018

    7.9
    I wouldn’t stay here again, we’ve been charged for things that they can’t explain & won’t refund us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • QT Harbor View King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were terrible, we got some random charges on our credit card after we settled our bill. We called the hotel to find out what they were they said they didn’t know and would get back to us - they never have. We have tried several times since to get answers but they either ignore us, or we get the same response that they don’t know what the charges are for! They’ve refused to refund us - pretty disgusting really. Based on that I would not recommend anyone stay here.

    The decor is cool

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    8.8
    Lovely night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • QT Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast!!! this was not nice at all for the amount of money paid but besides the price which by the way the breakfast was included it was still not acceptable, don't usually like to have buffet breakfast at hotels but must say this was disappointing you need to up your game on this side of the business, it all looked presentable in the big crock pots ceramic, but thats where it ended. My husband even had to wait 10 min for his toast and I had finished my cereal by the time he had arrived back with toast, and I dished up brekfast but did not end up eating not nice sorry.

    The Hotel was quirky and interesting the bar area was good, loved how the staff were dressed. Loved the furnishings in the rooms.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    9.2
    Style and comfort combine
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • QT Gallery King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The WiFi was awfully slow.

    I had one of the recently refurbished rooms on the fourth floor so that was a nice surprise. These rooms have an art gallery and a piece of genuine original art by New Zealand artists in the room. So I love coming to the QT Museum because of the beautiful art in the corridors and this time it was in my room. The room as ever was comfortable and incredibly stylish with a double shower in the bathroom. I had breakfast which was reasonably priced I.e cafe price so not that usual excess you get at hotels and the coffee was good. It was just an overnight for work so I didn’t get to use an extended checkout but one day I will as I love relaxing in this hotel.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    10
    Quirky and original hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • QT Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Car parking was a little expensive, but probably cheaper than we would have paid in Auckland.

    We travelled to Wellington for the Armistice Day service and to visit Te Papa. I knew my husband especially would enjoy the quirkiness of this hotel but didn't realise when I booked it that it was in the perfect location, opposite Te Papa and only a 10 minute walk to the main shopping streets. We had afternoon tea at the hotel and it was delicious. The staff were friendly and informative.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    10
    Amazing place outside and in the thought that has gone into presenting such a special place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • QT Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing is bad about this Hotels room and its facilities i guess if i had to say one thing i got woken by a ambulance a couple of times in the night

    Such a well appointed room everything so neatly stored and very walkable to the CBD charming staff very helpful and the Art collection is fantastic would strongly recommend to stay at QT especially when the Chinese Warriors are on display at Te Papa which is just across the road

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    6.3
    Have stayed at better for much less!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • QT Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Inefficient check-in. Bathroom design is appalling, leaky shower. Housekeeping was atrocious, inconsistent replacement of coffee/bathroom products/towels. Staff were generally apathetic towards guests. The lobby bar is a disaster area and the attached restaurant/bar is great if you want to be in bed by 9.30pm

    Struggling here - I guess the location was good.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2018

    9.6
    Great weekend in Wellington
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • QT Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The toilet paper was thin - please don’t put cheap toilet paper in your hotel

    The room provided us with everything we required and was within walking distance to central Wellington

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2018

    9.6
    Very artsy hotel, the lobby, restaurant and even the rooms...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • QT Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very artsy hotel, the lobby, restaurant and even the rooms were very extravagantly decorated. which gave it an extraordinary feel. the enormous jet bathtub was a great bonus though a little difficult to opperate. the breakfast buffet was very nice and well cared for.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2018

    8.8
    Really cool and artsy place with lovely rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • QT Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom of our room was a real downer as it seemed to be out of an older generation of the hotel

    Really cool and artsy place with lovely rooms. Great location within the city.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    10
    Great Hotel In Wellington - Fantastic Luxury at an amazing price!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • QT Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic and very interesting hotel - Lots of great art everywhere gives you the atmosphere of extravagance without the pricetag. Room is lovely, great bed, super bathroom, and little luxuries like robes in the closet. Will always try to stay here when in Wellington.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2018

    8.8
    Excellent, art-inspired hotel in central Wellington.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • QT Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only objection was the number of mirrors - there are so many in the room and bathroom you could witness every bodily act possible.

    Overnight stay at QT in a king room for leisure. The hotel is near Courtney Place, Te Papa, the waterfront, Michael Fowler Centre and Oriental Parade. The staff were very friendly and helpful with particular mention for the restaurant team and sommelier. There are two restaurants on site - great Asian flavours at Hot Sauce and delicious French at Hippopotamus which has an extensive wine list and degustation option. Room was quiet with a comfortable bed and there is a fantastic collection of art on display. One of few hotels in Wellington that I would stay at twice.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 24, 2018

    9.2
    The atmosphere of the hotel was really unique with all the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • QT Gallery King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The atmosphere of the hotel was really unique with all the art. The bed was amazingly comfortable and the bathtub was amazing. I also used the sauna which was very relaxing. Overall it was a great place to relax in the midst of an intense travel schedule. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2018

    10
    Location was fantastic, and we particularly enjoyed the...
    • Couple
    • QT Harbourview Gallery King
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Probably only down side was no smart tv to allow us to log into Netflix etc.

    Location was fantastic, and we particularly enjoyed the balcony. Room was spacious, bed really comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    8.8
    Loved the quirky art work.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • QT Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom. Nowhere in shower to put toiletries, face cloth etc except on the floor. Dark corridors and generally poor lighting in guest areas.

    The staff were brilliant. Excellent charging points. No need to use adapters as USB sockets by the bed. Restaurant location was great with harbour views.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    6.3
    Gotta try it.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • QT Harbourview Gallery King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Continued from where I left off... I met with Garth the GM of the hotel to voice my concerns. I felt listened to and a genuine apology was given with a full refund of my accommodation nights stayed Also offered to have the room until my flight departed latter that afternoon Emailed a personal letter to Garth thanking him and advising that we will be returning. In the end a lot of constructive criticism but I also complimented his consierge team they were amazing.

    The art was great, valet service was exceptional, great response on any issues attended to even though it was frequently repeated. Location and harbour balcony views.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    7.9
    Was really enjoyable, may have been nice if it had a steam/sauna, health spa?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • QT Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thought the rooms were really small, the air con unit was really old and shabby didn't really suit the high end look to the room. Hippopotamus was way to over priced for what it was, which was very dissapointing

    The art was fab! Had always wanted to stay here.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    8.8
    Make sure to ask for the nicer rooms at the waterside part of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • QT Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You have to ask to get the nice room., the other half of the hotel faces the downtown area and lacks the charm finishes that QT brand promises; it’s even serviced by a separate elevator- you might as well stay at cheaper motor inns, plus the view of downtown traffic on lower floors is depressing. The plus side is that if you ask nicely and if available, they might move you to the other side where the rooms are refurbished with the quirky arty rooms and possibly some water vista. It’s a world apart and I hope that QT fixes the other side and tell staff that unless it’s booked out, try and house guests on the nicer side otherwise, it may be a huge disappointment!

    Central, unique and charming hotel

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasing. Loved all the art around the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • QT Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The wine list should have included some more reasonably priced wines, in line with the cuisine.

    Lovely quiet room with a view, close to the restaurant. Enjoyed a wonderful meal with a great vista.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    9.2
    Most amazing hotel with epic artwork.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • QT Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Quite pricey though probably nicer than other hotels of a similar price.

    Most amazing hotel with epic artwork. The staff were so friendly & looked like they enjoyed their jobs. I particularly liked their uniforms because they weren’t traditional & clinical like other hotels.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    9.2
    Very classy place to be in Wellington, an expereince.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • QT Gallery King
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My door handle was really stiff and Ihad to go down stairs one night as the door did not open, but a good wrench on the handle was what it needed, so I did that for the rest of my stay and it was ok, R 423.

    The whole experience brilliant, mini bar items were great, purchase the shoe horn, very quirky and fun place to stay.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    10
    Splendid, luxurious, tasteful, comfortable, and relaxing.....................
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • QT Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing at all

    The décor was superb, the room was gorgeous, very tastefully decorated, modern and stylish. NIce added touches - eg ornaments, and we were also upgraded to a studio. The bathroom products were great also. The hotel itself was very stylish with NZ artwork including sculptures and paintings very tastefully decorated with ambient lighting. Staff very friendly and helpful, we dined in the Hippopotamus restaurant - excellent experience - will definitely return and recommend to friends and family.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    10
    Great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • QT Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Good location opposite Te Papa museum and easy to get to ferry for Picton. Good sized room. Comfortable large bed. Room really nicely furnished- better than expected for price. Very quiet.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    8.3
    Stay was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • QT Harbor View King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom wasn't clean, although this was acted on quickly when I complained. I found the lack of powerpoints easily accessible a problem when we all travel with multiple devices that need charging and also the lack of hooks or rails for hanging towels in the bathroom. Bench space was tight if you wanted to boil the jug rather than use the Nespresso machine.

    Proximity to waterfront and town was great. Room was comfortable and surprisingly quiet, even though it faced the main street. Staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    10
    Amazing rooms, great location and staff excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • QT Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The staff were very welcoming and our room (painted by artist DSIDE) was beautiful and very comfortable. Great view, and everything about the hotel interesting and a little bit different, will definitely return.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    10
    A great hotel, well presented with excellent service in a great location !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • QT Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bar fridge in room was faulty and coffee in room was problematic due unavailability of coffee pods

    The creativity of the interior design as well as the detail and quality of room presentation

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    9.6
    Loved the rooms and funkiness of the decor. Will come back again.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • QT Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Annoying that your room card didn’t allow access to the other section. Had other part of party and friends in apartments and couldn’t access their rooms. This was also the block where the pool and gym was so had to get another swipe card. I feel, as a guest you should be able to access the hotels facilities without having to carry several cards.

    Great location, fantastic first impressions with the art, friendly people and bright trendy uniforms. A very moody dramatic area which sets the scene. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2018

    9.6
    Wandering through this hotel is like walking through a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • QT Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Try to get a deal with this one as the rooms can be pricey. Valet parking only at thirty per night adds up on a stay.

    Wandering through this hotel is like walking through a museum. The walls are adorned with art, most of it wield, but it just seems right her. Great location, handy for downtown. Breakfast room is a restaurant and cocktail bar at night and has fantastic views of the harbour. Downstairs bar was quiet and the barman had no problems mixing off menu cocktails for us. Loved this hotel.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    10
    Thanks we will come again and have already recommended you to friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • QT Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hmm,,,umm??

    art work amazing ,staff very obliging ,pleasant and friendly. I am extra fussy about cleanliness and I found the bathroom and bedding was spotless.Breakfast in the restaurant was superb and the view while dining was an extra bonus!!!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    7.9
    Super stylish, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • QT Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff were lovely but service was disappointing- our room never got made up all weekend, Room service only had one dish available at 11pm, our bill was wrong and concierge lost a document they said would deliver to our room, which was a bummer when staying at a nice hotel.

    Beautiful rooms, AMAZING art, comfy bed, great location - would stay again!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    6.3
    Room very small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • QT Harbor View King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room very small. Balcony nothing like others. Wouldn’t pay balcony price for this room 441. Not been disappointed with this hotel before but to be honest I wouldn’t return if this room was the balcony option especially at $450 a night.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    10
    Efficient, cheerful, professional, easy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • QT Superior King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Missing desk in the room (so not easy for working)...but a spare table was kindly provided on the day of my arrival

    Modern art environment, close to everything, breakfast, bed comfort, quiet, staff

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2018

    7.1
    Facilities all good but found the requirement that your room...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • QT Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Facilities all good but found the requirement that your room needed to be "checked" prior to checking out demeaning. This was the first time this has happened to me and as a consequence I wont be back.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2018

    7.9
    Nice Hotel close to the Waterfront.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • QT Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no Internet in my room. Several staff members came to the room but could not fix the problem. Breakfast should have been included.

    The Hotel Room was very comfortable and had a washing machine, dishwasher, microwave and small kitchen. There was a safe also. The location was very close to the waterfront and Museum. It was about 10 minute walk to the shopping area.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2018

    8.8
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • QT Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff in reception/bar area struggled to cope at busy times. Had to wait 10mins at the bar because all staff were checking in new guests

    Great location. Interesting decor.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2018

    10
    Deco, room, staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • QT Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was a good experience, lovely property and helpful staff. Just a shame they implement the small-minded policy of adding a charge for paying by credit card.

    Deco, room, staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2018

    7.5
    Hopping for more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • QT Harbor View King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel has some construction works In progress. In the window of our room there was a scaffold that took all our view away and nobody told us previously. We paid for a better view. The hotel offered us 2 drinks in the bar to compensate but spirituous drinks or off limits which we only know at the bar.

    The location was very good. Enjoyed very much The works of art trough out the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2018

    7.5
    Great week end.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • QT Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit noisy because of the big street that my room was facing. Outside of the building on refurbishement so can't enjoy the great view of the marina.

    Very design hotel, great facilities and so close to the main attractions. Great food and good service. Will come back !

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2018

    6.7
    Overall nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • QT Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff member serving breakfast was quite abrupt and wouldn't listen when I tried to explain breakfast was included in our room rate. I basically had to argue with her before she would look into it further.

    The rooms were decorated really nice and the staff on the front desk and concierge were really nice and helpful

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2018

    7.1
    First time in Wellington
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • QT Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dissapointed as I chose to upgrade to a room with a lounge and there was no sofa? Also no movie choices. My partner was unfortunately sick throughout our stay - our first few days away together in a long time and we had made a special trip to see Wellington as he had never been before. Our only choice was the one movie playing on channel 33.

    Spa pool and pool and our suite 509 was spacious and quiet

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    10
    Amazing, unique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • QT Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing!!! Was awesome

    The staff, the history, the art work & quirkinesses. What a great hotel. We will definitely be back. Came down just for a night away. Have contemplated staying at the hotel before and for whatever reason didn’t. So glad we did this time. We were advised to try their restaurant hot sauce. If you like Asian fusion this is a must!!! Delicious food and a great atmosphere. The location of the hotel is also great, so close to everything! Thanks for a great night away. :)

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    8.8
    Lovely room. Artwork was amazing, so close to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • QT Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Reception staff were not very helpful. Didn't explain where the room was or how to use the tag on the lifts. Cleaning staff came to the room 4 times. One cleaner walked straight in.

    Comfy bed and nice waterfall shower head.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2018

    10
    A great night had by us all.
    • Group
    • QT Harbor View King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was our Anniversary. We had dinner at the Hippopotamus restaurant which was fabulous as always, we had breakfast there as well and that was great. This is our favourite hotel to stay in Wellington.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2018

    10
    WOW - Out of the ordinary
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • QT Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Impossible to improve on this! Even the sun shone.

    Stunning artwork makes QT standout from the usual hotel chains which are all smart but interchangeable. QT is unique from the moment you arrive at the concierge. Great fun & great staff. Close to the magnificent waterfront a bonus.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    9.2
    Love this hotel with it's interesting art, fantastic location, comfort and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • QT Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We enjoyed the breakfast but staff were very busy and it's served in a small area which struggled to manage large volumes. Food selection was good however.

    The art here is amazing, my 5 year old thought it was fantastic having so many interesting things everywhere in the hotel. Room was very comfy and clean, black out curtains worked well and it was quiet. Loved having the 11am check out.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2018

    10
    Great stay, recommend highly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • QT Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only negative was the size of the tub,not very environmentally friendly.

    The staff were great, the upgrade was very nice and I will definitely return, thanks

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • QT Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast was nicely presented fresh and nutritious! I would go back for the breakfast and the location is great for exploring Wellington! Lovely comfortable bed!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2018

    9.6
    Great venue , ideal location but room does not live up to the visual evpiectstion from rest of hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • QT Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The coffee unit is great but to have only two large ‘ builders mugs’ from which to drink from is unpleasant. You should have two nice smaller coffee cups . I also think the room could continue the art theme with a nice piece of art and maybe something to make the room stand out . The room is bland and does not fulfill expectation

    Bed was excellent , shower powerful and Bose ststem by bed superb.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2018

    9.2
    Intriguing artwork and decor, lovely and inviting ambiance...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • QT Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Just a small issue with the lighting in the bathroom, it was too dark to see well when trying to do makeup etc., especially when you’re already short sighted! Otherwise, no complaints 😊

    Intriguing artwork and decor, lovely and inviting ambiance throughout, particularly in the lobby and lounge area. Very clean and comfortable. Staff were very friendly and professional. Location was great and still an easy walk to the shops on Lambton Quay.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2018

    10
    The highlight of our week away!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • QT Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loved every thing about this Hotel from the black decor, the amazing colourful art, the great helpful staff and the most wonderful Hippopotamus restaurant & cocktail bar! And a really comfortable bed.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2018

    7.5
    Good location if you like walking, close to waterfront. Quirky boutique style
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • QT Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The building is undergoing refurbishments and if we had known we would not have stayed there. It is noisy and there is scaffolding and netting around the building and we were still charged full rate. The rooms we had were not as nice as expected and very tired in appearance.

    The bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    5.8
    Slightly disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • QT Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lack of cleanliness and maintenance of the room. The lack of attention to detail eg finger prints on mirrors and the tea pot was grubby and just needed a clean.

    Location, location, location. The art within the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    9.6
    Stunning modern hotel for art lovers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • QT Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very modern and luxurious room, with lots of well-considered fine details. We were well looked after by staff, and they were very friendly. The on-site restaurant is fantastic.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2018

    9.2
    Will go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • QT Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Love this hotel the rooms are large and airy, every where there are amazing paintings and the overall ambiance is funky and cool. breakfast in the Hiippotamas bar was lovely and very gracious Our bed was a little soft for my liking but as we checked out I noted a delivery of about 50 new beds to maybe we just got the change

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2018

    6.3
    Our Hippopotamus experience ( twice) ruined our trip and let’s down the rest of a competent team
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • QT Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Female maître d’hôtel in Hippopotamus unprofessional and has no idea of customer service. Stayed for 3 nights and she ruined the trip for us with her rude manner. She should not be in hospitality industry, has no idea how to run a restaurant. Booked at 7.30 first night , ordered by 7.46, main not served until 10. My mother (79) too tired to eat. High tea food and service good but we returned with friends (5) for dessert on 3rd night to be told we couldn’t have a table and we had to sit in the bar. There were tables spare the whole time. We were also told we could only have a restricted menu. When I approached maître d’hôtel to request table seeing as several free she responded to me in a rude dismissive manner without apology. We travel frequently and she lets your whole organisation down. Washing machine broken in room but porter used initiative took care of washing for us which was terrific

    The art was outstanding. Nicholas in Hippopotamus restaurant was exceptional. Location great. Hot sauce food and staff supurb

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2018

    6.3
    Great location and chic decor, quirky artworks giving it a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • QT Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Found a blooded plaster on the bed sheet which means it wasn’t changed after the previous guest. The hotel only offered a late check-out as a gesture of goodwill? Should not have happened at that price

    Great location and chic decor, quirky artworks giving it a great boutique vibe

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2018

    9.6
    Great location, and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • QT Harbor View King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately our balcony was obstructed slightly by scaffolding as the hotel is undergoing some outside refurbishment. But lovely room nonetheless.

    Great location, and friendly staff. The hotel is centrally located and beautifully decorated. One of the nicest rooms to have breakfast in :) Good sized room, and really comfy bed. I loved the black robes.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2018

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • QT Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wasn't 100% clean, couple things broken in the room. Attention to the fine details is expected considering the cost of staying here.

    Great location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    8.3
    This was an expensive one night stay that didn't quite meet our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • QT Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couln't get into the dining room except for breakfast- not the special night out we had planned.When I rang the night before we arrived to book into the restaurant for the night of our stay I was put on hold and after 8 minutes was cut off!! No booking made. The apartment was dark and moody (gloomy)- hard to read even with bedside lights on. A portion of one of the walls was obviously being repaired as it was partly painted white while rest was a beige colour. The classy hide pillow on the bed had a massive stain( spilt chocolate drink?) on the reverse side.

    The art work is amazing. I borrowed the guide book from reception and read it before my exploration of the hotel art collection and found it all very interesting. The apartment was ready at 10.30 on our arrival in Wellington.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    10
    We have stayed at the Museum many times over the years when...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • QT Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have stayed at the Museum many times over the years when our kids studied in Wellington. However we haven't been to Wellington for several years. We wondered if things had changed since the change in ownership and we were pleased to discover that it was as good as we remember it. We particularly love the location. Our daughter was in a play at CIRCA. The day & night we were there the weather was miserable and so we were glad we didn't have to go far. The beds are comfy, the window glazing shuts out the traffic noise . . . Gary appreciates the little gym and the pool. I appreciate the nespresso machines. The Museum was the first hotel I ever stayed in to have nespresso machines. I've always wanted to eat at Hippo . . . and hope some day I will. I guess the proximity of restaurants has always distracted us. Thanks. roseanne

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2018

    2.5
    Disgusting and embarrassing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • QT Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Where to start We got upgraded to room 420 , right next to the restaurant and a floor door , the smell from the restaurant came straight into the room - in the room it had a small table and one chair and some random light sittting in the corner We needed a A&E doctor and the staff couldn’t find one so we had to arrange The Concierge was great but told us he could only call Wellington combined, we wanted Uber - I use to the this hotel 10 years ago with my business and have been over seas , so thought would show my wife - what a mistake- certainly not what I expected- There were renovation happening outside , no body mentioned this when booking -

    I can honestly say for the first time in my life nothing positive

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    6.7
    Decor ambience, really cool place.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • QT Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Left cot in room for single travellers, my friends got better information on there check in and treatment. Great place just wasn't feeling the love. Coffee in the bar was extremely bitter, barista training would help.

    Decor ambience, really cool place. Late check out option

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    10
    Amazing place to stay when in Wellington! Friendly team and a stunning hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • QT Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really.

    We always love staying at QT when in Wellington. The team are super friendly and personable, especially Laura on this occasion, who is a superstar! Our room was comfortable and stylish as always, and the hotel is in a great location - close to Te Papa and plenty of the top in town.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2018

    7.5
    Good central location, ‘different’ hotel, not standard, not great on Sundays.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • QT Harbor View King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Seemed understaffed on front desk and cafe. Sunday morning breakfast was disastrous- tables not cleared or set up, no hot food ready, few staff, had to go find our own coffee ... Room 230 would not recommend as the coffee machine is above and hear the bangs of emptying coffee grounds from machine frequently into the night. Shower is unusual in that there is nowhere to put soap etc! Check in is 3; which is unusually late.

    Art works all through hotel were interesting. Breakfast restaurant was good except for Sunday. Position is perfect for visiting Te Papa Museum and waterfront walks. Views amazing across harbour - shame there is scaffolding at present on front. Nice to have Nexppresso machine in room to make proper coffee.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2018

    9.2
    Sometimes a unique-looking hotel is what you need to add a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • QT Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sometimes a unique-looking hotel is what you need to add a little something to your travels. Taking a break from the normal [US] chains to stay in an art-gallery-like hotel was visually inspiring and was comfortable too. Great location and helpful staff... it was easy to get to the museum, ferry, cable car, Cuba st, and other shopping. The room was very comfortable (was upgraded to an apartment since it was off season, which was a nice surprise) and it was awesome to have the kitchenette, laundry, and jacuzzi tub options in the room (for such a lengthy holiday trip, we took advantage of these offerings!) definitely recommend this one.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2018

    7.9
    good location , nice hotel
    • Couple
    • QT Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom too dark. could not see to put makeup on. air con would not work but they did move us to another room straight away.

    bed comfy. room decor. staff,

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2018

    10
    Great relaxing time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • QT Harbor View King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom was pathetic. No heated mirror, no shelf in shower for shampoo etc, no coat hooks for clothes, bath too small for 2, faucet right over your thigh. Towel rail too small and not heated.

    View comfy bed, helpful staff, tea and Nespresso, location and loved the art and Hot Sauce restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2018

    7.5
    Incredible art
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • QT Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The tv signal was terrible they were having problems with damage to the equipment on the roof with all the work going on but would of expected them to fix it was out for two of the three day we were there. The sky Chanel's still worked but couldn't watch the local news.

    The staff were very friendly and the hotel art is amazing. It's close to te Papa and eateries.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2018

    8.3
    Great modern hotel near Wellington's waterfront. Slightly more polish would make it world class.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • QT Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In the Hotel side, there were limited TV channels (particularly for kids) and no DVD player. The room service menu was a little limited. Staff could have been more polished.

    Clean well appointed rooms, great bathroom and bed. Friendly welcoming staff and stylish, modern interiors. Cosy bath robes.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2018

    10
    Best location money can buy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • QT Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We arrived on the late/early flight into Wellington. Greeted with a nightcap port..got given the late 1pm check out. Most comfortable sleep quite clean and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2018

    10
    Loved the dark walls, the art, the private, quiet, quirky...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • QT Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/a

    Loved the dark walls, the art, the private, quiet, quirky comfortable room. It was wonderful being able to relax in a bath before falling into the very cosy king size bed. The room was a quiet, luxurious sanctuary in the middle of a busy city. It was so easy to walk along the water front, shop or enjoy any of the close cafes. I will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2018

    10
    The room was so hot - air conditioner just would not working...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • QT Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was so hot - air conditioner just would not working properly on the last night - we told them at check out and they discounted our phone bill. very friendly at the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: