Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Nomads Capital Backpackers - Wellington 4 stars

118 Wakefield Street, 6011 Wellington, New Zealand

#33 of 54 hotels in Wellington

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 846 hostel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Paid WiFi

    4.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom (10 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much! There was an annoying snoring man but that can’t be helped sometimes.

    Really nice hostel, perfect location and the staff were really lovely and helpful! Met some lovely people as well!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom (10 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No baggage lockers were available in 4 bed room

    Included dinner was very good. Got a huge bed in 4 bed room instead of booked 10 bedroom, a welcome surprise:)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    too noisy, due to other guests and that our room was opposite the lift and a very heavy noisy door (301) was woken several times during the night by other guests coming and going. Also a bit cold. An extra blanket would have been good. And the sound of a dripping tap or pipe coming from the floor upstairs.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower drain was blocked. Bunks did not have their own power/reading lights. Too many bunks for size of room. No coffee plungers in the kitchen

    En suite. Meals. Location. Price

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom (8 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff weren't very friendly or approachable which was a shame and set a negative atmosphere on arriving at the hostel. The girl that checked me in barely made eye contact and gave me a key to a room that was full. I went back down and told her, she acted irritated and eventually put me in a different room. The staff in Blend bar were more friendly. The shower didn't drain and I kept having to stop my shower, wait for some water to go down and then carry on which was annoying. The duvet covers weren't clean and had stains on them. The rooms themselves were ok - heater wasn't very effective and turns on and off all the time.

    The location was perfect, everything in walking distance.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were uncomfortable and very loud when you only moved a bit, the bed smelled like mold, one bathroom smelled like puke all the time. Nobody told me that there was a dinner next door. I had to ask for it. They put me in a room only with guys that were working in Wellington...

    Very central

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was lumpy, blood on the duvet. Paper thin duvet no blanket for winter time. heater was too noisey, shower tray flooded, bathroom extraction fan didn't work.

    central location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were okay, but not very welcoming & forgot to tell me about breakfast and wifi options. Once i realised i didn't have free wifi i went downstairs to pay for the paid wifi and then when I got back to my room there was no signal for the wifi I'd just paid for. The heater was up high on the wall and I had to move chairs around to reach it and turn it on - probably a safety hazard, also the heater was not big enough to heat the whole room.

    Room was clean & tidy. Location ideal - only a 5 minute walk from an airport flyer bus stop.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room itself was nice, just what we needed for sleeping purposes only. What wasn’t ideal was the cleanliness of the room, it was extremely dirty with hair all up the bathroom walls, the rubbish bin unemptied from the last guests or two, among other cleanliness issues. We did bring it up with reception which they were apologetic for which was appreciated, and hopefully our comments were passed on to the cleaning staff. I have got photos but have chosen not to attach them at this time.

    The staff were absolutely amazing, due to some delays we didn’t arrive until 1.30am but the friendly person on reception was attentive. Any questions we had they were quick to help with and were friendly and approachable. The location was amazing, we loved the fact we were right in town and could walk everywhere we needed to go. I would stay again with no hesitations but would be making sure the room was clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom (10 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    But all about the worst thing is old kitchen facilities. For me it seems like none of staffs try to keep it clean.

    My bed got one graded up cuz i checked in quit late . Anyway room condition was nice.location is not controversial.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    "Breakfast including" was really bad joke - you can try to fight with another 40 people for space to cook pancakes ( only one useful pan and 4 cooker ) if you like have a tea or coffee, you must wait for boiling water almost 30 minutes ( only one kettle for all guests in kitchen ). If you use heater in room - it's melting TV ( yes heater is upon TV, and plastic smells really bad ). When we check-in girl behind the reception told us more than 10 times how long day she have, that she is too tired, that they have too many guests, she was totally confused and everything take long time...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - pop music from downtairs being a big noice, can't sleep all night. - no free wifi, so sad.

    - high-tech security, safety. - big and clean shower room, good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Last morning at about 3am many bottles were emptied into a recycling bin. It was so loud that my wife woke up and couldn’t sleep again. She ended up watching ‘Last of the Mohicans’ on TV😡

    Easy to check in and out

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom (8 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was not great, it didn't drain properly and as a result it was always overflowing. Could have been cleaner. Seems a bit mad paying for WiFi in the capital city too when we didn't have to anywhere else on the North Island. Staff were helpful but could have been more friendly.

    Great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Television was not working, after three attempts only partly. No plug in handbasin. Rubbish bin left just inside door, and fell over it. Would have been nice to have had glasses in room instead of drinking water from our hands.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to make your own pancakes in the morning. Kind of a bummer if you wake up thinking there would be a bunch of hot pancakes ready to munch when you have to cook them first..

    Its a nomads, partyhostel. Nothing special

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom (8 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I only wanted to spend one night in the nomads and ended up with three! The location is ideal it is not too far to most important spots. The rooms are clean, the kitchen is well equipped, the common spaces are comfy and the courtyard is nice to hang out. The pancakes in the morning were deeeeeelicious and really something different from the usual toast - jam - oats - standard - breakfast. Also the fact that they provided milk for the free coffee and tea was something I really appreciated. The staff was always friendly and happy to help, especially Ralph/Eric/Pete (what is your real name man ?! :D). I would definitely stay here again !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom (10 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    I came in very late - so hard to rate my stay, apart from the fact that I was on a top bunk - the ladder is extremely difficult to negotiate when there is a shelf that protrudes out !!! - in my room this was the case with all of the bunk beds ...

    Reception staff were friendly and helpful - nice and quiet all good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise at night was unacceptable from my lovely window which opened onto the street but had a tour party leaving in the middle of the night who needed to shout and take photos for some time. timing of tours could be reconsidered. Staff could ask tours to keep the noise down.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is near hellish and the pub next door stops you from getting a restfull night. Wifi is just awful. Thought its already included in what we paid for.

    Staff are very nice and approachable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom (8 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The worst mattress I’ve slept on in over three months of travel. Bathrooms are cramped and the whole place needs a refurb. The beds shake and are so squeaky it’s beyond irritating, WiFi is pathetic and there is a fee!

    Spacious hostel and with a great location. Free “meal” and cheap bar next door. Friendly staff who were really helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was by far the best hostel I’ve been in - nothing not to like!

    The 4 bed room with an en suite bathroom was incredibly comfortable. The place was clean and had plenty of room to store bags and stuff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom (8 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -No activities (jam night/ trivia night/ karaoke/ pub crawl/ games night), other than expensive excursions -Wifi costs $4/day, but very slow, and unable to post short video clips on fb -8-bed mixed dorm room hot and smelled foul - fan made only slight improvement

    Great location, clean bathrooms

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room faced out onto Wakefield street with only one window. This meant that the room was very noisy. Plumbing (drain) in shower not working (for the second time in the same room). No glasses in room.

    Self contained double room available when others were not. Price reasonable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TO MANY KIDS! There were some groups of 16 years old and they cought all the common erea zone. The kitchen was VERY small. According to what I got- TOO EXPENSIVE. they need to lower the price to 45.

    Location, good facilities in the doorms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom (10 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Marketed Wifi and breakfast in the facilities but wifi isn't actually free and breakfast consist in a pre-made pancake batter... Common areas aren't very welcoming and lacks of tables or couch.... Also in the bedroom it's really hot/humide and overwhelming, you can turn on the fan but then it's noisy so you don't sleep that well. And the bedroom was located above the pub, which you can hear the music from...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 4 buck wifi was a waste of money and i used my own data. Was a bit cold as I couldn't reach to turn heater on at wall. Too short in my chair to reach.

    Really good accessible room as I am in wheelchair

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds were super squeaky!!! The staff could not answer any question about parking around the Hostel. Wifi with an extra pay. Have to make your own pancakes for breakfast, absolute mess in the kitchen.

    Location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The included breakfast was a pancake mux you have to make on your own and share with all other hotel guests, so we skipped that... Staff was not really helpful and a bit rude - extra fees for internet - no free parking or 24 hour paid parking close by

    great location clean room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom (10 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The matrass was doing a lot of noise when moving on it.

    Really nice place to stay, everything was correct and I slept very well. The free light meal and the pancakes were perfect.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The private Bathroom curtain not big enough to cover the shower space, making the bathroom wet through. My room is just above the outdoor area outside the kitchen, so need to bear the noise until around late night.

    Well equipped common kitchen. Convenient Location. Near town. Staff is good and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was way too hot at night, the only way to cool it down was to open the window and let in all the street noise and insects. Some sort of cooling system would have made the stay excellent rather than good.

    Great free dinner offer. Right next door. This is excellent. Fantastic location. Very well organised, friendly staff. Very clean room (double with ensuite). Comfortable beds and bed linen.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a single Double, both beds didn't had any clean sheets. Bathroom was not cleaned (soap and hair). Towls smeled like Sand :)

    Staff was helpfull, patient and competent! Good location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom (8 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room I stayed in was horrible - no airflow whatsoever, it absolutely stunk of feet and dirty clothes and felt about 50 degrees in there, the mattress was uncomfortable (you could feel the springs) and the bathrooms opposite weren't very clean

    Good location right in the centre, the free meal in the evening was nice when I managed to get it, although I accidentally missed the pancakes in the morning since they finish at 9 (I thought 10 for some reason), which I think is a little early for breakfast to finish, the staff were nice though and let me cancel one day that I'd booked by mistake, despite booking.com saying I couldn't cancel without paying

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of my towels was dirty on arrival. Left out for HK, was taken but not replaced. Only one spare socket in room which cannot be used if tv plugged in so had to charge appliances in bathroom. Couldn’t leave charging when out as electric shuts off. School children running corridors screaming from 7am, staff dealt with this as soon as brought to their attention tho. Curtains too small for windows so blocked out little light.

    Nice staff, great location. Has a lift which is always appreciated!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom (10 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Depending on your room and the weather, you can be placed near the street where all the clubs and bars are... and therefore very noisy until 2 or 3 am

    Clean, the staff, the location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom (10 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty kitchen, small kitchen, not enough toilets/showers, no free wifi (although close to cbd free wifi)

    Good location (close to Te Papa), clean bathrooms, friendly staff, space in the rooms

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Almost everything. Overal, it is not worth the money they ask for a bed! Don't be tricked by the free breakfast. You need to cook your own breakfast!

    The lobby was the only thing I liked about the place.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I don't like that the bed sheets there aren't white as you can't tell how clean or how dirty they are. The duvet looks quite dirty as well and a lot of dust accumulated in the duvet. It's noisy at night and the bed was really soft hence the sleep quality wasn't the best. The pillows were also quite old and used. Hair dryer not provided hence it's a hassle for those who showers late. The toilet weren't clean and is mouldy. The carpet in room was dirty to be stepped on barefooted, hence bring a pair of jandals/slippers if you've decided to stay here. Wi-Fi not provided, even though I paid $130 per night for an ensuite room.

    Body lotion is provided in the ensuite room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were like a sauna even when it was not hot. Unsleepable conditions. No fans. Unable to open the window. Dont stay here if u want a lack of oxygen in the room! 62 dollars was a rip off for a crap dorm and no sleep. Free breakfast and dinner was bad. Loud banging doors also all night long

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were comfy, best hostel bed I've had since being in the country. 2 Pillows are a luxury. Shared and en suite showers were clean and good to use. Location was great, close to everything you need; shops, bars, museums.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom (10 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No atmosphere, really difficult but meet people as everyone kept to themselves. They desperately need better ventilation in the rooms, it's far too hot.

    Great location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom (8 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately our stay was ruined by a loud snorer in the room but this cannot be helped.

    Enjoyed the free breakfast, evening meal and tea/coffee! Staff were very helpful when booking tours and friendly throughout.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom (10 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The English male manager was extremely rude - Dealbreaker. Learn how to communicate in a non-aggressive way buddy; you’re supposed to be in customer service.

    Location, 24 hour check-in

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom (8 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very hot which made for a poor nights sleep unfortunately. I had a room round the back which was above the bar so was quite loud with the window open

    The staff were really helpful with booking a taxi to the airport, luggage storage and allowing me to swap rooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom (8 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately my whole experience here was ruined by the lack of air conditioning and ventilation in very overheated dorms. Both times I've stayed here I have become sick due to this. The second time I had to cancel the remaining three nights without getting my money back and go elsewhere, because I otherwise had no chance of recovery.

    Most staff friendly enough quite cool other guests

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom (10 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - rooms: no ac, a very loud and old fan, smells bad in the dorms, very hot in the dorms - kitchen: dirty, bad equipment for cooking - wifi: no free wifi

    central location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom (10 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The kitchen cleaning staff was quite moody and grumpy, complained quite a bit, tried to throw away my fresh food even though it was clearly labeled, etc. Wouldn't allow quiet music at the meal tables, even though the whole table approved it. The mood of everyone in that area was "be quiet, let's not piss her off." In general that was the only downside of my experience. Having said that, she kept the kitchen clean like a madwoman. That was nice.

    Loved the location, very clean and well-maintained, and the front desk staff were fantastic.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen a little small and crowded for size of hostel You have to pay for wifi which is poor for 2017 when it’s free in bars and restaurants.

    Room had enough space (stayed in deluxe twin). Staff were friendly and helpful. Location was excellent

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom (10 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    10 bed dorm room only has a small window. Very stuffy and smelly due to lacked of ventilation. A very dusty big fan is blowing directly at some beds instead of facing the ceiling to create air circulation. Poorly designed and managed. Website described strong signal of internet but did not mentioned had to pay for an expensive price of $4/day

    Good location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy, up to 3 am in the morning. Lift not working, no one to assist with the luggages.

    Location is great, in front of tourists information center

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV in room didn't work, no bathmat in bathroom and standard single bed was a bit small, 3 levels of stairs to get to room!

    Location was fantastic and staff were really awesome.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom (10 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The need to use card for electricity because for a dorm room, you are roommate with strangers and to me, it is awkward to ask them to use their own card if i wanted to go out or something like that. Quite noisy if you are in level 1 as the bar was just nearby.

    Good hostel for backpackers. I would definitely recommend staying here. The dorm room is quite spacious.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom (10 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were pretty moody and nothingy, which I think is usually one of the most important things in a hostel. Made me feel underwhelmed on arrival and then didn’t improve. Kitchen needs spounges, didn’t trust things to be washed up properly.

    Was fine for a couple of nights - good location, not bad but not great either Nice that there are beanbags and a living room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Elevator only went to 2nd floor. Had to carry suitcases up stairs to 3rd floor. Having arthritis makes it very difficult. website said elevator would go to 3rd floor. Not hotel fault but Thursday night very noisy with pub next door. May want to be prepared if staying on nights traditionally pub nights.

    The location was amazing, walking distance to everything. The bed was very comfortable. The shower had really good pressure. The room was very clean and comfortable

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom (8 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A couple of the rooms were a bit dark but that can't be helped. Also the free dinner was pretty much the same every night, but it was free so can't complain

    The staff were so lovely and friendly and remembered everyone's names which was a really nice touch.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom (10 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The free pancakes for breakfast were not advised to be first come first served however once the batter was finished they did not make more so I missed out

    The free evening meal was a good bonus

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom (10 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not a horrible place, but... I had a bad experience with all the receptionnists working/volunteering there. They were just rude/bored. Some people don't care about that, but for me, they just made me feel really unwelcome from the moment I stepped into the place. I still think it's an ok place to stay while in Wellington because the average quality of hostels there seems to be low. The wifi (which you have to pay for) doesn't work in the rooms. The power outlets in the rooms are just totally unreachable, this is not a joke, unless you want to crawl over a bed where someone's sleeping, or crawl under the bed, if you're small enough for that.

    The location is good and the bathrooms are clean. Nice living room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom (10 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit loud the last night but not the other nights so I guess it was a one-off.

    Nice staff and good free light meal every night (5:30-6:30pm) at the bar next door. Located in the center of Wellington. Reception 24hrs.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom (10 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not cool to pay for WIFI at the Hostel, not so many common areas, and the policies (dry hostel, no alcohol inside) of the hostel will make it harder for you to meet other travelers staying there. Otherwise

    The hostel was very fresh and clean all the times, specially the bathrooms. Staff very friendly and helpful and the location is PERFECT! Walking distance for almost eveything

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom (10 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet is expensive - 5 dollars per day. No fresh air in the rooms because of no ventilation, one small window in the room is always open but not enough for 10 people.

    It's located in the centeral but still not noisy place. Free dinner, free coffee and tea. Has that "hostel" vibe.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen was way too small for everyone to cook in, and there was barely enough space to put your food somewhere. The TV was right next to the kitchen so it was almost impossible to watch tv or a movie because of the noise.

    The beds were comfy and in the morning great free pancakes! The bathrooms were clean and the hostel is closeby a supermarket and the the Papa Museum.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Always seems to have a total lack of spoons in the kitchen, but plenty of other utensils. Also had an amusing but sleepless night with a roommate alternately drunkenly snoring and singing at the top of his lungs while sleeping. Not the fault of the property though ;)

    Clean, comfy bedding and friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi very expensive and really bad. Long queue in a small kitchen in the morning. Also a bit of noise from the bar.

    Well located. Clean and private bathroom in a 6 berths room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff who provides all the information needed to have a very good stay. Also well signed extra info in the bedroom. You can check out and they'll let you keep the luggage in the hostel afterwards.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    someone started singing and playing the guitar loudly at 8.30 am in the courtyard which woke us up, it was very loud, echoed and amplified by the small courtyard, and went on for 30 - 45 mins. In the end I had to open the window from our 3rd floor room and ask them to be quiet! I think someone from reception should have picked up on and dealt with this much sooner!

    real bonus if you're on a budget, they do a free light evening meal and morning pancakes.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its hard to fault a place like nomads.

    Another great stay for me at Nomads Wellington. The hostel is well located in the city with plenty of things to do in the area. The staff are always friendly and very helpful. The single room was very comfortable and the mattress was exceptional. Would happily stay again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom (10 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed wasnt clean (didnt change the cover over the bed), had roommates coming in and out of the room up until 3am (not even trying to be quiet/ slamming the door) Said it was a dry hostel but advertised the bar next door... :( Only spent one night here and wont be coming back

    Kitchen and living room had a lot of room and was quiet. The design of the hostel was nice and interesting.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only thing missing is free wifi.

    Free Pancake-Mix in the morning (plus sugar, marple sirup, lemon juice) is awsome. Nice staff. Clean rooms and bathroom. Very close to all the important sights in Wellington.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Could not rate this place higher- such a great stay. The staff were very friendly, the rooms were so clean, the showers were clean and the kitchen had everything you'd need. Great stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didnt stay the 2nd night at all because the main desk were so unwelcoming and rude. Sent our brother outside in the cold to call his own taxi said he couldnt come in with us. Didnt show us how to switch power on so were freezing and we didnt feel like we were treated with respect. Asked for a refund and were told no refunds.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful staff on reception when I checked in. The hostel's in an excellent location for exploring Wellington and is very secure.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a back packers, so don't expect much. We had a very small room with two bunk beds for the four of us to stay. There was a lot of noise from the street and the on-site bar below, into the early hours, so not much sleep achieved. Only stay here if you are on a tight budget, are young and open minded. We were rather older and only chose it because there was nothing else available on this sold out night in Wellington. Our back packing inexperience showed and we were treated to a fine display of inverse snobbery from the staff and guests.

    The location in the city centre is good, plus it is very cheap.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    However the free meals did not cater to gluten free diet requirements. They would not even let me switch the free meal i couldn't eat for fries (aka of a lesser value).

    Like the free meals.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You had to pay for towels and also leave a $10 deposit. Considering I paid over AUD$80 a night for a four bed dorm in a hostel I thought towels should be provided. I understand paying a deposit but to charge I thought was a little disappointing.

    Staff were super friendly and informative. All were working extremely hard and still giving great attention to each and every customer despite how busy it was due to The Lions tour being in town. My four bed dorm has a great ensuite and heater. Very clean and was easy to get some good rest.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Nomads Capital Backpackers - Wellington traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: