Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of 16 Northgate Motor Lodge 4 stars

16-18 Northgate, 4312 New Plymouth, New Zealand

#16 of 35 hotels in New Plymouth

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 376 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.2
    Welcoming reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Welcoming reception. Lodge is on a busy road but our unit was at the back of the property so no issues with traffic noise. Great value for money. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.6
    We were allowed to book in earlier then check in time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was happy with my service.

    We were allowed to book in earlier then check in time. Lady was friendly and helpful. It was close to city centre and the information book within the rooms were helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.5
    Worked out OK for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The street the motel is on is difficult, as it is essentially a one way system. This took a bit of practice to work out... the trick for us was to re-enter via the motel's back entry.

    Very helpful. Liked getting a New Plymouth map from the desk.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    7.9
    Good for a couple nights stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would prefer extractor fan/toilet spray for the toilet but do understand this place is trying to be eco. Perhaps an extractor fan instead of spray would be good in this case.

    Sky tv, clean, fresh milk, not a bad mini kitchen, quiet in the room at the back of the property. I would recommend asking for a back room if you book a queen suite, the ones near lemon street.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.8
    Upon arrival the wrong room was put aside, we were upgraded without question.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two single beds pushed side by side, bit firm for us

    Quality appliances, clean, warm, our spa towels and key were waiting at reception. Our room at front of property. we

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.8
    Good air conditioner.
    • Family with young children
    • Four-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Laundry in room. Nowhere to hang clothes. Nowhere to put bag or clothes on or in. No extractor fan in kitchen or bathroom. Broken lamps with no light bulb. This place is more airbnb than motel. Prices too high for a converted flat

    Good air conditioner. Great dishwasher.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Great stay overall. Would definitely stay again. A few little things for improvement.value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access to the room from parking spot was a bit confusing. Shower didn't drain entirely during shower. Pressure of shower could have been better. Light needed where suitcase and wardrobe are located.

    Bed was comfortable. Good space to place suitcase. Good kitchenette area. Heating was great. Cosy room with high ceiling. Fab location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.5
    No worries about staying at the Northgate again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My first night was not good as there was a strong strange smell and I had very little sleep. I didn't notice the smell initially until I woke about 11.30pm. I advised the owners the next morning and I moved to another unit. I'm a little disappointed I wasn't offered a discount for my first night.

    Cleanliness and comfort of the 2nd room that I moved to.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent, will definitely stay here again when in New Plymouth.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I didn't like was that the water from the shower leaked out on to the bathroom floor even when the shower door was closed. This resulted in a pool of water on the floor.

    The room was spacious and was close proximity to shops and the Girls High School. Enjoyed our stay, our home away from home.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice place in a nice place actually
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were preparing dinner and once done we found out that there is no place to sit down together and eat! A table would be really nice if you offer a fully equipped kitchen!

    The layout of the room was really nice and for a change the furniture not too dated. You are only a short walk from the water and the city with a wide range of stores and such.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    Happy to book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Men's bike offered to use had faulty seat and needed a service. Seat collapsed meaning a very uncomfortable ride

    Spacious room with comfy bed and good shower

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    Really enjoyed our weekend in New Plymouth, will stay again but not in the front units
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very noisy front units on a main road, however back units would probably be OK

    Walking distance to town, very handy to cycle tracks,Very comfortable bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.6
    Great apartment. Wonderful hosts. Fantastic location.
    • Family with young children
    • Four-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very homely apartment with all the necessities for a bigger group. Nice tidy studios. Wonderfully friendly hosts. Fantastic location. Easy 5min walk to city. 7km drive to airport.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.6
    Within walking distance of some eating places.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good.

    Within walking distance of some eating places. Well-appointed room with excellent facilities. Located on a busy main road, but the double glazing was extremely efficient at cutting out the traffic noise.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    10
    A very positive stay and accommodation we would recommend to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A warm welcome and accommodating host who managed to find us another room for our daughter during Cyclone Gita. Laundry facilities. Central location for the town, loved the museum. Everything clean and of good quality.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    Really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing at all.

    Great location - not far from waterfront, bars, restaurants and shops. Motel was excellent, no complaints at all. Had a very enjoyable weekend in New Plymouth.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    8.0
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Carpet needs a good clean. Loud music from the adjoining house (not the motel's fault). The bed was a little too soft for my liking.

    Good location. The room's fitting appeared to be relatively new and of a good quality.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    6.3
    Not good value for money. This apartment did not meet a 4.5 star rating or the 8/10 rating.
    • Family with young children
    • Four-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The furniture was tired. A bed side lamp did not have a bulb, the shade was shabby. Some of the window furnishings were not so good.

    The apartment was spacious.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    3.8
    Located on very busy road - be warned
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Motel located on an incredibly busy road and sound insulation very poor. Motels are usually located on roadsides but this was unusually busy and noise began very early. His accommodation more suited to those working rather than holidaymakers. Owner was indifferent to our request for a quiet room.

    Free washing machine and use of outdoor washing line

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Nice & quiet & good facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not that "i didn't like" but the beds were a little spongy, just a bit different to what I'm used to. I did sleep well while there however.

    Nice & quiet & good facilities.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    10
    Great value for money, sky +, clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a noisy Saturday nite party at a house next door, we had to call noise control, hopefully it was a once off

    Great value for money, sky +, clean and comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.2
    I was very pleased, and would happily stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Laundry facilities a bit limited, but ok.

    Good big room with kitchen and bathroom, friendly staff, convenient parking. Nice location - picturesque short walk to sea.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    9.2
    Great place to stay for Self-catering travelers, very central to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only downside was we were in a room near the front of the property and we could hear traffic noise from the busy main road. If we stayed again we would request a room further back from the road.

    The room and location were great, the staff friendly and helpful and it was a wonderful place to stay. We also borrowed bicycles which were in good repair and cycled along the Coastal Walkway. We received some great recommendations of what to do, as the weather was not so good for a couple of days. The shops are in walking distance and there are restaurants nearby, however we chose to do our own cooking and the facilities were fine for this. The cleaning staff were friendly and happy to come back later if we were not ready to go out.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    10
    Would be happy to return again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All good!

    Owners were super friendly and accommodating. Unit was clean, spacious and comfortable. Great on-site laundry facilities.We loved the large number of TV stations and the high quality flat screen TV. Would return in a heartbeat - in fact, three days later, we are back here and delighted.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    6.3
    Good location, comfortable, but we were not made to feel welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower leaked all over the toilet room floor. The toothbrush glass had had a previous owner and had toothpaste in the bottom. The lady on reception was irritated that we had arrived early and said it annoyed moteliers when people did that, even though we had offered to go away and return later if it were inconvenient. The microwave had power (the light came on), but did not heat any food. The knives were blunt. There were no microwave cooking bowls/dishes.

    Proximity to town. Comfy beds.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.9
    Close to town, river and coast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a problem as it was not explained that parks outside units were not designated caused upset with neighbours

    Close to town, river and coast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    Definitely more then i expected and we would highly recommend to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Super friendly management and staff who went the extra mile to make our stay exciting and comfortable. Clean rooms with nice furnishings. Excellent location. Free bike use. Informative resources available in room for food, sight seeing and activities available in New Plymouth. Was definitely more then i expected. We would highly recommend to others and will be using this Lodge for any further visits in the future.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Ideal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    n/a

    We stayed here while attending a family reunion, booking 3 units in total. Kitchen and bathroom facilities were great & sleeping requirements were well met. Location was central to requirements and staff were fantastic. Loved our stay. Would stay here again and would recommend to others.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    9.2
    A comfortable Christmas away from home.
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine

    We stayed over Christmas and the accommodation was ideal for our needs. We were able to use the barbecue for some of our meals, do our laundry, borrow bikes for a cycle along the seafront and the motel was suitably placed for visiting some of the main tourist spots including a light show in the local park. The owner was very helpful at all times. The room was clean and comfortable and had a kitchenette which we used throughout our stay. Good range of TV available too. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    6.7
    Nice place to stay. Thanks. Asked for a discount as 2 families staying..but no luck there,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seemed to be a little bother at desk with older lady unsure about the booking....had me worried for a few minutes??? Happened with our daughter Sharyn Johnson also. Then our daughter said she was just standing in... for her daughter.!!!

    Bed comfy

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    7.5
    Our unit was comfortable and had everything we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower leaked on to the floor - upstand on shower base is sloping in wrong direction so the water hits the door and flows out onto floor instead of back into the shower. Even though the owner knew there was a problem, it hadn't been fixed.

    Our unit was comfortable and had everything we needed. Unusual to have recordable sky hard drive to use.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    7.5
    Central location,tidy motel with clean comfortable interior.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great to have Bikes , New Plymouth has fantastic water front trails.but bike could do with a bit of service.

    Clean quiet motel. Super friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    5.4
    The location's pretty good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not very clean and we could even find stains in the toilet. The information of the room doesn't tell anything about its disadvantages (e.g.: noisy road). And i didn't feel it's staff is friendly at all (based on kiwi habit).

    The location's pretty good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    8.8
    Nothing in particular
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I only stayed one day as a result of the passing of a family friend and I had to cut my stay short, advising my hosts who showed understanding. However, I am very disappointed to find out that I have still been charged for 2 days!

    Nothing in particular

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    We were glad we stayed here for the whole of our time in New Plymouth for the Taranaki Grden Festiva
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit soft in spots and a small table and chairs would have been great.

    This motel is in a fabulous location close to everything in New Plymouth. Very clean and nice and airy, good bathroom and shower. Good laundry facilities for visitors, spa which we didn’t get around to using. Entry road is quite busy but has a convenient back entry. The wifi was the best we have had anywhere, and the lighting was good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    An A1 stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Although this is an older motel, the fittings and furnishings have been updated and modernised. We were to the back of the property, where it was very quiet and easy to park. A very handy location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.1
    Bed was comfy, despite the ancient shower mixer tap, the...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room had a foul fishy odour when we checked in: the kitchen sink was particularly putrid. It seems the room hadn't been used since the previous guest checked out 3 days previously but wouldn't you think the motel owner would just pop in and check everything was just so before the next guests arrive ? Apparently not... The motel was full so we couldn't be shifted into another room so my wife set to and did an amazing job defrosting the fridge, cleaning all the kitchen surfaces etc. Took hours... Room was fairly small. Road noise was bad too.

    Bed was comfy, despite the ancient shower mixer tap, the shower was very good. The 50 channel Sky TV was a bonus. Weather was very poor so we had a couple of great hot soaks - 39 degree C - in New Plymouth's excellent Aqua Centre.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.6
    Happy to stay again very comfortable bed and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking a bit tricky if you have a big vehicle or the people beside you park incorrectly

    Friendly and helpful staff ,excellent facilities and great folder of information

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    7.9
    The ready access to the CBD
    • Couple
    • Budget Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed. The mattress needs replacement. The support sags, causing roll-in to the middle of the bed. The pillows also could be firmer.

    The ready access to the CBD

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    7.9
    Enjoyed the stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No hair dryer in the room. shower door leaked all over the floor and the bathmat very sodden when finished showering. Would have been better if there was a table to have breakfast at.

    Location very good, parking very easy and the room comfortable. Bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.6
    Great accommodation at a great price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was no big deal but just odd. One bedside lamp didn't have any power outlet to plug into. Heat pump shared a power outlet with the toaster, using both at once tripped the circuit breaker.

    Very clean and well equipped, quiet, warm, comfortable bed, good shower pressure. Modern decor. Very convenient location. Entry and exit points on two streets. Free wi-fi was uncomplicated. Will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    comfortable overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was only one sachet of ground coffee for two people!!!!!

    we just stayed the one night to visit family, the motel was really handy to the family home and was neat clean and tidy. was easy to heat and cosy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    8.8
    Most convenient, friendly and comfortable - perfect for our purpose.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The person on reception when we arrived was not very welcoming and seemed disinterested compared to the operators whom we met later and who w3ere very engaging.

    Very comfortable beds and pillows. great heating.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    7.5
    The Motel was situated very close to where we were working.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Budget Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we couldn't access the laundry after 8 pm. We worked late some nights so this was slightly inconvenient

    The Motel was situated very close to where we were working. Also very close to supermarkets and other facilities we needed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    Comfortable secure and pleasant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was good

    Good sized room comfortable warm and clean. I arrived on a rainy evening after a tiring 6 hour drive and I was in my room within a couple of minutes settled in for the night. Despite being on a busy road the double glazing cut any street noise. Kitchen was well appointed with all I needed to prepare a meal.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    8.3
    Very comfy
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Business Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit noisy as on main road to city..shower needed repairs as squirting from above the rose head Poor lighting above work desk

    Very handy to city..very comfy unit

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable and very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Entry to property.

    Handy to city. There could be more advice on advertising this motel as the main entrance is from a main highway. and a back entry is available and much more accessible.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    8.3
    We arrived at approx 12.
    • Couple
    • Budget Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived at approx 12.30 - went to reception and said "I realise we are early, but wonder if our unit is ready?" reply -" yes you are early, we are actually having our lunch at the moment, we have been cleaning all morning and expect to have down time until about 2". Anyway, we did not stay there for the welcome and were very happy with our studio unit.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant staff, clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints

    We were upgraded to a room with tall ceilings when we requested ground floor apartment & that was appreciated. Received fresh milk for tea & coffee.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    8.8
    Staff were very helpful and unit was clean and refurbed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Staff were very helpful and unit was clean and refurbed. Would be nce to have a heated towel rack as I swim and is good for drying togs and also would lessen the need to replace towels daily.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    9.6
    Location was fab close to town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On a main road which might put people off but never bothered us at all

    Location was fab close to town. Check in lady...sorry didn't get her name couldn't have been more helpful. Lovely clean place

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    7.5
    The price was the best for the criteria I set.
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    minor issues were; the hot water temperature fluctuated whilst showering. and the bed had slightly uneven firmness.

    The price was the best for the criteria I set. the unit i was in was far from the road so it got nice and dark and was thoroughly quiet.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    7.1
    average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although it had been done up with afew modern touches it still looked rather dated

    There were good facilities if you were staying a few nights which i didn't. There was a good laundry, a spa pool and an outdoor babeque area.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    9.2
    A+++
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bin in bathroom/toilet

    Host was lovely & friendly on arrival. The room was exceptionally clean & spacious. Bed was super comfy :) I was informed to leave key in room if departed before 8.30(which I did). Definitely a bonus.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable, central, convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Convenient location off a main street, and good on-site free parking. The room was spacious, the bed/pillows comfortable, the shower water hot and with good pressure, good Wi-Fi reception, in-room fridge, friendly front-counter staff. Fifteen to twenty minutes to local center-city restaurants on foot, ten minutes if you drive.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    10
    Very comfortable stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is being very picky but a small rubbish bin in the bathroom would be helpful.

    We received a really friendly welcome and the facilities were very clean and tidy. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    9.2
    Was okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no milk in the room for our morning cuppa . The toilet was leaking onto the bathroom floor

    The location was close to restaurants so we didn't have to drive. Staff were friendly and the room was clean.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    5.8
    Adequate However Customer Services Needs Work
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a light outside of the back window which kept me up all night - a curtain to cut this out in the room would have made it a better night. Left reception feeling horrible as the lady there was very unhappy we booked online that day and definitely let me know her displeasure. I understand it would have been better to book in person for the motor lodge to make more money however as a visitor, I shouldn't have to understand the complexities of the hotel business. They wouldn't have even had our business if we didn't see it online therefore could not recommend based on this interaction.

    Room was spacious and comfortable for the price.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    8.8
    Nice place, good value, excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred a firmer bed, softer than we are used to. Could say the same about the free motel bikes, will hire next time, but not a serious complaint!

    Excellent location, comfortable and spotlessly clean room, reliable wifi, Good value.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    10
    Fabulous place to stay.
    • Couple
    • Superior King Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is being really picky & isn't really a dislike, more of a thought to consider but a toilet spray/refresher would be great :)

    The owners of this property were so helpful & the room was lovely & spacious & clean. We were right on a busy stretch of Road but easy access thru a back entrance to the property & traffic noise not audible thanks to great double glazing on doors & windows. The air conditioning was a welcome relief & was extra quiet when running. We would definitely come back!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    10
    Awesome place to stay home awsy from home
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were really friendly welcoming & helpfull we were here for our honeymoon we would definitely consider staying again on our anniversary thanx 4 the great experience

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    9.2
    Good stop over
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The units were modern, spacious and comfortable. Ours was on the ground floor and we could park directly outside making transfer of luggage etc very easy.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    9.6
    Perfect accommodation - Will definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Car park could do with entry and exit signs.

    Friendly staff. Good facilities. Good location. Comfortable stay - felt like a home away from home Sky TV 50+channels. Comfortable bed Kitchen had good quality utensils and appliances. All instructions clearly mentioned.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    10
    New Plymouth has a lot to offer and staying at Northgate motel did just that.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really only perhaps another washing machine installed, and a clip/hook up high to attach the blind cord away from little hands. Otherwise everything was xcellent.

    The family accommodation was excellent very well equipped and very comfortable beds.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    10
    Excellent choice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very comfortable bed, the unit was spotless, and everything was in working order. Being able to access the Lodge from street at rear of property is very convenient.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    10
    Great motel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly and informative staff with excellent customer service. Good clean room with an excellent bed nice quiet location. Cannot speak highly enough of the staff. I would recommend this motel to everybody.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    5.8
    Staff at reception was not welcoming at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff at reception was not welcoming at all. Checkout time is too early 10am and they didn't extend it, it was quiet hard as we had young kid. Also, they warned us that we have to pay for their cleaning cost if we do not checkout sharp at 10am.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    6.7
    The motel was overall nice and close to the shopping centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and pillows were very uncomfortable and hard

    The motel was overall nice and close to the shopping centre. Reception were helpful with activities etc and it was a quiet place

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    7.1
    Easy, no stress Accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price could have been a tad more competitive, although we stayed over the Xmas period & were able to check in on Xmas day.

    Amenities were good for what we needed - able to cater our own breakfasts & basic meals when needed. Microwave, fridge, small hob, iron, hair dryer. Modern TV & good on site parking. We appreciated the straight forward booking - arrived on Xmas day & picked up keys, then checked out 7 days later. Nice & efficient!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    9.6
    Clean, comfy, friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entrance across traffic a bit dangerous. Shower leaked into floor a little. Toilet and shower in same room.

    Large bed. Spa. Cleaners discrete and picked times we were out. Staff friendly. No sun in room which was good for summer.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    8.3
    Our 1st floor Studio was spacious with high ceilings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our 1st floor Studio was spacious with high ceilings. It was very clean & had all we needed. The management were very helpful. Although it was on a busy road, the double-glazing made the unit quiet. An entrance/exit onto another road at the back was very useful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    9.6
    Comfy stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was a breeze. I turned up earlier than check in time and there was a room available for me. The room was clean, well appointed, the bed was comfy.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    7.5
    Handy Location! Friendly staff, good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little 'dated' motel units (bathroom etc) but adequate. The bed was a little soft for my partner who has back issues but managed ok for a couple of nights.

    Convenient location, relatively quiet, friendly staff. Nice Spa Unit.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    10
    A very presentable property. Great facilities. A very easy walk to downtown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The weather unfortunately was not conducive to visiting the many gardens and parks

    The overall facilities and great customer service. The proprietor was great to deal with, very obliging.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    9.2
    Convenient location with good facilities!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very clean and comfortable. There was plenty of space & the bathrooms were neat, tidy and clean. The location was close to the shops and the main street, and only a few blocks from the beach front.

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: