Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Oaks Shores 4.5 stars

327-343 Frankton Road, 9300 Queenstown, New Zealand

#59 of 71 hotels in Queenstown

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 606 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Paid WiFi

    5.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some repairs were needed throughout our stay, but these were seen to very promptly.

    The staff were very friendly and prompt with requests. The bed was comfy and everything was very clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not a biggy but our apartment probably could have done with a carpet and lounge suite clean, wasn't too bad, a few stains etc but cleaned would have almost made it near on 5*.

    The apartment was spacious, amazing views and the cosy fire was brilliant. King bed comfy, good shower. Lovely big balcony. Parking was good. We had a meal in the restaurant and it was very nice. We will certainly go back to Oaks Shores.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spacious, well appointed accommodation with a fantastic view. Quiet location- not in the centre of town, but an easy walk along the lake front to shops and restaurants. We experienced an enjoyable meal in the on-site restaurant. Really enjoyed staying here.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View - Unserviced
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is very uncomfortable and we woke up every morning with sore backs and necks. We paid for an apartment with a kitchen to be able to cook for our intact but the appliances were old and dirty, barely any utensils to use. Very disappointed in this. We expected a full kitchen. The dishwasher had a foul smell.

    Views of the lake from our apartment was beautiful. It was quiet and had no problems with neighbours. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is a few years so old so a few things are a little worn and can hear some noise from adjoining apartments. Overall excellent place though would definitely recommend.

    The apartment was lovely.. very spacious with a fireplace and view over the lake. Having the on-site bar with resteraunt was very convenient for afternoon drinks. We did have free WiFi which wasn't listed on facilities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that you had to go on 2 different elevators, one through the car park to get to the bar and restaurant. The people staying in the adjoining room, it sounded like they were in our appartment, perhaps some extra soundproofing would help with this?

    The view of the lake and the mountains was amazing! The friendly bar staff at Happy Hour. The convenience to town and to walks along the lake.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were amazing and very helpful, the view from our apartment was absolutely amazing. I would definitely recommend this to any one of my friends and family. Love love loved everything about it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of our room on level 10, which is right beside lift. Very noisy and very bright in our room during night due to the bed face to the door directly, the hall waylights can easily go through the door to our room at night time. A lot of people walk pass and using lifts during night time. People smoke outside our room and the smoke can easily went through our door. The reception staff refuse to help.

    2 pm check in

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    The staff were very friendly and professional, we were able to leave our car there and walk into town prior to being able to check in, when we did check in we were up graded. It was a wonderful experience, so easy right from the booking to check out, I would highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The over powering deodorising smell in unit gave my husband and I headaches.It was like a bad odour or dampness was trying to be masked!!

    The restaurant was fantastic and staff efficient , and attentive courteous

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dishes were dirty, with oil marks. Like it was cleaned wto the dishwashing soap. It made us feel queasy when we saw them! The carpet was dusty. We had hives after a night staying in the unit.

    The Lake is lovely but u have to be able to be lucky enough to get a unit with a balcony

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    0k for a full apartment (2 bedroom) 1. $500 per night average for 3 nights 2. No egg flip 3. No can opener 4. The fireplace didn’t work for the 3 days we were there but they did try to fix it. Also we were offered to change rooms (last night) so we didn’t take that offer. Also offered free drinks which we took but turned out to be a 15% discount of dinner which was GST in NZ and bugger all on meal for 3! 5. Shower was needed to be fixed as very loose in 2nd bedroom.

    Lake front beautiful!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    View from the rooms we were given were not as expected from description. Very confusing layout of corridors to rooms, had to go through lots of doors and stairs. We were there for 3 nights and hadn't quite mastered it by the time we left. Had gone to town to roam around the first full day and came back to a room not yet cleaned. The cleaning staff knocked on the door a minute after we returned and asked to come in to clean. When we requested 10 minutes to wash-up before we headed out again, they said no, they would be leaving for the day fi we didn't let them in at that moment! We ended up with a not-cleaned room. Seemed over-priced for what we got but this is a rapidly growing, upscale-like, area of NZ. Even the slightly better places were much more expensive.

    Wonderful location right on the lake with access to the path around it from the hotel. Reception and dinning staff were very helpful and wonderful. Good views of the lake from the restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I arrived at my room and was not very happy after a very long trip from the United States. First, the room we were given was small, had no closet space and the bathroom was setup as a handicap accessible shower which meant every time I showered the entire bathroom was soaked. After showering the first morning, the fire alarm in my room went off due to the steam escaping the bathroom (apparently, you can't shower with the bathroom door open). So, we asked to switch to a different type room but hotel was sold out. Eventually, after 2 nights, we moved into a 2 BR apartment (with another couple I was traveling with) and it was fantastic. So, the stay did get better. They did not charge us rack rate for the bigger apartment which was very kind of them. Cleaning staff would often show up very late in the afternoon after we'd been out all day (and we would then have to leave the room so they could clean).

    The selling point for this property is LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION. Hotel is decorated nicely and modern.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bathroom was average and no ventilation in the bathroom area. could do with a slight face lift sometime.

    We really enjoyed our stay, spacious and great views.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There was no suitcase stands so we had to put our cases on chairs. The wardrobe was tiny for two people staying a week. We felt the size of the bathroom was too small compared to the space in the lounge dining and kitchen area. The kitchen looked amazing but was totally underequippped and inpractical. We had a steamer with no saucepan to match. No ovenmits and we burnt our hand taking out the oven tray with a teatowel. Two forks and two bowls for a dining area that could seat 6.

    We loved the view of the lake and the Remarkables. The living area was of a great size and very comfortable. The apartment was fairly quiet which we liked. The parking was very convenient and easy access with the lift to our apartment.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Our room was surrounded by large group bookings who showed little respect for others. They were very noisy often returning to their accomodation well after midnight and waking us up early hours of the morning,(before 7am). Perhaps future large group bookings could be catered for away from general couples and family holiday makers. We were not the only couple that were frequently disturbed as it was a topic point amongst other hotel residents. I would have hoped that in our nine night stay that the bed linen would have been changed and that the room would have been vacuumed. Perhaps consideration could be given to extend the shuttle bus in the evenings to 11pm. Going out for dinner and a drink often exceeds 9pm last ride home. Taxis are ridiculous for the journey home.

    The apartment was very big with a great kitchen cosy with the fireplace and comfortable bed. Views were great. Friendly reception staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the reception its a maze to find your room... Seems some quests dont want to use garbage bins, found sigaret butts on our terrace, empty bottles and crisp sacks in the garden, some corridors, entrance doors needs painting or maintenance, As Queenstown seems overrun with visitors, it was on of the few hotels left to get... Above our budget, but in the end enjoyed the space...

    Very big two bedroom , two bathroom apartment with very nice views. Big terrace Big kitchen, Its a walk to town of aprx 30 min along a footpath at the lakeside or 5 min taxi ride of 10 dollar max

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have loved a small container of fresh milk rather than the small 'emergency' pods. Many hotels and holiday parks on the South Island provide these. Some hot chocolate sachets would have been welcomed. Would have liked to have shower caps in the bathroom.

    Lovely room with a beautiful lake view. 20-30 minute walk to town along the foreshore. Very quiet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just needed some general maintenance. The bifold door handle fell off in my hand. I managed to put it back in and could lock the door.

    The view was fabulous from the all rooms. Very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over booked our room and left us waiting at reception for 45mins at 10pm unsure we would even have a place to stay. No discount, free drink or even a guenuine apology for a very dissapointing stuff around.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find at night.Lay out and numbers confusing.

    Very clean and friendly and great location.Unit was very well designed and comfortable.Had a washer and dryer.Really liked heated bathroom floors.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Great location and room, however for the price I can't believe you cannot even get a coffee/drink or snack from the bar from 11am until 6pm. Ridiculous when your paying $400 a night. Staff on check in fantastic, on check out very poor. Didnt even ask us if we enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit like a maze and we did feel, initially, that we should be leaving a trail of coloured pebbles, in order to find our way between the room (301A) and reception. However, we soon got used to it. The only other criticism would be the incredibly small wardrobe, which even for a couple of nights, was totally inadequate for one person, let alone two. That said, it would not put us off returning or recommending Oaks Shores to friends and family.

    The hotel overlooks Lake Wakatipu and the views across the lake to the Remarkables mountain range were fantastic. The staff were friendly and very helpful. We ate in the restaurant and the food was fine. Really handy free shuttle bus into Queenstown, which saved having to try and park.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hygiene and cleanliness, WIFI should be free, size of the room and bathroom facilities, in general way too expensive hotel for what you get.

    Parking facilities and distance to City center

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is lovely, but is very difficult to find your way around, it’s a bit of a rabbit warren. Meet many lost guests. The wall directions are very confusing. They need changing desperately to make finding your way around a lot easier. An example of this is the way we was directed to find our way to room 204, what was the correct way, the first wall sign you come across, tells you are going to Rooms 500 +, most confusing.

    The room was exceptional. The view from our apartment, wow, hard to fault. Master bedroom was excellent, where my sister and husband slept. Very large king bed. Our room was guide small, that was fine, but the two single beds although a good size , we found the mattress was inclined to want to roll you out of bed. Probably need replacing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food very average. Layout of complex very confusing not user friendly.

    Very expensive and not value for money compared with other places we stayed in NZ

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    When someone in the units above used their toilet or shower it sounded like all their water was coming into the bedroom. Wake me up at 5;00 am each morning For modern units this is a major design fault.

    Comfy pillows on the beds

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some of the decor was a little tired (children had obviously drawn on the couch, and there were some quite big marks on the walls etc) but nothing that couldn't be easily fixed with a little redecoration.

    Moved from terrible accommodation to this stunning apartment and couldn't have been happier! Views were simply amazing, the apartment had everything we needed and some extras.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor maintenance. Horrifying lift that’s dropping between floors. No house keeping for 2 days during a 5 day stay. Staff over promised and under delivered. Window hinges were broken and never been fixed even informed the hotel one the very first day. :(

    The view is nice

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen tools and plates were missing but provided on request immediately Glass roof and front heated up appartment - no air condition available Bathroom very small in comparison to appartment Some mainteance require in kitchen (fridge door, dish washer - see photos)

    Great view on the lake Size of appartment Terasse Parking Garage Shuttle Service into city

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Allocated room first night too stifling with heat. No fan available or air con. Staff moved us to another room next day - much more suitable for conditions. Wifi service poor - only 30 minutes free & that turned out to be just for 2 minutes testing time in practice. Wifi these days should be built into the price and free. Shores Restaurant v good - ate there twice during our stay. Bus service to town v good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our first room offered to us (hotel room) was smaller than a “wardrobe”,minimal lake views, extremely hot and very dark. Very disappointing. Staff member at counter used the excuse “you have to expect this it’s Queenstown.”

    The size of the apartment room offered to us second was excellent, and the views great with very nice facilities.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only thing which was not good was shower rail which was not stable and had wet floor after shower.

    The living room was big with good kitchen. Lot of Window and big open door making the room with full of sunlight.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had no air conditioning! It was ridiculously hot and my partner had to sleep on the couch with the doors open!

    Location is okay it was lovely and clean no view but we could walk to see a view

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was busy. Lots of units and a little tired.

    The views from the rooms are stunning. You just need to make sure you get the right level as some of the units could be obscured. The units are quite large with good equipment and utilities. The shuttle bus into town is a good bonus.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift was not working when we arrived. A mission to work out the stairs to take and lug luggage to room. Car parks were neat fit to get in and out of. Leaving A lot of cars parked no parking very narrow steep drive out. Rabbit Warren getting from level two to reception road level. Wine list disappointing.

    Great view and room layout loved having balcony to open up let cool air in. Both bedrooms had ensuites. Kitchen had everything needed including dishwasher. Great free shuttle to town. Bus stops both in and out of town close by.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the room had no air conditioning and we found it hard to sleep because of this .

    The staff were amazing The restaurant and food was amazing The room I had booked online wasn't available when checking in so we were given an upgrade. So spacious and the view was amazing!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Disappointing to have a great outside area that was unusable due to it being fouled by ducks. It did not look as though any effort was made to clean the area. A fuse kept blowing in the room which was frustrating.

    Was great to have a two bedroom unit with both rooms having an ensuite. Very spacious units that are comfortable and well appointed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was poor and slow with bad communication and staff. And the appartment was not clean . We found skid mark undies under one of the beds .

    Great out lay and size of the apartment

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    swipe key failed to worked got resent about 5 times and still didnt work n o can opener in units told they dont supply but could bring can to reception to get it open so no fruit for breakfast

    Reasonable booked a 3 bedroom apartment but ended up with 2 2 bedrooms no air conditioning in one unit

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room smelt of curry, very badly and needed to aired every day, also no Airconditioner! Restaurant food very poor. No where to put your suitcases and a very tiny wardrobe that could hand 5 shirts at best.

    Room needed air conditioners or at least ceiling fans, we had to borrow a peddle stall fan so we could sleep at night.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The patio wasn't clean. I know there were ducks wandering around but their mess looked like it had been there for a while & when you are eating breakfast that's not hygienic. The outside fire exit to get out of the property is like an unfinished building site & poorly lit at night. Low parts of the building have hazard "mind your head signs" but no lights. The lower apartments don't have the wonderful lake views which are on the website. The accessibility of reception through the carpark/walkways & various lifts spoilt it for me.

    Spacious living/dining area.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I found dead flies near the fireplace upon arriving, dirty dishes not cleaned properly, no airconditioning?? and with skylights it was very stuffy, good thing is we were out most of the day.. the rooms are not cleaned to the standard I would expect considering we paid about $500 per night, I expect clean rooms... on another bad note I believed there were bed bugs in our bed as every morning I woke up I had at least 3 to 5 new bites on my feet by day 5 I had over 30 little bites on my feet! I went to tell the staff but when I was at reception there was a lady complaining about how her room was very unclean and she went on and on for about 25 mins so I didnt want to cause a further scene, but they really need to get the cleanliness right I've stayed in 3rd world countries and their rooms were cleaner than this place which is unfortunate as I did like staying here.

    The views were amazingly good! The apartment size was very big, kitchen had everything you needed we cooked quite a few times in the apartment and sat on the balcony overlooking the lake and the mountains absolutely stunning!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This review would've been a 10 / 10 had it not been for the hotel front desk person, Jijo, who initially dealt with us. When we rang first to book he told us there were no vacant 1 bedroom lakeview apartments, even when we told him we could book online. So we ended up booking online, and when we arrived to check in, he made us wait for around 25 mins & never explained what was going on other than to say we were on a waiting list for a room. He eventually told us he UPGRADED us to a 2 bedroom lakeview apartment, but after staying the night in this alternate room we discovered it was only a 2 bedroom COURTYARD room. When I went to sort it out with him at reception the next morning, he argued with me and kept inisisting it was a lakeview room. I asked him to bring up the hotel website to show him the difference in the room types - which are massive!!!!!!. The courtyard rooms are much smaller, have a much smaller window and way less impressive lake view, there is NO Oven - only a cook top, NO washing machine/dryer, NO extra space/couches, a CLOSED IN bedroom with NO Aircon or ventillation other than a stand alone cheap fan ( if one is available - which it wasn't the night we stayed ). After 10 mins of waiting for him to play around on his computer and not show me anything......I asked him if he had brought up the website? He then said he didn't need to look at the room types as he accepted I had done my research. So eventually, without any offer of assistance to help us move rooms ( bags, extensive groceries, esky etc) we moved ourselves out of the courtyard room into our rightful booking of a 1 bedroom lakeview apartment - which was beyond AWESOME!

    Only book the lakeview apartments so you get the space, extra couches, fireplace, oven, washing machine/dryer & most of all expansive gorgeous views. Definite bang for your buck! The restaurant food & view was amazing, along with the restaurant & bar staff. Gaby & Joshna who served us were fantastic & bent over backwards to look after us. The chef even came out to speak with us and looked after our Gluten free allergy very well - his steak was cooked perfectly - go the rare! Highly recommend.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Layout of the property is confusing (even the staff agrees!) and access to rooms is circuitous to say the least. No food or coffee service outside of limited periods in the morning and evening.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff and they don't replenish the toiletries and not even free bottle of water.

    The staff very rude, specially the person who help me at the reception when I was first check in/ very disappointed with the service, the bed is not comfortable, they combine 2 single bed and there was a hole on the bed. It's very noisy, yo ucan hear very loud, people who talk outside and other rooms. It's not worth for the price. Loation and view are beautiful but it's a shamed the service is terrible poor.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was one of the worst I have seen in all the hotels I have stayed in. The restaurant area did not seem very clean, and the food was really unappetizing. That said, when we ordered takeaway to our room from the restaurant for dinner one night, it was delicious.

    The view from our suite was absolutely stunning, and we literally "oohed and aahed" when we we walked in the room. I loved the spacious living area which was great for our family to chill out. We had two comfortable bedrooms for us and our kids to have our own space.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited parking. We had to park outside the property. Poor design Lifts and rooms disjointed. Disappointing house keeping. Toilet was used and not flushed when we entered the room. Broken taps, toilet exhaust fans not working. As expensive as 5 star hotel with less than 2 star facility

    Views

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small, untidy room with pathetic excuse of a lake view. Shower ran hot and then cold constantly. The room was screaming for maintenance with badly marked walls. Could easily hear what was going on in the next room and hallway which made it not feel private.

    Good location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The cleaning staff didn't dust our room and they only removed trash that was in the bathroom and left what was in the bedroom. For what we paid this was terrible - breakfast was below average in terms of options and quality of the food. would not stay there again if it was at the same rate we paid. Location is the only good thing about this place.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Need to bring variation in breakfast menu, it is boring to have the same breakfast on all four days of our stay at the hotel. Cutleries in the kitchen were old, few hair dryers do not work.

    This was our first visit to Queenstown on Christmas vacation, we particularly like the location of the hotel and comfort of stay was excellent. Hotel staffs were helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet very dirty. Room didn't get serviced until we asked. Laundry facilities limited and in the basement carpark! Noisy room from carpark traffic til early morning hours. Shower screen didn't keep water in shower base and flooded bathroom floor.

    Wifi. Sky tv. Spacious rooms.VIEW was amazing. Huge balcony. Ensuite bathroom. Courtesy bus to town.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is a little hard to find your room from the car park as there are a few different buildings and a few steps to carry your bags up but it is all worth it for the view.

    The view was amazing, we just couldn't stop looking at it. All the staff were lovely and the beds were comfy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was disappointing & sub standard for such a quality property.

    Beautiful property at a truly spectacular location. Spacious & very well appointed apartments.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Four-Bedroom Apartment - Penthouse
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hygiene was not up to standards; the toilets were not clean, there were many hairs on the carpets, some of the toiletries were empty, there was still foodwaste in the dish washer and many more of those things. I called reception to inform them about the lack of cleanliness and gave them the opportunity to fix it the next day, which they didn’t do as the housekeeper was in the room for two minutes. Besides this, he was calling the door bell at 9 in the morning on new years day (four times!), waking everyone, while reception promised us they wouldn’t come before noon. Will never return to this place.

    The rooms are spacious and very comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very small, hot, & despite not having kitchen facilities we were expected to wash up ourselves using the bathroom sink. It was advertised as having a “mountain view” but it was barely a view. Our room was tucked away in the furthest corner of the hotel in what felt like the basement. Parking was limited. Hotel staff are poor communicators, with inadequate customer service skills & don’t know how to handle disputes.

    Location was great, & free shuttle into town was a good option. The restaurant was fabulous & the wait staff were wonderful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a rip off. Not good value for money at all. Originally booked a two bedroom courtyard view through booking.com. Facility description did not even mention the number of bathrooms. It’s a complete surprise to find there is only one bathroom when we checked in. Over $3000 dollars for 3 days’ stay with one bathroom. Some staff are rude and not treating customers fairly. I have multiple examples during my stay but I am tired of writing an essay about this. Its sister hotel oaks club resort is much better.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The kitchen was dirty and the kitchen utensils were limited and dirty too.

    The view of Lake Wakatipu from the apartment was amazing. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk asked for prepayment during check in which was fine but an additional authorization of NZD 75 which was unnecessary. The mini bar was empty and I specifically said that I will not eat breakfast. Why the additional charge ?

    Even though the quality of room was good, the room was rather small.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over priced room for the quality of it. Had a bloody cold shower that night....not that happy really. Carried all bags ....a bit of a hike...to get there and card not work....rang front deck...but nobody could come to help...so had to carry bags back to car park.....then go upstairs to reception to get new card for door....then back to car park for bags and so on....never had this in a hotel before...

    Bed comfy....and room was clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    After all my years staying in hotels for both business and pleasure, I have never in my life encountered staff as rude as the ones at Oaks Queenstown. When checking in, the lady at reception offered me late check out, when I called to confirm the night before, I was yelled at and told NO you are not having it and was spoken to like a child rather than a paying customer. Further to this upon check out, they did not debit the correct amount for the stay when i checked in and the staff were running around unsure of what the charge was, it appears they did not charge me enough credit card surcharge, again this is the hotels issue and I told them to work it out, they again spoke to me like a child advising YOU WILL PAY THE FULL AMOUNT FOR YOUR STAY, NO NEGOTIATION with extreme attitude and tone!! I did in fact pay the full amount, it is not my issue they undercharged a credit card surcharge. The staff in general were extremely rude and arrogant, this will ensure I never come back to this hotel. To add, the level of servicing at the hotel is horrendous, we checked in on the Friday and noticed in the hallways rubbish from suitcases and a water bottle, this was not picked up by the time we checked out on the Monday!! Also the rooms were filthy, our dining table had over an inch of dust on it. There are far more beautiful places to stay at in Queenstown where you will actually be treated like a paying customer rather than purely be a hassle for the staff.

    Nice view of the lake

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awesome views. Felt it was too hot inside the property for this time of the year (Nov end) No air con available in rooms Fan was only provided if it was available We had to break our journey as we were staying at Te Anau for a night, we got a fan at Oaks Shores for the first half of the stay. For the second half, they didnt have any left (weather was too hot by then). No consideration for family travelling with infant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room could have been cleaned better

    Great location with amazing outlook over to the Remarkables. Room was very spacious with al the creature comforts of home.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The buffet breakfast was okay. Clearly catered to a certain segment of the clientele. But it was good enough on the day I didn't have time to go into town.

    Amazing location right on the lake. The bike trail to town is right there. Its a quick 20 minute walk to the center of Queenstown. The staff at the front desk was very helpful, especially when booking tours. If you are lucky enough to get a room with a lake view, you can watch the sun set and rise over the mountains.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast is expansive and awful, no options for: vegetarians, vegans, raw eaters, gluten free etc, very simple and not delicious at all. The hotel is far away from city, there is no shops or good restaurants around. there is no shuttle to the city from 11am to 4pm. Had to order food online.

    Amazing view from the window, Fire place, big kitchen, close to the beach, free shuttle to the city center and back 9-11am 4-9pm. Huge bed, nice bathrooms, spacious place, balcony. Pretty luxury place :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location, lake views, mountain views, free shuttle to town, staff and most of all the comfort of the room and the amazing bed wow The wildlife was pretty cool too!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was one issue where improvement was required and that was cleanliness of the room. The lounge suite was grubby and showed some stain marks and the outside balcony had a small dead bird on it as well as poo from some moderate sized bird, a duck? There was also a bit of an odour in the room possibly from the carpet or the deck? We opened up the front balcony bifold doors and windows, and did our own bit of cleaning including the worst of the bird poo off the balcony/deck. I am sure if we had asked the staff would have fixed the issues on the balcony, but this should have been fixed while we waited a short time for our room to be ready. The only other thing to say is the entrance to the front units is not properly marked and the location of the lift to reception was not obvious from the main car park. However, I want to stress that despite these failings, after a bit of TLC, apart from the couches the apartment was exceptionally good and has to be one of the best places to stay in Queenstown.

    Selecting accommodation in and near Queenstown is tricky. Quite a few places are located with Frankton Road between them and the water. Oaks Shores is waterfront with levels 1 to 5 sitting just behind the coastal walking/cycling path. Upper levels are set back further. We had a one bedroom apartment on level 5. It was well designed with glorious views of Lake Wakatipu. It included a full kitchen and laundry. The ensuite was functional but very compact. Parking was easy, you just drive past reception and park in the car park. You could access the walking path to Queenstown via a set of steps. It is a beautiful walk around the lake but several km to the town centre. There were some bikes stowed in the parking area and am not sure if they were for use by guests. We tried the bar baked potatoes one evening and they were good as was the restaurant breakfast. The eating areas were clean and tidy and the staff were friendly and helpful. Oh, and the bed was good, but only one pillow per person was provided and we had to ask for an extra. Overall a beautiful apartment, with a balcony and stunning views, which, when we were there was very quiet. You are not going to get much better accommodation than this in Queenstown.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Needed to phone reception 3 times regarding having our room serviced because it had not been done. Also, a couple of times we had to turn room service away because they were coming around 6pm, which is when we had settled in for the night. Other than that, enjoyed our stay in Queenstown with them.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    use the view.

    Wonderful view from apartment unfortunately furniture is configured to watch the TV and not the view!? Easy parking and reasonably quiet location. Out of town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were useless. When we first arrived they said they didn't have a room for us. After half an hour and us showing the booking through booking.com they agreed there was a room available. We had to get the receipt reprinted twice as the first two times it was incorrect. We stayed for 9 nights and paid a substantial amount of money, yet the first day our room forgot to be serviced and the rest of the time the 'servicing' involved changing the towels, emptying the bins and making the bed with the old sheets. There was never a thorough clean during our stay and we had to ask for our sheets to be changed and the apartment vacuumed. The kitchen also lacked basic utensils (eg a scrubbing brush to do dishes and a can opener). Rather than readily agreeing, the reception team had to 'check with housekeeping' and then grudgingly agreed. The gym equipment is flimsy and half of the cardio machines do not work. Very disappointing and would not stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View - Unserviced
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Light globes were out and had not been replaced. Door handles to outside and one of bedrooms were broken. Had hassle from day one of booing with payment, but that is what it is. Utensils to cook with very limited.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Four-Bedroom Apartment - Penthouse
    • Stayed 2 nights

    would have liked , if it was a little cheaper :)

    Location , Location , Location, we booked the penthouse and it was worth every $$, warm fireplace looking out at the lake

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Apartment was amazing, the Views were as shown in the pics Secure and covered parking and the staff were amazing would surely come again :) Highly recommend it

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Buffet Breakfast was below expectations compared to other hotels i've stayed at. For $190 a night the room was small and staring straight at a rock wall. I left an item behind and got charged to send it back, while other properties have done it for free.

    Great staff. Good sauna. Brilliant pressure in the shower. Warm and comfortable room.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: