Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. New Zealand hotel reviews
  3. Canterbury hotel reviews
  4. Twizel hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Omahau Downs

Reviews of Omahau Downs

State Highway 8 Tekapo &Twizel Highway, 5744 Twizel, New Zealand

#9 of 61 hotels in Twizel

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 556 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    7.1
    will recommend this place if you are not looking for anything luxury but only cosy and heartwarming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the heater in the room was not working well, we were a little too cold at night.

    Felt at home with the cosiness, shared pantry and kitchen with adequate utensils. quiet place away from the crowd. located 1 min drive away from the amenities like town.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2018

    10
    The place is wonderful with beautiful view of mount Cook and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ensuite Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Limited wifi, but fair enough for general usage.

    The place is wonderful with beautiful view of mount Cook and amazing starry night just outside your room! Was clean and well equipped with everything you need.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2018

    7.9
    Located just minutes out of Twizel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    - the knife in the kitchen are all dull. - the location is amidst the nature, so it attracts insects at night, doors and windows must be carefully closed and locked to prevent insects.

    Located just minutes out of Twizel. The house provided the country home atmosphere with nicely decorated room. All the rooms has each own bathroom and 4 rooms shared one kitchen. The place is clean and convenient and the view at the patio is amazing.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    9.6
    Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location! On a working farm. Lovely rural feel but only 1.5k from Twizel. View from room in morning was stunning - could see Mt Cook! Ensuite bedrooms with tea/coffee facilities. Shared lounge/kitchen which was fabulously decorated & in keeping with the rural feel but with all mod cons. Pity only there one night.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    9.2
    Cute, comfy room in a quiet setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A.

    Wonderful "lodge" with 4 rooms and a shared kitchen. The room exceeded expectations as was comfy, well designed, wonderful little balcony, comfy bed, and super close to Twizel (which has great food)!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2018

    10
    The quiet, rural location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The quiet, rural location. Sadly Mt Cook remained shrouded in. Loud so we could only imagine the spectacular views this venue would offer on a clear day.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2018

    9.6
    Quiet and remote farmhouse feel with gorgeous mountain views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ensuite Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is one of the coolest places we stayed while in New Zealand. It is pretty close to Aoraki/Mount Cook national park and there are limited places to stay in the national park itself so the cute little town of Twizel is perfect! This "hotel" is actually about three minutes outside the main town of twizel and is a prior farm property with a few different buildings that have been renovated. The room we stayed in backs up to a big open field with gorgeous views of Mount cook. We watched the alpenglow on the mountain, then later did some stargazing while drinking some wine on the cute patio deck and it was perfect. The room was really cute and had everything we needed. I heard other reviews complain about loud noises from the communal kitchen area but we had no issues (maybe we were just lucky?)

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 24, 2018

    9.6
    Very special farm stay experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The house is a little bit old but overall nice experience.

    Very special farm stay experience. The fireplace is so cozy and the Mountain View from our room is great. Owners are very nice and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    8.8
    The Lodge is fully equiped and has a wonderful view on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Lodge is fully equiped and has a wonderful view on the Aoraki Mount. A Kitchen is also available. It is located 50mn drive from Mount Cook and 5mn drive from Twizel City Center.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    10
    The view of the snow cap mountain were excellent from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom House with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view of the snow cap mountain were excellent from the house. The sunset was also beautiful from the cottage. We could also view the twinkling stars at night. It was located by the highway and 5 mins away from town but the view made the stay an excellent experience.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location with breathtaking views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ensuite Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The kitchen was shared; even though tea and coffee facilities were provided in the room it was very inconvenient to not be able to cook up dinner in the comfort of your room as we planned.

    The view was spectacular. The bed and sitting area were very comfortable. And location was perfect for us, only a 40min drive to Lake Tekapo and Mt Cook national park.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    7.5
    Antique look & feel of the house
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was an issue with hot water in the shower, you either get extremely hot boiling water or super cold water. We tried to use the tap in different ways to get some warm water for shower which did not work unfortunately.

    It has a unique look with antique furnishings, bedrooms were beautiful. This was on a farm so pretty decent for a group of people to stay.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2018

    9.2
    There are a number of cottages, some new and modern some old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Three-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing We went into town for dinner this only a five minute drive. Or you could make your own.

    There are a number of cottages, some new and modern some old and character. We stayed in the older farmhouse which was a blast from the 60s we loved the quirky touches. All the accommodations had spectacular views of the mountains. It was a perfect quiet location just outside Twizel. We would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    4.6
    I would not recommend this cottage for a couple orr a family .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Three-Bedroom House with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The house is not in Twizel -- it is isolated and no basic food items supplied. High decibel highway traffic noise all night which made it impossible to sleep. Television did not work - no telephone. Facilities were 1950's handyman style.

    The view, and the house was warm

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2018

    10
    Amazing views, beautiful property, well appointed kitchen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were lucky enough to get the whole lodge to ourselves. Could cook our own dinner and had an amazing open fire which we enjoyed starting up each day. The room was large and the bed comfortable. The views of Mount Cook are completely stunning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2018

    10
    This place was one of our favorite places to stay on our whole trip. The view was incredible!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You could hear people walking around outside in the hall but that was the only thing and it wasn’t even that bothersome.

    The view was great. Bed was great. Bathroom was great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2018

    10
    Highlight of my trip to NZ
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ensuite Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lodge consists of four rooms and a common kitchen/dining area/lounge. The rooms themselves are very spacious and private so this is not an issue in itself. However during our stay some of the other guests left the kitchen very messy and smelly.

    The room in the lodge was absolutely perfect. Everything was clean and decorated in a really peaceful style. The view from the rooms is almost unbelievable. Twizel is a gorgeous, picturesque country town with a number of nice places to eat. This makes it a much nicer place to stay that Mt Cook village or Lake Tekapo, while still making it easy to access these sites. Staff were really friendly and helpful but also allowed us our privacy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    10
    Loved it here - beautiful balcony overlooking a paddock and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved it here - beautiful balcony overlooking a paddock and mt cook. We spent one night here after doing a walk at Mt Cook, and it was a perfect stay for us. There was a communal kitchen and living room, otherwise you have your own private room and bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2018

    7.1
    Lodge-Motel vs Motel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Im made a mistake in my booking...I don't like "Lodge" shared shared facilities ..shared kitchen and rooms close to others where you can get woken and hear them walking around at 1am ...even though they are trying to be quiet..others seem to enjoy communal accommodation that though.

    close to Twizel Township for dinning

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    9.2
    MEET ALL MY EXPECTATIONS ABOUT A FARM
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    NONE

    this lodge is excellent, you can watch the snow capped mountains on your own bed! A very spacious living room with well equipped kitchen facilities, we spent a wonderful night there, it was also lovely to have a walk in the farm. highly recommend to all.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    6.3
    Great rural location for a group
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Ideal if you can rent the whole property. Walls are very thin so you can here what your neighbours are doing and it kept us up at night. Also the fridge in the room was extremely noisy!

    Lovely location with stunning views!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2018

    8.3
    We stayed in the old farm cottage, huge space and lot of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Three-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We stayed in the old farm cottage, huge space and lot of rooms and facilities for just two persons. It was a very good value for your money. The view of the mountains was very beautifull

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2018

    9.6
    Great stop over at Omahu Down
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The view from the comfortable room was fantastic. We were fortunate enough to have clear sunny views over to Mount Cook from the room and outside patio. First appearance of the property made us uncertain what to expect but when we went in it was lovely. We had use of a very well equipped kitchen and a lovely shared lounge. It was also great to experience the dark sky and stunning stars.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable, relaxing, stay in well appointed rooms, in the heart of the country
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really, apart from the distance to the local restaurants, supermarkets, and facilities, but as we had a car - all is good. The apartment matched its description, and everything was as expected,

    A great stay in a comfortable room with views over the distant mountains, in a relaxed and pleasant surround. The rooms were well appointed, with shared cooking facilities available elsewhere in the building. Far enough from the local roads to remove noise nuisance, but close enough for easy access to local town facilities, although use of a car or bikes is essential, as it would be a long walk to the local shops.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2018

    8.3
    Location is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi limited to 300mb per person but works perfectly

    Location is great The room is spacious and amazingly decorated Living room and kitchen shared with other rooms but really cozy

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2018

    9.6
    Peaceful and Friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had a few problems connecting with the internet but this could have been our fault.

    Lovely views across the downs to Mt Cook. The shared lounge/dining/kitchen enables you to meet other guests and share experiences. Very friendly and helpful owner.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2018

    6.7
    Nice view but needs improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom House with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spider webs around windows so it looked like it hasn't been taken care of for a long time. Room can be very stuffy in hot days. The fan is also broken.

    Great view and it's like a home

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2018

    9.2
    We got a room in one of the units that houses 4 separate...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited Wifi, but this seems pretty typical across most B&Bs on the South Island

    We got a room in one of the units that houses 4 separate rooms. There's a common area with a kitchen and fireplace that is shared amongst the rooms. That was a bit surprising for us but we ended up loving it - we had the opportunity to mingle with travelers from other countries (4 rooms, 4 countries!) and sharing lots of fun stories of our travels not only in NZ, but around the world. Understandably, this may not be for everyone, in which case you can just hang out in your own room. Assuming the weather is cooperative, the room looks out towards Mt Cook and the views should be astounding. Unfortunately we got rained out so all we saw was a lot of clouds. :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2018

    10
    My partner and I loved staying here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ensuite Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My partner and I loved staying here. We spent two nights with the purpose of exploring Mount Cook but I must say we could have spent the day sitting on the back patio! The views from our room were incredible. Very convenient to Mt Cook, Twizel and nearby lakes. Staff were friendly and helpful! Thanks!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2018

    9.6
    A great place to unwind, peaceful, comfortable and fantastic views, you won’t be disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing really.

    The view was superb across fields to mountains including Mount Cook. Comfortable bed, patio area to sit with wine watching the sun go down. Great kitchen facilities Good shower

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2018

    8.8
    - Wonderful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Wonderful location. The rooms have a terrace with great views - Cozy kitchen/living area - The host (ad interim) was very welcoming and gave us excellent tips for activities in the area

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2018

    9.6
    Wonderfully, great price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would have preferred some kind of made breakfast option

    Amazingly close to Mt Cook without the inflated prices of Mt Cook Village. Short 40 minute drive to Mt College Village. 5 minute drive to well appointed Twizel town square. Amazing views of Southern Alps

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 19, 2018

    10
    fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night

    a beautiful location with views to the mountains. 3 spacious bedrooms, laundry and fully equipped kitchen - everything you could hope for after being on the road for 3 weeks. wished we had longer to stay here and would gladly return another time

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2018

    9.6
    Cosy apatment house in the middle of NZ rural life with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cosy apatment house in the middle of NZ rural life with stunning view of mountains from our own terrace. Calm, peaceful surrounding area, perfect for relaxing. Common facilities are well equiped. Every detail (decor, accessories,..) is personal and makes the accomodation unique.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2018

    8.8
    Peace & quiet and a great view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Three-Bedroom House with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It happened to be a hot summer day, the fan wasn't working, but in the evening it cools down, so we could air the place out. But that caused a fight with bugs. Not unusual for a farm. Just keep that in mind when booking.

    The view of Mt. Cook and the serenity and quiet of this farm are stunning! Stayed in a small guest house with 3 bdrms, 1 bath kept completely in a retro fifties look. Amazing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2018

    10
    Fabulous location and views, with superb facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ensuite Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stayed in the Deluxe room with ensuite. Direct views from our room and balcony of the mountains across the fields. Superb facilities with artistic touches making our stay so comfortable and relaxing. Staff most friendly and helpful. Unreservedly recommended.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    9.6
    Three bedroom house
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night

    The house was big and comfortable. Have washing machine. Have 3 showers so each person in our group does not have to wait. Quiet and peaceful surrounding.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 26, 2017

    5.4
    Not worth the hype
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ensuite Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely strict 'rules' written in welcome pack including charge for not washing dishes. Poor quality building with little in the way of privacy from the other guests (you can walk directly in front of the windows of the other rooms). uncomfortable bed. Very limited parking space if all 4 rooms are booked and inconvenient to turn.

    Great view from the room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 26, 2017

    9.6
    Memorable 😎
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We didn't have a key for the external doors. The cottage was lovely & rustic, but could've done with a little uplift ie modernising the decor a little, & more comfy couch.. but was overall fantastic!

    The sunrise & open fire was fantastic & scenery was stunning. Friendly host & dogs. Lovely tranquil spot.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 22, 2017

    9.2
    A room with an amazing view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some fine tuning in the bathroom - more counter space to put toiletries etc on.

    Great location with panoramic views to Mt Cook. Comfortable bed and lounge room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 22, 2017

    8.8
    Interesting place to stay with bit of a history lesson.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Grandma's cottage is almost 100 yr old and very rustic. Very different to other places we had stayed at and most of the online photos are not of this Cottage so it can be a shock when you expect one thing and get another. Reminded me of some old Australian Homesteads I had visited as a kid. Be careful of the Shower as the difference between luke warm and boiling hot is 2mm on the knob.

    Hosts are very friendly and love a chat. Accommodation (Grandma's cottage) was unique and different. Turned into a bit of a History lesson for the kids as they had never seen the inside of an old Farmers cottage etc before. ie Pot belly stove, old shelves and cupboards in the kitchen. Bedrooms and bathroom was updated.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2017

    8.8
    Fab views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice room with good facilities and comfy bed. There was a shared lounge and kitchen area where you could do breakfast. On a clear day fab views of Mt Cook from the room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2017

    10
    Very good location for tour of mount cook and Pukaki lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Very good location for tour of mount cook and Pukaki lake. Although it’s not near river or lake, it has private terrace with view of farmland. Very clean sheets and bathroom.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only possible criticism in otherwise flawless accommodation was that the shower was quite low down and the height not adjustable. I'm 5 foot 6 and had to bend my knees to wash my hair.

    Incredible view, great facilities, very comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2017

    8.3
    Nice location and easy access.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only one chair in our room, tiny table and TV was on floor. There was an electrical short in one of the bedside lamps. A little pricey for what you get but probably in tune with the rates around the area.

    Great views of Mt Cook and quiet location. Good kitchen and sitting area. Easy to get to and check in/out.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2017

    10
    Great place only 45 mins drive from Mt Cook and 4 mins into town. Would definitely stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Super cosy alpine vibe. No frills but perfectly snug and homey. Great views of the Mt Cook range from the back porch from each of the cabins. 4 minute drive into the sweet little town of Twizel. The owners were really nice and helpful; salt of the earth type guys.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2017

    8.3
    Lovely house, nice surrounding
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds were a little too springy, lots of insects at night

    The surrounding was really nice, had a big garden that came with the house. Bathrooms and toilets were many

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2017

    9.2
    Very nice place with a perfect view on the mountains,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice place with a perfect view on the mountains, outside of the city; thus, quiet, you can watch the stars at night :). There was a common kitchen (fully equipped) with the living room (including a fireplace). Staff was very nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2017

    8.3
    Peaceful and Homey
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom House with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overall the place is nice and clean, but since they require customers to clean their own dishes and cooking utensils so people who stayed before us might not clean it well. The plates, pans, pots were very oily and some were quite dirty with burns. The shower box is very small and the hot/cold water handle is positioned very high. We are average-height Asians (160-170 cm) and had to stand on our toes to reach at the tip of fingers to turn the water on/off. Hope you could adjust it a bit to fit more diverse customers :)

    The house is really big and homey! Even though it is a country-style wooden house which makes it quite cold at night but they have provided us with enough heaters and a fireplace to keep us warm. The surrounding was so beautiful with a panoramic view of the snow-top mountains. We could see them right from our beds! At night, we could see lots of stars around since it is completely dark.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2017

    9.6
    Good place. Would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn't like the wifi setup. I had only done some light internet use (email, Facebook) and it stopped working, saying I had used all my data.

    Rooms were comfortable. Location was quiet.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2017

    5.4
    Not value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    FEELS LIKE HOME STAY/ HOSTEL: There are 4 rooms & a shared kitchen in the house. We felt uncomfortable to talk in usual voice becos we could hear ppl talking in their room or while they r having meal in the kitchen. We worried we'd disturb the others if we talk as normal. We went back in to the house at around 11pm. All lights in the whole house incl front door & hall way switched off and we needed to walk into the house with our torch and whispering to try to open our room door. NO PRIVACY: If we want to open the curtain to enjoy the view, ppl in the shared kitchen can actually look into our room. 6 PAGES OF HOUSE RULES: Wash & dry ur 2 mugs in the room? Otherwise $25 charge. (Never heard of it in any other places) make it sound like ur living in someone's house. FURNITURE: Sofa was sunk in. all cheaper motels we stayed during this trip were even better. NOT VALUE FOR $

    Beautiful view if you can enjoy in privacy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2017

    8.8
    This bed and breakfast had a quaint cabin feel with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This bed and breakfast had a quaint cabin feel with a beautiful view of mt.cook in the distance. Poppies is just a short drive away with delicious food. It was just a 40 minute drive from Mt.Cook. Our stay was short but we enjoyed it here.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    9.6
    Cozy place with great views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom was a little cramped with the door to the shower and bathroom door. Would have made more sense with a sliding door for the bathroom

    The lounge was very cozy, and the kitchen was nice. Everything was very clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2017

    6.7
    Heaters not working
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Both heaters in the living room and bedroom were not working, freezing to death. Well not really dead but wake up many times due to the cold.

    Good location, shouldbe ferfect for star photo shooting

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2017

    10
    Wonderful getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Cabin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Private cabin on farm outside of Twizel. It was convenient to town for a supermarket run, and as base of operations to Aoraki My Cook without staying in park (1 1\2 hr drive). The views are great of the valley w mountains in background, the owners are very nice but give you all the privacy unless you need something. Our cabin was very nice, spacious - kitchen had cooktop, toaster oven, microwave and fridge.can get cold at night but space heaters do the job.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2017

    9.2
    Reccomend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The wifi signal was weak, sometimes not working. If yoy forget to close window, small bugs will fly in.

    The location is easy to find. There is a full kitchen so I can cook. Very good value for the prize.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2017

    10
    Amazing Value Beautiful Views
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom House with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Getting the shower temperature right was a challenge but I enjoy a challenge and it was part of the quirkiness of the place.

    We stayed in the 3 bedroom cottage with mountains view.It was idillic. There is a lovely log fire for the cooler evenings.The cottage is quaint but full of cool retro furniture.I love that places like this are affordable for folk on a budget like us and not pretentious. The dogs are lovely and friendly and the cottages well spread out from each other.The owner is great chat and came up with good recommendations for places to take photos and eat.Please don't put the prices up :)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2017

    6.7
    Nice place for a stop over
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Cabin
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor cooking facilities if you need them. Rooms were cold when we turned up and we had to put all the heating on to warm it up.

    The rooms were a nice size, with plenty of room. The location would have been great, apart from the fact we could not see the Southern Alps due to cloud.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2017

    8.3
    Suited our needs perfectly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ensuite Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I left two messages on voice mail but no reply - it seems that there may have been a technology problem.

    Country setting and outlook. Easy to find. Good beds. Access to communal kitchen. Laid bascl owner/operator.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2017

    6.7
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room with Ensuite Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We booked the delux King room in lodge for the view but ended up in the rather tired 2 bedroom cottage, with restricted views. Couch was not comfortable for people with chronic pain as not long enough to lay on to relax in front of the TV.

    Location. Poppies Cafe/Resturant in town was excellent. Great access to Mt Cook

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2017

    8.3
    Although we had pretty rubbish weather with low cloud level...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom was just a wet room which I'm not a big fan of as everything stays wet & smells musty but for a couple of days stay it was fine. Note that the wifi is a bit 'flaky' too although this is a location where you should come to get away from it all so it shouldn't matter too much!

    Although we had pretty rubbish weather with low cloud level for a couple of days we still loved the location & when the clouds cleared we realised just how fabulous the view was! Good location for visiting Tekapo & Mt Cook village which are both about an hours drive away.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2017

    9.2
    Beautifully fitted out just outside Twizel, our bedroom...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautifully fitted out just outside Twizel, our bedroom looked out towards the mountains, and we could see Mount Cook in the far distance.The restaurant, we ate at in Twizel (Poppy's) was excellent. Added bonus, the cleaning lady at the B@B had played an orc in Lord of the Rings. That made our day.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2017

    10
    Relaxing lodge with great views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ensuite Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything.

    Peaceful location with a rural atmosphere and great views towards mountains. Outside deck for each of the lodge rooms, plus access to a characterful guest lounge and kitchen. Also not very far from local shops and restaurants. Perfect formula for a relaxing stay. Pass the bottle, please.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2017

    9.6
    Peaceful Mackenzie Country retreat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Large roomy bedrooms lounge kitchen facilities were lovely. Outlook beautiful even in wet weather. Warm. Despite booking muddle up the hosts made excellent alternative arrangements.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2017

    8.3
    good location to visit mt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the house is old and the cabinets need updating. no dryer. the shower is noisy.

    good location to visit mt. cook. very old farm house. authentic. well equipped kitchen . had washing machine.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 9, 2017

    10
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely large room. We lived in the Original house by our own. The only word to describe is amazing. The host is very friendly and they have a very nice dog. What's more, its the best place to view stars! You will discover when you live there.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2017

    10
    Mount Cook in the sunset
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beware of their naughty old dog who came in from the open French windows and stole a golden chocolate kiwi egg ! (We thought this funny).

    This was an amazing place, just outside Twizel but you could be in the middle of nowhere. We had the most amazing views of Mount Cook and luckily the weather was superb and you could see the sun setting on the top of the mountain. We have the most amazing photographs from this viewpoint. The place is modern and faultless.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2017

    9.6
    Great place to base while visiting Mount Cook
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ensuite Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location was north of town...a bit isolated but a lovely spot.

    We had a great view of Mount Cook through our sliding glass door. Also there was a large shared lounge -cooking area with three other rooms. The trip to Mount Cook took only about an hour.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2017

    8.3
    Different lodging near Twizel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Don't like European style showers that are part of the whole bathroom, just a curtain to separate. Floors were squeaky, could hear other room. Kinda impersonal...didn't meet the owners. They just left instructions, so no recommendations for the area.

    The common room, good kitchen facility. Comfy bed. Nice view of Mt. Cook. Personal sitting area on porch.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2017

    9.2
    Lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Cabin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Somewhat outdated decor, but didn't expect luxury accommodation on a farm anyway

    Close to town, but far enough away to feel like you were somewhat secluded. Loved being on a farm rather than in a hotel. Our toddler especially loved seeing the tractors, both working and old

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2017

    9.6
    Lots of room and fantastic views
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Three-Bedroom House with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The house is a bit nostalgia inducing. My partner loved it as it was like home but if you are looking for a more modern place maybe one of the cottages would be better.

    We stayed in the self contained house and the views were fantastic (mountains, horses, fields etc). We also had way too much space for the three of us (no complaints) and made good use of the large washing machine. All in all would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2017

    9.2
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom House with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We only stayed one night :(

    Everything. The 60s original decor was in an abolutely well preserved impressive state. The mid-century decor was just incredible. The views during day and night (the stars here are tremendous) were amazing, the location conveniently close to the main road but still absolutely quiet. On top of that the family managing it was super kind and helpful (as it is usually the norm in the South Island) A 10/10 stay.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed just not quite firm enough for me

    Beautifully appointed room. Excellent facilities - access to fully equipped kitchen if we'd chosen to cook our own meals.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2017

    10
    The atmosphere was relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ensuite Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The atmosphere was relaxing. Decor was lovely! Waking up to a beautiful view of a never ending field with Mount Cook at the back, absolutely Gorgeous!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2017

    5.8
    Good views of Mt Cook, but pray you have quiet house-buddies
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    This accommodation consists of a couple of small buildings on a farm just 2 minutes' drive out of Twizel on the main road to Mt Cook. We stayed in the second building from the highway, which was quiet, and had impressive direct views of Mt Cook once the clouds cleared. Our building was an elevated, light-weight building which had been divided into 5 areas - a central communal kitchen / loungeroom area for use by all guests, flanked by 2 bedrooms either side, all with ensuite bathrooms, all off a long corridor. It was fairly modern and well-appointed, but we considered it over-priced given that there was a lack of privacy from the comings-and-goings of other guests through the communal single entry, and in the communal kitchen/lounge area. It's really more like a backpacker establishment, but with every bedroom having its own ensuite bathroom, and everyone sharing a kitchen. Fortunately, we got lucky and the other guests were well-mannered and quiet. But with no on-site manager, it could have been very different with noisy guests.

    Good location

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: