Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Parkview On Hagley 4.5 stars

1 Riccarton Road, Riccarton, 8011 Christchurch, New Zealand

#74 of 163 hotels in Christchurch

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 512 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything

    Wow, huge rooms spotlessly clean, great view over Hagley park. Very comfortable and lovely restaurants within walking distance, Riccarton Mall, Tower Junction shopping, Train station all close by, what more could you ask for. We were not troubled by traffic noise as some reviews mentioned but we were not there on a Sat or Sun night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise levels from outside did make it difficult to sleep. Possibly double glazing to block out some of the traffic noise would be good.

    Excellent go out of the way service! I didn’t write a note about wanting the extra linen for the sofa bed but they were more than accommodating to bring it up and even offered to make it for us which I declined, helped us with places to eat suggestions and were always so polite

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely place to stay got a very good price for room off booking com. Comfortable bed nice spa and room was large. Warm room, clean. Staff were very good and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The car park was not well sign posted; we had difficulty locating the correct floor for hotel guests.

    This centrally located hotel had a comfortable bed and a lovely bathroom, we enjoyed our one night stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of our room by the traffic lights with the boy racers Friday and Saturday nights was the only bad thing - not their fault of course but maybe some double glazing would help that

    Room was spacious and warm and clean - couldn't fault it

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough of the complimentary biscuits to satisfy our taste for them

    I love the handy location of Parkview on Hagley to areas in Christchurch we enjoy spending time at

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The street noise and we could hear everything going on in the next room, including bottles rattling.

    The staff were lovely and the location was good. They upgraded us to a room with a view but it was noisy by road.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having breakfast available

    Location suited as did the “last minute” deal that happened to appear on my phone. Best that we liked was the Sky channels were the same as we had at home rather than Freeview or a skimpy Sky - we avoid places with poor TV Parking excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Occasionally noisy at night with traffic, but the rooms are well sound proofed so no major concern. Otherwise, no complaints or things we didn't like!

    Friendly team, comfy room furnishings, great location, great place to stay. Have stayed several times and will definitely be back! Very relaxed atmosphere and always has consistent standards and services. Free WiFi and free parking! Room and bathroom are a really great size so you never feel cramped, there is lots of room to spread out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having no car and not knowing Christchurch i was looking for something to eat besides the thai restaurant downstairs

    The peace and quiet after a long day at work. Had the best sleep

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room location above traffic lights a bit noisy,and air condition unit also rather noisy

    The location ,being handy to Hagley Park was ideal for our visit. Bed was comfortable,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Right from the start this was a pleasant stay! We booked late in the day but were upgraded on arrival by a lovely lady at the counter. The room was spacious and nice. The bed was very comfortable and bathroom was a good size!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The "boy racers" at night, but you get that in any city. There was also a lack of drawers for clothes.

    Bed very comfortable. The Suite was very roomy & lovely decor. Close to city with excellent car parking. So beautiful looking out on Hagley Park with it's awesome colours.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet was very tired and stained and the unit needed painting. Great to have double glazingg as there was very little noise from the busy road. Bathroom and kitchenette had been renovated and loo, good. Concerned though that the bottled water in the fridge had an expiry date on it for your months ago. I did not realize until after I had drunk it. More checks need to be put in place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Easy to find, great location with plenty of undercover parking. The room was spacious and well set out with a huge bathroom. The location next to Hagley Park is terrific for walking around Christchurch. Yes, it is on a busy corner and there was noise, but this would not stop me from staying again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent for getting to Hagley Oval, as we were there principally for Test cricket. But the city centre was easily accessible on foot. Extremely helpful, friendly reception staff. Lots of good eateries nearby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Reception on arrival - the rudest man I have ever encountered and I've travelled most places around the globe. Sad that I have to encounter this in my own country.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bedside light on one side of bed didn't work and no plug in vanity basin. Reported both to reception and would have thought the plug at least could have been provided immediately, but never was. Excuse was "it happens sometime with domestic staff picking up plugs with towels to be laundered". Customer Service a bit lacking in this case.

    Great location being opposite Hagley Park. Parking on site easy. Friendly staff with clean facility.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The approach and reception area small and not very welcoming. Motor car racing outside hotel on Friday nights dreadful and noisy. efficient double gazing might help. Such a pity.

    The room was spacious, clean and well planned

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better internet/WiFi. Made searching for activities rather difficult having a limit and then being unable to access the WiFi for the duration of my trip.

    Great value, lots of space. Very pleasant staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Blind to window looking out to roof top parking did not fit flush to frame so the light to the car park which was on all night was very annoying

    N/a

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Signposting to entrance could be improved.

    The room and bathroom were both a good size with excellent facilities Shower was very good. The hotel had a laundry on site which was very reasonably priced to use.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mould in the shower - it's not that it wasn't cleaned because it was - but its the type of mould that doesn't come away with a simple clean - this is a repair job.

    Great big room, fabulous view, comfy bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very minor detail which is we didn’t have an ironing board in our room.

    Great view across to Hagley Park, Thai restaurant next door convenient and delicious with great service, clean and spacious room and friendly service at front desk on arrival and departure. We requested later departure on the morning of leaving and it wasn’t a problem. We’d come back here to stay when in Chch again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not the fault of the hotel. But the hoons that were racing each other into the early hours of the morning. Don't know if this happens often. If so, maybe you should consider getting triple glazing.

    The location was perfect for us, as we went to the cricket. The room was well appointed. Comfy bed. Great view of Hagley Park

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The traffic noise is bad! We read the reviews beforehand and were sure that we are sleeping deeply and wouldn't be bothered... But at night the street turns in a race track and people are firing up their tuned engines... In addition to that if it was a small Mom and Pop place in the county side, I would understand that checkin closes at 8pm. But as it is a major city and apparently almost all other guests arrived after 8 and found a letter with their room key at the front door, this felt weird. There is a car park right in front of the building but as the hotel lots are under renovation and all other lots have huge signs that they belong to the restaurants and cars will be towed, a person at the checkin or at least some simple printed out signs indicating where to park would have helped. Checking out was very Kiwi-untypical: "Hello, this is the price, good bye". Nothing about how we liked our stay etc. We found multiple hairs that didn't belong to us in the bathroom and on the bed. So all in all not very convenient...

    The location within the city was good. The room and bathroom spacious, the bed comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing !

    Staff could not have been more helpful. Car parking was simple. Lovely walk though Hagley Park to the city centre. The open top bus tour was excellent. Trevinos restaurant which was a short walk along Riccarton road was superb

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A shelf within the shower cubicle would be handy but won't prevent me returning!

    Spotlessly clean, large modern rooms. Very quiet and in a great location across from the park and within walking distance of many restaurants and cafes. Free parking a bonus too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a shame that the interlocking door was not locked to the room next door to us.

    The room had a great view of Hagley Park,was very spacious . Comfortably stay

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Closer restaurants only one was walking distance unlees you want thai or junk food. Cruising boy racers in the evening

    Good location, easy parking, pleasant view over the hagley park

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building work is going on in their carpark, so was rudely awoken to drilling noise very early in the morning (7am). Feel this should have been made known at the time of booking.

    Good spacious room& bathroom. Spa bath was nice, lovely bathroom products supplied.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no restaurant in the hotel however there were restaurants nearby including a very good Thai Restaurant. Street traffic is noisy, you had to use the A/C instead of opening windows during the night.

    Across the street from Hagley Park. Walking distance through the park to downtown. The corner room we had was very large. Lots of parking spaces. Easy drive to the airport and Apex car rental lot.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the hotels fault but the road was quite noisy at night at the weekend. (Maybe a room on the inside of the building would be quieter)

    Location was perfect for us. Very convenient for Addington Station and the Botanic Gardens/Hagley Park. Pleasant leafy walk into town. Well equipped and very spacious comfortable room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The street where the hotel is located is very loud, although the windows held back most of the noise. The interior would need a little update and the shower was a bit smelly.

    Very friendly staff and clean rooms. Great restaurants near the location and Hagley Park is just across the street.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows could do with more and not the cheap ones but next time i will just bring mines cause this is a great place

    Clean room great location would recommend and would stay again next time i am in christchurch.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    staff on check-in didn't advise of wifi and there wasn't a phone in the room or information in the compendium, so I had to go back down to reception to find out. Not a biggie but could've been avoided. Also didn't tell me procedure for after hours which wouldve been fine if my swipe card had of worked. Came back late, my swipe card didn't open the door, the after hours button did not pick up after 6 tries! If there hadn't been envelopes on the window for people checking in early, with the code to overide the door, I would've been left out in the cold. You should either make sure guest are awared of procedures or at least answer your after hours.

    loved that the room had a shower, not a shower over bath. Loved that there was parking and I had a view of the park. Room was a generous size and had all the facilities that you would expect.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel advertises that you are right on the park but our view was of a concrete parking garage. The furniture was a little on the older side but not too bad. The man at reception when we checked in was not pleasant but the young lady who was working upon our departure was pleasant.

    The size of the room was spacious, there was free parking and the location was good because it was right across the street for the big park that connects to the botanic gardens.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are well soundproofed for normal traffic. However, if you have a room overlooking what must be one of the busiest intersections in Christchurch, you will get intrusive noise from those infernal " boy racers".

    The rooms here are huge, more like a city apartment. Could entertain business guests if need be. Big enough for a sales presentation. Nicely furnished, clean and modern. Air conditioning great. Handy location with the option of ordering in room dining. Decent size tv. Off street parking albeit in a dark carpark.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wasn't expecting to be hanging over a busy intersection - but it was pretty interesting for 1 night. It isn't your usual reception situation and wasn't manned when we left.

    We were upgraded 2 I think. Had a large apartment over the intersection which had a nice view of the park. I liked the spaciousness of the apartment and air conditioning. However decor is worn and grouting in the unit needs a good clean. I liked the kitchen.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillow's could be better, lumpy and flat. Room was hot when I arrived with afternoon sun streaming in and the A/C off.

    Room was great, excellent size and nice and quiet

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't fault it.

    The receptionist was friendly and welcoming. The accommodation wad spacious, immaculate and very comfortable. The location is fantastic and close to everything.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view was the only thing lacking but someone has to be on that side of the hotel, room was still amazing.

    The location was perfect for beerfest and still close enough to town to go for a drink later and there was plenty if parking.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location, ease at finding hotel with a car in a strange city, parking right at the door, the size of the room - we were given the room they call the Penthouse - huge! It included a kitchenette. We only booked on Booking.com three days earlier and got a fantastic rate. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking for only 8 vehicles

    Great sized room, beautiful view of the park, great staff and really clean. Bathroom was great really big bath, kitchenette was well equipped.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I arrived on a hot day. I'd have estimated around 30 + degrees. Think how refreshing it would have been to walk into my room with the air-conditioning running and a nice cool haven. No. It felt more like 40 degrees. Instant sweat box. This is done as an energy saving measure requiring a tag to be inserted into a slot for power. But I feel that when a guest is expected the room should be at a comfortable temperature from the get go. The air-conditioning (in the form of a heat pump) is controlled by a wall mounted box located right below a light fixture (think light fixture glare). The box had no back lighting making the icons hard to differentiate (meant I selected heat instead of cool) and spent an uncomfortable first night cursing the whole thing. But how nice it would have been if it had been set prior to my arrival to a comfortable temperature. I was glad I found my error and worked it out for a refreshing second and third night. Another bugbear manifested itself in the form of a small TV bolted to the wall quite high up, directly above the table and chairs. This meant the TV position couldn't be adjusted. For the length of my stay I ate in and usually like to eat at the table while watching TV. To do this I had to pull the table out to the centre of the room. Annoying. Potential guests should also know that the car park is unsecured. I wondered to myself how easy it would be for anyone to walk in from the adjoining carpark undetected and fretted needlessly as to wheather my light bars would be missing from the ute come morning. But they were not and I was pleased about that. The Wifi is free but you are allotted limited data. Reception provide you a login username and password. For me, my Wifi stopped working every night requiring me to obtain a new username and password each morning. I'd have thought that in the age of ultra high speed fibre, limited data internet would be a thing of the past.

    The location is great. Very close to plenty of food options and a ten minute walk to Westgate Mall, just down the road. Moreover this property is right across the road from Hagley Park should you feel the need for trees and grass. The location couldn't be more perfect. My room was huge, tempered only by an unrequested roll away bed taking up space. Double glazed windows removed most, if not all of the traffic noise. On top of this the lady at check in was wonderful, very helpful indeed and check in itself was a breeze. As mentioned it was only a ten minute walk to Westgate mall or a 15 minute walk past the hospital into town. Quite central. This property includes free (tho unsecured) car parking to take the stress out of arriving with a vehicle. Limited Wifi is available free of charge.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't get given the Wi-Fi code on check in so had to call the out of ours reception, couldn't get late check out - overall not a big deal

    Big room, clean and good facilities, great location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleaners appear to not be up to the job - everything was just a little untidy. The first room we were appointed wasn't made up - had been recently used and not cleaned. We were immediately given another which was helpful, however little things like a stray hair on the sheets, not quite spotless bathroom etc left an impression.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Airconditioner was quite noisy.

    Very comfortable bed in a spacious room. We booked a king bed room which had a kitchen and dining area. The bathroom also had a spa bath, all in good condition. The room had a small balcony but unfortunatley for us, the room was at the back and it just had a view of the top floor of the carpark (which was empty) but it still allowed plenty of fresh air. Walking distance (15minutes) to the wesfield centre and cinema with plenty of restaurants there and along the walk.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location can't be beat. Easy walk to Botanic Gardens...it's on the corner from Hagley Park. The staff were beyond kind and helpful. Can't speak highly enough of the staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had requested a twin room and turned up to a double bed. It was too late in the evening to change anything. The owner gave us a discount for the trouble. The wifi can be a bit hit and miss.

    Great location, close to botanical gardens and probably the nicer side of Christchurch to stay in. Large and clean rooms. Easy access from the airport.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Key cards played up but worst was the boy racers driving around and around the park all night. Such a shame for this hotel as we couldn't sleep with the revving car engines. We stayed on a Friday night so I hope this doesn't happen every night. Great acess and parking building next door was excellent.

    The location is close to the hospital, Westfield shopping mall and all good shopping areas as well as the beautiful park is just across the road. Room was extra large with excellent curtains and sound proof from internal noise and normal street noise. Staff very friendly and obliging.Beds comfortable and lovely bathroom with spa bath and separate shower. Plenty of kitchen items.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The room was large and airy, very comfortable. I liked the fact I could use a clothes horse from the guest laundry to hang my good clothes on after washing and not have to use a dryer. Little things like that are important. A nice selection of teas and coffee was available in the room. The complimentary biscuits were delicious as well. The room was stylishly decorated. The hotel is well located for visits to Mona Vale house and gardens and walks in Hagley Park. It is also only a short walk to some good restaurants and the Riccarton Shopping Mall. There is lots of parking as well.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the sound from other guests travelled up the hallway and there was a bit of road noise from cars dragging the strip. nothing couldnt tune out with tv though. The bar and restaurant downstairs is closed however plenty options up the street.

    Really nice rooms and view on to the park, good quality set up of room decor and bathroom. Quiet relaxing area of town with plenty of restaurants within a 5min walk up the road. The thai restaurant underneath was really good food and value.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Phone didn't work. Shower door didn't close fully and made the floor pretty wet.

    It's in a good location with lots of parking. Huge room. Nice kitchenette

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing! Everything you need in accommodation, and more! Good deal for the money!

    It's a great location close to Hagley Park and Botanical Gardens. The room was massive, with a spa bath and shower and there is a Thai Restaurant downstairs. Its a great place to stay, and I will definitely be staying there again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the only thing that could have been better was if i could have stayed longer :)

    Staff were brilliant - extremely helpful and accommodating, bed super comfy, room was spotless, aircon wonderful on a very hot day- would definitely stay again. So handy to a terrific range of eateries, 2 mins walk, 24hr foodmarket next door, super easy free parking..

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival in the prison-bunker-styled reception area which makes you feel as though you have arrived to visit an inmate, we were confronted with an unsmiling, unhelpful receptionist who insisted on payment for the room (despite the room having been pre-paid). She insisted that it was not possible to pre-pay a Booking.com booking, necessitating us to hunt down a paper copy of our receipt (which, luckily, we had printed off before our journey). On seeing the receipt for payment, there was no apology ("Sorry for the misunderstanding/inconvenience", etc), just a room key card gloweringly thrown on the counter. Asking for the room Wi-Fi password was almost too much for her. The hotel is located on a very, very busy intersection. We stayed on a Friday evening, so it is possible that our experience was due to 'Friday night hooliganism' - but boy street racers, screaming motorcycles, and heavy trucks meant no sleep until after 1am. Then, at 6:30am, intermittent loud banging from within the hotel meant an early end to hard-won sleep. Strongly suspicious of glowing reviews on the hotel's Booking.com listing. Best avoided.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staircase to the parking building needed cleaning. Signage indicating where to park would be helpful.

    We were upgraded to a larger room opposite Hagley Park. The room included a kitchenette and was spacious and beautifully presented. Even though the road below was busy, there was very little street noise.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stubbed toe on hard edge of kitchen area tiling. No salt or pepper in shakers BUT receptionist fixed that for us really fast so service was good.

    Room was really large, nicely appointed, clean and we appreciated the staff , having read our request for a quiet room, taking the time to give us the choice of a room at the back ( which we took) or the better view at the front. Our room still had a view. Third floor was nice and quiet with the double glazing helping. Hotel is situated on a very busy intersection. Proximity to restaurants and Hagley Park is terrific.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room on third floor facing Hagley Park. Bright and green. Environmentally conscious with guest product use. Good value for money. Close to restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The manager at the hotel was rude, unfriendly and unhelpful. When we arrived the office was closed and one of the access cards did not work. We phoned the manager and he was unfriendly on the phone and finally agreed to come down and give me a new card and then just hung up without saying goodbye or how long he would be. When he arrived, he said it was my fault because I had the card against my mobile and when I explained that the card didn't work before holding it in my hand with mobile he said it was still my fault, took it off me, went into the office and reprogrammed it and gave it back. When I suggested he came to the room to ensure it worked he said "it will work" and got in the lift and left. He was blunt and rude and there was no need for the attitude which is a shame because I wont stay at this hotel again while he is the Manager!

    Accommodation was clean and easy to get to

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only down side is the fact it is on a busy main road - the boy racers kept me awake all night!

    Spaciuos, comfortable, clean rooms. Excellent location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road noise this weekend was awful till about 2am cars roaring along and disturbing sleep was a shame .☹️ At check in no advice given on wifi password and when we came in later no one to ask ☹️

    So many things I like about this hotel I’ve stayed a few times now. Clean and very comfortable with good secure car parking.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bad location at corner of main intersection spent until early morning hours awake due to the amount of boy racerscircling road. Another negative was no little details lIke absence of room bar, some cookies for with tea, no light snacks etc.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good .

    Always nice staying here it's a great hotel and we travel a lot Nice room nice furnishing good insulation and big room very comfortable I spent three weeks here while working and can highly recommend the Indian "argy bargy "restaurant a few meters away. It's a well run hotel and really one of The best in chch

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen lights didn't work. Shower was broken and made a funny noise.spa bath a lot smaller than expected.

    Nice clean spacious room with great view.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing negative thing about this location is the traffic noise especially being a weekend the boy racers were out on the town, otherwise the traffic noise wasn't a problem😊😊

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked this hotel because it had a restauran, but it had been closed down - and I couldn't find any food places open nearby in the afternoon, and the weather was terrible so I got very wet and cold walking around looking for somewhere to eat. It was falsely advertised that there was a hotel restaurant for dinner and breakfast, as I learned it had been closed down - this should have been updated on the hotel information and webpage. I also wasn't told this on arrest gal st check in, therefore I spent quite some time looking through the compendium as there was a note saying the restaurant menu was in there, this was also frustrating - so I don't rate this hotel well. It was also very cold so night as I had the heat pump off - because it is very loud - unlike other hotels I have been too where the heating is not so loud that it disrupts sleep. I got sick after being in the cold and rain looking for somewhere to eat, and being cold in the night.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked value deal at discounted price via booking.com - hotel overcharged us by $81 and denied knowledge of deal price. I said i had email confirmation. They said they would sort out but it would take a few days. I told them i wanted it sorted out asap. We are still waiting for this to be sorted. Very poor response from customer perspective - quick enough to take money off but not so quick putting it back

    Rooms were clean and spacious

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to go home

    Having a lovely large room and also adjoining doors to our friends room so that we could spend some good times together . Surprised how quite it was.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No reception after 8pm, extremely noisy outside Saturday night, cars racing on Dean St until 3am. Impossible to sleep. Reception very unwelcoming. Rooms have no soundproofing whatsoever. Rooms with spa bath only has small bath not what is shown on booking.com website.

    Big clean Room. Good Location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road noise was terrible but not much you can do about Christchurchs boy racers. Earplugs did the trick.

    Lovely room. Great service. Lovely view of park

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaner who came into my room didn't seem to do their job properly. On my first night I had no bath mat and for 2 days I had no water plug for my spa bath so I couldn't take a bath. The hotel is also situated at a major intersection so it could be loud and difficult to sleep at night.

    The location was quite close to the park and hospital where I was doing a course. I liked the friendly staff at reception. I liked how the hotel was Eco- friendly so they have refillable bottles of shampoo/ body wash etc. There's a few restaurants situated near the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I forgot my flash expensive drinking bottle in the freezer part of our room fridge. I phoned ask enquired about whether it still there. The receptionist at the time pretended to go have a look and told me it's been thrown out and circumstances required for us to go back and spend another night. The next morning my husband asked the cleaner about it. She unlocked the room that we used on our previous night's stay and the bottle was right where I left it so the receptionist is a liar and too lazy to do her job properly. This was extremely disappointing and makes me doubt we'll go back

    The rooms were beautiful and tidy

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is plunger coffee provided, but I was unable to find a plunger. There really needs a fan in the bathroom especially as the bathroom in internal with no window

    Love the location, cleanliness and size of the rooms

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: