Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pavilions Hotel 4 stars

42 Papanui Road, Merivale, 8014 Christchurch, New Zealand

#98 of 163 hotels in Christchurch

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 918 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very clean and tidy good size and comfortable. Bar was excellent food great and staff were extremely friendly and helpful especially the barman Keith great bloke

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom had no fan so when you have a shower everything gets wet.

    Room size was great and the bed was very comfortable. Heater looks very small but kept the room very warm. The property is a great size and there is a lot of parking available for free.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite a big step up over the elevated bath to get into the shower and turn it on - wouldn’t suit an older/shorter person. Breakfast room is very small so it was rather cramped and busy at 7am. Had to share a table with another guest.

    Good value for money. Lovely friendly and efficient staff. Check in/out was quick and easy. It’s an older hotel that has been renovated but nicely done.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Locked out of room, had to get moved as locked had broken, 2bedroom unit was ver small, 4people sleeping but only 2 a seater couch, kitchen was a normal motel kitchenette but the fridge was so small and old you could not put anything in it, other units have been modernised so maybe these are yet to be done.

    The room was clean and comfortable, staff are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    VERY THIN WALLS. NOISY PEOPLE TALKING OUTSIDE OUR DOOR 2-30 AM. MOST INCONSIDERATE!! NOT THE FAULT OF THE MANAGEMENT, BUT WOULD REQUEST A ROOM FURTHER FROM THIS AREA NEXT TIME.

    VERY COMFY BED.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The windows were draughty, had heavy condensation in the morning, and weren’t double-glazed. The shower had a curtain that kept going outside the shower and put water everywhere. Some of the fittings were a bit shabby and worn. Could do with a bit of an update.

    It was a great wee family unit, close to town and good eateries and shopping nearby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Kitchen and bathroom are looking a bit dated which spoils the over all appearance of the unit.

    Beds very comfy. Room warm, clean and comfortable. Reception staff wonderful - my son checked in before the rest of the family and the staff was welcoming to him.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For 4 people the room was too small. Only seating for 3 comfortably. It had every thing you needed but very compact.

    It was available at short notice. Close to where we wanted to be. Handy to every thing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room had a very musty smell on arrival. No air conditioning to disperse smell. Big hole in bath towel. Ground floor room looked out onto car park so had to keep curtains closed to avoid people looking in. This applied to bathroom/toilet as well which didn't have frosted glass.

    Good food. Lively bar with good bar snacks. Sport on TV in bar.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When i checked in i didn't find the receptionist very friendly, When we walked into our room it absolutely stunk of musty/mould/damp smell. The fridge froze our food and drink, no plug in bathroom or near mirror for hair straighteners!

    We met the owner and he was lovely and told us quite a bit of history really enjoyed meeting him😊 Bed was really comfy and room was lovely and clean. Loved looking at all the memorabilia in the bar.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room allocated had Plumbing issues, They then put us in a lovely upgraded room however was woken too loud screaming in the car park and banging of doors when are the guests arrived back not great soundproofing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    It was my birthday and when we got to our room the receptionist came across with two bottles of baby bubbles in an ice bucket and we also received a dessert at Jimmyes that evening with happy birthday candles ... they make you feel special. The breakfast was amazing g and a cheerful waiter brought it to our room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Water pressure in unit leaves a lot to be desired, and bathroom very dated no heated towel rail or bathroom heater.

    Staff and Jimmy's Restaurant excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t have air conditioning but opened the windows after the bugs and sun went down.

    Very clean and quiet with all the amenities we could want. Good restaurant. Small pool and hot tub and very friendly and knowledge staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed could have been a little more comfy. Didn’t like that the bathroom and toilet window was facing front view of people walking by. Couldn’t have light in while getting changed or on the toilet. If you want the window open to air out the bathroom you had to close the blind.

    Easy place to find and local to walking restaurants. There was a pool and spa - good but didn’t use as we only stayed three nights and were busy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had Cottage 2, a separate building from the hotel. Finding the room was a challenge. But, we had a beautiful suite, private, and quiet. Wi-Fi was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They were so accommodating. We booked via bookings and stipulated that we had 4adults 4children however according to the staff the room we booked can only take 6 max. They quickly change a room that would accommodate all of us at jo extra cost

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only slight let down was jimmys restaurant. Nice restaurant however the food wasn't up to par with the menu and the hotel. Both our meals were overcooked and the seafood chowder had minimal seafood. 1 Prawn few shrimp and one midget baby mussel. Staff were friendly enough however were not attentive at clearing plates.

    The space, cleanliness and staff were great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdoor spa is a small jacuzzi tub while pool is tiny - both very exposed in car park; in-room spa bath very noisy so couldn't use it

    Good location for airport, room was comfortable, clean and spacious

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenient location to the airport with the airport bus stop just down the street (300m away). It was also within easy walking distance of the central downtown area. Excellent pub/ restaurant too!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lower floor room, I have sore knees and find climbing steps a bit difficult, could be on the room booking form.

    nearness to the venue we had to attend ie the casino

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was advertised as a superior studio, but there was nothing superior about it. There was only one easy chair and the bathroom facilities were cramped. Overall the room was uncomfortable. The room was advertised with a balcony, but there wasn't one.

    We enjoy the breakfast. Sometimes the cost of breakfast is included in the price of the room. It wasn't this time.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning would be an added feature to help with sleep at night.

    A unique and inviting atmosphere. Jimmy’s Bar & Grill was a great watering hole. ;)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a very hot day and when I checked in at midnight the room Was stuffy n no air conditioning? I had to open the bathroom n kitchen windows and a fly buzzed in The water heater I think it was a heating unit in a cupboard rattled several times in the night

    Location 24 reception service Breakfast on site

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Thought the bathroom was very tired, shower had a curtain, would expect more than that with the price I paid. Kitchenette was also very tired, bar fridge was ancient. Could do with a revamp, especially considering the price per night. When we arrived at reception at check in, the one staff member seemed very busy and stressed, had to wait quite a while.

    Bed and particularly pillows were comfy

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our towels were taken away and not replaced. We had asked for no housekeeping. However it was not a big deal.

    An easy place to stay in. Breakfast was good - appreciated it being free.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No space for luggage in bedrooms had to put on floor really don’t like to do that.We did not like having frig filled with for pay articles the reason we rent an apt. So we can have breakfast at least in unit.

    Bed was very soft uncomfortably so ,all 4 guests agreed, Unit on 2nd floor difficult for 4 seniors with large heavy luggage but staff did help when we arrived. Nice facility ,flower beds nice,good laundry Facility enjoyed Line to hang clothing out.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to the city centre, loved the spa bath in the room & was able to request checkout a little later at no extra cost as I arrived after midnight. Staff are friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    No working usb port in room's appliances. Couldn't get a cup of coffee in the lounge bar the next morning due to short staff

    WElcoming staff, very comfortable bed and very clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The first night was dreadful. We had advised the property that our plane did not land until almost midnight so we would be late. They said that would be fine because they had a 24 hour reception. When we arrived there was no one around. We called out but got no response. Eventually, we went hunting around and found the night porter in a kitchen, in earshot of reception, so he must have heard us. He told us he would come out when his food was cooked. We had to wait. When he did appear, he was very rude and unhelpful. When we asked if there was a lift he just ignored the first question and then eventually told us no and if we wanted help with our luggage we would have to wait ten minutes until he ate his food. He must have been trained by Basil Fawlty! The room we were given was small but had an extra single bed. We could barely move. Not only that, it was very hot and there was no AC. In order to get any ventilation, we had to leave the curtains open but the room looked on to a courtyard which directly faced lots of other rooms. There was also a security light which was on all night. It was like sleeping in a goldfish bowl with interrogation lights! Avoid Room 860! However, the Duty Manager the next morning was very helpful and moved us to another wing and after that everything was fine.

    The room we moved into on the second day was big and had an effective AC.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite having double checked our booking a few days earlier the unit we were shown didn't have enough beds so we had to shift to a noisey area. The room was not properly stocked with tea,coffee etc. I asked for some coffee for the plunger and was told we would have to pay extra! As the room cost $305 per night I thought that was very mean. The bathroom was very small as was the second bedroom which only had one bedside reading light.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived in Christchurch and stayed there at the beginning as well at the end of our stay. On our return trip we were upgraded, however the bathtub was so high to get in and out of that I fell twice.

    The breakfast buffet offered a variety of foods and it was included in the price of our room, which was a plus! Staff personable and professional.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    everything else, small, mean and over priced....and very very dark dated rooms!

    hot water and great pressure in shower....comfy beds, easy check in and out and that is all i can say that is good im afraid. If you get out and about and are happy with the VERY basics, then its ok....we were out and about and still hated it....it all felt so terribly wrong, we couldn't spend any time in our room!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    computers still running vulnerable windows XP. Tried to send text message on left pc, kept changing from English to Chinese characters.

    Friendly helpfull staff, could walk into centre.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Instructions on how to use the spa bath would have been useful - but I did have fun mopping up!

    Great hotel for either business travellers or holidaymakers making a stopover as the hotel has a great quirky bar and a restaurant - you don't have to hoof it into Christchurch if you don't want to. Really comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Windows were spoilt so the toilet window and bedroom window couldnt be closed. As a result it was cold and noisy. Parking was very tough as there were very few lots and cars were parked so closely to each other.

    Convenient location and amenities in the room was sufficient. The unit was a little small though because we booked the room for 5 pax and the last bed was actually the sofa bed which when opened up, took up most of the walking space.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes they say things are complementary then other staff say you need to pay extra for it. Or room service is delivered one day exactly how you asked but the next day it’s just bread (not toast) as apparently we need to toast it ourselves and just cereal (no milk) as they say we should buy milk separately and no cutlery as they say we have cutlery in room. They should do one or their other.

    Lovely comfy big bed. Lovely big power shower. Staff are really friendly and nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great proximity to airport and close to city centre with restaurants and cafes. We used Super shuttles which were also great. Hotel had someone at reception to meet and check us in which was appreciated as we arrived late. We are travelling with Adult children and the two bedroom apartment suited us just fine. Would recommend this hotel for value for money. Very comfortable and good service.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room looks nothing like the photos on Booking.com, the bathroom was old and there was no mirror in the main bedroom so we had to find a plug in the bedroom and the cords for hair dryer/straightener were not long enough to reach the bathroom mirror!

    Bed was comfy and restaurant does an amazing buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room said it was a balcony room, no balcony just a front entrance? I thought the food would of been just charged to my credit card attached to the room...instead I had to run back to the car to grab card to pay for room service and and orange juice from minibar...was a bit annoying when up at 4 in the morning heading for a flight.

    Check in was easy, Bed was really comfy, room was warm and quiet. Food was great!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some type of cooling as room very stuffy on a hot muggy night and opening windows made it noisy as right by car parking

    Quiet, clean & comfortable. Lovely food for both dinner at night and breakfast. Restaurant hours accommodate different working hours

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It will be much nicer if there was a dressing gown.

    Room generally is great. Parking inside the hotel is comfortable and safe. I spent one night after long road trip and had a good time relaxing and recovering.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at reception were rude ; deluxe appartement of a 4 stars is not at all worth it ; furnitures and room style were old fashioned ; tiny bathroom ; kitchen cannot accommodate more than three people ;

    Jacuzzi and sauna ; free movies

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think you could spend the same money on a good motel and not feel like you are in a box. It was a 'special' booking.com room overlooking the rubbish skip, very small. WiFi hard to use so just gave up.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was not where I expected it said Queenstown but was actually frankstown had to do a lot of driving to get around, views were not of mountains and lake but the airport. Room was very small.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    I waited at reception while 2 staff members had a personal chat for a few minutes. Eventually I interrupted them. There was no apology. I got to my room (which was very clean and newly refurbished). The internet password didn't work so I went to call reception but the phone didn't work. I phoned from my mobile and advised staff about the phone - they weren't very interested. I went back to reception to get the internet password sorted out. Also, I could hear the people in the room next door quite easily. And the pillows were all huge.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was limited and crammed together, the quality of the breakfast buffet wasnt flash but a good average breakfast option. The room was smaller and more dated than Id expected from pictures. The bathroom window faced the carpark and the blind didnt go all the way down so the neighbours may have had a show!

    This is a simple location with the basics taken care of, not anything amazing to comment on and nothing bad to put you off. The basics done well, comfy bed and decent shower pressure.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is not city centre but has ample free parking and it is reflected in the price.

    Loved the quirkiness of the place, the barman was a real character. Lots of bits and pieces in the room which is helpful to a traveller, particularly on a short trip. We used the restaurant in the hotel as it was a bit far out to head back into the city.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The on-site restaurant is excellent!! We had a superb meal there- couldn’t fault a thing nor did I want to. Staff were outstanding in every way. Had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. Thank you for having me.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    paying $40.00 per person for a cooked breakfast that was sub standard, dry sausages, mushrooms floating in a milky sauce, and asking for more poached eggs that when arrived were over cooked and broken not good!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was 31 degrees in Christchurch but unfortunately this hotel room was not air conditioned. It was like staying in an oven. I asked twice for iced water with my room service but it never arrived. Perhaps this hotel is only good to stay at during winter.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Getting a little dated but otherwise everything was fine.

    2 Bedroom room was spacious and was quiet and comfortable. The swimming pool was great along with the newly installed spa. Food from the restaurant was good and room service was quick and efficient.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little on the small side but adequate and the shower pressure not too good. Also only a standard double bed

    The room was spotlessly clean and the shower was a wet room style. Breakfast buffet was good. Fairly central to city centre and near the park and botanic gardens

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds were hard and uncomfortable. Bathrooms were sufficient but are out-dated. The breakfast room was packed out so I had to be seated it the public bar which wasn't that bad but the hotel should have enough space for the amount of people booked to stay.

    Rooms were light and spacious.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit dated and WiFi in room was the poorest I had within NZ. Bit noisy at times.

    Bed comfortable and restaurant meal was good although should note that there are no restaurants in walking distance

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really nice hotel altogether - friendly and helpful staff, the room was very large and the facilities were great too. Handy for public transport to the airport.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately My family and I didn't enjoy staying at the pavilion. It wasn't worth the price and was told restaurants were walking distance, had to give up and go for BK. 40 bucks each way from the airport and back as no uber.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room service food was revolting. The recliners in the lounge room are desperately in need of a good clean.

    Spacious room. Clean and newly renovated bathroom. Comfortable bedding.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast area very small and not impressed with the quality of my omelette. The bathroom was very steamy because there was inadequate fan or ventilation.

    Excellent location room was comfortable and free movies was a bonus.Johnnys Bar was a good place to hang out with good bar snacks available

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The apartment was adjoining to another apartment and we could hear them, including their snoring. The apartment décor was also dated, particularly in the bathroom, but clean.

    The spacious 2 bedroom apartment and friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet was very difficult to flush and had to get assistance and she looked at me After she flushed it a couple times saying nothing wrong. Tv channel 7 said trackside but it wasn’t she came in and checked and then never heard or saw her again

    I paid online and then booked another night and paid straight away but I was charged for the first night again and then was asked to pay again when I checked out.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    I could hear the people next door talking and hear their Tv...never struck that before when I have stayed here..

    bed very comfortable..loads of hot water and good pressure in shower and as per usual very clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor bar selection, no cocktails at all and only 2 tap beers on offer. Entry door and curtain positioning ensured room privacy was poor.

    A little tired but good location, could walk to the City no trouble.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little coffee in the room and the shirt little milks and the toilet did not flush properly had to flush two or three times

    The bar and food was excellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bedside table on my side of the bed . Shower over bath was very dangerous and slippery There was no handle to hold on when Yu had to climb into the bath The pavilion hotel is really just a motel . The rooms are soulless , sorry but I won’t be coming back 😕

    Nice friendly staff, good location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Checked in at night and was subject to dealing with a very nasty 'racist' staff member at the reception. He was extremely rude and refused to let me see the Manager. I did see the owner and she apologised profusely the next morning. She also paid for my taxi fare to the University.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Both times we ordered room service, the food was delivered luke warm and served on cold plates so disappointing. Obviously rooms are quite a distance from the main kitchen. Salad dressing on lamb salad very bland. Probably wouldn't order room service again unless temperature was addressed. No net curtains on windows - in the day time everyone in the carpark walking past our ground floor window could see in. Only privacy was to draw them closed and cut out the day light.

    Comfy beds, housekeeping service very good. great little minnie bar, nice linen. Ideal location close to cafe's and restaurants. good selection of free movies.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    just this time hard finding park as there was construction work happening and their cars and trucks were parked there

    great rooms easy access to all parts of Christchurch. Enjoy staying here

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness of the room was not up to standard. The mugs were put back dirty the windowsills had mould and dirty fingerprints with food on the window. Hairs left in the bathtub. Pillows and bed were rock hard. Loud neighbors kept us up until 2am. The minibar was extremely overpriced. The breakfast buffet didn't have much of a selection for $30pp. The pool wasn't heated until the summer months. (Makes no sense) the spa pool is not private and faces about 30 odd rooms for full view. Was not a satisfactory stay I would not recommend this place to anyone

    The staff were very friendly. Most of the food was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking tricky when hotel full.

    Staff very welcoming, room was heated and warm for our arrival on a cold wet day. Good selection of menu options for our varied group.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car park is first in first serve, not allocated to room which meant we had to drive around to find one. But that was nothing really.

    Loved the clean, fresh, well equipped, spacious room. Very quiet. Felt safe. Spa was so good! Kitchen, toilet, shower and bathroom - excellent. The restaurant breakfast was amazing with variety of delicious food. Bed good, but little soft for me. Location - perfect!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location to bars and restaurants The Staff are friendly and helpful The extra facilities such as spa gym sauna pool are all easily accessible the breakfast buffet is wonderful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was cold and took ages to heat, no heater in bathroom. Two bedroom hotel room was cramped, main bedroom is a very odd shape - had to close the door to step around it to get to one side of the bed?!

    Good location, we were in a unit well away from the road, so no road noise issues. Beds and pillows were great, nice linen.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No heating in the bathroom either on floor or towel rail or heat pump

    Electric blanket A couch in the room Big Window with morning sun Good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower, hot water took 5+ mins to heat and the floor of the shower was an aluminum material and quite slippery.

    The buffet breakfast every morning was delicious. Bed was comfortable, staff were helpful and the place was nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: