Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Fat Cod Backpackers 3 stars

9 Auckland Street, 7220 Picton, New Zealand

#17 of 22 hotels in Picton

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 329 hostel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.5
    Good price, great location, friendly staff, lovely warm fire. Parts of the facily rundown looking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom facilities, although clean, looked old and uninviting.

    The room was spacious , clean and the bed comfortable. Host was helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.2
    Amazing kitchen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room (10 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing kitchen. Really clean hostel. Compfortable beds. Simple check in/out process and no key deposit required if you booked online! Would stay again for sure

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    3.8
    If you’re taking the ferry, then it’s a good place.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Bed in 4-5 Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After driving more than 12 hours I’d like to take a good shower and sleep well. Not here. You have limited time shower and piece of paper as mattress.

    If you’re taking the ferry, then it’s a good place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.7
    Not all that good the place was like a second hand store and needs to improve the beds you sleep in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing the bed was crap and was hard to sleep in

    Somewhere to sleep however the next to the office was at times very nosey and staff would not keep there TV down low and people above sliding chairs around

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.6
    Kitchen and livingroom are great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No cover in between rooms and litchen/livingrooom. I slept late and woke up. I did not get enough sleep because of that. I am a light sleeper.

    Kitchen and livingroom are great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.5
    Comfy bed and pretty clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    8 min hot shower wasn’t an issue for me but can see how it could be for others. Lacking in little things like no soap/body wash in the showers, freezing in the rooms and bathrooms especially as we stayed on a particular stormy night and had no heater etc (nice fire in the communal area but can only fit about 3 people around it) The WiFi was pretty annoying! Either let people pay an amount for the day in order to stop the constant trip to reception for another 1GB. If people can keep going back to reception for free WiFi vouchers, why not just give it for free anyway with a higher amount of data on each voucher?

    Comfy bed and pretty clean. Location great by ferry terminal

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Good value for money at $75 per night for 2.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a double room and a chair to sit on rather than the bed would have been useful but not essential. There was CCTV in use so why not catch those responsible for creating an unnecessary mess in common areas.

    Look, its very simple. When you pay $75 for two to stay overnight what do you expect. A clean bed, yes. Warmth, yes. Washing, toilet and laundry facilities yes. Lounge with TV and pool table yes. Power point in room, yes. It was only the standard of guest that let it down and I blame the parents of individuals who consider it beneath their dignity to wash up their dirty crockery and leave wet towels on shower floors when there is a perfectly adequate laundry basket 5 meters away. You could blow the money you save on a Pint of Prawns at the Cockles restaurant next door, Mmmm.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    5.0
    Location was great unto the city and to the ferry
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt like we were treated like children, had to wear a wristband-so they know whos staying ther! There are signs everywhere about alwhat u can and cant do, cant deink alcohol after 10.30pm, kitchen shuts at 10.30pm, kithcne and bathroom shut 10.15-12 everyday for them to clean them. Been in a lot of backpackers in the last few months and nowhere else seems to have the need to do this. Showers have a button u have to press to give u 8 mins of hot water! Place didnt seem filthy but our room absolutely stunk when we got there like a teenagers that hadnt been cleaned for months! There were lots of flies around the place also. Towels were so old discoloured and bobbly. not much cutlery. Extractor fan in didnt work. This place needs some tlc

    Location was great unto the city and to the ferry

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    8.3
    It was close to the ferry so we didn't have to walk a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was worn out and 'sunken-down' in the middle. There was a seating area right outside our window from which we could hear people talking and smell cigarette smoke. It was an okay place to spend one night in, but we didn't want to extend our stay there.

    It was close to the ferry so we didn't have to walk a million miles with our luggage! :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.8
    Beds were a little short, I kept getting kicked by the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room (10 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds were a little short, I kept getting kicked by the person in the bed at my feet. Ladder to the top bunk was very hard to get to without disturbing the other people.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    5.4
    Shame about the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-5 Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 5 very small for 5 people with luggage, very hot and poor ventilation. No lockers, storage or shelves just 6 coat hooks and a towel rail so all your stuff is either on floor or in your bunk. Only one power point behind mattress so hot chargers in contact with mattress. No separation between end one bunk and the next so tall people feet touch. One ladder for both top bunks, poor design and positioned so you have to disturb other bunk to get access. Had booked 2 nights but when checked in and realised room so poor asked to pay to upgrade or cancel 2nd night. Told cancellation policy did not allow upgrades or cancellations and no refunds.....

    Friendly staff, kitchen and lounge area fine, good bus / parking outside, close to shops, food and bars.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    4.2
    Not good, rude staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-5 Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terribly unfriendly staff, always seemed bothered when you asked a question. I was not allowed to wait for my bus in the common area of the hostel after check out. Got kicked out because "its high season" and apparently too crowded.I was the only person in the common area at that time. They advertise with free wifi but you only get a 1Gb voucher and they give you a hard time when you want another one, even if you stay multiple nights. Not recommended to stay there.

    Good location, nice common area

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.8
    Nice place, good location - good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    You have limited time for hot shower (as far as I remember 6 mins) which is actually enough, just be prepared for this as well when you decide to stay here. :-)

    Fat Cod is very easy to find and the staff is very nice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    4.2
    I'd liked that it was nearby the ferry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The horrible wifi connection, that I couldn't do my laundry, that I couldn't use the phone, that the shower was gross and cold water.

    I'd liked that it was nearby the ferry.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.1
    it was ok
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was next to entrance and office so had people making noise all night. Also I think that the fire alarm system was not working, the sensors were not poleing and the main fire panel did not have normal light on.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.9
    a really nice and cozy kitchen and living area, no party...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room (10 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room smelled really funny... also, the showers only had hot water for 8min, and the pressure was really low, so it took ages (more than eight minutes) to rinse soap off hair and body

    a really nice and cozy kitchen and living area, no party hostel but still easy to get into contact with people, perfect!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    6.3
    They give you Wi-Fi vouchers that give you a certain amount...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They give you Wi-Fi vouchers that give you a certain amount of data, we ran out and the staff there told us she couldn't give us more while she laid on the couch and said sorry bro. Would've been funny if they didn't advertise free Wi-Fi and it was hard to get public Wi-Fi in picton. Overall the hostel just had no atmosphere.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    8.8
    More like a motel than a backpackers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower. In particular, the pressure would go down heavily if you tried to have a warm shower

    The room was nice. Window especially. Room was clean. Bed was comfy. The lamp was nice. Building was warm. Facilities were clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    8.3
    Friendly staff, the place is cozy (there is a fire going on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff, the place is cozy (there is a fire going on cold days), the kitchen is fully equipped and spacious! It is located right by the ferry terminal :)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    8.8
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating in the room was a bit inadequate as it was quite cold.

    A perfect place to rest and explore this small place. Excellent location, just opposite the ferry terminal and the shops. The communal kitchen, bathrooms, laundry, etc were clean. Adequate parking in front of the hostel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    Friendly, comfortable and ideal for a weary traveller.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room (10 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Don't change a thing!

    Very helpful efficient and friendly staff. Very warm with the fire going when I arrived. Very clean. Very comfortable bed. Can't be faulted. 3rd time I've stayed there in the last 2 years. Great every time.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    8.8
    Good hostel with excellent Wifi but abysmal shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room (8 Beds)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - The shower was tepid at best and the water pressure was non-existent - If you want to use the facilities after check-out, you need to pay extra. Is that really necessary?

    - Comfortable beds - Good kitchen facilities - Storage lockers available - Friendly staff - Excellent and free unlimited Wifi - Very close to ferry terminal, i-Site, bus stop, and town - Since it was the off-season, we got the dorm tl ourselves!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    9.2
    Nice place to stay before catch the ferry!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room (8 Beds)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's only one place to connect your devices and in my room it was not near of my bed. The pillow could be better.

    The staff is very friendly and they will help you in any thing that you could need. Relation price and place is OK. They also have hair-dryer and hot water bottle (the place is warm, it was just me that I was frezzing). They also have a nice fireplace!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.2
    1) It was usually quiet, I gather this is their quiet season.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room (10 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1) Place was cold in the morning. Perhaps a heater, using off peak electricity, if this is available. 2) The Borrow bike I used had gears that were very hard to change up & down. 3) I found Shower box 3 had a very low flow rate 4) The soup needed a bit more solid vegies

    1) It was usually quiet, I gather this is their quiet season. 2) Was warm, once the burner was going. 3) Some good conversations with some of the other guests. 4) Borrow bikes 5) I found Shower box 5 had a good water flow 6) Free soup 6pm

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    The most cleanest hostel in the world.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilets are located in only one place at hostel, which can be an issue if your room is the the farest one.

    Extremely clean and tidy place. Location is also very good, everything is in walking distance. Free soups are available every day at 6pm.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    Great place to begin your adventure in South Island
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Male Dormitory Room (4 Beds)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't use laundry facilities so can't comment on that. I guess WiFi may be restricted in busier periods over the summer and the kitchen may not provide enough space if it was very busy.

    Excellent location and good value in a small quiet gateway town, welcomed by friendly and helpful staff. Spacious and immaculate rooms that catch the sun. Good hot showers and clean bathroom area. Good kitchen facilities (weak knives though) and free soup provided. Free WiFi was really good, 1GB voucher on arrival and free to get more.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    10
    Fat Cod Backpackers Review (excellent)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room (8 Beds)
    • Stayed 1 night

    My friend and I stayed in an eight-person, all-female dorm. Of the five hostels we stayed in on our trip, this one was definitely one of my favorites. It was small and cozy, the kitchen and activity room were amazing (lots of games, T.V, and pool table) and the location was also fantastic. The staff were all super friendly and helpful, and they have two free bikes that you can use to ride around if you want. Could not recommend more.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    6.3
    Okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fat cod advertises with a lot of free stuff, but all with special conditions. Free hot shower, yeah, but for eight minutes. Free wifi, yeah but you get cut off at 10am de morning you check-out.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    9.2
    Great hospitality:)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room (8 Beds)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's the closest place to everything. Very convenient. Every staff was very kind, friendly. Quiet. Breakfast (bread & jam) service was nice. Wifi was unlimited.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    2.5
    Almost stolen
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Submitted via mobile

    THIEVES. These people stole me as a backpacker. I recommend not to book here because if do not make it because something wrong happen to you they don't care.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    10
    Really good place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the WiFi a little bit slow, and the room a little bit cold inside...but they will give you as many blanket that you need.

    The best hostel in the whole new zealand. Very clean, cosy, beautiful room and nice kitchen with all the stuff you could need. I really recommend this place and we defenetly come back again.the staff is very polite.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    10
    Thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thank you, it has been the best experience so far in the NZ backpackers that I've visited! Clean, very helpful and friendly staff and perfect for solo traveler! :)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    4.6
    There are much better places.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-5 Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny. 5 beds ( 2 bunkbeds and 1 solo) in a very small space. There was about 1mt corridor in front of the beds and no space to put backpack/ suitcases. You literally have to walk on people stuff to get to your bed. Bed noisy every time you move. And there was a mouse in the bedroom. Go there just for 1 night and no other option.

    Near the ferry to go to Wellington.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    9.6
    Staff were really friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room (10 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were really friendly and helpful. They let me dry off by the fire after I went for a walk in the rain, even though I had already checked out. Fire was super cosy. Kitchen was well equipped.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    10
    Great hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-5 Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not to do with hostel but buses can get sold out fast book ahead

    Big tv lounge area Big table in kitchen Good kitchen facilities they close at 10.30 You can have a few drinks in hostel but cannot drink after 10.30 Nice outside raises deck area Clean toilets and laundry and shower area Outside area to dry clothes Staff very friendly and able to tell you about area 10% discount with wristband in some pubs in town Subway and pub right next door Bus stop less than 2 mins walk from hostel Ferry is 5 mins walk

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    10
    Great location, friendly staff, very clean facilities and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, I would be very happy to stay their again.

    I had rung ahead to ask about accessability. I had a ground floor room which was very helpful as I am on crutches.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    5.4
    The Location to the ferry terminal is verually next door...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was my first experience of sharing a dorm room in a back packer. There was no room to move around the room or stow my gear. The room was poorly ventilated and quite stuffy/smelly. I will put it down to a life experience.

    The Location to the ferry terminal is verually next door & communication from staff was excellent. Thank you

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location for ferry passengers, comfortable facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No negative comments

    Location was excellent for those arriving by ferry as it is within sight of the dock directly at the end of the parking lot of the terminal.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    7.1
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Bed in Male Dormitory Room (4 Beds)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Did not like that the other 2 guests in our room who were not considerate enough to be quiet when they arrived at 2 a.m in the morning. Especially since we had a late arrival off the ferry then had to get up early in the morning.

    Loved location and price

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    10
    Great budget stay for one night!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Basic room with shared bathroom/toilet facilities was clean, comfortable and a good value for a great location not far from the ferry terminal. Staff did a fantastic job and even returned sunglasses that I had accidentally left behind.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    8.8
    Nice place to stay in Picton
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room (8 Beds)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First bbh I've come across in Nz where you cannot use facilities after check out, maybe its a south Island thing but after paying it makes you feel a little bit unwelcome. Most hostels north island just want you out the room by check out but can still have full use of hostel

    Location - near ferry Staff Balcony seats with view

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    7.1
    The bed was comphy and the bathrooms were very clean.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-5 Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Female shared room very small with no where to put your bags. Or hang things up. Only 1 powerplug in the room, located behind a bed. I had to ask at the desk where it was.

    The bed was comphy and the bathrooms were very clean.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    9.2
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Male Dormitory Room (4 Beds)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Showers didn't have much room but all of the facilities did the job :)

    Great location. Has a nice hangout area (couches, pool table, deck). Great value.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    4.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very annoying cleaning lady makes sure that you do not feel welcome at the hostel the morning before check-out. Couldn't even eat my breakfast in peace.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    8.8
    Great for passing through.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room (8 Beds)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only one plug socket that I could find in the 8 bed dorm, but this didn't matter for me as I was the only one in there.

    Right down the road from the Ferry port and the main street. The staff were friendly. It was very quiet when I was there so I had an 8 bed dorm room to myself.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-5 Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the price is little bit high

    great

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    10
    Cosy accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small and cosy accommodation with great facilities.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.2
    Friendly staff, good value, great location, well equiped...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff, good value, great location, well equiped kitchen.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.6
    Very good place to stay!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice staff, super clean and very nice place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    The staff was very nice and the room was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I prefer male and female showers separated.

    The staff was very nice and the room was clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.8
    Cozy and central
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable clean place, nice sized rooms, great location, friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.1
    Very comyfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service could have been less sarcastic on arrival

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyed my stay here. Wish could have stayed a few more days. And I would like to come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The youngsters were very loud

    The guests were very welcoming to each other. It felt like home

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.9
    Nga mihi (thank you)
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too close to railway track got woken up at 3:30am

    Hop step & jump to township

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.5
    Great location, close to ferry terminal!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, close to ferry terminal!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room for dorm, not enough space for luggage and access to Luggage

    Great location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    10
    Best location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If there was more Wi-Fi time limit.

    Bedroom ventilation was great and it was bright... Customer service was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    8.8
    It was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Messy outdoor area

    Excellent vibe

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    Nice stay !
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, cozy, kind and helpful staff. We stayed at a two-bed room which was spacious enough :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    10
    Good location for ferry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location for ferry. Clean kitchen, bathroom and quiet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    5.4
    A decent place to stay before your ferry ride.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room (10 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wasn't great in terms of cleanliness

    Close to the ferry terminal

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    6.3
    So so
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited wifi range, need to wear a band like you would in theme park (total turn off)

    Very close to harbour

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    5.4
    This accommodation wasn't my cuppa tea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 4-5 Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I found the room musty and that it was quite noisey.

    I liked that it was central to the cbd.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.9
    Close to the ferry port
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room (10 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to the ferry port

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    8.3
    It had everything we needed clean quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It had everything we needed clean quiet

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    5.4
    Would have preferred to be in the villa around the corner
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tired accommodation and didn't smell fresh

    Advertised as nearest to the ferry

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    10
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very friendly staff and great locatiom.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.2
    amazing place for backpackers. value for money, everything is near by.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing as such..

    everything was about this property. very near to bus & ferry terminal. its clean and peaceful place.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    8.3
    Excellent for what I needed for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    No problems at check-in

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    5.4
    Small town, all is near
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Vert noisy. Big problems with inernet even if a woman of thé office fond thé solution

    Small town, all is near

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.5
    All good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting kicked out for smoking weed?, cigarettes are worse and it is a backpackers, it should be expected?

    The people

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    8.3
    Great location
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room (10 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Squeaky door on dormitory room 1. Train at 5.30am outside window. Not enough parking.

    Good location. Free hot showers. Clean. Excellent Wi-Fi.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    5.4
    Ok for late ferry arrival
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows smell awful, tiny kitchen

    Location and late arrivals welcome

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant and conveniently placed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is great, cheap, had all I needed

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    6.3
    Pretty good apart from the water issue
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't get the hot water to work in the shower

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: