Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Base Bay Of Islands 4 stars

18 Kings Road, 0247 Paihia, New Zealand

#44 of 45 hotels in Paihia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 110 hostel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Paid WiFi

    5.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 55

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our heater didn’t work and there was mound build up around the walls or the shower.

    Location, having a shared kitchen in our little house, as well as the big communal kitchen, bed was very comfortable. The quiz night was a lot of fun and it was very good value for money!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was a bit soft, the room was stuffy, it needed an air fan, and it was a bit noisy at the bar, couldn't get to sleep.

    The staff were quite good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    My sleep was a little disturbed because the light outside the door (with a large glass window) stays on at night, and the room is also joined to other rooms and the shared kitchen and bathroom by a door - so you can hear everything that's going on next door. But this was definitely outweighed for me by the comfort of the bed, the friendliness of the staff - and having a TV! :)

    The staff were excellent - couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. It was great to have a room to myself - a real backpacker luxury!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t realise that the room wasn’t air conditioned much less have a fan at least in the middle of summer. Really uncomfortable temperature in the room.

    We liked the fact that it was handy to beach and restaurants/town

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cleanliness was an issue in the kitchen. toilet and bathroom was clean. Even though it was shared facilities it was obvious no cleaning was done in Kitchen and floors.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not realise the place was party central with own pub on site. Was very noisy and the drunkeness went on til the early hours of the morning. Not ideal when you have an early start and are wanting some sleep! Also the pool was bright green - no idea what was growing in it. Not much use when it's the middle of summer. Fortunately the beach was not far away.

    Close to town and activities

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The WiFi stopped working late evening and never really came back up until we left the next morning. I'm not too addicted to internet, so I would let this slide, except that it happened on Xmas eve so it was really rather inconvenient.

    It was great to have kitchen facilities in the room! Very nice location, easy walking distance to the center of town. Also, the Bay of Islands area is just stunning in general. Friendly staff, and I found it super nice that they had organized a Xmas eve party for their guests (even though we did not take part).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen very clean in the morning but found quite disheveled by the afternoon depending on guests. Facilities are otherwise good. Table space for eating is a bit limited, only one large outdoor style table actually indoors. Noise from party people until at least midnight and beyond. Fortunately, we were as far away from the bar as possible.

    Close to township and grocery shops. Ten minute walk to main shopping, restaurants and Ferry and Cruise Piers area. Good kitchen and saucepans but a bit mis-matched. Frypans could be better. Kettle, toaster, cutlery, etc. all OK. Staff friendly and helpful. Large lounge space and adjacent bar.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Considering we paid almost $150 for our room, it was disappointing. There were no towels, despite our request. We had to go and buy some. The glass door , though frosted, had no means of keeping out the light in the morning. It shone straight onto our bed in the tiny room. Partying and loud music in the outdoor bar area continued until 1:00 am every night, making sleep impossible for anyone before then. A great place for young backpackers - not for us. Or rather, not at that price.

    Very comfy bed Good kitchen facilities.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very loud at night, not great if your planning on getting up early to make the most of the area. Amenities were low quality, spa and pool were very run down and not clean. No allocated parking for rooms.

    Good location next to beach and short walk to town centre. Cheap drinks at bar.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (8 Beds)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is only wifi in the common area between 7am-7pm A new bus if kiwi experience tourists arrive every day so can be a bit cliquey as everyone already knows each other No lockers at all Pool & hot tub not fit to use so shouldn't be advertised

    The room was kept clean & temperature was good even though it was really hot. Great kitchen facilities. Very comfy bed. Good shower. Nice common room & outdoor area. Good location. Top tip - if you walk towards the Waitangi Treaty Grounds on the way there is a pink ice cream van called Jude's real fruit ice cream - it's the best ice cream ever & Jude is the coolest lady. It's worth the walk just for the ice cream by the beach

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room wasn't clean; there were sands in the kitchen and bathroom. It was noisy too, even though that was somewhat expected, given that it is a backpacker and there is a pub in the property.

    The location is good, and the car could be parked right in front of the room (en suite private room).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female Sanctuary Dormitory Room (8 Beds)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen did not have enough utilities. For example there weren't a lot of pans, and most of the things were pretty old. I think the kitchen needs an improvement, a lot of the things were broken and not at their best. But overall I have not that much to complain about. In the bedrooms please have more outlets!!

    The rooms were nice, we had enough space. I like that each room was divide with its independent bathroom, entrance, mini fridge, and other places were to store food and other stuff. The position was nice, right next to the beach. There's the cafe that its always full of people, it's very nice. They even organize events to involve everyone, very nice and funny. The staff was very polite.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (8 Beds)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing.

    the staff are accommodating. they answered our every beck and call. the room although not spacious since its a dorm type but it is clean, refreshing and comfortable. We can cook and thats the best part of our stay although some kitchen utensils such as knives were not that sharp to cut onions😉😢 some of the top were not functioning but we still make a delicious meal out of it. patience is a virtue. definitely will come back☺️

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bedbugs!!!!!!!!!!!!! We should have read the reviews prior to our arrival. Horrible attitude of the staff who accused us of bringing them although we had left before we even slept there as my friend saw a few on the bed when she was getting ready to sleep.

    Location is great and they have free DVDs to watch

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    With 3 private rooms we had our own mini kitchen (no cooking, but there was a microwave and you could boil water and there was a fridge), that was nice!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to the beach. Close to the local shops, bars, restaurants and information centre Friendly and helpful staff and local people. Gorgeous views Entertainment daily good for those who like to boogie. Ear plugs supplied

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (8 Beds)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too close to the pub, I think my room shared a wall with the pub. A bit pricey but you can't be a beggar when choosing to travel during peak holiday season. Another guest woke me up in the middle of the night, same as last time I stayed there.

    Close to beach! Very on-to-it staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we made the booking through Booking.com,it came up to say as Genius members we get Priority early checkin and late check out. We planned our morning in Paihia around the early check-in, but when we turned up we got told checkin wasn't until 2 - we explained that we had a priority 2hour early checkin and the reply was they know Booking.com says this, but they don't know why as it's not true - and we couldn't have the late checkout that we were advised we could have either. I get that mistakes happen, however they motel staff seemed very aware this is offered - so they either need to honour this or tell Booking.com to stop offering it. The early/late checkin/checkout was part of the attraction of the place

    Close to town

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place was terrible! When you get ear plugs on your bed on arrival you've got to be concerned! If your after an early night this is not the place to stay. We were in a private double and we could hear everything everyone else was doing. The bed was so uncomfortable I could even feel the springs.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (8 Beds)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wifi is just free from 7am to 7pm. The kitchen miss some equipments. The property on the room is not very great. The staff is not very closed to you, you know they are just here to make money.

    The rooms have their own bathroom

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female Sanctuary Dormitory Room (8 Beds)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Impersonal hostel where you only felt welcome if you wanted to play the drinking games in the bar. The hottub is in the middle of the car park and no peace and quiet til 1am when the bar closes. I checked in at 9pm and had to drag a reluctant staff member from the bar to check me in who pretty much threw the keys at me so he could get back to organising the drinking games at the bar. Not impressed.

    Clean room. Comfy bed.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female Sanctuary Dormitory Room (8 Beds)
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't stay here long enough to find any problems.

    Staff were super helpful. Great location. Good restaurants nearby, easy to walk to the attractions from here.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool was tatty.

    Very close to beach and Waitangi Treaty Grounds. BBQ in the evening was very good. Parking right by chalet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (8 Beds)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy travellers made sleeping difficult but the locations staff were great. The toilets in the commom area were pretty bad.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (8 Beds)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to beach

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Natural Ventilation and windows privacy

    Size room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited free internet areas. Parking very narrow and noisy bar that has all units around it, good thing they provide ear plugs

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (8 Beds)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More bathrooms

    Good heating and comfy beds

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    How clean the room was

    The price and location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (8 Beds)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    The staff Jordan is so nice and help us settle down until 10:00pn

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to the party organised by the hostel it was very loud (people partying).

    Like the men vs women night and the bbq ^^

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No table in the room

    Location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you want to party this is the place to stay, if you need sleep forget it

    Good location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (8 Beds)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms really need air conditioning. Was unable unable to sleep rooms were so hot. Pool much smaller than pictured.

    BBQ is good value for money.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (8 Beds)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy bed and bathroom needed cleaning

    Bathroom was part of the dorm room

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Female Sanctuary Dormitory Room (8 Beds)
    • Stayed 1 night

    no wifi at night time

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female Sanctuary Dormitory Room (8 Beds)
    • Stayed 1 night

    had no 24h WiFi for guests, just during the day

    was clean and with the houses/rooms i felt defenitly like in hollidays :-) small Pool and BBQ

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (8 Beds)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendly staff and unwelcome atmosphere

    The bed was comfortable

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilets and showers are not cleaned regularly

    Need the facility to be more clean. They need to provide fans in the rooms for hot months.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi should be free 24 hours in common areas

    Private shared kitchen was great and earplugs were a nice touch

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (8 Beds)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would be better if the toilets were bigger, although that is minor. everything else was fine.

    Comfy beds and very helpful staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (8 Beds)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen to small, lounge really bad.

    Many young ppl, nice staff. Pub is alright.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (8 Beds)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What could have been better? A kitchen upgrade, more user friendly. Maybe a on site take away.

    Your own barberque facilities.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If you tried to move around on the bed the springs dug into you, luckily once you were still the bed was relatively comfortable. On our second night there was a large group of people in the bar being incredibly noisy. We are unsure as to whether they were staying in the hostel or not but they did not quieten down until just gone midnight.

    The private rooms are very big. We had our own mini kitchen with microwave, toaster and kettle as well as a fridge. Short walk to the wharf and to the supermarket.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    An item supplied in our arrival. Air plugs! 2nd night, Sat the earplugs at 2am in the morning didn't silence the young ones playin up. Not really suitable for elderly couples

    Stayed 2 nights and found the bed vry comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi expensive and they sting you a nasty surcharge if you pay with a debit card. Pay cash to avoid it.

    Room fine, clean and confortable, a bit noisy but it is a backpackers.

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the noise till 4 am the music and the bar till 1 am drunk people everywhere the staff approving this noise and behaviour Booking should stop to have this awful backpack on its list, the worst night of my all life! refuse to reimburse the night where we slept only 3 hours!

    nothing

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I was unaware of the dry campus rule till I got there. The toilet wasnt working by the end of the night and maybe hand towels in the bathroom would have been nice

    1st time staying in a backpackers andit was awesome dorm mates were lovely staff friendly rooms were clean a nice decent size room close to different bars would be back again with more friends

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Smelly carpet

    Clean bathroom at girls only room

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Overall cleanliness wasn't great, pool was dirty so unable to be used, very cramped cooking facilities.

    Good location

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No lockers at all in the room

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Atmosphere was great

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Noisy if you weren't there to party all night long

    Convenience, fun

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Too noisy. There was no curtain on the opaque glass door. Difficult to sleep.

    Location

There are also 36 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 55

Guests also reviewed these properties: