Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western President Hotel Auckland 3 stars

27-35 Victoria Street West, 1010 Auckland, New Zealand

Review score

Based on 2670 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Standard Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I asked for a quiet room but we got one facing Victoria Street. Lots of traffic noise and our room was right opposite the vertical bungy ball. It's not called the sky screamer for nothing!

    I left my phone charger behind in the room and the staff were extremely helpful in returning it to me, Thank you so much.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Corporate Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room smelt could have been from some one smoking in the room before we moved in. could have had better TV programmes

    Staff very helpful close to city

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Gym wasn't great as the equipment were old and not many cardio machines, took a look and decided not to use it.

    Building looked a little old from the outside but the rooms on the inside were nice and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking was a bit annoying but still better to know my car was safe

    Amazing customer service! Loved the receptionists, the location was also perfect and made it super safe for us.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Family Room with One Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - Room was old and interior appeared old-fashioned - Extra-stairs to get to the breakfast (not easy with infants/little kids and pram) - Unpleasant atmosphere at reception area

    - Central location with shops and supermarket very close - Large apartment with enough space

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Standard Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are excellent, so friendly and professional. The room was very clean and very spacious. I would highly recommend this place to friends and family.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing i didn’t like about this property. In fact I have recommended this hotel to a group of friends coming over to stay in August

    I had to book an extra night as I forgot it was a long weekend. The staff were very accommodating in allowing me to stay in the same room for the duration of my stay. I was in room 705, great room, great view and very comfortable and quiet. The staff are so friendly from the front of house staff to the house keeping staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel smelled horrible. The hot water in the bathroom runs only for 15 minuets. The bed wasn’t comfortable and not enough pillows and blankets. In general there are much better places to stay in CBD

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Family Room with One Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were charged for the room twice there for had only limited money left over to spend. Staff member knew that he made a mistake but didn’t inform us until we went to see him after trying to get lunch and our card declined.

    Loved the location! So close to the main shopping street (queen street) and supermarket.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Totally unrelated but the homeless situation is really obvious from the hotel.

    Everything! Really central location to all amenities. Clean and staff were amazingly accomodating

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Standard Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise and Curtains were too short and not clean.

    The location was fantastic but the heating was very noisy and food very average for the price. Was better and cheaper elsewhere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little worn down But otherwise fine

    Very friendly staff , property is very convenient , groceries shop right next door - a mall opposite it and coffee and take away 5 minutes away - we also had a gorgeous view of the sky tower from our bedroom window.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Corporate Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very clean which was impressive it was warm, roomy and quiet. Staff were helpful and friendly. Buffet breakfast was great the pancakes were fantastic the hoghl8ght of my stay. Thanks will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator was just too fast until you get use to it. The enclosed shower area in T&B dont have a faucet. Its straight shower.

    The best location central to all - Queens street, top places to see (Sky Tower, Civic Centre, Auckland gallery, Harbor/Viaduct), near to grocery stores (Countdown) to buy some food stuffs. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. They allowed me and my friend to leave our luggage 'til evening. I didnt book a breakfast it was okay since its surrounded with a lot of small restos and Starbucks is just a stone throw away. It has a small kitchen counter with microwave and water heater.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Standard Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was quite noisey. There was an air conditioning vent or similar outside the window that was constantly going making quite a loud background noise.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Family Room with One Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is tired and the room very basic. Check-in was tediously slow and the staff member seemed confused.

    Really convenient location for our activities and reasonable way to accommodate 4 singles

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Family Room with One Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a problem but once we found our way we were ok

    Location was perfect. Staff were helpful. However i found thst it should have had a toaster. But thst was just a minor issue

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Family Room with Two Bathrooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    had to remind the reception that we had breakfast included in our room rate. We arrived just near 2.00pm and were told that our room wasn't ready. Reception did give us a late leave time in compensation for this but it meant that we had no where to go initially. 3 of our 4 party members were disappointed the breakfast food wasn't replenished as there wasn't much left when they went down on the Sunday morning. Beggars along from the hotel are not a good look. Rooms were very very warm - had to use the fan to cool down the rooms (this is in May)

    great location for the events we were attending. Good room rate for us and able to accommodate our needs. handy to countdown supermarket and shops

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check in was very slow. Ability to park outside upon arrival impossible - need to have constant free spaces to pull up at front door and unload. Had to park up then walk to hotel to check in, then go back to collect my car

    nice spacious room, quite quiet too for centre of city. Good facilittes in room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Corporate Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast menu only being displayed on a screen downstairs was a bit annoying, could have done with information on this in the rooms.

    Very clean and comfortable accommodation with friendly staff. If you have business in central Auckland it is in an awesome position, very handy to everything, including AUT and Auckland University.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved how we were welcomed with friendly smiles from the staff. Lily at the reception was so nice and friendly, she had great customer service and took good care of us. Loved the view of the sky tower from the bedrooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bed was like sleeping on concrete and neither of us slept well at all. Only 2 satchels of ordinary coffee in our room and that crappy uht milk. Breakfast wasn’t that nice we both were left with a yuck taste in our mouths. $200 for the night never again will we stay there

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Family Room with Two Bathrooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious rooms, which we could make extra dark for a good sleep in. Great buffet breakfast with bacon, egg, pancakes, croissants, cereals, etc. Location was great too....easy walk to the harbour and shopping all around. Countdown (Woolworths) right next door for those who forget to pack underpants for their husband like I did.....

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Corporate Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The initial room given smelt of phenyl. Staff was rude when requested for change. Finally after the room change, it was very basic, definitely not worth 220$

    Location was in close proximity to my meetings.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The girl at the front desk in the morning was really rude. We asked her if she could call a taxi for the airport, and she told me to call him by myself... not really helpful! She even laughed at me when I asked her the price.

    The view on the Skytower was perfect! And the location in the City Center is great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attempted to charge more parking that what has been told. Be excuse to give us a fine without telling us any policy in advance after we leaved.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Family Room with Two Bathrooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms without windows and yet no proper air conditioning either! Felt like a bunker! And the mattresses are VERY VERY worn and should be changed ASAP...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    some street noise, specially from the tower's bungy jumpers meant the windows had to be kept closed.

    The staff were very welcoming and helpful during check-in. The kitchenette was well stocked.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I get motion sickness so the elevator was like carsick...the fact that i had to pay for parking over nites...that i had to pay for movies...no toaster...room smelt funny(weird)

    Loved the location.the fact that you gave me the cheapest parking fee in town,thank you.comfy bed.my little one liked the view.that we were able to get fresh towels.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Standard Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door to the room opens the wrong way making it awkward to get in with bulky luggage. Uncomfortable bed but as expected with the price tag.

    Location and service were good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Standard Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    as its next to a main street you can hear alot of traffic and street noise late at night, also seemed to be a handfull of homeless people sitting outside the hotel most of the time

    the room was a perfect size for me and my partner as we were travelling round and had much stuff, breakfast was also included in the price which was great staff were nice and friendly and the bed was really comfy and location is fantastic as its less than 2 mins to queen street and the hotel is next to the sky tower

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms are a little dim.

    location of hotel was superb. Very near to countdown supermarket, sky city coach terminal. We are so close to the sky tower that we can see it from our room window. apartment well equipped with microwave and kitchen utencils and facilities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Standard Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is hotel is on the main road although double glazed you could still hear traffic late at night also the drunks shouting in street below .I had checked in for 3 nights and checked out after just 1 night final straw was issue with hot water there is a sign in bathroom saying you have 15mins to shower as it's on a electric system and takes 45 mins to reheat, I was traveling alone if you are a couple you would have a problem. Although this is not a deal breaker but reception could be more inviting .

    I only liked location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wind howling through the vent on the floor and the late cleaning of the room.

    The location to the restaurants and shops was good. It was within walking distance of SkyCity and the port.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    A couple of USB Plugs somewhere in the room would be nice.

    After having a flight cancelled at 10:00pm at night booking a room at this place through the Booking.com app saved us about 2 hours standing in line trying to get accommodation through the airline. Given the short notice of the booking the room was excellent, and was close to the Sky Tower, Queen Street, and other Auckland attractions (Not that we visited any as we were back to the airport the next morning). The Check in Staff were fantastic. There was a convenience store at the entrance for supplies and a supermarket about 100m away. Next trip to Auckland will look to book this hotel again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very old school, old furnitures, old style, There were no theeth brush or shavers just a bathing cap. Check out was at 10 already, which is way to early.

    Was a big apartment. Good shower Comfortable couch and bed Nice view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The light switches weren confusing and a bit off reach

    Location is just next to queen street and sky tower. It was perfect for one night/one day stay at Auckland.. the room was ok

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lack of power outlets in convenient place for electronics. Rooms show their age in this respect. There was no accessible power outlet at the desk.

    Good location and price. Close to the Sky Convention centre.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was springy and abit hard. Too of these beds joined together to form a king bed doesn't really work. But it's ok.

    Location was outstanding. The room was nothing special but it was good enough for the night. It wasn't bad either. Just simple, clean and had everything we required. I would stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast arrangement is confusing.

    Great value & location, close to local bars, restaurants & the Sky Tower. The famous Queen St is 1/2 a block down for shopping, the waterfront district is a 15 minute walk away.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Family Room with Two Bathrooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My bed was uneven in the middle because it could be split into two single beds, and the room didn't have air-conditioning so was warm at night. Good for winter, but not so good for summer. My partner who is particularly sensitive to noise, commented about the elevator noise. However, we've stayed in the past on a higher floor and didn't have any problems.

    Great location right in the heart of Auckland. The two-bedroomed apartments are well priced for Auckland. The cleaning staff are also attentive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite expensive for what you got guess it was the time of year? Internet was so slow it was not worth it. Nice to have Water in the fridge to drink as you check in at 2am...

    room was large, clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service I felt to be rude, my car was moved and boxed in, and we were told to go away because our room wasn’t ready and the car park which I had booked was still full

    Purely the location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Corporate Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I can't say anything bad about it.

    This hotel was inexpensive for it's location and very, very comfortable. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy with the bungy sky lift outside, but it stopped at a reasonable hour

    Close and central to Sky Tower, marina, restaurants and bars. Ideal location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic room, but has the essentials for a comfortable short stay.

    Great central location just off queen st, supermarket next door, sky tower and restaurants so very close. Clean and quiet room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Family Room with Two Bathrooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I twice requested a car park and had no response from the hotel, however they had reserved me one on arrival. Our two bedroom unit was exactly that - two bedrooms, two bathrooms and a very small kitchenette between. I had expected some type of sitting room.

    Staff were friendly and location was great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small area to walk around in room...no table and chair for a couple to sit and have coffee.

    Location...complimentary drinks as room not quite ready at 2.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had trouble opening the front door with our key card when we came back from the concert. Would be nice to have the park that was reserved when I booked (large park asked for) lucky I was able to bring a small car up

    Lovely place to stay. handy to everything I need in Auckland

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well it does what it says on the box as the saying goes but the room we had was quite tired and could do with a revamp. I’ve never before seen “free toiletries” that are pump dispensers. Also a compendium would be really helpful instead of printed signs everywhere that didn’t actually cover everything I.e how to get the power to work in your room.

    Great location and super friendly and helpful staff!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The worker on reception was friendly however did not offer any help regarding parking since the hotel couldn't supply us parking. There was no cooking facilities even though the website said there were. Only a microwave. It was terrible value for money. Prices were high considering there was an event on in Auckland this weekend.

    Location was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The curtains didn't cover the windows fully and we're old. There were homeless people all up the street, some were intimidating. We couldn't get a car park so had to go across the road where they recommended and it cost $55

    Was clean and staff were friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom door and walls could do with a clean

    The staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful . We felt they did everything to make our stay a happy one . They arranged an early check in for my daughter's and myself on the second day and put us on the same floor to make it easier for a room change for us and even moved our vehicle, parking it facing outwards to make it easier. They also stored pur luggage for us while we waited for the new room. We were very impressed with the level of customer service .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Best western is located in the heart of Auckland CBD. Great to be able to leave your room and have everything at your fingertips. Certainly ticks all the boxes for us being close to th Sky tower and an easy stroll down to the viaduct. Great to have free bus' in town to events

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Family Room with One Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were in a one bedroom unit with a king in the lounge as well. No Air con and no opening windows in the bedroom meant the room was uncomfortably hot. Fan provided had little respite, really needs aircon in muggy Auckland weather.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows could have probably done with triple glazing as lots of street noise, but not too much of a problem.

    V comfy rooms, lovely staff, close by to everything we needed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty blinds at the Windows, lots of dust behind the chair in the room, room needed sprucing up

    Central to shops restaurants, short walk to mariner & britomart station, right near sky tower

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Corporate Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bit of a challenge to find a parking space / somewhere to unload your luggage, busy city street, and did have roadworks. Although this is typical in a lot of city places. The standard of service could have easily been improved with additional Staff Training in Customer Service, and a better Check-in Procedure. They have all your information when you Book. No need to reinvent the wheel.

    My expectations were based on a Best Western Hotel we had stayed at in America. This fell so much short of this in service. The Car Parking was extremely difficult to get to. Directions were all a bit vague. No help was offered to me with our suitcases, whilst my husband tried to Park. The Check-in took ages. However, the room was nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Standard Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room faced the road and was quite noisy at times during the late evening and early morning with noise from the street.

    We were very happy with the location - quite central and close to restaurants and other amenities The staff were welcoming and helpful and the room itself was clean and had good facilities.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic accommodation. Very small room, slight smell. Noisy at night.

    Location. Good value for a city centre hotel. Clean. Helpful and friendly staff on arrival and departure

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air conditioner was very noisy and would have disturbed our sleep if we had needed it on over night.

    The location was perfect in its proximity to the centre of the city. The room was clean and well equipped. The staff were all friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Why is water pressure so low in the showers? I mean come on, let me have a shower that I don't have to go looking for the water droplets.

    Despite booking parking, I had to argue to get it. They only have about 33 parking spots!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Corporate Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room did not smell clean when we entered it -- maybe the carpet? The lobby area was congested and warm. The location was convenient, but felt like the middle of the Times Square area of NYC in the US.

    The location was excellent for walking to the Sky Tower. The room was very functional, the elevators were fast, the breakfast was discounted so it ended up being a good value. Air-conditioning was nice (many places in NZ do not provide this). The staff at the front desk and the breakfast restaurant were helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Standard Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Standard hotel but comfortable, clean, quiet and in a great location. Good air conditioning and friendly staff so all in all a good choice for a central hotel in Auckland. We asked for(and got) a room on an upper floor away from the boozy noise on the street

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lobby has no ambience whatsoever! So doesn’t look like much or very inviting.

    Location is very convenient to walk everywhere; Queens St, wharf, & ferries! Our breakfast was included & excellent variety of hot & cold! Scott at front desk was very helpful!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Corporate Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Low security. The "lobby" just like a public area of a mansion. It seems that anyone can go up to guest room floors. The corridor is smelly. House keeping lady was very rude. Our room was not tidy up when we returned around 2:45 for a short rest. At 3:30 she told us if we did not let her make up the room, she would not do it for us!

    The reception staff is very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms a little small when you have more than one person , there was me and my mum with single beds but they were very close together not much room to move, my mother was in a wheel chair and i was pushing her as well as carrying bags and rolling a suit case and there was not one offer of help from the staff , they were very friendly so i will not complain about that however you would think that little bit of extra customer service would of gone a long way but over all that was the only issue , nice 3 star stay

    love the location very close to main part of city , staff were mostly friendly and over all okay for a cheap nights stay in CBD,

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were quite dark and bare would have been nice if there were some pictures on the wall to make it feel a bit more homely

    Location was excellent and the staff were great! The bed Was massive and comfy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were very hard and we paid abit of money to have a view of a brick wall outside the window.

    The staff were friendly and the hotel was situated right in town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no statement about booking car parks prior until a week out and by then it was to late which meant we had to pay at a public park which hit our pockets

    gym facility

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Corporate Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was quite noisy during the night with cars racing and loud people outside - the sound proofing could be better, but we were on the first floor so quite close to the street.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Great central location. Room was very clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The blinds on the 3 windows didn’t reach to the bottom of the windows so light from the city lights lit up the room at night and then from the sun in the morning. The single beds are tiny. We are small women but our beds felt very small.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff Beds Staff Towels Staff

    The staff were rude especially Lisa on reception, no customer service. The beds are very poor and small, bath towels are the size of wash clothes. I wouldn't recommend or stay in this hotel again. Please save your money and spend it in another hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Corporate Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too old and small. Maybe it’s time to redecoration.

    Great location. A few mins walk from the bus stop by sky bus. A countdown supermarket is nearby which opened until 10pm.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Family Room with Two Bathrooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    One thing we did notice was the water cylinder was very loud when one of us was showering. The first time we heard it we were quite concerned, searching the rooms (we had a two bedroom family room) for the source of the noise. The sound did stop once the water was turned off however. I also felt the water pressure could have been better in the shower. The morning we left, we noted some light staining on one of the sheets which was a bit off-putting, but we could see it was just a case of 'not being bleached long enough' rather than being unclean. These are not things that would put us off staying at the hotel again however.

    I have stayed at this Hotel multiple times now. I feel it offers good value for money and it's in a convenient, central city location. I have always found the staff to be accommodating and friendly, as they proved once again this last stay, by allowing us to have a late check-out (which we requested about half an hour before we were supposed to check-out) at no extra charge, and we were able to go directly to the parking garage prior to checking-in, which was so much more convenient. The facilities are what I would expect for a Hotel in this price range. We always find the 24 hour Convenience store right next door to be very handy, and although it's a good 20 minute walk to the Spark Arena, we like that it's in walking distance.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Best Western President Hotel Auckland traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: