Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. New Zealand hotel reviews
  3. Canterbury hotel reviews
  4. Geraldine hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Rawhiti Backpackers

Reviews of Rawhiti Backpackers

27 Hewling St, 7930 Geraldine, New Zealand

#9 of 18 hotels in Geraldine

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 97 hostel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 38

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2019

    10
    Would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing we didn’t like.

    The owners are a lovely couple, they were very welcoming. Property is close to town and lovely and quiet. There were wood pigeons in the trees.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2018

    10
    Just the best bacpackers I've been in New Zealand!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just the best bacpackers I've been in New Zealand! The owners are lovely, everything is clean, beds are comfy, if you're able to play you can use the piano in the living room, you can find everything you need to cook in the kitchen and I even could take some fresh spinach and sage in their veggie garden!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 22, 2018

    9.6
    Wish we had more time to spend here; wonderful stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A hidden gem of a hostel! We stayed here after spending the day in Christchurch and travelled to Lake Tekapo the following morning. It has a lovely family feel to it and we were made feel welcome from the minute we arrived. Spotlessly clean, particularly the kitchen (which was a lovely change!), and there was a homely living room with DVDs, board games etc. There was even shampoo and body wash in the bathrooms; they really have thought of everything! We would very highly recommend and would definitely come back :)

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    10
    comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    -

    Friendly and helpful people there! Waited for me when I came 'home' late from a daytrip on a misty night - curtains in my room already closed, lights on, inviting to enter a good sleep in this snuggly bed.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This place deserves an award for hospitality . The owners were not only very friendly, but also caring and very helpful. They stayed up till midnight (!) to welcome us, because we were running late. Otherwise we'd have had to sleep in the car. The bed was heavenly, everything was spotless. We haven't slept better anywhere in NZ. The bathrooms were impeccable, the kitchen clean and well equipped. Again, thank you and hopefully we'll stay with you again!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2018

    9.2
    Starry nights in Geraldine
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Toilets could be equipped with plugs for hairdryer & etc. And would be great if WIFI limit is to internet usage and not a time limit.

    The staff were really friendly and I felt welcomed the moment I entered the hostel. Bonus for offering free laundry if you are staying for 2 nights!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    10
    Very pleasant stay; great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. I liked everything.

    I liked everything, the room, the shared bathrooms, the kitchen, the location, the quietness of the place... But the best part was the extremely friendly owners, who are unforgetable people. I would doubtlessly stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2018

    8.3
    Just a short stop on our way back to Christchurch but an enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hallway lights being on a timer in the evening....this would be fine if the curtains in the bedroom blocked all the light but unfortunately every time anyone set off the lights our room was illuminated quite significantly. Being a light sensitive light sleeper this was a bit of an issue for me. Would be better if there was a dimmer on the lights for nighttime.

    Building appears to be an old school which was quite a fun experience as it had a very old school feel...key to bedroom was the type that you have to lock from both inside and outside, room had skylight and windows looking into the hallway area (these are curtained). Beds and pillows were comfy and linens were soft and clean. We tried our hand at finishing the impossible Beatles puzzle in the living room but didn't get very far! Didn't use the shower facilities but liked the layout being unisex (but everything is separate except the sink area). A few cats greeted us upon our arrival.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2018

    7.9
    Really enjoyable, nice relaxing atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no towels or face-clothes in the room (or not that I could easily see) for the shower facilities.

    The bed was very comfortable with modern linen and duvet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2018

    10
    Super easy comfortable and friendly pit stop.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I liked everything!

    Super helpful, great set-up, friendly, comfortable, straightforward, easy... reminded me why I like hostels and backpackesr. Loads of communal space, very clean and tidy, big garden with frisbees and badminton.... what more could you need?

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2018

    10
    Don't miss this superb hostel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is one of the nicest places I have stayed whilst I have been in New Zealand. The place is absolutely spotless, the bed really comfortable and it has the best equipped kitchen I have used. It is clear to see the owners take a real pride in their establishment. There is plenty to do locally too; a walk down the local gorge just opposite the end of the drive and a river walk only a ten minutes away from the hostel. There was free tea, coffee and chocolate to drink and plums and lemons from the garden. The local astronomy club also offer stargazing for a donation.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2019

    10
    Easy parking, friendly helpful welcome, bedroom peaceful,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Easy parking, friendly helpful welcome, bedroom peaceful, beautifully clean with outdoor space and a well stocked kitchen!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 23, 2018

    10
    Warm welcome, comfortable bed, great facilities and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Warm welcome, comfortable bed, great facilities and wonderful owners. Thanks!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 23, 2018

    10
    Good experience in new zealand
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing .

    That was awesome bed, living room and clear bath room. It was one of best backpackers in new zealand

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2018

    9.6
    Cute and cosy rooms, large bathrooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    NA

    Cute and cosy rooms, large bathrooms. Friendly and accommodating staff. Great stopover if driving down to Queenstown or up to Christchurch

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    10
    Very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Heating- unable to turn heat on without asking staff and no heating on in morning

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2018

    9.6
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great kitchen. Great free stuff in kitchen. Super comfy relaxed environment. Lovely room. Best bathroom on our trip

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2018

    10
    Amazing, special and very friendly
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Haven't been there for longer...

    Amazing, special and very friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2018

    10
    Comfortable, warm and well appointed accommodation. Friendly and helpful owners.
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Electric blankets on the beds made for very warm accommodation in the middle of winter!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2018

    9.2
    Cosy and super clean (room and also common areas).
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cosy and super clean (room and also common areas). Owners welcoming and helpful. Could use a bicycle, which was very convenient.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    9.6
    Helpful staff,loads of space,lounge with aircon and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Helpful staff,loads of space,lounge with aircon and character

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    8.8
    Very nice.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All good, n/a here.

    Cosy,friendly and just nice stay all round, very happy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    9.2
    The owners are absolutely lovely, show you around the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The owners are absolutely lovely, show you around the facilities, lovely cosy living room and common areas and it's all very clean!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2018

    9.2
    Value for money and clean and comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The wifi was a bit slow so I used my own data

    Having the use of a private bathroom away from the main shared bathroom area

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2018

    8.8
    high quality backpackers
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing

    Personal contact with friendly owners

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2018

    9.2
    Bed was comfy.
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed was comfy. Good size room too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2018

    8.8
    Clean, comfortable and affordable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very clean and comfortable accomodation at an affordable price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    10
    Amazing hosts and a great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Amazing hosts and a great place to stay. Clean and with all the facilities you'll need.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    7.9
    lemons
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    lemons

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    10
    Clean, quiet, with good facilities, friendly helpful staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Clean, quiet, with good facilities, friendly helpful staff close to town centre which has shops and restaurants. Stayed here numerous times

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    8.8
    Free WiFi only 2 hours
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Free WiFi only 2 hours

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2018

    10
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The owner is very nice! It has a beautiful garden and we had a quiet stay. I loved that they provided body wash and shampoo.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    10
    Great hostel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Comfortable, clean, quiet, cozy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2018

    8.3
    Cozy place, friendly staff, there is a guitar and piano in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Strange guests and not much to do around this place.

    Cozy place, friendly staff, there is a guitar and piano in the living room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2018

    8.8
    Quiet and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Quiet and clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It felt very homy and cozy, and they have a cat called Possum

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2018

    8.3
    Very nice and friendly owners, very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very nice and friendly owners, very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2018

    8.3
    Great location for the Southern Alps
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    spacious and quiet location

    Stayed in February 2018

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 38

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!