Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Queenstown Resort 4 stars

Sainsbury Road, Fern Hill, 9197 Queenstown, New Zealand

#40 of 71 hotels in Queenstown

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 980 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Paid WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a long wait for our evening meal in the restuarant.

    We were checked in by a very nice guy called Jasper.Very helpful and there was no problem getting a late check out.The views were amazing !!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    In our first two rooms the beds were very soft and uncomfortable. The public areas and the gym were exceptionally cold. The other guests were very noisy

    The view from the room for our first few days - the sheets and towels were clean!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to fault honestly.

    The view was amazing, and staff were very amicable. They made sure my little one (he’s 5) is comfortable in the room and made sure we have everything we need.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As slightly out of town it would have been great if they had a reduced fare arrangement with the taxi company's similar to what the other hotels offer. While they had 2 mugs and teaspoons for coffee it would have been nice to have a couple of small bowls if we felt like having nibbles. Strange to have hole in the glass door as a handle to the bathroom.

    Upgraded room with lake view. Complimentary bottle of wine as a birthday treat with our meal. Very comfortable bed and pillows. Cleaning staff did a excellent job daily.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff we helpful but others weern’t. There wasn’t enough space for parking, the quality of the food varied There could have been a better choice of tv channels

    The room was clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower Temp fluctuated constantly, warm to very hot so had to be careful not to burn myself. Toilet dripped and was quite loud but nothing too annoying. Limited parking at night if hotel is full.

    Location, not too far from town, great view of Lake Wakatipu. Bed was very comfy and room warm. Complimentary fast WiFi was a perk.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower Temp fluctuated constantly, warm to very hot so had to be careful not to burn myself. Toilet dripped and was quite loud but nothing too annoying. Limited parking at night if hotel is full.

    Location, not too far from town, great view of Lake Wakatipu. Bed was very comfy and room warm. Complimentary fast WiFi was a perk.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The garden view wasn’t very exciting compared to the other views the hotel had to offer, and the bathroom was a bit outdated

    The view from the dining area is stunning!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet looked a bit worn out. Entrance was not very impressive

    1.Complimentary ugrade to a lake view room. Awesome view. 2. Manager on duty immediately responded to our complaint on non delivery of our room service order by giving us a complimentary dinner the next evening

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didnt receive a view we were promised but after calling reception we got the rooms changed to an amazing view. Worth the money

    Views. A bit far away from the city

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed with the room, was bit old and budget. Had to continually ask for top ups - enough sugar, milk, toilet paper for 3 of us in a room. Tv was fuzzy and old, didn’t bother watching.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi didnt work in our room, complained to staff and they said they would fix it but didnt, worked good in lobby, unfortunately i was staying in lobby

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave :(

    Magnificent views. Great spa pool. Awesome cinnamon pancakes and poached eggs at breakfast. Special shout out to Rebecca at the front desk.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Saw a mouse at the bar! :( The hotel very kindly comped our drinks which was nice, but it still made my fiancée unable to relax. The TV in our room was pretty rubbish - bad reception & sticky remote. Shower and bathroom old and not really that clean. The outside viewing area looked nothing like the photos! Really needed a tidy up and refresh. Overall the hotel was OK, but a refresh and modernization would help enormously. So overall I didn't really feel value for money.

    View from the room was breathtaking. I think that just comes with the fantastic setting of Queenstown - such a beautiful place! The breakfast was excellent, the cocktails at the bar very good and the staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was dated had a annoying noise 24 hrs no free wi fi in the room for what they charged very disappointing Bathroom much need of a renovation toilet directly under towel rack no space for toiletries

    The staff were friendly and welcoming had a meal in the restaurant on our last night which was very tasty and very good service and good Ambience and views

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a air way out of town, the hotel is also very tired and run down. Does not represent good value compared to similarly priced competitors in Queenstown.

    Views from the restaurant were good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Two Queen Beds and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets are in need of a shampoo or replacement and shower has a bit of black mould in corners. Otherwise it was nice. Could be a really classy place if they upgraded a bit.

    Great location. Friendly staff. Nice hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    house keeping staff & customer staff were incompetent- the policy’s are not in the best interest of the paying customer - we had an incident where we left medication in our fridge in our room - it was thrown out by staff - which have a duty of care no contact was made to us when found - when we attempted to contact them about it they called us liars & then we contacted again & the same thing happened horrible experience.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had some trouble finding parking space at night, not that close to the restaurants and bars but view couldn’t be better.

    The view from the restaurant is breathtaking, rooms are very comfortable and installations are good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the bed i found a long black woman hair, and we are two boys with short hair! Not a pleasent start at all. The wifi is 10 dollrs per day, should be free, and the gym is very poor.

    The location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked for three people. The room had two double beds very close together. No room for a table or chairs. We were tripping over one another. No toaster to make breakfast or bowls, plates etc. this made it very poor value compared with other hotels we stayed in. We seemed to be paying for a view but our room didn’t have one. Not good value for money.

    The location was great, just a little away from the chaos in town with great views from the dining room only. The beds were comfie and the room was very clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Antiquated lift Dirty carpet building is very aged and needs repair Our room had a broken window latch

    We loved the view from our room The staff were very friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building is old and “flipped” with a lot of details that need maintenance. Food is basic. Rates are too high for what it’s worth, compaired to the Novotel that is in prime location in Queenstown and hotel is gorgeous.

    I liked the location in with lake views, the free parking and the pools.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the location and easy access to main roads, loved the pools and spa area, and of course the views.

    Saw poor staff performance, Place was very dated in places, no nite stand by bed, bare essentials n room with reference to eating in.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Being up the hill from CBD and them not having a courtesy bus to and from the CBD.

    The friendly and professional staff who always had a smile and treated us very well.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Two Queen Beds and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay for wi fit after spending $1000.00 for the room and hundreds on food and drink.Even Mc Donald's has free wi fi.

    The bar and restaurant views were incredible .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Two Queen Beds and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom carpet needs renewing. Breakfast mediocre. Restaurant -Time to wait between courses too long. Outdoor pool needs to be heated.

    Views of lake and mountains spectacular from lounge/restaurants and bedroom. Good sized bedroom. Sauna, gym and outdoor hot tubs good. Food in restaurant very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing not to like really. It is at the top of a steep hill, just out of town, so might not be great if you are walking.

    The location is great. The Dining room overlooks the Lake, so plan on a long lingering dinner!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room with Lake View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow wi-fi, sometimes didn’t work at all, too high price, breakfast very good but had to be extra paid. Too small rooms for three persons. Shower not worthy of 4 star hotel-expected little bit cleaner and modern. Hot tube could be cleaner.

    Great view!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet really needs replacing - marks all over it. Bathroom etc pretty dated. Lifts are an absolute pain - so loud all throughout the night. Banging and crashing - don't book in 301 if you don't want to be kept awake. Also there is NO parking at the resort during peak times and reception will just tell you to park on the road but most of the road parking is yellow line so be aware of this. Many people risked it and parked over yellow lines.

    Nice enough reception service and amazing view from our room - Room 301

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Two Queen Beds and Lake View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food service was poor. Complained that a waiter dropped butter on my trouser nothing was done about it.

    Service very bad. Money held as security deposit still not refunded. Foreign article in food found.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet was badly stained, they were aware it was stained, the booking was made 4 months earlier...no excuse.? Pumpkin on the wall just below the photo was another minus. Need to clean the back of bathroom door to remove dirt and grim off the door. Pool was dirty ( and bloody cold).

    Not much!! View is good. Staff, bar and waiters were excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the whole place just needs a modern touch, you can tell it’s quite old in places, especially the lifts.

    The views are amazing, we were fortunate to have really clear weather. The pool area was very pleasant. The bar menu was small but super yummy, and well worth the money Staff were lovely

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds are super comfortable and the hotel is very quiet inside. The views are stunning and a definite attraction. The staff are very attentive and the location is sufficiently close to Queenstown to warrant a leisurely and panoramic stroll to the centre.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The booking was made in May with our stay in December. Having said that I am wondering why we were allocated a Room with Disabled facilities?

    The Staff were professional, helpful and skilled in Guest service.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The garden and pool area needed a spruce up. There was a pile of rubbish outside our window. Room service dishes left outside doors took half a day to remove. Our room wasn't made up for our second night, and our door cards wouldn't let us in the room, it was easily rectified however. Just inconvenient.

    The view! The comfy beds, our room was lovely.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our booking through Booking Com placed us at the furthest point away from the lifts. There was quite a distance to walk each time we left the room. Definitely one of their more undesirable rooms

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This place is outdated and not worth its price. Pictures are not accurate, the 4 star service is non existent - i even had to carry my luggage myself to the room. Nobody even care to bring us to our room. Windows were dirty as hell with lots of dead bugs. The room is old, the floor is disgusting. The bathroom is cheap and super small. The shower is cheap too. The restaurant is not nice, menu super limited. The breakfast is uninviting. And the place is far from everything. Forget about it. We couldn't even cancel our booking of 3 nights as we were so disappointed after 10mn in the place. We thought this place would be the highlight of our holidays in New Zealand but it ended up being the worst place we stayed in. Do your self a favor and plan for a cheaper yet much more welcoming place!

    The view is nice but that is all...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Two Queen Beds and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was no free wifi was no courtesy bus to town was no balcony very disappointing charged us a 2% surcharge for card when we offered to pay cash charged extra for late check out when they said there would be one and hold on to security bond for 5-7 days after check out.

    View from room was amazing room was spacious bed and pillow were comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a persistent noise that seemed to come from the water pipes, despite contacting reception nothing was done. There was scaffolding outside our windows and workmen drilling most of the day. This was not mentioned when we booked.

    Stunning views on to the lake

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't think it was value for money. The first room was like a shoe box with no view. We asked the staff if we could change rooms which they kindly did however we didn't enjoy our stay

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Two Queen Beds and Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I found the staff at the hotel most friendly and helpful. The view from my room was spectacular. The restaurant became a welcome meeting place. I appreciated the gym facilities.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was very comfortable. The room was really nice - our private viewing gallery over the lake and the stars! Breakfast had everything for everyone...I even had the congee (delish).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is too expensive and no restaurant nearby. It was very noisy, which woke us up late at nights and early mornings from the Chinese tourists.

    Excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Two Queen Beds and Lake View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We ate at the hotel restaurant all 3 nights, and were highly disappointed. For the amount of money we paid we expected a higher quality in food. The second night would have been the best. Third night was by far the worse and had to return food. We spent over $300 on dinners and it was not up to standard. We stayed in a garden view room for the first night the bathroom was out of date and seemed grotty. The last 2 nights we had a lake view room and were overly happy, besides a broken bathroom tap fixture, and blood on a towel...

    We stayed 3 nights, the staff were very friendly, had the free breakfast which was yum, and loved the view from our room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Two Queen Beds and Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few of the British bar and restaurant staff were lovely, very friendly and helpful. However most of the reception staff were rude and unhelpful with very poor customer service skills. We booked superior lake view rooms however when we were shown to our rooms we discovered the view was obscured by ugly scaffolding. We were not advised that this work was occurring prior to our arrival and there was no apology or acknowledgement that this would affect our holiday when we complained about this to reception staff. Hotel guests were unable to use the bar during one night of our stay due to this being booked out for a private function. Again we were not notified of this prior to our arrival and when we pointed out that this was not acceptable for paying guests to be unable to access the facilities the receptionist shrugged with no apology given stating that guests received a letter pushed under their door the day before advising them of the bar closure! There was again no appreciation that this would have an impact on the enjoyment of paying guests holidays. Rooms were ok but a little tired.

    The location and setting was great with beautiful views over the lake. The bar area and restaurant was lovely and cosy with a fireplace, vaulted ceilings and great views over the lake.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    The view was sensational ... the staff I dealt with before arriving were amazing and the one leaving In between not so good and the condition of our room was poor . But clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were extremely helpful and went out of their way to assist us. We arrived at 1:30am and the staff made our late arrival so easy. The location was great and the views were spectacular!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some noise from neighbouring rooms.

    Our second stay here. Great position above the lake A good welcome, suitcases brought in from the car, quick check in. Rooms large with everything needed, very comfortable bed, good heating/cooling. Superb views from lake facing rooms, but plenty of viewing opportunites from public areas for those in garden rooms. Regular, reliable and inexpensive bus service to centre of town to avoid parking problems. Pleasant bar.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Customer service was impeccable. Hand-written card on the desk was a nice touch. We were also thankful to get an upgrade to a sea view room which had a beautiful view overlooking Lake Wakatipu and the hills. After a long day exploring Queenstown, to soak up in the hot tub for awhile before making our way to dinner in the city - 10/10 will come stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room key stopped working each day so would get to our room and be locked out and have to go back in the lift and walk back to reception which was very annoying.

    Staff was great and room was nice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities were outdated, the room had an adjoining room but there was no proper lock so if this door was not closed the right way other guest could enter the room at any time. Breakfast was the same every day which offered no variety and was boring.

    The bed was really comfortable and there was unlimited wifi

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got an accidental wake up call at 6am one morning for a tour that we didn't book. The bar fridge made noises the whole time that sounded like someone was trying to break in to the room and the shower/bath was not functional and water went everywhere. Also, you have to be a member of Accor group to use wifi which we would have thought in a common tourist area would be included.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Two Queen Beds and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! We will be back to stay here' xx

    The staff were absolutely fabulous! We arrived a lot later then expected, staff took our bags to our room so we could eat dinner before the restaurant closed! So we're ever so friendly and helpful with everything!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like how some of the staff were a bit rude especially when the car park was full we have to park 100m up the road and there was a car park nobody was in it but we weren't allowed to park in it

    The beds were always made nicely and fresh towels when we arrived back to the hotel after long days out adventuring

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are reasonable. The bathroom is quite dated, we had a shower leak in our room and ended up with a patch of wet carpet. The bed was a little too soft, but the room was clean. For the great price we paid, you can't be too critical, you do get what you pay for.

    Fantastic views, had a good buffet breakfast included in our stay. The gym was good. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Have stayed here 2 x prior to recent. In the past we had lakeside views and the rooms were clean, tidy & acceptable form value. Stayed on garden side and the room was rundown, dirty and disappointing

    We received a free upgrade due to disappointment in our first room (pool/garden side). Beautiful buffet breakfast, great facilities and staff were friendly. Amazing views.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Two Queen Beds and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - loved everything

    Really loved the room comfort and the overall furnishings. The view is the best in the world and the windows have been designed to maximise it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Two Queen Beds and Lake View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing in the room for us to be able to eat our own food or store any food. No way of watching movies and the staff were unable to provide any clear answers as to how to assist us with that. The sheets were only changed some days, even when one was visibly dirty. Even forgot to put on pillowcases some day. Not worth the cost.

    The view from the room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can not fault this property.

    I liked that they upgraded us to a better room when they saw that I couldn't walk long distances. This showed compassion and awareness of my mobility issues.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms look like something out of a hospital but they are clean and functional. Rooms good size. Great views. Morning breakfast good value but get there before the rush of 8am. This was our second time staying there

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Loved waking up to the view from our room every day. The view from the restaurant and the patio is absolutely stunning. Staff members were quite friendly and the rooms were cleaned thoroughly everyday. Definitely worth the money we paid.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is definitely overdue for a upgrade. The outside is grotty & not appealing. The bedding was comfortable but the air conditioning needs upgrading too. Overall the hotel is fair and reasonable but needs some maintenance and freshening both inside and out.

    Staff were really friendly, helpful & professional.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is a bit dated and worn. Could do with new bathrooms. The bed wasn't very comfortable.

    Breakfast was great! Beautiful view of the lake. The pool and spa area looked lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View might be good from some of the rooms but ours was terrible despite requesting a lakeview (and paying for one! !) - only saw the neighbors driveway and front yard. Room was very old, dated decor, terrible carpet and toilet leaked constantly which was noisy. We also had to walk an excessive long way with our luggage to the room..... no assistance was offered despite the fact they must have known how far our room was away from the lobby.

    Food was great. Staff seemed keen to help but not very experienced. Very little else i liked.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds weren't made correctly a few times. Bottom sheets are not fitted sheets and they do not tuck them in after each night so they come loose and ride up.

    Excellent location and views, staff were accomodating

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Two Queen Beds and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a need for a microwave due to special diet/medical and there was no microwave available. When I booked a room with 2 Queen beds, I inadvertently stated that there were 2 adults. When checking in they said the 3rd person was extra. Despite my unhappiness given that the room I booked supported 4 people, I agreed to pay the additional fee. When I was charged for it at checkout - it was billed as an extra bed fee. I know it is semantics - but I didn't get an extra bed - they shouldn't charge me for an extra bed. If the situation comes up again, I will just lie and say there are 2 adults - it really put a cloud over my stay there.

    Beds were comfortable, view was beautiful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The 2% charge for using credit cards or debit cards not issued in New Zealand. This is an unnecessary charge in 2017 and we did not encounter it in any other accommodation in our 4 weeks in New Zealand.

    As the hotel had got mixed reviews we upgraded to a room with a lake view and were very pleased with it. It was spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. There are amazing views of the lake from both the dining room and the breakfast area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Will never stay at Mercure again. The staff at the reception didn't know how to smile. So unfriendly ! No parking space - one has to find parking out in the street sometimes far from the hotel. Their shower curtains had lots of stains and curtain rod all rusted. It's a hotel so should be up to standard!

    The bed was comfy :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Two Queen Beds and Lake View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was very dirty. Makeup marks along the door and dirty splashes up the walls that weren't cleaned off during our stay.

    Friendly staff and beautiful views.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Yeah nah not too bad at all really. Hotel is obviously getting slightly outdated. Could do with a bit of a 'spruce up'. A bit highly priced for what it is.

    Great breakfast. Friendly, helpful staff and relaxed atmosphere.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Improved the access to a greater range of TV channels. No good news coverage.

    Peaceful setting The professionalism of the staff. In addition to their efficiency they were friendly and most helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Two Queen Beds and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom too small and no bath. And for that reason price did not match quality. Spa was outside with no area to change so we had to run back to the room very wet.

    View and location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough parking for all patrons and having to find a park on the street. Beautiful view with grass patch outside window but no doors to access?! Bathroom was the smallest from all our hotels and shower continually went hot and cold. Walls were paper thin and could hear everyone in the corridor.

    It was a little further away from queenstown city centre. Staff were friendly and helpful. There is a bus stop at the hotel which makes easy access if you dont want to drive to the city. Had to purchase internet which was ok as the internet was fast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast included is what you'd expect and good, but some of the bar and restaurant food isn't so great, in particularly the fish the chips.

    Very comfortable beds/bedding and the staff are so friendly and helpful! Also the hot water was almost instant, and the bath shower was great for my little ones.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: