Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. New Zealand hotel reviews
  3. Auckland Region hotel reviews
  4. Auckland hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Rydges Auckland

Reviews of Rydges Auckland This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Cnr Kingston & Federal Streets, 1010 Auckland, New Zealand

#40 of 172 hotels in Auckland

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 2067 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel to stay in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Amazing hotel to stay in.Had a fantastic night once again absolutely wonderful service the best you could possibly find,the staff are so welcoming,friendly,helpful and the hotel is of high standard.The breakfast is the best I have ever experienced and I have travelled the world.Well done Rydges once again.This is our home away from home.🙏😍😀😀

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    7.5
    OK but could be better. Needs more effective sound-proofing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Sound insulation. Too much noise from traffic (during the night) and people. We stayed 4 nights and it was the same every night.

    Location is good. Close to Sky Tower. 5 minutes walk to harbour.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    6.7
    Not that great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    A really bad room close to the elevators, sounded like thunder in the back ground as the elevator car went past. The cost of valet parking was astronomically expensive

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    6.7
    Great location if a little on the pricey side - awesome restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds and City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check in slow, and confused - we had about 15 mins and had to write our name down to get the correct booking. lots of noise from street and other rooms - Christmas party season i guess

    Great location in city centre, nice clean rooms, very good restaurant, we had dinner and breakfast there and both we excellent.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    7.5
    Warm and comfortable with very tidy rooms and comfortable beds. A big plus for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds and City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    All queries we had were answered immediately. All front line staff we came into contact with were very professional in their presentation and accurate with the information supplied and nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    9.2
    It was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We have no complaints at all.

    We were in for one night due to a travel delay and were really pleased with the experience. We are booked in for December and looking forward to it.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    8.8
    The front counter night staff were dreadful particularly the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The front counter night staff were dreadful particularly the night manager. The most unhospitable experience I have encountered across 15 hotels I’ve stayed over the past 2 months. Come on Rydges - you can do way better than this!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    10
    Love Rydges. Beds are always comfortable, Food great and so easy to get too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds and City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sometimes there needs to be extra people on the desk as we always have to wait a while at check out.

    Love the valet parking. This guy ran everywhere to make sure people were happy. We stay here whenever we can as the location is great and the breakfasts are the best I have had at a Rydges. Superb quality.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast was great, lots of selection.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Went for dinner and there was a tour in, had very poor service, ended up leaving without ordering. Hotel rooms feel tired.

    Breakfast was great, lots of selection. Seemed to be quiet. Good view of the sky tower. Good conference facilities.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    5.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds and City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small rooms. Exceptionally small bathrooms. Bathroom fan was inadequate and the whole bathroom was wet after a shower, even making toilet paper damp. Drains were smelly. Curtain was off hanger on one side and light came through, also not blackout curtains. Room booked for 3 people but only two complimentary chocolates left? Overall very disappointing and very expensive. Will not stay at Rydges again

    Location

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    8.8
    Great location, very comfy bed and room was great.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Took along time to re park the car the valet system is very slow. When we checked out in the morning it took 20 minutes to get the car. Traffic jams outside their drop off area.

    Great location, very comfy bed and room was great. Little takeaway coffee area excellent

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    10
    Was so well located to get away this he breakfast was a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room with Harbor View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was so well located to get away this he breakfast was a great selection . Had a great experience with reception staffer Storm . She recommended going to Piha Beach for a relaxing day . We loved it a little bit of paradise . Thank you Storm

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    3.8
    We up graded for awesome city view and got a view of an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We up graded for awesome city view and got a view of an empty car park top and the windows and curtains were mouldy plus door had sticky prints all over it. I now wish I had taken photos. We asked for a room change and got a lobular water bow rm but it was only on the 8th floor. Also got meal service at about 12,30 am and when it was delivered the gentleman was just so grumpy. As the concert went longer than we though we were not able to get a taxi so all the restaurants were closed. Not the best stay for my granddaughter birthday.I always loved staying at the Crown Plaza but thought I would give here a special treat as this had an extra star. Not happy at all

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2018

    10
    Lication
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds and City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking is not that easy. Extra cost for the parking. The location of the hotel is right next to the Sky Tower, which is in the city centre. Public transport is easy.

    The CUT restaurant downstairs is wonderful. Buffet breakfast and dinner are both excellent.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2018

    7.9
    Central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price of the rooms is quiet dear compared to other hotels in the area, but it is a nice hotel.

    The central location and ease on finding the hotel are its major attraction. the facilities in the room are the standard you would expect for this class of hotel but nothing exceptional. the staff could have been friendlier and more helpful with requests but otherwise an nice hotel

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2018

    6.7
    All in all I felt like we had been given the room that no one else would want
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very tired, the bathroom has old embedded dirt, paint was flaking off and the shower head had encrusted limescale.

    The bed was comfy though

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2018

    8.8
    Convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds and City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room could've been bigger. Felt a bit small for a room advertised for 2 adults and 2 kids.

    Convenient location. Friendly staff. The hotel restaurant was great - both breakfast and dinner were fabulous.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    7.5
    The rooms were clean, tidy and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the evening, the barman had too much to work on between serving customers and clearing glassware from the bar. He should've received more assistance because his service was slow.

    The rooms were clean, tidy and comfortable. The buffet breakfast was very nice. The chocolate fountain was loved by the kids. Check-in and check-out at reception was really quick and efficient. The staff were very pleasant.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2018

    4.6
    REFUND MY MONEY IN GOOD FAITH???
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds and City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower and toilet looked like the 18th Century Shame on you for having MISLEADING PHOTOS ONLINE I couldn't really do anything as it was late in the day and I had just arrived in Auckland. I was actually told to LEAVE if I didn't like the room? SHAME ON YOUR MISLEADING PHOTOS OF YOUR ROOMS

    NOTHING

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2018

    10
    The best place to stay with affordable price... near everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds and City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    They serve one of the best breakfast buffet I've ever had. Congee is also available for Asians !!!! Rooms is spacious and comfortable. Location is the best !!! near stores and business district.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    10
    Friendly Team close to amenities love the place it’s like...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Friendly Team close to amenities love the place it’s like our second home.Have already rebooked on returning home.Close to Skycity wouldn’t stay anywhere else.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2018

    6.3
    When we arrived into our room it had a damp musty smell,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When we arrived into our room it had a damp musty smell, despite the fact the room was fairly recently redecorated. Management shifted us to another room without any fuss which was good. However the next room had that same smell in the bathroom, although the room itself was fine. I asked the manager if it was a leaky building but did not get a response on that. I suspect there are problems with the building.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2018

    10
    It was our wedding 41 years we had good time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The toilet seat Michael the duty manager was good breakfast was nice think we should of had a night for free .

    The bed was great .Michael the duty manager was good .

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2018

    10
    Excellent as always
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds and City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Get Corona beer, we had the dinner platter for 2 which was amazing but the chicken tasted like a chemical gas taste?

    We love staying at the Rydges, great chocolate fountain for breakfast Our dinner took a while so we got 2 free beers!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2018

    9.6
    Modern facility close to the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    staff weren't super helpful with parking and we ordered room service and they said 25-30 mins but was over an hour

    nice, new clean facility. great price and buffet breakfast had a great range of foods.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2018

    8.8
    Family holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds and City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dated decor Small rooms more catering for business rather than family holidays

    Great location walking distance to most attractions located in city Valets parking

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    5.0
    Very good location, Disapointing service, Rooms in need of refurbishment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel Concierge - Parking , 30 minutes to retrieve my vehicle - lost keys and completely disorganized. Our room had a disabled bathroom, we accepted this without complaint,but the bathroom was very dated. The bathroom was a wet room, however when showering the water was not contained to the shower area and ended up covering the entire floor area. Storage was also an issue as the bathroom only had one small hand basin and very little room to place any personal items. Breakfast - Staff very busy, food not replenished leaving many items unavailable,however finally when the food was replenished the quality was very good. , barrister coffee took 30 minutes to arrive and even then they made the wrong order and we had to wait another 10 minutes.

    Location was excellent

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    8.3
    Staff were super friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds and City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Valet parking was good value, although collecting car took ages as it had been parked in

    Staff were super friendly and helpful. Room was clean and comfortable. Buffet breakfast was amazing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2018

    9.6
    The staff were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was sure I booked breakfast with our booking. Most likely my error however it was a let down to find we didnt have it included.

    The staff were excellent. We were there for a party and they went above an beyond to make it a fantastic time.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2018

    10
    Great location and value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    All staff were courteous and friendly. They also assisted with the parking of our motorbikes in the garage. Special thanks to the Concierge (sorry I didn't get his name)

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2018

    9.6
    Anniversary stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They upgraded our room to a suite, to include a stove, dryer, things a married woman of 25 years do not want to see on a romantic weekend_a bottle of champagne would have sufficed

    The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, excellent service

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2018

    9.2
    Harshit in restraur
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The couch and chair in the lounge area not all that comfortable. Not having a few minimal kitchen type items like cutlery and crockery was disappointing and made things a bit harder to keep up particular dietary requirements.

    Lovely comfy beds, great pillows, and loved the radio alarm clock.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2018

    9.6
    An absolute must stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Mini bar was over priced so we didnt use anything. If it were lower in price we would have used it for sure. The kids were dieing to tuck in .

    The lobby smelt amazing, everything was clean and crisp. Room was lovely with a great view of the sky tower . Staff were so helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2018

    10
    Enjoyable stay and would definitely book in again on our next visit, great friendly staff .
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't really think of anything we didn't like. Everything was to our liking.

    nice room with comfortable king bed. close to central city services. enjoyed a nice breakfast. nice service and good staff. easy check in with friendly reception staff. Had an enjoyable dinner with friendly waiters. Good food.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2018

    7.5
    A good overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds and City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cafe - Federal Deli for breakfast (200m away) is excellent!! Dinner in Rydges was lovely. They also allowed later check out of 11am, thank you.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location, quiet room with comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Eco promotion could only be redeemed for big lunch or dinner at onsite restaurant. Far to restrictive to be of value.

    Excellent location, quiet room with comfy bed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    7.9
    Very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    that at the time of my stay it was no parking available and I had to pay extra for parking.

    the staff was very friendly and professional, but the parking was not very good. the hotel was nice and clean and the bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2018

    7.9
    Had a good radio tv massive comfy bed and lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our toilet seat was dirty , and when we went to leave my car alarm key had been broken and in pieces and battery for it had been put in the wrong way so took a bit of time to open our car

    Had a good radio tv massive comfy bed and lovely staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2018

    9.6
    staff very friendly and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds and City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A pool or sauna would have been nice. A bath in the room to relax in. But the showers were large and warm.

    staff very friendly and helpful. Always a smile and hello when you came in. Quiet and a lovely room and outlook, Gym was good, a bit hot but equipment was working well and a good range to exercise after conference.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2018

    10
    Really Great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I booked through Booking.com there was meant to be breakfast included. I had to pay for both myself and my wife.

    Easy checkin and out. Having the car parked for you. Room really clean and tiday.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2018

    4.6
    The bed was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking was ludicrous 38 dollars per day for valet parking or 30 to park down the road. Not suitable for children. No kitchenette in our room. Room service breakfast was expensive and yuck.

    The bed was nice

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2018

    10
    Good sense of humor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff were friendly and had a sense of humor. My ute was too tall to be parked in parking building so was parked in front of reception. Played along with my suggestions to clean my ute.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2018

    9.2
    Trendy comfort in great CBD location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast seemed expensive. I sent an email asking for a twin room, but got a double bed.

    Loved everything else about this hotel. Wonderful staff, great location, beautifully comfortable beds and pillows, big bathroom. Appreciated receiving an upgrade at no extra cost. Highly recommended this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    10
    Met requirements. Shame the room service tainted the experience.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ordered room service. Food arrived - uncovered and cold. First time I've had room service without a cover on food. Would not order again in house as this is unhygienic.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds and City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location was good, staff were excellent, rooms were clean and beds were really comfy! We arrived nearly 3 hrs before check in time and as our rooms were ready we were able to check in early, also got a late checkout with no problem at all or extra cost. Also the Restaurant was great!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2018

    6.3
    All the staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room had a broken shower handle, there was blue liquid stuff on the wall in the bathroom. Bathroom was very cramped. Carpet was quite stained. I was disappointed in the room overall and wouldn't recommend it. Horrible view of apartments across the road.

    All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Very well presented.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2018

    10
    we were up-graded.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we were up-graded. This is our second time here with the Hotel, we live in Auckland but have found that this Hotel is the best for us. We will definitely be making this our NO:1 Hotel to stay in & telling our friends/family about

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2018

    10
    The staff were very good and very friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were very good and very friendly. I had a problem with the hose on the shower that saw most of the water not getting to the shower head. I told the staff and it was fixed promptly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2018

    8.3
    clean with lovely staff and great options for buffet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds and City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    funny drip or creaking sound in ceiling in mornings had i been there for more than 2 nights would have asked staff to investigate.

    clean with lovely staff and great options for buffet breakfast..loved the smoothie shots

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    7.5
    Noisey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds and City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noisey. A 21st party carried on in the hallway with loud talking, laughing from midnight till 2am. called reception at 1am, and again at 2am. In considerate people cause, though maybe after functions like that end, the exiting of guests should be ensured, and reminded that other people are staying in hotel too.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2018

    9.2
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower hose had a huge leak, and wet the whole bathroom, we had to put a small towel around the back of the showerhead so didn't spray the bathroom more

    Staff, location and price

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2018

    5.8
    Bed was comfortable and walking distance to most places in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds and City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    On arrival a $10 charge was put on my credit card, this was not made aware to me earlier nor when I requested parking prior was it noted it would be $38 for valet services. Valet was a bit concerning as waited almost 20 minutes before I got my car back yet others were getting their fairly quickly.

    Bed was comfortable and walking distance to most places in central Auckland

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2018

    8.8
    Most enjoyable and my brief conversation with household lifted my day. Thank you to all.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rang in re prices and told to book via booking.com then on arrival could have had room cheaper via member login. I personally paid as not work training.

    Ambiance and food

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    7.1
    Bed was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom was disabled access with no curtain, water went everywhere when showering, all over floor, toilet and almost out door onto carpet. Not up to scratch and not very safe. Bathroom was clean and good shower pressure though.

    Bed was nice. Room good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2018

    10
    Stayed here a few years ago and didn’t really rate it well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stayed here a few years ago and didn’t really rate it well at all. We had an old friends catch up and this is where the others wanted to stay. Reluctantly we booked here as well. What a pleasant surprise everything seems to have been updated. Very very clean rooms looked like they had been recently renovated as the drapes looked brand new. The location is excellent. Valet parking awesome and the breakfast has an amazing choice one of the best we’ve had. Thanks Rydges will definitely be back. Price very affordable as well.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2018

    6.7
    Simple, nothing over the top and I wouldn’t rave about it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No one really told us what sort of facilities there were for family’s in the area or what was available when we checked in. Not one person gave us additional info of if there was facilities pool/gym at the hotel. We also moved one of the beds so we could play games on the floor and under the beds were so much filth it made me feel ill. I also noted one of the children had a bleeding nose and I could still see blood on the floor in the bathroom when we returned.

    That it was central to the city easy to find and navigate to and from. The staff were absolutely wonderful especially with the young children we had.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2018

    5.0
    Ok - it did the job, but was not a luxurious room, very small for the price. Dinner terrible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds and City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff at The Cut were terrible for dinner service... very unfriendly, rude and dismissive - particularly from your staff member Alexandre. Food for dinner was a bit of a miss - some food came out cold. The gentlemen sitting next to us also noted the very poor service. Room was A LOT smaller than we expected, with very small beds - particularly for the price of the room. And room service did a very average job at cleaning. Beds were made well but that was about it.

    Beds were comfortable - front desk staff were very professional and friendly. Location and valet parking was excellent. Breakfast was good, nice variety.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2018

    5.8
    To attend a concert
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Blocked drain in the bathroom. We spoke to the handyman in the hallway and advised him Both never smoked but it was horrible Room smelt of smoke

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2018

    8.3
    3 nights in Auckland was sufficient and long enough at Rydges Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were disappointed in the breakfast. The pastries were chewie, not flaky and there was no fresh cooking station. Everything was from heated dishes. There was nothing special about the offerings. Not value for money.

    The room was OK, just another hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2018

    9.6
    We love the Rydges
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room with Harbor View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Having to leave!

    Location is great. Staff super friendly and accommodating. The beds are extremely comfortable. Food is amazing and The Cut Bar is so convenient.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent. Have stayed here before and will stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room very clean and bed very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent.. everything you could ask for plus more. Our adult family traveled with us and said they would stay again. Very handy to the Viaduct, Spark Arena, Britomart and Queen Street if you are walking, as we were.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2018

    10
    Close to PERFECT!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds and City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The most comfortable beds and pillows ever! The rooms are very clean and modern. Absolutely comfortable and close to perfect! The buffet breakfast was the best I have come across so far, I loved the variety of food. The staff were kind and helpful - I dealt with a trainee, I think her name was Jessie and she was lovely & good at her job! The location of hotel is so handy, specially for us visit g sky tower etc. Thank you for the stay, we will be back and definitely upgrading next time to a bigger and better room :)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2018

    10
    Awesome stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    NOTHING..pity they are not out by the airport.

    The welcoming,obliging reception/concierge staff,bright and fresh rooms,(great comfy bed,delicious food/drink at The Cut restaurant.👍

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2018

    9.2
    I liked every thing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could have been better if there was a microwave and a better view of city.

    I liked every thing. Especially the service. I asked for late check out in the morning just an hour before I was supposed to check out but the staff I spoke to was so friendly and spoke to her manager and got back to me to tell me my request is approved. I also lost my headphones somewhere and I requested for double checking the room. The staff I spoke to was really nice and polite also took interest in where else I may have left my headphones. I was a bit disappointed with the view of the room but staff and service was excellent and so much better than many places I have stayed before. Overall great experience. :)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic breakfast. Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only two glasses in the room whereas it accommodates for 4 people. We had our two children with us so had to share cups. Room was very small but was very clean and suited our needs.

    Breakfast was fantastic. The highlight for the kids was the chocolate fountain with marshmallows. Staff were very attentive and friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2018

    8.8
    Absolutely enjoyed our short stay at Rydges. Would happily return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only fault (and I'm clutching at straws here) were a few cracked tiles in the bathroom- very small. Did not impact on our stay at all.

    Location was great, accessible to casino, fantastic restaurants/bars. Breakfast at the hotel was perfect. Fantastic range of food. Beds were so comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful. Absolutely loved our stay at the Rydges.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2018

    7.9
    Great location and enjoyed our weekend away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was a little noisy later in the evening. Specials promoted were not carried through - green voucher was not honoured when presented, internet was not available although advertised as free. Breakfast on offer was excellent although staff charged full breakfast even though one was a continental. Checkout staff were not helpful when presented with queries about charges.

    Location was excellent, bed was comfortable, bar staff were helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2018

    7.1
    The bed was comfy and the location was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The ensuite was very small. Only enough shampoo, conditioner and soap for one person. Not good when you're with your partner

    The bed was comfy and the location was good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2018

    10
    Certainly highly recommended for business visits or anything else.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds and City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't like the un-decided taxi fare between the staff at the reception. I was told 60 NZD flat to the airport by someone, the next minute 65 flat by another and in the taxi it was 70 for asking the driver to drop me just before the airport.. I will certainly use Uber next time.

    The location of this hotel is a small walk away from most of the interesting places in Auckland. staff are very friendly and helpful, rooms are always clean and i like the option of being rewarded 10 NZD for skipping a room service to save the planet (good one). I like the choice of having 3 varieties of breakfast, from a continental to a la carte, I tried all 3 and all were delicious, restaurant staff are friendly and always around cleaning and removing used dishes off the table instantaneously. Good wifi coverage all over the hotel. Would certainly go there again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2018

    10
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location After a misunderstanding with the booking the management and staff were so understanding and able to find a solution for us . Amazing customer service

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2018

    5.4
    I didn't like how i rung the hotel inquiring about a...
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like how i rung the hotel inquiring about a room, one staff said she would get her manager to ring me back and no one did. When i arrived there, then she remembered.... We also booked a King Suite on level 13 that was suppose to take 30 mins to clean, which took over an hour and their reception didn't ring our room to let us know, she forgot. it wasn't until i went downstairs TWICE to ask. The hotel also ran out of vodka and red bull for a function we were at on level 10. They weren't really organised to have stock ready as back up in case they ran out. The next morning we asked the front desk to call their parking staff to bring our car, we waited outside for a good 10 mins and our car never came, they forgot to call. Roof top function room on level 10 was our highlight and i will definitely recommend that to other people, however their staff need to be more on point and more organised when dealing with customers!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2018

    8.8
    Great value for money, lovely staff. Would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds and City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a bit of construction noise but the hotel can't really control that.

    Comfortable beds. friendly accomodating staff, nice bar area, great location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2018

    10
    We loved the clean rooms and the friendly staff who made us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds and City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We loved the clean rooms and the friendly staff who made us feel so welcome! The staff were so helpful and our view of the Sky Tower from our room was fabulous.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    6.3
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn't like the fact that as I paid with debit card there was a 250 bond and that the staff member who checked me in said it would take a week to refund. He really did not know what he was doing and he made me so upset and did not seem to care. The person who checked me out was polite but then they had to check the room to make sure there were no damages. He said have a seat and i will come and find you when it's done it should be 5 minutes. 15 minutes later he hadn't come so i went back up there and he said oh yeah that's fine you can check out now. Overall I am very disappointed with the staff and the way they handled me with my stay but the room was perfect

    Cleanliness of the room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    7.1
    Great place... Check out took too long
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A friend and I booked rooms for this place through booking.com. We booked the same room (ended up being next door to each other) she paid $179 and I paid $220..... cant see why there was such a big price difference. Also.... it took 30 minutes to check out which was annoying because I just wanted to leave.

    Quick check in. Nice facility. Great location.

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: