Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Rydges Queenstown 3.5 stars

38-54 Lake Esplanade, 9300 Queenstown, New Zealand

#68 of 71 hotels in Queenstown

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3119 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.1
    Room was tired & needs updating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tired & needs updating. Fridge frooze our milk, shower over bath needs to be replaced. Outside our room on level four were weeds and discarded cigarette butts. Lake view is impaired on this level for $350.00 per night one has to question this value.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.9
    The towel rail in bathroom of room 206 gave way and caused...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The towel rail in bathroom of room 206 gave way and caused me a fall out of the shower/ bath. The w all paneling in that same bath room has cracks in it. I stayed in this property in 1974 (THE OLD TRAVELODGE) -great position - but needs a spruce up.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    4.2
    Step it up rydges
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake View King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was awful,damp carpet,Our king bed was 2 singles put together.the bathroom was outdated and extractor fan didn't work.the reception on tv was terrible and the heater made weird noises and dried out your throat.

    The 6th floor restaurant/bar

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    lovely place, great beds and staff outstanding
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we had a slight problem with the shower but the staff took care of it immediately and provided fresh towels too

    lovely comfortable beds, great staff, breakfast was the best we have had on our trip so far. would stay again and the views were amazing. parking was easy. can recommend the hamburgers in the bar, cosy and warm with nice food and wine.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.0
    I requested for upper level room with views and got down...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I requested for upper level room with views and got down level. Room was old . Not much facilities When checking out there was 1 person taking so long so i asked the staff if someone else could serve me and i was being told”You just have to wait”

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    4.2
    Would not go back to Rydges in Queenstown
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake View King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness of room was poor. Room was really musty. Had to have the doors and windows open. Not great in winter. Wifi was non existent in the room. Parking not great. Only limited bays.

    Dining room and bar facilities were excellent. Close enough to the centre of town to walk.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    Made my trip even more awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake Facing Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room might need a little update on the furnishings, as the walls and carpets seem a little worn.

    Beds were super comfortable and room temperature was just right for the cold nights. We got a second floor room and it had awesome views of the lake. Wifi works perfectly and TV has 10 channels which is alright just before bed. Bathroom was slightly small but shower pressure was amazing. Also plenty of towels and cups and the mini fridge was also useful. Loved our stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.1
    Disappointed in the room. The restaurant and bar made up for that.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake View King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room itself was a let down. Worn carpet. Dated decor and no fan in bathroom. Tv remote didn't work. Room was small. Vanity tap was wobbly and not secure.

    Bed was super comfy. Restaurant and bar were amazing!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    3.8
    Hotel way over rated. Very out dated and in need of a big renovation. Certainly not value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in 2pm, room available 5pm. No toiletries in the bathroom. Rooms cold with no central heating or electric blankets. Balcony window wouldn’t shut. Bathroom terribly old and outdated. Building had water leaks all thru the hallways with buckets and towels collecting the water. Buffet dinner way over priced with not a large selection of food. Restaurant under staffed as was the entire hotel, room was not serviced till 5pm each day. Terrible would not rush back in a hurry nor recommend a stay there to anyone. Clean up your act Rydges very disappointing.

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.8
    The bed was really comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I would of liked our room to be a little bigger, and the shower had no shower curtain, which when showering, the water went everywhere and wet the bathroom floor each time. The bathroom is also outdated and a worn down.

    The bed was really comfortable. The view was spectacular! The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel's location was within walking distance to the city centre and bus depots. Our overall experience was great and would recommend it to others.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    5.4
    Staff were friendly and the location is fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lake Facing Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are old fashioned and very run down.

    The lobby and restaurant have been updated nicely however the rooms are very old and outdated as well as not well kept. The carpet is stained and the rooms feel dirty because they are so dire.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.8
    Brilliant stay, we would definitely stay here again on our next visit. Amazing staff and views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake Facing Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our bed sheets did have a stain :(

    Very helpful staff at the front desk, some of the best I've come across. Amazing bar and restaurant with stunning views of the lake and surrounding mountains.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    6.7
    The restaurant is amazing, breakfast and dinner were such a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn’t great, old and dated and radiators were rattling

    The restaurant is amazing, breakfast and dinner were such a great spread, I would definitely go there just for food again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    6.7
    Incredible view, walking distance to the city, friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated rooms, damp smelling carpet, mould in shower, no wifi in our room despite being told we have unlimited wifi.

    Incredible view, walking distance to the city, friendly staff and beautiful lobby, car parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Lake View Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room never got made up first night. It took forever for hot water to get through. Jug wouldn't turn off automatically. No refund or possibility of changing dates for accomodation. Also funds were taken out straight away when I booked even though they were advertised as settlement on arrival.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    I would recommend Rydges because of its position and views
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Lake Facing Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Been here before.... Enjoyed our stay then . but disappointed this time because the breakfast menu was expensive for vegetarians.

    love the position of the hotel by the lake, lovely view on the mountains.. always liked the distance from the town .not to crowded..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.5
    View was amazing, and price was low for the view, but about...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake View King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room, bathroom in particular, was overdue for a make over. It had a few "repairs" done that were not to the standard I have expected of Rydges hotels.

    View was amazing, and price was low for the view, but about right for the room quality.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    Over all loved it!!! would definitely stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Lake Facing Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could have been more light bulbs in the bedroom it was abit dull

    The staff were lovely and the location was perfect, room service for breakfast everyday was super exciting and great quality

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    6.3
    Beds are comfortable, location is good close to town, dont...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake Facing Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heater a little bit noisy when turn on. The room not warm enough, a little bit cold at night. I felt the carpet a little bit dirty, seems didnt wash long time. Limited tea and coffee available in the room. Coffee only enough for one person and we are two people. Other such as shampoo and conditioner only enough for one person as well. In addition, a little bit disappointed as we requested to choose upstair when i booked in booking.com. But was be arranged to the ground room and also the check in time should be 2pm. We arrived about 2:15-2:30pm. But need to wait over 10mins to live in the ground room.

    Beds are comfortable, location is good close to town, dont need to always drive we can walk to anywhere

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.3
    Have stayed here many times and will do so again. Love the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake Facing Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the carpet in the room was dirty and stained. The mattress was terrible all collapsed in the middle. The bath could be ripped out and proper shower in it's place as it is really too small anyways for a soaking tub. We had to ask on 2 ocassions for the room to be made up and on 1 day the room was not serviced at all.

    the location and views are fantastic

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    6.3
    Staff were lovely and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Lake View King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Swimming pool was not clean, had green algae around the walls. Bed were not comfortable. Exhaust in the bathroom does not work, staff reported exhaust fan does not work in other rooms either. So if you go to the toilet then expect the smell of faeces to stay in toilet . Also expect the steam to stay in the bathroom . Mould was present in the bathroom. Not insulated or double glazed therefore rooms were cold. Extra heater was given to us.

    Staff were lovely and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    5.8
    Good location, excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake View King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mould on the curtains, smelly room like old and musky. Rooms are very dated but from desk area looks amazing. Mouldy bathroom and ceiling. Clumps of hair on top of lights. Staff were amazing and did everything they could to help. Definately in need of a revamp.

    Good location, excellent staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful location on the lake!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake Facing Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms aren’t as modern as the foyer area. Still clean and tidy - just a little outdated. Didn’t affect our stay at all - this is our second stay and won’t be or last. Great spot, great price...

    Beautiful location on the lake! Room views are 10/10! Close walk to town!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    2.5
    Won’t be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mould in room, leaking roof, hair in shower, fake advertising of balcony, heater didn’t work, smelt, no car park, tv was blurry, stains all over carpet, staff not very helpful.

    Not much at all was terrible

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    Great view over the lake Wakatipu to the Remarkable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake View Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great view over the lake Wakatipu to the Remarkable mountains, and just a five minute walk to town. Breakfast room on six floor is just outstanding, as well as the breakfast. Great stay in Queenstown 😃

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Great place to stay close to
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake View Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely clean and tidy room, with very comfortable bed and friendly helpful staff. 5 minute walk to town center, close to bars, restaurants and shopping.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.8
    Not satisfied with the stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake View King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    King lake view room - very small room not worth $254.00, i upgraded my room to a junior suite and this room was good sized but no kitchen area. I asked the staff to clean my room as i am going out for couple of hours and when i came back after 3 hrs no cleaning was done. Housekeeping came after 5 hrs and i requested them to come back after 1 hrs as i was with my friends and they told me they wont be able to as they finishing shift soon. Later that day i requested for a heater as the room heaters was not working properly, it took 2 hrs for them to send a staff to check the heater and them he told me that he will find one for me. After few more hours of wait they told me there is no spare heaters available.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.1
    The location was awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake View King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room felt run down. Shower head was average. Because of that it leaked water outside the shower when in it. Lighting in the room was terrible. The room was only half light with all lights on

    The location was awesome. Close walking distance to the town. The restuarant was great. Good spread for buffet breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    5.0
    Would not stay here again unless they renovated their rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This place is so deceiving. It looks so nice on the outside and in the lobby and restaurant. It stops as soon as you get out of the lift and start walking down the hallway to your room. It smells and looks dingy. The room was very old, outdated and didn't feel clean. The bathroom floor was gross and not something that I wanted to walk on with bare feet. We stayed in a one-bedroom suite with lake view. To see the lake you had to walk about 15 metres onto a shared balcony before you could see the lake. We had the buffet breakfast once while we stayed here, the food was ok but the hot food was cold. If you want to park here and not on the street it is $15 a night. You need to leave your keys at reception when you're not using the car as they stack them everywhere when it's busy.

    The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.5
    Would book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited parking. Mini bar wasn't restocked properly on arrival and staff questioned wether we had taken missing items but several other rooms in our large group were also missing various items-poor show staff!

    Location and scenery outstanding

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.8
    Great break away!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake View King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was a bit tired. The bathroom is pretty average and the shower curtain over the bath was a not good - it sticks to you while you are showering.

    The location is great, right on the lake and by town. The view was amazing. The Breakfast on the 6th floor is really good!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    6.3
    Average
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated & run down facilities. Froze my butt off with minimal bedding & a heater that just rattled all night & gave no heat. Bathroom desperately need a makeover & entertainment was average aswell. There is better accommodation in QT for the same money

    It was average

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    6.7
    Staff are very friendly and kind!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Lake Facing Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet is not tidy, needs shampooing! Furnitures need refurbishment. No Exhaust Fan in bathroom...

    Staff are very friendly and kind! Location is superb!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    6.7
    Kinda out of the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Lake View King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was pretty average.

    Kinda out of the town. A decent walk from there to the town center. Free parking is quite difficult to find in that street but you can secure a parking at the hotel for $15 per night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    6.3
    Not as enjoyable as previous stays. Maybe should have taken the upgrade but was ok .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake View King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms need renovations and updating. Television reception was poor. Hard to control heat settings - either too cold or cooking.

    Location -great bar.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.9
    Not bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake View King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room itself looked a bit tired, with paint chips on the walls and sliding door and the bath tub was very old too.

    The bed was so comfortable and the views are incredible.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Very nice hotel, food and view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lake View Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is too dark

    The foods are the best, there is a free parking lot. Big room for my whole family. Heater is enough. Very nice view from my room, i can see the lake.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    5.0
    Queenstown holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had the standard room,carpet are dirty and flity,the floor creeks when you walk on them.The toilet and bathroom was pretty old and run down.

    Free Wifi and location close to town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable room and great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lake Facing Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was told that the pool was heated but my two excited kids were unable to use it as it was cold - I know it was winter but heated pool means warm??? Rooms are older but that didnt matter - they just need a decent clean in the bathroom and maybe a bit of an upgrade

    I loved the location - so close to everything and right across the road from the stunning Lake Whakatipu!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.1
    Good to stay if you are not after a new room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake View King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room condition is old, no air-con, poor bath room with wobbly taps, vinyl floor, weak toilet flush. Fridge is roaring and heater crackles all night, we got room changed and upgraded but room condition is still the same. Consumable items are not topped up properly, I'd rate it 3 stars as renovation is recommended.

    Excellent lake view and friendly staff, room is tidy and clean, good location that takes seven minutes to town center on foot.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    5.0
    Rydges you should be ashamed asking top $ for rooms that are worse than a cheap hotel. Photos availa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake Facing Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We paid $195 for a room that had pubic hair in the bath, urine build up around the toilet lid hinge, scum and mould around the drain pipe and external tiles on bath, bedside lamps that were loose and a light that was not working. As well as a filthy balcony and very run down room. The carpet was that buckled it was a trip hazard. We took photos and presented them to the front desk and it was agreed the cleanliness of the room was unacceptable. Steps were taken immediately by James at the front desk to remedy the situation. No concierge was offered. Our stay at the Hilton for a King room $23 less was amazing as well as full service.

    Breakfast and dinner in newly renovated restaurant on Level 6 was wonderful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.1
    The room was a little tired - but adequate.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Lake View Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The balcony on level 1 is open to all rooms on that level which means anyone can walk past your ranchslider door - this is a bit unnerving

    The room was a little tired - but adequate. Heating was fantastic, we were warm from the moment we stepped in the door. Great bar & bar staff up on L6 @ Reds - make sure you visit.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.3
    Superb Location but needs love !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake View King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning issues !!!! Cigarette butts on balcony, carpet warn to underlay in some areas and the bathrooms need a good clean( some mould) most days cleaners didn’t turn up til after 4 to service rooms which was too late for us as were relaxing after big day out There was no exhaust fan in bathrooms which meant the room steamed up every time you showered. The doors to rooms need a self slow closing mechanism and need some sort of padding as they bang extremely loud every time someone On your level closes one. We were woken all hours of the night with people coming home and doors banging

    Location was excellent with stunning view. The staff were super friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    4.6
    Ok but rooms really need updating. Restaurant was the highlight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake Facing Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quite dated and cold. We asked to be moved to a warmer room but we were given a portable heater instead. The bathroom was much warmer than the room itself.

    foyer is nice, modern. Staff were nice. Restaurant was great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.2
    The location was excellent, walking distance to everything...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake View King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was excellent, walking distance to everything and right on the edge of the lake. Every room has a view of the lake and mountains which was stunning. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    3.8
    Cold water- no customer service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake View Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot running water -Complained and wasn’t moved room instead had to wait 45 mins for an engineer to fix problem. Only to have the same issue for the rest of the stay- no hot water unless we ran all the taps for 15 minutes. Hotel needs a lick of paint. Very old carpets. Had to request key to enter sauna. No massages in hotel despite what website says. Staff nice and approachable but definately not 4 or 5 star service - Ie: requested coffee to my room at reception and asked to go to my room and call instead. Requested entrance to sauna- given key but asked to go and turn sauna on and heat sauna up myself. Requested massage as per website and told it wasn’t possible to organise one. Complained about cold water and wasn’t moved to nicer room. No one at any stage asked us how our stay had been - if they had they might have got some of this feedback and I would have expected a partial refund. I don’t pay that price to have a cold shower when it’s minus 4 outside. I booked this as a romantic getaway and everything about Queenstown except the stay with Rydges was romantic. I have stayed with Rydges before and in comparison this one did not meet my expectations. Wouldn’t book in Queenstown again.

    Beds very comfy. Clean. Good view.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.1
    Meh
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake View King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom wasn't great, shower over bath was old and cramped. Paying $15 per night for parking is BS too. I booked Rydges because I've stayed at the Rotorua one and it was awesome but QTown room was crappy in comparison

    Great location. Staff were friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.5
    Good room cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake Facing Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check-in wasn't very pleasant with the reception lady scoffing at us We had very poor wifi reception from our room Limited parking space $15 fee + have to give your keys as they stack the cars Bathtub has quite a bit of wear and tear

    Good room cleanliness Very good location close to town and lake front Bazaar restaurant on 6th floor has great views and nice breakfast buffet. Discount for in house guests

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyed our stay. Nicest staff in Queenstown
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake View Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are dated. The heater in the lounge was very noisy. We thought Breakfast was included but it wasn't. Parking was expensive giving we parked ourselves. We were blocked in one morning due to cars being parked across parks. The TV stations were disappointing.

    The staff were awesome. Liked the view from our room and the location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Thoroughly enjoyable and cosy! Breakfast is great value for money. I will definitely be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Lake View Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I thought that the laundry service was quite expensive ($8) and also the overnight parking ($10). I think if you are staying the night as a guest you should be eligible to have one car park per room at no additional cost. I think it would be also great if you had some form of movie service in-room, possibly Netflix, so that guests can watch/hire movies to watch during their stay.

    The breakfast was amazing! So many options that catered for a wide range of tastebuds. We really enjoyed our room, especially the lake view and heating as it was freezing outside! The room service menu was priced really well and the food was yummy. The Bazaar restaurant for dinner was also amazing with so many options! The room was very clean, and had all the amenities. I will definitely be back!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    4.2
    Location thats about it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake View King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old rooms outdated.carpet was lifting from floor in bad need of a refurbishment.Not worth the money no way.vey Dissapointed.

    Location thats about it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    4.6
    Nice staff but the room was below standard for the price we paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake View King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room looked nothing like the pictures, it was really cold, our wine glasses weren’t clean and had marks all over them when we went to grab a drink. The bathroom was dirty. Walls weren’t very soundproof.

    Had a nice view, and was close enough to town without being right in the centre. The restaurant and bar were nice too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    6.3
    Bed was too soft and uncomfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake Facing Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was too soft and uncomfortable. My partner and i both have sore backs after the second night. The room was cleaned but just the beds made and some rubbish taken away. Other rubbish left on the table

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.1
    Great position and floor staff, although it certainly needs much more parking onsite for guests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake Facing Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The duty Manager was not very helpful at all and dismissed our complaint about items being taken by the cleaning staff that were not rubbish.

    The view was magnificent and the floor staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    4.6
    Out dated rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Out dated rooms. Cold showers. We had to rebook another night as out fligjt was canceled. Was just easier to rebook. But second room also had cold showers.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    6.7
    Handy Place To Stay - Close to Town - Parking though is at a Premium
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake View King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On site car Parking is at a Premium - Ours was packed 2 Deep making it difficult to get out and use All this for a extra $15 Parking Fee -- Room requires some attention Like a Tap washer for the Dripping Bath tap and a bit a Freshed up with a Lick of Paint - Summer type Starched Sheets when it was -4 Brr Cold

    Rydges put on a Awesome Breakfast - The lift was well Presented - Staff were Polite.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.8
    Great view and great value for money. Loved the stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake Facing Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish it was closer to CBD and had complimentary drops to CBD like a shuttle or something

    Refurbished rooms The view was brilliant Property looked grand

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.3
    Staff were lovely and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Lake View King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very outdated rooms and bathrooms. Overall feel very drab. Photos don't reflect the property well. Wouldn't stay again, plenty of newer places with the same view in Queenstown for cheaper

    Staff were lovely and helpful. Good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic location. Good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake View King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower/bathtub combo

    Location was great easy walk into town and buststop right outside, to the airport. Room was clean. Basic, but good value for money. Amazing view. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Quiet room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    4.6
    Location good and looked impressive from outside but extremely disappointed in quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Lake Facing Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Booking in took over 25 minutes. We had two lots of stairs to our rooms on messinene level - no lift available. Dirty coffee cup in our room. Uncomfortable double bed - why 2 double beds and not one king size?? Parking $15 per car (not previously advised). Pages missing from information booklet in room so could not access information about telephone and did not know about laundry facilities. The bar prices were very high compared to other places. My husband and I are members of Rydges and were extremely disappointed in Queenstown premises - we were with five other couples and none of them were happy with the quality of the rooms which appeared to need a lot of TLC.

    The location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.8
    Tidy lobby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake Facing Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dated. Wanted lake few and was on the bottom floor with a few of the carp ark. Cost $15 to leave my car in the car park and reception wanted to keep hold of my car keys which is weird. Wasn’t value for money.

    Tidy lobby. Good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.0
    Was ok but there are better at the same price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Lake View Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very dated and badly lit room, no chair to use at the desk, room service was cold and delivered uncovered. Pretty low standard for the price

    Pretty good location a flat walk to town

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.1
    Location was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake View King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could smell smoke in the corridors. We were not given the wifi details or explained where things were in the hotel. The main reason I felt alittle disappointed was the buffet. They charge $69 for the buffet and the food tasted dry and Stale as if it had been sat there for long periods of time. I thought the hotel was quite dated and could do with a revamp . If I didn't get my hotel room at such a good deal I would not have been happy paying more.

    Location was great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    5.0
    Good location to town around 10 minute walk along the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake View King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very cold. Only one blanket on the bed, no electric blankets as an option and a heater that didn’t put out much heat. Had to request extra blankets.

    Good location to town around 10 minute walk along the waterfront.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Excellent place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent place to stay but...I paid $15 for the car to be parked onsite and when we left the hotel, staff had parked it in the disability park, there was a note tucked under the windscreen wiper saying “try walking with a disability like mine when someone takes a disability park and has no disability card. Fine $150 if reported!” I felt so bad as I never park in disability parks.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Thank you for the awesome stay. We really enjoyed staying at Rydges.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was amazing and will definitely be staying again.

    The guys at reception we amazing and made the stay all that much better. The breakfast so amazing and just what we needed in the morning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Superb stay... will come again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Lake View King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms a little on the shabby side.... example curtain was loose on the top in room 119. The bathroom had peeling paint and some areas on no sealant on the corners.

    The reception staff were fabulous... nothing was too much trouble. Room service was prompt and very efficient. Room and bathroom were very clean ... lovely towels. Amazing views... great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.1
    Very enjoyable . Wish you could do something about the weather
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake Facing Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All in all it was pretty good for the price

    The hotel is situated in a scenic position in it looks out over the lake. The hotel has been upgraded and is very clean, tidy and warm. The staff are exceptionally helpful and efficient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    Staff were amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Lake Facing Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very small with no ventalation so when having a shower with door shut it got far too hot in there. No kitchen bench either which was a little annoying.

    Staff went above and beyond. So friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel, with beautiful views of the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Lake View King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast didn’t seem to be amazing value for money, and not overly fresh - better off trying one of the great restaurants in the city

    Clean, good location, comfy bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic place to stay, not only Rydges but also Queenstown.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Lake Facing Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    What I didn't like was leaving, I really enjoyed my stay. Thank you Rydges.

    After so many terrible reviews this hotel had, I was thinking of cancelling, was quite worried. However, the staff at reception were great, the room was great and fantastic view. Brilliant accommodation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.1
    Room was old & tired in appearance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was old & tired in appearance. Bathroom smelly & outside light on deck flickering both nights. However the bed was very comfortable & everything that is needed when away from home was provided. Customer service excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing I will not return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Lake Facing Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed that I paid so much money for a room with a shared balcony not a private one. Also disappointing that there is no gym or spa. I would have thought that a hotel like Rydges would have those facilities. I feel like I could have got a much better value for money elsewhere. The decor is also outdated the carpet in the hallways are old

    The staff were very friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.3
    Unbeatable location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Lake View Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needs updating. Carpet and furniture very old. Bathroom small.

    Excellent location and view. Breakfast very good. Bed very comfortable. Reception and public areas/bars have been renovated and are excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    Our room is on the ground floor with lake view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake Facing Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room is on the ground floor with lake view. However, the view is the carpark as it is on the ground floor. The ground floor room rates with lake view should be lower than on the higher floors. We have an early morning trip to Milford Sound, however the hotel restaurant only offer Buffet breakfast. I wish the hotel restaurant can offer ala carte menu or food can be bought for takeaway.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: