Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Rydges Rotorua 4.5 stars

272 Fenton Street, 3040 Rotorua, New Zealand

#67 of 88 hotels in Rotorua

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1587 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    3.8
    Satisfactory & for our discount price of $112, I would stay at Rydges Rotorua again.
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Repairs (gib stopping) poor. Sealant in grout grooves not intact by spa bath that we were appreciatively upgraded to thanks to Rydges thoughtful staff.

    staff good.ACC chose venue. Purpose was ACC Reconciliation mtg the following day so I could not miss it. ACC claim my Inguinal Hernia is not a work related injury. It took one hour to push escaping intestinal material back into abdominal cavity last evening.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    5.8
    Provide what you advertise or don't advertise it!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Advertised a gym and pool - The pool was out of order, the treadmill was out of order and had been for between 2 and 3 weeks, the rowing machine was broken and the bike didn't work. Advertised free Wi-Fi - Stopped working moments after I checked in and was still not working when I checked out the next morning. Despite asking twice when it would be going no one could be bothered to provide any updates. Fresh Salmon and Fresh Tuna advertised on the menu - Neither were available. I was so incensed I complained through the Rydges NZ website customer services portal. Not surprisingly, no response. The final insult upon checking out was to be hit with a 2% surcharge for the privilege of using my credit card which guarantees payment to the Hotel.

    One staff member actually acknowledged the shortcomings of the establishment and tried to make a difference.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    5.0
    Was ok not great consudering price for 1 ad and 2 kids
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Put on website that pool is out of service wasnt happy that i wasnt advised especially with the fact that i have kids should have been made clear on website. Always keep updated with maintenance issues..

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.1
    Fine!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    We asked for a 2pm check as have a baby and got our room at 3.45pm. The indoor swimming pool is closed but there was no mention of this on their website.

    The size of the rooms are fantastic - they are big and great from a family. Beds and pillows are amazingly comfortable. Bathrooms are old, but clean with lots of hot water. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Its very family friendly hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing and dated. Not the usual standard for a 'Rydges' hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very run-down. Chipped tiles and very dated fixtures. Bathroom was extremely basic. Our room was directly opposite the air-conditioning hub so was very noisy. The plumbing in nearby rooms was really loud too. The view from our window was the roof. The pool was out of order. At $208 for one night, it was not good value for money in my opinion.

    There is an excellent cafe over the road. The beds were comfy. The receptionist at the front desk (Katie) was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    4.2
    Should have stayed at regular cheapie down the road with heated pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool out of action . Dirty glasses in room , scud build up in corners of benchtop. Leg on table falling off- propped up by wall.table looked like it was used as a craft table with paint blobs and awful finish on top.Toilet flush had big hole in wall. Room service run out of items by 8.30 pm . Not close to shops . Cards wouldn't work in door and lift had broken.

    Warm room. Good water pressure

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.8
    Very spacious and relaxing room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything met my expectations & was happy with the hotel and the room.

    Very large room with nice views & a great little hot tub to relax in . Bed was very comfortable & room temperature was excellent . Good TV variety & a very comfortable seat to relax and watch from .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.3
    Quiet and comfortable, but tired decor
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is looking very tired/worn now and was disappointed the pool was out of order.

    A comfortable stay especially the bed and pillows! The room and location were very quiet.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.3
    excellent location. generous space for the room.friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    closestool is too high for us.especially I have a 5 years old daughter. even for our adults. it's very uncomfortable for such abnormal high closestool which is around 20 cm higher than normal, might be higher. if there is pipe position problem. you need to adjust all of height. not only for closestool.I think the closestool height can only fit the people who are over 2 meters tall. also our room ia close to a engine room. even we shut the door. we still can hear about it. if someone has sleeping problem. dont choose this room

    generous space for the room and bathroom

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.9
    Good value but needs lots of basic maintenance.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of maintenance beginning to show. Pool has now been closed for quite some time. Lifts not working the day we stayed plus other minor maintenance issues in the room.

    Beds were comfortable. Staff were great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    Great value for a stay- sorry hat their covered pool was missing because we had intended coming vae
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Light bulbs missing in room- however whrnnon checkout - it was noted.

    The restaurant meals were great - no need to go out to eat their meals were reasonably priced and superb quality. The restaurant service was exceptional

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    3.3
    Terrible. Would not recommend.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My bag was rummaged through by staff. I had taken photos of the contents and the zips before I left and when I returned the bag didn’t match my photos. Management made excuses which I didn’t appreciate. Was told someone would call me but no one has. The room wasn’t clean, dishes still in sink and next to bed. Room service tray still in room. Seems more time was spent on going through my bag than cleaning.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy to find Very nice room . Breakfast was great, this was not part of our room booking but we were able to book a table and we just had to pay up front which was fine .overall great stay There were alot of families staying at the hotel which was Here at to see.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    5.0
    Location, price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom sink, countertop, shower were obviously old and much in need of upgrading. The pool as out of order. Although we could connect to their Wifi, it was not connected to the Internet.

    Location, price

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    2.9
    The rooms are spacious
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms and the corridors were very smelly. The rooms was not worth as advertised. The motels are better maintained than this. The Male receptionist was very rude. No manners to talk. The shower had stains. No excess to microwave to heat food and milk for kids. The rooms were cold.

    The rooms are spacious

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.7
    Overall disappointed, wouldnt stay there again for a hotel was just overall lacking
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room and bathroom looked like it hasnt been used for ages so was dirty looking, different then the pictures, didn't have sky tv or decent channels, hotel pool wasnt working either Staff that I spoke to was really hard to understand as well

    Lobby/reception area was the only thing that looked nice at the property

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.2
    Great value. $130 night for family of 4. Kids are free so stoked. Facilities were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pool. Was main reason booked there because we had kids only to get there and out of order. Should make aware to customers

    Kids eat free. Great staff service

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Good place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a bit of trouble with the key cards sometimes not working.

    Good place to stay. Close proximity to food places and drive from activities you may want to try. Thanks We really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    3.3
    Not a good experience at all...and not to keep in memory
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dust on furnitures in my room, just unacceptable!! when paying such amount o many fora room/ night I expect the room to be clean. Sounds like no one has been in the room to service it for weeks. I arrived very late in tbe night at the hotel and i would havs changed hotel if i knew this. But come on, when booking with Rydges I was expecting better/ acceptable service...apart from check-in and out staff, the rest = room for improvement when dealing with customers please!. Happy to show/ share pics if the dust in my room during my stay if you like!!

    Complementary voucher for a drink in the bar or in the restaurant

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    3.3
    Wouldn’t stay here again,Rude receptionists,Broken toilet and false advertising of pool photos
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet didn’t work,got 2 free drink coupons for toilet not working had to use reception toilet,Showed photos of pool on website even though they no longer have the pool.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.5
    Its a great hotel and for the price a great place to stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The temperature for me in the hotel was to hot which caused it to be stuffy. The breakfast experience is lacking in what you would expect from a Rydges hotel. The first sitting had not been cleared, so every table was a mess I had to wait to get a table for one.

    The help at the desk was very helpful and they were pleasant. The bed was comfortable and the room large with a great view. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    5.4
    Ordinary- Novotel was heaps better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated for the price. Bathroom was old and had no shower curtain. 2 adults and two teenagers and we only had two towels. Room temp was 35 degrees so we had to leave for an hour to let the room cool down. Pool was closed, no sauna! No view

    It was quite!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    4.6
    just okay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was not up to standard, leaking and old shower ,also look like the shower was not cleaned properly The handling of the Mini fridge not up to scratch

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    4.2
    Unsatisfactory
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture in the room was sticky and stained. There was no shower gel in the bathroom. The taps were so noisy that when the water was running you couldn’t hear the TV. The shampoo had been used and not replaced. The cleaners knocked on the door and asked if she could clean the room at 0900 while we were in the room and hadn’t checked out yet. The sink tap was very lose and was very hard to turn on and off.

    The receptionist was helpful after we complained when checking out, she took our complaint seriously and did every thing she could to help us.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.6
    Amazing. Amazing staff. Exceeded standards
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t realise the pool would be out of order, but we were given a room upgrade with a spa so I was still happy!

    The beds were amazing!!! And room service was excellent and fast!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.5
    We got upgraded to a beautiful room and my son and partner loved it also
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff, they handled evacuation well enough when emergency fire alarms went off. People weren't panicking and that's always a good sign in situations like that.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    4.2
    Worst customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst staff I have ever met At any hotel Staff has no idea what customer service is If it was in my hand I would Close this place until staff has been given proper training

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.1
    Great location friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need A/C in the room. Couldn’t control the heater, either to hot or to cold. Pool was out of order. No plates in the kitchen and only two towels for four guests.

    Good location good size room. Restaurant food was very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    5.0
    Very overpriced for the quality of the room and hotel in general.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very tired and dated. The standard of the furniture is terrible and needs to be replaced as it looked as though it had come from a charity shop. The room is very overpriced for the condition it is in. At $225 a night I expected much more. The carpet throughout the hallways is old and stretched and there were holes in some of the hallway walls. The hotel is badly in need of a renovation and the prices need to be dropped to reflect this

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    5.0
    Kids were not happy with the place. Not going back there. Not recommending to other travelers
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is so old it really needs to be renovated, the bathroom in our room was terrible, we could hear doors slamming, moldy bathroom. The room was not relaxing and very noisy (rm 230). Pool wasnt in order too

    The price was reasonable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.5
    pool closed for considerable time, yet advertised as a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    pool closed for considerable time, yet advertised as a facility on internet.The breakfast was time restricted,tasteless ,not value for money. car parking open to public and door key wouldn't work, raining and had to walk around hotel. Only provide two towels. Not 4 star

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.2
    swimming pool was closed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    swimming pool was closed.Better selection of TV channels.Maybe have a selection of some seafood at breakfast eg fish fingers other wise very happy with stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    3.8
    I wouldn't go there again - not value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is run down and dated - it needs a good paint, looks really shabby. The dining room was not clean - dirty dishes on tables, and the cooked breakfast was a rip off. Staff were unenthusiastic.

    The bed was comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    4.6
    Rydges ... not again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room tired, handles missing, bathroom not clean, dirty glasses, mold on wall and smudge of blood above toilet roll holder. Email sent to me 2 days prior asking if I would like to upgrade to a luxury room for $10 which I said yes to and this was confirmed by hotel but on arrival lobby staff knew nothing about this and no luxury room was available initially but after 15 mins of unnecessary fussing in the lobby one miraculously became available which was the tired and dirty room described. I have stayed several times at Rydges but not again. It really needs to lift its game. Disappointing!!

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    3.8
    Not nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    How dirty the room was and the price I don’t mind paying $200 a night but not for filthy bathrooms and the most uncomfortable lumpy bed I had to sleep on top

    Room was huge

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Close to all amenities, walking and by car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one thing that the pool was out of order but hey couldn't complain about anything else.

    Close to all amenities, walking and by car. Even thoigh it is on the main drag it was quiet.....will stay again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    The location was handy to town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like.

    The location was handy to town. I felt so relaxed. I was amazed with how quiet it was being on a busy street. I will definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Amazing stay, great facilities staff food and overall the acommodation was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That i didnt stay long enough :P

    I was very impressed with the room and the facilities, the staff were extra helpful and friendly. Would definatly come and stay again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.5
    Good location, bike friendly tidy, and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was some part of the water plant next to our room so we could hear whenever anyone showered.

    Good location, bike friendly tidy, and friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.8
    Was only a quick stay but met our needs and overall was enjoyable and easy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kettle was very dirty. Had lots of build up on it so I couldn’t enjoy my usual morning coffee. Pool wasn’t working and we were not notified. Kids would have enjoyed a swim after a long drive in the car.

    The size of the room was great. Didn’t feel like we were squished in and fighting for room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.2
    Lovely stay over Easter....well done Rydges Rotorua
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom King Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 5 nights

    After a certain time of day we only had hot water coming through the taps in the bathroom! Had to brush my teeth in the kitchen sink! Tried to mention this on check out but Scarlett was not interested. Maybe some staff training on the skill of listening would be on use here??!!! Also the couch in the living room really does need replacing.... very uncomfortable and tatty.

    Room was excellent size. Nice to have two sinks in the bathroom! Water pressure really great in the shower. Nice to have such a lovely view. Bed was comfortable and we had a great sleep every night. We stayed 5 nights and ate in the restaurant 3 nights...... food was lovely! Try the steak .... you won't be disappointed. Also the breakfast was exceptional!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.5
    The location is excellent the restaurant and cocktails were amazing loved being by the horse track
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fridge was really noisy and the shower flooded from a vent on the floor is the middle of the room and tv was really small

    The bed was super comfy and the room was huge

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    3.8
    Very poor and not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It said there was a pool, both in photos and in the info pack in the room. When we got there a sign on the desk said no pool. No discount was offered at all. The furniture in the room was old and worn out. When leaving they tried to charge for an extra person even tho I had booked for two pepole? Staff were not helpful at all. We also got turned away from the restaurant as they said no tables and the kitchen was busy? There were plenty of empty tables in the restaurant, so we went and ate elsewhere. We will not stay there again. Poor staff, poor service and poor facilities for the cost of there hotel. I would ha e rather stayed somewhere else.

    Big rooms

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    5.0
    It did not feel like a hotel visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Part of the room was dirty. So much dirt on the Windows. Mosquitoes habging in thw web. Lots and lots of web oute window view.

    Bed was comfy bad room was spacious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    3.8
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool not working. Got flea bites. NO aircon had a rattling fan. Carpet was stained. Ceiling dirty. Guys stay away this this a rather large but very poor quality hotel.

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    5.8
    Wouldn't book there again it's overpriced for what it is.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff acted like we were an inconvenience and that they were too busy for us. Fixtures are old and run down, said breakfast was included but when we got there it wasnot, additional charges all over the place for things

    Beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    5.0
    Bathroom was not clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was not clean. There was hair in the hand basin. Told the lady at the reception and someone was suppose to come and clean but it never happened. Very disappointed. Will not stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.3
    Basic but ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No information that the pool was out of order prior to booking and that the main bar was shut due to Easter even though under liquor laws it could have opened.

    Room was fine. Dated but nice. Dinner was awesome. Great service and food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.8
    Loved it, will definitely stay again, was unsure as to what...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Loved it, will definitely stay again, was unsure as to what to expect, trees were in my view of gondala,mayb next time will try either dinner or breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    5.4
    Bed was comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bottom floor was so loud all night. Drunk people on a week night. I could hear everything next door. Walking upstairs and on the corridor. The tiles had a resin on them that peeled off when you walked barefoot on it. Horrible plastic like.

    Bed was comfy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    7.9
    Food was great, cooked by a great chef
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had ordered for dinner the soup of the day , it was broccoli soup with croutons & blue vein cheese it was delicious. for the main I ordered the fish of the day terakihi and it was cooked to perfection with no bones, presentation was beautiful just like the pictures in a book or what you see on TV. Congratulations to the chef and his/her helper. Thankyou

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    The bed so comfy, staff super friendly and organised, and so...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillow was a little too fat and fluffy, but then I'm a very poor judge of good pillows.

    The bed so comfy, staff super friendly and organised, and so accommodating. We wished we had planned to stay longer, and we're already planning our next trip. We can't comment on the restaurant as we didn't eat there.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.5
    Very disappointed. Badly overdue for upgrade
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is in badly need of an upgrade. I came here on a conference in 1980s and it was great but since that time it appears that it has not been kept up to the high grade it once was. I am sure that some furnishing would be rejected by second hand shops. While some staff were friendly, helpful and smartly dressed other were clearly not wanting to be there. Sorry Rydges, while there are choices I will not be coming back until I hear of improvements and upgraded.

    Rooms are very spacious. Plenty of parking

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    5.5
    Bearable not the most enjoyable of our trip so far
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom dirty never had a deep clean the entire hotel is very very tired, cannot be a 4 star hotel as listed on booking.com site, used mainly as overnight stay for tour groups, forget staying any longer.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    4.2
    Below average, stayed here around 10yrs ago n looks like no progress on refurbishment at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool not open (one of the reasons we chose it for the kids) Door card worked on around the 5th attempt on the rear carpark door Ran out of toilet paper

    The room had 3 dbl beds

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.5
    A pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bacon was a little over cooked so it was to hard and crisp.

    the choice or having three kinds of eggs for breakfast, good fruit selection, as well as the bircher muesli.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    2.5
    Waste of time and money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pools were in pictures but there are not even there hotel is not the way it is advertise in net

    Nathing very poor don't go there and don't be fooled by pictures

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.2
    I loved the spaciousness of my two room suite and the view...
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls in the lifts are in need of repair as is the bathroom door.

    I loved the spaciousness of my two room suite and the view out over the race course. It was also so peaceful and quiet. We first stayed in 1997 and have been coming back many times over the year.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    6.3
    Good location and competent staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Furnishings a little dated and old. Leaking roof which made the place smell musty and pool out of action.

    Good location and competent staff Comfortable bed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    7.5
    Annual family vacay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had seen there was a pool advertised on a website but when we arrived it had been closed for over a year the Rooms are bloody hot in the muggy weather fans on the roof just don’t cut it bathroom wasn’t the cleanest with mound on the rails (disable rails ) in shower the toilet was very High up

    The room was huge with 3 double bed the restaurant food was delicious and breakfast selection was even better Kids ate free was a bonus but the Maccaroni was horrible Lamb rack an seafood chowder where the best

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    5.8
    Staff were helpful and friendly and room and linen clean
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very tired ie curtains were ripped/rotten furniture scratched - A lot of Tourists arrived by bus if their rooms were like mine (320) they would not be happy - hotel needs a good pull through - Rydges used to be a top name.ok

    Staff were helpful and friendly and room and linen clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    9.2
    Rotorua trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool was out of order & that was 1 reason we chose that hotel & on arrival the lifts were out of order & I have mobility problems & couldn't climb the 3 floors to my room, but we were given a complimentary coffee & only had a 40 min wait.

    Really good location, just on the edge of town. Easy parking. The room was lovely, clean & comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    7.1
    really good room size for our family and kids loved the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the pool was out of action, something we only found out at check in, big disappointment.

    really good room size for our family and kids loved the pancake machine at breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    5.4
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking hadnt gone through had to wait for it to get fixed asked for 1st level offer on website.Told only 2nd and 3rd level.available at reception. Ad said twin rooms.received 1 room 2 beds. Hallways bit dark n cold felt bit unloved and not very friendly.found a lot blood stains on curtains and no air con only a ceiling fan and pedestal fan. Needs work

    Location.free carpark and wifi

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    4.6
    awlful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we arrived with 4 in our party and only had two towels, asked twice for towels and had to go and find our own. Rooms are in dire need of upgrade. Dirty and just looked yuck. Only two coffee sachets for four for 2 days!!! No microwave or crockery or cultery. Very dissapointed and won't go back

    view and beds

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.6
    Thanks for having us.
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just needed an air conditioner in our room

    The staff of the Rydges are fantastic, they are very friendly and helpful. If I come back to Rotorua, I’ll be staying at the Rydges

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    5.8
    We got a special price so stay was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One bad incident was witnessing the Head Chef berate and swearing at a junior female staff member in the dining area in front of my 7 year old son and I. The lights in our room were constantly flickering so had to be off. Very 80s decor in the bathrooms but perfectly functional.

    Spa bath and shower were great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    7.9
    Good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Walls are a bit thin, could here the people in nearby rooms.

    Was upgraded to a room with a spa bath. Nice bar and good having a gym. Very friendly staff at reception.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    5.4
    Wouldn’t recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the bathroom sinks wasn't clean, the used drinking glasses and mugs haven't been replaced by the room service. And the wifi connection was useless. All in all the facilities are old

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    4.5
    Long black hairs on shower wall and bathtub, hair balls on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Long black hairs on shower wall and bathtub, hair balls on carpet torn curtains very hot room with no aircon only ceiling fan. Bed very comfortable. Reception indicated they would speak to housekeeping.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    5.0
    Won’t stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of towels in the room and had to ask for more each day. Swimming pool was out of order. Ants in room.

    Nice breakfast a part from no butter on one day.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.5
    it was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool not working was a huge dissapointment especially as all other places we looked at had a pool, we had to pay for an upgrade to include a spa pool

    Staff were excellent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.1
    overall i quite enjoyed my stay , staff are friendly and helpful and the buffet breakfast is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was weird mould on the toilet flush button and the button was loose and hard to push into the wall without breaking it more and just gross to have to touch there was also more weird mould stuff on the fire sprinklers . Our sheets also had marks / stains on them

    the room was spacious, breakfast was great, staff were very nice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    6.7
    Satisfactory
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Furniture appeared a little run down - mould on the nettings, cracks in the tiles, rust on chrome parts in the bathroom. Disappointing pool was not available for use - the pool was a major draw card for us choosing Rydes Rotorua

    Fresh linen, clean soft towels, comfortable beds, complimentary tea and coffee facilities available in rooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    6.7
    Our room was very spacious with a lovely outlook
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Annoyed that the pool was closed. Feel the condition of the room was a bit tired, overdue for refreshing the bathroom and carpet.

    Our room was very spacious with a lovely outlook

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: