Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Heartland Hotel Queenstown 3.5 stars

27 Stanley Street, 9348 Queenstown, New Zealand

#46 of 71 hotels in Queenstown

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1386 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I had to go. Just kidding. It was awesome stay. Looking forward to stay there again in my next visit.

    Staff, accommodation and peace around the place. Nice place to stay and refresh your soul while watching out beautiful mountains and lake.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Chalet View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The heating in our bedroom was quite noisy (making a clicking sound) and the floor in the kitchen near the door was very dirty which was a little off-putting. The television in the main living space wasn't working.

    Located very close to the heart of Queenstown (walking distance if you don't mind a bit of an uphill climb). Small but well stocked kitchenette if you want to prepare some basic meals. A peak of the lake and mountains. We were satisfied with our stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio Twin View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was difficult to lock the door to the balcony. You would need to give it a couple of goes to get it to lock and then our toddler could easily open it which wasn’t ideal being one storey up and having an adventurous child!

    We were lucky enough to stay one night for $119! Super reasonable for Queenstown. Just a walk down the hill and you were in town. The room was nice and warm with a nice view of the lake. The bed was comfy, the shower had great pressure and there was even a bath for our toddler. Staff were lovely too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio Twin View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were a bit too soft but they were fine. Staff inserted an envelop into our door quite late at night and it woke up my 13 yr old daughter who then woke us up as she thought someone was trying to break in. If this note could be left earlier that would be better. TV - needs more channels, also poor signal

    Excellent views from our room. Nice and warm

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Chalet View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downer was the size of the bath room very small but it is very clean and functional

    Close to town ,very clean, it was 2 storeys so great for family or a group of friends and good view of the lake

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet Studio King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was uncomfortable, could feel a hard bit in the middle like the bed was 2 pushed together. Ceilings were very low, bath and shower really small. WiFi barely works. Has a small window covered with very flimsy blinds that faces the bed and has the neighbours light right next to it and shines into the room making it very light and hard to sleep. View was nice but has heaps of trees blocking it.

    Good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio Twin View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds and pillows were far too soft and uncomfortable. The parking was ridiculous, we had to park 2kms down the road, room was cold and milk in fridge was frozen. Incredibly noisy, you could hear graphic details of neighbours using toilet

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio Twin View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If people haven't checked in by 4pm then they should turn heaters on in the rooms for the guest. its very cold in Queenstown in winter.

    Great view. Very short walk to town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our meal at the restaurant was very poor. Even when a meal was repeated it was still very disappointing. Ordered a second drink. Did not arrive and then realised after paying the bill we were overcharged We ordered 3 coffees and one hot chocolate from bar 20 minutes between first arriving and last. Hot chocolate luke warm and undrinkable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio Twin View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking space is not big enough and some of the parking slots are right in front of the entrance door of ground floor rooms.

    Walking distance from the main market area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio Twin View Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have to carry our heavy luggage to the room without lift. The parking lot is quite limited.

    I have heard about how costly Queenstown accommodation is, but Heartland provided fair value for this stay. The room is HUGE, we like it!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Chalet Studio King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of any. I am totally satisfied and coming back here again

    I like how big my room is for a very reasonable price and a big bonus there was the lovely view from my room. What i find it really helpful was the it only takes me 9mins walk to reach town proper.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door to the connecting room didn't close shut nor could it be locked, so the other occupants could easily access our room had they wanted to. The sliding door to the balcony also didn't lock and it was near the street level. In addition, we had an unrequested wake up call at 6 AM. Not ideal for the first day on holiday in the hotel. We also had put the do not disturb tag on the door the second day and it was completely ignored by the house keeper who barged in any way!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Chalet View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t enjoy other people’s cars parked right outside our door, but not much else to complain about.

    Felt much more private than a normal hotel. Views were amazing and it was nice and close to town. Loved the new plush carpet and toasty heaters.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet Studio King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Someone parked their car right outside our front door which meant it was difficult to get im and out. The toom took a day to heat up but once it did we were very cosy!! Wifi wasn’t great from our room 110

    The view was great as was the space in the room. Good facilities too

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room seemed cold, heater minimally effective; staff chided me for not asking in advance for a view

    the view was nice, highly accessible to walking queenstown; nice they had a washer/dryer; my husband was glad there was a bathtub for soaking after hikes.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet Studio King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not so easy for disabled guests. Very oddly designed building to me. From the secure parking area you go down a ramp which I suspect is steeper than the recommended 1:14 to the lift, up one stop to our level then when you get out you have push back up the same slope to get to the room, which in our case was right at the top (30m or so?). Sounds strange putting a disabled friendly room where you have to go to such an effort with a wheelchair but I guess it's because it puts the room right at the fire exit. Even then the issues for the wheelchair user are not over. The first door off the corridor is bloody heavy and when you do finally manage to get through you find yourself in a small triangular entrance with 2 doors off it, one to each of the two rooms. (As I said, very strange design!). Manoeuvering in to the door requires coordinated effort from the person in the wheelchair to hold the ridiculously heavy door open with their hand then foot to get through while being pulled and then lots of muscle work (combined weight of me + wheelchair 105kg or approx 235lb) to get it in position to get through the door into the room. Once inside it was an awesome room but was a pain for my poor wife every time we went in and out.

    Great room, extremely comfy bed. Well set up kitchen plus washer and drier.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio Twin View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property is in need of an update. It looks as if they are working on this as there was painting etc in progress on our stay. It's a great location and the rooms were comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet Studio King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not go to the restaurant. The staff were friendly and helpful and the location was great, an easy walk to the lake and shops. The room could have used a bit of a spruce up, but the location mattered more to us, so we didn't really care.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Chalet Studio King View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit shabby, linen had hairs on, very overpriced for a room with little facilities. Conflicting information in guest book re internet charges. Room very hot, couldnt see how to turn down heatpump so slept with window open but got road noise all night.

    Location, view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sound of morning traffic from Franklin Rd, which is a non-modifiable feature.

    The awesome view of Lake Wakatipu, the hotel’s walking distance to Queenstown, the comfortable warm bed, the warm towels from heated towel rail, and the refreshing amenities by Earth Botanics.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Chalet Studio King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bathroom was dated and needed renovation. I hate shower curtains! But it was clean, plenty of towels, etc. The walk back from town is steep!

    The location is excellent, close to town centre. The room and bed were comfortable. Staff happy to get extra pillows for us. The staff from reception , through to wait staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful at all times. The staff servicing the room were excellent, and honest..one found an earring that I thought I had lost on the gondola!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet Studio King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The picture provided at the booking.com, the room look very large. It turns out we don't get same as picture provided. The lighting from room next door make our room a bit brighter.

    The design of the hotel is unique. Parking is easy as u can park in front of ur room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Chalet Studio King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stains on the couch I stayed wasn’t pleasant but understandable for some people are not good at keeping the place they stay clean, or kids might accidentally spilt drinks etc, it’s good enough

    The bed was a king bed which was really good after a whole day hike! Friendly staff member! The balcony for every room is definitely a bonus!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet Studio King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were allocated room 107 which is over the laundry and there was a strong smell of damp. We contacted reception and asked to be moved. We were told we could move to a different room but there would be an additional charge of NZ$40. Having already paid NZ$250 we asked to speak to the manager at which point a new room was made available at no additional charge.

    The location was good as it was within walking distance of the city centre. It is at the top of a steep hill which some may find difficult.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Chalet Studio King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating wasn't working and the room was near a noisy road. There were also a few noisy people coming and going throughout the night, so not much sleep.

    Great proximity to lake and shops etc. Great view from our apartment. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    With your price no service at I book for eight members of my family from the states they find everything below their expectations your staff are not helpful st all .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite dated and wasn’t clean when we arrived (see pictures of hair in the bathroom and a corner of a condom wrapper found in the floor). There was also a young gentleman who was asked by the receptionist to assist with our bags. We asked him to take our two hiking packs while we took a piece of hand luggage each to which he rolled his eyes!!! Otherwise staff interaction was reasonable.

    Proximity to town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Chalet Studio King View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing was replenished in the room...milk, clean glasses, etc

    Bed comfy and one staff member went out of his way to rearrange beds into what we ordered (2 twins) very quickly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio Twin View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited kitchen facilities. Not even a microwave to heat some of our food. We only had a cup and teaspoon. The walk up the hill was pretty tiring too.

    Location and the stunning views! The hotel was lovely too. I loved the swiss style that goes so well with Queenstown.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the staff members at the restaurant when we had our breakfast weren't that nice.but all the others were very kind.

    The bathroom was very spacious and the bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet Studio King View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi in the room was far too slow. Too slow for example running Google maps.

    Spacy room with beautiful view to the Lake. Good king size bed. Clean and Comfortable. Continental breakfast was a good option for us who did not want any more egg and bacon.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 707 had a queen mattress that should be dumped. Painfully uncomfortable. Rubbish bin lids very noisy throughout the night.

    Dinner and service in the evening good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet Studio King View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was a bit helter skelter.

    Rooms were spacious and airy,great view. Nicely decorated and comfy.Room service was good standard. Breakfast was plentiful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Chalet Studio King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just found interaction with reception and management when we checked in a little abrupt an impersonal.

    Loved our chalet style room. Comfy beds and location was great considering the price. Very clean. Highly recommended .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was dirty and the staff did not seem to care. They said they had upgraded us to Scenic hotel but it did not feel like an upgrade. The room was not clean at all and when I complained they did nothing about it. Hair in the shower and bed! Would never recommend this hotel!

    Great location close to town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower leaked out onto the carpet, the chair in the room was very tired, had been repaired before and fell apart when sat on. Room was redecorated but not to a high standard.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very old and dated and we were put below ,the photo's on the internet must have been taken years ago.

    When I checked in I was told to pay straight away and then informed that if I had booked directly with the Hotel it would have been quite a bit cheaper and they might have thrown in breakfast . Very disappointing NOBODY likes to be told that they have paid too much.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet Studio King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible TV and lousy internet. Had to use my phone data to call my children. The Tv was stone age with fibre and satellite TV there is no excuse. Mould in the bathroom. Broken window, the electric heat was hard to control and the unit looked burnt. Over priced by far...

    Location wss ok. Lots of hot water. Nothing else!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was next to reception and very noisy,with car doors banging and suitcases being wheeled on rough surface. Complained to manager who didn't seem interested, next day they started uploading hotel bus outside the room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room didn't have any air conditioning. Showers outdated and difficult to prevent saturating the floor with water when showering.

    Great location and staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Im appalled by the customer service and the false advertising of the heartland hotel. Not only were the staff not willing to even offer a hand with luggage (timz hAnd being broken in a visible cast) but the cleaners rude and argumentative also the man i spoke to at front desk wasn't at all helpful. To top it off the suite i was given wasn't at all near what I had ordered and paid for. Will not be recommending this hotel to any of my friends or family. Ratshit!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel offers free parking, but number of slots are limited. We happened to luck out and get the only free spot when we arrived. Our room faced reception parking and was very noisy. We had to keep the windows closed on a very warm night.

    Hotel is centrally located and within walking distance of all city attractions. This is important because finding a parking spot in Queenstown is impossible.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet Studio King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Room was tired, stained carpet, stained luggage area, bathroom was tired and old

    - located in short 5-10 minutes down the hill to the main city centre - room was relatively spacious - free parking, allowed to leave our car in their overflow car park on the day of checkout as we were spending our last day in town

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Chalet Studio King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was too expensive for what it was.. compared with other accommodation it was very poor value for money and I wouldn’t stay there again..

    Comfortable bed, good location and tv

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Chalet View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very small and the kitchen not well equipped. Looking a little tired - the laminate on the kitchen bench was damaged and the chair arms and cushions were dirty.

    Location near downtown shops and lake activities with views over the lake. Helpful and friendly reception staff. Little touches such as providing a small bag for opened but not fully-used personal items. Spacious 2-bedroom apartment.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was terrible, the worst I’ve ever experienced in any kind of accommodation. I could feel the metal springs! The bathroom had a shower curtain and that makes for a very unpleasant experience. Also the noise from other guests’ cases rolling over the driveway continued until very late and started early in the morning.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet Studio King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The road noise was quite loud, particularly at peak hour. No worries at night time. The rooms had a great window and door but in the middle of summer it was quite hot, with only a small fan! We propped open the front door to let the air flow through.

    We stayed in Queenstown for 4 nights and really enjoyed call Heartland Hotel home. The stayed at the front of the property in an adorable A frame! Fantastic Sunset views from inside the room and even better out on the balcony. Onsite car parking wasn't a problem. The staff were awesome helping us book our tours and such. Easy walk down the hill to the centre on town. No worries on the way back up after a few drinks ;) Would recommend!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most, if not all of the rooms are facing the street, which is the main street of Queenstown and has traffic all night. The hotel is located at a hill, which means all vehicles have to speed up to get to the top. Therefore it is very noisy. Furthermore the Wifi in our room didn't work at all.

    The room was spacious and had enough space to store 2 big suitcases

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price of the room doesn't match the quality of it, bathrooms could do with an upgrade

    Amazing views from our room Clean and tidy room Easy to find Walking distance to shops and restaurants

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet Studio King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fire alarm going off at 6am on first morning. Front window need stay on door side so this could be left open. Otherwise someperson could reach inside and unlock front door.

    My wife loved the large bed. It was only a short down hill walk to town centre.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet Studio King View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The key for the door lock was very difficult to work; it would constantly get jammed

    The room temperture was perfect and the bed, pillows, and linen were extremely comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi didn't work well.

    Great that the room was air-conditioned, a relieve from the summer heat. Room was spacious and clean. Location was absolutely great! Staff service was great. They were extremely helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet Studio King View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I paid extra to book a deluxe room with a lake view and I feel that the pictures made the room look a lot nicer than it actually was. The pictures made the hotel made it look super luxurious when in reality it was probably more of a basic to mid range hotel. The bathroom was old and tired and the lake view was more of a lake glimpse. The room also faced onto a busy road so was noisy. It was very hot when we stayed and like a lot of places in New Zealand it was not airconditioned and didn't have insect screens. This meant we had to leave the door open letting in the breeze but also the bugs. For the same money I probably would have stayed at another hotel or just booked a basic room and saved some cash.

    The location of the Heartland Hotel is excellent! It is right in the centre of town, about 2 mins walk from the main street of Queenstown. The staff were friendly and check in was easy. They also allowed a late check out for us.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Chalet Studio King View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We and other guests had trouble with our keys, just worn out. Suggested to staff they simply replace the barrels in the handle, but was advised it was too expensve! A little frustrating when you have to jiggle your key for a minute before you can enter your room.

    Great location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet Studio King View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was dirty , it was hot summer day and the room does not even have AC ...just a little fan what day in age this hotel is ..?

    For thr money you you pay to stay at this hotel , it not worth it

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing is the toilet was a little outdated and there is not safe box. But it’s not that I didn’t like it. It just wasn’t there.

    I liked that it was central to Queenstown, beds were clean and room was spacious and ours at the second floor had a little view.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pickup spot was literally directly outside front door so was woken by rumbling 4x4/s, vans and buses left idling from 5am both days. Wouldn't recommend room 608.

    Easy check in, close to Jucy cruise bus pickup

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet Studio King View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel staff was great. Good views of Lake Wakatipu out of a lot of the rooms it appeared. It did get very hot in the room going into the afternoons, but cooled off nicely once the sun went down. The Do Not Disturb sign was on the door for our second night there because we didn't really need to have the room cleaned. But the staff hung a bag with fresh towels and other amenities on the door outside for us, which was great. Very easy location for everything. We were in Queenstown for 3 days, did a ton of stuff all over the town, and didn't drive once.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet Studio King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the street lights did come in the window but the curtains blocked it effectively. Road is a bit noisy during the day but quiets down at night. If you are a light sleeper could be annoying.

    Stayed in a great little bungalow with the most perfect view of the lake. Very comfortable and while steep, a quick walk to town.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Chalet View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking tight January in Queenstown is hotter than you think. Could have benefited from an aircon or two Chalets looking a little tired

    Location. Awesome Very helpful staff regarding room service (amenable to changing items ) Good strong shower Amazing view down to the lake Room service meal very good and came quickly Beds comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was run down. Needs a major facelift. The bed was flimsy and there was water damage or mold on walls. The toilets exterior parts (water hose) was old and nasty. I could here the other tenants, in room above me go to the bathroom. Overpriced room.

    Good location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet Studio King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had a beautiful view of the Lake and mountains. The staff was friendly and available at all times. It had a nice sit out in the garden patio.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was old and not very cozy. There was a door between our room and the guest next door and we could hear everything they said and did.

    Good location and friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    when we arrived our original room smelled unbearably like smoke. the staff were very quick and extremely pleasant in moving us to a cleaner room but it still had a damp smell. they moved us back to the original room the next night and the smell of smoke was not as prodominant but still lingered. they were full the next night so we just stayed.

    the staff were outstanding.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's quitely central located but just a bit hilly.

    Free parking is a great advantage. Close to the center. Staff is very helpful. Big and clean rooms.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet Studio King View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No microwave in the room

    I stayed in a chalet room that has wide balcony with very nice view - mountain, lake, and beautiful sunset. Its really refreshing.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Chalet Studio King View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Travelling with work I had requested two rooms be close together but found that they were not when we arrived. Close to Christmas though so busy time of year.

    Comfortable bed, nice lake views.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Chalet View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom and kitchen were very old and in need of refurbishment. As was the carpet. The layout of the chalet had the main bedroom downstairs next to the bathroom - quite separate and unsocial to the rest of the family and the living room. It was a noisy place to stay - there were living quarters near ours that seemed to have a group of younger travellers who were coming and going late at night. The car-parking spaces should be allocated to the space next to the rooms, this would avoid having someone else's car parked right up against your entrance door, and you having to park outside someone else's front door.

    The view from the children's bedroom was nice, not from the main bedroom though.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio Twin View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although quite close to town, it was an uphill walk back to the hotel from the town centre.

    Lots of parking spaces onsite when we stayed. Beds very comfortable and view was nice - room wasn't luxurious but it was quite cosy and bathroom was very clean. Balcony was a tight squeeze but it was still very nice sitting there with cold beers watching the sunset over the town.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Chalet View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The original unit that we were given was very dated with old worn and patchy carpets throughout (we booked a 2 bedroom unit with kitchette facilities and views). When we asked to move we were 'upgraded' to a 2 bed room with no kitchen facilities in their adjacent 4* hotel (a kitchenette would have cost us extra). The new room was comfortable but dark with no views and it too was somewhat unclean. Our deck had no table or chairs and had what looked like builders rubble left uncleaned on the ground. (We later found fold up chairs in the wardrobe of all places?). We also had a housekeeping call at 7.30am which I found strange even for me as an early riser.

    The location was great

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Chalet View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiniest bathroom I’ve ever seen. Barely fits one person inside the bathroom at a time. This place is certainly not a romantic getaway for couples. We came here in mid December and stayed for two nights. Second night was unbearably hot, especially on the second floor! (Not too bad on the first floor). All you have is a fan to move the hot air around. No aircon! Opening the window made only a very slight difference. Could not sleep that night because it was just too hot and uncomfortable. Overall cleanliness is only ok. Curtains are filthy. Try not to touch them if you can. Bathroom cleanliness is ok. Bedroom cleanliness is ok.

    Stayed in room 101. View from first floor was average but view from second floor was amazinggggg!!! (See photo). Quite close to town/food/main pier/skyline gondola. All in walkable distance which is great since parking seems to be quite limited everywhere in Queenstown. Just be prepared to walk up a very steep hill to get back to the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Chalet View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was unclean and not nice. Dirty sheets, dead bugs everywhere, dust everywhere. Mosquitoes from the windows being left open all day by staff.

    Staff were attentive and friendly. Our room was pretty filthy and we were not comfortable to stay in it. When we spoke to the manager he was lovely and offered us another room with the Scenic Hotel Business side as we were just going to go to another hotel that night. All staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We spent our first two nights in New Zealand here. It was one of the more expensive accommodations of our whole trip. Therefore, we had a slightly higher expectation. The room facilities were a bit old and not as clean as we could have wished. The room was right next to the main road where the traffic was quite noisy especially in the morning.

    Walkable distance to the town centre. Our room was equipped with a partial view of Queenstown centre through the small balcony. Lights of the skyline could be seen which was quite nice at night. The working holiday girl at the reception was very nice and helpful who gave us good advice on restaurants and places to visit.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows. Garden hiding lake view needing a trim. Clothesline over bath didn’t work. No in room safe.

    Close to town. Restaurant if needed. Wi-fi reliable and free. Always very clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: