Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Scenic Hotel Auckland 4 stars

380 Queen Street, 1010 Auckland, New Zealand

Review score

Based on 557 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Easy quick check-in. Bed was super comfortable! Especially like that the room has a full kitchen, great facilities! Easy stroll down to Queen St to shopping, bars, restaurants. Elliot St Stables is a fantastic 'upmarket food court' with many restaurants to choose from.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattresses were horrible-sunken in so badly!! Friday and Saturday nights were noisy from the Queen Street. Since the windows were so old offering not much of sound proof that we could hear every noise down there.

    Other than the night manager who checked us in, all the staff were helpful and pleasant. The location is the best!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    TV was terrible - poor reception and poor choice of channels. I couldn't get on the free Wi-Fi on my phone, maybe only one device allowed, or just poor Wi-Fi access. Shower was too low

    Great location especially as we were going to an event at the Aotea Centre across the road. Room was quiet as we had the room at the end of the hallway.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from traffic - would benefit from double glazing.

    Prime location within 15 minutes walk of ferry terminal. Next door to skybus stop for arrival and departure to airport.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Manager was able to provide us an early checkin which was so appreciated after a very long flight and an early arrival. Amartya Sen went above and beyond to help. All staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Very nearby to the city centre, there is no need to go for mall anymore. What you see in the picture, is what you get! Totally loving the room we booked!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The heating wasn't working and and it appears as it may have not been centrally turned on. The controller on the wall was showing that heating was on, but turning the temperature up had no effect. I was staying at the hotel during a cold snap in early autumn. I felt uncomfortably cold in my room. Also the windows did not close 100%, so there was additional draft and noise.

    Spacious room - I was upgraded. The locations allows finding shopping, dining and entertainment in walking distance. Airport transport at front door available. The bed was super comfy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location for ease of travelling and seeing Auckland with good restaurants close by. Great rooms and good service. Hotel restaurant provides good food and drink at competitive prices.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Extremely warm and friendly welcome and upgrade to better room at no additional cost. Clean, comfortable and convenient motel that exceeded our expectations. Well placed for restaurants.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was amazing to me that, for what we paid for we were stuck in a room next to construction. The workers would be out there at 7am using profanity and yelling at each other. Our blinds had to be pulled the whole time. We didn't like this at all and it made our stay pretty poor.

    It was a bed to sleep in at this point.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    March 2018 external refurbishment creating early morning noise from 7.30am

    Great location especially for skybus from and to the airport. 15 minutes walk gets you to the waterfront. Good coffee shops and take away food options close to hotel. Happy Hour is very good value!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Shower area: water keeps splashing out and wetting the floor, poor design of shower screen

    Bed was comfortable with enough pillows. Air-conditioning was good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was comfortable. The breakfast food choices was great. And the staff were exceptionally polite and hospitable - thank you! Also having valet parking for a city hotel adds to the stress-free stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was arranged strangely- couldn’t see the tv from the bed. Our window faced other windows of the hotel and there was construction happening so not very quiet.

    It’s in a good location to walk and explore the city. We liked that part. The staff were friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double bed did not have enough space around it for easy access.

    Location was ideal for the airport bus though very noisey. I would have preferred a room at the back of the hotel off the main road.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If road noise bothers you, request a room on the upper floors. Our first stay was on the 3rd level and on the weekend, so we heard the revelers in the wee hours of the morning.

    Everyone on staff was so friendly and helpful. The hotel is located right by the SkyBus main stop downtown, so that was convenient for getting to and from the airport. A walk straight down Queen Street takes you by shops and groceries and on down to the ferry landing and some nice restaurants. We enjoyed two dinners at the hotel's restaurant, and the food and drinks were good and staff seemed genuinely interested in our trip. The rooms we had (we stayed here twice) were comfortable, with kitchenettes.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar closed early after lunch and dinner

    Tea and coffee making Comfortable bed good quality sheets and pillows Reasonably comfortable sitting area

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Typical terrible NZ service. I rang the day before and asked if they accepted VISA debit cards and if they took a bond. I was told no. Got to the desk and they required a $300 cash bond ON TOP OF the 1026$ charged. Very rude service. Original room dirty so 'upgraded' to a mucky 'penthouse' with grubby box shower and dirty carpets. I ended up using my work card and the woman at desk said 'oh if you told us you worked at the University, we would've waived the bond' - so snobbery too. Pathetic. But unfortunately typical of NZ. I've stayed at Cordis before - much better.

    Great location. Centre of town. Close to AUT and the SkyBus. Coffee in foyer cafe was good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Considering the cost of other hotels for that night, must have been a lot on in the city, this hotel proved to be good value for money. It's not flash, but its clean, well located and the staff were helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very tired paint peeling, damaged furniture well beyond the need for a refurbishment . There is also a lot of building work going on next door which started at 7.00am see photo for the view from our room. Room wasn’t ready until two hours passed check in time not ideal after a 23-hour flight. Excuses were they were short staffed then changed to some rooms were under maintenance then because it’s a third party booking. We sat in the lobby and watched three other couples check in and go straight to their room the next day revealed the true reason the hotel lobby was packed with suitcases ready to go to the cruise ship. Would recommend a different choice especially for independent travellers as this hotel is clearly focused on the larger bulk bookings.

    Location was good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay for parking.

    This was our first few nights in New Zealand, and was a good introduction to hotels kiwi style. No coffee maker, but electric kettle and coffee bags; fridge; seating beyond the bed; comfortable accommodation for three with some privacy. Good cafe downstairs. Excellent location. Locally owned and run.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property is looking a bit tired but well and truly made up by the service and attitude of all the staff. I understand that there are plans to refurbish soon when done this will be a first class hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative was the carpet and furniture looked a bit old and dingy. Once the hotel upgrades these items it will be excellent. It’s very good now and I would stay there again.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a very convenient location right across the street from a Skybus stop and right in the CBD. The bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Refurbishment arrangements should be factored into the pricing .Had to pay more money to get a suitable room.communications were not good as original booked room had a 100 tonne crane sitting outside the window .not happy .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel exterior was dirty and buggy, as was the reception area. One would not have wanted to rest elbows on the greasy reception shelf. I did tell the receptionist that the allocated room was also 'buggy' but on reflection (spending the night in the room) this was a disservice - the room was actually quite clean. The huge digger and works right outside the window was an immediate turn off.

    The front office gentleman was really good. He knew that I was not happy but maintained a very professional and good demeanour even when he knew we cancelled out of future bookings via booking.comT

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel room was comfortable, and clean probably above average. room was a good size. the staff were AMAZING!! so helpful and accommodating really top level customer service. this hotel provided above and beyond standard customer service, I was very impressed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisey room large loud vent of some kind outside the window plus construction going on right next door ...the whole place was a bit tired and dated bath room doors don't shut fully ..

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have mentioned before that the room needs reconfiguring. There is a TV and 2 lounge chairs in the room. However, the position of the TV means you cannot watch from these chairs or even the bed, you have to stand and watch with your back to the kitchen area. Pointless.

    This is our regular place when visiting Auckland so I have reviewed a few times. Love the location and Sky Bus right outside is always a huge plus for us.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could have been friendlier, more helpful during check in they extended our check out time one hour, which helped. We traveled with elderly mother- no children

    Nice room- central location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No issues.

    Right at the Sky Bus stop! Friendly staff, Offered late checkout which was very nice. Great cafe on site. Close to all downtown attractions. Great facilities.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a slightly unpleasant smell in the lobby. They missed cleaning our room one day - we had had a Do Not Clean sign on the door earlier in the day.

    The front desk staff were very helpful and friendly. The prices were good as we were a few blocks from the most interesting part of town, though convenient to the Art Gallery. A frequently running red bus gets you downtown for a dollar.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a huge fan of NZ's hotel tourist tax on bank cards. Expect 1.5-2% for no apparent reason. If you can buy a chocolate bar in a shop for no charge using your bank card no real reason for hotels to charge for this.

    Large room spacious rooms and friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really there was nothing to complain about.

    The location was good for us, the hotel was quite, we arrived early in the morning and the staff made it possible for us to have the room a earlier which was fantastic after a long flight.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The single bed was saggy and placed under window which was noisy. Partner had the queen bed and was happy with that. The decor is tired with chips off coffee table. The fabric on furnishings looks dirty and old. Such a shame...it was a great hotel.

    The location is great

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As stated above the price was a little steep for a room that would have otherwise been unoccupied

    Thought the room was a little overpriced considering it was a last minute booking made past the hour of midnight - however they did 'upgrade' us on arrival (discount would have been better!)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    sound proof of the hotel windows is very bad, I had very little sleep or nearly no sleep because of the noise of cars and people in the Queens Street throughout the whole night. Horrible night! The staff who helped to check out my room sounds rude to me, before she called for my taxi booking, she wanted to help another guest who came after me to check out his room. Both the noise and staff are the main points that I will not consider this hotel in the future.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quiet rooms as far as not hearing room noises from hotel rooms eg their showers, converstaions etc, only invasive noise was from the windows being open and hearing the Queen St people noise. Great shower pressure!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionists arent very friendly nor welcoming. Not a single smile was given during check in just a straight face. Felt as if they were annoyed at arriving guests. They will charge your credit card $1 on arrival and on departure the full acccommodation fee and an additional credit card surcharge which is outrageous when the total amount is clearly disclosed on booking.com website. I paid $30 for parking overnight which is alittle expensive and be worn valet parking will take a while. Wifi is free and unlimited but isnt an easy to access.. the normal login and enter password isnt the case. I had to dial for assistance twice and wait about 20mins for assistance and was advised to go into abc.com and carry on with instructions which was really frustrating. If you dont have a phone... how do you get assistance as no phones are provided in rooms. Overall moderate quality and cleaniless, rude staff but location was great. Wont be going back by choice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was comfy and so were the pillows (Such a great sleep). All staff from front of house to restaurant were easy to deal with. Overall experience was fantastic. Thank you

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Myself & my friend found the room we stayed in very overpriced The space we had available to move around the bed to get into the toilet was ridiculous also view from bedroom window as you can see is very bad

    Did not like room at all....

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom was a little small but this is frequently the case in mid range city hotels.

    Hotel is very conveniently located with the Sky bus stop about 30 meters from the front door. Waterfront is within walking distance. Many restaurants nearby. The bed was particularly comfortable with heavy curtains to keep out the light. Our room was toward the back of the hotel and was quiet.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was in room 406 and it got noise from rowdy saturday crowd on the street. Ask for a quiet room at the back of the hotel.

    So convenient to the airport bus stop (right outside the hotel) and walking distance to the heart of town. I have stayed in this hotel several times and they have made improvements in the furnishings all the time. Good brand toiletries. Staff very helpful andvthere is a goodvrestaurant on site

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good for me, my brother’s toast in room service breakfast was undercooked and cold.

    Comfy bed, plenty of space for 2 in the suite, great location, friendly staff who readily assisted us in moving to a room not fronting the main road.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from the room is limited. Some construction nearby but I couldn’t hear it from my room on the top floor.

    The bed was so comfortable - best hotel bed ever! Kitchenette and small living area in queen room was a bonus. Very friendly staff - more than happy to help.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pretty pricey....

    Air conditioned room always good in Auckland. Bed was really comfy. Great central location right beside SkyBus to/from airport. Good kitchenette and couch for TV viewing (a lot of hotels don't have a couch). Staff were fantastic!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1) The carpet in the room are old and look dirty and no slipper provided in the room. I had to ask and got only instead of 3. 2) The elevator are old. 3) The extra charge of 1.5%. In NZ, you can use credit card everywhere even in the small grocery store and convenient. But in the hotel, you have to pay the extra charge. It's not fair.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    So expensive and the hotel is very dated. If you're going to charge that amount of money for what I'm sure is an entry level room you could at least tidy a few things up. It was noisy and not worth it for the location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1-No desk in the room. 2-They don't lend guests a plug converter, they sell it for 20$. 3-They charge you extra 1.5% if you pay with credit/master/visa/debit card from outside the New Zealand. Well, on this account actually they charge almost everyone. 4- Elevetaro smells, the buttons in the elevator are covered with dark germ! Very disgusting. Nothing like a 4 start hotel, it is not worth of money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not enough TV channels A bit worn, could do with a refurb Lifts were extremely loud and woke me up at 5.30am

    Bed is very comfy and in the room I was in had no windows in the bedroom so it was very dark which I like

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture (particularly sofa and bed) needed freshening up.

    Location was central. Easy access to eating and cultural features of Auckland. Staff were friendly and knowledgeable. Great views of Aotea square.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On this stay all the mini bar items had been removed from the room. Would have been nice to have them when coming in from a concert in the evening. The bar and restaurant were closed.

    Location is great

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower was very small and took a long time for hot water to flow. Last morning of our stay no hot water for a very long time.

    Close to the city centre and very comfortable. The room was well appointed with a small kitchenette area and a good size room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room was tatty and had things that needed to be fixed. The shower had little pressure and the water was only just warm enough to have a shower. This hotel is overpriced for the age of it and quite noisey as the window latches don't close tightly.

    The staff however were willing to change us to a slightly better room although the bed was only a queen and not a king. They were very apologetic on our departure.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to pay extra for a drink with the paid cooked breakfast. The cost of a cup of tea is over the top especially when you have to get it yourself. We have travelled extensively over the world and never had to pay extra for juice, tea or coffee with a paid breakfast. When will the scaffold come down?

    The reception staff were excellent. Very friendly and provided travel information when asked.. The room was great and a good nights sleep.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lights flickering on the ceiling right above our bed. So annoying. Cable t.v. stations are limited. Nothing interesting to watch.

    Accessible to all places of interest 😀👍

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds could be more comfortable (mattresses are a bit too soft, feels like you're lying on springs).

    The Scenic Hotel in Auckland is a very reasonable place to stay if you want a nice hotel room right downtown for the best price you're going to get. We have now stayed there twice and were not disappointed. The bedrooms and bathrooms are clean and well equipped. The beds are not the most comfortable but they're definitely above average. Parking at the property is expensive if you have a car, but we were there on a Sunday when we could easily find cheap/free street parking so it wasn't an issue. It's not luxury living or as special/interesting as the cute B&Bs where we stayed during the rest of our trip in Northland, but for downtown Auckland it's a great deal.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk staff were very friendly and welcoming. Excellent location- right next door to Sky Bus lounge so I only had to carry all my luggage a few steps. Lovely clean room with everything I needed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite a distance to the shopping stores such as Cotton On, though it's on the same street. The breakfast wasn't good, as only bread, cakes etc was served, no other varieties. Housekeeping needs some improvements as bathe towels are not changed daily, depending on the housekeeper. Additionally,on one occasion,my small pink pillow was thrown to a corner.

    The hotel is close to eateries, eg.there's a fried chicken store next to the hotel, which is very convenient for those who wants a quick bite. Secondly, the airport bus stop is located outside the hotel. Very convenient for those who wants to take a bus to the airport.The hotel staffs were polite and attentive to queries.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very handy to the Civic Theatre and the SkyBus stop, both of which I needed. Very friendly reception staff. I was able to check in a little early which was great. Great speed on unlimited free wifi. Very comfortable bed. Good kitchen. easy walking to downtown Auckland.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is wonderful, staff go above and beyond for you, e.g. I needed something printed at 7:10am. I emailed it through from my room and it was put under my door within 3 minutes. Amazing service!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that if I didn't pay with a credit card the bond was $300 dollars,this was reduced to $200 when I objected.If I paid with a credit card there was a 1.5% surcharge.When I came to check out I was requested to wait while they checked to see iof there was any damage to the room.I was told this was all policy so I guess the staff are being put in a difficult position.I have justcome back from touring the States ,Uk and Ireland and have never encountered this out side my own country.I have traveled extensively in my own country prior to retiring and never found this policy elsewhere. I will not be staying at your establishment again and will be telling others of my experience with you.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My toilet flushed randomly through the night. I tried to ring reception from the room phone at 6am and it just rang and rang until it eventually cut out. Twice tried breakfast and the eggs are overcooked, despite asking for runny, the mushrooms and spinach old

    The bed is extra comfortable. The rooms are clean and have all facilities you would need. The shower has good water pressure.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room layout not great, no room around the bed, air conditioning blows directly on bed and only affects the bed alcove, not rest of unit.

    Great location and friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The A/C was a little noisy and it would be nice to get a few instructions to its use and adjustment pointed out.

    The spacious and interesting layout of the room/suite was excellent. It gave semi screened spaces to allow occupants to do different things. But there were many little things provided that have the feeling the hotel was a generous welcoming host, ege. the extra chocolate drink, the bag coffee, but most warmly, the little "eco bag" and a note to encourage the guest to take home and enjoy several extra samples of NZ-made eco-friendly bath and body products

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On street bedroom and no double glazing so traffic noise early and late.

    Hotel is perfect for travel to and from the airport as the Skyline airport bus depot is just up the street. The shopping and centre of Auckland is also just a short walk away.Staff were helpful and courteous. Bed was comfortable. Late booking and check in are a plus as we had a delayed flight and booked last minute.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived 1030 after requesting an early check in. Was told my room would be ready 2 pm and would be in the 8 th floor. If I wanted a room now it would be on the 2 nd floor. Of course i said now and got room 120 which looked on to concrete wall with a huge pylon. Once in my room a generator started up and drone really loud all day and night. Was disappointed as I'd paid $330 for one night. I had booked at least a month earlier. I was too tired to complain as I flew out next morning.

    Comfy bed. Room service great. Restaurant food great. Staff nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was uncomfortable due to a lose topper pad on mattress

    Central location, friendly staff who went out of their way to assist and easy parking of car

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reported the TV was not working correctly on the first morning but 5 days later when we left it was still the same. Bin was not emptied everyday.

    Towels and bed very clean. Workable kitchen using microwave. Everything we quite comfortable. Shower had fabulous pressure.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Peeling paint on some of the walls and room a bit dated. Room cold which didn't bother us.

    Staff super friendly and welcoming. Hotel situated right across from Q Theatre and close to most amenities on Queen St. Skybus stops right outside this hotel from airport which is super handy. Fantastic views from room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Toiletries and sometimes towels are not replaced. We had to call front desk everyday for what is missing in the room.

    Location - close to many shops and restaurants. Skybus transportation to and from the airport stops right in front of the hotel. Easy walk to attractions like Sky Tower. Friendly and courteous staff. Free and fast wifi. Daily housekeeping. Full kitchen in room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    Clean room, Really comfortable bed. Staff allowed us to check in early as the room was available in the morning of our arrival to Scenic Hotel in Auckland. It helped our day, super convenient. Sky bus express stop (to airport) is at right in front of the hotel. Staff are friendly and very efficient in customer care.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park situation If you don't know area canbe rather confusing Didn't want valet service but now I can see why it would be needed

    The bed was really soft and comfy Had awesome sleep

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was very accommodating and friendly. After a bad experience with air travel that resulted in me arriving a day late, the hotel made things a little better by upgrading me to a much nicer room at no extra charge and allowing me to check out a bit later than normal while I waited for my luggage to be delivered.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The service is bad. We felt like they we're always hesitant to help us. When we asked for a luggage assistance, the FO or concierge didn't even bother to get a trolley to help us (we informed them that we have a lot of luggage).

    The location of the property was amazing!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was extremely small and the toilet roll holder was towards the back of the toilet and very hard to reach. I know this was a busy weekend but we were charged double price for this very small room.

    The room was comfortable but quiet small

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Scenic Hotel Auckland traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: