Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier 4 stars

36 Main Road, 7856 Franz Josef, New Zealand

#23 of 30 hotels in Franz Josef

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 470 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only fault I could find was being on the ground floor meant a little bit of noise coming in from outside and above me, but that's hard to eliminate unless you book out the whole hotel.

    The room was fantastic. Loved the attention to detail (big ups to the housekeeping staff). Brilliant Continental Breakfast Buffet - superbly laid out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom very small

    Beautiful reception area, very clean and comfortable room. Bath products were gorgeous to use, nicest I have ever come across in a hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The old wing rooms need serious renovation. The bathroom shower is horrible. You cant shower with that kind of a faucet. The water splashes everywhere except for the place it is suppose to. The bathroom gets completely wet because there is no proper partition and also the slope in the flooring is not proper. So the water comes out of the shower area and wets the whole bathroom. Also the staff is okay. The duty manager sunil doesn’t know what he is doing. We had 3 rooms at the hotel and we had clearly informed the reception that we shall come and settle the bills. But he went on to charge our card without our acknowledgment and also he charged for all rooms on 1 card without permission. When everyone has given their cards for each room then with whose permission he charged on 1 card. And when on going to reception we tell him he is like i have done it and on questioning him why he did it. He goes on to say you indians take too long to checkout and stuff. He being an indian goes on to say all this. We had checked out at 8 in morning and we had gone for activiity and so had informed them that we shall settle the bill once we are back. Anyways coming to the point. He goes on to charge the card for all rooms and then he himself doesnt know which care has he charged. When we enquired that which card number have u charged he tells us some other number which is not ours and so we were like that doesnt belong to us and so please cancel it and he is like let it be. You enjoy ur vacation let the card ownwer be charged for u. And when we told him no he still dint let us and so we went on to find that the card belonged to one of our group member and then when we went to reception again he changes his words and is like i told u i have charged u on your card and also have charged others on your card. So he basically doenst know his job and also doesnt know what he is doing. He intially says something else and then changes his mind.

    Hotel location is good. But old room wing needs serious renovation. Horrible bathroom

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room - King & Single
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive for a cheap old hotel not worth it

    Walking distance to everything situated right in the middle, washing machine and dryer available on site

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor shower pressure-if good pressure selected water went all over the bathroom . You could only contain water in the shower ( which was over the tub) if you had very little water pressure. Shower curtain dirty. Noisy very early in morning.

    Location, comfy bed, good size room, good toiletries, good resteraunt

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Upon arrival we were given a warm welcome. We actually were upgraded to their sister property, Te Wainui next door, but based in our wonderful experience there I can only assume the Scenuc Hotel has the same quality of service and accommodations. Everything was so comfortable, the location perfect, the staff excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room - Queen & Single
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very basic and it cost $450 per night, no breakfast included. No pool. The spa was old and small. Loud music until 3am from the local venues.

    Location and view were excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tha staff at the reception was rude/ ignoring the complain or any requirement. The phone in my room was not working. I realised this in the late night and had to make an international call to the reception to speak to someone, who was not concerned at all with it.

    Only Location but others can be the same as its a small town. Exception to this was a lady named ‘Bella’ at the restaurant. She was very nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was quite hot in the afternoon. Maybe they can solve this problem.

    The reception was very helpful. My son left a coat in the wardrobe and he did not realise it until an hour after we had left. We called the hotel and they kindly arranged to have it delivered to our next destination. The staff in the restaurant were also very nice!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved the fireplace in the lobby. Roasting marshmallows was a bonus for the kids. The restaurant was delicious. It was walking distance to many places.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A biscuit or two supplied with our tea/coffee. We've had this in hotels of this standard elsewhere.

    The beds were so comfortable, plenty of linen and bathroom products good quality.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Twin Room - Queen & Single
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checkin staff wasn't very helpful: our room was in a separate building, and we told them we had large suitcases and ask if our rooms are on higher floors, he mentioned there will be staff at the separate building to help us. When we arrived, we found that there was no one helping us, and there was no escalator either. We had to carry our suitcases to the 2nd floor ourselves. Also there is no gym in the hotel. A bit overpriced in my opinion. Probably due to limited competition in Franz Josef.

    Convenient location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room - Queen & Single
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not serviced. Went to reception to complain and was told someone would be straight round. Had to go back 1.5 hours later as nobody had been. Not the cheapest hotel, so expect better service.

    Fantastic view from room. Great location, close to activities, bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The arrival at the reception was very unfriendly. I had to spell my name 3 times and he complained about my booking, which was straight forward for 2 adults and 2 children, we were given a room across a very noisy bar.

    Nichts

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price is too high even for such a good quality. Except for this, no disadvantages, truly good hotel.

    Excellent room, nice staff, great breakfast (mind that there are 2 price options, with or without hot food). Exceptional view from our room, one of the best I've seen ever. Great location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very expensive hotel. Would have liked to stay more than one night but price was prohibitive.

    Great location. Difficult to find parking place. Friendly and professional staff at reception and in restaurant. Dinner in the restaurant was very good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is a bit small compared to the rest of the lodgings I booked for this trip. The front desk staff could have been more warm, helpful, and cheerful instead of being very impersonal. They should all learn to smile more! We were in Franz Josef on very warm days. The room had heating facilities but no air conditioning. We had to open the windows to make the room temperature more comfortable given the thick sheets. This however brought in the noise from outside which included the booming noise from 2 big bikes (apparently owned by guests).

    The beds are comfortable and clean. It is in the heart of Franz Josef (although almost all other lodgings in the area are equally accessible), thus a short walk to everywhere a tourist would want to go while in Franz Josef.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room - Queen & Single
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fruits out of canes Scrambled eggs wasn't fresh eggs Intercontinental should get an update

    The waiter at the restaurant/ breakfast and the staff at the reception was amazing friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room - Queen & Single
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows were too soft. The shower kept going hot and cold. We had a couple of bugs on us (almost like a flea that didn't jump) in the morning, not sure of their origin, but had not experienced them elsewhere.

    The little bag supplied to take away any toiletries you might like.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can not believe the price we paid for the room we received. The room and bathroom were quite ‘old’ and ‘dated’. The towel I had was stained, pubic hairs on the shower floor, room was across the street from a pub/restaurant and was quite noisy - no double glazing on windows? Had to wait a long time to check in as only one person on desk; colleagues kept walking by and then finally a man jumped in to help as lineups were happening. We stayed at other hotels for much less and had better service and better rooms. If you have an option, book elsewhere!and save your money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room - Queen & Single
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very difficult to contact. I wanted to check that we could book a table for dinner on Christmas Eve. Phoned a few times, and was asked to send an email which was not responded to. Finally, on arrival we found that we did not have to reserve a table at all in spite of advice on the website. Pleasant staff but not professionally managed.

    View from the room. Close to centre of town. Crackers at Christmas Day breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds n pillows not good enough for a luxury property. The degustation dinner was definitely not up to standard and while offered the dietary requirements were not catered for well. A rip off

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bus tours took over the dinning room with no respect for those not in their tour party. eg bus tour team meeting & next day itinerary held in the dinning room.

    Manager & staff all very friendly & helpful. Food was very good & with quite large portions.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were a little disappointed with the restaurant. It was not well ventilated and the menu selection was limited

    Location and cleanliness were excellent, very comfortable beds.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Siren at 3.00 am in the morning! Goes off when the voluntary fire brigade are needed.

    Large and very well planned room. Great location for bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room - King & Single
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived 21.30 Fri and could not get a carpark in either of the main hotel carparks. Significant damage to wall lining under suitcase rack.

    Bed and bathroom were excellent save for at price paid (we had stayed at three other facilities in the past week) one should not have to hear gurgling in the drainpipes. Hand basin has a trap so presume must have come from shower. What do you call and what brand was what appeared to be wool filled mattress protector? This is an excellent addition and I would like one for our bed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately , it was quite noisy from other guests. I also found the meal I had in the restaurant to be disappointed. Requesting from a limited options of Vegetarian offerings and the food was not very satisfying.

    I loved the feel for the Hotel. It was very stylishly decorated .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Advertisement on booking.com was misleading. Way overpriced room. Location was not near the glacier. Bathroom was really bad - plastic temporary shower set up. Very noisy. Overlooked the driveway and noisy people coming and going. No undercover parking. Staff screwed up the bill and charged us twice for the room.

    Nothing about this place was up to the price for the room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaner opened the door prior to checkout time without knocking also the room was a bit small for 2 adults and 1 child. The glasses were dirty.

    The bed was the comfiest bed we have ever slept on great 👍 and excellent location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were strains of noodle in the electric kettle, and the filter-mesh is slightly clogged with algae-like residues, not very pleasant...

    Staffs were very friendly, approachable and professional

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was average. two singles to make up a double and it was hard to get a decent nights sleep on it.

    The view from the room was outstanding, and the room itself was very good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    being overcharged / miscalculation for % on credit card when paying account. Reception miscalculated at 50% (rather than 1.75%) and then did not seem to understand this was not correct. I opted to NOT pay by credit card. Could have been genuine mistake but I was left with bad feeling about this.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on our honeymoon which we mentioned at the time of booking. The hotel never even mentioned this or acknowledged it. Also the hotel room, in particular the bathroom was very dirty. We informed reception staff and asked them to clean the room again, but it remained in the same state. Hairs on the bathroom floor, hairs in the shower, dirty bathroom floor and inches of dust on the extractor fan. Luckily we were only there for one night.

    Good location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My Visa card which is supposed to work both as eftpos and credit did not work as credit card so I had to use my credit card for the payment. The aforementioned card worked just fine with all my other trip and hotel bookings.

    Food was excellent and the staff was helpful. They also helped with my special food request.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have appreciated a lift as lugging suitcases up stairs was a drag.

    The warmth and efficiency of the staff when we arrived which was so appreciated after a very tiring drive. Was grateful the restaurant was still open which we enjoyed before retiring. Food was very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive for what it was. Shower head fell of holder when turned off. Shower went freezing then burning hot very dangerous. Heater was old and noisey. Fridge was noisey. People corridor were noisey and was heard loud and clear in room. Seen a staff member throwing customers luggage into corrider when taking it out to the customers car.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the shower head provides little more than a mist when showering, Not fun after a day climbing a glacier.

    Location, parking and a comfortable bed were all positives.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower would have been great except was really let down by the constantly changing water temperature. Not just slightly changing, but shifting wildly between really hot to cold. Bed was a bit worn and unsupportive.

    food from room service was great. Yummy Souffle

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room - King & Single
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was not quite what we expected and the bedroom was colder than we would have liked

    Layout of hotel was good very accessible. The lounge area near reception was particularly nice. Staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Conveniently situated on the main road, with stunning views, good local facilities and a perfect base for tours and walks. The hotel is a decent 3* and you might describe the older part as "motel-style". The room was not over-generous, but adequate and the bed comfortable. Check-in and out was a breeze and the staff were friendly. A perfectly decent stay.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room - King & Single
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillow top bed was too soft and lumpy for my liking.

    Beautiful view of Franz Josef Glacier from the room and dining areas. The rooms were very nicely furnished and modern. The hotel design was lovely with the stone and wood build. Great location short walk to main attractions and food.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room - Queen & Single
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is an Irish bar across the road that can be unbelievably noisy. It didn't bothe us too much because we were so tired from activities but a light sleeper would maybe suffer. We were also the room closet to the pub so maybe a room on the other side of the motel would not suffer from this.

    Views and location were spot on, we could see snow on the mountains from our room in summer.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff were not helpful and rude when describing where to go to rooms. Rooms not good value for money, basically in a dormitory and exterior poor, outside areas need work,not represented in photos as expected.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room - Queen & Single
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower was dreadful.

    Clean, simple, modern motel room for a short stay in Franz. Close to everything though it is a very small place so most things are. Guest laundry available (at a cost) which was really helpful for us at this stage of our journey. View of snow capped mountains out the window was very nice.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Frontsesk reception was awful and too noisy place because of hell number of helicopters messing around all day long! Prices are skyrocketing: over €500 for 2 nights is fully unrealistic!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    By far the most expensive accommodation we stayed in in New Zealand. We loved it but did feel the price was higher than warranted, and that they were capitalising on their location.

    Very comfortable beds. Loved the lounge and fireplace area adjoining the bar - a great place to relax and chat at the end of the day. It had a great atmosphere that was well suited to the surrounding area. Also very close to restaurants etc so very conveniently situated.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely overpriced for what I can only describe as a holiday park, facilities and rooms were not up to the standard of what they claim it to be and the price was ridiculous.

    Not much

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid $340 a night (because of the photos on the site we thought we were getting a luxury room) for a room which was at best worth $200. The shower was tiny and the heat lamps and fan didn't work. We were then moved to another room which had bugs on the ceiling and stunk of mould (keep in mind we were paying $340 a night). We were then moved to another room which SHOULD have been where we were to begin with for the price we were paying. Also, upon check out the lady at reception took our key and money and didn't even ask "how was your stay". Again, $340 a night people!! If you choose to ignore our review please do not pay more than $200 a night unless it's one of the rooms facing the main road. You have been warned.

    We liked one of the staff members, Suresh. He was friendly and very attentive to our queries. Thank you Suresh for making us feel welcome.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price, you expect impeccable staff. Unfortunately, this was not the case. They were largely unprofessional and unaccomodating. The bathrooms were also dirty and unmaintained. It appeared as though breakfast was included when booking, but when going into the dining room, we were told it was not included. For the price, we were far better off going to Fox Glacier - far fewer people and better food. The location is a complete tourist trap - designed solely to take your money. By far the worst place we stopped during our visit to New Zealand.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room - Queen & Single
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel looks much better on the photos than in real life. The decoration is nice, but the building itself is old and our room had a low ceiling. It felt like a refurbished college dorm. The room smelled like stinky boots. Way too expensive for what you get.

    The bed was comfortable and the room spacious. Just outside our room there was a cool restaurant called Monsoon and in the hotel next door I had a beautiful massage.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value for money was terrible. We stayed with scenic suites in queenstown in a 1 bedroom apartment of a much better quality with a lake view which was cheaper than our basic room here. Bed was very uncomfortable.

    Location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was in a different building in the back that seemed like a time capsule from another decade. Musty hallway carpet, creaky floors, no soundproofing (noise & voices from the hallway and the courtyard both easily entered the room), old style bathroom with minor facelift, lumpy mattresses, small refrigerator that rattled, etc. Anywhere else in New Zealand a room of this standard would have easily been 1/3 the price. During checkout we were not even asked if we had a good stay. Note: this is the one and only place during our wonderful multi-week trip to New Zealand where we have provided a negative review and a score lower than a 9-point-something on Booking.com. Sorry Scenic, but you really disappointed us. To fellow travelers reading this review, the Scenic might well have some modern rooms and some older rooms - suggest you do your homework because we were fooled by their nice photos and feel ripped off considering how much the room cost.

    Gorgeous lobby and nice location in town.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Confusing rate structure. Front desk staff told me that "additional nights are more expensive when booked at the front desk because online booking services pay us extra commissions." Also, there is no elevator.

    The room was very clean and quiet. Room has been renovated with attractive modern decor. Restaurants and activities were nearby.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room - Queen & Single
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise insulation. The main hotel block is 70m from a disco pub by direct line of sight. Music started at 5pm, cranked up at 9pm and ran to 2am without a break. Both nights. The hotel took no action even though this is not permitted in the town. Also, very expensive for NO breakfast included. We won't be staying here again.

    Clean and comfortable bedroom. Near to main shop/restaurant strip.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was not very helpful. Nobody at the reception when we arrived and took a while to get somebody. We required an extra room but staff could not give me the estimated price in dollars or euros, only in NZD. They said they did not know the exchange rate.

    Good bed

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room - Queen & Single
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower was terrible. Could not get constant temperature. Would go from good to freezing cold to scalding hot so often you would have to step out of the flow of water and wait for it to cool/heat. Not cool after spending a day on the ice.

    Good location. Very close to everything. room was nice and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It felt half outdated and half modern... tiles were off white green color.

    Showers were super spacious and the bed was the best in New Zealand!!! Reception were super friendly and kind!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had not been prepared properly, the fridge was dirty, the room was small, bathroom was small, and we paid top dollar. There is limited parking so you have to be lucky to get a parking space near the room or on site. This was our worst stay in New Zealand overall.

    The bed was comfortable

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The watersaving showerhead was horrible. This needs sorted before i would stay again.

    Everything necessary was provided and in working order. They also provided a cot for our 6 month old.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incredibly overpriced. The room was comparable to many rooms we've stayed in that were literally a quarter the price. Small room with old worn out carpet, low to mid level furnishings, smelly moldy shower curtain, tub/shower controls that didn't function properly, cheap low flow shower head with no adjustment, no elevator and noisy roadside room with loud traffic and people. 'Scenic' view was of a busy road intersection.

    Comfortable beds

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price paid, $350/night, it was terrible. The rooms weren't very clean, the heater didn't work and when we confronted the desk clerk, he seemed condescending. It was just a plain little room with no niceties. We went all over the south island and this was by far the most expensive motel/hotel/b&b and the least favorable.

    The location was good because it was close to the local restaurants and a short drive to glacier.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food options. But plenty options near by. King tiger is good for indian. And landing is great for burgers and nachos.

    Locations is perfect. Everything is walking distance. Car was parked just outside the room.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were not particularly comfortable to sleep on, we were not able to get a good rest.

    The manager on duty (Umesh) was extremely friendly and helpful, and made our experience unforgettable!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor bed non returnal of bond long wait for meal cold when it came one side dish did not come with main meal overcharging of meal price charged higher than listed on menue general poor service

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very worn and tired, uncomfortable bed,cobwebs everywhere in our two rooms. Very expensive for what you get.

    Staff friendly,and where able to release us from our second night booking after realising that we could not spend another night here.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only downside was the shower screen, it wasn't big enough to stop water splattering onto the bathroom floor.

    The room is spacious. The staff was helpful, when our room didn't have any milk in the fridge, it was delivered to us in a timely fashion.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Twin Room - King & Single
    • Stayed 1 night

    No hot water in the evening (when all tourist groups are back and take a shower?)

    Location is close to the glacier but as all motels on the main highway/parking area Rooms are refurbished

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lift tothe first floor would have been good.

    Excellet staff, comfortable room, good restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service

    Just no good poor service

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom somewhat small.

    Beautiful mountain view from our room. Good restaurant with very helpfull staff. Convenient location in centre of town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Good restaurant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet breakfast not as nice as others with that rate

    Clean and comfort room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    every thing was great

    Great place to stay,Reception very helpful when sorting out our scenic flight

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awesome view from restaurant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good location!

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: