Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Scenic Hotel Southern Cross 4.5 stars

118 High St, Dunedin 9016, 9054 Dunedin, New Zealand

#28 of 57 hotels in Dunedin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 715 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    We will go back if ever in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a great selection but the bacon had gone like cardboard. Couches in the bar area are very uncomfortable!

    Beds and room were great. It was a very cold time of year but the beds were very warm and comfortable. The staff were great - very thoughtful regarding setting the demister, clearing the screen etc. when bringing the car around. Very prompt too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.1
    Enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unusual having sink/vanity in the bedroom area. Turning bathroom light on, turns the light on over the vanity and this lights up the bedroom.

    The bed was comfy and room quiet.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.3
    Awesome - will definitely be back for my next stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They weren't doing the buffet breakfast so didn't get the full buffet experience but it was still yummy food :)

    Awesome room, very clean and well maintained with a super comfortable bed. It was also really nice and warm which was very much appreciated in the Dunedin cold! I ordered from their (extensive) room service menu and it was delicious and delivered really quickly by a friendly staff member :D

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Loved casino and meal options upstairs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff welcome and checkout & gentleman at door on departure asked if I needed help with my bags. Big improvement on cheerful friendly staff in comparison to previous stays.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.1
    OK for an overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar was dismal in terms of the range and availability of wines. Three white wines requested were not available. The list was already void of a lot of choice and..... this was a 4 star hotel. Matt made the best of the situation.

    The location was good. Whilst the room was spacious and comfortable, the bathroom though perfectly formed was very small. Dinner was excellent as was the service by Jess. Reception staff were welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.3
    The lady in the restaurant for breakfast (the one who is...
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady in the restaurant for breakfast (the one who is responsible for the seating) wasn’t very friendly and didn’t seem to listen. Was disappointing service from her but the rest of the hotel/stay was great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    6.7
    Creative edge ruined by bad execution.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we got to our room we found a note saying all minibar items and breakfast was on the house. As we paid a premium price for the hotel room, it was believable enough and would have made the price for the room so worth it, BUT when we asked staff to book us in for breakfast they said the note was actually meant for another guest who cancelled his booking and that none of these perks would apply to us. This was super disappointing and kind of ruined the experience for us.

    We were in town for the Ed Sheeran concert and the hotel left the most creative note in our hotel room with menu items named after Ed Sheeran songs with gingernut biscuits and ginger beer for us to enjoy. Very well done. They also were in perfect location for the shuttle bus going to the concert. The hotel room was very nice but the whole deal was not worth what we paid for the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.1
    The location was good and the staff lovely (other than issue...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Interconnecting Room - Tower Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not the same as advertised on booking.com - it showed photos of the main suite but we actually got two small suites so we didn’t have two adjoining rooms with shared living or correct bed configuration. The manager on check-in was slightly frustrating to deal with as he said he couldn’t understand how the advertisement was wrong and it wasn’t their fault but another staff member told us the issue has happened a lot recently. That manager did, however, (after requesting it) find a way to change the room despite being fully booked and the manager the following day did give us a slight discount on the rate as we didn’t get the suite (which was very high due to Easter and Sheeran).

    The location was good and the staff lovely (other than issue below). The bathroom was a little old but the room was a good size and very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    Great location and comfort.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was very clean but dated and showing signs of wear. It could do with refurbishment.

    The bed was super-comfortable and the hotel location is excellent - right in the middle of town

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    The staff were very good and nice, the food from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just the TV, the quality of the tv image were not very clear for the non pay per view films.

    The staff were very good and nice, the food from the restaurant was also great. overall it was a wonderful stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tower Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the top floor and had a room with 2 double beds... there was another floor with a couch, tv and basic kitchen facilities that we were not expecting. It was Easter, they left Easter eggs by the bed and water. The coffee was good, location was excellent! Had Easter eggs in the foyer for kids. They had embraced Ed Sheeran being in town and when we arrived there were ginger nuts and ginger beer for us. Was fantastic!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    Great spot, so central to everything. Staff at front counter friendly and efficient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t like that our beds had been turned down. Would have preferred nobody entered room once we had booked in. Just a personal preference thing.

    We attended Ed Sheren concert and on arrival noticed two bottles of ginger beer and a packet of ginger nuts and also as it was Easter two chocolate Easter treats. Nice touch.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.1
    Good location, average stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive for one night ($485!) and didn’t feel like value for money. The hotel and facilities were very dated, the carpets were old and smelled of smoke in the corridor. My pillow was very lumpy, curtains were musty and the room was very small. The hotel parking was very tight and expensive at $16/night for the amount we were paying we thought this should have been included.

    Location was central Staff were friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.1
    Not good value in what appears to be the old wing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Telling the truth over what room was going to be allocated. Room 212 has no outside view from either set of windows apart from old derelict buildings very close at hand. Lights were required on all day

    Every thing was very good EXCEPT the room.]

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    7.5
    Even though I had a couple of issues we did enjoy our stay in Dunedin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small for the price and if it was at the retail price that booking dot. Com said I would have complained we paid $498 for two nights which was over priced for that type room they said it would normally have been $1020 which sounds a bit untruthful

    Location, choice of a couple of different bars

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    6.3
    Probably best not to say except not good. Very disappointed. 🙁
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The meal room service was terrible. Very disappointing. Food and presentation poor. One meal had a piece of plastic on it. Pepper and salt in sachets. water bottle with no glasses. One serviette .Meals served on large bowls not plates. And warm not Hot. Salad looked like it had been put together by a child. In fact the whole meal looked like it was put together by a child. Was not happy. Ruined which was suppose to be a nice relaxing stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.8
    great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was allocated a room in west wing which is not the main building. The view is worse. The overall impression of the west wing is not as good as the main hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    6.7
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon and noisy if windows open. Seems to be old side and new side. Stayed before and was great, this time not a great room or bed.

    Great restaurant and cafe, friendly efficient staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.2
    Excellent service and comfort, close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of air-conditioning was a slight drawback because it was unusually hot for Dunedin. Not a big issue, though,the windows could be opened for ventilation.

    Excellent service, eg welcomed with immediate offer to park car. Room not large, but very well laid out. Remarkably comfortable bed and pillows. (Not just my experience, they offer to sell the pillows.) Perhaps our best sleep in a one month holiday driving through New Zealand. A small point, but I really liked the printed hotel directory. Very well written and informative, actually interesting to read, and free of corporate-speak.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    5.8
    Did not meet expectations on this particular visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was not clean, sheets weren't fresh, pillow cases weren't clean. This indicated to me the bed linen had not been changed! Also found beside the bed on the floor a used glass and half eaten piece of fruit that had turned. Wasn't impressed at all, not what I'd call value for money, and far from expected from this particular establishment. Must say, have stayed there before, and that particular visit was faultless. Would seriously reconsider staying there again though.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.5
    Location was good, though it felt like the dodgy part of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel charges extra for parking and laundry. The price is already steep and the extra facilities should have been included in the rate. The air conditioning did not work.

    Location was good, though it felt like the dodgy part of the city. It was nice to have a fan for the humidity. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    9.6
    As always the staff were wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I specifically asked for a room with a bath, which I did get but the bath was only a 'half bath' and very small so really no good at all. Will specifically ask for a full sized bath next time.

    As always the staff were wonderful. I rang ahead and requested a bottle of wine in my room on arrival and it was no problem.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    7.5
    Great alround hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in bedrm . breakfast staff slow as . Had to ask for tea spoons and white bread n more milk and was a bottle neck with toast .

    Location . Big bedroom . Good breakfast .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    7.1
    I arrived at 3 am, the windows were open to 6 degree morning...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I arrived at 3 am, the windows were open to 6 degree morning, the room was a little smelly still from what could be described as blokes had been in the room previously

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    7.5
    A generally comfortable place to stay to explore Dunedin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Water pressure in bathroom/toilet could have been better.

    Nice old fashioned bar with booths, and it was quiet. Coffee shop was good with a view to the street, and nice cakes.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    8.8
    Highly recommend this hotel - great location, and great customer service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food at the restaurant was average, but I think we've just been spoilt during our holiday so far when it comes to food. Other than that, can't really fault the hotel at all.

    The location of the hotel was great - close to the Octagon, restaurants and shopping precincts. The room was very spacious and every creature comfort thought of and provided for. The valet parking was very convenient and available at all times. The staff were very accommodating and friendly, especially the porter - he was lovely!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    9.2
    Staff friendly, rooms large with upstairs sitting rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Interconnecting Room - Tower Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff friendly, rooms large with upstairs sitting rooms. Breakfast plentiful. Food in restaurant good but you only need an entree as the portions are so large!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    5.0
    Wouldn’t stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old and quite dated room. We chose this hotel because of the gym shown on the website. However it was nothing like the photo, very small with old crappy equipment.

    Location was good, close to the city.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.5
    Will stay again due to location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Block wall covered 50% of the view out the window, yet we paid extra for a room with a view. Car Parking costs.. is that really necessary, just looks like an extra tax when it could be included in the room rate

    Location and Casino

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    7.9
    Very comfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front staff need to be consistent with their parking policy. We parked in the hotel car park to unload luggage. When we left our parking ticket was validated at the front desk. All of the receptionists did this for us with the exception of one who wanted to charge us $7 for parking. That same staff also added $15 to our biill after I had just enquired about parking overnight at their parking area. They adjusted the bill of course but this one staff seemed too mercenary compared with the excellent courtesy of all the other receptionists.

    Very comfortable rooms

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    8.8
    A nice hotel with generally good amenities friendly courteous staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom very small. Cracked hand basin. The worst problem was no air conditioning and 1 small window to open for fresh air so felt very stuffy .

    Beds were fabulously comfortable. The room was spacious Was very clean

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    8.3
    Great for overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning. Bathroom dated- sink and bath tiny!

    Staff on reception Surpreet was so pleasant and helpful. Bedroom was spacious and clean. Within walking distance of main areas in city centre

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    7.9
    Great location - short walks to everywhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location - short walks to everywhere. Good to get a complimentary newspaper in the morning! Clean & tidy. Plenty of restaurants & casino right on your doorstep.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    9.2
    Would have given them 100% if there was aircon. would like to stsy here again if aircon was in the r
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon and it was very hot both nights. They had a window which i did open but that wasnt enuff air coming in.

    Loved the bed and the location. 5min walk to the Octagon.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    8.8
    Very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing major really. The carpet in the corridors was pretty stained on our floor. The dryer wasn’t very powerful so we had to pay for 2 cycles in order to get our clothes dry.

    Rooms are large and well appointed. The hotel is well located less than 10min walk to the Octagon and has ample parking ($15/night). Location is very quiet at night, barely any street noise. It was handy having a guest laundry available. Wifi worked well.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    10
    Very Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathrooms are super small and shower over bath but ok Always get given the room nearest the lift with window facing a very close concrete wall

    The best beds and bedding in Dunedin, luxurious and comfortable. Wifi quality is great. Staff always friendly and helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    A great friendly place with excellent food in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very hot. There was a pedestal fan provided but quite loud when trying to sleep.

    The staff were really very friendly especially to our daughter. Thoroughly spoilt her.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    9.2
    Place was clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When I booked I thought breakfast was included, however I discovered when we got there that it was at an extra cost!

    Place was clean and comfortable. Bed was comfortable. Good location with walking distance to most places. Food at the restaurant at the hotel was good, would eat there again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    6.3
    Needs renewing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities are too old. The shower is a bad joke: I had to bend for puting my head under the water (I am 180cm). In addition, opening the water is done with some wierd pointer, so you must switch to the cold water first before turning to the hot water. It seems like the toilets were white years ago, but now they aren't. Ordering coffee in breakfast buffet cost us extra money unlike other hotels (but there is a free jug of cafe like everywere).

    Staff were extremely helpful and kind! It seems like the hotel was fancy in the past. The breakfast buffet was good, but could be improved if there were omletes, natural juice machine and free kinds of coffees.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.1
    Relaxing quiet stay which is what we were after
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room service food with poor, cheese fondue 4 ways only came 3 ways and all were cold, actually cheese bechamel and not fondue

    Carlton restaurant breakfast was enjoyable, all hotel staff friendly and professional

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    5.8
    Hmmmppf
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disengaged staff, shame and surprising given how nice everyone else is. Very average room.

    Great and easy parking. Has the casino nearby, should that be a negative?

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.9
    If I could sleep there it would be perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very, very noisy at night. You hear everything from your neighbours in the bathroom as it was right next to our beds through the wall. Plumbing atrocious! Traffic noise from boyracers and tuned cars very loud at night.

    great little cafe within the hotel, very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    Best room we have ever had since our numerous times staying...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to the centre of town, good secure parking, easy access.

    Best room we have ever had since our numerous times staying there, was spacious, clean, bed was good and comfortable, good restaurant, good food, pleasant friendly staff. What more can one say, great place to be and stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    I liked the coziness and warmth of the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt the tv was a little small for the room as it was a bit hadder to see from lying down on the pillows

    I liked the coziness and warmth of the room. Very nice lay out of room amd very spacious. It was a nice quiet room and was great to have complimentary items and plemty storage space

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    7.9
    Nice location - managed to secure free parking across the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Window looked out over a brick wall which made the room quite dark, had to pay for parking if we hadn't obtained free parking on the road across from us. Compared to the other places we stayed, it just wasn't as good. Not bad but not good either.

    Nice location - managed to secure free parking across the road.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    Excellent location, comfortable bed, quiet room, excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would like the parking area to be undercover (one long run carport) but that's nothing whats a bit of rain or snow for that matter!

    The bed was lovely and comfortable. We had a problem with the kettle (wasn't working) but the staff changed it immediately and they were great. The room was very quiet and the location was excellent. Breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    Extremely comfortable, everything you could wish for. Wonderful location and great facilities
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was all excellent!

    The bed was the best I have encountered on my travels. The linen was beautiful. The rooms were warm on arrival but you could also control the temperature in the room if you wished it cooler. Staff were professional and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    8.3
    A good choice in Dunedin
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom sink was clogged, bath was old with lots of scratches.

    Bed was comfy, wifi was great. Staff were very helpful, I could check in a bit early after a long travel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    6.7
    The port o call restaurant has terrible atmosphere and I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The port o call restaurant has terrible atmosphere and I ordered the chocolate mouse tart with salted caramel ice cream and it had no ice cream at all. So not what I ordered at all but they offered no compensation for this. Average restaurant for a big hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.2
    Weekend stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The $15 per night charge for the car park, which we didn't know about until we checked in. Our room was quite shabby with the linings of the drapes torn and hanging. The toilet didn't flush very well.

    The location is perfect and the choice of restaurants on site is excellent. Like the fact that you don't have to go out in the cold to go to a restaurant/casino.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.9
    Great staff and great rooms
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Paying for parking isn't great.

    I have a tendency to leave the room in a hurry and leave something behind every time. Most times the item is never found or returned by the Hotel. In this instance i left an expensive pair of sunglasses behind. 24hrs later I had realised and was about to call them. They called me before i got time to call. They couriered the glasses to me same day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable and pleasant. Made all the better with the great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Why oh why do hotel rooms have to be so dim? The lighting is pathetic. Don't even think about reading a newspaper. PLEASE put in decent lighting, we no longer live in the dark ages. The mirror in the bedroom is useless as you have to be VERY tall to see in it. NO electric blanket on the bed was a huge shock for this time of the year. Brrrrrrr. The bathroom is very small. Don't even have to get of the loo to wash hands, basin is that close to the loo! One last thing, I wondered if there was a room above ours as it sounded like a sewer pipe or drain pipe gurgling when someone had gone to the loo then washed hands. As we have stayed here a few times I guess we will be back again.

    I have filled in a questionnaire in the past and feel that it is a waste of time. Breakfast was excellent and friendly staff. But as we had breakfast around 8.30/9 am we felt they turned off the heating early. Got very chilly in the dining room. Maybe they wanted to clean up and chase everyone out. Front of house staff very professional and friendly. Even the cleaning staff smiled. (Must be happy in their job.)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    10
    My overnight dental trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very squashed into a small space, lay out needs reviewed The toilet was so close to the wall you needed to sit on a side angle, so glad I am of average size would be very difficult for a large person

    The room was very spacious and well laid out and convenience of 3 restaurant options for breakfast to dinner was so convenient.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    6.7
    Convenient -warm
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom small and cluttered not the cleanest Reception staff all young and un interested all but the one I checked in with he was really nice and helpful Parking on arrival confusing -arrow suggested no entry to underground parking Guests next door very loud when leaving banging doors at 6 am

    Warm room -good temp Bed nice clean and comfortable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    10
    The staff were lovely and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finding parking was a bit of a nightmare.

    The staff were lovely and very helpful. And the place was in town, which made it easier to go around. Comfortable and clean room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    value for money in terms of comfort, location and felt very welcomed by staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The coffee wasn't great. The milk wasn't great.

    My partner specifically commented on the comfort of the bed and I liked that it was a big bed and the pillows were very comfortable. The location is excellent. The size is standard for the price and adequate enough. The shower was great.... although I don't really like the shower over the bath. slippery.... but this was o.k. The curtain pulled back easily and the room wasn't overlooked by offices etc...

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    8.3
    I have been staying at this Hotel for 30 years and always...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Seems like the Hotel has run out of reasonable wattage light bulbs. Nothing more annoying than not being able to see and read clearly. If I wanted subdued lighting, let me use a dimmer. I could not even clearly see in my suitcase when it was on the suitcase shelf.

    I have been staying at this Hotel for 30 years and always find it comfortable and convenient. disappointed that the effort to save power makes reading very difficult.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    10
    Very comfortable, friendly atmosphere, great staff and lovely warm rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing we didn't like really, except the tiny little hand basins in the bathrooms. Barely enough room to wash hands and impossible to fill kettle (rescued by jugs supplied for this purpose.) However, odd choice of design for such a large area. Plenty of wall space for a much larger basin (or two!)

    Very central. Have stayed here before. Love the casino, better than others we have visited. Tea coffee facility in room good, milk etc. topped up every day.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    9.2
    The comfortable bed.
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lighting in the room was insufficient for our needs and we would have felt more secure with central brighter light.

    The comfortable bed.. Excellent room service.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    7.1
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charge for car park .if we take the option to stay with u then the least u can do is offet us a car park.morning breakfast at $20 special.no so good if u only want continental.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    9.6
    Celebrate a week earned graduation in style.
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No USB ports in the room. The view out over the rear carpark want at all appealing. The bar staff on Saturday night were VERY slow, although we're not helped by spendthrift patrons quibbling over as little as a dollar. But the duty manager seemed to know less than the female bar assistant, and she was slow through having to assist him. And ps, it pays to pull the Guinness first and let it settle while doing the rest of the drinks.

    Excellent hotel staff. Very comfortable rooms

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Interconnecting Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We reported that toilet didn't work the morning after we arrived had a staff member look at it & go. After being out all day & nothing done we reported it to 2 more staff members. The manager moved our friends to a few rooms away which was disappointing as we had adjoining rooms. The Manager was excellent though & did give us a discount so would recommend staying here.

    Comfortable rooms

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    8.3
    Good place to stay for central city access.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having a light duvet or blanket in the room as an option. The bedside lights were a bit weak for reading.

    The bed was particularly comfortable but the duvet was too hot at the time I was there. Breakfast selection was great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    9.6
    Highly recommended.
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was A1. Staff at reception were very helpful. Food in the bar area was of a very high quality and presentation. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and very clean. The location was excellent for a visit to the 'Station' and the 'Otago Settlers Museum'. Thank you.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    10
    Our go to Hotel in Dunedin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The buffet breakfast is excellent with great variety, fresh fruit, and pastries. We also dined at the Port O Call Bar both of us having the beef burger, which was a generous size pattie and very tasty.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    8.3
    Great last minute option
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could have been cleaner (dusty shelves and back of toilet seat could do with a good clean). Walls thin, could hear other families and no doubt they could hear mine!

    Shower pressure was good, bed super comfy, pillow menu great for my picky husband. Location was an easy walk to most things we wanted to do.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    8.8
    Not as relaxing as other stays in the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was quite hard. Parking was terrible, we had to park a block away on the street even though we paid for parking. We did have the parking fee reimbursed by staff. Very noisy during the night. Other patrons in the corridor laughing, talking and banging loudly on doors and this was during the hours of 1 and 3am.

    Friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    7.5
    Handy to the city
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is quite an expensive hotel for Dunedin,and you'll find that all the extras are just that - additional to the price. That said, the rooms are comfortable and the hotel is convenient to other places, so perhaps this is ok.

    Convenient walking distance of the city centre, good Wi-Fi, pleasant staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    10
    Great location and absolutely fabulous staff
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good at the restaurant in the hotel I asked the chef what was goo for dinner He recommended with detail one of the meals and did not deliver Bit disappointed and would not eat there again

    Great staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    9.0
    A Dam good place to enjoy Dunedin from ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite the real, visible efforts to modernise and upgrade the facilities and room, some aspects (bathrooms) will always be limited by the building. Sure, clean, modern, well cared for bathrooms, just small and limited.

    Modern, friendly, well organised, informative, helpful, upgraded facilities ....

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    9.6
    Room Can Get Hot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were placed in a room facing northwest that became very warm in the late afternoon sun. Although we opened the windows to the maximum level , it was almost to hot to remain in the room. We coulldnt find any air conditioner settings in the room , only a heater.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    10
    Room we had fantastic, service great,hotel in easy accessible area and breakfast was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints this stay.

    Did not know that you could order other coffee like cappacino, other then that it was great, no complaints. Our stay was great, everything was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    10
    Very clean, bed was great and the staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free wifi didn't work at all as it was very slow, you had the option to pay $10 for better wifi but it should be free wherever you go in this day and age

    Very clean, bed was great and the staff were friendly. The free toiletries are amazing! They even give a little bag so you can take them home. Great NZ products. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    10
    Great stay and we will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving?

    The beds were absolutely marvellous, they were that good we had to book an extra night as we lost a day due to oversleeping and just being so comfortable we didn't want to get up!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    10
    This is my first pick for hotels in Dunedin!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wish I could have stayed for longer!

    This is my first pick for hotels in Dunedin! Very comfortable setting and of course the beds! Will continue to stay here as the staff are friendly and are efficient with their services.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: