Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Braemar Lodge And Spa 5 stars

283 Medway Road, 7360 Hanmer Springs, New Zealand

#17 of 28 hotels in Hanmer Springs

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 753 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We expected to arrive at complete luxury when we came to Braemar Lodge. However, arriving at 5.30pm we were standing at the reception for at least 15 minutes before someone came to help us. We tried ringing the phone left at the desk but no one answered. Once finally checked in we had an outdoor spa in our suite. Unfortunately, the spa was borderline cold/warm water and was not what we expected! Once we got used to the cold temperature, at least half of the jets in the spa did not work. There were floaties in the water and did not look clean. We thought we'd try the spa bath in the bathroom, only to find that yet again, half of the jets did not work. Other things that did not work was the lampshades in the room, as the bulbs were blown. We were excited to have Sky TV and thought we could watch a movie on Box Office however after ringing reception they said this was not possible. The shower was difficult to use and the jets were also dirty and not functioning properly. The shower pressure was also not good. The breakfast was quite expensive for what you got on the plate.

    We really like the spaciousness of the rooms and the couch in front of the fireplace and TV. The fireplace was toasty and easy to use. The bed was extremely comfy and the linen/sheets were very clean and pressed. The mini bar was well stocked. The bathroom was large and spacious with double vanity and the option of wither a spa or double shower.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Spa Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The showered had grime like it had been neglected. Although its a lovely place it should be thoroughly cleaned and unfortunately the shower looked like it had not been touched for weeks. Also the restaurant was overpriced for what we received I didn't feel the food lived up to the price tag.

    This was such a beautiful place to stay. The view was amazing along with the facilities such as the massive spa bath and the gas fire. The homemade cookies and bath salts were a beautiful touch. the woman at the reception provided a lovely service. The bed was extremely comfortable as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The main reason my partner and I booked here was for the Hot Tub on the patio. Our hot tub was not warm enough and would not heat up. We had to get staff out to try fix it which still it did not heat up, which isn't ideal when you are trying to have a romantic weekend away. I feel the money we paid was not worth it, I feel these things should be checked before the next customers arrive to their room. Will not be coming back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Spa Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The huge bed was a zip together with a dip in the centre making it uncomfortable and impossible to sleep in the middle. Leather sofas which are slippery to sit on and a small inadequate timer heater in the large marble tiled bathroom meant it was always cold and rather unwelcoming in there as it was a winter stay and not possible to warm it up before use.

    Large comfortable clean room with lots of little extra thoughtful touches. Friendly helpful staff. Good food. Very peaceful and relaxing and had a great massage at the spa.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is my second time at Braemar, the room we were in this particular time needs a little bit of maintenance in the bathroom area and there had been something spilled in the cupboard wardrobe that hadn't been cleaned . Wasn't anything that wrecked my time here but .......

    This is a favorite place to go so relaxing, room service breakfast was yummy!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The waiter got our breakfast order wrong. Not a big deal but just something to work on.

    Great place to stay. Large room and very comfortable bed. Lovely meals.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist was never at the desk.

    The bedrooms are huge and are such lovely rooms! The bed and sheets/pillows were super comfy and the food was delicious! I would defintely stay here again. The only downside was there was never anyone at reception, when we arrived we had to wait for ages and the next day when our key wouldn’t open our room up it took a very long time for it to get sorted as there was never anyone manning the desk in spite of this I would still come back as the rooms/facilities more than made up for this. The room service was excellent and the staff were helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That i was promised a nice room as said i could have a room up stairs but then said no And then told would be put in a nice room downstairs. Got there and it happened to be the same room we stayed in the frist time we had stayed there. The spa outside was cold on arrival no robes in the room. Thort it was pretty average giving the price paid. And how there was a wedding delaid our room service and then the morning rang for breakfast and they said we had to go to the restaurant for breakfast what we waited for 1 hour an a half then by time got bck to the room had to check out theu could gave told us before hand there was a big wedding on and mite hve some delays 😡😡

    The bed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tv was a little small and dated

    I loved the room, very spacious and the spa bath & double shower was ansolutely amazing. Will definately return for a longer period next time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The taps were hanging off which was a bit odd for such a highly rated hotel. We booked the room mainly for the hot tub which was luke warm - too cold for sitting in in the evening. We tried to increase the temperature but nothing happened and we also couldn’t call reception to help as it shut at 8pm

    The bed was really comfy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    floor needs new carpet or something or a good clean or vacuum! needs to be cheaper on the food menu because the price of the food is outrageous

    bed was so comfy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a facelift as it looks a bit old. The shower system was tricky to operate

    The large room had a sitting area and a gas fire which made it relaxing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Faultless!

    Braemar lodge was a slice of heaven! The bed was INCREDIBLE, the views were amazing and the peacefulness surrounding the lodge made for the perfect weekend away with my partner. We can't wait to come back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The information on booking.com implied we would get a spa outside of our room, not in the bathroom which saddened us. The breakfast was very average, the toast wasnt even toasted. The other meals were ok, not large but it was odd there were no potatoes/sides and none offered. They weren't able to make the drinks we requested properly. The place was a bit unkempt, there were dead flies in our room. The spa had an odd interface as does the shower and the tv cabling was very messy. The check-in was fine but check-out apaulling. They omitted to charge for the room-breakfast, dinner and drinks. I had booked dinner with a voucher but forgot to present it, the restaurant hadn't asked and even though it took a very long time to checkout and get the charges sorted, the staff gave me a hard-time about not showing the voucher and never asked how our stay or meals or anything was - had it not taken an age I would have said. Overall I was expecting an amazing 5 star stay with outdoor pool for a short break and was extremely disappointed with an average 3 star experience not worth the money and wishes we had stayed in town.

    Hanmer is a great town. The lodge is in a good spot for a getaway. The rooms are a good size.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't get +1 on the Tele one evening so I missed a program I wanted to see The grounds outside were very tired, lawns, weeds etc..kind of spoilt the whole look outside. No pen or paper in the room. The fridge was wobbly so a bit annoying when used. Only minor things that didn't spoil our visit but could be disappointing for overseas visitor who expect a lot.

    The room was super fab, staff were lovely and the dinner in the restaurant on the 1st night was beautiful, waiter was fabulous as was the food. Loved the views and setting, super quiet, we felt like we were the only guests!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rest of the facility needed help with decor and ambiance. The restaurant definitely needed help with menu, decor and quality of food.

    Rooms were huge and had wonderful amenities. Whirlpool tub & jetted shower in bathroom, hot tub on patio, fireplace in living area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very hard to work the shower.....

    The dinner was lovely they did forget to put the pea puree on my meal and I had to ask were it was....but food was great. Bed comfortable. spa was great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ehere to start? Spa bath not cleaned. Shower bit broken. Light sockets falling apart. Picture frames not level

    Bed was made for 2nd night and fresh towels

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot tub was cold. Some fittings in the bathroom werent working and were broken. Breakfast was average. Bread and pastry items stale. Someone (assuming a staff member) had their car parked at the entrance of the building our entire stay so you couldn't drop off and drive around. You had to drop off and reverse to a car park. No shuttle service or concierge as stated on website. A stylishly designed property overall but it needs a serious makeover to get it back to the five star quality that its capable of obtaining.

    The size of the bed was an extra large. Style and spaciousness of the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Spa needs to be heated to max as its not a very warm spa overall-you need to get it up to temperature before its useable. With Sky decoder unit by TV you could not turn TV to watch from your bed.

    Peacefulness. A lovely quiet spot and the rooms are very quiet next to one another. Very relaxing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spa bath had hair in it from previous occupant. No response to email enquiry about restaurant menu. Light bulbs not working

    Nice fire in the room and very spacious. Staff very friendly and accomodating

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived the friendly lady on reception picked up that I was dissappointed that we didn't have a room with a view and because we were celebrating a special occasion she kindly put us in a room with a view and spoilt us with a lovely gift. The room was huge and fantastic and the views from the outside pool were awesome. Thank you so much for everything. We will be back. *** Did I leave my reading glasses behind? Regards,Barry

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price food and service

    Room was nice. But the place is trying to be a 5 star. Which it was maybe 20 years ago. Pricy for what it is. Restaurant food was bad and way over priced. Service was bellow advantage was auctually funny it was that bad.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutley amazing room, could not believe the standard of furnishings and the bathroom. Great hot tub outside with a view. Restaurant had great food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WE WERE HAPPY WITH THE SERVICE AND THE HOSPITALITY PROVIDED BY THE MANAGER ROWEN. REALLY APPRECIATE THE WAY HE WAS ON THE FOOT AS IF HE WAS THE OWNER HIMSELF. THANKS

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything we didn't like. If we had to put something, we took a while to figure out how the shower nozzle works, but we got there.

    The room itself was amazing, spacious and had everything we needed. The view was another feature.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was way over priced and after that tried to over charge for someone's else's room service

    Stunning rooms amazing bed and spas staff really friendly and accommodating

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful lodge set in the beautiful Hanmer Springs with stunning views of the mountains. Suites are luxurious with incredible spa baths. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room seemed bare. The furniture was small for the room and the artwork was a little tacky.

    The room was massive. The spa and spa bath was great. The view was beautiful. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I went there last Easter so they offered a bag of lotion, shampoo, bath ball... and Easter eggs. So I thought this time at least will offer bath ball but they didn’t . The faucet was broken as well and this time we got a downstairs room which view was not as good as up stairs. It’s quite far from the entry so I don’t think I will go there again. Dinner was good I had salmon and my husband had beef they were amazing and the staffs were polite .

    I like their hot pot on the balcony

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower head had a leak and the breakfast menu in the room vs dining room. The public toilet had soap scum stains around plug hole. Decor NEEDS to be updated urgently.

    The bed was comfortable as well as the spa bath both inside and outside. Sky tv for commonwealth games was excellent!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not A thing.

    The surroundings were brilliant, could not want for anything more.Just the place to go to chill out from a busy life.Enjoyed having a spa pool just outside the door.Breakfast was a delight.The bed was so comfy just a great stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was differences with the 2 rooms booked, ours did not have iPod docking station or robes. Our room required maintenance to shower and safe was not left in unlocked position. All things that housekeeping should be checking.

    Excellent restaurant and food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The presentation of the room was beautiful! Bed was super comfortable, location was great, the staff were nice and friendly. So peaceful and quiet, it was unreal. I felt extremely relaxed after two nights here. Would definitely go again. We will have to stay for longer next time though!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best hotel we have stayed in. The room was spacious, very clean and looked amazing. Staff were very good. View was amazing wish I could wake up to it every morning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was Exxxtra comfy. The staff were extremely friendly,helpful and obliging. We stayed in 5 NZ hotels over the course of 9 days. This was the best by far for service, peace and quite, food and general ambience. Would highly recommend for a weekend break - or midweek get away.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom wasn’t as clean as I would’ve liked and the alarm was triggered by another guest at 3am which woke us up but that wasn’t the staffs fault - they compensated us by giving us drinks complementary,

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The views were beautiful and property was so relaxing! Such a treat to have a spa tub on the deck.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    maybe transfer to town because it a little further than expected.

    Private hot tub. Staff were fanatic also the resturant amazing food. Bathrooms one of the best.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Spa was not operating. If we had been informed before our arrival we would have changed to another property. It was much further from the town than expected down 3kms of narrow gravel road.

    The rooms were very luxurious particularly the bathroom

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the breakfast

    A ten min. drive from Hamner Springs, Beautiful place, big room with a high ceiling thought about amenities, the spa treatment was great, the only "not great" thing was that the breakfast was plain...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    A very large comfortable room, very helpful staff, excellent dinner. The breakfast was only average the first day but excellent on the second. It seems they are a bit short staffed at times, but the staff go the extra mile.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Group
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    a lot of the things in the room didn't work and there were no plated or cutlery in the room

    I love the bathroom and the bed was amazing so comfy. Also the staff were amazing and so helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's getting abit dated for the price you pay per night. There was no table outside to put your coffee on or anything. No rubbish bin inside and no bath lavender salts left for having a spa. We have stayed there many times but it needs a rev up.

    Space, bed and spa

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa didn't work properly. Poorly vacuumed room. Flies in room upon arrival. Poorly maintained gardens. Terrible bed that keep separating in the middle due to being two singles pushed together.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The service is delightful and the restaurant on the property is tasteful and excellent. Breakfast each morning was great and the dining room is beautiful and has lovely views. One night we had a wonderful dinner which was among the best meals we had during our entire trip to New Zealand. The location is also great if you intend to use the springs as it is only a ten-minute drive to town.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fire wasn’t turned on and didn’t know how to turn it on , spider proof the building

    The bed was amazing! And the beautician was the loveliest and most gentle person :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was alll perfectly lovely

    Room was huge,,,private,,,,lovely view,,,,balcony,,,,simply wonderful stay,,,,delightful staff.....we will b back for sure

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Bugs (primarily moths) in the hotel was the only disadvantage but after me explaining this at the front-desk they really felt sorry for me and offered me a free breakfast as compensation. So overall I won't complain about it as it didn't seem as a regular occurrence.

    -Great location in beautiful surroundings and huge hotel rooms. -Great service, despite me arriving very late.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too cold. Everything needs a good lick of paint. Unfortunately could not use the spa since work was in progress. Should have been told and offered a reduction in price. Also too far out from Hanmer Springs.

    Bedroom was nice and big.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No sound proofing between rooms, limited sky/cable TV channels, gardens very very unmaintained, there was no grass. Photos highly deceiving. Would have been the best of the best 10years ago, but very outdated.

    Room and Bathroom size.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the booking, it asked for your choices... we did not get any of the options we selected... such as being on the ground floor and for a spa . To top it off one shower did not work and most of the lamps were not working either. Beautiful room....just way over priced for a bed,bath and tv ....could have included breakfast or something ..

    Loved the spa bath..and room was beautiful..that's about it.....

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some facilities were a bit tired. The spa needed a service and some fixtures and fittings are due for replacement.

    Excellent customer service. Perfect location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was excellent. Spa bath and double spa shower. Bed and pillows were very comfortable. Balcony was good with fairly good views of Hanmer Springs mountain range. Staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful. Food in the restaurant was very good. Breakfast was either continental or extra for cooked breakfast. Overall we enjoyed our stay, very peaceful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    we were looking forward to the great restaurant we had heard about only to find it was shut, I had rang earlier to confirm booking and were not told. we then had to drive 28 km into town and back for dinner.also the shower did not work (husband being a plumber, it was not operator error)When we complained on departure we were told that yes they are not working but are due for update.Why book a room for $300 with a non functional shower?

    Looked great ,comfy bed and nice spa and gas fire

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Braemar is in need of more attention to detail and needs a refurb. Attention to detail is what makes the difference between 4 stars and 5 stars. The bathroom was nice but the outdoor spa looked like it wasn’t cleaned in weeks if not longer.

    The amenities and soaps were nice. Great massage therapist.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access is on a shingle road for part of the way. Our first room was smelly so we were moved to a perfect rooom without any fuss.

    Beautifully appointed room with fire, hot tub, exquisite spa bath and fabulous staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We wish breakfast would have been included for 350/ night. Pricey.

    We loved it here! The only bad thing was that we didn’t stay longer. Beautiful and luxurious room, professional and helpful staff, and the entire Hamner Springs area is magical.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large whitetail fell onto bed from light fitting. One of double showers did not work. Towels quite thin for luxurious room and nowhere to hang them.

    Huge room. Amazing bed. Huge bathroom.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't fault the hotel. It was so peaceful and clean and just perfect ! Such good value for money and the best steak I've ever tasted (& I've travelled the world no steak compares)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    it would be nice to have a little more information in the room about restaurant times bar times etc and it was very disappointing that the spa was not open over the Christmas period

    The rooms are great the beds are so comfy and the bathrooms are outstanding

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The veiw was amazing both bed and couch were comfy the room was so spacious and nice and bright it felt like a getaway and the restaurant was incredible !

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On a first look it was clean but in detail very dirty. This place needs renovation. We booked a spa room but the spa was very dirty inside. We did not enter. We are unhappy to have paid the full price which is not worth it. The carpets definitely needs to be replaced. There are plenty of dead flies all over the hotel. The shower appliances were old and full of calcare. The shower head even fell of once I tried to use it. The ceiling also needs repainting. In short, if possible, avoid this place until renovated.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower broken, bed very soft, housekeeping done late in day when we had returned to room, reception unattended frequently, if we were to eat at the restaurant we would have had to let the chef know in the afternoon so he could prepare which wasn’t for us

    Beautiful view

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was a great little get away from work , would have been good to know that the masseuse was away on holiday as that was going to be a surprise from my partner, that said I should have checked also.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its not about, what we didnt like its about work that needs to be completed. We understand the new owner is working through the update of this facility. The dining area looks updated very classy. The suites have a lot of space with wonderful windows. The bathrooms have been very grande, still very clean. The rooms have had a paint update. Carpet still to be replaced. It needs to hum still, its a lovely spot.

    The quiet

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food needs improvement, the air con was broken, the shower heads leaked. Carpets from the foyer to the room where dirty and marked. No cutlery In the rooms. outdoor area needs waterblasting to remove stains, spa needs a good clean. Breakfast was missing half the menu and eggs where over cooked. CD player was broken, ceiling had been patched and not painted. We did complain and we were offered vouchers (not sure how much for) however we refused and stated we would NEVER be returning. Have stayed in a lot better for a third of the price.

    The pastries were amazing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of our shower heads were broken, the cushions on the spa bath and spa broke off and the facilities were weird - they didn’t have a kitchenette for fresh water but had a jug and coffee amenities. We also weren’t told by the staff that the sauna and gym were free of use and we only found out upon checking out two days later.

    Was in a very beautiful location. They rooms themselves were lovely and had cool features such as a spa bath and spa on the balcony, and the rooms were also quite sound proof and it seemed very private.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We felt very exposed in our room (directly below the restaurant) . We had some issues with communication over the restaurant being closed the night of our stay. We had to call several times as our messages and emails were not being responded to. The room itself felt quite tired, especially the carpets. The shower curtain had mold stains on it and needed replacing. We felt the price of over $300 per night was very steep.

    The size of the room was lovely. The bathroom was beautiful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good except cleanliness,we booked balcony hot spa with extra charges but it was not cleaned,there was insects in tub and it was dirty so we couldn't take benefit of that.

    Comfort and peaceful location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower and spa facilities too complicated for everyday use. Balcony door locks appeared not to work until revealed later that they were european in design and required an unusual process to lock. Problem with restaurant due to a large private booking. Remaining guests got short shrift.

    Very helpful manager who was dealing with considerable difficulties around the property. Room itself very comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far from hanmer, had to move rooms as first was really poorly kept, not worth the money. Go to village lake luxury appartments, much nicer and with full facilities

    Great view from the expensive suites, dinner was very nice. Not the best overall. Check the negatives first

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet is a bit dated. We paid to have breakfast included but for some reason that didn’t include a coffee and this wasnt explained to us until we checked out of the hotel. Chose to sit outside for breakfast but the waitress didn’t bother to set the table for us and so we had to go in and get our own cutlery. Considering there was only one other couple at breakfast we thought this was a bit poor.

    Big rooms, lots of space and good car parking

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    In its quiet, peaceful and serene setting, this is the ultimate getaway. Coupled with friendly, helpful staff, Braemar exceeded all of our expectations. Highly recommended

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long gravel road to get to the property, and did not try the dinner menu as was mostly seafood so didn't appeal to us non seafood lovers.

    Private spa on balcony was a treat , and the room was very large.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    well seeing we are local to Hanmer but need to stay somewhere close at times due to our property being holiday rented, we choose to stay at this hotel every time we need to. Thinking we would have had 8 stays here over the years. Rooms are enormous and bathroom just divine. We had a room with a hot tub on the balcony and we thoroughly enjoyed the use of this. We left an item & rang to see if we could pick it up later that week. The staff were excellent & rang us back 1/2 hour later to say the item had been found & was ready for our collection. All in all a wonderful stay in a very classy establishment, thank you once again

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: