Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Shakespeare Hotel 3 stars

61 Albert Street, 1010 Auckland, New Zealand

Review score

Based on 697 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    6.5

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.7
    In a desperate need of refurbishing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    During the winter, it is really cold in the rooms and there is just electric heater available.

    Hotel with a charm. Although my room was small, it was still quite peasant, however the whole hotel in a desperate need of refurbishing. It looks tired and worn out. On a positive side, the restaurant is nice, with nice food and home browed beer. The staff in the bar/hotel and the restaurant are really great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    Shakespeare hotel convenient and comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift, so carrying bags to the 3rd floor was a little hard, but it's a heritage building so that's understandable.

    Comfortable bed, good ensuite, great restaurant, great bar. Friendly and helpful staff. Located right in the heart of the city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    5.0
    HAHAHAHAHA. We actually thought of it as a fawlty Towers exoerience and laughed a lot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Barman could have told us 20% off drinks and food for in house guests when we booked in …. not after we had lunch and a couple of drinks !?

    Be prepared to have a bit of a backpacker experience in the room. Restaurant is just fine (really good food) and downstairs pub is interesting. Take it for what it is …. a great location and cheap. We enjoyed our time there but had no "Great Expectations".

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Bloody awesome place, can't wait to come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Completely out of their control but the construction site across the road started working early.

    Such a cool room! The food and beer was amazing and the staff really made us feel at home

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.1
    All in all was happy with our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet was quite damp in our room which would have made the room colder and annoyingly made some of our things wet after being on the ground

    Great location and convenient having a bar and restaurant. Cute and cosy room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    4.2
    Cheap for central city, but take some quality ear plugs, a eye shade and a light suitcase
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mention of the excessive noise coming from the pub 4 stories below, the walls between rooms were like cardboard, I could every intimate word of the couple next door. The curtains were terrible and let all the light in, the noise from construction of the City Rail Link was overwhelming both morning and night, there was no mention of these works at all. No lift, so a huge pain to carry a heavy suitcase up to the fourth floor

    Cheap for central city, very good food in the restaurant

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.5
    Comfy bed, small room but had everything you might need.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being an old building, the room was pretty draughty and curtains didn’t fully cover the windows

    Comfy bed, small room but had everything you might need.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Quirky pink in the city
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a little tight to get into, but as I had mentioned, the rooms were modified within a heritage building. Perhaps I should eat less pie. It was part of the quirkiness.

    This place is quirky. No bull contemporary hexagonal wall hangings. The rooms were true to it's heritage character. Great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    Homely, inviting and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building was super inviting and cute - big fan of history rich buildings. The restaurant was actually fantastic too - great portion sizes and low cost. We wanted to sit on the balcony but it was quite cold so the lovely waitress brought us out blankets! Definitely staying there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    4.6
    It was ok but will look for something better next time
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    shower was dirty, carpet needs cleaning . expensive for what you got

    It was ok the staff were nice didn't really go that extra mile . It could be made really nice as its a neat building just all seems a little tied

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    5.8
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s no elevator! Staff helps for the luggages, however not convenient at all, to walk 3 floors up. There’s also a pub downstairs, which is quite noisy in the evening. We stay in room no 9 which was too small to move around and there was no curtain.

    Good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.9
    Convenient location for a short stay in Auckland Central
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are fairly small for two people. There is really not much room for your luggage. The room could barely fit the bed (also fairly small for two), a chair and a tiny fridge on the floor.

    Super well located as it is right in Auckland Central. Fast and easy check-in and check-out. Staff seem really flexible. Also the place has its own bar (open till 3am!) and restaurant (open till 8:30pm) which is definitely on the plus side.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.1
    Everything we needed for an overnight stay with more character than soulless chain hotels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were very small and soundproofing non existent. The stairs felt very steep at the end of the night! A hairdryer would have been good.

    lovely character and great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    5.8
    Won’t be staying there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny. Nothing like the photos on website. No curtains. Tap in bathroom run the whole time

    Staff were very friendly. Having a bar and restaurant on site was pretty cool.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.6
    Great location and good value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms a bit dated but, it was understandable in such a historic building. (amazing looking building.)

    Great location with amazing craft beers brewed on the location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.1
    Good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rubbish bin not emptied from previous occupant. Hot water jug too big to fit under bathroom tap so could not be filled. Bed had no electric blanket despite cold weather.No indication room would be on the third floor up 60 steps with no elevator facility.

    Good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    6.7
    It fulfilled our expectation. We got what we paid for! The architecture and decor was quirky.
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cleanliness could be improved. The design of Room 12 could also be improved. The bathroom skylight needs a pole or some way of adjusting it. The skylight was open quite a lot when we arrived and the bathroom floor was littered with debris blown in from the roof. The shower needs something to hold the soap. There was a light missing from the passage outside so it was very difficult to find the doorlock to unlock the door to the room.

    The bed was very comfortable. The linen was excellent, but though the towels were changed on both days the face flannels were taken away and not replaced. The room was surprisingly quiet, and there were no overnight disturbances. We ate in the dining room on Wednesday night and the meal was excellent. The service when we left our baggage to be minded for the day was very good, and the staff most obliging.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    We came, we saw, we ate, we rested, and we'd certainly stay there again if we get back to Auckland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No problems.

    Super-friendly staff made everything easy. The location is right downtown, easy to reach by bus, taxi, or train. The building has classic charm for those who have tired of generic mega-corp lodging.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.1
    A good brewery and a basic hotel in city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A basic hotel with no extras. No desk and nowhere to hang your cloths. No elevator.

    This hotel is actually a brewery as well so a lot of local craft beer in the bar. The staff was very helpful and nice. Location is good for central town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    8.8
    Casual, comfortable and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a lack of hot water on one day of my stay.

    Quiet, comfortable, casual, and the pub is excellent. Wifi coverage was brilliant and the location is good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    3.8
    Central location but the Ibis around the corner would have been better value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 12 on the 4th floor was in the roof space with restricted headroom, no lift access, and the window opened into an area where the fan extractor from the restaurant vented. Hot, smelling of old cooking oil and no air conditioning. Not pleasant at all. After our first night we asked if there were another room available but were told 4 hours later that it was not possible to change rooms. Avoid all upper floor rooms and take the smallest amount of luggage possible as there was no wardrobe or drawer space.

    The first floor restaurant was comfortable and the food was good at a reasonable price.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.2
    Love the location, staff and convenience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was construction going on outside the hotel which woke us up early, but that is not the hotel’s fault. However there is no air conditioning.

    Love the location, staff and convenience.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    2.5
    Disgusting place. Very upsetting that this property is on your site, almost ruined my holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where do I start. Very small room.no room to move. No storage. Filthy, dark, dingey,shabby,noisy. Made us feel itchy. Was booked in for 4 nights but only stayed 2.

    Nothing. It was a mistake booking this place. Terrible experience.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.1
    Central Hotel thats Perfect as a base while you explore Auckland
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The stairs are a killer for anyone with a disability or just sore bones. As it has an onsite restaurant would have been nice to have breakfast in hotel, even if served in the bar.

    Central Auckland and walking distance to all sightseeing areas. Having a bar open till 4 am means easy nightcap on way to room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.1
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fresh paint in room smell overwhelling. Room should not have been used until well aired.

    Location, unusual hotel with bar/restaurant in small hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.6
    Great, quirky hotel - full of character. Excellent location for the harbour and shopping areas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No elevator - but hey, we walked up so no problem.

    A quirky little hotel, full of character. You check in at the bar and walk up to the room (no elevator/lift). If you're expecting 5* luxury, you won't get it. What you will get is a comfortable, friendly hotel, with lots of special atmosphere. Small rooms with great views across the city rooftops (if you're at the top as we were). All facilities in the room were perfect for what we wanted. The staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. We needed to print off some papers and they obliged without any fuss or bother. We'd recommend The Shakespeare and would stay again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    7.5
    Quirky hotel , good position for walking Auckland . Staff helpful .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs and stairs . No ventilation or fan / air condition. Grubby outside with a line up of bins near side door . Really the stairs should have been listed very difficult if your older , staff did help carry suitcase up but in the morning no staff to assist you down the stairs .

    Clean , character building

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    7.1
    It was ok as did not spend much time there
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ceilings very low, no air con so very warm mirror in bathroom I could only see my belly button. Window looked out onto roof. No soap or hand towel to wash hands. No table or chair too sit at, had to sit on bed.Extremely basic.

    Location and staff were very helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    9.6
    I enjoyed my time there, for the price and the location it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking but there’s a city council parking near by that’s not that bad for pricing.

    I enjoyed my time there, for the price and the location it was great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    5.0
    Significant room for improvement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Desperately in need of decorating. Curtains not properly attached. Light too dim. Extractor fan in bathroom looked like it's not been cleaned since installed in about 1982 (the rest of the room was generally quite clean). A lick of paint, change of furnishings and a new light bulb would do wonders to this place. The morning staff downstairs were grumpy whilst the afternoon staff didn't even know what Wi-Fi or the internet was. When I asked for the password they looked at me like I had been speaking Welsh. It would be difficult to fit more than 1 person in the room at the same time. Beware the building work going on outside. A new underground rail line is being built which is to take at least all of this year and most of next. You will be looking at it if you stay here.

    For a bar and restaurant the guest rooms were surprisingly quiet and the bed comfortable (if not collapsing on one side slightly). It's also only about 2 minutes from everywhere you want to get to.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    3.8
    A shabby and noisy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was noisy. It was as if a karaoke was in the room next to ours until late in the night. The room was decrepit. It was hot because we were under the roof and there was no air conditioning system. It was no use opening the window because outside it was also noisy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    5.8
    Might be o.k. for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room for two people far too small, place only for one luggage, very simple furniture and bathroom, hot under the roof without air conditioning, actually construction site in the street and therefore very loud starting at 7:30 am, no elevator

    Located in the city center, shower and bed was good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    4.2
    Small room with a strong paint smell
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very small room. Extremely strong smell of paint. Window only opened a wee bit which made it hard to air the room. Road works and crossing outside meant having window open was very frustrating. No air con so open window is only option. Staff member on in afternoon was rude. The shower head was broken and kept turning to direct water at the wall.

    It was close to everything in the centre city. Good easy access to sky tower. Easy to get to by bus. The woman who was working at the bar in the evening was lovely. Tea and coffee provided. Bed small but comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.5
    Excellent overnighter between long flight from North America and boarding cruise ship
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is an older hotel, and there was no elevator. People with mobility issues might want to think twice.

    Great, friendly staff (and a couple of locals!). Interesting variety of in-house brewed beers. Free Wi-Fi. I was only there for one night, but think it would be a great location for a week or so stay to explore Auckland. For anyone embarking on a cruise, the terminal is a short walk downhill. A nice change from the usual North American chain hotels.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.5
    Beds were confortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tough climb up the 4 sets of stairs to our room. It was very warm in Auckland and there was no air conditioning and little air. But the price was right for what we wanted to payin Auckland. Staff helpful...kept our larger lugggage pieces stored on the entry floor

    Beds were confortable. Location great. Liked the restaurant deck on 2nd floor.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.2
    It was very pleasant and the staff were brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedrooms needed a bit of TLC but there was a painter and decorator in the room next door and they were washing the upstairs carpets

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. Very central and walking distance to everything

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    8.3
    Great value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have loved some coffee mugs rather then just the tiny cups in the roo.m. Also under blankets over mattress could be worthwhile.

    Great shower, fab location and Calum for money

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    5.4
    Wonderful service, great staff, great location. Just lacked a reason why this room was even allowed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not cleaned very well. Coffee stains on window sill. Carpet was very wet obviously from a leak above. Windows had to stay open as smell was that bad. Got apology from one staff member but other one said “we shouldn’t have been” then cut his sentence short. Mmm wonder why.

    Food and staff very good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.1
    If you want to be central and have a comfortable bed at a reasonable price, this is a good place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was clean but pretty worn down(room 9). Heavy construction on the street (not hotels fault but creates noise) Worst when windows are opened(no ac). Service was fine but not via email. We sent an email to get a early checkin but never had a response. We left another email after leaving to mention we had forgotten a jacket in a closet but again no response.

    Excellent location ! Nice bar and good food. Clean and comfortable bed. Courteous personnel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    8.8
    The Shakespeare worked well for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small on the top (I.e., 4th) floor with no elevator. They helped us up with our luggage (thanks) but we had to find our own way down with the help of another hotel guest. No shampoo, etc. No comfortable seating due to size of room.

    Proximity to CBD and waterfront amenities is terrific. Hotel is cute older style. Pub/restaurant on the second floor has good food and pleasant atmosphere with view over the street.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    7.1
    We loved the experience of being in a historical hotel, despite it's problems
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Being a small historical property it has no elevators, which we knew going in. We had to carry our 50 lb (23Kg) suitcases up 3 flights of stairs. No air conditioning or screens on the open windows

    This is a small historical property and that's why we chose it. We loved being over the brewery. We walked to our cruiseship. Very centrally located.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    7.9
    I think it should call itself the Shakespeare pub, with accommodation, this is no Hotel,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had four great days in Auckland so there was not much to dislike

    You need to put it in perspective, 4 nights for 420 NZ dollars and that's what it was all about for me, but I have had to be honest about the quality of my room, because I think some people would be a bit disappointed, in life you get what you pay for but it ticked all my boxes

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    5.0
    Adequate for what I needed as a solo traveler but poor standard of facilities in room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The facilities in the room were very tired and dated, there was no proper cover on the duvet, the room was generally not very clean with stains on the walls and carpet, although the bathroom was clean but dated. The balcony out of the window was difficult to access and hasnt been cleaned out there for a long time.

    Nice pub & restaurant. Hotel had good character being a old historic building, and the location was good, very handy to cbd and the waterfront. There was a small balcony, (however I doubt whether it was safe / consented)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    4.2
    Small dirty hot overpriced hole.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room small, dirty, pigeon poo in cuboard and outside of window balcony covered in it it, no aircon was stuffy, bathroom tiny and dirty, linen scratchy. Completely overpriced paying $130, only worth $50 really.

    The only good things were the staff and location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    6.7
    The location was perfect and the staff was extremely helpful.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is not a boutique hotel as it was advertised when i was booking. It is closer to a hostel in feel, although the room was private. It was fine to lay our heads down after long days exploring the city but it is definitely not what you want if you are trying to avoid cheaper or hostel like accommodations. Parking is also somewhat tricky as there is no designated parking you have to find street parking or a lot and pay.

    The location was perfect and the staff was extremely helpful. Any questions we had or anything we needed they were willing to help which we very much appreciated!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    5.8
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were on the 2nd floor and there was no lift, so we had to drag all our suitcases on the stairs. The room was old with a broken wardrobe... and my mum found a big cockroach on the self next her bed.

    Great location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    6.3
    Upgrade required.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed here before and thought you could not get smaller rooms. I was wrong because this time the room was even smaller. No air con. No lift and steep stairs. In need of upgrade, socket hanging out of wall.

    Locati

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    8.3
    Interesting, Good simple accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs. Top floor is away from noise but stairs are hard work with cases (4th floor).

    Location was excellent. Good for all things especially Quay and Waterfront area and just around corner from Skybus drop off and pick up point.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    5.4
    Ok location, firendly staff but very worn down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was really worn down, paint coming off the walls, no lightbulbs in two out of four lamps. There was no curtain so the sun shined right in.

    Good location and friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    6.3
    Did what we needed, overnight stay walking distance to pier.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Network cable hanging out of the wall, missing bed leg, exceptionally noisy outside, broken armchair in main Bar. Room so small I couldn't even attempt at swinging a cat. Stair well steep when lugging up luggage. OK for a cheapish one night stay but not for any further duration. Next time will spend a little more a go elsewhere.

    Central location, close to pier. Entertainment, restaurants all within easy walking distance. Good pub atmosphere with well priced quality meals.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    6.3
    Good spot if you are around in the city, and only spend little time in your room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The optics was remodeled, but not not our room. No ventilation, very old windows and loud street. Not a great combination. No elevator, room #2 is tiny and was not very clean

    Great location to walk around in Auckland as well as using the Skybus to the airport

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    7.5
    comfortable with friendly staff.
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    the rooms are well over due for a refurbish with replacement internal furnishing needed. there is furniture with handles missing and doors that wont stay closed. the bathroom needs a better layout, a tall person cant sit on the toilet. the stairs to the rooms is something that needs looking at, maybe an old style elevator in the middle of the stairs.

    it's very close to Queen St and Public transport centre. the bar is fantastic with great staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    5.8
    Very uncomfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning, no ventilation in the room. We were put on the top floor despite having requested a lower floor room weeks before check-in and having heavy luggage. The bed and the room are small even though it is called a queen room. No elevator in the building. Staff are courteous but not enthusiastic. No racks or hooks for towels in the bathroom. We found mould on the wall in the room. The decor looks tired and dirty.

    The location. It is within walking distance to the cruise terminal and other cbd attractions.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel above excellent bar/restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower head holder had snapped so we had to tape up the shower head.

    The building is beautiful with a bar and restaurant below the hotel. Although the rooms are quite small, they are very functional. The restaurant does excellent food and the bar brews very good near so this is very convenient. We got lots of free coffee/milk/tea etc which was nice. We also got free toiletries, these were replenished daily. The location is pretty central so very convenient.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    4.2
    Glad we were only there long enough to sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small, the pictures on line were certainly well taken as they didn't represent the actual room at all. The shower was broken and you had to hold the showerhead in one hand. There was only one light bulb in the bathroom. The curtains were broken. At least the bed was comfortable!

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    6.7
    Better than a backpackers, but not much of an upgrade
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You get what you pay for in Auckland. The room was up 3 or 4 flights of stairs, it was very dated & the colour of the walls just made it feel dingy. Could really do with a fresh lick of paint. There was no wardrobe space, just a hook on the wall. The room was pretty small (We didn’t spend much time in the room though). The bed side tables were all scratched up & marked. The shower was actually pretty big but again, it was just very dated. We wouldn’t stay here again

    Comfy bed which was made everyday as well as clean towels & a top up of shampoo, conditioner, body wash

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.3
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairway was quite dusty. On our last day we didn't have any hot water for showers.

    The location and of course the feel and atmosphere of the place due to the pub and restaurant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    8.3
    Convenient comfortable and cost effective
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift but was aware of this as told before booking. Also, no phone in room when so far away from reception felt quite isolating

    Great location Right in Central Auckland near main shopping and concert venues

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    7.9
    Convenient but poky
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are rather tired and poky... Could definitely be spruced up a bit to make the most of a lovely building. Even two people would be a bit cramped.

    The old-worldliness of the common areas is charming. The location is great, very central. Staff were friendly and accommodating, which I appreciated.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    8.8
    Comfy, quirky and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ongoing roadworks outside - but that can't be helped.

    Lovely quirky room, in a beautiful old building. Even with an ocktoberfest event on downstairs it was pretty quiet in the room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    2.9
    Shocking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The set up was shocking. I had 3 bags to carry up 3 flights of stairs and the staff memeber was too stupid to bother helping me but had the time to flirt with customers at the bar. The room was falling apart, broken draws, windows that barely held themselves up. Room is nothing like the picture! Should be $50 per night not $165.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    4.2
    Won't be going back.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Three flights of stairs (no lift) to a pokey little room with a window overlooking a wall. No hot water for a morning shower, which the manager assured us was temporary, but that didn't help.

    Semi-heritage building in a convenient part of town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    8.3
    Ideal for a quick overnighter.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was all we expected.

    Inexpensive. Excellent location. Historic building. Please note the previous point. The room was small and old fashioned. Other than that We would stay here again. Very handy to the waterfront and Queen Street. At present major road works outside.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.2
    Great location in the city centre of Auckland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift in the hotel. Going with the 20 kg luggage to the room located on the third floor is rather hard :(

    Great location in the city centre of Auckland. Brewery inside of the hotel with wonderful selection of craft beers. Rooms are very clean. Great service, atmosphere and personnel are the advantages of that place.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    5.8
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift. No remote for the Tv even after telling a staff member. Tinned beetroot and tough, raw beans with the lamb shank. Had to pay for the room on arrival so in house meal had to be paid separately.

    A good shower. Clean room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable, we'd return again, very central for our downtown needs, super clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Is there a way of suggesting closest and cheapest car parking facilities? We pulled into the Wilson one closest by, (across the street I think) rate was $48 for 12hrs, pulling in there at 5pm meant having to get up at 5am to add more money or move the car. We then went to Civic underground and paid $20 which was fair, but found the net day a parking facility closer by at the bungee chair $16.50.

    The room was so gorgeous and cute, as soon as you walked in you felt like you stepped back in time with some special old charm characteristic features in the room, instant impression of cleanliness and well presented presentation. The amazing bannister up the stairway, the entrance and gorgeous bar and restaurant (we didn't have time to dine or drink but it certainly looked old world charm.) We enjoyed our stay with adequate bathroom facility for our one night stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    Awsome love the location & it's retro look . old fashioned just like me lol
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    enjoyed our stay there & used the facilities available like restaurant & bar. great price just traffic considering rebuilding road.

    everything was perfect except didn't see no elevator or disability access to go up stairs. and it's a long way up

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.3
    The staff here were amazing, helpful, and available at all...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff here were amazing, helpful, and available at all times! When I left for the airport, I left my phone in the taxi which had been booked for me. I contacted the hotel and they arranged for the phone to be driven back to me!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    Amazing stay - will be back!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing heritage hotel, fun staff & very central location. Great selection o beers & awesome burgers from the bar. Walking distance to everything!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.3
    Fabulous weekend away for a birthday treat we will be back next year to make it a hattrick
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    outside noise for tunnel construction - but thats beyond the shakespeares control. Nothing else whatsover to not like

    Bed was super comfy. So close to everything in the CBD. Love the bar downstairs. Really nice vibe to the whole place. Staff are friendly and helpful. Love the fact the top floor has its own little mini outside area on each room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.2
    Just overnight, good experience.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great micro brewery bar on ground floor, nice restaurant on first floor, great location & ambience. Friendly, helpful staff... highly recommended. Despite being on fourth floor with no lift :-)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    5.4
    We've stayed before and our rooms were small but nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We've stayed before and our rooms were small but nice. This time the room was more like a broom cupboard. Aweful. Should not be offered as a room. Cheap and nasty! Don't stay in room #2.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.9
    Good wifi, good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Shakespeare was easy to get to using the airport shuttle which dropped us off just down the bottom of the hill. Our room was right at the top and we'd read other reviews that said about the stairs, but once you're up with your bags there's no problems. Our room had a kettle, free tea/coffee and a fridge. The bed was comfy and the shower was hot, and you even get a flannel! The food in the bar was good and the wifi was great. We went in winter and there was a heater in the room. There wasn't a curtain over the round port hole window but the bed was positioned round the corner from this anyway. The staff were very helpful and, for the price, this was a good hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    The staff were great, very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were great, very friendly. The Shakespeare Hotel and Bar is an iconic Auckland landmark. It's old so expect that. But the room was clean if a bit small. Shame I didn't get to meet the ghosts. The restaurant closes early so if you come in late looking for food, you'll go hungry. The room had a small fridge though, tea and coffee. No elevator so there are 3 levels of stairs. No complaints for the price.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.8
    Extremely convenient accommodation in Auckland CBD with a...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    TV only had channels 1 and 2 (no other freeview or any Sky Channels) However, I was out and about most of the time so this was not really an issue as I only required a room for somewhere to sleep rather then spending time in.

    Extremely convenient accommodation in Auckland CBD with a great bar and restaurant, with lots of other bars, cafes/restaurants and entertainment options is easy walking distance. While it is an old hotel my room was clean and the price was very reasonable for that part of town. The staff were also very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Shakespeare Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: