Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sherborne Motor Lodge 4 stars

94 Sherborne Street, St Albans, Edgeware, 8014 Christchurch, New Zealand

#43 of 163 hotels in Christchurch

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 179 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Family Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rick was kind to pick us up from the train station when our car rental company closed before our arrival. He gave us lots of tips on restaurants and local activities. The room was clean, spacious, quiet and comfortable!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely large room. Comfy bed. Warm. Bathroom was very nice, looked new. Definately 4 star. Lovely! Near to shops and petrol. Easy to get into the city. Value for momey. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were 5 of us so 1 had to have a fold down bed, which was fine; but when we booked we booked for 5. Everything else was fine just a little more room and extra bed would have been better ,sorry that should have gone under the nxt question we

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location for starting our NZ trip. Within short walking distance to restaurants, grocery and bus lines. The manager went out of her way to make our stay as pleasant as possible.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One Bedroom Family Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathmat taken away after first night so we didn't have one for the second night! I thought we'd hung them up as requested as they didn't need changing.

    Good set up with double in lounge and 2 singles in the bedroom. Great for a family.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing I did not like

    generally quietness of the location and the helpfulness and friendliness of the owners, even to the extent of picking me up at the airport at midnight.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were given a free upgrade to a better room. The owner went out of her way to make us welcome in a way I have never experienced before. She was amazing and I can't praise her and the other staff highly enough. I would highly recommend this motel to anyone who wants a good place to stay. Everything you could possibly want in the room was available.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Ricci, the manager went out of her way to help us with early check-in. She provided good info about the city, both in terms of sights and restaurants, groceries, etc. She also provided extra towels when she found out that my husband planned to visit a beach. The room was comfortable and had everything we needed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wet floor shower ok but water went everywhere whilst showering. Took bit of cleaning up. When turning on kitchen light a noisy fan went on. No aircon. Room very hot.

    Great wee kitchen. Shower was good. Good water pressure. Wet floor ok. Nice big bed. Decor lovely.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was good.

    Overall a very nice and clean motel. The owner Rick and Ricky are very friendly and helped a lot to get used to the close restaurants and sightseeing areas. City center is in 20 to 25 minutes walking distance.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Really helpful welcome from Jerry, who looked after a suitcase for us between stays. Pleasant rooms, decent wifi, and comfortable bed. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing.

    Motel is easy to find and have enough parking spaces. Room is VERY spacious with a fully equipped kitchen and a large bathroom. And the bathroom has a ceiling window! Landlord is friendly and helpful. check-in and check-out are both efficient. Internet is fast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spacious, comfortable room. A helpful, very nice host. Very reasonable prices. Good location: a quiet residential area but still within a walking distance to the city centre. A perfect example of a good NZ motel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Motel is a little tired and could benefit from refurbishment.

    The one bedroom apartment was quite large and roomy with well equipped kitchen. Parking was convenient. Location is a few minutes drive from city center. Helpful staff. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    very nice host, very clean, spacious and quiet room. Would definitely recommend and book again next time. Host even offered us free ride to airport next day without asking for it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NOTHING

    Conveniently situated to the city and attractions. Good parking making it easy to enter and exit the property. Small type property making it nice and quiet. Friendly staff and great service.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were given an upgraded room which was lovely to have the extra space. The bed was comfortable which was great as we needed a good night's sleep. The little extras were lovely too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One Bedroom Family Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is a definite 10/10! Rick and Ricky went above and beyond for us. Even gave us a travel book for NZ and arranged a baby cot and blankets for my niece. Recommended a great pizza place to order from when we didn't want to venture out in the rain. They even drove us to pick up the campervan! They were super helpful in general with directions and advice for our trip. The room was clean and welcoming. It was nice to have a mini kitchen with microwave and all. The beds were comfy and loved the heating pad! 20 minute walk to city centre. Service with a smile! Thank you!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was only a few blocks from the city centre and was great value for the price. The host was very friendly and helpful with suggestions of things to do in the city and organising a shuttle to the airport.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Family Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom paint was starting to flake and the water pressure in the shower was poor

    Spacious room with great amenities, comfy beds and warm with modern furnishings

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ensuite was very small. I struggled being comfortable as I made ready for the evenings event.

    Room was well appointed & bed very comfortable. A warm humid evening, but airflow through the room was good once you opened the nifty swing/flip window in the ceiling above the kitchen bench. No A/C, but no issues.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Family Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The two bedroom suite was well appointed and clean. It was very nice and comfortable and had a proper kitchen that would've been really useful if we were staying longer. The rooms are set well back from the road, so the little bit of traffic noise isn't an issue. The managers were super helpful and very nice. There are shops and restaurants just a 5 minute walk down the road. A really great place for exploring Christchurch from.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a known water leak so the carpet in the bedroom was very wet,sadly this was known by the owners but they still let the unit which was not professional .

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Family Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, we were very happy!

    Great place to stay. I stayed here a few weeks ago and liked it enough to stay a couple more nights on our arrival in Christchurch, and also when we were back after gallivanting around the south island, to stay another 2 nights before leaving. Barbara was extremely accommodating, from our 2am arrival time, to lending us a cooler bag for our trip! She also has posted my phone charger to me as I left it in the room. Would definitely stay there again!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Great location, quiet even though on main road. Very obliging hosts, changed our room without hesitation at our request as bathroom newly painted and paint smell was a bit too much. Very good stay.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's not their fault but access to the property was difficult at the moment because of roadworks outside the driveway.

    Plenty of room for the two of us. staff were helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    More power points required in kitchen. Had listed a king bed on booking confirmation - got a queen bed. Very noisy fan in bathroom. Couldnt turn light on during night if others sleeping as fan came on automatically. All minor things but stay would be even more pleasant if these sorted.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Being called at 9 minutes past check out time and told I'd better hurry or I would be charged $40 per hour for a late check out. I was running a little late, but the proprietor could have been a lot more friendly.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, clean and tidy. Comfortable. Good size rooms. Would definitely return again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff. Clean. Loads of filter coffee provided and unlimited wifi😊

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in the top unit is an issue. I had to remove the floorwaste cover in order to drain the water. Very dangerous for flooding.

    Was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ricki Jones, owner is such a nice person. Very helpful, friendly. We would recomend this clean property to our friends....

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent service, the lady is enthusiastic. An good accommodation makes you to have a good mood during the trip.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, quiet room. Very accommadating host. Extremely helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative to say

    Rooms clean and spacious, comfortable beds, very generous with coffee,tea etc. Very helpful hosts

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The owners went out of their way to ensure we had a great holiday ... even drove us to the rental car depot!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hostess was very welcoming and helpful. Bar nearby also had a friendly atmosphere and served very good food.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the bed was great and facilities we all we were looking for

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet, exactly what we needed. Given an upgrade.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just needs a TV in the bedroom. Apart from that, everything else was superb

    Was welcoming, warm & clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. Room is clean and spacious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bad to say

    Everything they provided from tea to necessities was very generous.Top location, very comfy bed👍

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and exceptionally helpful owners. They upgraded us free of charge. Perfecto

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Bedroom Family Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big and clean rooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hosts could not have been more helpful. Outstanding customer service.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were comfy, shower good, friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Welcoming helpful owner Well equipped comfortable room Walking distance from city centre

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bodum too small

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much.

    Well equipped comfortable room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Family Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything you need was there in the kitchen - plenty of PowerPoints etc in bedrooms - great location about 25 minutes walk to centre of city

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and comfortable, very friendly staff. Close to supermarket, good restaurants, buss. Within walking distance to city center.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great spacious quiet room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One Bedroom Family Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is great, clean and quiet

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got a very warm welcome and they helped us in every way. The room is great, clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfotable and friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    manager very helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good. Convenient & clean. No very close to city centre but also not far away.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nicely done up, cosy, and I got free upgrade to apartment!! :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Clean, comfortable, convenient, roomy, sunny and great value for money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice quiet location and well appointed accommodation.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great staff, nice and clean. Will definitely stay there again

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location; host Ricki could not have been more helpful. Shops close, or bus, or 20 min walk to city centre. Spacious and comfy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Family Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shampoo bottle is hard to use in the bathroom.

    The price is very good compared with others.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One Bedroom Family Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If we're going back to Christchurch we'll definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spa bath Enough room Not to squashed

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Clean, fresh, good location, and great staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a bit dated

    ricki was most helpful . Location excellent decor needs updating

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold until heaters kicked in

    Spacious

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic service!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Family Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place to stay, friendly staff. Will be back to stay again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No sky TV but OK

    Yes all good I had sky TV last time I stayed but all OK I had an early night

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved that the room was warm when we arrived. Curtains were closed and the heater was on, was very much appreciated.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was very comfortable and the unit had a good heater.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing really

    Spacious with big spa bath quiet unit .

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: