Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of SKYCITY Grand Hotel Auckland 5 stars

90 Federal Street, 1010 Auckland, New Zealand

#5 of 161 hotels in Auckland

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3343 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Perfect restful accommodation for me and my wife enjoying the hotel facility and services.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Accessible Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not applicable.

    Great location and beautiful hotel that catered for our needs. It was a great retreat for me and my wife to get away from busy family and work life for a few days. Everything is at walking distance and we didn’t have to worry about the car for a few days while parked. Fully recommend for a busy couple you needs a break from your busy routine of life! Great facilities - everything you need and we enjoyed using the gym and massage services as well as breakfast at the Hotel restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    4.6
    Room was really clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They still take money out of my credit card after I check out. I already paid everything that i should pay. if you don't want anyone reduce your money from your credit card for no reason then Just don't come to this hotel. And the male stuff who work at the front desk are incredible rude. he will not even say hi to you. Really bad experience.

    Room was really clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    Luxurious and worth the price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I personally didnt like the breakfast, I don't like having to choose between cooked (ex eggs and bacon) and buffet (cereals and so on). I found what to offer on the buffet limited and very much carbohydrates-based; but that's just me.

    The room was huge and with a fantastic view even for a room not especially with the view. The bathroom was also very spacious. The bed was super comfortable, loved it. All in all a great value for money, would reccomend to everyone.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    Great place to meet up with friends in a nice relaxed atmosphere. Great central location for seeing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Luxury Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needed a good dusting! Everything was clean just lots of dust on glass shelves and above the bed.

    Great hotel with fantastic facilities. Easy access to bars and restaurants. Everything you would expect from a top hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Facilities were great especially the pool, friendly staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Luxury Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities were great especially the pool, friendly staff and we were able to check in early as our room was ready, perfect location close to Queen Street, great restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.2
    Great place to go. We would definitely return to this hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Luxury King Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pool area and gym fairly mediocre, kids running around unattended by parents, lighting rather garish and the area just generally brought the tone of the hotel down. Also a party in one of the suites had to be broken up by the security staff, and whilst the hotel dealt with it very well and intervened after we complained, it was still an unwelcome event when we had been travelling all day.

    Just off the lobby, The Grill by Shaun Connelly was awesome - loved it! Every single item was completely wow, and the service was amazing - lovely friendly French waiter who made our meal so special. Also our rooms were great, lovely comfy beds and nice toiletries. Concierge and reception both very helpful and attentive. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location and very clean facilities, door man was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Luxury King Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was all great

    Excellent location and very clean facilities, door man was so lovely and friendly . Luxurious feel as soon as you walk in the door and our room was beautiful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    It was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sound rating to entry doors were not great. We could hear everything happening in the corridors. Not a big issue

    The bathrooms were nice. The gym, sauna and pool facilities were great. Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    The hotel made a mistake and forgot to leave a gift and card...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Luxury King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water from the shower always leaked out onto the bathroom floor.

    The hotel made a mistake and forgot to leave a gift and card which had been pre-arranged before arriving for my daughters birthday however this was rectified by a lovely birthday cake delivered to our room. Mistakes happen it’s how staff deal with those mistakes that makes a difference. Thank you.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.0
    Very clean and tidy room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Light switches to bathroom need attention - very hard to turn on

    Very clean and tidy room. Bed and pillows very comfy. Close to lots of attractions and restaurants in the city centre. We all enjoyed our stay, thanks.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    Beds really comfortable and warm room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Luxury Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Trying to work out the lighting but got there in the end.

    Beds really comfortable and warm room. We were upgraded which was a bonus so got a lovely harbour view. Shower pressure great and being able to go to the spa and pool was an extra bonus.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.1
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Luxury King Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing ... There is someone’s hair on the pillow. Do you think keep rooms clean is difficult? When I arrived before 3PM, I cannot to check in, that is pretty bad.

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.1
    Hotel good. Service could improve. Surprisingly lax for a five star
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Luxury King Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Human errors a few times. Had to chase replenishing tea satchets twice after mentioning it once. And room service forgot the butter one morning and was very late on two occasions way beyond the stated performance ETAs. More than an hour late is just unacceptable

    Convenient. Right at the conference

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.8
    Foyer ambience
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bottom sheet was not tucked in AND it was torn!! Sorry we find all the dark colours most depressing.

    Convenience to attend a AGM/Conference. The set of pictures in reception of Rhododendrons and Azaleas from Cross Hill's Gardens, Kimbolton, Manawatu. Last time I saw the set was in a Palmerston North Gallery. They are beautiful and in a perfect spot.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.3
    2 days
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Luxury Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is not far from the shopping area but further compare the service apartment around the hotel. This hotel lobby music is always not make you felling calm. Other room voices can be heard

    The hotel building is nice .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.9
    Amazing soft bed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ordered uber eats just before midnight and the concierge said they will bring my uber eats to my room then when it arrived the reception called and informed me that I needed to come down and grab it myself. No balcony Small room

    Amazing soft bed!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Just perfect!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had my mid winter work function in the Auckland Room (Convention Center) It was convenient, easy and a very short walk to the elevator to get to my room as it was on the same side would definitely recommend The Skycity Grand to book your stay 👌😊 (Also highlighting the small things they offer in th minibar lots I mean lots of choices at reasonable prices!)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.8
    Would stay again, overall had a great time Lovely staff throughout and Sean Connelly Grill 5 stars!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Luxury Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Other noisy guests, ... it's not helpful to find a party in the room opposite when you have arrived on an international flight and need to sleep! Hotel dealt with it well though and after giving the noisy guests two warnings they threatened to expel them from the hotel. The hotel also gave us complimentary movies for 24 hours by way of apology which was much appreciated. We didn't rate the pool and gym in the hotel, it was rather gaudy and could have been so much nicer with the right lighting.

    Comfy beds, plenty of hot water for the showers and baths, and excellent staff. The restaurant Grill by Sean Connelly just off the lobby is absolutely superb, we thought it was fine dining at a very affordable rate. The hotel is very well positioned for local attractions such as the Skywalk freefall off the Skytower and the bungee capsule for example.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    A little bit of luxury In the heart of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A sky TV guide in the room would have been helpful.

    We stayed here for our anniversary. I was blown away with our room and the service we received from the staff. Such a friendly welcome from the reception team.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    Was a good 1 night stay
    • Group
    • Premium Luxury Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought there would be hot food as well at the buffet breakfast. I was very disappointed that there wasn't and that we had to order separate from the buffet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Luxury Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is a bit slow but that’s pretty reasonable

    Everything. Beds are really comfy. Lots of channels on TV. Our room was ready at 7am when we arrived.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Luxury Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Organised a beautiful flower arrangement on my behalf for my daughters birthday waiting in the room with a couple of complimentary bottles of baby champagne and a birthday card. Had a celebratory mother and daughter weekend that started with a spa package in their amazing busy spa. So book ahead,you won’t be disappointed.Just the best time ,with comfy beds. Amazing staff from doorman, concierge to reception.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    6.3
    Generally very bad experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On our arrival day, the lady at the reception was so cool…… as cool as the weather in Auckland now!! What I booked was a double room, but what we got was a twin room…… no warm welcome no smile on her face. That's so strange happened at a 5-star hotel. No Bathrobe in room……

    Location is the sale point, I guess……

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable stay and looking forward to my next visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Luxury Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is only one thing that let us down there were no dressing gowns in the room and only one pair of slippers not sure whether this was a oversight or we weren't meant to have any

    As usual the beds were really comfy and the staff very professional and of course being so central to CBD we were able to catch the train to the rugby very enjoyable stay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.6
    The rooms are really big and had a huge window to look out...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are really big and had a huge window to look out over the city in. The soundproofing was excellent, we didn't hear anyone else during our stay. Our room had a decent coffee machine and some really nice features.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.6
    Amazing would recommend to anyone
    • Group
    • Premium Luxury Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having sound proof walls as when we stayed over we could hear the person next door snoring!

    The rooms were lovely and bed was comfy! Amazing bar and food!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.8
    Peras Review
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Luxury King Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didnt like that there was no stovetop or microwave to heat food up or to make something quick. I visited my parents at Western President Hotel and their room had stovetop oven, microwave etc which they only paid less than half of what we paid.

    On the upside, i really enjoyed our bed, our view, our robes/slippers and the bathroom. Absolutely stunning

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    Comfy beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Luxury Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Andys buffet breakfast was a let down. Very busy and not an ideal place to dine for young families.

    Pool was great. Beds are comfy and price was awesome.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Lovely comfortable and quiet room, excellent location with great restaurants to choose from
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Luxury Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The spa pool was extremely chlorinated, it was so strong it made our eyes water sitting in it so couldn't stay in for long which was disappointing

    Very quiet, roomy, and really comfortable beds

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent value for money with great facilities and perfect location for the City centre!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium King Accessible Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi had a poor signal.

    Really liked the rooms, shower and comfy bed in particular. Also, the gym and lap pool were very smart, up to date and easily accessible 24 hrs a day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    Excellent facilities; service missed the mark.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium King Accessible Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked two interconnecting rooms, and one was not ready at the time of check in, and was still not ready 3 hours later. Throughout this time it was challenging to get any information out of reception.

    Great room, restaurant, pool, proximity to town etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    Bed was comfortable, with a well presented, clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Luxury King Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Water tended to seep under the glass doors of the shower. Gym could do with more weights/bars. Relatively minor points of an otherwise great stay.

    Bed was comfortable, with a well presented, clean room. Staff very friendly, knowledgeable of the local area and was able to set up dinner bookings for me.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    This is a fantastic hotel that never fails us.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Luxury Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a fantastic hotel that never fails us. We love comming back to celebrate our birthdays or wedding anniversary. Rooms are Clean, modern, comfortable and have the best smelling soaps and hair shampoos. Room service is on point as well as relaxing in the large spa and doing laps in the indoor lap pool. Yummy , classy and well set up restaurants down stairs. Everything is so close by and always arrive at the Sky City Grand Hotel to friendly staff waiting at the door and reception area making us feel so wellcome. Can't wait to stay again at the Sky City Grand Hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Central location, close to restaurants, casino, shopping and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only bad thing i could say was the coffee pods weren't refilled when room was cleaned

    Central location, close to restaurants, casino, shopping and the harbour. Very comfortable beds and loved the decor. Awesome big tv

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable stress free stay with everything you need in the shopping and dining areas surrounding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium King Accessible Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More rain shelter in the smokers area.

    Fittness centre was great, wheelchair friendly hotel, spacious wheelchair accessible room and bathroom. In room dining is delicious, staff are very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    Awesome hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cosmetic products could have been better quality. Spa and pool closed a bit early for my liking as its winter and having a spa before bed would have been nice

    Perfect location! Walked over the sky bridge to sky city for dinner and casino had a amazing time at the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.1
    Fine. TV was an issue
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Accessible Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our TV wasn't working, and we advised the desk twice. We had 3 interruptions to repair and still no joy. We also were not advised if it was fixed after we returned. A real upset to the experience.

    We had a free upgrade for our anniversary and bubbles. Lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    Overall great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Luxury King Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for a bowl and fork (resources are limited) at 4pm. We were still waiting at 2am. This was extremely inconvenient. We requested from the restaurant PLUS two front of house staff.

    This was for an after-ball getaway for two. Lovely!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.7
    abit disappointed this time around
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Luxury Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    I am very sorry to say that on this occasion we had room service and i noticed on the bill when i got home that we got charged $20 tips. I know its a small amount but the principle of the matter is dishonest as i never signed for a $20 tip! To say the least we are very disappointed.

    We stay at this hotel alot so its usually always the same standard thats why we come back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.8
    A lovely hotel, our favourite and we will return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the service could be improved slightly. For such a large hotel, there needs to be better service. I should have to wait for half an hour for a dessert to be brought to my room and have to ring and chase up where it is, to be told it’s on its way and still have to wait another 20 minutes.

    I love the bed, so comfy and the pillows are amazing! The food is delicious also! I love how central the location is with so many restaurants around to choose from.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.8
    Great experience while staying there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Luxury King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff accidentally charged the wrong amount for the stay, realised weeks later and were very rude about the whole situation. Call center staff were appalling to deal with to make the original booking, which is where the mistake happened.

    Great experience while staying there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.9
    I liked the bath and shower in the bathroom & lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Luxury Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked the bath and shower in the bathroom & lovely bathrobes. The bed was lovely & comfy but unfortunately I didn't sleep well (maybe because of the air con). The room service breakfast was awesome.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    5.0
    Not worth the price.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was very noisey through the night, the AC unit rattled and clunked all night. the bathroom light switches were broken and hard to turn on, not convenient at 3am when you need to use the bathroom. The staff weren’t very friendly other than the first concierge that took our vehicle, which is WAY over priced. There was no guest umbrellas to use in the pouring rain not something you pack in your suitcase. Greatly disappointed compared to previous stays.

    The location was convenient for us.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.9
    Would recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air circulating through was a bit much.

    The front desk staff were very helpful and polite. The bed was very comfortable! We had a very enjoyable stay and it was a lovely room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    5.8
    Very average
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Accessible Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was charged for a spa that I did not have. Condition of our room was "tired". Paint chipped and it looked old.

    Location of hotel, being in the center of the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.8
    Location was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Accessible Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t like the bathroom arrangement with the wheelchair access. Would have preferred a normal shower, as the water drifted all over the floor.

    Location was great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.5
    Not a bad stay but I wouldn't pay the price to stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The heated pool did not feel heated and I would say was cold. The breakfast options aren't good for a 5 star hotel. I have mostly stayed in the Hilton and there breakfast is fantastic where you can order your style of eggs to the actual chef and he/she will cook them for you in front of you. There buffet is also bigger with alot of varierty with tea/coffee on the tables too. The breakfast is also included in the nightly rate. Also, there wasn't alot of option for vegetarians.

    Comfy bed and our room was ready early which was very helpful, esp with my little toddler

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Skycity Grand hotel location is perfect. All the staff at the hotel always willing to assist the guest (conceiege desk, front desk and the resturant staff). I will highly recommend the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Great hotel with everything you need
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing..

    The service was really great - everyone was friendly and helpful. We had room service and the food was absolutely delicious! We also enjoyed the valet parking which made checking in and checking out so straight forward.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Perfect location for your first visit to Auckland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were lucky to leave the day that they had a huge concert on the street outside the hotel that was VERY loud.

    AMAZING location and beautiful hotel. Check-in was quick and they had lots of ideas of restaurants etc. that we could go to. Basically walking distance to everything.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    Always love staying at The Grande.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a little problem with the heating in the room. It was way too cold and then we had it adjusted and it was far too hot and we couldn’t get it turned down. Not sure what the problem was was just a minor issue.

    Always love staying at The Grande. The staff very efficient and friendly and the beds are super comfy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Great hotel with a great vibe
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Accessible Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t fault anything.

    A great hotel in a great location. Loved the foyer and the artwork! Easy access to not to expensive parking. This hotel has a great vibe.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.5
    Loved the hotel
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking in I arrived around 11 I asked for possible early check in and they said they would ring. No one did and I had to hang around until 3 There were no robes in my parents room I had to ring early hours of the morning to get some when we came back from my graduation The mirror in the bathroom has 2 small screws sticking out of the side which I bumped my eye against and sustained a small cut. Not very safe

    Loved the hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.9
    Hotel in good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar was not always available for residents e.g closed at 9 p.m. Rooms were fine but would not rate as 5 star.

    Hotel in good location. Staff were excellent. Recommend Gusto restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    A great treat
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Luxury Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could be better signage in parking garage to get to Grand hotel as ended up in Skycity hotel, then had to walk across the city to correct hotel.

    Friendly staff and very helpful, the room was great, comfortable beds. Enjoyed using the pool

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.9
    We had an enjoyable stay, relaxing and enjoying the view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Accessible Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast it was not clear where to go. We had breakfast when we arrived on Saturday morning at Andy's it was not a good experience we did not want to go back there, especially after hearing the Chef say time the staff can you do me a favour send customers to fontuna, but we thought $42 in sky grand too expensive when we just like a light meal(Andy's bar would be ok if they remembered the customers there was only 3 of us there and we could see 4 disengaged staff members so with this ratio no excuse for the poor service

    Staff friendly the welcome back gift was an unexpected and wonderful surprise

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel and location, big comfortable bed, nice modern...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was abit annoying having to walk across the road but was manageable.

    Great hotel and location, big comfortable bed, nice modern bathroom with bathrobes and slippers too! Everything I expected from a nice hotel!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    Great accommodation for a great city stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The little touches. Gym is great with quality equipment and right next to a good lap pool and spa to relax after. Very quiet and you step out from your peace and your right in the hub of excitement of sky city restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place! Restaurants and the casino a plus!! My husband forgot something in room. After a few calls they actually called him back that it was found! Great news since we were flying out of the country in just a few hours!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    The best stay in Auckland - but breakfast should have been included in the room rate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Luxury Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only thing is that we wished the breakfast was included in the room rate. Many great breakfast options nearby, but when you stay in a hotel the breakfast is one of the most important parts of the stay - it was not there and extraordinary expensive to pay separately.

    Excellent stay - enjoyed the swimming pool and sauna facilities. We got chocolate in the room and was offerred a room upgrade to a high floor level with great seaviews. We were offered a late checkout with an extra extention. Really nice and friendly service. Very nice welcoming staff to help with the luggage.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    very nice for 24 h recuperation from travel and as a base to see auckland before we moved on
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    only offer for breakfast was buffet or ready to take pastries. i just wanted a little protein.

    we arrived in the morning and they gave us a key to gym/pool/showers which was divine after a long international flight - lap pool too! then, beyond all expectations they had our room ready not long afterwards - before noon!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Traveling with infant is never a easy stuff, but it's...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Luxury Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Traveling with infant is never a easy stuff, but it's nice to have some clean & tidy place, offering baby cot when staff noticed we're carrying a baby. So thoughtful. definitely will come back again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    Luxury Auckland living experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is not on the basement but under the adjacent building. Not convinent for people who has a lot of baggage.

    Good location with good hotel view to the city. Interior design looks luxury.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    5.8
    See above.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well, I rang up and cancelled my colleagues booking 3 days earlier then find out Im supposed to email booking.com thinking that is their 3PL provider. To find I got charges not only my room (thats expected) . Also my colleagues room - very pissed off about that. AND when I check my bank account theyve taken out a further $350. Never staying there again. My company send $34,000 per year on accomodation in Auckland and not impressed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Luxury Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not fill the hot water jug easily in bathroom sink View was directly opposite another building needed to keep sheer down on window.

    Bed was very comfortable Good selection of teas Concierge was very helpful Room was quiet

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Luxury Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was quite far away as you had to walk through main Skycity lobby then walk across the rd to Skycity Grand

    Bed was very comfortable, staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    5.0
    Paid Through The Nose For A 2-3 Star Experience..Read At Our Own Peril
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    So we walk into the lobby as a very well dressed couple with baggage. The person who checked us in didn't seem to happy to see us. It was awkward. We had booked 10 months in advance and had paid in full at the time. Immediately upon checking in we were hit up for a credit card, it was a bit abrupt and put us under pressure to quickly produce the plastic. We thought since paying in advance and being friendly and polite people, handing over our credit card is just a formality but we were made to feel like we had done something wrong? I'm still not sure what. We then had to lug our bags up to the 18th floor ourselves, is that part of the "5 star" experience? We entered our room to find the air con on max and the room was probably around 9-10 degrees Celsius only (if that). On this evening is was pouring with rain outside so we were very very cold in this "5 star" room. We turned the air con off but were surprised to find we couldn't turn any form of heating on, it was cold air on fan speed 1 or nothing so we just had to turn it off and put more clothes on which wasn't very 5 starish. When i peeled back the cover slightly to my side of the bed i noticed the bed sheet had noticeable smear marks on the white sheet, i was again disappointed. Someone's makeup? The Mrs went to make a coffee in the coffee machine and when she moved it forward slightly she noticed the benchtop was filthy underneath with old coffee and spillage. She cleaned it up on behalf of Sky City.... One of the lights above the coffee countertop was also hanging from the ceiling by its electrical wires....that was real 5 star luxury seeing that...

    So the location is awesome and the bed is very comfortable, the view is nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.2
    An amazing experience
    • Couple
    • Premium Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waiting for our room to be cleaned . Even thou we were out half the day.

    The bed was amazing. Also, that warm chocolate pudding with ice cream. Seriously the best of all chocolates. I would love that right now.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel with central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    View is not special if you don't want to pay extra for the harbour view (mine was to the hotel on opposite side and since the windows are big and you can literally see into the rooms on the other side, you probably want to close curtains when changing cloths..).

    Excellent hotel with central location. Room was modern, well equipped, spacious and quiet, comfortable bed, very clean and stylish bathroom. Good coffee in the room!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.3
    Very comfortable bed, lovely bedding.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Luxury Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    What a shame there is no lobby, misses some of the ambience of a lovely hotel

    Very comfortable bed, lovely bedding. Room was quiet, gym was good though only 2 running machines so I was pleased I visit the gym very early

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable stay and looking forward to my next visit in a few weeks choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Finding it very hard to find any negatives to my stay

    As usual the bed was very comfy and all the staff were very helpful and very professional made me feel very easy I was even able to check in early

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.6
    Gusto by Sean Connelly was delicious and a must.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Luxury King Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gusto by Sean Connelly was delicious and a must. Location was wonderful and loved having the casino right across the street and Albert Park + art gallery a short stroll away. We will be back

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.2
    The location to restaurants is perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air conditioning was a little noisey and not very efficient , but apart from that no complaints all staff where pleasant and friendly

    The location to restaurants is perfect! The check in and concierge is so simple and efficient , my fav place to stay when in Auckland but its getting a little pricey for what it is but like most things you pay for the location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.6
    The room is very clean and the bathroom is spacious.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium King Accessible Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It'll be better if the shower has a glass door to keep the water from spreading around.

    The room is very clean and the bathroom is spacious. The location is in the middle of the city center with various restaurants and cafes nearby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable stay, staff pleasant to deal with and the room was of good quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Luxury Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Size of beds - would be nice to have queen size beds as a minimum rather than doubles, super kings (as standard) would be awesome.

    Staff were very helpful and pleasant to deal with. Bathroom was well-equipped and decorated in a very pleasant manner.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: