Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of South Sea Hotel - Stewart Island

Elgin Terrace, 9846 Half-moon Bay, New Zealand

#6 of 8 hotels in Half-moon Bay

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 385 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Paid WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower pressure lacking. Bed too hard and milk was not replenished in fact on the second day what milk that was left in the fridge was removed.

    Nice location overlooking the bay. Quite comfy room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only 2 small gripes. I missed having a reading light by the bed as I am a night reader...but I have a kindle with a built in light so I coped. Always nice to have a side light at night time though. Only other issue was I am a great one for leaving the curtains open when I have a good view...as we did here...but the outside deck for guests was immediately outside our bedroom window. In fact, when we arrived, a bench on the deck was up against our window even...which I promptly & easily moved away. So if people wanted to, they could press their noses against the glass and look right in! I noticed that our windows were tinted a little which helped, and there was a note up saying nobody to use the deck after 8 pm for privacy reasons. We coped with it ok but felt a little exposed.

    What a great place to stay! We had 2 days on Stewart Island and were unable to rent a cottage so stayed in this hotel. Chose a sea view room and it certainly had that....it looked right out over the little harbour. We knew it was budget accommodation from the price, and were used to en suites, so were a little worried. However, the room was a good size and we had a loo right beside our bedroom plus plenty of showers a short walk away. No TV in the room but a nice cozy TV lounge to use if we wanted to, which we didn't. One of the best perks was tea & coffee in the room, but also help yourself on the main landing. Really convenient and even had a fridge there to put your own stuff in. Very good value for money, clean and a brilliant location & view! Great restaurant & bar downstairs...fab breakie!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stairway was a bit hard going on a 3month replaced knee, but that was the only complaint

    Warm room. Was unique having to share bathroom facilities, the upstairs balcony was superb for watching the sun rise. Ear plugs which were supplied were not required!!!! Meals great value for money and well cooked

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Motel studios well set up with cooking facilities. But the Hotel does lovely meals & breakfast's too. Great for once there were hooks & shelves in a motel bathroom. When I was called away to a family emergency the staff assisted me greatly in a most kind & compassionate manner. This involved managing our shorter than planned stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booking was messed up a little but luckily there were spare rooms. Humm from machinery out back.

    Old Style hotel in a special place on water front. Loved the feel of the place, with spacious warm room and using lounge upstairs. Had a superb breakfast in restaurant downstairs before tackling Rakiura Track.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom areas small and very old and worn. Shared facilities not that fresh and very dusty sideboards etc. Broken soap dispenser. Bedroom was clean though and warm.

    Comfortable and friendly. Great food, service and prices. Lovely views. Convenient place to stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is the obvious place to eat so needs a bar menu. The advertise one but its just the restaurant menu! Value for money???...well, this is Stewart Island!

    Excellent location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The problem with our room was that we were straight above the Bar down below and there was a mumble of many voices well into the night and then a pianist started up one night and played on until midnight. This would be why the Hotel supplies ear plugs in your room! Also the duvet bedding wasn't warm enough and if you keep your room wall water heater on through the night you can get overheated.

    A room upstairs near the lounge that looked out to sea. Toilets close by. Tea and coffee self service close by too. Good restaurant meals.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No sofa in our room

    Excellent food and much cheaper than similar restaurant meals on the mainland. Our room was warm and spacious, with a comfortable bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They need a soap holder in the shower

    The staff in the restaurant and the accommodation are very efficient and polite. It was a pleasure to stay there.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Needs at little TLC . Main light not working in bathroom, Shower :-( Kitchen blind broken, Fridge door broken.

    Clean comfortable bed and room with private facilities. Great location . Blue Cod Meal at pub

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    A private bathroom. It's an older hotel so most of the rooms share a bathroom.

    Charming and located right in the beach, with an excellent restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower was down the corridor , round the corner and along a bit further ! { Though to be fair I lived for 70 years without an ensuite , so what right do I have to complain ! ]Just getting soft !

    Great site , great view , amiable environment .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was not free beyond a 100 mb. The receptionist was helpful but had flat affect. No breakfast for a higher than normal priced room.

    We were right at the harbor and other facilities. The cleaning staff was friendly. The room in the motel section was spacious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving before the Sunday night quiz!

    These folks know how to look after the masses. They run a tight ship, they’re friendly, and very down to earth. I had a great stay, thank you 😊

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from our room and the top verandah was very restful. The blue cod I had for dinner both nights was absolutely delicious and my husband said the same about the grouper meals he had.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    With rooms above the pub you could hear the going on with the pub. But saying that they do provide earplugs.

    The location, easy walking distance to the wharf

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really it's a small country pub/hotel so it is what it is.

    Great location, easy walking distance to the wharf. Great pub and great food. They even supply earplugs since the accommodation is above the pub

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    We loved the food, there was so much of it! we ordered a main of mussels and got 27 of these fat, huge, juicy morsels. I had to help my husband eat his dinner there were so many of them. :-) all other meals were lovely. you have to book into the evening meal though as it is a very very busy wee restaurant. the hotel is a step back in time so don't expect 5 star accommodation, if you want that stay in one of the B&B's. the facilities whilst dated where all clean and tidy with radiator heaters in the rooms so you don't get cold. We had a balcony room which was lovely to wake up to looking out onto the bay. All the staff were fabulous to deal with. Nice and close to the wharf so when it is bucketing down you don't have far to go :-). must do the electric bikes, they are loads of fun.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really

    Fabulous views and quaint location. Restaurant food was first class. Staff very accommodating on checkout when ferry service was delayed three hours due to ocean liner birthing. Would love to go back again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location was great. The attached restaurant was excellent. The room was a modern and comfortable studio beside the main horel. This is excellent accommodation.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ideally placed in the centre of Oban. Easy walking to & from ferry, 4Square, Museum, etc. etc. Provided you can manage short steep walks everywhere is accessible on foot. Hotel staff extremely helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar manager should not have to work so hard and so long.

    We came back after our honeymoon 30+ years ago and found the property had chaged very little except the food was of a higher standard and the room quality was of a higher standard. Great to see the olde world atmosphere of the hotel was still there with all the past history still adorning the walls. Some things dont change and in this case for the better. Regards John and Margaret Maclean Timaru

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was above the bar. I expected some noise but a sing song until 1:15am one night was a little excessive. Was glad of the ear plugs and the fact I didn’t need to get up early!

    I love this little hotel! There is something wonderfully old fashioned about it. The room was basic but I had no intention of spending time there except to sleep. Love the balcony and tv lounge overlooking the bay. I ate in the restaurant downstairs and thought the food was delicious and good value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We happened to be staying on Quiz night. Didn't have to go downstairs to answer the questions (including one on Stewart Island and an interesting translate form, and into, Latin) as we could hear every word in our room. They did provide ear plugs but that didn't block out the tennis being watched in the TV room next door but one to our room. Shame may well be different on another day in the week.

    Fantastic location for the ferry and it has a great view over the bay. The roof terrace made a nice place to sit and enjoy our tea (watch out for the seagulls). Little park close by and a giant outdoor chess set. Close to hire site for electric bikes, supermarket and information centre. Given the chance to enter the weekly quiz night. Easy to get to where the Blue Penguins come ashore. Hope you have better luck as the night I went the very loud, slightly drunk girl shouting about "There's no penguins coming" frightened away most things, including the penguins!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room looked into the windows of other rooms so I had to keep the curtains drawn.

    Location is amazing, the view from the upstairs veranda is great for people watching

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room looked directly into other bedrooms so I had to keep the curtains closed!

    Being part of the pub is great. The upstairs veranda is an amazing place to sit and people watch

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt exposed in the room unless curtains were drawn. WiFi didn’t work-that’s typical for remote places like this, though.

    Restaurant food was very good & staff friendly, despite the “captive audience” of many guests at the main hotel & few other choices. There were many birds on the property including Kakas-native parrots.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Full payment for all rooms had been made prior to arrival. This payment was not visible and we were asked for payment on arrival. This was clarified and eventually the payment was found.

    Superb restaurant / chef. Food exceptional / great ambience and friendly staff. No problem to leave bags between stays. Really accommodating and helpful. Magic place.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't a kettle in the room but there was a tea/coffee station and the hotel was a little tired / old fashioned but they were doing work on it.

    The staff were really friendly and it is in a great location - a couple minutes walk from the ferry and plane drop off. There is a lovely seating area over looking the bay where you can relax and read or watch TV. Although all the showers and toilets in the main hotel are separate there are plenty of them and considering that there was a water shortage at the time the shower was powerful and hot. I would stay here again, it was value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The accommodation is very central. The restaurant has a nice menu and the service was friendly. There is a pub quiz once a week and the locals go as well. Its easy to meet people because everyone sits down at any table that is available.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is what it is... Right on the beach. Probably 100 years old. The heart of the community. Welcoming of tourists and locals alike. Friendly. Very reasonably priced food and drink given its all shipped in. Id go back tomorrow.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was super comfy. The rooms looked very new and were well laid out. We thought 29 and 30 were the best; a bit more private. Walking distance to everything in Oban.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very warm. The ceiling fan did not really cool it down.

    Very close to everything. We had a little cottage behind the hotel. Nice and quiet.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Did not know there was a variety of accommodation available. Thought by the photos we were staying in the 2 storied part of the complex with a view.

    Extra comfy bed - brand new. Nice and clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom over dining room. Could have had insulation under the floor to stop noise. No hand Basin in bedroom.would have preferred a motel unit at the back with own facilities but I did find the showers toilets etc in hotel nice and clean.

    Access to balcony from bedroom. Sunny lounge upstairs. Good range of food and prices.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found the bed a bit to hard for us, also ther seem to be a creaking noise coming from the roof?

    The South sea Hotel staff are very pleasant & accommodating the room was spacious clean & tidy, good bar & restaurant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location! An easy walk from the ferry terminal. Small, but comfortable rooms with adequate heating (it can get a bit chilly on the island, even in the summer!). I was a little weary about the shared bathroom/shower situation, but there were plenty available at all times and I never had to wait.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Unfortunately what let the score down for the hotel was three days in a row different aspects of our meals were forgotton - one night it was desert, another night our main, then for breakfast our coffees.

    Great central location for all the walks available. Very good food in restaurant but you have to make sure you book a table in advance otherwise there is a strong chance you will not get a table between the peak hours of 5.30-8pm during the busy visiting season on the island.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we stayed in wasn't properly cleaned after the previous guests had checked out.

    excellent location, 2 minites walk to the ferry terminal, steward island flights depot, general store and the informstion centre. The food served at the restaurant was delicious and the portion was generous. Crayfish in butter sauce was very popular.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location for accommodation right on the beachfront at Half Moon Bay in Oban. Only a couple of hundred metres from the ferry terminal and right next door to the 4 square supply store. It is the social hub of Stewart Island so with the main bar and restaurant it provides the opportunity to meet with the residents and locals. Great staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Great staff, excellent restaurant. Great atmosphere in the hotel. Quiz night on Sundays.. and visitors are welcome to join in if the ferry gets in on time, as it starts at 6:30. Handy location and seaview rooms are special.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little noisy from birds, early-rising people and traffic in the early morning, but they did provide earplugs.

    Plenty of showers and toilets to compensate for not being en-suite. Right by the harbour, it is the village hub and has a good bar and serves excellent food. The restaurant was fully booked both nights we were there, but the same menu is available in the bar. Great value for money

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom facilities are very basic. Hotel could be noisy.

    This is the place to be on Stewart Island of you like (local) people around you. Great views from the hotel. Very close to the ferry.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our patio door was at the end of the corridor . No privacy without closing the curtains. Everyone could see into our room when they went to theirs.

    Close to the ferry Hotel food excellent

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Roof on the unit creaking in the sun, made a lot of noise. Sounded like something was going to break.

    Location and friendly staff. Motel rooms were clean, comfortable and a good size. Would have liked more cooking facilities as room just had a microwave.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is such a quaint building that comes alive with friendly local vibe. I have everything I need. Bonuses include the excellent food and best coffee so far in New Zealand.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately the construction of the units is such that they creak and crack badly with heating and contracting, so whilst it might be quiet and peaceful with the beautiful birdsong outside - inside was a different story.

    It was warm and cosy, relatively private and suited our needs.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Honestly nothing to complain about!

    Fabulous stay, the pictures don't do it justice! It's the most convenient place to stay on the island, very close to the wharf. Lovely sea views, our room had a door out onto a large balcony and there was also an upstairs lounge with sea views, with tea and coffee making facilities for guests. Bathrooms were excellent, plenty of facilities for number of rooms and spotlessly clean. Room clean and comfortable. Restaurant and bar excellent. Whole place has a lovely feel to it- old fashioned charm!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We did not like the creaking of the roof in the evening as it cooled down from the days sun.

    Staff very pleasant, hotel restaurant very good with a good selection of beers and wines in the bar.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    An awesome little gem of a place. Beautifully restored & warm & cosy. We had a nice big room that was quiet & heard very little from the downstairs bar & restaurant & foot traffic past the door. Even though bathroom facilities are shared there were plenty of toilets to go round (all very clean) & the showers were bug & private. I particularly appreciated the pile of clean bathmats available so everyone got a fresh one!! The food in the restaurant below is to die for! We scoffed our way through the seafood selection & were very content!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The whole experience was fantastic but we were fortunate with the weather - brilliant for 3 days.

    Shower tray drain needed to be cleaned properly so it did not flood.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room wasn't well laid out, the windows leaked somewhat when it rained (and on Stewart Island, you can expect it to rain often). But who cares: Stewart Island is wonderful.

    You go to Stewart Island for everything you can see OUTSIDE the hotel, so the fact that the studio we stayed in was rather shabby and poorly laid out wasn't a big negative. The hotel has a great bar, and even though wifi access in the room was practically non-existent, it was convenient to go into the bar, order a beer, and use the wifi from there. We didn't try the hotel restaurant, but we can HIGHLY recommend the Church Hill Restaurant, which served elegant and very delicious food. If you go to Stewart Island, do take a ferry or water taxi to Ulva Island, to walk along the forest and beach tracks and see its marvelous birdlife.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the receptionist on the phone when inquiring to pay in advance and not very warming welcome at desk on arrival or leaving.Rather blunt.

    Overall good all round.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was great, coffee was also very good! Fantastic views of Halfmoon Bay, lots of photos documenting the history of the island. Easy access to beginning and end of Rakiura Track, Acker’s Point, Ulva Island.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Washbasins in the rooms need updating. Not that inviting to wash in as so old.

    Proximity to everything. Had a wobdwrful view over the bay from our room. Enjoyed mingling with the locals. . Real history involved with the hotel.. Very helpful and friendly staff. Comfortable , clean and warm.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stairs - but that is a personal problem for me, not the establishment.

    Wonderful meals. Easy walking distance to the local shops. Being able to put my meal a/c onto my accommodation a/c made life very easy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really it was great for our needs. Next time we will go though when the Island has more open and going on as a lot of things closed for winter, a shame for us making our first visit there.

    We enjoyed the atmosphere at the hotel and being amongst the locals. The staff were generally friendly and our units comfortable and clean. The meals were like good home cooking that was very tasty.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of ensuite facilities and room number 6 was a bit small

    The views, retro styling, one stop shop, convivial atmosphere, the lounge area on 1st floor was great and food was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one explained what we had to do to order breakfast or where to go. Shared toilets and showers.

    The food was good. We had lunchx2 breakfast and sandwiches. The location is convenient with lovely views over the harbour.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Early closing of the restaurant in the afternoon Fairly average breakfast and limited choice for breakfast

    Fantastic view from hotel room. Great atmosphere. Tasty, value for money, food in the bar. Shared bathroom facilities basic but clean and more than adequate. Friendly helpful staff. Excellent central location to explore from.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was hard and when we checked in the man at the bar seemed very 'put out' by it.

    Great location, very central with the restaurant/cafe/bar meters from room. It was quiet when we were there as off peak season however the locals were a delight and very welcoming. The room was large and clean with all the amenities for a lengthily stay. The cafe staff were lovely. We would go back in a heart beat!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The step at the door of room 8. There is a notice to remind guests, also black and yellow stripes on the step, but in the middle of the night getting up to go to the toilet, one doesn't always see these reminders.

    An old hotel that completely came up to expectations. It was warm and cosy (we were there in June). The location couldn't have been better. All staff and locals were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was a bit noisy due to the heating system outlet being at the back of the building [I am guessing that is what the noise was] and I found the pillows too hard for me, but that is all.

    The convenience of the location and being able to have meals in the same place. Their were breakfast choices of a simple "Tea and Toast' type to a full breakfast but all I needed was the simple one. The other meals were great, very generous Chowder and Wedges. It was nice to eat in the Lounge Bar as the Restaurant was closed for dinner [and lunch] but I wanted a drink with my meals anyway so that worked out fine, there was plenty of seating, both at tables and on couches so very relaxing with nice views. My room was nice and warm and the showers/toilets close by.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Given our short stay on the island there was nothing we didn't like.

    Situation,-just a walk from the ferry and right in the Oban township(!!) area.- The local bus tour and the trip to Ulva Island. Also used the electric bikes just over the road. That was worth doing! Went to the moving anzac Day ceremony on the beachfront at at dawn. Nice to be there and to share with the around 250-300 others. Considering that the permanent population is less than 400 it was a pretty good turn-out.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The two very small pieces of real fresh blue cod in my $30 meal would of expected bigger u shaped fillets or at very least 3 pieces for that price

    Yummy chowder . Bar prices are very reasonable given the location .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Better lighting in the rooms. Stronger light bulbs so you can read at night.

    The location was perfect to our needs. Good menus. Very happy with the room cleaning staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's 'what you see is what you get'; basic accommodation but a nice experience all around with lovely views over the bay. Also, there is the pub below, so you can pop down for a pint easily :)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food at the hotel restaurant was average and expensive. Fridge hadn't been emptied of used containers. Only 1 cup left for a double room.

    Excellent location, helpful staff. Comfortable room with good heating.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The unit looked clean but did need some attention to details, eg mould on window frames, and flys and cobwebs in kitchen window area.

    We stayed in the units behind the hotel, but still close and felt part of the hotel,

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The accommodation was quiet, warm and comfortable and the staff welcoming. It was located in close proximity to restaurants, bar, shops, tours and other facilities. The view from the bar and restaurant was stunning!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were appreciative of everything and the staff were very accomadating.

    T The meals were great despite the fact that there were no oysters available at the hotel until Easter.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to use shared bathroom facilities. The heating in the room did not work

    Location couldn't be beaten. Just across from the beach and the Ferry quay

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is right in the centre of Oban and perfect for accessing all the local sites. We stayed in a motel unit which was equiped with a useful little kitchen. There were good radiators throughout the unit.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Units we booked were given to someone else so we were put in a 3 bedroom house. In the process of being redecorated so will be good in the future.

    Beautiful location on the waterfront plus given a bottle of wine to apologize.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: