Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery by Sofitel 5 stars

10-18 Brunswick Street, 9300 Queenstown, New Zealand

#16 of 71 hotels in Queenstown

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 394 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.3
    Very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was disappointed that the room didn’t have a bigger window to enjoy the lake view. We had a one bedroom suite and we couldn’t see the view from ourbed.

    Breakfast was amazing and staff super friendly. The view from the restaurant was fabulous.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.9
    Room was excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor. Old reheated food, eggs over cooked, overpriced, no follow up or questions about an a la carte meal that was dire.

    Room was excellent. Housekeeping etc was excellent. Friendly staff all round.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Would definitely stay again!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location, reviews said a 7 minute walk to town but it was more like 3 minutes! The staff were amazing and went above and beyond with any questions we had. Would definitely recommend having dinner at Lombardo, the food was the best I’ve ever had. We stayed in the king bed apartment and the room was so lovely. The lobby was very welcoming. All taxi/shuttle companies knew the hotel so catching taxis etc was easy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Absolutely perfect, thank you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • St Moritz King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were so lovely, everyone always said hello. Late checkout was no problem. Loved the beds, robes and outdoor hot tubs. Pretty and short walk to town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Super comfy bed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • St Moritz King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super comfy bed! Good selection of pillows. Great room size. Good food from bar at good price. Sauna goes to good temperature. Everything was great! Will be back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.2
    Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We received an upgrade which we were very grateful for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • St Moritz King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot tub area a little difficult to negotiate. A microwave in the room and some utensils would have been helpful.

    Extremely comfortable beds. Staff went out of their way to be helpful and friendly. Bar service and prices excellent. Food in restaurant excellent standard. The view from the hotel is gorgeous.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.5
    Overall a very good hotel, with a weak spot in the restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • St Moritz King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant was disappointing. The maître d'hôtel was very cold and curt, as was the first waiter who kept us waiting several minutes before finding us a table in a restaurant which was three quarter empty. The food was not of the level it should have been for such a category of venue. We eat there once and never returned. My suggestion to the management is to review this part of the hotel because it clearly needs improvement.

    The hotel is definitely a good one. The lobby is elegant and welcoming, the room was large with a good bathroom even if the latter was pretty small. The sauna was great and so was the gym. The staff at the reception, in particular a Spanish, a French and an Italian ladies were very welcoming, charming and helpful. I forgot their names but they should be commended.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.5
    Over priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • St Moritz King Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room wass small and dark. The scalfoldings for some renovation works outside our room seen from all 2 windows didn’t help to lessen the miserable mood. The property sits on a steep slope so one cannot walk around freely (hotel did absorb taxi fare when we went back from town)

    A hotel with international standard. Room amenities are of high quality. Breakfast at the restaurant that has the beautiful view of the lake.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Top quality hotel with stunning views and a place I never want to leave.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • St Moritz King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The entrance is very welcoming including the staff at first approach. There is always a roaring fire and lovely scent in the reception area on arrival. The happy hour includes a good choice of wine/beer and with the stunning views it was too nice to leave so we booked into the restaurant. The food was great and restaurant staff friendly and efficient. Luxurious bedding and quality accessories can be found in the bathroom. Temperature was just right. We usually have a room with a view but this time we had the road view but it was still very quiet and larger in size. Overall once again an enjoyable stay in Queenstown at St Moritz.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    What a lovely hotel for a stay in Queenstown. Views are stupendous! Bedding luxurious! LOVE!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom King Suite with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pizza was less than average from the restaurant. Wine was good, and happy hour is a bonus.

    The bed and the room were exquisite! View was more than I could have imagined to wake up to the Remarkables in the morning!! Such a lovely place. I wanted to stay in my lovely suite all day, but I had some adventuring to do around Queenstown. Lovely tub to soak in and good wine list.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.5
    Ok but could have been much better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom King Suite with Balcony and Lake View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Was ok but $35 per day for parking is ridiculous. Food ok but not great. Room good. Views from room sensational. Expected more from an Accor top of the range hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.9
    A good stay but not great. Some inconsistencies
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • St Moritz King Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived we stopped our car in front of the main entrance to get our luggage out. Unfortunately there was no one outside to greet us so I went in to reception and had to ask someone to help. It would be nice if they kept an eye out on guests with cars and luggage. Otherwise the check in process was straight forward. We got a king room with balcony and lake view, however we were on the third floor (the main floor is the fourth) and our lake view was obscured by a building in front of us which was disapppointing. The balcony is very small and you don't actually need one (as there is no space for you to sit outside). Also, interestingly there was no complimentary water at this hotel (except for valet parking only). The first time, we called concierge from our room who delivered us two complimentary water bottles without any issue. Then when we called a second time, they were not aware of any complimentary water service but delivered us 3 larger waters instead which we were charged for later as we checked out. Just small things, but would be nice if everyone was on the same page. Also, not very apparent that there was free wifi - a memo in the room or a small mention during check in would be helpful.

    Beautiful foyer, good sized room, good amenities, and a nice restaurant for breakfast which looks out on to the lake. Comfortable bed and clean bathroom. The location is a bit away from the main city but we found this to be an advantage (nice 5-7 minute walk to the city). Valet parking is available at a decent cost but there is also plenty of free street parking not far away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.5
    Well located 5 min walk to Queenstown centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • St Moritz King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisey wastewater plumbing from rooms above woke us repeatedly during the night

    Well located 5 min walk to Queenstown centre. Beautiful, clean standard room with great amenities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Great location, helpful and friendly staff, we had a wonderful time in Queenstown and surrounds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • St Moritz King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The gym was very small with limited equipment; rowing machine needs maintenance BUT on the upside it was quiet and not used by many hotel guests.

    Great views, close to town centre, friendly and helpful staff, late check out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.3
    Not completely happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • St Moritz King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First night room advertised as lake view...on 6th floor no view except by standing on tiptoes and looking over window sills. These particular rooms should not be included in the price range. Fortunately 2nd and 3rd nights had room changed.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.2
    Good value in a nice quiet position with a lovely view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • St Moritz King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely comfortable bed. Lovely Molton Brown toiletries. Very quiet room, good lighting & heavy dark curtains made for a good nights sleep. Nice little gym & sauna.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable and pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • St Moritz King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were moved to a garden view room which was larger, better positioned and much more pleasant view. Thank you!

    We were upgraded at our request to move from a rear view room with scaffolding positioned at our window

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    4.6
    There was no air conditioning and the room window opened out...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • St Moritz King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air conditioning and the room window opened out onto the hotel driveway at street level so couldn’t leave the window open at night. The hotel brought us up a ‘portable air conditioning unit’ AKA a fan. Room was very hot and stuffy even in cold weather.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.9
    Lovely hotel with excellent customer service, however huge disappointment with the room view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Huge downside were the room windows both looked out directly onto a concrete ramp and one onto scaffolding (understandable with outside work being completed), however for the price paid we were upset with this room. It felt claustrophobic and it was even difficult to tell whether it was raining or sunny outside.

    Beautiful room inside with comfortable bed and lovely furnishings

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.8
    Gorgeous views and wonderful comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • St Moritz King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The construction outside our window and as you walked in wasn't the most appealing site. Understandable that renovations are necessary and the staff did their best to minimise effects on guests but it is unsightly and takes away from the otherwise serene and opulent atmosphere of the hotel.

    The bed was extra comfy, the staff were wonderful and the facilities were of a high standard. Would highly recommend staying here for a leisure trip.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    We had a delightful stay at this hotel. They just need to make Wi Fi free and simple to use.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • St Moritz King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dodgy Wi Fi that kept cutting out, was difficult to log onto, and was not immediately apparent that it was free to use in both lobby and in rooms. In fact you could get a lengthy period of free Wi Fii in your room - long enough to check emails, Facebook and do some browsing, but it was not clearly spelled out. There was a confusing log on page that offered pay options, plus information in the room hotel services handbook that communicated that free Wi Fi was only available in the lobby. A bit poor in a hotel of this quality not to simply make Wi Fi free everywhere. Also, the moment you check out access to any sort of Wi Fi is immediately cut - even in the lobby area.

    Very clean, comfortable and beautiful views.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful elegant hotel that feels like home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • St Moritz King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - We had a basic room, but the view was not so good due to construction work

    - Beautiful decor around the hotel - Chef was very knowledgeable there and was extremely helpful in meeting our dietary requirements - Lovely staff - Awesome extras in the room - Thought about little things that really make the hotel stand out (e.g. complimentary water in our car as we checked out)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.8
    I like mostly everything, the room was lovely and so was the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom King Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The manager of the restaurant was rude to me and incredibly rude to the other servers

    I like mostly everything, the room was lovely and so was the food

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • St Moritz King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was a little dark and felt the exterior was dated.

    The rooms were beautiful, very comfortable and obviously recently updated. The bathroom was very luxurious and exceeded my expectations!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.5
    St Moritz was ok, wouldn't recommended it though
    • Couple
    • St Moritz King Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed we paid almost $500 for a room for one night with Lake views but had to glimpse Lake through sky aerials and property roofs. ALso disappointed that whilst we did not book we could not even eat in the restaurant in house as was fully booked.

    The location from town great - room very comfortabled

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.8
    Excellent customer service - very helpful, pleasant, prompt...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom King Suite with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    In-room dining was sub-par - food was overpriced and of average quality.

    Excellent customer service - very helpful, pleasant, prompt and accommodating staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.6
    Great location, close to town with fantastic lake views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom King Suite with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to fault ! The hash browns were a bit soggy at breakfast!

    Great location, close to town with fantastic lake views. Beautiful spacious room with high quality decor and fittings. We had a balcony with amazing lake views. Very friendly and professional staff and excellent service in the restaurant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.9
    A night in Queenstown
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • St Moritz King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price didn't reflect the room. Very steep hill to climb if you decide to walk to town. The staff were robotic like. Over eager to please.

    The view from the window was spectacular. The staff were very helpful. The room was very clean and tidy

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    4.2
    Stay somewhere else! No good value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • St Moritz King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No good value for money. Dark and used room, view into car park, very loud air condition for 250 € per night! Arrogant staff! Better room only for additional charge.

    Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    10
    Overall very good . Would definitely go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • St Moritz King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view from room. Overlooked a concrete wall. Therefore no natural lighting in room.

    Staff really friendly. Particularly Nick in the bar and Liam on reception

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    6.3
    Ok but not spectacular.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom King Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you need access to Wifi this is not the place for you. Over the 4 night stay wifi was intermittent with a need to login and logout continuously. Numerous enquiries to staff didn’t seem to fix the problem.

    Valet service easy and reliable. Restaurant view is stunning.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    7.1
    Good location and lovely rooms, service just needs to be worked on.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • St Moritz King Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service by front desk good but seemed to lack 4 or 5 star service you would expect from all other hotels we frequent in this category. No concierge on arrival, restaurant staff quibbled over a free drink as room not ready and things just not seamless as you would expect.

    Bedroom beautiful and very lovely decor as recently renovated. Balcony had great view.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    9.6
    Nice luxury hotel with an excellent location.h
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • St Moritz King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was just above the main driveway valet drop off detracting from view and privacy. Room layout was narrow. Same problem with assigned room at the Sofitel in Auckland.

    Hotel staff was professional and very courteous. Restaurant food was exceptional as was the hotel dining room view and decor. Luxury standard and view from the hotel were also excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    8.8
    Wonderful. It was a return trip and I will certainly be back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom King Suite with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was wonderful. Reception staff pleasant , but not totally onto it.

    The position is fabulous and the views across the lake onto the Remarkables absolutely amazing. I had to set my alarm for 5am to watch the dawn breaking and sky changing. The view was serene and restoring as well as exceptionally beautiful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    9.2
    Excellently located hotel by the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • St Moritz King Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it was not apparent that there was not supposed to be a view from the room, just view of the bushes. Air condition was set at 25oC, which was insufficient in a room with relatively low ceiling. Wall decor was on a darker side.

    Nice property, with fabulous view from the restaurant, comfortable bed. Having drinks at night with a lovely view was certainly a bonus.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.6
    Lovely central place to explore Queenstown without needing a car
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • St Moritz King Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room air conditioning was broken, had a portable unit but it struggled in the heat. Apologetic and promised a different room for our next visit.

    Incredibly friendly and obliging. Lovely view out over Lake Wakitipu

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    9.6
    One word: Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • St Moritz King Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived 10am, but something went wrong between booking.com and the Hotel around the booking and our booking wasn't registered. Nonetheless the super friendly staff sorted it all out with a smile, upgraded us to a fab room with lake views and kept us informed about the availability of the room while we enjoyed a wonderful spring afternoon in sunny Queenstown. Outstanding service.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • St Moritz King Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the amazing view ,delicious breakfast ,great service,tasty cocktails..

    Had amazing view from my balcony room, staff was so helpful and the hotel was in perfect position near the town ,overall had incredible time 👌🏻

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    7.9
    Cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • St Moritz King Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I bòoked for 3 adult but only 2 single beds in the room. I stayed in the ground floor with "mini garden" view after being upgraded ??? Wifi was not stable and limited. No parking ...additional cost for valet parking. Bit overprice for what I got.

    Cleanliness The room and equipment is relatively new

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    9.6
    Luxurious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • St Moritz King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one who pays that much for a hotel room should be expected to pay even more for parking and/or wi-fi.

    Great location to walk into Town. Hot cider on arrival. Valet parking. Beautiful views. Not too crowded so staff available when you need something.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    The staff and overall level of customer service was sensational.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom King Suite with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The staff and overall level of customer service was sensational. The location was also top notch with great views of the mountains and lake. Have already recommended to friends and would absolutely stay again on my next visit to Queenstown. Many thanks!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Lovely accomodation, staff and amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The view in our room.

    Very stylish, comfortable and clean. Really was appreciative of the pillow menu as this is often a problem for me. The only disappointment for us was that we didn't get a room that had the gorgeous view. We got to look at the driveway. Would have thought that when they knew it was our 25th anniversary they may have treated us but oh well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.8
    Comfort with value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • St Moritz King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is more expensive.

    Excellent position, 5 min walk into town. Great view from dining room and apartment. Central to short drives to outer towns. Bus upto the ski slopes.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    Fabulous location and superb service .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • St Moritz King Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not find s fault at all . Slept like a log too !

    Fabulous location and superb service . Really excellent European standard service from enthusiastic and excellent staff ! Really really made our stay . A divine view and tremendous dinner and breakfast were unbeatable !

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    We loved our time at St Moritz and would definately stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • St Moritz King Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    We both loved our stay at the St Moritz. The staff were wonderful. We were so lucky and grateful to have a free upgrade when we arrived. Everything was perfect. I highly recommend anyone to stay here. They are so thoughtful. It is valet parking but every time we received our car there were 2 bottles of water in it for our trip. Every one was very polite and went out of their way to make your stay feel special. They give you a free taxi ride up the hill from town for every night that you stay. The hill is a little bit of a climb but if you don't want to walk you can take the taxi ride.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Great place, great views, great food and service, wonderful stay.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • St Moritz King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found the bed a little hard but my partner didn't. He, however, hit his head on the low ceiling area. Would still be happy with the same room again, though.

    Excellent accommodation and service. Look forward to returning.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Views, well appointed, a funky bar and restaurant. Its all at St Moritz Queenstown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom King Suite with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The St Moritz is wonderful! We had a suite with a lake view. The bed and linen was devine! The staff are warm and friendly. My husband and I stay in Queenstown regularly and we will be back. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    6.7
    Underwhelming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact the room was not ready for check-in and was an hour late before we could take occupancy. Drinks vouchers to compensate did not 'hit the spot'. Young woman serving in the bar did not add lemon to g & t or vodka & soda and when asked used her fingers to put the lemon in our drinks. Tongs would have been far more appropriate surely! Service poor considering it is a 5 star rated hotel. An e-mail 2 days after our stay questioning items taken from the minibar in a different room number to the one we occupied. Unprofessional.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    4.6
    Somewhat disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • St Moritz King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    From a value for money perspective, this hotel is way over priced Feint but consistent smell of "drains"

    Big room Ski store/drying room Friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    10
    Comfortable, warm and food was delicious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • St Moritz King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walk up the hill!

    I loved the welcoming and cosy feel of the hotel. The staff were very helpf and our suite was clean and beautifully presented. We would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    8.8
    It was free (wedding gift from friends).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • St Moritz King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for credit card on check in even though it waa a wedding gift & fully paid for. No wedding effort made by hotel. Did not offer our friends a champagne package (paid or otherwise) & only cookies left 😕

    It was free (wedding gift from friends). Lovely view & location. Excellent bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • St Moritz King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was fabulous and the staff couldn't do enough for you! All nationalities of staff and all very helpful. The breakfast was lovely and fresh with an awesome "egg bar" Breathtaking views over the lake! Hot tubs outside for apres ski and champagne!! Everything was outstanding We shall return

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.6
    Classy hotel with a great bar and excellent food
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • St Moritz King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bed was OK but could be better - but I do like firm. Air-con type heating could be lowered only to 19C. Too hot for us to sleep -we turned it off at night and fortunately were on level 7 under the roof, so cooled off quickly. The breakfast menu was a bit confused - "continental" was quite good, but not enough fruit.

    Classy warm hotel, excellent evening menu in restaurant, probably best food in the whole town. Fixed price for two or three courses deals on offer. Bar service a bit variable but overall excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    9.2
    Perfect Queenstown winter retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • St Moritz King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish the lake view rooms had balconies so you could step outside and enjoy the spectacular view a little better from your room. I also wish they had better coffee making facilities in the room. Most 5 star properties these days have Nespresso machines or something similar. Apart from this I could barely fault it!

    Felt very comfy and inviting whilst also being very luxurious. Walking distance to the centre of town. They upgraded us to a gorgeous lake view room free of charge and had cookies and a birthday note for me waiting in the room which was a nice surprise. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud and they even had a pillow menu

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    5.4
    When booking online, normally the calendar pops up with...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • St Moritz King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When booking online, normally the calendar pops up with todays date, and so I booked for a work trip for the following week. When I arrived, I discovered the booking was for the following month!!! So, the calendar dates on this website was set incorrectly. And the staff were not at all supportive. I will think about booking here again!!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    6.7
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • St Moritz King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff were not welcoming at all but must say the last day their was one reception staff I think her name was Daniella she was excellent

    The location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    8.3
    Friendly and helpful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • St Moritz King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Showering caused a large amount of water to spread out across the bathroom floor. In a cold climate like Queenstown, this is an issue when the cold water pools on the tiles. Better shower seals / drainage would help. Heated flooring and heated towel racks would also make the bathrooms much more comfortable and practical.

    Friendly staff were very helpful throughout our stay. The lobby of the hotel is beautiful and inviting. Location is also good, very handy to CBD. Complimentary taxi from CBD to hotel was also much appreciated. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    10
    Amazing hotel close to the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom King Suite with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    To get to the hotel walking from the city there is a hill, really steep. But it is not really a problem if you get the free taxi they provide, unless you are gonna do it more than once a day. Also good to know that the view from the room (third floor) is partial. 50% of the view is of the building in front of the hotel.

    Beautiful room, clean, comfortable, close to the city. They provide one free taxi a day from the city to the hotel, which is super handy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    10
    Loved this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • St Moritz King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really disappointed with the value of the breakfast!! We decided to treat ourselves on the last morning to the buffet breakfast and regretted this as it was underwhelming. It was very basic for the $40 price when you can get a hot breakfast for $10 at pubs in town which I enjoyed a lot more.

    The stay here was so nice and we were very happy with our room. The free taxi ride a day was a great surprise! Lovely staff too.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    10
    Fantastic stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • St Moritz King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very happy with the friendly staff, the stunning views all around the hotel & the warm fireplace at the entrance! Oh, not to mention the beautiful warm welcome drink upon arrival. Very pleased, thankyou for a lovely time!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    Luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom King Suite with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    n/a

    This was a gift to my husband and I and we felt really pampered from the moment we walked through your doors. A very inviting atmosphere, great staff, a luxurious room. It was a real treat for us, right down to the bottled water left in our vehicle when it was returned to us.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    10
    A little piece of Europe in the middle of New Zealand's most beautiful place
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • St Moritz King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room configuration was not actually as offered but it didn't matter in the least! Everything about this hotel is great.

    Quality hotel in every way. Has a scale that makes it feel like a luxury lodge.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    7.5
    Great view but go out for breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • St Moritz King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was terrible. All the food was "supermarket" food -- sliced bread and cereals -- very ordinary.

    The bed was very comfortable and the view was wonderful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    9.2
    Great Hotel - Highly Recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • St Moritz King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only downside is the hotel is situated on a very steep hill which wasn't a pleasant walk!

    Great valet service the minute we arrived - easy check in with a free upgrade. The room was the biggest we had in NZ with a large lounge, kitchen and outside area. Staff were very helpful. Hot tub was nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    5.0
    Totally overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • St Moritz King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Totally overpriced. $1000 for 3 nights in a standard room with windows that open to the busy driveway is totally unacceptable.

    View from thecrestaurant

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    8.3
    Nice boutique type hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • St Moritz King Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Valet parking only. Just park on the street and save $20.

    Nice hotel just a short walk to the shops and main cbd. Nice facilities. Good outdoor spa. Restaurant was pretty good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • St Moritz King Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really , the hill is a bit step but helps burn off all those calories you consume !! They also offer once a day taxi ride back if you can't face it

    Extremely fortunate we had a balcony view, expensive but worth the treat. Wonderful views, room comfortable and the bed was very cosy.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    9.6
    Stylish and welcoming hotel just a few minutes walk to the shops and restaurants of Queenstown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • St Moritz King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very spacious with a large separate lounge area and small kitchenette. Bed was extremely comfortable and great décor throughout. The staff were all very helpful and friendly and the property was well located being just a few minutes walk to shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    6.7
    Excellent Accommodation BUT
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom King Suite with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accommodation was a one bedroom suite with lake view and balcony however beware the balcony is not a balcony but could only be described as a small ledge. You could barely stand out there. We wanted a balcony that allowed us to sit outside in the late afternoon to soak up Queenstown. Also in the kitchenette the stove top was broken were we could use at all. The several requests to repairs met with no action or communication.

    The accommodation is situated in an great spot overlooking Queenstown and the surrounding mountains. The one bedroom suite was clean and modern

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • St Moritz King Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was directly below the restaurant and hence there was noise above. On request the staff kindly found us another room away from the noise

    Beautifully furnished room, great location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    10
    Favourite place to stay in Queenstown
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    But we we travelling in a large 15 Seater Van and the lack of valet parking for it meant we have to park 10 minute s walk from the hotel , which was less than ideal

    Great Hotel overall, which despite being large has a small hotel feel to it. Is a stroll from the city centre but also maintains a sense of being quiet and removed form the hub-bub of Queenstown.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.5
    A lovely Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Lombardi restaurant was ok but for the price I'm afraid didn't quite hit the mark. We would definatley stay at the hotel again but would probably bypass the restaurant.

    The staff were all very helpful and the main hotel areas and our room was spotlessly clean. The quirky robes in the room were lovely as were the Moulton Brown toiletries.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    9.0
    Very enjoyable stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • St Moritz King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit of a wait for our room, and there was a banging noise coming from up stairs that started at 6.30am (kitchen?)

    The room was nice and quiet most of the time

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    5.8
    Nice but didn't appreciate the extra charges
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • St Moritz King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above

    Hotel charged me an extra breakfast in order to book in two people as original booking only went in for one despite breakfast being included- also an upgrade to a lake veiw cost $220 for two nights when the booking.com didn't stipulate what view the room had despite picking one of the largest and most expensive rooms - very disappointed- won't be booking at this hotel again

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    9.6
    Loved this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • St Moritz King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    View could've been nicer, but we saved a little by not upgrading.

    Loved this hotel. Friendly staff and great location. The room was big and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: