Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Stamford Plaza Auckland 5 stars

22-26 Albert Street, 1010 Auckland, New Zealand

#26 of 161 hotels in Auckland

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2947 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lighting in the room as it was very dark , must have the option to light the room specially for reading

    excellent breakfast better than any other hotel I have been, very good bar and dinner options and cleanness also loved the spa and swimming pool

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.2
    The room was excellent with a beautiful view to downtown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was excellent with a beautiful view to downtown. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is truly beautiful from the inside interior. In particular, the bathroom was great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    Excellent stay
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting not enough in room and coffee at breakfast

    The service, cleanliness, comfort, other facilities such as pool and gym, breakfast, location, friendly helpful staff etc etc

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.2
    Comfy bed . Good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was really nice had a good little range of things . They upgraded me for free which was nice . Room was tidy . Short walk to wynard quater

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No advance warning of how hard it was to turn into hotel if coming from wrong direction. For people from out of Auckland not familiar with the directions it took us over 30 mins to work out how to get back to hotel . Valet parking only option for parking and receiptionist couldnt really help with alternative.

    Lovely room with comfortable bed, lovely toiletries and bathroom. Great location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    6.7
    Enjoyable, if a bit noisy. Recommended
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The train tunnel is being built directly infront of the hotel. This caused alot of noise during the day and this also made access difficult to and from the hotel. But once that is finished this would be a prime stay.

    very comfortable and clean. Friendly staff. I needed a smaller pillow and they organised this without any fuss.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Happy with our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Metro construction in front of the hotel... But not that noisy in the bedroom.

    Classy executive style decoration of the bedroom... Breakfast is excellent... Staff extremely professional. Location is the must.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Nice room nice staff and good restaurant when we were having...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice in everything but need main lights in the suites above beds abit to dim at night

    Nice room nice staff and good restaurant when we were having dinner and some drinks had a awesome guy playing the gutair and singing awesome

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.6
    unfortunately there are large construction works out the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    unfortunately there are large construction works out the front and the middle of Auckland is quite disrupted due to the work. room to drive is not very good and it is a little difficult to get to the hotel unless you are on the right road as a lot of roads are closed off. google maps doesn't pick this up. still well worth the stay when u get there. food is yum

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.2
    Will stay again and again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was too hard for my liking but this is just an individual taste. Parking is too expensive and we chose to go to City Park for $25 per 24 hours just two blocks away. It was difficult to access the hotel with the construction going on, and the one way streets, this added almost 30 minutes to our arrival time just driving around to try to access hotel. None of these things would keep me from staying again. ITs a lovely hotel and we loved our stay.

    The sheets are silky and soft. Loved the body cream. Loved the detail of a long headboard to put stuff on, and same with the extra long luggage shelf with shoe/shopping storage under neath. The make up mirror is great and offered perfectly soft bathroom lighting in the night. Quiet rooms. Nicely maintained. The art in the rooms is great, and the huge wide windows are fantastic.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    We got an amazing rate to begin with and then when we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant wasnt open on the Sunday night, which was the only night we stayed at the hotel and were really excited to go there only to find out it wasnt open that night - but its understandable that they need to give their staff a break so it wasnt the end of the world.

    We got an amazing rate to begin with and then when we arrived at the property, we were complementary upgraded and everyone that we came into contact with in the hotel were amazing - super friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    3 Day lay over in Auckland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for a early morning check in the room was ready when we arrived at 0700am which was a big plus after a long flight. Nice room Plenty of space. The hotel was in a perfect location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.6
    Rest time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Miner mistake on our bill but was rectified once I brought it to there attention. Should of been asked to check the account before finalizing

    Facilities and comfortable room. Helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.1
    It’s an excellent hotel, with big, comfortable rooms and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whilst the confirmation email does mention the very difficult access by car due to the new city rail link being built, it’s down near the bottom of a big email and I missed it. I would have liked someone to ensure I knew how hard driving to the hotel was going to be. When I mentioned this at the desk, there was no apologies, just a blunt “you should have read the email” comment. Also, the tv has a volume limiter, to prevent disturbing others. Not a bad idea, but the pay to view movie I wanted to watch was impossible to hear. Thankfully I got a refund! Not major gripes, but a bit disappointing.

    It’s an excellent hotel, with big, comfortable rooms and good room service

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.9
    Attentive staff, comfy bed & great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was difficult to get into the hotel with the road works going on but not too much of a drama.

    Bed was comfy, staff helpful and room service delicious (just a bit pricey)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    I would definitely stay there again.
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    During the day it was quite noisy because of roadworks.

    Helpful, friendly service. Pleasant rooms and big bathroom with separate toilet. Fabulous buffet breakfast. Convenient location. Great pool and gym.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.5
    Centrally located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    House keeping kept coming into our room after it was clean. They would knock as they were opening the door, assuming no one was there. The remote for one of the tvs was missing and there was no “hotel book” explaining the hotels facilities or locations. The breakfast each morning was exactly the same and most mornings the hot food in the buffet was Luke warm.

    Centrally located.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    A GOOD CHOICE.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing !!!

    Easy and quick check in, central location, excellent breakfast choices and is close to airport bus service which is a much cheaper option than taxi.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.6
    The staff were so friendly and polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Roadworks outside although noise was not an issue. Derelict buildings opposite with homeless living in them.

    The staff were so friendly and polite. The hotel was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Top Notch
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything.

    The bar was open when we came in late from a concert on a Monday evening so a nightcap was simple and easy to obtain. The valet car parking was exceptional, very quick to get our car when we needed it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Stamford Comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The concierge. She was wonderful!!! Really went out of her way to help us. Even went to other staff members to get recommendations on where we could go to eat!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.9
    Good place in the center!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We didn't like the hairs in the bathtub although the place was super clean, only this detail was a bit shocking. They forgot to clean our room also but it didn't matter because we've only stayed 2 nights. We didn't stay long enough to enjoy the facilities. 3 nights would have been better I think.

    We liked the bed and the fact we could check in much earlier than planned. We would have liked to try the Japanese restaurant but we missed our only chance because we were partying, our mistake. We liked the room service.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Honeymoon in paradise
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff we're super helpful and kind which made our stay stress free and gave us reassurance that anything we needed or wanted would be met with a smile and amazing customer service

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.2
    Great facilities and restaurants, staff very polite and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction work on road outside hotel made it difficult to access. GPS didn’t work as road is cut in half due to work being done and can’t access hotel unless traveling up the road from the waterfront..

    Great facilities and restaurants, staff very polite and extremely professional

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    9.2
    Excellent, apart from the two areas commented on
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The space in the tiling around the shower mixer, was larger than the mixer and was mouldy / not up to standard. The cost of the parking was exorbitant, particularly in view of the current poor access to the hotel with the ongoing road works which , although not your fault, is quite off putting

    Quiet room, with a very comfortable bed. The concierge service was excellent, friendly and prompt. The new furniture was attractive, particularly the TV surround. The high standard was let down by the shower (see below)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.5
    Lovely hotel in a great location not far from the Viaduct...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was at the front of hotel on the street and was very noisy very early due to roadworks. Also thought parking was pricey.

    Lovely hotel in a great location not far from the Viaduct and the ferry wharf

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.2
    Reminiscing in the City of Sails
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little thing, the lighting in the dining area, it seemed a bit dark there during breakfast

    The staff, our room, the food, the gym, the pool, the spa, the peace and quiet, even though there was construction outside. Just everything👍

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just had one slight issue with the lights in the bathroom being on a sensor (which we didn’t know about) and they would turn off while we were in the shower - not great! We learnt to push the door open and they’d come back on again. Ideally this isn’t what a hotel guest would expect or want to deal with.

    Location is great for shopping, and so close to Britomart train station and Spark Arena. Staff are very friendly and professional. Rooms are comfy and clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.1
    Staff are good and always greet you with a smile.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a rate with breakfast included and this wasn’t picked up at check out, the pool is too small to actually swim in unless you just want to paddle. Gym would benefit from a barbell in the free weights area as the smith machine is a little restrictive in what you can do.

    Staff are good and always greet you with a smile. The room is well equipped and a nice place to be. The gym is pretty good with most exercise catered for.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    8.3
    The staff were excellent, location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Inadequate instructions to get to hotel as major road works in Albert Street, spent 40 mins trying to get to the hotel. When booking you need to be aware that out of towners are not familiar with the roading network, so a map needs to be provided to show the route and entrance to the hotel. The noise from the road works was very loud at times and detracted from a restful stay. The lighting needs to be improved so that you can see what is in your suitcase as the bedsides were quite dim. The noise coming from the adjacent room, at 1.am got up and banged on the wall.

    The staff were excellent, location was great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    7.5
    Good location, professional staff.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Construction of new metro at front of hotel made getting to the hotel difficult.

    The location was very central. The rooms were clean and well appointed and the staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    10
    Everything was just perfect, requested a high level floor...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was just perfect, requested a high level floor and a room with a view and that’s what we got, very friendly staff too everything was perfect. Will definitely be back again!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    7.9
    Solid, traditional choice in the heart of downtown Auckland
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In slight ways not completely updated (relatively few and inconveniently placed electric outlets, for example). The hotel bar closed around 11 on a weekend night, though there was 24-hour room service.

    Good, full-service large hotel in the heart of the Central Business District; slightly old-fashioned rather than stylish. Friendly reception. I got a complimentary upgrade and found the room spacious and comfortable. In a one-night stay I didn't use of lot of the services.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.3
    A little luxury to start our New Zealand short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to the new rail line, getting to the hotel was near impossible. We drove in ever decreasing circles until we finally got there. But we had to sacrifice at least one chicken and pray to the gods. Madness! In a hire car, in the misty rain, in the dark. I assume it will be better once that’s done. The hotel staff were amazing once we go to there. It was all worth it.

    Very nice atmosphere. Lovely comfortable room. Breakfast was excellent. Dinner at Kabuki teppanyaki restaurant was more than excellent, a real treat. It’s a lovely hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    6.7
    Location was good, service was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fridge wasn’t cold and we had to order ice buckets to get our drinks cold which was a pain. The restaurant wasn’t as good as others I’ve been to, the food from the buffet was stone cold. On the plus tough I ordered and omelette and it was very nice and pipping hot.

    Location was good, service was good. Coffee machine in the room was a nice touch and far better than the coffee in the restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    8.8
    Well located luxury hotel in central auckland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road closed off difficult to get to Valet service for car 2nd time I have had to hang around waiting for my car ? If I pay for valet parking I expect the car to be max 10-15 mins not 45 mins

    The bed was extremely comfy

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Exceptional price for the quality of the hotel and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negative points at all

    Exceptional price for the quality of the hotel and location. The last night staying here was a perfect way to finish off our holiday. Can not recommend highly enough. Perfect !!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable room but I have stayed before and enjoyed it more because I was on a higher floor.
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Greeting at front desk was very perfunctory, very low floor allocated (3rd) overlooking the noisy roadworks.

    Great bed, spacious room, swimming pool, spa and sauna very good. Most staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.8
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Valet parking is a total rip-off. $45 per day even if you just leave your car there. Way too pricey for what it is. Especially when you already pay a lot for the room.

    Great location. Beautiful big room and bathroom. Breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.8
    Lovely large rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Took 15/20 mins to book in as someone else with the same last name had signed for our room. Just better front desk desk management. I guess if there's a problem it's unnecessary for the patrons to know. Room service menu could have a better selection for the $460.00 A night Were told adamantly by 2 front desk staff there was no sky sports in the room so if we wanted to watch ALL black game we would have to do so in the hotel bar.

    Lovely large rooms Bath tub Prompt room service

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    6.7
    Pleasant bed & room. Meals at KOA far too small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fine dining portion size meals at Knights but not a fine dining atmosphere. Lobby bar staff member when asked to clean our table wiped crumbs straight into my handbag sitting on the floor. Didnt even attempt to catch them.

    Great buffet breakfast, tasty & lots of choice. Great size comfy bed & room. Friendly valet & reception staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.6
    Great service, great people.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great happy hour with good musician. Really friendly helpful staff. Little thing like the bottle of water in the car when valet parking brought it back.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable bed and the staff organised a cake to be in the...
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked the room for my Mum for her birthday. Everything was fine in terms of service at the hotel (witht the expection of cold room service food which was the case with our last stay) however was quiet a mission to try and pay for the room via credit card prior. Wasnt necessarily the hotels fault just something to be mindful of if you will not be their at check in.

    Comfortable bed and the staff organised a cake to be in the room for my mothers birthday. Extra touch was appreciated.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.6
    Perfect for business or pleasure, really nice with great staff too. Highly recommend & will be back.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was difficult to find the Plaza due to the work being done outside. It took us a long time to get in to building due to this which was exceptionally frustrating. It would have been nice to have a wee warning about this as we were already time poor and travelling for business. Obviously the roadworks are not the hotel's fault but I can't fault them and this was my only grumble.

    The Stamford is perfectly located in the heart of Auckland so it was really easy to navigate around without a car. The room was perfect for our needs and the beds were v comfortable. We ate in the Teppanyaki restaurant which was brilliant! Entertainment and delicious food/drinks! Perfect. The staff were lovely, very accommodating and very polite too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.6
    Lovely stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only down side was getting to the hotel because of the road works happening on the same street. Can be tough driving in with a car but no major!

    Loved the pool and spa! Breakfast was yummy. Staff were all super lovely. And I loved the fact that it was a short walk away to everything we needed. Bed was so comfy also!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.2
    We really liked the staff, they were very helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buffet breakfast that we had made a reservation for 9am, seemed sparse and we felt like we were just getting what was left over. Our food wasn't that warm and the sauce jars were empty.

    We really liked the staff, they were very helpful and friendly to my daughter and I. Nu, Rangi and the gentleman who took our bags up, I didn't catch his name, were all very attentive and lovely.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    We have stayed in Auckland many times on our way out or back...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We have stayed in Auckland many times on our way out or back from holidays. This is by far the best accommodation. The staff are excellent in all areas and it is not a rehearsed friendly experience. There are obviously excellent recruitment and training facilities because it was a very natural friendly and accommodating experience. We arrived back for our second stay after being on a cruise at 8am and were surprisingly offered an early check in.. just amazing.. the reception, concierge, housekeeping and restaurant/ bar/ cafe .. the best we have experienced in all our travels.. the senior management must be excellent for this to infiltrate to every level during our stay.. we will be back

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.6
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The roadworks were a pain trying to get into the hotel but not there fault

    Rosie at the check in was fantastic,went out of her way to accomodate my early check in. Breakfast very good with great selection

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    7.1
    The bed was very comfy and the facilities fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the rooms next door and the corridor...late at night and early in the morning. Also the uber drivers were confused about the location because of the roadworks.

    The bed was very comfy and the facilities fine.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.5
    Over all our stay was just average, not amazing and also not bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower head was leaking a lot of water from the hose. Knights on Albert breakfast area was quite dusty on the ledge about half a meter up from the table. One night there was some sort of party going on in the lobby and the noise was extremely loud, I could still hear it from the room on the 6th floor at 11pm.

    The breakfast itself was quite good, enough choice and polite staff. It just wasn't clear to us what you could order from the kitchen besides what was available from the buffet.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction outside was a little noisey in the morning but nothing you can do to avoid that.

    Great location. Caught a cruise ship so was nice and close to walk. Food was great. Thanks

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Good location, rooms are fabulous and overall the hotel is a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That the restaurant couldn’t or wouldn’t prepare a vegan meal for me at dinner

    Good location, rooms are fabulous and overall the hotel is a great place to stay

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    6.3
    Big room, clean, nice staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old fashioned over priced room mini bar, loud messy intruding sat night university ball in lobby without pre-knowledgde or pro-active compensation from management, bad working wifi that blocks google

    Big room, clean, nice staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Only place I'd stay at in Auckland!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - Stamford's perfect

    Stamford Plaza is my go-to when staying in Auckland, staff are lovely, facilities are immaculate & I love having the valet parking option & having a bath in our room - bed is SUPER comfy too!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing, lovely, clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed, oh my goodness the bed was so comfortable. Loved it. Beautiful hotel, fantastic staff, very attentive. Will certainly stay here again. Nothing is too much trouble, housekeeping, front desk, concierge. They were all great

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    4.2
    selecting such as hotel is waste of money
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cleanliness, Room facilities, bath damage I been told that this hotel is pacifying dirty room for Booking.com, why i don't know~~!!

    around the property's neighborhood

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.5
    mixed review
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Billed for services not used though they were reversed, One of the worst restaurant meals i have had. major road works on Albert street, so if coming by car get good instructions or you will have an inconvenient detour.

    Good room, staff and location,

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.2
    Stamford Plaza
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lighting in the bedroom was poor as there was no central light. The room was somewhat cold as there was only single glazed windows - (which was surprising in a hotel of this quality).

    Fantastic size bed - spacious and clean - Staff were exceptional helpful and friendly. the breakfast food was also exceptional. The hot chocolates were fantastic!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    10
    Very good!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff made us feel special. Decor of the hotel is stylish. We had everything we needed and we will definitely stay at the Stamford Hotel again in future.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.5
    Construction of the rail line right outside the front door...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction of the rail line right outside the front door of the hotel. Construction could be heard, and the pedestrian crossing could be heard from the 5th floor.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.2
    A wonderful stay, will definately stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shame about the roadworks they kind of make accessibility a little awkward.

    The staff were wonderful and extremely helpful, the bed was really comfortable and the room was nice and quiet, the restaurant was great but we did choose to have dessert through room service.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.6
    Although booking is with low rate and it made very clear...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although booking is with low rate and it made very clear that no refund if cancel or no show, booking. Com should still allow the customer to pay on the hotel when I did show in the hotel instead of charging directly at the booking card! I just want to pay by other card that company allows reimbursement!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing with great service and food. Would definitely recommend o
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trying to find the place it was a nightmare and GPS did not allow for now one way Street and construction. Would recommend advising all guests of that issue.

    Very friendly, helpful and professional service from all staff. Gave us a discounted breakfast and the breakfast was just amazing so much choice. Also gave us a voucher each as we said we had trouble finding the place.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.6
    Pleasant stay in a fully serviced hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Auckland CBD is situated amongst many hills and is quite spread out. Walking around was quiet a challenge for 71 yr old legs.

    Room facilities were good, the attached restaurants had good quality food, staff were helpful and friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    6.7
    The location is great a little hard to get to and from with...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very disappointing as to parking the charge for one night is to much i can not fault the service, but accommodation and parking together make it an expensive stay.

    The location is great a little hard to get to and from with all the road works. I felt the room s are starting to look a little tired to when I stayed last time a couple of years ago still comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent central location with lovely rooms and everything provided.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were all huge. I prefer a thinner pillow. Maybe you could provide a variety in future??

    The rooms are well set up with everything you need (decent coffee, nice shower gel, cotton buds, a desk, etc).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    2.5
    Do not recommend.
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst customer service ever, my friends faced the same thing ! Late checkout and laundry service delayed...a distaster I felt annoyed as this was the worst hotel experience I got !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The on demand films were so expensive. There was no information in the room about these prices or timings for food i.e breakfast. You had to try and find them on the t.v. I had also emailed ahead to say that my mother would be checking in earlier than me as I was arriving from UK early hours of the next morning, the hotel didn't seem to get this and my mother had trouble checking in. I'm not sure if it did originally say, but a $200nz bond is taken off you at check in which they took off my mother. Have never known this at a hotel before.

    Great location to Auckland CBD. The pool area was nice and relaxing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous staff, great hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were amazing and looked after us from the moment we drove onto the forecourt until we checked out two days later. Service was fantastic. Room was comfortable and location was very good. Happy hour in the bar was also good with the live entertainment.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.6
    Very quiet room, relaxed stay, handy to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The extremely long queue at breakfast, at least 50 people in line and dining room so full they had to set up temp tables in lounge area. (Try eatin scrambled eggs while perched on a sofa!) By time we reached buffet hot food was luke warm and many items not available. First world problems admittedley - but hey - you asked.

    Very quiet room, relaxed stay, handy to everything.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.9
    The room was spacious and the pillows were so comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The roadworks outside, had to travel right around town to get to the entrance due to the major roadworks happening currently

    The room was spacious and the pillows were so comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    Couldn't fault it - well worth the money and will be staying there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No comment on this front!

    Service! Service! Service - right form the get-go! Valet parking was fantastic and a special mention must go to the Concierge very helpful, wonderful service didn't want for a thing! Room was very nice, comfy bed, and great food. Great location close to CBD, Spark Arena and Sky City Tower.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    6.7
    Special birthday weekend away well below standard from Stamford.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    King bed was completely flogged out. LH side had massive dip and woke up 1/2 way through the night with sore back. Centre of bed had the joining ridges coming through. Bathroom was very tired. Ceiling paint flaking. Silicon joins in shower box coming apart, toilet seat loose and wouldn’t stay in position. Vanity light/mirror not going. Lastly paid good $ for breakfast each day only to be let down with hard unchewable bacon, constantly running out of eggs and fell short for amount of people that turned up on both days.

    Location and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    Fabulous
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Took 45 minutes to get bags up to room. Rang reception to see where they were as we needed medication out of one of the bags and it still took another 30 minutes after the phone call fir the bags to arrive

    Nice rooms. Excellent location. Close to good restaurants. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.2
    Our first trip to Auckland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don’t agree with the hotel holding $200 for two nights. When they have access to my credit card and have taken full payment months before my arrival. What if I need that money during my holiday, this is a very outdated practice that needs to stop. The checkin staff need to smile and be more friendly.

    The location excellent for everything the city has to offer. Concierge and wait staff lovely. The bed was comfortable and room great size with well stocked bathroom. I loved the makeup mirror. Breakfast awesome,good selection with discount card was worth the $20.

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Stamford Plaza Auckland traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: