Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. New Zealand hotel reviews
  3. Southland hotel reviews
  4. Half-moon Bay hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Stewart Island Backpackers

Reviews of Stewart Island Backpackers This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

18 Ayr Street, Half Moon Bay, 9818 Half-moon Bay, New Zealand

#7 of 10 hotels in Half-moon Bay

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 593 hostel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2019

    8.8
    Friendly and helpful staff, large and comfortable common...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wooden walkways are easy to lose things under (i.e. your keys!) However, they do have a solution if this does happen to you (a length of wire).

    Friendly and helpful staff, large and comfortable common space. Basically delivers on all fronts--we had a lovely time.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2019

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nil

    Everything...affordable. clean. Friendly staff. Free bag storage so we could tramp with lighter packs. Great common room to allow meeting others..il be back.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2019

    8.3
    Good place to base your walking ( or fishing) trip from.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. there are always lots of interesting characters in back-backer hostels like this.

    excellent place to stay before and after walking any of the amazing tracks on Rakiura.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2019

    9.2
    Perfect for our purposes
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hot shower comfy bed. When had to wait on arrival to hire towels gave us free ones. Helpful staff. Friendly happy vibe. Spacious communal area. Obvious places to put food to pass on. Free milk. Very central location.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2019

    9.6
    good value hostel with everything you need for exploring Stewart Island
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing. hard to find free room. :-)

    great staff, very friendly and helpful. thank you Michaela. God everything and even more what we paid for. Good location, atmosphere, comfy kitchen and cozy room as well as storage room.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2019

    9.6
    Great value for exploring Stewart Iskand
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing, all was as I expected

    The room opened out to a small deck and garden area. Beds were comfortable and the room was well heated. Shared areas were comfortable and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2019

    9.6
    Staff were fabulous, welcoming, chatty, friendly and showed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathrooms small and shower cubicles with mould. Kitchen not ideally fitted out, hobs and sinks all in same small area which meant for breakfast impossible to cook then wash up which was a shame as the rest of the place was great. Wooden decking outside of rooms very noisy with people walking heavy footed up and down all the time - bring ear plugs.

    Staff were fabulous, welcoming, chatty, friendly and showed us around.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2019

    9.2
    Good basic accomodation & excellent bathroom & kitchen facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Smokers in the courtyard!

    The little extras that Managers/Owners provided & gratefully noted, e.g. Snowtex tissues, mints, excess food containers,

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2019

    8.8
    Good to meet up with fellow travelers and be able to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This was our first stay in a backpackers so having to walk down a veranda on a cold night to the toilet wasn't what we were used to!

    Good to meet up with fellow travelers and be able to self-cater.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2019

    7.9
    Brilliant. many thanks to great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some chairs with backs in dining area. Stools hard on old bones

    Staff went extra for us - took luggage to ferry when we'd had to alter boat trip arrangements, Slightly dearer as we could not manage upper bunks.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2019

    9.2
    Great place, kind staff, spacious lounge and kitchen,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower was not very hot; but it might have been just that one shower I picked. Prices are cheaper if you don’t book online but show up (and hope they have space for you).

    Great place, kind staff, spacious lounge and kitchen, comfortable beds. They have a kiwi watching book, where they record where and when visitors have seen kiwis, to help you find them (although we didn’t). Great pitches for tents!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2019

    7.5
    Good location, storage of gear, common areas clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Surprised that towels are rented. This may be more common than we know but after a month staying in hostels, hotels and B&B's this is the first time we encountered this.

    Good location, storage of gear, common areas clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2019

    7.5
    Very clean room, well located property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. You got what you paid for.

    Very clean room, well located property. Good sized kitchen, well equipped plus seating area. Showers & toilets clean. Well maintained. Staff helpful & friendly. Good value for money.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2019

    10
    An extremely well equipped place with a very comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not a dislike, more a suggestion? Perhaps a little unit with 3-4 shelves in the corner of the room would help with stowing stuff!

    An extremely well equipped place with a very comfortable communal area. Very friendly vibe!}

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2019

    10
    A great place to stay before and after doing the Rakiura walk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have been to the place before and frankly it was as expected, so I didn't see anything really negative. Maybe have a place where one can pick up the free milk that is left behind - I couldn't figure out whether it was free or belonged to someone.

    I knew that my room would normally not be available until 2:00pm, but coming off the Rakiura Track I asked for, and got, access at 12:00pm with no problem. If you need to ask for a towel, it's worth the extra few dollars. They have great facilities for cleaning your gear, washing clothes etc. They have free tea and coffee too. There is a gas can sharing place under the kitchen sink - a good place to get extra without having to pay. There is also an excellent library with some great books on tramping.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2019

    8.8
    Wifi worked
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Double room a tad small

    Wifi worked Good storage for luggage while we were away on a tramp Facilities to clean boots Plenty of gear in kitchen Clean and efficient

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2019

    8.8
    Very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Double room a tad small.

    Friendly to trampers: a place to clean boots! Plenty of gear in kitchen. Flooring in shower drained the water and kept dry! Excellent toilets, with liquid soap and paper towels. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2019

    9.2
    Very clean and tidy, the tray underneath bed was brilliant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Just the little things, the showers were a bit dingy ie the shower head was not properly attached to wall, the window blinds kept banging if the door was open or closed

    Very clean and tidy, the tray underneath bed was brilliant you could slightly unpack and not leave a mess, the common room was large and also homely.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2019

    9.2
    Comfortable, friendly backpackers
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is nothing not to like about this accommodation.

    The accommodation is very good for a backpackers. The rooms are functional and the beds comfortable. The cooking facilities and lounge area are excellent, and when we were there there was an excellent atmosphere with people of various nationalities and ages getting on well together.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2019

    8.3
    A nice big backpacker in the town of Oban.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A nice big backpacker in the town of Oban. A great base to start hiking around the island. Facilities were good, although walls are thin and you can hear your neighbours. Nice place to get in touch with other travellers and close to everything in the small town of Oban. From individual travellers to families, everyone seemed to enjoy their stay in this backpacker.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2019

    10
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi could be better.

    Everything was really good, but we specially enjoyed all the entertainment (books, puzzles, dvds, paper and books for painting...)

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2019

    9.2
    Good opportunity to clean up, rest and relax after 14 days tramping.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Kitchen a little small at peak times. queuing for facilities and appliances - but no big deal.

    Staff were friendly. Had storage space for bags. Good laundry and washing facilities for tramping gear. Close to village - staff knowledgeable in what's on and how to get there. We found the premises convenient and accommodating. Lots of different people staying from families to single to groups from NZ to all over the world.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2019

    9.2
    A great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    although there is a small laundry with a dryer there was nowhere to hang wet coat and other hiking gear that was very wet from the rain. I was offered a small spot in the 'boiler room' but it was rather full of wet gear.

    Location was great. I had a double room and the bed was comfortable and no noise from other guests. Easy to book in and check out. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2019

    10
    A relaxing fun experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Clean, friendly, central

    Clean, comfortable beds. The kitchen facilities far exceeded my expectations. The staff were friendly, helpful & informative. I have already recommended it to others. A great central place to stay!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: February 2, 2019

    9.2
    Nice location, just besides the town center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    have to share the bathroom

    Nice location, just besides the town center. The staff here is nice, willing to give the useful information and help to solve the problems . The most important thing is both the room and bathroom are pretty clean!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2019

    8.8
    Wonderful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stewart Island is a wonderful location, but accommodation choices are limited. The staff at this backpackers work really hard to keep it clean, and that shows. If you're looking for a budget place, and don't expect too many frills, this place is great. The Island has small, but reasonably well stocked shop, so you don't need to bring much with you. I'd stay there again.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 25, 2019

    8.8
    This was a good place to stay, very reasonable pricing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was a bit musty and could use a really good airing out. The sinks in the bathrooms were very tiny to the point it was hard to wash your hands. The showers were very dimly lit. It was a bit loud later in the night but that's to be expected with the younger crowd staying here.

    The staff was super friendly and kind. The kitchen was very well equipped. It was great to have the kiwi sighting book and some good recommendations of things to do.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 19, 2019

    7.9
    Good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I think it’s what you can expect from a back packer lodge. Nothing bad to say.

    Mother and son (22yrs) trip so very special. Stayed in the staff quarters as I booked one night incorrectly so we were accommodated for, which was hugely appreciated. We definitely got the message from one staffer that we weren’t to trespass on common areas, kind of awkward, but workable as we were mostly out all the time.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2019

    7.5
    Near town, but quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Kitchen, dining very crowded. Very little interaction amongst guests. Huge TV screen in dining area- distracting. Expensive for what it was- but it's Stewart Island so everything expensive.

    Near town, but quiet. Comfortable bed. Super clean.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2019

    10
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great backpackers, clean with all the facilities you need. (Partly used gas canisters left by other guests are available for those who are planning on hiking the Stewart Island tracks).

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2019

    7.1
    Would stay again,but not in room 35
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were in the room ( Room 35 ) right next to the bathroom,and outdoor table,and recycling bins.So there was noise. The bathrooms were very small and could do with a basic up-grade

    Good Location,Kitchen area good,common room good.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2019

    7.1
    Good, simple respite after completing the Rakiura Great Walk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    2/3 nights at the backpackers we stayed in a private room. The walls were thin and the room small. Definitely island prices for what you get but it did the job and the bed was appreciated after camping in the bush.

    A great little place that is close to the ferry port, shop, pub and entrance to walks. The common room was spacious with comfy sofas which were greatly appreciated after doing the Rakiura walk! We stayed in the campsite the first night which was quiet and calm.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2019

    6.3
    The location and the vibe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lack of cleanliness. I'm not sure if it was the fact the facilities were old and guests didn't take good care of them because of that (I've noticed the newer hostels are respected by the guests more) but it felt a bit 'dirty' being around the kitchen sink or the toilet or the shower. The rooms were much better even though at check out while checking if I had dropped anything under the bed I found old credit card receipts... Despite this, good value for money.

    The location and the vibe. Also the lounge. It felt relaxing. The man checking me in was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2019

    7.1
    Rates expensive compared to all other backpackers hostels in NZ, even when location considered.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bedside table and lights were missing - important in multi-occupancy room. Only one coffee plunger in kitchen between 40 guests.

    All good except below.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    7.1
    Great friendly staff, well-appointed kitchen, good rubbish...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi was very slow and unreliable and didn't work in the room, only the common areas. The bed was also quite lumpy and uncomfortable.

    Great friendly staff, well-appointed kitchen, good rubbish and recycling facilities, private toilets (ie rooms rather than cubicles), and the bag storage while we were walking the Rakiura track was much appreciated!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    9.6
    Causal and freindly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Causal and freindly. Close to ferry ...was 5-10 min. walk on the flat. Close to local returants and grocery store. Helped with booking activities. Stored our bags after checkout and before we wanted to head to the ferry.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    5.8
    Great location, not the cleanest of hostels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shared toilets were not really clean, no matter what time you were using them, I didn't use the showers because they looked dirty as well. It is a small place with many rooms so it can get really busy everywhere. They only clean once a day, I think this can be improved. The rooms were very small, almost no space for just 2 small backpacks.

    Hostel is in a good location, easy to access everything, but then it is a very small town so you are able to access everything easy anyway. We had a room at the end of the building on a corner, so we didn't have people walking by during the night. Room was small, but bed was comfy. Check-in was easy and there is a notebook with the latest kiwi sights if you're up to that.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2019

    6.7
    The bedrooms worked well for us as a family of 5.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathrooms with showers were small and cramped especially the shower facilities. Staff were not overly friendly.

    The bedrooms worked well for us as a family of 5. Kitchen/lounge facilities were great.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2018

    6.7
    Everything is close in Oban.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was a bit tight for twin. Not much room for our bags.

    Everything is close in Oban. Great thing with Backpackers is sharing and meeting others in a more communal accommodation. Also I’d left a good day pack in the common room and was kindly handed in for me to ask (in hope) for on my return (after a tramp). Honest people stay at Backpackers. The owners of the Backpackers put on Pavlova for Xmas lunch and again for dinner, so big appreciation for doing that, along with guests sharing a pot luck dinner. Best relaxing Christmas that could be had. Rooms and facilities are clean. Has a laundry with new machines and driers which cost about $8 to use. Towels are an extra $4 each also.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 22, 2018

    9.2
    Great staff and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Quite noisy in the morning - but that’s the nature of a backpackers

    Wonderful staff, allowed us to check in early and leave our stuff, and the next day even gave us some of their own milk! The room was comfortable and the bathrooms were close by

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2018

    9.6
    Very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very helpful. Their washing facilities were out of use due to new machines being installed and taking longer than planned, so that arranged that we could do our washing at the local hotel. The under bed storage boxes were a great idea, and no bunks.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2018

    10
    Super comfortable stay at a family run backpackers just 5...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Super comfortable stay at a family run backpackers just 5 mins or so walk up from the jetty. It costs a little bit to get to Stewart island, but this affordable location made the stay fit within our budget. Very warm, welcoming environment too.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    9.5
    I would return to this accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was pretty good. Couldn’t really ask for more.

    The staff were on the ball with keeping a busy place clean. Beds were comfortable and all required amenities were there. The kitchen facilities were also excellent.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    10
    Super comfy hostel with lovely owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The family who runs the hostel is super friendly and they are taking care of everything! Facilities are clean, living room area has multiple sofas to relax. Red lights for kiwi spotting can be borrowed from reception at no fee.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    6.7
    Comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not a lot of space, sticky air which you cant get ride off otherwise you are eaten by the sandflies

    Comfy bed. Warm showers without limit. Help from the office.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    9.6
    Very happy with our stay, even hot water bottles provided, so thoughtful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was consistent with a back. Packers hostel but cleanliness and kitchen facilities excellent.

    The great service provided by Carole, the owner, nothing was too much trouble for her.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    9.6
    Friendly helpful Host, comfy spot with great facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    had to move a room from one wing to another because of the check in mistake.

    Friendly staff very helpful and took our luggage for us to the Ferry Terminal without asking! Comfy shared lounge. Just love the flexibility to use their facilities as well.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2018

    10
    Excellent service at the backpackers, they really had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent service at the backpackers, they really had thought of everything to make our stay comfortable and pleasant. Such a friendly place to visit and we'll be back again hopefully.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    10
    Great place to stay on Stewart Island!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great place with a lovely staff, close to the center of town, plenty of space in the rooms and kitchen. Awesome outdoor area to hang out. Plenty of bathrooms that were always clean!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2018

    10
    Carol is the friendliest host I have ever come across.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Carol is the friendliest host I have ever come across. The hostel is very clean and everything is well organised and works. Highly recommended and I will definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    7.9
    I would reccoment stay there for sure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The showers was "very easy" :D i prefered dont take a shower.

    The kitchen and living room was really super nice with lot of stuff, book where the other people saw the kiwi and lots of information about island.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    10
    Best backpackers we've stayed in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Carol and Aaron are the best hosts we've met. Backpackers is just round the corner from the ferry, has good wifi, clean kitchen with everything we needed, comfy lounge with lots of DVDs. The rooms are simple but have central heating (a first for NZ for us!)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    10
    This is a well-run, excellent hostel with friendly and helpful staff.
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really, though the storage shed was slightly difficult to access, especially in bad weather.

    It was great to be able to store my bag in the shed before checking in four days later, after my walk, and I was very grateful to be able to keep my room till the afternoon of my departure after the cancellation of the morning ferry due to bad weather.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    8.8
    Staff were great. Would stay there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Beds could have been a bit comfier.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. A lot of information about the island and things to do was provided. Lots of jigsaws for rainy days.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    8.8
    The Kiwi-Spotting log book where people wrote down where and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Having to go outside to get to the bathroom - a bit cold in the middle of the night in winter

    The Kiwi-Spotting log book where people wrote down where and when they had seen Kiwi, to make it easier for other people looking for them

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    10
    Lovely stay. Helpful and friendly staff. Cosy rooms. Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This place was great. The staff were so friendly and helpful. Room was nice and cosy. Communal spaces were always nice and clean. Kitchen was great, lots of free food, oil and spices, good to cook in. Lounge area was tidy and cosy, good selection of films and games to keep you entertained in the rain.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    8.3
    Nice, warm and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The showers smelled a bit out. The WiFi isn’t the fastest but you could use it all day and night and take more vouchers so can’t really complain.

    Great with single beds, really warm room and a nice big kitchen with lots of seating

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    9.2
    A great stay - thank you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A lovely hostel with a great friendly feel. Carol was really helpful on check in, giving us loads of information about the island and some handy "kiwi spotting" tips. Nice big kitchen and lounge area, but kitchen wasn't too busy making it much easier at meal times. Everything was so clean! Great location close to shop, pub and ferry (although a very tiny island so easy to get around). Lovely hot showers too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    7.9
    Value for money on a beauti
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The noise on the boardwalks & slamming doors.

    The staff were great , so helpful & friendly. It was a bit noisy with a group mid evening but felt I could say something to staff & it would be dealt with if it ‘got out of hand’ & I couldn’t get my beauty sleep 🌝🌝

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2018

    9.6
    Great backpackers, you can be completely disorganised and it's all okay because they have everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe a little table to put next to a bed in the rooms with 3 beds.

    Loved the fact that there were so many pots, pans, cups, plates, cups etc and even free drinks and food available!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2018

    9.2
    Perfect base. Central location excellent. Lovely hot showers after tramping/walking. Loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Ablution areas were clean but looked tired. Could do with an upgrade.

    The common room/lounge area was large with many different couches to sit on & there were private areas to sit & read away from the tv/dvd that was playing. Stayed open all night if you wished. All groups congregated in this area, played cards til the wee small hours.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2018

    10
    Perfect stay surrounded by kiwis
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a fantastic stay at this backpakers, Carol and Aaron are great hosts and were extremely helpful. The place has a good vive and is suitable for both those who seek a quiet retrat or those looking to a more social stay. And yes, we managed to see three big, fat beautiful kiwis in the area. Will absolutely recommend it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2018

    8.3
    Perfect for what it was - a backpackers
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bare minimum room - no cupboard or table or drawers etc, just four walls for four people. But it's a Backpackers so it's not too surprising

    Great location. Friendly staff. Decent shared kitchen and oblution facilities

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    7.5
    Friendly staff, handy location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Showers had a bit of mould growing in them. The deck along most of the rooms was quite noisy when people walked along it

    Friendly staff, handy location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    10
    welcoming and proactive
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is very well organized. from the minute you arrive you advise the activities you can do with the time you have scheduled. For example, there is a notebook, where the person who sees a kiwi, notes where and when he saw it, so that other people can go to the same place the next day. I found it remarkable. They also have a special place to leave your backpack when it is your last day and you have to check out and do not want to walk with your suitcase. I would like you to include the Chilean flag among the others.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2018

    8.3
    Friendly start to finish & good value as Stewart Island accommodation expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    bit noisy on the Board walks & could hear snoring through wall! felt it was a well mgd Hostel where if it got too much something would be done

    good kitchen/dining area would be improved with 1 more sink/cooking facility

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    9.2
    Great facilities within the common room and plenty of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great facilities within the common room and plenty of kitchen equipment! Special thanks to Aaron who came to check me in super late after my hike - much appreciated.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2018

    7.9
    Good basic accommodation and easy walking to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noisy - doors slamming and tramping boots are loud especially late at night.

    Welcoming and well equipped. Lovely heater in our room and good hot showers.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2018

    9.2
    Rainy day on Stewart Island. Better on Ulva Island.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noisy children running around at night. Poor lighting in room so it was hard to read. Nice library of your books, etc. In the common room

    Clean, convenient to ferry and inexpensive. Desk staff helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2018

    10
    Very good, clean and welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I left my walking stick behind, Carol quickly contacted me and then posted it on to my home city free of charge. Thankyou so much. Big emphasis on recycling and waste reduction.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2018

    8.3
    Perfect for weekend getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed like a water bed but still slept well after hiking all day

    Friendly staff. Comfy chilled lounge area with plenty of space and books, games etc Free tea and coffee :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2018

    9.2
    Great location and friendly staff. Clean facilities. What you would expect from a Backpackers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noisy at night with loud voices from the smoking area. Early noisy start from some guests and a young child crying late at night.

    Great location and friendly staff. The bathrooms were regularly cleaned.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 9, 2018

    10
    Even the weather shined on us! Loved the Stewart Island backpackers and will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The kitchen was a bit squashed at peak times but everyone was friendly and all it required was a bit of patience and good will. That was all present in good measure!

    Lovely room looking out on bush. Quiet and warm with a comfy bed. Lovely chat to Carol and heard the saga of how her family fell in love with Stewart Island and have just bought the backpackers. We wish her every success and may many more backpackers enjoy staying there and exploring magical Stewart Island.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2018

    7.1
    Beautiful island, nice enough stay,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Can't really blame the owners for this, but due to high volume and turnover of sloppy guests, you may have to clean a space in the kitchen before you can cook in it. Walls are quite thin, and decking around the buildings means once anyone around you is up, so will you be. Earplugs highly recommended if you want to get a good night's sleep.

    Lovely owners will go the extra mile to help you get around and see what you want to see. Facilities basic but ok.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2018

    5.8
    For two nights in Rakiura, it was adequate. If it had been longer, I would have got restless.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A guest towel would have been welcomed. Perhaps you needed to request one.

    It was fairly basic (a bed in a room) but possibly a little too basic, and better suited to young, overseas travellers .

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: