Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Novotel Tainui Hamilton 4.5 stars

7 Alma Street, Hamilton CBD, 2001 Hamilton, New Zealand

#17 of 54 hotels in Hamilton

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 843 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    The bathroom was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The steam veges side in the restaurant. They were so soggy and steamed to mush we couldn’t eat them

    The bathroom was amazing!! Loved having a pillow menu to choose what I like. Everyone was fast and efficient to serve our needs

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.5
    Luxury at an affordable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The spa pool was not working, would have been nice to use it after the gym. I recall that the last time we stayed at the Novotel, the spa was not operating fully (it was luke warm instead of hot).

    Helpful staff and great to see Maori staff, nice parakuihi, comfortable bed and loved the chaise couch in the room!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    I will be back
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, all was fabulous. Comfortable room, helpful and friendly staff, great restaurant, fabulous facilities

    Everything was wonderful, from the room to the staff, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Spacious, clean and modern room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a bit of street noise on one of our nights stay (people in the square yelling)

    Spacious, clean and modern room. Nice bathroom. Comfy bed. Yummy breakfast. Friendly staff. Close to nice restaurants and Casino.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.3
    Awesome check in and check out experience - handy location
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our requests from booking.com didn’t go through - asked for two double beds and was book in as a king. Because of the change, we didn’t have a bath in our room - which we wanted for our son to relax in after a week of rugby and league. That was it though - everything else was awesome

    Nice shower and beds and pillows were comfy. Great location - right in town and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Tidy rooms and the shower was awesome!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.1
    - Comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Comfy bed - Good location (walking distance to many good shopping mall/pubs/restaurants nearby- went to Koreana restaurant) - Good breakfast (many varieties) -

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.9
    Overal venue is awesome and front staff is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Family Room (2 Guests)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When i booked on line...we asked fir a room with ONE super king bed only.... got given room with two beds and when phn reception after got into our room got brushed off in been told that was all that was available...funny it was when i booked. Then checkout time was 11 am... room cleaner kept knocking at door at 8.45 and wasnt impress when we told her we are still showering..... saw one of the staff setting tables while we eat and the plate that she put on table must have had something in it so she first blew on the plate and when it did not come off she proceeds to scrape it of with her fingernail and then wipe plate with hand. Eeewww thank heavens by then we where finish eating but i then keep thinking what don't we see? And sorry but food was average.

    The bedwas very comfy

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    6.7
    The breakfast was presented well and clean and fresh.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception had a woman with missing front teeth she was polite but image was not classy. The room service food poor and when i commented i was sent a guy that looked like management and it was a little weird. Food was still not high in presentation and taste.. example i ordered a choc shake and got iced choc but the ice was still whole not blended..so just a waste of my time and money.

    The breakfast was presented well and clean and fresh. Room was cleaned by friendly happy people General nice atmosphere. Bed very comfortable Hotel seems tired

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location and comfortable clean rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower cubicle - awkward - kept pumping the shower knob. The gym needs work please. Remove 1980s spa and reace with treadmills facing daylight. Rower and crosstrainer room dull and uninspiring. Art work and better lighting might help.

    Room decor refreshing clean well balanced. Open spacious and comfortable. Clean sharp well maintained.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    5.4
    Good sleep but that's about all we enjoyed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we booked we specifically chose a room with a bath but when we arrived we were checked into a room with no bath. I called down to reception and was then told it was us who had made the mistake. Which was incorrect. When we did get moved the room was dirty and the plug in the bath didn't work. For future guests make sure they are told that before you check out the room needs to be checked as we had to wait about 20minutes and nearly missed an important appointment (the whole purpose of the stay)

    The bed was comfy

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    3.8
    I was very disappointed with the room being dirty. Stayed 2 nights & room was not serviced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did not like that the room was not clean.

    Room was not clean . Rubbish on floor as in food wrappers & half filled water bottle. No bin liners in bins,

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.8
    Overall we have stayed at Novatel before and would not hesitate to stay there again.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    What I really didn't like was the trays of food out in the hall from room service that had stayed there all night and were still there at 9.0am in the morning, the hotel is kept immaculate and clean but this was a let down.

    Room was excellent with everything you needed and very clean, everything in the buffet at breakfast was fresh and very enjoyable. Staff were great and very efficient at there jobs and made us welcome .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    Excellent accomodation, good service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps it would have been better if more towels were provided as there was one per person and we shower twice a day

    The room was immaculate and the service was second to none

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.2
    Great get away to relax for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra cost for parking, felt that for the cost of staying their parking should have been complimentary, it was an expensive hotel and seemed a bit on the nose to have to pay for parking on top of this.

    Comfy bed and the buffet breakfast was excellent, it was also lovely and quiet.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.6
    The rooms were great. Ambience in the bar area was non existent and the restaurant. Meal - terrible.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our meal on Monday night in the restaurant was really bad. The lamb rubbed with piri piri was terribly fatty, I had to spit it out. I'm not sure it was lamb. Also - no music in the bar or restaurant.

    LOVED the pillows!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.1
    The staff were good and the food was great too and not too...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The keys had to be reactivated everytime we left the room.. never had this problem elsewhere..

    The staff were good and the food was great too and not too pricey..

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was awesome.

    The staff are all nice. I didnt get one grumpy one the room was awesome. The beds were so comfortable. I cant rave enough it was great

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not all the staffs are kind. Some of them should smile more, and greet the guests with patience.

    The room is spacious, bright and clean. The location is near to many restaurants, and within walking distance.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.5
    A generally good hotel in a convenient central city location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A bit noisy - the down side of being so close to the Casino and down town Hamilton! You could hear loud cars and people yelling from the street. Some of the homeless people/beggars were also a little intimidating, especially as a woman on my own first thing in the morning and in the late afternoon.

    Rooms were of a good size and clean and tidy. Staff were pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Great place to stay, as always top service good reasonable prices will b back again....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Needs a heated swimming pool, tho there is a spa pool ..

    Nice modern hotel Luxury rooms with comfortable beds, helpful friendly staff, was very impressed with the healthy buffet breakfast selection and the all day menu. Great Location walking distances to bars, restaurants, Skycity casino, & local shops, & its Great value for your money< every time! .. Highly Recommend

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Good hotel centrally located.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Could have a printer available for guests, service desk printed my documents for me though.

    Good hotel overall, clean and very central to all the bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.5
    We survived!
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too small for four people. I do not appreciate being in such conditions.

    Pillows too soft. Availability of meals was good. Rooms too small for 2 large beds. Single beds woud be appreciated for children.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.2
    The hotel with an authentic Finnish sauna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could use more healthy options.

    The sauna was an authentic Finnish sauna and the Jacuzzi was extremely cosy. The location is central, with lots of nice restaurants nearby. Staff was friendly and welcoming. We were happy with our double bed which turned out to be delightfully comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.3
    Great location, friendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that we couldn't turn off air conditioning in our room. Manager came up twice (he was great) but not everyone wants it on and no one seemed to know how to turn it off.

    The bed was comfortable and the staff were wonderful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    6.3
    Despite calling ahead of time to check, we were one bed short. Not a good start to our weekend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were one bed short, despite calling a few days earlier to make sure we had two beds in the room. The parking situation was atrocious - just add the extra $20 per car cost to the room. The toilets, in both of our rooms were smelly. The final straw was when my sister's car was returned to her, the staff member had wrecked her reversing camera mirror by ripping it off the windscreen! This caused major inconvenience as it took two days to repair and she was without a vehicle.

    Eight members of my family travelled to Hamilton for my daughter's birthday & we stayed at the Novotel Tainui. The superior family room was an impressive size and the hotel has great location in central Hamilton.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    We always come back when in Hamilton
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing we didn't like was the drunk couple outside the hotel at 5 am swearing their heads off at each other for half an hour

    We always love staying at the Novatel. Always friendly helpful staff and very comfortable. Great location as well

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Friendly staff and fast check in and out process.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise at night outside room caused by other inconsiderate guests. It was embarrassing asking for toilet rolls and the tv remote was flat. Also thete weren't menus in the room for ordering room service and when we asked for one was told they were low on them.

    Friendly staff and fast check in and out process.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Very good variety of items for breakfast and the eggs were freshly prepared. Comfy room well serviced during my two day stay. Valet parking service highly recommended.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Overall being first time guest at the Novotel Tainui we enjoyed our stay
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing i did not like at the Novotel Tainui

    When i stay at places i like that the facilities meet my standards in cleanliness which they did. I also liked that the bed was nice and cosy as well. We also found that we did not hear any traffic noise or from other guests once we were in our room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.7
    We had a lovely short stay and would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little noisy outside, with people yelling. Beds quite soft and pillows too soft, would prefer firm and a soft one for choice. Only Two towels 2 adults 2 children. Bath room dusty around the edges and hair on the floor around toilet. A little confusion with parking. lack of computer communication from restaurant to front counter staff.

    great location nice staff friendly / helpful tidy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.2
    Very easy and a central hotel.
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is very limited around the property- the hotel provides parking overnight that is $20.00. This service worked very well and when I required the car it was brought upstairs immediately. Very happy with this service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.2
    Overall we enjoyed our stay, it would've been nice to stay longer. Room service attendant - Paris 5/
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a pricing list for the minibar...

    Our buffet breakfast was really good with a nice variety for both adults and children. Our beds were super comfy and the staff were great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking is by valet only and is an extra $20 a day.

    Nice modern building with proper working gym. Good location as well - 5 minute walk to many great brunch cafes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.5
    Amazing dinner
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Trying to get a copy of my invoice that I was not given but was promised it would be e mailed which didn't happen, called x 3 separate times to finally get the e mail. The address was incorrect despite receiving a calendar invite to my correct address and filling it out when I checked in I have stayed many times over the years.

    Amazing dinner

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    Almost perfect! Just the length of the queue at check-in was a bit painful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really lovely and helpful staff on the front desk. However, when I checked in, a very large company group was also checking in. I suggest that when a large group is checking in that they have a dedicated desk, or that one "team leader" checks in on the company's behalf. I had to wait quite some time to check in as the queue was very long - almost out the door - and the check in process takes time.

    The room was excellent - very comfortable indeed, and with a view on to the river. I stayed in the autumn, and the view of the colour of the trees by the river was awesome.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Nice gift left in the room when we checked in (my...
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gift was addressed to me instead of my grand daughter even though I specifically gave her name 😂

    Nice gift left in the room when we checked in (my granddaughters birthday) and lovely room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.9
    It was only one night I arrived in the evening the. Went for dinner with friends so did not experie
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was told at Checking I would not be charged for valet parking. It want until I got home and looking at the receipt I noticed I was, I should have looked when I left!

    Staff extremely helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    No onsite free parking for guests. Valet parking - damaged car key holder. No baggage assistance to room after check-in, and no advice on where to go to lifts or what floor we were on.

    The bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.9
    Most of the buffet food was only like warm, certainly not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most of the buffet food was only like warm, certainly not worth $$32. When checking out the ReceptionistHad tried charging us for x 3 breakfasts even tho there were only two of us and breakfast was included in our booking. Then had to prove by showing my confirmation email that breakfast was included. Lucky I had my phone on me. All a bit of a hassle.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.6
    Very nice space with attentive staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No choice but to pay for valet parking. Had to leave car in a loading zone while checking in. More car parking options would be good.

    Very nice space with attentive staff. Enjoyed the restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.9
    Lovely setting .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought it was expensive when Wifi was not free and Parking was not free. Lunch was not very Vegetarian friendly. (Seminar /Lunch).

    Lovely setting .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.3
    PRETTY AVERAGE STUFF
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Contractors working on same floor cussing and swearing. Desk staff gave us wrong room type and changed undet suffrance Plate of onion rings arrived nuked and went back. No apology

    Location good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    I Loved the location, easy access to the town center and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I Loved the location, easy access to the town center and walking distance to wonderful restaurants and bars. The staff were all so helpful and so were the cleaning staff as well, they were all so pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    Everything was on point as per usual.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The bed and pillows were comfy and I had a great sleep, which I usually struggle with if I’m not in my own bed at home. I also loved the fact our car was ready without us having to ring for them to collect as we saw it at the front when we had breakfast in the restaurant. Breakfast was delicious as well. Hospitality and customer service was so awesome, the team should be proud of the level of service they provide. We have stayed a number of times at Novotel and love going there every time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    5.4
    Disappointed and tierd
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I checked in at 3am as my husband was admitted to hospital. I asked for a late check out which was granted but no one told me the hotel was being renovated and that work started at 730!,,,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.9
    Mixed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were but on 3rd floor and without warning we’re confronted by workers updating rooms when exiting the lift, we had to trudge past them as they were sat on the floor having a break, dust and noise everywhere, got to the room and it was dusty due to work in corridor, my wife wanted a rest but banging made it impossible, following my complaint at reception we were moved to a quieter room on 1st floor, neither room had a bath as described on booking.com for exec room !! I questioned this the following day but they weren’t interested saying the room was as described but the bathrooms were being upgraded, I’m on holiday and couldn’t be bothered taking it further

    Nice comfy bed and lounge/bar area, also great location for amenities

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    4.2
    Not good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really slow staff especially at the bar and restaurant. Staff at breakfast had low morale and even swore whilst clearing the table next to us. Another poked fun at a customer who requested for some assistance . Poor overall.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.3
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction works within the hotel from 7.30am on a Sunday AM!

    Nice and comfortable, rooms seem new or refurbished, nice staff, good location in Hamilton, good food at the restaurant. Expensive parking and breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    10
    Home away from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Requested a huge bed and got it! So comfy and had an awesome rest! The staff were friendly and welcoming from the moment we arrived and the moment we left! Will definitely return!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.6
    Convenient and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the time there were a lot of fly’s in the dinning room.

    I liked the quite aircon and I liked that I had room at the top so felt very roomy with the raised ceiling as both me and my husband are tall people it gave a sense of space.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    8.8
    Very comfortable pleasant stay.
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall nice hotel & except for luxury prices we would certainly choose to stay there again. Just little things not so good. The only problem was we had booked on line & when we got to hotel at 11 pm the hotel had no record of our booking & the ground floor room we had prebooked was not available and the price didn’t include the breakfast as advertised. The young woman receptionist was pleasant & helpful & unruffled by this and found us another room & a $1 breakfast which we didn’t actually have because breakfast menu had finished when we came down 11am. We were only passing through & stayed one night & other than being expensive the staff were pleasant. The stairs difficult to find way out of. Door locked into lobby for some reason ended up outside around back of building. Confusing.Probably just a fire escape but didn’t say that. We ticked box for a newspaper to be delivered in the morning but it didn’t arrive.

    Restaurant closed because we arrived at 11 pm The room service young man very helpful .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    5.4
    Breakfast wasn’t up to it’s usual standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn’t up to it’s usual standard. We had wet carpet in our room. Used to have bottled water by the bed but none this time. Just lacked those little personal touches we have been used too from the Novatel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    10
    Great stay, would recommend to friends and family passing through.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower door didn’t close properly so water ran across the bathroom floor to the sink. With a small child we were aware of this and had to mop up after showers to avoid slipping over.

    Great service, room was suitable for our family and very tidy. Felt new and light. Lovely view. Valet car parking made so much easier after a long trip, great bonus to the stay. Meal at the restaurant was beautiful with friendly staff. Would definitely stay again if heading through Hamilton.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    6.3
    Probably wouldn’t go again
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was undergoing renovation so there was a lot of dust in the hallways. Our shower wasn’t draining and my husband almost flooded the bathroom. We got moved to a different room but one that hadn’t been renovated - so it was like a downgrade

    The staff were friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.6
    The room service meals were awesome and especially th kids...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bacon at breakfast was very dry and bits were inedible. The whole cooked part of the buffet seemed neglected and not nice and fresh. How ever and room service dinner meals were very lovely

    The room service meals were awesome and especially th kids meals.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    5.8
    Size of suite
    • Couple
    • Executive King Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy extractor fans in bathroom that could not be turned off. I felt like I was in the plane with constant humming noise. I could not relax, I had to wear earplugs to sleep. I complained but they didn’t do anything about it. The whole fourth floor was humming like a jet. It was awful

    Size of suite

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    We loved our stay, will stay again & highly recommend
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was clean and comfortable. Shower head was large so great for big people too. The breakfast buffet was included with our stay and was the best. Staff were amazing and the hotel itself incorperated some of the local culture which was very lovely to see. The hotel was also located in the centre of town which was perfect for looking around on foot.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    7.1
    Service superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee barrister growled at the waitress right in front of everyone dining for breakfast because she had given the customer a small number rather than a large one He should have been sacked on the spot !! Absolutely disgraceful That ruined our really great breakfast as the poor wee waitress was nearly in 😭 tears

    Service superb

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    9.2
    Easy and luxurious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was under stocked one morning. Staff working very hard but I think more staff was needed for that time of day.

    Delicious breakfast. Staff very accommodating. The bed was amazing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    9.6
    A very comfortable, modern hotel with good facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Short-term parking is available at the door but had to park off-site at additional cost; a bit inconvenient.

    Comfortable and modern room. Nice restaurant. Friendly staff. Good CBD location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.6
    Always look forward to going back, highly recommend to people we know.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could be improved in the restaurant area however a nice space to eat and relax.

    Always pleasent staff greeting you. Requests for a particular room given friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    6.7
    The room was very spacious and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didnt like that we had to pay extra for parking and wifi, those things should be included in the price

    The room was very spacious and comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    9.6
    Excellent - will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (3 Guests)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not applicable.

    Friendly atmosphere throughout the hotel, staff as always are helpful and obliging to needs. Breakfast is amazing as always. Experienced an enjoyable stay. Thank you.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    5.4
    Felt totally ripped off
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower leaked all over the floor. The cooked breakfast was all cold. We were told the breakfast was free and this was stated in the booking but had to pay. The parking was a pain.

    Beds were good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    9.5
    Our stay was great! Staff were warm and welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were amazing and so lovely to deal with. The location is great! You're within walking distance of some great places. The bed was amazing!! And shower was even better

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    10
    Everything was great except the bacon tasted like an old...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great except the bacon tasted like an old stiff leather bag. Overall stay was great though!

    Everything was great except the bacon tasted like an old stiff leather bag. Overall stay was great though!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.5
    Will come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from our room was awesome

    I felt it was cold in the dining area at tea time..we were here two nighrd and the spa was out of order was looking forward to a, soak..pillows were to soft

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.9
    Good central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Family Room (3 Guests)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms need an upgrade. Every time we had a shower, bubbles would come out of the drain in the floor causing flooding. There isn't much private parking for Novotel guest, they use skycitys' car park aswell but you have to pay $15 every time you exit.

    Staff was great !!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    9.6
    Great stay! Would come back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed a bit hard

    Friendly staff Easy Check In and Check Out Valet parking Room was spacious and clean Lots of pillows Walking distance to where we were going Coffee and tea facilities in the room Breakfast was excellent with a variety of food

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    8.3
    Great city lovely location and up market hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms were ok we see they are being renovated soon

    Great location as we had booked a restaurant we wanted to try across road first then booked hotel before we left Australia. Parking staff were great very helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    7.1
    Expected more from King Suite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor and furnishings a little dated

    Room was quiet...after the building renovations stopped. Breakfast buffet was very good, lots of choice, fresh and hot.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.6
    Meals were yummy & the buffet breakfast was delish -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of parking, wasn't explained enough at check in. Also took forever to check out with 2 big lines of people waiting

    Meals were yummy & the buffet breakfast was delish - especially the croissants

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    6.7
    Staff helpful and very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Third stay here ,restaurant for breakfast was under staffed,had to wait for a seat as there were so many unclear tables and waiting for hot food to be refilled.Two days running,staff were doing there best.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable bed, clean room and fantastic position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was really comfortable and the room was very clean. The position of the hotel was really good and the room we were in was in a great position with views along the main street. The foyer of the hotel was open and stylish with comfortable seating. The staff were very welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.6
    Staff were all fantastic to deal with so helpful, always a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were all fantastic to deal with so helpful, always a smiling face, I was really impressed with their high professionalism and care for their customers. Thank you for our stay, I will definitely be back.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: