Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

View vacation packages to

  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. New Zealand hotel reviews
  3. Otago B&B and inn reviews
  4. Wanaka B&B and inn reviews
  5. Reviews of Te Wanaka Lodge

Reviews of Te Wanaka Lodge This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

23 Brownston Street, 9305 Wanaka, New Zealand

#22 of 26 B&Bs and inns in Wanaka

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1059 B&B reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2019

    9.2
    This is a great property, very clean with warm and comfy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a great property, very clean with warm and comfy beds. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was amazing. Location easy walking distance to town and guest facilities open and easy to use.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2019

    10
    Fantastic stay! Highly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff were extremely friendly and welcoming, willing to help with whatever we needed. Breakfast was delicious, rooms were extremely clean, warm, and comfortable, and we were within walking distance of a vast array of food and shopping.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2019

    5.0
    Sleepless!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The accommodations were not good at all. I was traveling with my son and requested a room with 2 beds and a bathroom. Once we got there, we did not have the room and they were not willing to work with us. The room we had was #1 which is located directly beside the entrance into the kitchen and another door as well leading to other rooms. Noise was constant into the AM hours. They had no general store onsite which meant having to pay 30 dollars for a taxi r/t. Not what I expected all from this location.

    The lake

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2019

    8.8
    Good Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing at all :)

    The lady who checked us in, was really really sweet. We had a nice comfortable stay at this B&B. The breakfast was amazing too. Nothing to fault about. Highly recommend!

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2019

    10
    Te Wanaka was spot on!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to dislike about Te Wanaka

    The position in Wanaka town was good, the whole Alpine feel and set up of the Hotel was excellentl. Very welcoming team, and comfortable rooms and a really good breakfast! Hot Tub was a real winner too!

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2019

    10
    Beautiful, hospitable, relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The scambled eggs were tasteless and dry No small jug to get a hot drink. Had to wait for big industrial one to heat up. Someone turned our heater off so we came back to a cold room.

    Incredible hospitality Beautiful place Very comfortable beds Very clean Stunning presentation

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2019

    9.2
    Cosy and warm. Loved sitting by fireplace at night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lack of a view

    Cake and coffee available all day. Use of kitchen to organise own food was a great idea and putting used dishes in dish washer excellent.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2019

    8.8
    Affordable central accommodation with some extras - breakfast, hot tub and lounge with wood fire
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loved the hot tub, great way to unwind at the end of the day. Plenty of towels and a robe to use. Hearty breakfast included in the price. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2019

    8.8
    Good location, average breakfast, comfy lounge, ground floor room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Ensuite bathroom functional in room 1, but very geared towards disabled access so water spread over bathroom floor from shower and feet get wet in night when using toilet.

    There was a nice lounge and separate TV room with comfy sofas and great log fire. Wine for sale and access to free tea and coffee with milk. It was good not to have to sit in room. Staff all helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2019

    7.1
    Great location, lovely staff, disappointing accommodation for the money paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was quite tired and smelt stale and of BO. No internet/WiFi at all in the room which was disappointing as we had been traveling in a camper and this was supposed to be a treat, night in a proper bed and opportunity to catch up on emails and chill out with a film.

    Great breakfast and lovely friendly staff. Excellent location- walking distance from main shops, bars, restaurants etc

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2019

    8.8
    Rustic and well placed accommodation easy reach to town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really.

    Location to town,lake and restaurants. Comfortable bed. Breakfast was great Visitor lounge ,spa and laundry were all very good. Friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2019

    10
    Perfect place to stay when visiting Wanaka
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The host was very friendly and went out of her way to make sure we felt at home. Breakfast was great and it’s right next to the centre of town. Will be returning again!

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2019

    10
    Good breakfast, comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It would have been good for the room to include a kettle and tea etc - this was available in the main lounge area, but our room was outside of the main building through doors and down some steps, so it wasn’t the most convenient to have tea in the room.

    Clean comfortable room. Good bathroom. Laundry available (separate charge) which was very handy mid-stay in NZ. Breakfast exceeded expectations - cereals and fruit available, but the lovely host also cooked food to order and we had tasty eggs, tomatoes and toast. For the price we paid we got a lot more for our money at this stay than we did elsewhere so we quite impressed.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2019

    10
    Excellent accommodation and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived in pouring rain and were given a very friendly welcome. Staff were extremely helpful and we took advantage of using the communal umbrellas when we went out for dinner! Our accommodation was excellent, as was the breakfast. The Lodge itself is in a great location, just a few minutes walk to the centre of Wanaka with a multitude of cafes/restaurants. The lakeside walk to the Wanaka tree and beyond was lovely - most people park in the car park and only walk to the tree.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2019

    10
    10 out of 10
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately the spa pool wasn't working while we were there.

    Central location - walking distance to everything. Friendly staff. Nice decor. Clean room with super comfy bed and pillows. Breakfast fantastic. This is one of the best places I have stayed. Great value.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2019

    9.6
    Breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast! What a pleasant surprise! Delicious. Fresh and hot and plentiful. The staff was friendly and helpful in suggesting a walk to a nearby winery - perfect for us! The property was very cozy and welcoming.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2019

    9.2
    Easy access to main town, very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Easy access to main town, very friendly and helpful staff. Lovely relaxing area, tea and coffee available all day/night with an honesty box for extra drinks . Great concept and great value.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2019

    9.2
    The staff were so friendly and helpful and the breakfast was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No negatives! It was simple but exactly as advertised but also had that extra special homely feel that cant be advertised

    The staff were so friendly and helpful and the breakfast was simple yet perfect and so good it was included!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2019

    10
    A definite thumbs up. A delightful property to stay in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A gorgeous B & B for our last night of a 3.5 week holiday. Staff with wonderful, breakfast was delightful. Evening area for drinks and in front of an open fire was so appreciated. Close to the night life of Wanaka. Highlhy recommended.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2019

    10
    The rooms were big, warm and cosy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The sound proofing could be improved - heard our upstairs neighbours all night

    The rooms were big, warm and cosy. The lodge had a great feel and the staff were really friendly. Would highly recommend

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2019

    10
    Quaint B & B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only a peek-a-boo room view of the lake.

    Quaint B & B in town, lovely breakfast and clean room and facilities. They had an outdoor patio and several lounges to use.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2019

    10
    Good nights sleep and excellent cooked breakfast, very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly welcome on arrival and a tour of all the facilities. Nice, clean and well equipped room in an excellent location just a short walk from shops, bars and restaurants (Francesca's Italian was fantastic). Included breakfast was a basic continental option plus an absolutely excellent freshly cooked bacon/eggs by the very friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2019

    10
    Really great facilities, lovely hot breakfasts and a lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a little road noise at night where we were as it’s right on the main road, it didn’t bother us too much as were used to that but may be noticeable for others!

    Really great facilities, lovely hot breakfasts and a lovely comfortable room. The location was great for walking into town as well and had parking on site. The staff, especially Haley, were amazing and so helpful too!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2019

    9.2
    Convenient Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My daughter and I had a bedroom with twin beds as requested. They were moderately comfortable. The room was rather small compared to others we had stayed in.

    This property is very close to town, within walking distance to nearly everything. Breakfast. I never had corn fritters before. Served with caramelized onions and sour cream with a side of bacon, yum. I’d go back just for that.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2019

    10
    Great stay! Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location, awesome hot tub, cozy rooms! One of the owners made breakfast for guests in the morning and passed out super helpful sheets with info for our scenic drive from Wanaka to Franz Joseph.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2019

    9.6
    Lovely place, with good heating and a comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely place, with good heating and a comfy bed. The favourite was a sheep skin blanket. The folks are very nice, the breakfasts delicious, and the lounge to die for. Loved it!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2019

    9.2
    Property in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was right next to staircase so was quite noisy. Bed was a little too soft for our liking.

    Property in great location. Staff were super friendly. Was a cute hotel and great value for money.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2019

    8.3
    Close to Wanaka sights, walking distance to restaurants etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was smaller than I thought based on photos and price, also quite noisy as we were next to meals area and hot tub, could hear noise from other rooms/ movement etc which could be annoying early in the morning. Limited car park at front of property, another Car park is also in a lot next door and quite crowded at times

    Close to Wanaka sights, walking distance to restaurants etc. staff were great, especially kitchen staff.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2019

    9.6
    Te Wanka has nice touch s for when your travelling.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Te Wanka has nice touch s for when your travelling. Tea and coffeee available 24/7 from the kitchen. Wayne cooks a great brekky in the morning as well as cereals, toast and fruit available.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2019

    9.6
    The staff are very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff are very good. We had left behind some stuff and by the time we reached Queenstown airport, Haley reached out to us and informed us. I will definitely stay with them the next time I am there and will recommend the place to my friends.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2019

    5.8
    Wouldn’t recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was very tired looking, the bed wobbled around, the breakfast was minimal and the staff too interested in their own conversations. Wasn’t value for the amount charged when compared with other places we have stayed on our trip across NZ.

    Was in a good location

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2019

    10
    Lovely, comfortable accommodation. Good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    That I was only able to stay 2 nights 😁

    A lovely place to stay. Rooms are clean, airy, warm and comfortable. The property is kept really well and is very modern, smart and quirky - in that the lodge was apparently built around the garden so is an unusual shape. It’s a little gem. Staff are lovely, especially Hayley and Nat. Wayne the owner was also very friendly. Brekkie was lovely and the dining area set out to enable you to chat to other guests easily. Nice, friendly atmosphere. Well done!!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2019

    10
    Loved how friendly all the staff were.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loved how friendly all the staff were. Breakfast was delicious every morning and our bed was super comfortable. We also took a soak in the amazing hot tub every night which was so relaxing. Thank you

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2019

    9.6
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Think room would have been a bit cramped for 3. We were only 2 so ok. Room is on busy road but we didn't really suffer with road noise.

    Room 11 was a small room but quiet comfy even had a small balcony. Staff very friendly and helpful with restaurant choices. Price includes a great breakfast. Easy walk into town. Has great lakeside. There is laundry on site at 10$ charge. Quite unusual site with interesting architecture. Very nice lounge area. Free tea and coffee and afternoon snack. Very nice ambience and even has a hot tub.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2019

    8.8
    Comfortable place with delicious food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no fridge in the room, however we could use the common fridge.

    The bed was bigger then in the other places I stayed so far in NZ. Breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2019

    8.8
    Best hotel experience in 2 weeks journey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No

    Best hotel experience in 2 weeks journey. Very friendly staff, always took care of our need. Home cooked breakfast is yummy and unforgettable, even provide afternoon tea with cake.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2019

    10
    Wonderful stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Helpful and friendly staff. Home from home atmosphere. Smallish room but acces to comfortable lounges. Nice varied breakfast, tea and coffee available all day, cake provided in the afternoon. Great location. I imagine it would have a great atmosphere in the ski season.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2019

    8.8
    Ski lodge close to town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Microwaved scrambled eggs just don't work. The room was a bit small and had no desk area for a computer so we had to use the dining room. Internet was Ok but could have been faster at around 6 mb/s. The coffee at breakfast was a bit stewed.

    The lounge areas are very comfortable. The layout and decor are quite good. The whole lodge is very clean and neat. The lodge is an easy walk to lots of restaurants. Staff are good value. Parking is on site.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2019

    8.3
    Nice and well located lodge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is very good, you can walk to the lake front in no time, and there is free parking available. The room and bathroom were spacious and clean, and the staff very friendly. Breakfast was also quite good. We would go back!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2019

    9.2
    Wonderful B&B in a fantastic location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was close to the road so it was a bit noisy for us

    This is a wonderful b&b, well laid out with comfortable and inviting common spaces and free parking. Its within walking distance to the town centre and wanaka lake, and is worth a few nights stopping over. Lovely place!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2019

    10
    Great location and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Liked everything!

    Lovely comfortable clean room and excellent facilities including 2 sitting rooms z hot tub, washing facilities and a good supply of drinks in the dining room. Great breakfast included. Restaurant recommendations also excellent.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2019

    8.3
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Lodge is getting a little tired and needs some painting outside and some maintenance. It had a nice feel to it but just an upgrade would be good. There is a great deal of accommodation in Wanaka and we think the competition might take over, which is a shame.

    The staff were exceptionally helpful and very good. The location was perfect. We were a little confused with the breakfast situation and thought we might have breakfast included, but that was not the case. So we had one breakfast at the Lodge and this was very good. Overall we had a nice stay there.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2019

    10
    Great find, nice stay
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The front-of-hotel parking is limited, but the free parking lot is a one minute walk. Not terrible, just occasionally inconvenient.

    Nice room, great private balcony, lounges for hanging out, breakfast (individually prepared scrambled eggs by staff are a great addition for those who eat eggs). Very good location for wandering and cycling around Wanaka (which is beautiful) The staff are so nice. They are - not surprisingly- an asset to this place

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2019

    8.8
    Good one night stop over
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Quality room and breakfast

    Not enough parking spaces at hotel. Breakfast was very good but took 30 minutes to arrive. Communial breakfast table not individual, not an issue for us but might be off putting for others.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2019

    10
    Excellent place to Stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing!

    Everything in my unit was of top standard and exceptionally clean and tidy. Breakfast and afternoon tea were included in the price, and a pleasant lounge was situated next to the dining room, where I was able to have family members visit. I used the full facilities of the laundry for no extra cost. The staff were all very friendly and most helpful. It was an easy walk to the lakeside and shopping area.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2019

    10
    Nice facilities and I would be happy to stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff and clean environment. The cooked breakfast was hot and lovely and when combined with the continental offerings it was a substantial meal. The Wi-Fi worked well and the common rooms were comfortable to. Staff made restaurant reservations for us and organised our taxi.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2019

    8.3
    Room was quiet, clean and modern.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was quiet, clean and modern. The lodge itself had really nice decor. Breakfast was very good and a great way of starting the day. We arrived late and check in procedure was easy enough even if the host wasn't there.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2019

    9.6
    Enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no fridge in the room.

    The bed was comfortable. The small outdoor area was a nice space to sit. Easy walk to shops, eateries and the lake. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2019

    10
    Excellent getaway in the heart of Wanaka I wish I had more days to stay there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    This was such a cute BnB with an excellent host. I was given a tour of the common areas that were super cozy and loved the dining area with tea and coffee access at any time. It was walking distance to the main part of town and very close to some awesome food trucks. The breakfast in the morning was fresh salmon and eggs and some fruit as well such a delicious meal. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean. Great get away.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2019

    10
    Awesome !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing that could be disliked.

    It was more than what I expected for, needed it ad-hoc on-spot due to some reasons and this was really the best !!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2019

    10
    Great location, easy to saunter into town - the reception...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been nice to have tea facilities in our room, but the communal area and facilities were lovely - a big dining room area with coffee and tea, as well as a comfy lounge, and a hot tub!

    Great location, easy to saunter into town - the reception staff were really knowledgeable about the local area, and there was plenty of place to park.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2019

    7.5
    Te Wanaka Lodge was a comfortable, well located stay in Lake Wanaka.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The door to our room didn't close properly and kept blowing open when our bathroom door/a neighbouring room's door was opened!

    Very good cooked breakfast. Room/bed was comfortable and warm.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2019

    7.5
    Great location and great value for money! Would stay again & happily recommend to others!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was too soft on one side so dipped and made us feel like we were rolling out. Also walls are a bit thin.

    The location was fantastic and the shower was really good! Great water pressure! Also great blinds!! Nice to have a room that was truly dark!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2019

    10
    I love the closeness of the lodge to the town to give us the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I love the closeness of the lodge to the town to give us the option of walking around to enjoy the lake. We love the hot tub outside, and it felt amazing after a long day hike at Roy’s Peak. Our room was clean and check-in and out process was easy. We didn’t do the breakfast option because we were going to travel early to Queenstown and wanted to eat there. Overall, we loved our stay at the Wanaka Lodge.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2019

    7.1
    The staff member that greeted me at reception was very friendly. When I realized tha
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I had expected a motel not a bed and breakfast. Probably my error. I would have expected a small fridge and coffee and tea making facilities at the very least though and none were provided. I had to walk to the restaurant to make a cuppa... The urn was available 24/7 with all kinds of tea bags available.

    The room was clean and tidy with a little balcony. The Lodge was walking distance into town.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2019

    8.8
    Lovely family run hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No air conditioning unfortunately and our room did get quite hot.

    Loads of character, great facilities and really lovely staff. Has a hot tub which was fab! The pictures of this place really don't do it justice I would highly recommend this for a quaint hotel within walking distance of the lakeside.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2019

    8.3
    A warm welcome by host Vicky who showed us around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No where to sit except on the bed. Noisy traffic and could hear people above..

    A warm welcome by host Vicky who showed us around. We arrived early and she was happy for us to access our room which we appreciated. Enjoyed the lounge area and being able to have a cuppa before bed. Breakfast was lovely- home cooked!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2019

    9.2
    Very comfortable and friendly establishment in an unspoilt town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No view from the room's balcony

    Cooked breakfast especially the pancakes, lounges and garden seating areas. Very much a B&B rather than a motel.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2019

    9.6
    Short stay but very enjoyable - will be back on our next visit to Wanaka.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Water pressure in the shower wasn’t fantastic.

    Very cosy and comfortable. Stayed in the garden cottage which was very spacious and private. Excellent location too.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2019

    7.5
    Enjoyed our overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed mattress was too soft for my taste. Room was small for two people to be comfortable to stay for more than a night.

    Liked the breakfast that's included. Would have liked breakfast a little earlier than 7:30. Our room was pretty small. It was furnished with two single beds and a small desk. No sitting area. Felt more like a bed and breakfast room with a private bath. Laundry was a bit expensive at $10 to wash and dry a load. Location was convenient and quiet. Nice and pleasant dining room.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2019

    10
    10 / 10 Our room was so cosy and comfortable - highly recommend anyone stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved everything

    We loved our stay here and would not hesitate to stay here again when visiting Wanaka. We had the little garden cottage and it was very comfortable and we just felt very at home. We forgot there was a hot tub, which we would have used if we remembered. It is close to the lake and plenty of places to eat / drink. The breakfast on offer looked amazing but we had already cooked our own in our room. The staff were very friendly and helpful with quick check in and check out.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2019

    7.1
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Twin room (no. 2 I think disabled room) was a bit dark by day and far too light by night. Bright lights from neighbouring property shine into room. Room needs blackout curtains. Beds too bouncy not comfy.

    Staff were friendly. Nice areas to sit and relax. Free tea/coffee and cake.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2019

    10
    Great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Everything. Room was beautiful and comfy, lodge was very cute and good breakfast freshly cooked for us. The location was great, very central. Probably one of my favourite places of our stay in New Zealand.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2019

    8.3
    Laundry service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lots of black mould on curtains Really really noisy floor boards from above No fan in the room Shower door leaked Would have liked our own fridge in the room

    Laundry service Staff were great Breakfast was good Bed was comfortable Location was fab!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2019

    8.3
    Great location, good facilities, friendly staff, but a few minor issues to contend with.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was uncomfortable, the bathroom fan too loud and the room door kept opening when the bathroom door was opened.

    Perfect location, good facilities and friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2019

    9.6
    Great location, just a few minutes from Lake Wanaka.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location, just a few minutes from Lake Wanaka. Lovely cooked breakfast each morning. Mandy was a great host too, with lots of local knowledge! We stayed in the summer but imagine it would also be perfect for the winter season for the nearby ski areas.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2019

    9.2
    Lots of little spaces outside to sit with a book or glass of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No fridge in the room.

    Lots of little spaces outside to sit with a book or glass of wine. Bright and cheerful breakfast room with a decent breakfast on offer. Easy, short walk into town - and on the same street as the marvellously quirky Cinema Paradiso.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2019

    10
    Super clean and peaceful - good to have lounge space and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not exactly a dislike - a good fan was provided, but air con would be beneficial

    Super clean and peaceful - good to have lounge space and garden area to relax in. Welcomed personally by Mandy, who gave us lots of really useful information

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2019

    9.6
    Very enjoyable stay in a beautiful little town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fridge in room instead of community fridge

    The location was very central to everything . Access to tea and coffee facilities. Fresh cake for afternoon tea.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2019

    10
    Central location and good nights sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very handy for walking into centre. Enjoyed meeting other travellers in lounge and over breakfast. Room was very clean and bed very inviting. Relaxed and enjoyed our stay. Would recommend.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2019

    8.8
    Enjoyable stay in wonderful Wanaka
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Te Wanaka Lodge was kind of squeezed into a corner which backed onto a car park. The trees mentioned earlier gave privacy from that car park but did give shade to balconies. However, the breakfast room was welcoming and great staff either reception or cleaning.

    Lovely breakfasts served and cooked to order by equally lovely staff. Different cooked food each of our 3 day stay plus fresh fruit salad, cereals and toast! You don’t need any lunch after this breakfast! Small double room which had a balcony but a tree outside it blocked out the sun and made the room quiet chilly. Comfy bed though and good bathroom, towels etc. A little garden with hot tub in the centre of the small complex was good to relax and read and there were two lounges to use if you wanted. Very near to local shops and restaurants for good food and bars for drinks. Really buzzy town which has a great feel about it. East and west walks of the lake were interesting for bird life. Can recommend Wanaka as a great place to be.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2019

    10
    Breakfast was absolutely fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were trying to watch a sport final and had no TV in the room and unfortunately the TV room only had free to air TV

    Breakfast was absolutely fantastic! Rooms were clean and comfortable and staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2019

    8.8
    Really quirky little place in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was a little small

    Really quirky little place in a great location. Breakfast was a nice bonus, and the comfortable lounge too. Tea and coffee avaialable all day, shame I always missed afternoon tea and cake ! It just had a nice feel to it to it

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2019

    9.6
    Excellent WiFi, very clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would have liked a slightly better breakfast option for the price I paid for my B&B - scrambled eggs on toast wasn’t what I envisaged! Or if that is the option, make it good bread that doesn’t go soggy with eggs on top?

    Excellent WiFi, very clean and comfortable. Friendly staff and good facilities with a balcony in my room etc. Enjoyed my stay!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2019

    7.5
    Clean, scenic lodge with friendly management but a noisy room if you are looking for twins.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was by a very busy road and it was very noisy and it was a very expensive couple of nights for such a small room also.

    The management was friendly, lovely spa pool and close to town.

    Stayed in January 2019

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: