Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Bay Plaza Hotel 3.5 stars

40 Oriental Parade, 6011 Wellington, New Zealand

#32 of 54 hotels in Wellington

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1155 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Paid WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First night the room was hot. The decor a little tired.

    Breakfast was really good, best scrambled eggs. Location fantastic. Rooms clean and bed comfortable, really nice pillows. Lovely shower, pressure and lots of hot water.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some features of the hotel and the room are a bit dated, for example the heating system and the style of the bathroom. That being said, the room was light and spacious and even though the bathroom style is retro it wasn't at all dingy and it was spotlessly clean. There's no aircon, but in Wellington that's not likely to be an issue! To turn on the heater there was a knob down almost at floor level to turn it on and off so it's a bit awkward. My room warmed up very quickly though!

    The views are gorgeous! My room looked over the city/harbour and the large windows meant I could enjoy a beautiful panorama of Wellington. The staff are very friendly and helpful, with lots of local knowledge. The location is great - Oriental Bay makes for excellent people-watching, strolls along the waterfront, coffee, gelato etc. There's a supermarket across the road. Courtenay place and the surrounding area is filled with bars, restaurants, cafes to suit all tastes and budgets... And despite all this the hotel still has a quiet, cosy atmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a good make over Front door banged all day and night Toilet was not clean Tiles in bathroom were damaged Carpet was old and worn Sky tv only had select channels

    Too expensive for what it was $145 a night plus $20 parking is ok for a better motel but this was a little run down

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    tHE FACT THAT THE CARPARK IS ATTACHED TO HOTEL I THINK IT STINKS YOU CHARGE $20 PER NIGHT IT IS PART OF THE PROPERTY THIS IS A REASON I WILL NOT STAY AGAIN ITS A CLEAR RIP OFF..THE CARPARK SHOULD BE FREE ..NO EXTRA COST..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff there was not that kind and welcoming

    location wise it was perfect as it was quite close to the restaurants and had a day parking at a good rate.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought that the price for the room I had was over priced. There was nothing spectacular about the room or its aesthetic design. $20 for parking - again over priced car was not under cover. Car park was cramped. All together nothing spectacular. My room looked over the carpark and houses at the back so no spectacular view for the price. You could do better BAY PLAZA!

    I was with the meeting for Hearing New Zealand AGM. The lunch that was prepared for us was very good. Nourishing and tastey. The staff were always gracious and attentive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too hot. Couldn't open windows because of the wind.

    Very convenient location - airport bus just around the corner, handy for Oriental Parade.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extra charge for parking $20 was unexpected.

    Old, well worn and dated interior but okay because of its location for an overnight stay. Comfy bed, hot shower with good pressure. Good complimentary WiFi. Reasonable value for money overall.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no air conditioner so I imagine in summer it would be too hot as only two windows open slightly. Even a fan wouldn’t help. But at this time of year (autumn) it was great.

    Great location within easy walking distance to almost everything. Bed was comfy with a spare single in the room that with booster cushions converts to a couch. Coffee table plus a comfy chair and tea & coffee making plus a small fridge. Across the road from supermarket so great for getting snacks etc. they do have a restaurant/bar but we opted to walk up to Courtenay Place for a great selection of food. Staff were friendly and very helpful. A great place to stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything.

    The hotel is not modern but the rooms are refreshed, comfortable and quiet. The staff are always excellent and the location is fabulous.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor is a bit old and dated. There was a light pointing directly up at the window, while the room had heavy curtains the light still got into the room. I did not end up getting much sleep because of this

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Windows could do with double glazing to keep the road noise down, bathroom was a bit tatty around the edges

    Comfortable beds, nice and close to Te Papa and city, a lot cheaper than other hotels in the area. Rooms are what you would expect for the price and going by reviews

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a bit outdated in the rooms compaired to reception. Bathroom needs better ventilation.

    Location is fantastic, service and staff very friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel rooms are in desperate need of renovation and I mean SERIOUSLY !!!! Such a pity this has not being done as its an excellant location - Room privacy is an issue - I could hear my neighbours either side and anyone in the corridors - I am sure they could hear me !!

    Very good location ! And nice Friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was tiny and very dated. Had a harbour view but the windows were filthy and no air con avail so really hot during the day, plus expensive compared to other places we have stayed.

    Location was great, easy walk to town and the waterfront.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fire alert 2.30 am weren’t advised what was going on left standing in rain & cold with no information rang reception only got recording in real emergency could have been serious

    Staff always helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to dislike. Its an older and dated hotel, but its honest and the room price was realistic.

    Great location, easy to get most places on foot. Staff were pleasant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dirty and hair in shower. Put off from the start when Room was not ready and then txt to say it was only to be sent away for another hour.

    The staff seemed like they didn’t want to be there. The only saving grace was the morning employee on our departure.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Window catches didn't latch well and the wind whistled loudly into room. Not a fan of the brown tired decor. Sirens from fire department next door pretty loud

    Great convenient location, easy walk to Museum and into town. Supermarket across the road. Park a couple of minutes walk away for kids. Beds comfy. Small fridge and jug in room. relatively clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms a basic but the views are great. Wellington is expensive to stay.

    Describing the property would be tied looking .....not a lot of change has gone on apart from the entrance over the years, but its a great location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As there was no Air conditioning it meant opening the windows or asking for a fan.

    Convenient to shops and places of interest, including the Orential Parade.. The staff were helpful and efficient . Comfortable and a lovely bathroom. Excellent shower. After checkout we kept our car in Hotel parking, allowing us to go for a walk.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noises the building makes. You can hear people in the neighbouring rooms flushing the toilet, using the taps and shower. Can also hear them talking in the rooms. Therefore didn’t get much sleep.

    The location and friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A pity we had to pay for parking in the private car park, but it was convenient and easy. We did not try the restaurant as we thought breakfast was a bit expensive, so cannot comment on the food.

    Lovely comfy bed and very clean room. We were on the 11th floor which meant we had a good view, although it was very wet and windy while we stayed so a bit noisy......not much to be done about that though! The location was great for Te Papa and exploring Wellington.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very shabby and didn’t feel clean. Although bed was clean.. the bathroom needed a steam clean for the tiles etc. ..didn’t feel comfortable walking in bare feet.The furniture was old, cheap, chipped .. in fact the whole room was dismal. It was bearable for the one night but couldn’t wait to get out the following morning. Have spent the last 6 weeks travelling around Australia & New Zealand, and so far, this has been the worst. Yes, it was cheap but I feel that the ‘write up’ describing the hotel did not match the actual hotel . I would never have booked it orhetwise

    Not much

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the carpet needed a clean as there was a dinner sized circle of stain in the middle of the floor.

    Evening Dining staff very helpful.Reception and booking staff very efficient

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were cramped. No living of kitchen space. Not even a microwave, fridge was tiny wouldn't even be able to hold 2 dozen of your finest beers. Ugly/out-dated furniture, they have deceiving pictures and the lobby tricks you into thinking it's very nice.

    The location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't quiet, could hear through the walls when water was being used. Payed way to much for a room that was tiny. The windows don't close properly so could here street noise all night.

    The view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was advertised as a twin standard. We had a Queen size bed plus two singles, one of which was a temp roll-a-way more suited to if you needed a spear at home. This allowed for up to four per room, but gave us very little room to move about. There is no air con and the decor was very tied and dated

    Convenience of access to the area & activities we wanted to do The breakfast & dinner menus were great & the cooked meals were excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too hot and no aircon. Very windy through windows we couldn't shut because of heat and also through vent in internal bathroom which made for a very noisy night. Also charged $20 extra for parking, which was unexpected. Took room price to the nxt level.

    The location and the beds

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff told me they'd text me when my room is available but they didn't and they tried to charge me a 2% fee when checking out for using a credit card even though I had my debit card which I used for the check-in with me. Also there was some machinery noise like a buzz coming from outside that didn't help with resting.

    The Bay views are great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small and very tired and old fashioned. Only one easy chair in a room for 2. The furniture was scratched and worn.

    Great view of the waterfront from our room on floor 9. Enjoyed the meals we had in the restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Very disappointed that we were charged an extra 2% for using a credit or debit card. No other shop, hotel, motel, garage, museum, etc in North Island New Zealand during a two week stay did this!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel room looked a bit tired and could do with redecoration but rates at lower of end of range so this was what I expected

    Helpful, friendly staff. Good location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Aircon or fan in the room so we need to open the window but then the road is so noisy. hotel is outdated

    Location is near Te papa museum and city center

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tired decor from 50's needed a spring clean. Bathroom and all furniture worn out, old faded bedcovers.

    Value hotel in great location with sadly tatty decor and poor cleanliness. Front door of hotel is steps away from all Courtney place restaurants, Te Papa Museum, Bats Theatre, Embassy cinema and carparking is brilliant. It is also close to Oriental beach swimming area (locals flock there on sunny days) and the indoor pools with sauna and a gym with great views of harbour. The supermarket across the street is very handy and from the 9th floor I had a great view of Te Papa and the harbour.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was always a bit stuffy on return even though the windows open slightly. A fan in the room would have made it an exceptional stay but overall the hotel was great & we already decided it’s the place we will always stay in Wellington

    Superb location!!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The temperature of the room was unbearably hot and there was no way to control it other than to open a window in which case the noise was unbearable!

    Location was great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was a bit hot as couldn't open the windows very much, was expecting some sort of air-con. A fan would have helped.

    Only stayed one night so didn't have any meals on site. Clean and tidy, brilliant location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old type of room.Heating system was dated.Noisy water system in the bathroom.This seemed to be from another room having showers.

    Nice clean room with a very good view of Wellington harbour.Good size room.Fantastic parking at a very good price.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The windows were either dirty or covered in condensation so you couldn’t see the view out across the city.

    It was a great location, easy to find and a reasonable price for a city centre hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room overlooked the loading dock of the supermarket across the road. It was exceptionally noisy and I got little sleep. And the room smelled of mould. See the lovely pics of all the trucks attached.

    Nothing to recommend

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Much smaller room than we had last time for the same price, but still comfortable.

    Excellent location, very close to Courtenay Place and lots of restaurant in the surrounding area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too small No room for you to get in and out of the bed from the window side Generally everything was old and dated Needs renovation Windows not sound proof can hear the howling wind outside Bathroom needs upgrade Lots of broken crack lines Coffee station in cupboard is very inconvenient Room did not include complimentary breakfast Guests with car should not be charged for parking their car in the hotel car park

    Like the location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast. No English breakfast tea. No gluten free bread at breakfast. Did not have drinks available to make cocktails on bar menu

    Evening meal ok. Staff really good. Pity about the management. Needs a real good sort out

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioning and it got hot because the room got afternoon sun & windows opened only a fraction Not double glazed , one night we couldn't hear the TV because of the excessive wind noise

    Location , good shower

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are of a dated design, as is the bathroom.The toilet seat was grotty and slightly damaged with a flush mechanism not seen since they were phased out of railway stations 25 years ago. Tiled bathroom floor was unpleasantly grimy in the grouting, paintwork worn and overall a very tired and worn look. No air-con.

    Bed was comfortable with good quality clean linen. Car parking, on site, was easily accessible and adjacent to a convenient entrance to the property. Locations is wonderful and views of the harbour, city and skyline lovely.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit old hotel

    This hotel is very close to the city. I recommend to stay at this hotel if you really dont mind whether facilities are bit old. Staff are nice and friendly though.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing really. Breakfast was a bit on the pricy side for being as standard as it was. Nice staff.

    good location, friendly staff, comfortable bed, no noisy air conditioning inside the room. Windows that could open.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There didn't appear to be air conditioning in the room.

    We were offered a discounted prepaid breakfast option at check in. Proximity to the city, restaurants, shops, markets and museum was good. The room was of a good size and though dated, it met our needs for the weekend. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was confusing with the bond if paying by cash or eftpos even though you all ready had my credit card details when I booked online, I hate surprises,

    After the day I had driving it was clean and quite,

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture in the room is a bit run down and old considering how contemporary and new the hotel looks from the lobby. Elevator went funny and would not open when we were trying to check out. Went to breakfast on our first morning and found the fruit was mouldy and off. They replaced it with new fruit from the kitchen but the damage had been done. The cooked breakfast was nice but the mouldy rockmelon and honeydew put us off and we did not go back for the rest of our stay.

    We were a little worried about the scaffolding and requested if we could be just above it. Well we got given the top floor. Was very impressed with this and the view was fantastic. The room was roomier than we thought. Bathroom was a bit small but easy to move around. Needs better lighting though (brighter).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning would have been good during the very hot weather. Double glazing would have reduced the overnight noise from truck deliveries overnight. The shower head has a small leak as has the hand piece. New 'O' rings will fix it.

    Comfy bed Well located for museum, harbour and restaurants. Good sized, light room I liked the location and the friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Hotel is in very strong need of updating - peeling paint, cracked tiles etc. There was a notice to say the outside renovations had been completed - but there was terrible old peeling paint (in the car park area).

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are not air conditioned and cook in the afternoons. Even with fans it was impossible to be comfortable in the mid to late afternoon and evening. Room decor was dated.

    View and location. Awesome. Staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole place could do with a bit more maintenance. It's great where it matters (the bed was basically brand new, for example) but the edges are rather scuffed and worn (e.g. cracked bathroom tiles). It gives a misleading first impression as the facilities are excellent.

    The staff were brilliant, the bed heavenly, and the dinner was fantastic. We'd been stranded without our bags and they printed tickets for us, lent us adapter plugs, let us phone family from the desk, and generally made us feel a lot better. Just brilliant all 'round!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shampoo and Conditioner. The "conditioning shampoo" left my hair a little like straw unfortunately. that's my only complaint.

    The room was comfortable and clean, great location. I arrived late and left very early but I was happy with the value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was surprised to find there wasn't aircon in our room.we were given a small fan.we were told scaffolding would be removed and it wasn't. painting had finished but blue mess and scaffolding still there.i picked this hotel for the view as there aren't any tall buildings around.great location though.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked the location of the hotel as it was within 5 minutes walking distance to the city and waterfront. Also the staff were very helpful and friendly. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was scaffolding and workmen outside our window which we weren’t informed about. It’s a hot summer and the windows won’t open properly, there was no aircon or fan, so it was very hard to sleep.

    Bed very comfortable. Shower great with lots of pressure. Decent sized room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air conditioning would have made my experience better.

    Good sized room, clean and good facilities. The staff were very friendly and although there was no airconditioning in the room they provided me with a fan. Tea and coffee making facilities and TV with multiple channels. Great location!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is currently scaffolding all over the building obstructing the water view. The plug hole in the shower was totally blocked and filled up after one persons shower. The swipe cards to get in the building from the car park dont work at night and you have to use your own cell to phone reception to let you in.

    Very good location close to oriental bay and beds were comfyand staff very nice and friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The renovations at the hotel The first room offered was nothing like the photos. The room I was given was good. I am sure when the renovations are finished it will be nice.

    The staff were extremely helpful The position is good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had neighbors in two rooms opposite who were very noisy, even at 4am. Unacceptable to have to put up with that. Two nights running. Partying with the doors to their rooms open for everyone to hear

    Views,location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms maybe a bit small. But we didn’t book it to lounge in the room

    It was close to the restaurant area and Te Papa so you could park and walk everywhere

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are renovations/painting happening to the exterior of the hotel. It would be nice to see these renovations continue inside as the rooms are very dated.

    Great location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow check in . Room very dated and need up grading. Tiny bathroom with a shower that was difficult to access for elderly. The hotel is not even wheelchair accessible, high step at front entrance. No Wi-Fi on checkout so could not pay by etfpos. Difficult to navigate car park . Parks to close together.

    Location close to event venue.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Satisfied with everything we experienced.

    All staff we had contact with were very pleasant, helpful. Central location brilliant. Easy foot access to places we had gone to see. Night views of city lights and traffic movement very impressive.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Decor a bit outdated and no coffee plunger in room although I asked one of the girls at reception and she did locate one for me.

    Friendly and helpful staff great location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic and tired, would not stay again. Got woken up by reception knocking on doors at some point around midnight. Mentioned to front desk in morning who showed little empathy or understanding.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not like the small pokey shower, the noise of the kitchen fan in the room and the lack of air conditioning. I would not like to stay here during a hot summer.

    Great proximity to Te Papa, a supermarket and super view of the harbour.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit dated and a little bit noisy despite being on the 8th floor I was woke up at 3 am by someone throwing up in the street below!!!

    Location . Deal with taxi firm. On my journey to Wellington I had been charged 50 NZD from the airport to another city centre hotel relitavely close to the Bay Plaza, with a card supplied by Bay Plaza the same journey cost 25 NZD and the journey despite the traffic only took half the time, perhaps I was ripped off!!! First time?

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very limited view from the room right now due to works on the buildings, noise from said works started at around 7 am in the morning (on weekdays)

    Excellent location next to Te Papa museum with rooms overlooking the harbour, cheap room rates for that location compared to other hotels (probably because of the works going on there at the moment)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff seemed completely lack lustre. Room dated and tired and smelly. Entire building covered in scaffolding. They tried to charge us for ringing the night manager to inform them a drunk person had climbed up on the scaffolding and was scresming through the windows. Would never stay again.

    Location wise it was great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loud speaking and noise from neighbouring room - woken at 1 am because neighbour could not get in to her room and she and staff were talking, rattling keys, and going up and down in the lift till after 3 am. The bell from the lift was clearly audible in the room even with the door shut.

    Rooms are very noisy with little soundproofing. You could hear people talking in the corridor and noise from the adjacent room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived after midnight. Thus hotel locked - took a few minutes to get manager to open. Hotel under refurbishment, so scaffolding everywhere. Rooms ok, but need to be renewed, pluming a bit noisy. Good basic hotel, perhaps should be $80-50 cheaper to be good value

    Location good. Staff friendly. good basic hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: