Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. New Zealand hotel reviews
  3. Waikato hotel reviews
  4. Hahei hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of The Church Accommodation

Reviews of The Church Accommodation This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

87 Hahei Beach Road, 3591 Hahei, New Zealand

#3 of 14 hotels in Hahei

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 358 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    9.2
    Really memorable and comfortable with a great staff, and a great Dinner. Nearly perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night

    We are/were happy with everything, from staff to space, so when we mention that anything was amiss, this could not truly have been a deal breaker -- Suffice to say to lend credibility, and to tick all of the form's boxes, we will add the things which we would have improved: 1. A Mini-split AC/Heat Unit to take the chill off, or cool off, rather than a Radiator, which simply takes a bit longer 2. A Small Breakfast option, perhaps fresh fruit, Bagel, Toast, Yogurt, and or Granola, in case one needs to hit the road in a hurry. 3. A Map of the town on the wall for reference, with a You are here, guide-post, with A top 10 list with referrals for tours, treks, rentals, food, sights, and landmarks (referencing the Map) 4. A luggage stand/second luggage stand.

    The Church Staff and Accomodations were superb. To the extent that any Hotel, Inn, or B&B, should rise to 5 stars, this place is damn close to the top. We Enjoyed our brief stay, the staff's helpfulness, and the comfort and conveniences provided. We also reserved a dinner spot at their restaurant, and enjoyed not only our meals and Dessert, but the wine pairings, and the Service/Server. Our room was a cute, but complete Cabin, with a comfortable bed, (pillows a bit too tall for our tastes), but every effort to made to provide comfortable and peaceful environs, including a car-port beside the cabina, and a small radiator and water bottles for a crisp evening's warmer. The Coffee and French Press was quite welcome, as brewed coffee in NZ seems to be never more than an Americano diluted. We loved the handiness to make a real and true cup of extracted coffee in the morning, with fresh milk. As Compared to many other evenings stayed in nearly every little beach town in The Northern Island, the Church was one of our favorites. A full or continental breakfast would have cinched 5 stars for us, but the recommendation to visit the seemingly only "Cafe" down the road, was a great one, complete with great food and another "Long Black" Espresso, diluted with water. Thank you very much for your work to make our stay pleasant, and welcoming. Peace

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    8.3
    Pretty, quaint and peaceful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was surprised ( because obviously I didn’t read the fine print ) that there was no television in the room we chose.

    The hotel was quaint and very old world. The gardens were beautiful and the staff very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    8.8
    Unique Accommodation in beautiful Hahei
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    WiFi not great but they do warn of that and not their fault. Breakfast available, but not included in the price.

    Good and quiet location: back a little from lovely Hahei Beach (easily walkable), but close to Cathedral Cove and Hot Water Beach. Helpful staff - they even provide shovels (to use at Hot Water Beach) and beach towels. Clean and comfortable room.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 24, 2018

    9.6
    Great locality to all services - tour companies and beaches . Friendly efficient staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Cottage with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room numbers on the units were not clearly visible especially at night.

    The dining venue attached and the helpfulness of staff with booking activities . The gardens are beautiful.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    10
    Amazing place in a beautiful town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Absolutely nothing. Perfect all round.

    A warm and helpful welcome especially after a bad experience at a property in Rotoura. Anna was extremely helpful. Provided us with a map, booked us in at the Bistro which was amazing, and helped with some laundry. The house is big, clean ,quiet and very comfortable. We were helped again the following day with boat trips booked at the beach just 10 minutes walk away. Had we known this place was so beautiful, we would have changed our itinery. Thankyou for making our final day in New Zealand amazing. It restored our faith and was the cherry on the cake of our 2 weeks. When we get back, we will ensure it's back here.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2018

    9.6
    Charming, friendly and informative receptionist.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Charming, friendly and informative receptionist. Spades and towels to borrow for hot water beach. Well equipped, comfortable cottage. Gorgeous area

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    10
    Terrific accommodation in a beautiful area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Three-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No milk supplied.

    The house was sparkling clean and a great set-up. The fireplace was set ready to light with a good supply of wood. Beds were very comfortable. Unfortunately we didn’t get to enjoy staying at the house as much as we would’ve liked as we had a medical emergency and spent the majority of our time at the Thames hospital. We would love to come back again and stay longer to really enjoy all the facilities and the Hahei area.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    8.8
    Charming accommodation with lots of privacy and set in a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Cottage with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Perfect for Summer but in Spring it was rather cold in the lodge despite the little radiators. The breakfast was a bit underwhelming for the price.

    Charming accommodation with lots of privacy and set in a lovely garden. Just a few hundred meters to the beach and center of Hahei.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2018

    10
    Loved the "church" conseot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    -

    Nice, spacious and clean room which had everything we needed and looked cozy and inviting! The garden at the back was lush and we loved to sit on the patio listening to the sounds of birds. The room has an ensuite bathroom and a small but well equipped kitchenette. There is a guest laundry on site for a small fee. Tried also the Church restaurant on site and the food was so good! This accommodation was one of the highlights of all the places we stayed during our New Zealand roadtrip and definitely recommend.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2018

    10
    Wonderful little house, gorgeous location
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Three-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing I could criticise

    The accommodation was beautiful, comfortable beds, clean, welcoming and a lovely garden for breakfast. So close to the beach.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    10
    I stayed here with my partner for a 4 day holiday over the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I stayed here with my partner for a 4 day holiday over the Labour weekend and we had such an incredible time – we stayed in one of the little studios. Loved the garden and outdoor sitting area – was so nice to have some wine & cheese out outside. The bed was very comfy as well. Had a few issues with water but this was quickly resolved. Would recommend all to stay, especially couples or a girls trip.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2018

    10
    I can not fault one thing about the stay at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I can not fault one thing about the stay at all. The accomodation was my favourite of my entire trip. So cute and cosy. Location was amazing. We walked to cathedral cove and to dinner from there easily. The staff were amazing, so welcoming, friendly, and helpful with everything. If you choose to stay in this town, don’t stay anywhere else.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    10
    What a lovely place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Located ideally for visiting Hot Water Beach & Cathedral Cove. Very clean and very nice rooms. The staff is beyond friendly - we got great infos and even shovels&towels for hitting the beach. And we got the chance to do our laundry. The rooms are well equipped & just incredebly lovely inside and also the outside garden and porches are beautiful! The church bistro is a cozy friendly little restaurant whit a small menu - the food they cook is amazing!!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2018

    9.2
    We had a very pleasant stay and would definitely go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just a small detail: there was no shampoo holder inside the shower cubicle.

    The location was perfect. We could take a bus right next door to the trail to Cathedral Cove and then back to the hotel at a low fair price. It is within walking distance (1,5 km) to Hahei beach and the restaurants. It is also a short drive to Hot Sand beach. The cabins are in a great location, surrounded by vegetation and lost of flowers. The hotel provides guests with beach towels and a shovel, in case one wants to dig for hot water at Hot Sand beach, at no cost.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    9.0
    Awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 1 night

    maybe bathroom need to upgrade abit, eg. shower and fitting ware or build in a new bath tub :)

    We had a fantastic stay with Church accommodation, very complete cooking facilities and barbecue, we had our dinner well prepared and towel and shovel were provided eventough on our check out day!!! we will be back again !!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2018

    9.6
    Perfect base for exploring Cathedral Cove and Hot Water Beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was nice and warm on arrival (we were here during Winter). Hosts were super friendly and helpful with tips of the local area. The place is very convenient for visiting Cathedral Cove and Hot Water Beach and you can borrow spades and beach towels for free (or a small donation). Just a note that there weren't many options at all for dinner as we were visiting in the winter season. In fact, the only place open seemed to be The Pour House (which was amazing!). Would definitely recommend The Church!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2018

    9.6
    Quirky and lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It didn't really bother us, but our room didn't have a TV so we had to go to the main building to watch TV there. That might bother some people. We also tracked in a lot of sand after visiting the Hot Water Beach, and it would have been very helpful to have a dustpan and broom to be able to sweep that up as we felt bad but couldn't pick it up off the floor.

    What a lovely place! Our room was beautiful and bright, and spotlessly clean. Located within easy driving distance of the justifiably-famous Hot Water Beach, this was a great place to stay. The owner was super welcoming and helpful, with lots of recommendations. They also provide shovels and beach towels for guests to take to the Hot Water Beach, which were very welcome. Our room looked onto a garden that looked really beautiful, although unfortunately we didn't have a chance to explore it. That window had a window seat under it with cushions so you could sit and look into the garden, read by the window etc. It was a really nice touch to the room. Highly recommend!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2018

    9.2
    Cozy Boutique Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location of the property was great and within walking distance to restaurants in town (Pour House was great) and the Cathedral Cove walk. Also, property was at the beginning of the Hahei area, so only farm land surrounded us. Room itself was cozy and comfortable. And staff was helpful in giving us recommendations of the area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent accomdation at the edge of NZ
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I stayed in a studio, and it was beautiful, cosy, and well equipped! Borrowed a shovel and towels also so I could dig myself a bath on Hot Water Beach.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    9.6
    Would definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cottage with Wood Fire
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We bought food at the local convenience store which is small and expensive (with limited selection) so I’d advise buying groceries at Whenuakite or another larger town before you drive into Hahei.

    Beautiful cottages. Plenty of space for a family. Kids on beds in living area and were happy. Fantastic wood burner so very cozy even though in the middle of winter. Staff very helpful and full of info about the local area. Provided beach towels and spades to dig at Hot Water Beach down the road. The local pub: The Pour House was fantastic for dinner. As off season there is limited selection of dining. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is absolutely no sound insulation. I was a single, travelling alone and placed in room between two rooms both occupied by couples. Both were very noisy, talking until late and then BOTH getting amorous. I had to bang on the wall at one stage as it was like being in a cheap motel. Also did not like the shower curtain. Don't like them at the best of times but this one kept blowing onto me while I was showering. Yuck. Breakfast was disappointing as I would like to have had some fresh fruit and not fruit and yoghurt full of sugar. Also preserves a bit cheap. Soap and shampoo in rooms also very cheap and nasty.

    The general ambience and initial look of the place is really great. The garden to the rear of the studios is lovely.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2018

    9.2
    Loved the privacy of the accommodation nestled amongst...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loved the privacy of the accommodation nestled amongst beautifully planted and nurtured gardens. Simple but tasteful decor in the units. Very friendly and helpful person at the reception. We ordered the continental breakfast which was conveniently set out on a tray and in the fridge so that we could have it at our leisure in the morning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2018

    8.3
    Nice place in great beach town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Relatively expensive (we expected more for the price paid), kitchenette facilities limited. Window above bed does not have curtains, so light comes in as soon as sun comes up.

    Friendly staff, good location, provided beach towels and spades.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 27, 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable, appreciated towel and spade provision for Hot...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast making facilities rather cramped. Could you provide washing up liquid?

    Comfortable, appreciated towel and spade provision for Hot Water Beach and superb location for walking/boat access to Cathedral Bay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful accomodation in a stunning place. Thank you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cottage with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The single beds in the main living room weren't ideal for adults but would be suitable for children. Despite that, we enjoyed our stay.

    The accomodation was immaculate and absolutely beautiful with great staff who are very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful boutique hotel in a good location where they take care of you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wonderful, private, quiet rooms with deck and garden. Easy access to the shuttle bus to cathedral cave. Easy walk to the beach and town. Wonderfully kept up gardens and very helpful staff. Short drive to hot water beach.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2018

    10
    We loved Hahei so much we decided to just stay locally.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loved it all.

    Very comfortable room and the terrace is great for breakfast and coffee! Friendly staff. Beach towels to borrow. Walking distance to the beach. Clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    10
    If I’m back in Hahei, I’ll be back at The Church.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check in was simple and easy. Everything was easy to get to. The place was beautiful. Clean and had all the essentials needed. Definitely would recommend to others and I’d definitely be back if I was in the area again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2018

    10
    Great place to be no matter if the sun is shining or if the rain comes down and the wind blows!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    That we couldn't stay longer!

    Very unique buildings in a well landscaped setting. Loved the private back deck, the staff were very friendly and informative and thanks for supplying the shovels and beach towels for Hot Beach.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: December 21, 2017

    7.9
    Nice and happy experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sound insulation of the room seems no good as the sound from another would make us heard.

    good location to the both the hot water beach and anothter

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2017

    8.3
    Beatiful and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I am very glad I stayed in this wonderful accommodation, with such lovely garden. We arrived in the evening, it was very peaceful and quiet. Towels and shovels for the beach were prepared for the guests for the following morning, as well and there was a notice of the time of low tide for the next day. The kitchenette was tiny, but sufficient. Our room had a small terrace with a table and chairs, and it was looking onto the garden. The lady at the reception was very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2017

    9.6
    Charming and perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cottage with Wood Fire
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The tap water smells like minerals. Very strong odor and taste that ruins even the coffee. Use bottle water.

    Very cozy and charming cottages that had everything we needed including a fully equipped kitchenette. We stayed in cottage # 11. The deck around it is a great place for bird watching. Super relaxing. Just a few blocks from beautiful Hahei beach and a short car ride to Hot Water Beach. They provided beach towells and a spade. Very nice!! The Church restaurant was awesome too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    9.6
    Very nice themed stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The attached restaurant was booked out, so we had to go elsewhere to eat.

    Well located, well equipped with parking per residence made this a great stay. The way the property takes on the church theme Ian very nice. We were very comfortable here for our short stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2017

    9.6
    Very clean, great location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room design was very basic and simple

    Location and service. Very comfortable late check-in, parking is just outside the cabin door. Quite and nice environment

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2017

    10
    Loved it, wanted to stay longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage with Wood Fire
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    It was amazing! So beautiful and comfortable. They were very helpful with places to see. Had all the things we needed-spade for hot beach, towels for the beach, and lots of information. The restaurant attached to the property was fabulous. Delicious and accommodating to my food allergies. I would go again in a heartbeat!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2017

    10
    Relaxing, stay in lovely accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage with Wood Fire
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was perfect wished we could have stayed longer.

    Fabulous location, lovely lodge style accommodation with everything you need for a stay. Staff were very helpful with local information. Restaurant on site looked great, we opted for the local brewery bar and had a great night with good food

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    10
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location near the beach and easy to walk along the coast towarda the Cathedral Coave walk. Also Hot Water Beach is near. Very friendly staff! Cute houses in lovely garden

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2017

    10
    Spacious and warm house, clean linens, wonderful place for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would have been nicer if I could use the fire place, only 1 shower for 3bedrm house.

    Spacious and warm house, clean linens, wonderful place for family, approachable host, close to grocery shops and beach, easy to contact the manager after hour

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2017

    10
    Glorious accommodation in a beautiful setting. Highly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely warm welcome from Anna and Andreas. Nothing too much trouble; advice on local beaches etc, beach towels and spade for Hot Water Beach. Our little cottage was clean and beautifully decorated- lovely bed! Everything you need eg kettle, fridge etc. Only problem was we had to leave! Could easily have stayed a week. Cathedral Cove great, on Anna’s recommendation we got the water taxi there and walked back. Hot Water Beach such great fun and it’s hot! Had a lovely meal in the Pour House and breakfast at the local cafe. Breakfast of cereals, juice, toast etc is available at the property.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2017

    10
    Simply gorgeous.
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Lovely accomodation in lovely Hahei. Cannot wait to stay again. Lovely decor, comfortable bed , a really nice comfortable feel, beautiful gardens. Just fabulous !

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2017

    10
    Friendly and helpful staff - great place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Really friendly welcome - we only had a limited time in Hahei and Andreas helped us plan what to do. They lent us beach towels and spades for Hot Water Beach even after we had checked out. Great room with lovely view of garden. Interesting history about the church. Pour House restaurant just up the road was fun.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable hotel in a village near Cathedral Cove and Hot Water Beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cottage with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 1 night

    None

    The room was spacious and well equipped. It's located not far from Cathedral Cove and a ten minute drive from the Hot Water Beach. The available shops in Hahei is quite limited but they are a short drive away. The hotel also provides you with shovels and towels for your use at the Hot Water Beach for a small donation.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2017

    6.3
    Lots of better place in Coromandel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    One reason why we stayed here was the rave reviews for the on site restaurant. It was closed for remodeling during our stay. I didn't see any information about this online. It was a huge disappointment. There aren't any restaurants that are very close. We just stayed in the room and ate fruit that we had with us. Also, there was only one other room that was occupied so it was very deserted especially after the desk clerk left at 6 pm. Sadly, the other couple was placed either next door or one door down so what should have been a very quiet place was not. With all those other rooms to choose from, why put them next to us? They may have been on their honeymoon, but REALLY???? Checkout time is 10 am and no accommodation was offered to us so we could go to Hot Water Beach at low tide and then come back and use a bathroom to change. It would have been a nice gesture. Disappointing stay.

    gardens were lovely but too cold to sit on the deck or enjoy the outdoors

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2017

    10
    A quiet beautiful garden setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A quiet beautiful garden setting. Rustic simple accommodation that was very homely. A very relaxed and welcoming environment in a lovely seaside village with magnificent scenery.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2017

    7.9
    no air condition in the room, just a heater, no enough, it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night

    no air condition in the room, just a heater, no enough, it was a little cold in the night of October. restaurant closed this season. the path is narrow for the parking our highlander.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    10
    Andres was on duty during my stay & he was kind & helpful. I highly recommend The Church! 👍🏻
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cottage number 5, where I stayed, is a free-standing cottage. It was absolutely adorable! Very clean, smells of a woodsy heaven and was perfect for my needs.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2017

    9.6
    Enjoyed our one night stay and would definitely book here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Good place to relax after a day of walking and spending time at the beach. I liked the deck facing the garden, the quality of the linen, wood used inside our room and also the smell upon entering the room. Clean toilet and shower. Location is good and just a few minutes drive to the Hot water beach and the Cathedral Cove.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2017

    8.3
    Wonderful stay in wonderful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only drawback for us was the glass door to the bathroom. Rather awkward when travelling with your 25 yo son!!

    Immaculately presented property and cottage. Very relaxing. Lovely little patio. Very comfortable beds.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2017

    10
    We only had one night but it was perfect place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cottage with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A lot of places like this have the kids beds out in the main area which seems dumb because they go to bed earlier.

    We only had one night but it was perfect place to stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2017

    8.8
    Lovely a couple retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Cottage with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cottage is really for two people. Two of us (4 adults stay) slept on wee tiny corner couch in kitchen/living area. Size of the couch (bed) is smaller than kids bank bed. Still charges us $25 per person, per night extra. Not quite convincing - but would be so lovely if there was a couple retreat.

    Lovely staff, nice room, clean and enough utensils for self cooking.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2017

    10
    Brilliant. No other words required.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cottage with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just a simply beautiful place, staff and location. No gimmicks but catching the morning sun while sitting sipping coffee on your own deck set in lush gardens... awesome chill factor.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2017

    10
    Delightful accommodation in one of our favourite parts of the world.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing not to like.

    Our 3 bedroom house was quite special. Lovely high ceilings, really spacious, fantastic kitchen that filled with sunshine in the mornings, comfortable beds and a wonderful fire too. It had such a good feel to it. The owners were really friendly and helpful and everything runs very smoothly. The gardens were filled with my favourite flowers and smells and I couldn't believe I even had potted tulips by our gate. We loved our stay and hope to return one day!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2017

    9.2
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Giving us a broom or dust pan and brush to sweep out sand would have made things even better

    Pillows were excellent. Atmosphere beautiful. Was impressed that we were given lemons to make hot drinks when we arrived unwell.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2017

    10
    cutest little getaway, the best hotel/cabin I've ever stayed in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing at all

    So much better then I expected when do you actually see accomadation that looks better then the photos? This one!!! Absolutely amazing, even thought of little things like hot water bottles!! Shower was amazing cute little garden I could not speak higher about you guys and I will be telling everyone in Aus about you!! Love love love wish we could of stayed so much longer

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2017

    8.3
    The room was clean and the temperature was quite good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi was unstable and slow, not many restaurants could be found around and the restaurant of the hotel wasn't open, which caused a lot of trouble.

    The room was clean and the temperature was quite good because of the heater. Very close to the famous attractions.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2017

    10
    The host was just perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The host was just perfect.We have received all information about possible activities around the area.Catedtal cove parking within 5 minutes by car.Spades for hot pool available for free.Shame we did not have more time.One night is definitely not enough.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 27, 2017

    9.6
    Take me to church - again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not that we needed it - but the small tv-set seemed oddly out of place.

    It was really cold and rainy outside during our visit but the cottage was nice and warm (the heater was efficient enough for our cottage at least). Room was huge, really church like :) We were in the garden cottage (highly recommended) and the price for the unit was more than fair based on what we've seen during our travels in NZ. Bed was awesome and everything just seemed to fit. Great ideas were given to us upon reception for the offseason and shovels for Hot Water Beach were free of charge!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2017

    10
    Felt like home
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Amazing location within walking distance to Hahei beach. Very short drive to hot water beach. The staff were fantastic! I felt so warmly welcomed and like I'd come to visit friends. They had loads of great recommendations on what to see and do and how to have a fantastic experience.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2017

    10
    Beach time in the winter
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night

    After a long day of driving we reached Hahei, and after a quick stop at Hot Water Beached we checked in at our accommodation. It was located just as you got in to Hahei and beautiful cottages. The staff was lovely and very helpful, we got all the information about sites close by and an update on the weather as the snowstorm from the south Island was heading up. Our cottage was perfect for us, with a heater and coffee making facilities. I will definitely book this again if we ever go past Hahei in the future.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2017

    10
    Great places to stay in Hahei
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing at all!

    The cottage was very cute and very cosy, friendly staff who pointed out where to go for a drink and they have free spades and towels for hot water beach. The bed was super comfy and the facilities were really clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2017

    9.6
    Definitely coming back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cottage with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 1 night

    A pot belly stove or more instant heat source would've been great for the early morning hours.

    High quality cottages, which were naturally warm until the early hours of the morning. Well equipped little kitchen for cooking breakfast. Nice and private with lush garden surroundings. Very friendly managers. Also appreciated the tv room/common room for spreading out a bit more with the kids and watching a few cartoons. Finding family friendly accommodation for under $200 - big win.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2017

    5.4
    No way!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First impression was of the car park. Nothing but mud. OK, shoes off at the door; but the car is now a mess. Don't like to drive without shoes! In the room itself, no room to swing a mouse, let alone a cat. Barely room to get to the toilet. Minimum facilities. Bed not comfortable. No sound insulation - could hear every breath taken next door. No tv. Internet iffy. OK, it was a "Suite" - silly name for a cubicle. At least call it a studio - but a suite!!!! No way. Perhaps the other accommodation is better. But they should have warned me that this was barest minimum backpacker standard accommodation. But, yes, the staff were great. Not their fault.

    The staff were excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2017

    9.6
    Cottage Charm - Clean with lots of character features.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good nothing I didn't like - Except you can hear people walking around in the adjoining rooms due to the wooden floors. Not sure if that was guests or cleaners? I was trying to have a Sunday sleep in.

    Loved having my own little private deck to have breakfast on. Enjoyed the character of the timber and cottage charm. Was comfortable pleasant stay. I would recommend to others. The lounge area with books and videos was a very nice touch.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2017

    10
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Andreas was a kind and helpful host, and the cottage was both beautiful and comfortable. Having our own back deck with garden was wonderful. Plus use of beach towels and spades for Hot Water Beach - great bonus.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2017

    10
    Short getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing - even had spades for hot water beach

    Friendly staff helping out at check in after an inadvertently eventful day being rear ended in car crash. Owner accommodated our slightly late arrival that night. Appreciated the peaceful location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2017

    9.2
    Lovely break in Hahei
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage with Wood Fire
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    More sun onto deck. In winter months a bit cool for sitting out asctrees all round.

    Quiet, clean and staff friendly Log burner great. Wet room shower good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2017

    8.3
    Great to sleep and eat. Nice concept but with a few flaws
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The horrible cold bathroom. The sink design, can't fill the kettle or wash up the dishes. The severe lack of blinds so at 7am it is wakey wakey !! Grrrr The private garden...not. Cut the path and add a hedge. It would be better.

    The guys running the restaurant are super top

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2017

    8.3
    Lovely room, nice to have some outside space with a little...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Quite thin walls-could hear the couple next door. Would be better value for money if breakfast was included. No breakfast available on site so need to bring your own or be willing to drive/walk somewhere.

    Lovely room, nice to have some outside space with a little deck area, useful to be able to check in after hours as we were travelling. Good location for hot water beach and cathedral cove.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2017

    9.2
    Cosy and unique; village feel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We stayed for one night and there was nothing that we didn't enjoy or like

    Room was so quaint and cosy. Gorgeous garden setting and little outdoor area. Heated towel racks was a nice touch and the bed was big and fairly comfortable. The restaurant was very cute and cosy with indoor heating and fairy lights outside. It's actually in an old church building with a very village feel. They even let us order drinks from the bar and take them back to our room. We loved our stay here and can happily highly recommend for your visit to Hahei. Staff went above and beyond for us

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2017

    6.7
    Popular Hahei
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    No TV in the room. Crowds of holiday makers at the beaches. Probably better to go outside the school holiday periods.

    The feeling of seclusion with our own balcony and small garden. A Tui came to visit while we were sitting out there.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable house for group of friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    While staff were extremely generous in providing extra wifi as needed, I don't like vouchers with caps. Coming from overseas, wifi is essential as roaming charges and one-off NZ sims are expensive. This was a minor issue in the broader context as we absolutely loved this place and will return and recommend to others.

    Perfect set up for a group of 4 or 5 friends. Full kitchen, lots of space and 3 comfortable queen beds in 3 separate rooms. Extra toilet a welcome and necessary bonus. Wonderful staff. Extras like the beach spades and towels were great. Wonderful restaurant on site.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2016

    7.9
    perfekt Location to Visite Cathedral Cove and hot water...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no cooking possibility, accept a realy small place next to the washing machine

    perfekt Location to Visite Cathedral Cove and hot water beach! there are a few Restaurants nearby! you get extra towels for swimming

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    7.9
    Lady on reception was extremely helpful when we arrived...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lady on reception was extremely helpful when we arrived early and made sure we made our way to hot beach in time.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    10
    BEYOND MY EXPECTATION!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage with Wood Fire
    • Stayed 1 night

    BEYOND MY EXPECTATION! VALUABLE PLACE!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2018

    10
    Stunning Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hahei is so beautiful and The Church was a lovely place to stay and explore the area. We ate at the restaurant one night and the food was delicious.

    Stayed in November 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse The Church Accommodation Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: