Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. New Zealand hotel reviews
  3. Waikato hotel reviews
  4. Taupo hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of The Cove

Reviews of The Cove This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

213 Lake Terrace , 3010 Taupo, New Zealand

#29 of 71 hotels in Taupo

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 703 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2019

    10
    Very exquisite and unique!
    • Couple
    • Premium Suite with Private Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very exquisite and unique! The private spa on the balcony with the lake view was a beautiful touch, really made our stay at the property memorable. The Host/Owner that greeted us at the entrance was very professional as well very friendly, easily one of the best hosts we've meet by far. Spoke very well, and made sure we felt at home. 10/10 would recommend or try again!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2019

    9.6
    What a great find - wish we’d had a longer stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Suite with Private Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Might have preferred an 11.00am checkout rather than 10.00!

    A late one-night booking so few expectations but this was an excellent find. Big bedroom and sitting room, jacuzzi on the balcony, really good coffee shop selling excellent breakfast, friendly helpful receptionist. Exceptionally good.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2019

    6.3
    Overall pretty good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Suite with Private Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was NOT clean... There was yellow mouldie stains in the grout which made me question just how clean the bathroom was. Not a good look.

    The room was well set up and comfortable. Nice views of the lake. Walking distance to town.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2019

    10
    Loved the service, loved the room and we will definitely be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Suite with Private Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We got locked in our spa cause the door wouldn’t open but that was more funny than anything, got out in the end.

    Lovely lady at reception who greeted us, made us feel comfortable. Beautiful room, huge bed, great bathroom, nice view and has an awesome selection of sky channels. The spa was so rejuvenating and my partner and I had a great time here. Definitely would go back and DEFINITELY recommend to people!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2019

    6.3
    Beautiful but noisy air con so no sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    NOISY AIR CON: every 10 or so minutes it made loud sound like a compressor. Would've spoken to staff at check out but at 9.05am they were'nt there to speak to so we left. We left for our journey so tired.

    Rooms were beaitiful. Comfortable bed....

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2019

    8.3
    The cafe for breakfast was awesome , delicious food, staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Private Hot Tub
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hearing folk aboves ablutions, room starting to show its age, parking, dark passageways to rooms , more lights at the downstairs steps to rooms

    The cafe for breakfast was awesome , delicious food, staff were happy, helpful, obliging, with views of the lake , mountains, people watching,

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2019

    10
    It was an amazing stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was an amazing stay! The room was incredible, mind blowing! Super spacious, very comfortable! Service was exceptional and made me feel special. 20 minute walk into town along the water front was beautiful and easy!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2019

    10
    Even in the cheapest room, everything is nice and functional...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No elevator, cheap rooms have no balcony or lake view or hot tub, so really significantly sad compared with the nicer suites.

    Even in the cheapest room, everything is nice and functional, quiet, great air conditioning, big bed.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2019

    9.6
    Epic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bath would have been the icing on the cake but can’t complain too much

    Very spacious room; we used the pull out sofa bed as well as the main bed for our little one which was surprisingly comfy. Considering I booked this last minute over the long anniversary weekend the room was great. Hamish who checked us in was very friendly and just the kind of person you want to see after a long 3.5 hour journey

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2019

    9.6
    We will definitely be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would have been great if there was a pool.

    I really loved the proximity to the lake as well as amenities (you will need a car if you are not a walker however), and in particular, the elegant decor in the common areas. It gave off the feel of a luxury lodge at a fraction of the cost. The beach was fun...once we had worked out that you really can’t wade in the shallows in bare feet because it’s too stony and painful, just around the point to the right of the hotel, you can lie back in the shallows, dig your hands and feet in the shale, and enjoy thermal water coming up while the cool waves of the lake wash over you. Perfect after a long, hot day of motor racing! The bed was soooo comfortable and everything in the room met expectations. If you want to eat out there is an informative compendium in the room that lists the recommended eateries (The Vine being the “vibiest” place to go). We stayed in a studio room but will book a spa room upon our return as these look out on to the lake and would be perfect for a couple’s mini break. Our daughter’s only gripe was that this hotel did not have a swimming pool.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2019

    10
    A great long weekend stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Suite with Private Hot Tub
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would really like a TV in the bedroom.

    Large vanity, very clean throughout, comfortable bed, great tea and coffee nook, mineral pool nice.....clean and private. Good size terrace. Plenty of parking and having a cafe onsite awesome for breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2019

    10
    very pleased thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    no complaints.

    lovely property, clean and it makes you feel good. no complains didn't hear the noise of the traffic great. friendly staff at the receptionist .

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2019

    6.7
    Good proximity to the lake, short walk to town along the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Quite dated bathroom facilities- tiny shower for the size of the bathroom. No cap on the toilet flush, cracked tiles, loose roll holder - little things but easy fixes.

    Good proximity to the lake, short walk to town along the lakefront.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2019

    9.6
    Good location, wonderful spa bath, great for a weekend relaxing getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Private Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The in room spa pool made it for us, just perfect. The suite was large, spotlessly clean and well furnished. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom well equipped.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2019

    9.6
    good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Private Hot Tub
    • Stayed 4 nights

    i thought we were getting a double bed and two singles instead we had a queen and my daughter and grand daughter had to share a pull out bed

    good size for two people

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2019

    9.6
    Loved the location just metres from the lake and an easy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Private Hot Tub
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loved the location just metres from the lake and an easy walk to town (a couple of kms away). Loved the balcony and private spa pool also - would stay again! Even though the property was fully booked, we wouldn’t have known it was as it was very quiet.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2019

    8.3
    As stated I enjoyed my stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Bed Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I found parking was difficult in that at times all the parks were taken.My room was not serviced on new years day although I had agreed to this.Other rooms were however serviced. Nevertheless I enjoyed my stay and will certainly return.

    the bed was comfy. the service was pleasant.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    8.8
    Ticked almost all the boxes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Suite with Private Hot Tub
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The spa jets were not working properly. - Faulty activation switch.

    Ticked almost all the boxes. Perfect location, friendly & helpful staff. Good value for money.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    10
    Thank you for a lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Private Hot Tub with Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing we didn’t like

    We were warmly welcomed by Hamish and had a great stay here - a stone’s throw from the lake. The hot tub was an unexpected treat.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2018

    7.9
    Was very comfortable and suited our needs with welcoming staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Suite with Private Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night

    A few minor things could have been cleaner. ie shower curtain and ranch slider tracks.

    Good size accommodation. Quiet. Handy location. Good service. Welcoming.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2018

    7.9
    Great location and staff helpful but sadly room size disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Studio Compact
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room size was VERY small.Bathroom did not match updated room- it looked like an 80’s throw back!! Lake view was there but room overlooked other properties.

    Late check out. Attached cafe. Proximity to lake side. Free parking.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 25, 2018

    10
    Lovely people & location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Private Hot Tub
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small, personal pet-peeve but I would have liked more hooks to hang wet/used towels in the bathroom.

    The hosts are lovely, as were any of the other staff we encountered. Location is a 30 minute walk away from the town centre but it's a very pleasant walk alongside the lake. The Cove arranges bookings in the local restaurants. We chose Dixon Brown, which has a free shuttle to & from The Cove, which was great. The adjacent café is really good too.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2018

    10
    Beautiful room upgrade for a great price, nice cafe on site & beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Studio Compact
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff who checked us in, Hamish was very friendly & told us lots of tips for our travels of what to do in town & where to eat. When we arrived he showed us a better room then what we had booked & offered it to us at a good rate to make sure we felt more comfortable for the 2 night stay. Room was beautiful (1 bedroom apartment) & has its own balcony with a spa bath. This really made our trip in Taupo amazing.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    10
    Great accommodation for relaxing in privacy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very helpful staff at reception, decided to upgrade our room to a spa room with a view, which I would highly recommend. Very nice, large room with a private spa.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    10
    A real haven, the best place to relax. We are looking forward to returning!
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Private Hot Tub with Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    A warm welcome from the hosts and a clean, well maintained, practical suite including a tiny kitchen behind cupboard doors. The spa pool was an extra bonus and the location was right next to the lake and hot water sand.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    10
    A great break by the Lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Private Hot Tub with Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location, close to the lake. Great onsite cafe (closes at 3pm) 5 minute walk to the Edgewater Restaurant at Copthorne Manuels. Our room had its own spa. Free parking.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    8.3
    Loved the spa and the bed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Private Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was difficult to park

    Loved the spa and the bed! Hosts were kind even though I never got to meet them as we had a after hours check in. But they were lovely via phone and email. Am already planning a trip back!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    7.1
    We loved the spa and the setting of the room.
    • Couple
    • Suite with Private Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a lot of dust all over the lamps..Also couch was uncomfortable and the paint was peeling off the walls...Also our mattress smelt of mould...And there was spiders in the corner of the ceiling...Also the toilet flushing from upstairs was extremely loud...

    We loved the spa and the setting of the room...it was close to the water and we felt safe there...The reception man was really friendly and helpful also...

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    8.8
    Expensive view of the recycling
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Private Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were on a romantic break and booked for lake views and thermal Pool- we were given a room over looking the recycling and neighbours- really ruined the experience

    Room was comfortable and well set out

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    6.7
    It was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Private Hot Tub
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cleanliness not as good as it could be. Old shoe lace from previous guest on the floor tells me it’s done in a hurry. Stayed three nights. Shower never wiped down. Most luxury places do better.

    Rooms are quite

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    10
    Lovely comfortable bed, private spa on deck was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Suite with Private Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I found getting into and out of shower over bath quite tricky. Some handrails would be helpful.

    Lovely comfortable bed, private spa on deck was wonderful. Really lovely room. Cafe great also.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2018

    10
    Superb and relax stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room is very spacious, clean and comfortable. View is fantastic. The location is very strategic. Just next to the lake. We have a nice morning lake walk. It is also near to the town, just 5mins drive. The host is very nice and helpful. We have a great stay here.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    10
    Perfect peaceful paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Suite with Private Hot Tub
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    That we had to leave!!!

    quiet location hop skip jump to lake and great walking track to town lovely cafe next door gorgeous view from balcony private clean spa lovely decor

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    5.4
    Clean and comfortable bed and pillow.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The photos on this site were extremely misleading. Very expensive for one night for the room we had. Broken lampshades, toilet paper holder broken and shower/bathroom wasn’t very appealing. Room was very small with no sink. Any drinking water was to be taken out of the bathroom sink.

    Clean and comfortable bed and pillow. Friendly service.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    6.3
    Was not overly impressed with our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Private Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Found the facilities were showing a bit of wear, stayed here when it first opened was amazing with chocolates on the pillow and fruit in the room, none of that this time

    Spa was good

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    7.5
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Private Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were told breakfast was available in the morning however on arrival at the restaurant we discovered it was closed on Monday.

    Great location. Owners were very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    10
    Great room, spacious and very comfortable, the private spa...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Suite with Private Hot Tub
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great room, spacious and very comfortable, the private spa on the balcony was a real treat. Hosts were very friendly and welcoming, will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    7.9
    Great location, friendly staff, nice private spa, rooms nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Suite with Private Hot Tub
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some mould in the shower/bath but we did arrive at 2.00pm so cleaner may have been rushed.

    Great location, friendly staff, nice private spa, rooms nice and quiet

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2018

    9.2
    Friendly and helpful hosts,Lovely comfy bed and pillows...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Odd location of TV on side wall above bench facilities ,would have been great on the main wall opposite to the bed so you are facing the right way....but could be a space issue and still enjoyed..

    Friendly and helpful hosts,Lovely comfy bed and pillows great selection of tv channels, great location to lakefront and fab cafe onsite for breakfast and lunch...

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Suite with Private Hot Tub
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Suite was spacious with our own balcony & spa pool, partial lake view, most comfortable bed ever! Friendly efficient staff and great location for a weekend away.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2018

    8.3
    Great location , very clean and nice , great spa pool on the deck . Second time to stay .
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Suite with Private Hot Tub
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The sofa bed was really uncomfortable I had to swap beds with my son . The pillows are not very comfy . The bathroom is abit tired but all works and is clean. There’s no lift to second floor so have to carry luggage up stairs and along hallway .

    The spa pool is great . The big bed is great size and comfortable . The little kitchenette is great . Location really good . The cafe below is really delicious .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2018

    10
    Fabulous, enjoyable weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Private Hot Tub
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Love the balcony view. Spa private and secure. Left something in room after checking out, very obliging to let me back in. Nice, friendly cafe at the end of the hall!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2018

    10
    3rd time staying at the Cove
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Private Hot Tub with Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The house keeping was great. Loved coming back to a nice clean room, they made the beds for us every day and we had fresh towels daily. We also loved that they have now installed a safety gate to the spa as that was a major worry for us with our little ones on previous stays. We will definitely be back next year.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    9.6
    Very friendly, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Private Hot Tub with Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    Very friendly, helpful staff. We had a comfortable large room with everything we could need. Lovely spa pool on the balcony which was very private. Lovely view of the lake too.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2018

    7.9
    A classy place with nice views but maybe a little overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Suite with Private Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night

    The main reason we booked here was for the views and the spa pool. But the spa bath/pool does not have a view over the lake (like some of the photos imply) and it was way too hot to enjoy ..after 10 minutes we were cooked like red lobsters

    We had a friendly warm welcome check in. The room was classy with stunning views over the lake. We enjoyed a quiet, comfortable sleep. Was nice to be a little out of the central Taupo retail area but still close to the lake and close to a great little café called "The Wholesome Kitchen"

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2018

    10
    Stay at Taupo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing the blinds inside the room did not shut out the light completely. So my eyes were not used to light coming in I’m used to blackout curtains at home.

    Very large comfortable room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    8.8
    Perfect for an overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Suite with Private Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fold out couch in the main room was uncomfortable to sit on, but this is a very small niggle!

    Lovely comfy bed, nice kitchenette, fantastic fast WiFi. Lovely spa pool though the water was so hot we could barely stand it. Nice view though slightly limited of lake Taupo.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2018

    5.0
    The cove review
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Suite with Private Hot Tub
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom had no ventilation plus no windows, was very uncomfortable. The spa pool was not covered and was not told if it was cleaned. Staff was friendly, however I do not recommend for the price

    Friendly staff, good location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2018

    10
    Big, comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Private Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was great.

    Big, comfortable bed. Spa on the deck & across the road from the lake. Kitchenette facilities were great, with plates & cuttlery etc. They lent us towels for the local hot pools even though we had checked out.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2018

    6.3
    Great location, but be careful which rooms you book
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Small Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    No one at reception when we arrived and even though the place was just about empty, no effort was made to even offer us the option of an upgrade. The building is old and some issues with water not draining and some basic cleanliness not up to standard

    The location of this property is awesome with views on the lake and close to amenities

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2018

    8.8
    My partner and i really loved the spa on the deck.
    • Couple
    • Premium Suite with Private Hot Tub
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Ive stayed at many hotels in rotaz and taupo.One of the cleaning ladies gave me an ugly look when i requested for a room service (was up b4 9am). When we came back to our room rubbish was still on our table hair was still in the bathroom and spa. First time this happened. Other than that it was a SUPER stay!!!

    My partner and i really loved the spa on the deck. Quite enjoyed this place alot. I have to say this has the most comfiest bed ive ever slept on.From the view to the hot lake right next to us. Just a Fab getaway. Will definitely be back.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2018

    6.3
    Stayed at a motel in Palmerston North for $120 per night that had a bigger room and better bathroom
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Small Studio Compact
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom needed renovating, the grout in between the tiles had a lot of cracks, the tile colour was outdated and reminded us of the 70's, the shower head was to fine, there was some small patches of mould on the bathroom ceiling. The power for the electric blankets was by a power board under the bed and we had to change plugs around to get both blankets going. Should have had power points on the wall on either side of the bed.

    Location was good. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The connected heated spa was great, but it was outside the room. There were some privacy concerns getting in and out of the spa especially when the building has plenty of reflective glass.

    We love the location - right a the beach. Comfortable, beautiful and pleasantly appealing design. They have a small cafe for breakfast - great food.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2018

    9.0
    Amazing no other words to describe it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Suite with Private Hot Tub
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The blinds in the bedroo could be covered with a curtain as it was quite bright in the morning .

    It was perfect for myself and my partner . Bed , balcony , tv little kitchen ! It was just great

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2018

    9.2
    Overall a nice place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Suite with Private Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a constant humming all night from a air con motor or something that kept us awake all night. And we had the end unit by the road which was a bit noisy at times.

    Decor was lovely, as was the spa pool. Bed good and everything was lovely and clean. The host was very friendly and obliging, so overall a nice place to stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2018

    10
    10/10
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Suite with Private Hot Tub
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    N/A

    The bloke at the front counter with soul patch went above and beyond. Helped us with out with guides and gave tips to help solve our car issue. Thank you so much :)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    9.2
    The master bedroom was comfortable and large.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Suite with Private Hot Tub
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately the kids found the sofa bed very uncomfortable, with the mattress springs far too obvious. the owners gave us a second mattress to place on top of the sofa bed for the rest of our stay.

    The master bedroom was comfortable and large. the bathroom was very good. Loved the attached cafe, the food was very good, and the location right on the lake was awesome.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    5.8
    Such a great place for a get away and relax, love it each time we go to Taupo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was very out dated and had mold. The heat pump was very noisy which made it hard to sleep.

    The view was outstanding, and the location was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    5.4
    Poor value for money, we will not be returning.
    • Couple
    • Triple Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The unit we stayed in was located at the front end of the property so had very limited lake views, the living area was very small and felt cramped , no place to store suit cases and limited seating. Not good value for money. Maintenance issues - toilet seat hanging off and toilet roll holder loose.

    The unit was clean and facilities adequate.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Suite with Private Hot Tub
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Well loved most of it and obviously have tried to update bathrooms but a makeover on the dated bathroom facilities would improve it.

    Really liked the staff member we explained the motel to us and showed us to our room that he had heated up ready for us. Liked the spa pool. Liked the location. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    6.3
    Felt ripped off as I’ve stayed in nicer places for cheaper, was expecting it to be better.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Small Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was really cold when we arrived, also fairly small. The bathroom was horribly dated and the tiles/walls were all wavy like there was some issue there. Shower was small and would be difficult for someone larger to get into as it had one of those doors that fold inwards. The bathroom fan didn’t work very well and in the morning (very cold morning though) the windows were streaming with water. It was way more expensive than it should have been, I’ve stayed in nicer places for Less, felt ripped off.

    There was a microwave which you often don’t get. The view from the room was quite nice. Electric blanket on bed. And nice hot water. Guy at the front desk was very nice chap.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    9.6
    A wonderful place to stay at the end of your car journey!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Private Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fabulous property with great parking, comfy beds and children enjoyed the spa just outside the bedroom door! Have stayed a few times now and always welcomed with a friendly face no matter what time of the day/night. Excellent location when travelling from Hawkes Bay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    10
    Will definitely stay again!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Suite with Private Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our stay at the cove was just perfect. We stayed in the premium suite with private hot tub and loved it. The room was huge, and very clean. The staff were super friendly and the cafe was delicious. Will definitely stay here again next time were in Taupo :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    9.6
    Great place to help you relax and enjoy Taupo.
    • Group
    • Suite with Private Hot Tub
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The owner is super friendly. The room was immaculate, and always smelt fresh after daily cleans.such a stunning place to stay. Definitely coming back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    10
    We were more than comfortable to spend our holiday in the room than to explore the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Suite with Private Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night

    Honestly it was a great stay but if I were to be overly picky We are used to a telly in the bedroom area although there is one in the room, just out of site of the bed. Some parts of the room were functional but dated.

    Hamish the host was genuine & friendly. Room was spacious and well appointed. We booked last minute and stayed in Taupo less than 24 hours but instead of exploring much of the area we were comfortable spending most of our time in the private spa in our room. Would stay again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    7.9
    We accepted an upgrade for $25 from the first night's...
    • Couple
    • Small Studio Compact
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reading lights by bed were poor, car parks were not ideally placed, 2 sets of internal steps along the ground floor were not ideal with a suitcase

    We accepted an upgrade for $25 from the first night's tiny room to a much bigger, better room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    9.6
    The Cove was very clean and very well presented.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Suite with Private Hot Tub
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A minor issue. The shower is over the bath. This could be difficult for people with limited mobility.

    The Cove was very clean and very well presented. The manager and staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was very comfortable, spacious and well presented. It was lovely to have a spa bath outside the bedroom. The rooms had lake views. It was a pleasure staying there. I would definitely go back there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    9.6
    Came back home very relaxed. Would stay there again. Host very welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Suite with Private Hot Tub
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only thing that needed an update was the jug!

    Room was spotless and warm. Lovely spa. Slept in Comfort. View was wonderful. Very quite place to stay in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    9.6
    Our stay was great staff friendly and the cafe meal was lovely. And very nice coffee.
    • Couple
    • Premium Suite with Private Hot Tub
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The sofa bed to sit on was not comfortable. That is all everything else was great.

    It was peaceful and the cafe was close which was great. And of course the lake was pretty.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2018

    8.8
    Great stay. If I were to stay longer would get bigger room. And hopefully would have robes also
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Studio Compact
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    no Chips to drunkenly buy. Shower pressure was crappy. It only matters when women wash their hair because it takes forrrrrr ever to was out.

    Owner at front desk was super friendly. Room was smaller then I expected but still good. Bathroom was bit dated but I honestly don’t mind just didn’t match the room. I wish there were bar snacks haha because when we got back from wedding we were hungry and I would of eaten some chips! The cove cafe is brilliant! Delicious food

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2018

    5.8
    Disappointed with overall experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Bed Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was tiny and in room facilities were minimal and lacking. There was a strong smell of chemical cleaning products which made us both feel uncomfortable. Rooms were reached via awkward staircases which were hard to negotiate with luggage.

    We liked the location and the friendly receptionist!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    6.7
    Executive room size was good for a family, the staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small bathroom, no opening windows, dark decor, a little disappointing given the great location and lovely Taupo

    Executive room size was good for a family, the staff were very friendly and helpful and location by the lake was great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    9.2
    Very nice clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Private Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night

    Most expensive room we rented in New Zealand for what was included. We traveled for 3 weeks. Mostly staying in Bed and Breakfasts.

    No breakfast in our room had to go to the restaurant just in walking distance to the room. Cute little breakfast. A little spendy but very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    7.5
    adequate for a one night stopover, room likely too small for a longer stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Bed Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    noisy patrons not keeping their loud conversations to their own rooms but in the passageway disturbing us and probably other guests

    Bed was comfortable, room clean, bathroom adequate

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    10
    Had a great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Manager was great very helpful and friendly.

    Room was clean and bright. Excellent for an overnight stay. Close to the water. Had a great little cafe there.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: