Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments 5 stars

377 Frankton Road, 9300 Queenstown, New Zealand

#8 of 71 hotels in Queenstown

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1483 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    3.8
    Every Staff smile and Room clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I live here for five nights . at first I expect to live this hotel according the pictures of lake view in the room. But I am disappointed when I arrive and see the room. So I change two times for better view . The first room is exclusive lake view rooom which have defect of roof of lower floor on the front of room . The second and third room is lake view room and exclusive lake view room . The view is more better but have side wall on the side of the balcony which block the lake view . The most unpleasant is after I take shower ,the surface gathered water seriously on the floor of the bathroom . One time my child walk to toilet and he fall down ,his rear head was hit by the floor .At first I blame my child why he was not careful .But after some thinking ,I think the drain and dry system of this hotel do not good so after take shower ,there easily gathered water on the floor . Another defect ,breakfast is few choices but expensive . In conclusion ,this hotel not worst this price .

    Every Staff smile and Room clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.1
    Lovely view & reasonable location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Considering the price room service food was disappointing as was level of noise in the room- a lot of outside noise. Also only a panel heater in the room- no air con

    Lovely view & reasonable location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.2
    It’s suited to bad weather relaxation as well as the good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment with Two Bathrooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We’ve stayed here before. This time the following happened:- The second bathroom was locked, until we asked for >2 towels for the family. Then it was unlocked... The master bedroom TV didn’t work. Perhaps the hotel doesn’t have enough cleaning teams? 18 mth ago there was no problem. They have a huge workload and may be spread too thin? Room cleaning came very late in the day, usually too late.

    It’s suited to bad weather relaxation as well as the good. It’s warm! Love the gas fire 🔥 Kitchen setup is perfect. Great free movies for entertaining the family.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    We had a relaxing short stay. Everything was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’ve stayed before. A great hotel with magic views. Not cheap but worth every cent! The complimentary shuttle into Queenstown is a critical service provided by the hotel!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.3
    The location and staff was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only negative thing about this stay was the First night in the room which was horrible. People next door kept banging doors etc was 2am and still wasn’t sleeping. Complained 3 times to reception before they moved us. Rooms are not sound proof and they have no noise curfew .

    The location and staff was excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    If you want the full luxury experience stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside is not being super close to the centre of town. To make up for it they provide a regular shuttle bus on the hour and it is a high quality service.

    If it’s great service and amazing location you’re wanting - this is it! Awesome 2 bedroom apartment with everything you could want or need. Fantastic view and your own balcony to enjoy it in! Beds were great. Excellent heating with a gas log fire, underfloor heating in the bathroom and radiators in the rooms. Staff (especially Brook) were amazing- super friendly and always trying to assist. Nothing was too much trouble! Highly recommend staying here if you can afford it. I hope we can come back!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.9
    Great view good service with rooms being serviced twice a...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Executive King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was uncomfortable, fridge wasn't working and service from staff on check out was disappointing

    Great view good service with rooms being serviced twice a day

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.8
    comfortable and relaxing and beds super comfortable
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the price and the worst rubbish bin I have ever tried to use. Not close to any shop or supermarket for odd grocery. didnt like restaurant menu options - very expensive and too much fine dining for me

    location although a little out of town - it was quiet although next to busy main road and great views of lake. Rooms were spacious and clean and fully self contained - Free shuttle provided to and from busy CBD every hour which is handy and staff friendly and helpful . Found it a little overpriced but worth the money

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.2
    At the time the dining area was being renovated & we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive One-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the time the dining area was being renovated & we didn’t get to enjoy the complete restaurant experience. The breakfast setup in the conference room was a little poor & the food was not fresh or refilled for the price we paid for breakfast it wasn’t value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Exceptional property and i would highly recommend it to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was nothing that we didn't like.

    The staff were fantastic and very accommodating with any requests where they could assist us. The view is to die for and the service and ease of booking tours and knowledge of the area was first class.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    Loved it but remember to put out the 'do not disturb sign'
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Unfortunately, we were disappointed with the bed quality as it was two singles pushed together to make a king, uncomfortable and the cleaners kept knocking on our door at 930am to come in and clean our room when we were either sleeping or getting ready.

    The room from our room was exquisite. We stayed in the executive suit and we LOVED the bath and bathroom the entire room was immaculately clean. The shuttle service, concierge desk and ALL the staff were fabulous.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Great place to stay with very helpful and friendly staff and excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only small issue I had was our room was underneath some very noisy people upstairs who were scraping their furniture on the floor late at night.

    All staff were super helpful and friendly. Food was fabulous

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent, we really couldn’t fault this hotel and will definitely stay here again. The view is spectacular but the staff are what really make this place, service above and beyond and always with a smile.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.2
    We loved the Rees and we will definitely come back and recommend this lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The restaurant was closed.

    Great location. Love the trail into the main town. The views were wonderful from out room and the staff were all very helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    The Rees was the perfect hotel for our 6 day holiday in Queenstown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Everything about The Rees was superb and exceeded our expectations. The rooms were exceptional - spacious, warm, clean. The views were amazing. Loved the spa bath with views onto the mountains and lake. Very quiet and peaceful. Room service was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    A great place to come home to with all the home comforts after a long day of sightseeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would Always like accommodation to be a little cheaper but in the end it was value for money

    We found the Rees an excellent base for sightseeing. Loved the views and the high standard of facilities. The staff were very nice people who took the time to talk to us and help with plans. The walk into Queenstown along the lake from the hotel was spectacular. Room service meals were very tasty. The welcome emails with offers to organise sightseeing were very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Repeat Visitor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive One-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful views. Beautiful rooms. The fire place. The space. This is a really lovely home away from home, which is why we’ve stayed mutiple times. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.1
    I have stayed at many high end hotels over time and the Rees...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have stayed at many high end hotels over time and the Rees room rate did not deliver to the same standard to that what I am used to. Restaurant being renovated (temporary restaurant breakfast area was good).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    A great place to stay ... quality service and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was happy with everything and have no complaints

    The restaurant was under reconstruction so didn’t have the opportunity to use it. But room service etc was excellent as was everything else. The view was spectacular and the facilities excellent . The staff were approachable and always friendly, efficient and very helpful. The location was excellent and the shuttle bus into town was a great service. A high standard in every respect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful stay overall but don't bother with the breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was very over priced. They advertise as a buffet but you must order off the menu, and whether you have mushrooms on toast or a full breakfast, youre still paying over $30. When there is so much to choose from in Queenstown, i wouldnt bother.

    Location was great, room was perfect and the view was breathe taking. Staff were all lovely, room was cleaned twice daily unless requested otherwise. Free shuttle bus in to town was helpful but does require a booking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Magical setting with beautiful view of the Remarkables and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Magical setting with beautiful view of the Remarkables and Lake Wakatipu. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Highly recommending staying at the Rees

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.1
    Beautiful place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Two-Bedroom Two Bathroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bedrooms were small no place for suitcase.

    Reception is beautiful with stone, log fireplace and amazing view. The rooms are also lovely with fireplace and balcony with view to lake (we were on 7th floor some of the lower rooms would of had no view at all)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    So nice you don’t want to leave!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was wonderful!! Our every request was met with smiles and a willingness that was genuine. The rooms are lovely, immaculate, and comfortable. The location is great. The views are spectacular. We will certainly return one day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    It is Very very good but still is not Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I lived in 7163,no one tell me that someone can see my bathroom from outside very easiely and should put note in bathroom for customers.

    Very comfortable for living.good view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    You get what you pay for, this was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price but you get what you pay for.

    The staff were helpful and friendly and always willing to help or give that extra piece of advice. The shuttle service to the town centre was really useful for when we wanted to go wine tasting and not drive. The facilities and accommodation were great with a beautiful balcony view. The restaurant served up lovely food and had a good range of drink options.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.3
    amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the shaving razor in the box had hair in it and there was a stain on the couch other than that very happy

    beds were comfy and the lake view room is amazing and to top it all off a fireplace

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.6
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    very modern,clean and comfortable booked a 2 bedroom,2 bathroom lakeview apartment and it was fantastic the views were excellent and there was plenty of room for 4 people

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment with Two Bathrooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View of lake from patio of two bedroom room was a bit blocked by level in front. Although we could see some of the mountains it was a bit disappointing not to be able to see the water. If this was made a bit clearer on description I would’ve booked a room with view of lake as I thought I had.

    Modern clean rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.6
    an very good hotel to stay at for leisure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    mattress was soft. TV on one side of the room making it difficult to watch from bed.

    the staff was polite and helpful. The shuttle was prompt and comfortable. The food at the restaurant was very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    The best hotel in Queenstown!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Rees Hotel exceeds our expectations in every way. We stay in a two-bedroom apartment with lake view. The apartment is spacious, nicely decorated and very cosy. It is so comfortable that it makes us feel like home. The view from the apartment is stunning. We enjoy relaxing at the balcony while admiring the beauty of the lake and the mountains. Though it is very cold outside, the apartment is warm and comfortable with floor heating system and a modern little fire place. The kitchen is well-equipped. The beds are comfortable. We love the apartment so much we do not want to leave! On top of that, all the staff are friendly and helpful. We would definitely love to come back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Loved Rees, will look to stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't really like the location of the bar? Not sure why it is right next to reception?

    Loved the comfortable decor of our rooms, all the little luxuries. Just lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    A few magical days in Queenstown
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The towels are tiny & as per most hotel rooms there is no dressing table or facilities to get ready except for standing in the bathroom which can be difficult if my husband wants to have a shower. There is little space to put my make up, hairdryer etc!

    Stunning views from the Lake view room. Great courtesy bus runs regularly to drop off & collect from town but you need to book on the outbound trip. Restaurant is expensive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.2
    Luxury hotel and apartment with wonderful service and views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extreme luxury at a price. Views outstanding and staff wonderful. Courtesy bus very convenient as we did not have to drive or park our car in busy downtown Queenstown for our entire stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    The staff are friendly;
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment with Two Bathrooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I booked 3 lake view 2 bedrooms apartment, the view is not fully lake view, a slight misinterpretation from booking expectation. One room was delayed in check in; hence I opted fro a upgrade, but what a view on the upgrade (with upgraded cost though).

    The staff are friendly; a few are exceptional. Not much to criticize on the facilities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel in Queenstown! Don't look somewhere else, book here :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing! (but just to mention something, the parking is very narrow which is intimidating while driving a big car)

    We liked everything! Stunning view, wonderful staff, very spacious room, great service and more

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Loved the location, the apartment and the walk along the lake to the town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment with Two Bathrooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The lobby was a little small... not much public space to sit in with kids.

    Location. Very spacious and comfortable. The kids were delighted with the free movies on demand. View from the balcony was lovely even without a lake view. Staff were very helpful and the shuttle into town was very convenient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a fabulous lake view apartment but it looked like some rooms might not have had a view of anything - check before you book

    Excellent location - shuttle into town Lovely fire in reception and in the apartments

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.8
    Overall a great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not very comfortable. I called the front desk to tell them and requested another big blanket to place over the top of the mattress-didn't help much. Also they charge you a credit card fee to book the room and charge you a 2.5% fee if you pay the rest of the bill on your credit card. The credit card fees were not clearly communicated when booking and were irritating.

    Staff was all super friendly and helpful. There is a free shuttle they offer into town and they even pick you up. The rooms were very clean! Great location too! They offer guest laundry and even have a gym. There is a nice trail right outside the hotel you can walk around part of the lake.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent service and accomodations with only a tiny, but annoying inconvenience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive One-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower door design is odd and confirmed with front desk that our apartment was not unique. Door to shower seems to have been installed backwards so that you have to squeeze around the toilet and against the wall to enter or otherwise push the door into the shower, and get soaked before squeezing around it to close. And I am a smaller person. Otherwise, the apartment is excellent. So don't let this scare you away.

    beautifully appointed apartments with fireplace, views that go on forever (if you have a lake view room or apartment). Excellent on site restaurant with reasonable pricing and great room service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.8
    Luxury stay close to town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The second bedroom was a little noisy as it was near the driveway and walk way

    Rooms were lovely and the daily room clean was excellent. Staff were friendly and professional Shuttle service was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    Excellent! We will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    couldn't fault anything

    We stayed there with my husband for 7 nights. Room, facilities, the reception and the staff was exceptional! We had an amazing room with a spa and balcony overlooking the lake. We would definitely recommend the hotel to other. We will stay there again!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.3
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been good if the staff could of keep the rain away

    We really enjoyed our stay. It was a special time as I proposed to my girlfriend there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    We wish we stay at the Rees for one more night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    None.

    We stayed at the Rees and its neighbor for one night each. When we entered the lobby and checked in with professional staff, we knew that the Rees is much better. There are elevators and they deliver the luggage to your apartment. You pay a little more and get two bed rooms, modern interior design, a spacious living room and a well equipped kitchen. I am especially pleased with a writing desk and USB sockets.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Gauges place to stay just outside of busy town centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The roll curtains were modern and look very nice but we felt that master bedroom need thicker curtains because it was too bright in the bedroom early in the morning.

    - Room(s) We had 2 bedroom apartment lake view for 3 nights. The living room has lovely (electric) fire space and very nice kitchen. Stunning lake view from our big balcony! Bedrooms are descent size and have enough closets Very clean everywhere. - Service/ restaurant Very friendly stuff. At the concierge desk, they help you to book activities! Hotel Shuttle bus are running to and from town (5 min drive). We had dinner at the hotel restaurant and all dishes we had were super delicious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    Luxery hotel with amazing view over Lake!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to complain!

    Amazing hotel with friendly and knowledgeable staff. Good location to explore Queenstown (40 min walk - or by car/ shuttle bus in 10 min). 10 min drive from Airport

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    6.7
    Views beautiful from our room. Disappointed with our interaction with desk staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didnt like paying for an extra room that we neither booked or had use for. Our stay worked out very expensive as some how, whether it was the fault of booking .com or the hotel itself, we were told we booked two rooms. One for my husband and one for myself????? Wouldnt you think the hotel could come at some compromise. I wouldnt have objected to maybe one extra nights payment, but three nights for a room we didnt even use??

    The view from our window. The restaurant staff were lovely. The desk staff not so pleasant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.2
    The staff were very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Would have liked to have a kitchenette or something like it. Walls were a little too thin as you could hear your neighbor's.

    The staff were very friendly. The rooms were beautiful. Parking was great, most of the time. Washing facility great - no payment required.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel and a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Access to the late front should be better.

    Comfortable bedding, pillow selection AND the free shuttle in and out of town! That in its self makes it a exceptional place to stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable, clean, all services available and worked.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Booking arrangements with non-refundable pre-payments 6 months in advance. Initially only my son was coming so I booked one room Later my grand son was able to come so I needed an extra bed. I was told this could not be done. I had to upgrade to a much more expensive 2 bedroom apartment. When I asked to cancel my booking and get a refund this was refused even though there were many months to go to the booking. The hotel surely could have re-sold the room in that time.

    Very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    A fantastic place to stay in Queenstown
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Two-Bedroom Two Bathroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was beautifully presented and well layed out. The beds were very comfortable and we had a fantastic view of Lake Wakatipu. We also loved the free shuttle bus into town. Arun, who checked us in was very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.6
    Amazing.Everything you ever wanted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing is the word I would use to describe. From the staff to the room and facilities. A bit pricey but you could expect that with the level of comfort, location and the view.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    4.6
    Location was good being a short ride to town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is more of a ski hotel. I found my room carpet to be dirty . Turning my white Sox black within minutes of walking around the room. Bathroom was dirty on check in. Found half finished bottle of wine in fridge.

    Location was good being a short ride to town. Apart from the not a lot more

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.6
    Stunning location & all round fantastic hotel. Would definitely stay at the Rees again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Housekeeping knocked on the door to clean the room very early each morning (9am). It was too early for us wanting a holiday. Each time I had to ask them to come back later. Otherwise we couldn't fault the Rees... it was beautiful & would highly recommend & stay there again.

    The beds were extra comfy and the view was spectacular. Would stay again & recommend to others.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.2
    Hotel is lovely - nice location if you want to be close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I think the hotel could have been designed better to optimize the views at its fantastic location. We had a huge room on the very top floor with sweeping views of the lake you could only see when standing up due to the balcony wall which blocked the view when seated or in bed. I suppose this was to also block the view of the roof extending from the floor below. The floors below had glass partitions, but narrower views and smaller rooms. Also, they need more shuttles to and from town in the evening. The times we wanted were booked, so one night we walked (about 35 minutes) and the other, took a taxi into town. Guests jostled each other for prime position to board the returning shuttles and some had to wait for the next one as there was not enough room for everyone to get home. This would be easy to fix and must be done for a place of this quality and price.

    Hotel is lovely - nice location if you want to be close to all of the available Queenstown activity, but far from the madding crowds!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful location with easy access to all surrounding areas
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy if doors are open due to echo of other units when people are entering or exiting.

    The staff was terrific and we had great help from Matt who helped us get bikes and plan out our biking trek for the day. The staff overall were very pleasant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel to stay at the outskirts of Queenstown
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Two-Bedroom Two Bathroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Since it is a big hotel it doesn't feel very warm and welcoming, especially since everything is in grey concrete. Our view to the lake was great but we weren't in first line as we thought to be from the picture, but we were looking over the roof of another part of the hotel. For that, I found it too expensive.

    Nice views over the lake, great rooms, huge balcony, good service with free bus shuttle into town, good kitchen

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.2
    Delightful. Wish it was longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would skip breakfast at the hotel (nicer can be had in town for less) and tragically the freezer wasn't cold enough and we lost a tub of delicious ice-cream that was too be savoured!

    The view was wonderful, staff beyond helpful and the shuttle a fabulous idea!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    5.8
    View is nice
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room rate different from which I’ve booked. 9 dollars more, although not much. The thing was no option to pay in counter, they didn’t asked me just charged my card directly. Cause there was extra charge via credit card. Location a little bit far from town, shuttle often need pre book, cause quite few guests come and go.

    View is nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    9.6
    Good service and comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive One-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked executive one bed apartment lake view. We got lake view but there are car ramp in front of our terrace. I feel that was not privacy at all because everyone drive pass my terrace (my bedroom). I think I choose to pay more to executive room to get big room and better view but the view also block by the car ramp. So I was a bit disappoint about that.

    Comfy bed, big room, great bathtub and spa and great service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    5.4
    DON’T GET A ROOM ON LEVEL 5 😡😡😡😡😡
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well...where shall I start. A room without a view and a manager who belongs in a Miss America beauty contest (polite, well spoken and as fake as they come). All the advertising for this hotel shows the great views but our views were of the roof of the rooms in front of us. I complained and was told that I should have checked when I booked the room (true) and that is why the room was cheaper ($400 per night for room isn’t cheap) and came with a spa bath. The spa bath didn’t work properly and the spa jets sent water everywhere and secondly I didn’t come to Queenstown for a spa bath 😡😡😡😡. Thirdly I was told that if I had been with a tour group I would have received a better room. The manager denied this and wanted to know who advised me of this...but I wasn’t going to get the reception person in trouble. The manager gave me a some fudge and a nice type written apology. Don’t go here if you wish to be treated as second class.

    Concierge at check-in was super helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    9.6
    Highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff attention to detail was excellent. Modern and spacious apartment. Kitchen well appointed and the washing machine and tumble dryer came in very handy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable! I'll be going back for sure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful hotel over looking the lake. Staff are helpful and very friendly. Although the hotel is a little walk from town, there is a gorgeous walk right along the lake which takes no more than 40 minutes. Overall we had a very pleasant stay at The Rees!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    2.9
    So disappointed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive One-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The photo of the Executive lake view apartment on Booking looks completely different from the real lake view we had. You see more of the roofs than the lake. Totally disappointed with such a price (>700NZ dollars per night). To be honest, this is the worst experience of our two weeks stays in NZ. After we expressed our disappointment to the front desk, the manager's attitude was so indifferent and careless. She did not even respond to our request to at least check and change to other rooms for us the next day. I would suggest Booking.com check the real room view and note the difference compared to reality. We do NOT RECOMMEND at all to spend this much and got such a room and treatment.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    5.8
    Couldn't recommend at the price.
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Studio unit was small and at over $500 p.n it was not good value. Very steep and narrow vehicle access to car parking would be a real problem with Winter snow or ice. Complex "rabbit warren" access to unit.

    Lake view.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    8.8
    Wow worth the time spent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Two-Bedroom Two Bathroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Must be a choice of menu can be better

    Perfect location right in front of the lake and snow capped mountains ( really lucky at this time of year) excellent service by the staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    5.0
    The staff were not very helpful and given it was an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were not very helpful and given it was an expensive few nights we were very disappointed with the service. It was my birthday whilst we were there and it took over an hour for them to bring coffee and croissant to the room which was wasn't ideal as we had a transfer picking us for an excursion. The view from the room was good but the hotel is over priced and the service did not live up to expectations.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    6.3
    We travel alot - extremely overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you don't have the lake view, there is nothing setting this apart from a 3 star hotel One day the room wasn't freshened, serviced, made up. Considering the price, this is extremely poor. Upon contacting the staff and being advised the management would look into it. We never heard back. Regardless of whether the staff were addressed or not it was poor systems and procedures. A really big let down, as nothing is offered as a guest otherwise. Not even daily complimentary room water. The nice advertisement picture is actually the reception area.

    Friendly staff regardless of their minimal room offerance

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.9
    All the pillows were really comfy, especially for my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive One-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Unfortunately there was a heat wave, and like most Queenstown properties including the shops and restaurants, there weren't any fans or air-conditioning in the room, so it got pretty hot. Luckily being in a location on the lake, it cooled down overnight. The front bedroom is very bright in the mornings so bring an eye mask if you plan to sleep in in summer.

    All the pillows were really comfy, especially for my pregnant belly! Great location on the lake and free parking for guests with a shuttle bus into town. We loved our stay and will definitely be back.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    10
    Excellent choice of place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Three-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None.

    Service was good. Place was very spacious and clean. Full fledged facilities. Parking was available for guests. Excellent view of the lake and mountains.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to wait and hour for our evening meal to be served when it came it was cold. The food tasted nice. This has no reflection on the breakfast which were excellent.

    Loved the views,the comfort, cleanliness the bath,friendliness of all the staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • The Rees Residence
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was staying the independent villa though, there was no way to avoid neighbor's nosie from the large family.

    I stayed the lake front villa. Every morning fresh bread delivered. But they gave us jams and butter at the first day. So it was not enough for 3day's bread. Full kitchen, laundary and dry machine were great. Spotlessly clean and spacious. Get the lake view.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.2
    It was a pleasant 5-day stay. The staff were very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment with Two Bathrooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What I find a little disappointed was that half the view of the lake was blocked by the houses in front. But there's a trail down to the lake where offers a good view of the lake.

    The room is very clean and comfortably big. When the toaster had issue and caused short circuit in the house, the staff immediately replaced them, which we really appreciate the prompt attention and fixing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    7.5
    Apartments were great & the shuttle service a bonus as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Two-Bedroom Two Bathroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WIFI connection was terrible for a 5 star location.

    Apartments were great & the shuttle service a bonus as we were a good 40 min walk from town.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    9.2
    We were able to have a good rest and pleasant walks in a spacious and well laid-out apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment with Two Bathrooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Maybe the distance to Queenstown would be a little far for some people, but it was quiet and there were free shuttles, although the last shuttle was at 10 o'clock, a bit early in summer especially.

    Spacious light apartment with all the facilities including washing machine & dryer. A good walk along the lakeside to Queenstown.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    5.0
    Would stay elsewhere. Not luxurious, needs revamp.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Dated, wouldn't call it luxurious. Small room. Breakfast is not worth dining in for and is pricey ($70 NZD for 2). Breakfast room/dining room very small. Everything seems much smaller than the photos show. 30min walk to Queenstown. Shuttle bus doesn't run often enough. Didn't feel clean (stained carpet, bedding seemed old). Bed is uncomfortable and mattress was floppy. Old/tired and definitely not the luxurious place I expected. Free WiFi had to login every day (not major issue but expect more for "5 star" luxury). No aircon/fans, and no fly screen door on balcony.

    Staff at reception and on shuttle bus were lovely.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: