Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Sebel Quay West Auckland 5 stars

8 Albert Street, 1143 Auckland, New Zealand

#34 of 161 hotels in Auckland

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 560 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thank you once again for a wonderful stay, a big thanks to Savio once again, such a wonderful gentleman to deal with and arranging the extra special touches for our daughters birthday.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decor a little outdated

    Great location within easy walking distance of everything. Reception staff were extra helpful and polite . Overall a very good value for money experience

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Don't like giving bad reviews but others should know - couldn't get into room even half an hour early, the room STUNK of curry and spicy cooking, actually the entire floor, kitchen wasn't well equiped, headboard fell off in night, one of the toilets dripped all night, in the morning we thought we would revive ourselves wth a spa - it was colder than the pool. Then were charged wth no warning a large credit card fee when we checked out. Overall we were very disappointed and wouldn't stay again :(

    Didn't like much to be honest, especially the smell, won't be staying again :(

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent service from the staff in particular the gentleman who checked us in. I had made a note on the booking that we were staying there for our anniversary so the hotel surprised and had a platter waiting for us and made sure we were on a top floor with amazing views. So thoughtful and was very memorable. Very large rooms - we stayed in the 1 bedroom apartment. This would be ideal for a long stay as it's very comfortable and has everything you need. Full kitchen and washing facilities. Big balcony with great views of the city and harbour panorama. Excellent location with only a few minutes walk to the Viaduct or Queen St and Britomart. Highly recommend to anyone staying in Aucland.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We weren't told about the spa or pool facilities when we checked in and only found out about them as we were checking out :(

    Amazing apartment great views and awesome layout!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit noisy through the night but I know noise rises also the people above us seemed to be having a party, also we were right opposite all the building construction it's a shame the view is being taken away from the hotel.

    Very comfortable, clean, much bigger than expected. Much more than expected. Wish we had more time to be able to stay longer. The beds were very comfortable and the staff were fantastic. The facilities even though looking a little tired and worn were great. We had a wonderful time celebrating our son's 16th birthday and being so close to everything.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from building site was unbearable from 7am to 6pm and totally blocked the harbour view. We complained & were moved to a higher floor level but still no escape from the noise. We were never told about the construction site or train tunnel works directly outside hotel so it totally ruined our stay in Auckland so beware if you have booked this place.

    Nothing to like about this property. It definitely was NOT 5 star boutique as advertised and with no harbour views as shown in the websites. Poorly maintained in need of serious renovation & upgrading.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Make-up lighting was far better than experienced in a while, though still had to move to just the right position to see both sides of face clearly.

    Great having enough milk, not just tiny individual pots. Great range of teas, coffees, sweeteners. Staff great, letting us leave our car from checkout to 2pm. So much nearby.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A few more towels in the rooms and by the pool would have been useful but otherwise everything was excellent.

    We were upgraded and were guest of the day. A welcome surprise with wine and hot chocolates. Wonderful and helpful staff. Our apartment was beautiful and even nicer than the photos on the website.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet space - felt very squashed other then that it was perfect.

    The room was very nice, clean and relaxing with a beautiful view. Our daughter really enjoyed her stay as she got to watch her Disney channel. Wish we were able to check out a little later.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There is a lot of construction directly outside the hotel, this will continue for some time as they are currently building a railway connection to the airport along this street.

    The location was very central. Very close to the harbor and a good location for shopping and restaurants.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t anything to dislike, everything was very good.

    Location was perfect, our room had everything we needed and plenty of space. Staff were excellent, nothing was too much trouble. Nice to be able to use swimming pool and spa bath after a hectic day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    When checking out, we had to give the card back and we got stuck in the car park...Parking was a little expensive considering how much you pay a night

    We LOVED our Beautiful Room and Views...Pool area was so nice, Perfection Location for everything...would definitely stay again and recommend to our family and friends when looking for a Hotel in Auckland

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Smelly through hallway, receptionist was not very helpful when i arrived one hour before check in, told me I had a room on the 6th floor looking towards the water, however you cannot see the water as there is a building in front. I was wondering if he was trying to put me on the lowest level possible for some reason?

    Size of room , plus fast internet speed, pool

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bedding arrangements shown at the booking in stage so we didn’t have the right bedding configuration initially but the staff went above and beyond and fixed it all up before we arrived. Excellent customer service and very well handled.

    The staff were amazing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pine furniture in the bedroom was a bit dated.

    Close to good restaraunts and the centre of town. Had everything you need, fully functioning kitchen washing machine and dryer.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Current roadworks makes the hotel hard to access, this is of course only temporary 😊

    Beautifully presented room, excellent view, very helpful friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Ensuite bathroom had very poor water temp control resulting in a couple of cold showers. Nobody returned to fix the 2nd bedroom curtain so the room remained in effective darkness for our entire stay.

    Having views to on 3 sides of the building gave the apartment a very open feel. The large balcony was great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing i didn't like only cleaners need be bit more with an eye in bathrooms as there is mould in shower around egdges.

    We loved location the room was nice clean and tidy best view we had. The staff was always there greet us with a smile and help us with any injuries.they made our stay worth it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The streets work around the property = and all around the city, the closed streets were very ''present'' BUT, it is for the best. They are building an underground metro station. We just went around and nothing was so important to keep us seing the nice parts of the city. Port shuttle to The Sebel... We were 4 and he charged us 10$ each (and he took 4 more people he left at their hotel = which made us think we were farther than at a few minutes walk), and we gave him 10$ for the manutention of suitcases !!!! We could have walked with our suitcases without any problem. A loss of 50$! But when we don't know...

    The personnel was so welcoming and helpful from our arrival until our departure, 2 day later. In this luxurious apartment of 3 rooms, nothing was missing for us to enjoy a very comfortable stay. The rate was very reasonable. We had been given internet. The vue of the surroundings was perfect... across these large windows and patio doors, and the balcony, was perfect in this part of the city. Very central, close to everything. Just besides the Harbour and activities. We would go back anytime.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not their fault but the building going on all around them. The view of the sea is a small sliver past the new building going up and between existing buildings.

    Staff were very nice. Breakfast was good value The rooms were spacious but a bit tired looking. Location is great for shopping and the restaurants.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool facilities were so gorgeous! I had an audition the next day and the staff happily held my luggage for me! Very lovely location, huge room for us, polite staff! Absolutely loved it!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 16 nights

    Building works in progress (Commercial Bay) in front of the hotel until 2019 (?). Lots of noise during the day...and sometimes at night too. Also, in the coming years, most rooms will lose their sea view as Commercial Bay will be taller than the hotel. As usual with NZ hotels, soundproofing is insufficient with regards to street noise and there are no shelves in the wardrobes which makes clothes storing a challenge.

    Great location only minutes from Britomart and the Ferries Terminal as well as from many quite good restaurants.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sebel staff were great just a shame that there is so much building of new buildings and road works going on around the facility

    We were up graded and had a really pleasant stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of our party missed the balcony we usually have with accommodation that we book.

    Staff were fabulous. Apartment was spacious. Outdoor pool and Jacuzzi were lovely. Great location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Roadworks outside are a pain and make it hard to get to easily.

    We got upgraded to a bigger room which was excellent. The room was high with great views. U fortunately the air con wasn’t working and it was hot but the staff were excellent, they got a technician out quickly to fix it and organized the use of other rooms if it broke down again (which it didn’t)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too much for a regular business person. Great for mid and long stays and when you want to feel like at home.

    big spacious room, good tv, great bed, comfortable all around. excellent view from terrace.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above

    Hotel ok but getting very tired. Compared to others in NZ & Overseas that we've stayed at, we thought very expensive. Staff were very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No scissors and towels weren’t big enough & overnight parking was expensive . Also didn’t recieve my room key til 5 o’clock . I was there @ 1:30pm for supposedly a 2pm check-in

    I rang reception asking for a charger and they brought one right up to my room within 5 minutes. Also the room was soundproof and got to check out half n hour later

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - lack of access to the property due to extensive construction. - noise from its use awful - all beds had bed bugs which we complained about - the cafe onsite didn't have convenient hours though it did have decent vatiety

    Location woujd be good except for construction. Size of space decent Staff tried to be helpful generally

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The shower, the soap holder need to be fix

    Good day, its been my pleasure for staying at Sebel Quay West. most i like is your staff. im sure im going next year with my family. All the best Cheers Chef Christopher Lee

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a bit concerned when we had fire evacuation at 1.30am there was no assembly point away from hotel, no checking of evacuated guests, but the fire service did not seem concerned and we were allowed back to our rooms once fault was cleared and elevators were working again.

    Exceptionally convenient to Viaduct, and downtown, really enjoyed the onsite cafe

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a building being constructed outside our balcony. No robes, pool towels or gym towels. Spa pool was undergoing maintenance.

    Large spacious room, well set out. Large balcony

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The scaffolding in front of the ocean view. SEBEL Quay West website did not mention this building work - misleading! Manager, knew I was right to complain and refunded me half the cost of the room. 👍

    The bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were very helpful as we found getting to the hotel difficult due to roadworks, we were offered a free glass of wine on arrival. Room was awesome, clean, spacious, views were amazing, and we would definitely stay here again. oh and cafe/restaurant upstairs...10/10.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having stayed a few years ago we booked the property again as a treat, spending more than we would normally and were extremely disappointed in the state of the apartment, with it being very obvious it hasn't had any refurbishment since we first stayed there 20 years ago. We booked a king, 2 singles and a fold out couch only to be given a king, a double and a fold out. This was far from ideal, since we had 3 kids who do not share beds. And the fold out couch was so old it was almost impossible to sleep on as was incredibly uncomfortable. There are no services with the "hotel" anymore - not even a compendium in the room so had to ring the landline for the hotel to get assistance which took 4 calls before we even got through. Given we paid over $1100 for the two nights we were far from happy. Property still seems to be trading on its previous status when it was first established as the Quay West which is not a fair representation of what it provided now. We will not stay there again.

    Only positive was the pool which the kids loved.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Currently experiencing major road works in the street. An inconvenience but through no fault of theirs

    The location is great. I had a 2 bed apt. It was very spacious and tastefully decorated. One of the nicest places I have stayed in Auckland

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is a little expensive at $30 per day. Long term construction works right outside the front of the hotel makes it very noisy. The room fitout is getting tired, but it is spacious.

    Central location in Auckland city with easy walking to restaurants and transport. Staff were very helpful and polite.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road works outside main entrance so taxi couldn't drop us off outside had to walk with two suitcases. Room was cold and no extra blankets. Decor and fixtures were very dated should not be rated as an 8+ on your site. I stayed two days and had to recheck in on day two because my key stopped working and they wouldn't use debit card as deposit yet if other hotel I stay at does. Very poor will not stay again

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to the roadworks and the road closures, the Hotel is a nightmare to access. I will add however, this is out of the control of the Hotel. They could improve the signage though.

    Nice room, comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were super helpful and efficient. Only to willing to go the extra mile. There were a lot of road works happening at the time of our stay and they called the day before arrival to let us know how to get there if we were driving. We were upgraded to a 2 bedroom apartment which was excelleny.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Roadworks to get to the hotel was so annoying!!!! Also being charged a 2% fee to get my deposit back straight away was disappointing. They also dont allow you to pay cash for the deposit to avoid that fee otherwise you can wait 3-5 days for them to process the full amount. Very inconvenient.

    The view was awsome! 2 bedroom apartment was so spacious!!!! Also staff called me the night before to confirm everything and was able to accommodate my needs in regards to bedding requirments last minute which was awsome!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit dated and small things were missing like towels down at the pool and the spa was cold.

    The staff were amazing and were happy to help with anything and everything.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel couldn't be better. The pool was warm and beautiful. The staff were fantastic, super helpful and chatty with the children. I couldn't rate this hotel and the staff more highly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little dated, drier didn't work and spa was only warm.

    The room had plenty of space and the kitchen was very handy. The complementary water was great too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    However, sofa bed was terrible and we had ants in the kitchen which we informed the staff of when we left. Logistics to access the hotel was a nightmare in a car. The traffic was so bad and with the road works and so many streets blocked off it made it so hard to get there every time we went out. Also, the street itself didn't feel like a safe street. Few dodgy characters hanging around. Café wasn't open in evenings so to eat we needed to leave the hotel. Vending machines would have even been good.

    The Pool was great. View was great. Room size very good. Laundry was a bonus we didn't expect.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The meals in the café were fabulous. Very good quality for money. The rooms were great for the group staying and you ensured both rooms booked were close to each other for ease of access between rooms and we could float between for both children and adults staying.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we had was very expensive but it was not up to the standard we expected. It had marks on the bathroom walls and door. It is not the fault of the hotel but navigating through the roadworks to park was a struggle. The extra money you pay for parking was a bit over the top considering how much you pay for a room.

    Complementary toiletries including slippers. The laundry facilities in the room were very welcome.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No ice in the freezer or any method of making any. A lot of road works and building sites in close proximity- a noisy start to the day. None of this is pointed out to you when booking the hotel.

    Staff were very helpful, they tried to solve every little problem we had and successfully.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't usually go looking for faults and try to only see positives, which makes my life very fulfilled!!

    The 2-bed apartment on Level 14 was spacious and ideal for a family. The reason being that the complex was not originally built as a hotel but as apartments. Fabulous views and only a bit of hum from the road outside. The staff we met were very helpful and courteous. We were checked in by Savio who is a gem.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    cost is expensive, however it is value for money compared to other hotels. It would be good if you are regular customer to get special rate?? or even free car parking at least.

    THe room was great, got upgraded to bigger room which was happy for 3 adults and 3 kids. This is kid friendly and love the washing machine and dryer and two bathrooms. THe kitchen was large and entire 3 bedroom apartment room was value

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kids didn't like the sofa bed & said it was uncomfortable, the shower could do with more pressure.

    The location was great, walking distance to everything we needed. The pool & spa were great for the kids especially at night when it was too late for them to be out in the city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was the worst nights sleep I have ever had. The sofa bed was leaning backwards, therefore my head was down hill. I turned around and I had a bar poking through the wafer thin mattress into my back. I have since had to go to the chiropractor. I told the reception of my terrible night and have not received a response from the hotel manager to my complaint. When checking out there was another customer whom complained of the same issue. Not acceptable when paying $800 a night!!

    The Pool, Sauna and Gym area. Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heater is not working and we are always cold. We didn't sleep well for 5 nights as the bed and pillows really suck. At some point we thought of just sleeping at the couch which is softer. But there is no extra blanket. Considering we stayed during winter, the blanket is too thin. The pillow are too thin and 1 odd shape that nothing will really help in a good night sleep. Terrible experience.

    I like it's location if not of the road closures and coonstruction around the city centre. The apartment is clean and spacious. The staff are accomodating enough when we asked for a room in a higher floor.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The roadworks! I missed the turnoff the first time but had no real major issue at all. This was no fault of the hotel of course. I have no real dislikes at all about the hotel, it really did exceed expectations.

    I loved the size of the room and the wonderful view overlooking the city and harbour. I was surprised at how spacious the room was including the lounge,bedroom and bathroom. The laundry was very handy and well used as was the kitchenette.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very un welcoming . I was told id be on 16th floor when i checked in , then a manager come out and seemed like she had judged my appearance and changed me to 10th floor . What a downgrade , right outside ALL ROADWORKS no view of the harbour even though i was promised it . Very disappointed , will never stay there and DO NOT RECOMMEND .

    Good spacious rooms and a huge deck

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the roll away bed for my 16 year old son was as hard as concrete and the shower had low pressure

    The staff were so helpful and cheerful - so lovely to deal with

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was all excellent.

    The room was so spacious and it had everything you needed. It's was so easy having 2 kids under 5. Everything was catered for and comfortable. We loved it!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing I did'nt like was all the road works around but oh well.

    Have stayed here before and loved it hence the reason staying again, in a great spot of the city and staff were very helpful! We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a bigger room for the same price happy stayer an I will be coming back in the future sometime 😁😁

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked, indicating, there would be 3 women, arrived to a queen bed & 1 sofa bed, the mattress on this had wires protruding, it was the worst nights sleep ever, 2 women had to share a bed, was told to get another bed, would cost us another $58 dollars. When I booked with you, I then ring the hotel, to make sure there was ample bedding, waste of time that was. I will not use this way to book when there are multiple single persons. Had to place sofa cushions on top to avoid the wire , see attached photo

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    to have toilet paper there when we got there.

    Really Enjoyed our stay there, beautiful rooms and had all beds made up when we got there, even a port a cot for our baby girl. made staying away from home with a baby very easy, plenty of room for her to move and us. would of like there to be toilet paper in the toilet when we got there, but after a couple hours the lady bring some up. would have liked to stayed there more than one night and would be very happy to go back for another stay, even in the same room 2206

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Curtains were falling apart. Dryer didn't work had to prop it to keep to door closed. The carpets were dirty. The balcony floor was dirty which left you feet filthy just from walking on it. Bed was very hard and uncomfortable.

    Location has great access to transport and restaurants. Arrived early and we where given access to the pool area to use the showers and get changed. Did have to go back and ask for towels.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Road works are annoying but they did warn us beforehand.

    Pull out sofa a bit hard but only a sofa bed so understandable. Staff very helpful. Apartment and actual bed very well appointed and set up.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Due to road works it was difficult to access, it would have been handy to have been sent an update about how to access the property prior to our visit.

    Room size was great, handy to downtown Auckland, comfortable facilities

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the building site across the road. It went on all day Saturday so sitting on the balcony enjoying the view was quite unpleasant.

    View of the water and large balcony

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit run down for the money. Spa and pool were out of order so the kids were disappointed. Price was a little high for what we expected..

    Fantastic view. Excellent location. The 'UP cafe' downstairs serves an awesome breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. The hotel location itsself is brilliant, however the construction and road restriction around there is awefull at the moment. The reason why I am unhappy about is there was NO note on the website when I booked. We ended up circuling around the city to get there about good 45mins with screaming kids at the back of our car.

    High quality staff with professionalism. There were very friendly and have fantastic courtesy manners. We were very upset when we got there due to the heavy construction and road restrictions around the hotel, however the staff dealt with us perfectly. I am very happy about that.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - very over priced. Payed almost 400 NZD for a apartment for one night (2 adults, 2 kids) - very run down, even pool area is a construction site and work area not even hidden. - no towels for pool and gym provided - room could need some restauration. Does definitely not match the price. - construction an street, not even taxi access. We had to carry our bags from the hotel next door. It's a bit embarrassing for a 5 star hotel when the staff from the hotel next door has to help out with the lagguage. Thanks to Stamford Plaza staff for that! - Wi-Fi only if you accept free membership - it's rediculouse to charge an additional 10 NZD CC charge for a bill like we had in a international hotel. I did definitely expect more from the hotel after the reviews read. We have been to other hotels in auckland where you get much more for the same money. NO recommendation to go there. Definitely not worth the money. May be ok for half the price and for a 3 star house.

    + location is close to harbor area + stuff was friendly

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not the hotels fault but the roadworks outside made the hotel impossible to find even using sat nav and with a very young child In the car it became a very stressful situation....to the point of having to abandon the car in a public car park (extortionate charges) and walk.....then once checked in we had to go and get the car and park in hotel car park (very good secure enclosed car park!). We had also requested a cot but that wasn't in the room when we arrived, however the staff didn't take too long to resolve that for us.

    Very good location, lovely spacious room with excellent facilities especially if you are staying for a few nights - we only had one night. Excellent Thai restaurant 'Grasshopper' very close by...the Duty Manager 'Joy' couldn't have been more helpful....lovely venue and very family friendly!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first apartment offered was of a very poor standard and in need of refurbishment.

    We were moved to a much better apartment when we mentioned our disappointment with the state of the one we were initially booked into. The carpet was heavily stained, the curtains hung off the rail and the tumble dryer failed to work unless the door was held closed. Once we were moved, we received a genuine apology and the new appartment was near to perfect

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needed to be given a thorough cleaning. Black strands of hair found in bathroom also.

    We liked the proximity to the harbour and the size of the apartment.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction currently blocking the front road - a lot of construction all over the city.

    Stayed one night. Great location (walking distance to the quay). Comfortable and clean rooms. Staff were professional and lovely - great at multitasking.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was rather firm

    The staff went the extra mile to make our special occasion (50th wedding anniversary) even more enjoyable with room upgrade, wine and cake.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really disappointed with the bedding situation. We knew one bed was to be a sofa bed but for the price we paid and the state of the sofa bed, totally unacceptable. Sore stiff back, would of been better off sleeping on the floor. When we checked out I mentioned this to staff, all they could say was sorry. Not up to Sebel standards.

    The location is great.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Buffet breakfast would have been nice but the restaurant/cafe on 1st floor is not part of the hotel and doesn't offer buffet.

    Great indoor pool and spa which the kids loved before bed each night and first thing in the morning. Brilliant location and spacious rooms.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Sebel Quay West Auckland traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: